Exhibit 99.1

Contact:	D. Anthony Peay - (804) 632-2112
Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer

Distribute to:	Virginia State/Local News lines, NY Times, AP, Reuters, S&P, Moody’s, Dow
Jones, Investor Relations Service

July 30, 2010	Traded: NASDAQ	Symbol: UBSH

UNION FIRST MARKET BANKSHARES CORPORATION DECLARES CASH DIVIDEND

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Richmond, Virginia) — Union First Market Bankshares Corporation (the “Company”) (NASDAQ: UBSH - News) has declared a quarterly dividend of $0.06 per share. This dividend is unchanged from both the dividend paid on May 31, 2010 and the dividend for the same period last year paid on August 31, 2009. Net income available to common shareholders, which deducts from net income the dividends and discount accretion on preferred stock, was $8.2 million for the current quarter compared to $91 thousand for the same quarter last year. Fully diluted earnings per share for the quarter were $0.32, up from $0.01 a year ago and $0.06 in the first quarter of 2010. Based on the closing price of the Company’s stock on July 28, 2010 ($13.98), the dividend yield is 1.72%. The dividend is payable on August 31, 2010 to shareholders of record as of August 19, 2010.

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ABOUT UNION FIRST MARKET BANKSHARES CORPORATION

Union First Market Bankshares Corporation is the largest community banking organization based in Virginia, providing full service banking to the Northern, Central, Rappahannock, Tidewater and Northern Neck regions of Virginia through its bank subsidiaries, Union First Market Bank (77 locations in the counties of Albemarle, Caroline, Chesterfield, Fairfax, Fluvanna, Hanover, Henrico, James City, King George, King William, Nelson, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Westmoreland, York, and the cities of Richmond, Fredericksburg, Williamsburg, Newport News, Grafton, Charlottesville, Colonial Heights, and Roanoke); Northern Neck State Bank (9 locations in the counties of Richmond, Westmoreland, Essex, Northumberland and Lancaster); and Rappahannock National Bank (6 locations in Washington, Front Royal, Middleburg, Warrenton, and Winchester). Union Investment Services, Inc. provides full brokerage services; Union Mortgage Group, Inc. provides a full line of mortgage products; and Union Insurance Group, LLC offers various lines of insurance products. Union First Market Bank also owns a non-controlling interest in Johnson Mortgage Company, LLC.

On June 30, 2010, the Company announced its decision to combine two of its community banks, Northern Neck State Bank and Rappahannock National Bank, into its largest bank affiliate, Union First Market Bank, on October 12, 2010.

Additional information is available on the Company’s website at www.ubsh.com. The shares of the Company are traded on the NASDAQ Global Select Market under the symbol “UBSH.”

FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

Certain statements in this report may constitute “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements are statements that include projections, predictions, expectations or beliefs about future events or results or otherwise are not statements of historical fact. Such statements are often characterized by the use of qualified words (and their derivatives) such as “expect,” “believe,” “estimate,” “plan,” “project,” “anticipate” or other statements concerning opinions or judgment of the Company and its management about future events. Although the Company believes that its expectations with respect to forward-looking statements are based upon reasonable assumptions within the bounds of its existing knowledge of its business and operations, there can be no assurance that actual results, performance or achievements of the Company will not differ materially from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Actual future results and trends may differ materially from historical results or those anticipated depending on a variety of factors, including, but not limited to, the effects of and changes in: general economic conditions, the interest rate environment, legislative and regulatory requirements, competitive pressures, new products and delivery systems, inflation, changes in the stock and bond markets, technology, and consumer spending and savings habits. The Company does not update any forward-looking statements that may be made from time to time by or on behalf of the Company.