UNITED STATES
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
WASHINGTON, DC 20549

FORM 8-K

CURRENT REPORT PURSUANT
TO SECTION 13 OR 15(D) OF THE
SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

Date of report (Date of earliest event reported) September 14, 2006

AVNET, INC.
(Exact Name of Registrant as Specified in Its Charter)

New York
(State or Other Jurisdiction of Incorporation)

1-4224	11-1890605
(Commission File Number)	(IRS Employer Identification No.)
2211 South 47th Street, Phoenix, Arizona	85034
(Address of Principal Executive Offices)	(Zip Code)

(480) 643-2000
(Registrant’s Telephone Number, Including Area Code)

Not Applicable
(Former Name or Former Address, if Changed Since Last Report)

Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):

o Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)

o Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)

o Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))

o Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Item 7.01. Regulation FD Disclosure.

On September 14, 2006, Avnet, Inc. issued a press release announcing the redemption of its 9 3/4 % Notes due September 15, 2008. A copy of the press release is furnished and attached hereto as Exhibit 99.1.

The information in this Current Report on Form 8-K and the Exhibit attached hereto is being furnished and shall not be deemed “filed” for purposes of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (the “Exchange Act”) or otherwise subject to the liabilities of that section, nor shall it be deemed incorporated by reference in any filing under the Securities Act of 1933 or the Exchange Act, except as shall be expressly set forth by specific reference in such filing.

Item 9.01. Financial Statements and Exhibits.

(c) Exhibits

99.1	Press Release of Avnet, Inc. dated September 14, 2006 announcing redemption of the 9 3/4 % Notes due September 15, 2008.

S I G N A T U R E

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

AVNET, INC.

(Registrant)

Date: September 14, 2006	By: /s/ Raymond Sadowski Raymond Sadowski Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer