Exhibit 99.1
Investor Presentation September

Safe Harbor Some comments made in this presentation are “forward-looking” statements, as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements are subject to a number of risks and uncertainties that may cause the Company’s actual performance to differ materially from that projected in such statements. Among the factors that could cause actual results to differ materially are industry cyclicality and seasonality; fluctuations in customer demand; raw material pricing and supply; the financial condition of the Company’s raw material suppliers; competitive activity and pricing pressure; ability to make strategic acquisitions accretive to earnings; general economic conditions affecting the construction industry; current financial crisis and U.S. recession; changes in laws or regulations; the outcome of any legal proceedings that may be instituted against the Company; and ability to service or refinance our debt. Investors should refer to statements regularly filed by the Company with the Securities and Exchange Commission for a discussion of additional factors which could affect the Company’s operations and forward-looking statements made in this presentation. The Company expressly disclaims any obligation to release publicly any updates or revisions to these forward-looking statements to reflect any changes in expectations.

Mission Statement It is our mission to produce sustainable products and systems, for the metal construction industry, of enduring quality that enhance the beauty, form and function of structures in which people work, live, play, learn, worship and use for storage and protection.

Vision Statement It is the vision of NCI to be the undisputed leader in the U.S. building construction industry by providing superior products and services through our metal coil coating, metal components and custom metal building systems divisions.

The Market

Nonresidential Market Segments

NCI’s Strategic Positioning Leading Market Positions • Leading market positions in all operating segments and Strong Brands • High quality, well respected stable of brands marketed through a broad network of builders and distributors • Large variety of products and services • Participates in highly fragmented markets and has attractive spread of risk in terms of geography, end market applications and customer concentration Efficient Distribution Model • 32 manufacturing plants located throughout North America operated in an efficient “hub-and-spoke” network • Places manufacturing and distribution operations closer to our customers • Affiliated builder network and architectural relationships provide substantial and extended channels to market High Volume Producer with • Each segment uses same type of steel Flexible Cost Structure • Ability to receive contract pricing without long-term contracts • Significant ability to flex manufacturing infrastructure and ESG&A levels to changes in volume Integrated Business Model Well • Vertically integrated producer enabling faster turnaround times — majority of orders Positioned for Growth are completed in 1 — 3 months • Positioned to capitalize on material conversion trends and green initiative • Actively pursuing market leading initiatives Motivated and Experienced • Significant operating expertise Management Team • Management averages 17 years of experience in the Metal Building Manufacturing industry • Proven ability to operate and grow the business and in the current downturn to execute cost reduction initiatives

Three Integrated Segments SEGMENT METAL COIL COATING METAL COMPONENTS ENGINEERED BUILDING SYSTEMS Focus Cleaning, treating & painting flat Metal roof & wall systems, metal Engineered building systems for low rise rolled metal coil substrates partitions, metal doors, etc. non-residential markets Key Products Product Utilization Used by manufacturers of metal Roof and wall systems with specialized Custom designed, engineered, ready for components and engineered building product lines such as insulated metal assembly primary structural framing, systems (NCI’s other segments used panels and standing seam roof panels for secondary structural members (purlins, girts) and approximately 55% of production). architectural and commercial/industrial metal roofs/walls. Also sold to other manufacturers of applications, as well as traditional single-painted metal goods, such as the skin, thru-fastener panels primarily used for appliance industry. agricultural and residential facilities; secondary structural (purlins and girts), as well as ancillary accessories such as doors and trim. NCI Companies FY2009% of Total 5% 40% 55% Revenue FY2009% of Total 15% 53% 32% EBITDA[1] 1 Segment EBITDA excludes Corporate Costs of $42.3 MM _ 8

Metal Coil Coating PRODUCTS MARKET SHARE Cleans, treats, coats and Heavy Gauge Hot Rolled Steel Coating Light Gauge Coil Coating paints flat-rolled metal coil substrates % Market % Market Est. Rank Share Est. Rank Share Slits and/or embosses NCI 1 42% Precoat Metals Division 1 18% coated coils Roll Coater, Inc. 2 14% Hanna Steel 2 30% NCI 3 12% Midwest Metal Coaters 3 12% CUSTOMERS Steelscape 4 9% SDI 4 10% MSC Prefinish Metals 5 7% Manufacturers of Others N/A 6% Others N/A 40% painted steel products: Total 100% Total 100% Metal Buildings Light Fixtures Source: 2009 NCI Estimates HVAC Water Heater Jackets Walk-in Coolers PERFORMANCE Revenue, EBITDA and EBITDA Margin % STATS No. of Customers: 154 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 No. of Employees: 352 External Revenue 127 123 111 118 84 97 53 No. of Plants: 5 EBITDA 26 31 25 30 32 39 13 EBITDA Margin % 20.5 25.5 22.9 25.9 37.9 39.9 24.4 END USE Internal: 55% External: Construction 29% All Other 16% State as of close of 2009 unless otherwise noted

Metal Components PRODUCTS MARKET SHARE Pre-formed metal roof and wall systems Metal Components Insulated metal panels % Market Secondary structural members Est. Rank Share Flashings and accessories NCI 1 12% Roll-up doors and interior partition systems Fabral 2 7% Metal Sales 3 6% CUSTOMERS McElroy 4 5% Copper Sales/UNA Clad 5 5% Small, medium and large contractors Englert 6 4% Specialty roofers Others N/A 61% Engineered building fabricators Total 100% Distributors/lumberyards Source: 2008 NCI/Strategic Decisions Group End users STATS PERFORMANCE No. of Customers: 26,511 Revenue, EBITDA and EBITDA Margin % No. of Employees: 903 No. of Plants: 18 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 External Revenue 473 548 567 671 562 600 389 END USE (FY 2009) EBITDA 55 83 86 102 58 92 46 Internal: 21% EBITDA Margin % 11.6 15.1 15.2 15.2 10.4 15.4 11.7 External: Commercial & Industrial 53% Ag & Res 23% Retail 3% State as of close of 2009 unless otherwise noted

Engineered Building Systems PRODUCTS MARKET SHARE SALES CHANNEL Custom engineered buildings Engineered Building Systems Self-storage mini-warehouses % Market Long Bay® System Est. Rank Share NCI 1 29% Butler/Varco 1 29% CUSTOMERS Nucor Building Systems 3 24% Others N/A 18% Builder network Total 100% Authorized Builders/Erectors General contractors Direct Sales Developers Source: 2009 MBMA Data & NCI Est. Custom fabrication customers Non-Affiliated Builders End users Resellers/Private Label PERFORMANCE STATS Revenue, EBITDA and EBITDA Margin % No. of Builders: 3,447 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 No. of Employees: 2,031 No. of Plants: 9 External Revenue 297 414 452 782 980 1,066 523 EBITDA 24 40 54 83 130 124 28 END USE (FY 2009) EBITDA Margin % 8.1 9.8 11.9 10.7 13.3 11.6 5.4 Commercial & Industrial 60% Institutional 31% Agricultural 9% State as of close of 2009 unless otherwise noted

Architectural Billings Index Architectural Billings Index

Producer Price Index Producer Price Index Charts thru June 2010 Index reset to 2007 as base year.

McGraw-Hill Construction Activity Non-Residential Historical and Forecast Volume McGraw-Hill Linear Trend Millions of Square Feet McGraw- Hill 2,000 1,800 1,600 1,460 1,434 1,400 Feet Square 1,200 1,144 Million 1,000 1,008 800 762 660 600 ‘67 ‘68 ‘69 ‘70 ‘71 ‘72 ‘73 ‘74 ‘75 ‘76 ‘77 ‘78 ‘79 ‘80 ‘81 ‘82 ‘83 ‘84 ‘85 ‘86 ‘87 ‘88 ‘89 ‘90 ‘91 ‘92 ‘93 ‘94 ‘95 ‘96 ‘97 ‘98 ‘99 ‘00 ‘01 ‘02 ‘03 ‘04 ‘05 ‘06 ‘07 ‘08 ‘09 ‘10 ‘11 ‘12 ‘13 ‘14 ‘15

Non-Residential Industrial Vacancy Rates Non-Residential Industrial Vacancy Rates vs. McGraw-Hill Source: REIS, Inc.

GDP vs. McGraw-Hill Non-Residential Square Footage Percentage Change Correlation 0.85

CRU North American Steel Price Index CRU North America Steel Price Index NCI The CRU North American Steel Price Index has been published by the CRU since 1994. It’s based on a survey of industry participants and is commonly used in the settlement of physical and financial contracts within the steel industry. The prices surveyed are purchases for forward delivery, according to lead time, which will vary by approximately one to two months. To better align with NCI’s fiscal year, the values shown are from October of each year. (1994 Index = 100)

Historical Performance and Steel Price Volatility CRU Index Adjusted EBITDA Adjusted Operating Income[a,b] Index Value in October Dollars in millions Dollars in millions 250.00 236 250 240.00 240 230.00 230 220.00 220 210.00 $201 210 200.00 200 190.00 190 180.00 180 170.00 $161 170 160.00 $154 160 150.00 152 150 140.00 140 130.00 130 120.00 120 110.00 $125 110 100.00 $84 100 90.00 90 80.00 73 80 70.00 82 70 60.00 60 50.00 $57 $45 50 40.00 40 30.00 30 20.00 20 10.00 $7 10 0.00 0 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 The CRU North American Steel Price Index has been published by the CRU since 1994. It’s based on a survey of industry participants and is commonly used in the settlement of physical and financial contracts within the steel industry. The prices surveyed are purchases for forward delivery, according to lead time, which will vary by approximately one to two months. To better align with NCI’s fiscal year, the values shown are from October of each year. (1994 Index = 100) [a] Before goodwill amortization for fiscal years 1999-2001 [b] Before goodwill and other intangible asset impairment, lower of cost or market charges, change in control charges, restructuring charges, asset impairment charges, environmental and other contingency adjustments and executive retirements for fiscal years 2008 and 2009. _ 18

Adjusted Operating Income and Adjusted EBITDA U.S. Nonresidential Activity Adjusted EBITDA Adjusted Operating Incomea, b Square feet in billions Dollars in millions Dollars in millions Dotted lines represent future projections Source: McGraw- Hill 2.00 250 1.95 240 1.90 1.87 230 1.85 220 1.80 $201 210 1.75 1.67 200 1.70 1.65 190 1.60 180 1.55 $161 170 1.50 $154 1.46 160 1.45 1.40 150 1.40 140 1.35 130 1.30 120 1.25 1.20 $125 110 1.15 100 1.10 90 1.05 80 1.00 $84 70 0.95 60 0.90 50 0.85 $57 $45 40 0.80 0.77 30 0.75 0.70 $7 20 0.65 10 0.60 0 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 [a] Before goodwill amortization for fiscal years 1999-2001 [b] Before goodwill and other intangible asset impairment, lower of cost or market charges, change in control charges, restructuring charges, asset impairment charges, environmental and other contingency adjustments and executive retirements for fiscal years 2008 and 2009.

NCI Overview

Historical Financial Perspective Current Non-Res Last Non-Res Downturn Downturn ($ in millions, FYE Oct.) 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 (1) 2007 2008 (2) 2009 (2) Revenue $937 $1,018 $955 $953 $898 $1,085 $1,130 $1,571 $1,625 $1,763 $965 % Growth 38.7% 8.7% -6.2% -0.2% -5.8% 20.8% 4.2% 39.0% 3.4% 8.5% -45.3% COGS $697 $762 $742 $741 $701 $823 $851 $1,187 $1,221 $1,319 $749 % of Revenue 74.4% 74.8% 77.7% 77.7% 78.0% 75.8% 75.3% 75.6% 75.2% 74.8% 77.6% Gross Profit (3) $240 $257 $213 $213 $198 $262 $279 $384 $404 $444 $216 % Margin 25.6% 25.2% 22.3% 22.3% 22.0% 24.2% 24.7% 24.4% 24.8% 25.2% 22.4% ESG&A $120 $131 $133 $141 $140 $165 $175 $246 $272 $285 $211 % of Revenue 12.8% 12.9% 14.0% 14.8% 15.6% 15.2% 15.5% 15.7% 16.7% 16.2% 21.9% EBIT (3) $120 $125 $80 $72 $57 $97 $104 $138 $132 $161 $7 % Margin 12.8% 12.3% 8.4% 7.6% 6.4% 8.9% 9.2% 8.8% 8.1% 9.1% 0.7% Adjusted EBITDA $146 $154 $105 $100 $84 $128 $138 $176 $176 $201 $45 % Margin 15.6% 15.1% 11.0% 10.5% 9.3% 11.8% 12.2% 11.2% 10.8% 11.4% 4.7% Capex $33 $29 $15 $9 $18 $9 $20 $27 $42 $25 $22 % of Revenue 3.6% 2.8% 1.6% 1.0% 2.0% 0.9% 1.7% 1.7% 2.6% 1.4% 2.3% (1) RCC acquisition completed in April 2006. Results included from acquisition date. (2)Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations. (3)Excludes special charges.

2009 Operational Restructuring Buildings Group • Reduced manufacturing facilities from 16 to 9 • Maintained customer touch points (sales/service) • Transitioned to a single leadership role for both RCC & NCI buildings groups • Manufacturing operations reorganized • Engineering and Drafting reorganized Components Group • Reduced manufacturing facilities from 22 to 18 • Maintained the necessary footprint to service external customers and provide support for the Buildings group’s needs

Employee Reduction 18 Month Employee Count 18 Month Headcount Trend 6,000 5,500 5,000 4,500 4,000 3,500 3,000 Sep 08 Oct 08 Nov 08 Dec 08 Jan 09 Feb 09 Mar 09 Apr 09 May 09 Jun 09 Jul 09 Aug 09 Sep 09 Oct 09 Nov 09 Dec 09 Jan 10 Feb 10

NCI Manufacturing Plants After Reductions Manufacturing Plants* Before MANUFACTURING PLANTS Coaters 5 Components 22 BEFORE AFTER Buildings 16 COATERS 5 5 43 COMPONENTS 22 18 *white shapes indicate closed BUILDINGS 16 9 TOTAL 43 32 *white shapes indicate closed facilities

Significant Cost Reductions Completed Cost Reduction Summary ($000’s) COST REDUCTION HEADCOUNT REDUCTION Fixed Direct Variable Total Cost % % Costs (1) Costs (2) Savings Reduction Number Reduction BY SEGMENT Buildings $88,205 $374,188 $462,393 48.2% 1,530 41.8% Components 23,016 152,532 175,548 33.9% 547 36.7% Coaters 2,321 29,326 31,647 46.8% 40 10.3% Corporate 7,703 5,319 13,022 20.2% 61 25.3% Total $121,245 $561,365 $682,610 42.4% 2,178 37.7% BY COST LINE ITEM Cost of Goods $71,250 $522,664 $593,914 44.8% 1,619 43.3% Engineering 19,004 3,573 22,577 41.9% 217 33.0% SG&A 30,991 35,128 66,119 28.6% 342 24.7% Total $121,245 $561,365 $682,610 42.4% 2,178 37.7% (1) Fixed cost reductions represent 30% of total 2008 fixed costs. (2) Direct variable costs include such items as Materials, Bonus, Commission, etc. that will vary based on NCI’s performance without any other action.

Strategy

2008 Five-Year Growth Strategy Corporate-Wide Initiatives Successfully capture share of growing Green building market Continue to identify and assess opportunistic acquisitions Enhance plant utilization through expanded use of Hub & Spoke Distribution model Continue to focus on leveraging Technology and Automation to be lowest cost producer Implement common MRP platform, Financial Shared Services model and Supply Chain automation and efficiencies to allow for more cost reductions across all divisions Coatings Division Diversify external customer base to substantially increase toll and package sales Continue to leverage efficiency improvements to be lowest cost producer Components Division Expand Insulated Panel product offering utilizing our new state-of-the-art manufacturing facility in Jackson, MS Expand Nu-Roof retrofit roofing program Buildings Division Enhance and share Engineering and Drafting technologies across all Building Brands Continue product rationalization across both Building Groups Expand capabilities to serve High Complexity building market Expand material sales by offering Furnish & Erect services to key customers when required As construction markets recover, expand low-cost Frame production Deploy web-based pricing software for small buildings to NCI’s Builder Networks

2010 and Beyond Large municipalities continue to adopt Cool Roof and/or LEED as permit requirements •Dallas, TX •Philadelphia, PA •Chicago, IL California 2008 Building Energy Efficiency standards adopted January 1st with low and steep slope cool roof requirements California Green Building Standards (CalGreen) requires an additional 15% energy reduction for state buildings ASHRAE 189.1 adoption has been slower than expected International Green Construction Code (IgCC) continues to be developed and our industry is heavily involved. •Scheduled to publish in early 2012. •Will likely have Cool Roof and Air Barrier requirements

NCI Green Benefits Metal construction products: Have 25%-35% post-consumer recycled content Are highly durable and have long life spans Are Virtually 100% recyclable Through the use of Cool Roof colors with improved solar reflectivity and emissivity values we are able to: Reduce the heat island effect, which increases environmental temperatures and exacerbates pollution Lower energy consumption in warmer climates Insulated Metal Panels provide higher R-Values per inch, insulation continuity, and a continuous air barrier, increasing energy efficiency. Using less energy: Decreases Green House Gas emissions Lowers operating costs Reduces dependence on foreign fuel Environmental Economic Health and Community

Regulatory Requirements More stringent energy efficiency building codes are requiring better envelope performance. R-Value Trends in ASHRAE 90.1 Assembly Air Infiltration 40 0.045 35 0.04 30 per sq. ft.) 0.035 25 (CFM 0.03 Roof 0.025 20 Wall Rate 0.02 15 Leakage 0.015 10 0.01 5 0.005 0 0 2004 2007 2008 Prop. 2010 ® ® ® Proposed ASHRAE Insulated BattenLok BattenLok DoubleLok Edition Maximum The building envelope is being required to The reduction of air infiltration is the next major step support many of the regulatory demands to in code requirements towards improving the energy increase energy efficiency for the complete efficiency of a building envelope. building system. NCI manufactures products that meet these requirements today. R-Value Source: American Society of Heating Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers, Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings, Versions as noted. Note: These values are based on averages of all construction types, excluding mass walls and attics, of a representative climate zone (4). Assembly Air Filtration Sources: American Society of Heating Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers, Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings, Addendum bf, First Public Review, June 2009. MBCI Engineering technical Bulletin Nos. 202-01-00 and 175-01-97, Revised 02-27-2002.. Note: Air infiltration volumes are measured at reference pressures that sometimes don’t match depending on the applicable standard. In order to compare values, infiltration rates shown have been normalized to ASHRAE’s reference pressure of 1.57 psf. Actual data ran at the reference pressure will vary somewhat from this. NCI is an authorized reseller of Metl-Span panels.

Life Cycle Assessment LCA Impacts for Various Types of Framing 30 More 25 Reinforced Concrete 20 Level Glue- Laminated Wood 15 Impact Conventional 10 Structural Steel 5 Metal Building System Less 0 Primary Energy Weighted Global Warming Acidification Human Health Eutrophication Ozone Depletion Smog Potential Consumption Resource Use Potential Potential Respiratory Potential Potential Effects Potential ISO 14440 Impact Category Source: Athena Institute EcoCalculator, Version 3.3 for low-rise construction in ASHRAE 90.1 Climate Zone 3, obtained from http://www.athenasmi.org/tools/ecoCalcul ator/downloadEcoCalculator.php Note: Data shown is for framing (columns and beams) only. Data has been normalized to performance of Pre-Engineered Building System (Short Span) which will have a value of 1.0 for all impacts accordingly.

Building Integrated Photovoltaic Systems Solar photovoltaic systems are suitable to metal roofs, lowering the lifetime cost per watt. •Decreased installation expense •Roof and module life span compatibility •Lower risk due to the lack of roof penetrations Applied Thin Film Mechanically Attached Crystalline These systems can be sold in three ways depending on size and viability as a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) project: •Predesigned kits •Custom designed systems •Turnkey PPAs through a partner

Insulated Panels: Product & Process Photos Exterior Metal Skin Polyisocyanurate Insulation Interior Metal Skin _ 33

Retrofit Roofing: Before & After BEFORE AFTER STRUCTURAL BUILD-UP _ 34

Efficient Distribution Model 32 manufacturing facilities across the United States and Mexico, with additional sales and distribution offices throughout the nation and Canada. Places manufacturing and distribution operations closer to our customers Faster and lower cost delivery Reduces the need for substantial labor, machinery and inventory investments at each facility Reduces the impact of regional economic cycles Manufacturing Plants NCI Metal Coil Coating NCI Metal C omponents NCI Engineered Building Systems

Transportation Management System (TMS) O r a c le T r a n s p o r ta tio n M a n a g e m e n t P r o je c t H ig h L e v e l T im e lin e 2 0 1 0 2 0 1 1 M a r A p r M a y J u n J u l A u g S e p O c t N o v D e c J a n F e b Phase P la n n in g P h a s e IA P h a s e B u ild in g s — 3 lo c a tio n s Project P h a s e IB C o a te r s P h a s e II B u ild in g s — 5 lo c a tio n s • The system implementation will cost $1.7M. We expect to begin experiencing cost reductions in October 2010 on a location by location basis, increasing to 10% of total freight spend by the end of 2011.

Financial Data

NCI Performance vs. The Industry Outstanding Debt Adjusted EBITDA LTM NCI Sales NCI’s Capital Structure $1,890 $1,763 $1,755 $1,625 $1,620 $1,571 $1,485 $565 $1,350 $600 $1,215 $1,130 $$498 $497 $474 $1,085 millions) $1,018 millions) 474 $433 $417 $1,080 $937 $955 $953 $965 $450 $945 $865 $898 $368 $373 $810 $297 $675 $300 $249 $540 $217 $201 (in $176 $176 $150 (in $405 $146 $154 $138 $105 $100 $128 $270 $150 $84 $45 $135 $0 $0 1998 1999 2000408 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 333 $ May Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Nov. Nov. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Nov. Nov. 234 $1998 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 $ Overall Nonresidential Construction Spending $260 $240 $220 $200 $180 billions) $160 $140 (in $120 $100 $80 $60 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 Source: FW Dodge

Seasonal Trends For Fiscal Q1 2004 through Q4 2009 SALES [in millions] Adjusted EBITDA [in millions] $509 $525 $499 $84.0 $500 $80.0 $463 $477 $475 $76.0 $434 $450 $72.0 $449 $416 $66.8 $425 $68.0 $61.6 $61.0 $400 $64.0 $59.7 $361 $360 $368 $375 $60.0 $350 $56.0 $319 $341 $296 $330 $53.9 $325 $52.0 $52.2 $47.2 $45.6 $293 $300 $48.0 $293 $255 $260 $275 $44.0 $245 $243 $42.5 $238 $40.0 $224 $250 $215 $251 $36.0 $225 $36.0 $35.8 $32.0 $200 $30.9 $34.3 $28.3 $175 $28.0 $28.4 $31.3 $30.7 $27.9 $21.4 $150 $24.0 $24.3 $125 $20.0 $20.9 $16.0 $18.5 $100 $12.0 $75 $8.0 $50 $4.0 $1.6 $25 $3.1 $0.0 $0 Q1 ‘04 Q2 ‘04 Q3 ‘04 Q4 ‘04 Q1 ‘05 Q2 ‘05 Q3 ‘05 Q4 ‘05 Q1 ‘06 Q2 ‘06 Q3 ‘06 Q4 ‘06 Q1 ‘07 Q2 ‘07 Q3 ‘07 Q4 ‘07 Q1 ‘08* Q2 ‘08* Q3 ‘08* Q4 ‘08* Q1 ‘09* Q2 ‘09* Q3 ‘09* Q4 ‘09* *Sales amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations.

Historical Performance Adjusted Earnings (Loss) Per Diluted Share* Adjusted EBITDA * $201 $19.54 $176 $176 $16.41 $154 $146 $138 $13.89 $128 $ $11.70 $12.15 12.65 $11.78 $105 $100 $8.40 $84 $6.00 $5.03 $45 ( $2.83) 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 * Adjusted Earnings (Loss) per Diluted Share is a non-GAAP financial measure which is reconciled to * Adjusted EBITDA is defined in the Company’s credit facilities and is calculated within the Appendix. the most comparable GAAP financial measure as indicated in the Appendix. The Adjusted Earnings (Loss) per Diluted Share has been retrospectively adjusted for the Reverse Stock Split that occurred on March 5, 2010. $1,763 Sales $1,625 $1,571 $1,130 $1,085 $1,018 $965 $937 $955 $953 $898 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009

Operating Segment Results Fiscal Year 2008 vs. Fiscal Year 2009 Fiscal Year 2008 Fiscal Year 2009 THIRD PARTY SALES THIRD PARTY SALES $1,763 million $965 million Engineered Building Systems Metal Components Engineered Building Systems Metal Components 60% 34% 55% 40% Metal Coil Coating 6% Metal Coil Coating Fiscal Year 2008 Fiscal Year 2009 5% OP PROFIT OP PROFIT $220 million* $59 million* Metal Components Engineered Building Systems Engineered Building Systems 37% 49% 25% Metal Components 62% Metal Coil Coating 13% Metal Coil Coating 14% * Before corporate expenses, in addition see Appendix for the reconciliation of the non-GAAP financial measure to the GAAP financial measure.

Cash Flow ($ in thousands) 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 Operating Cash Flow Net Income (Loss) a b 16,535 (33,773) 22,800 44,890 51,337 68,946 58,568 73,278 (750,796) Depreciation & Amortization 34,866 22,883 23,007 22,974 24,488 31,092 36,242 36,333 33,531 Other Non-cash items 6,357 67,943a 4,284 10,029 14,540 13,804 6,418 19,727 759,597b Changes in Working Capital 22,156 659 19,177 (54,163) 27,902 7,672 36,397 (89,144) 53,038 Operating Cash Flow 79,914 57,712 69,268 23,730 118,267 121,514 137,625 40,194 95,370 Investing Cash Flow Acquisitions (5,521) — - - (4,310) — - — (27,399) (366,598) (20,086) — - — - — -Capital Expenditures (15,026) (9,175) (17,912) (9,327) (19,524) (27,056) (42,041) (24,803) (21,657) Other 6,028 7,312 3,891 3,316 1,118 308 5,764 6,113 2,555 Investing Cash Flow (14,519) (1,863) (18,331) (6,011) (45,805) (393,346) (56,363) (18,690) (19,102) Financing Cash Flow Debt Repayment (49,380) (195,200) (48,550) (243,750) (23,700) (78,511) (91,447) (26,529) (235,874) Debt Issuance — - - 125,000 — - — 200,000 180,000 200,000 90,500 — - — - — -Convertible Preferred Stock — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - 250,000 Refinancing Costs - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - (54,659) Stock Repurchases (909) (175) (114) — - — (40,676) (37,572) (36,122) (2,226) (451) 3,020 2,931 2,401 20,049 4,408 12,104 5,444 (1) (12,967)c Other Financing Cash Flow (47,269) (67,444) (46,263) (23,701) 120,032 96,021 (31,625) (28,756) (53,951) Exchange rate changes — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — 133 379 399 (99) Net Increase (Decrease) in Cash 18,126 (11,595) 4,674 (5,982) 192,494 (175,678) 50,016 (6,853) 22,218 [a] Includes $65.1 million cumulative effect of change in accounting principle. [b] Includes $622.6 million for goodwill and other intangible asset impairment, $97.6 million debt extinguishment charge, $40 million lower of cost or market charge, $11.2 million change of control charges, $9.1 million restructuring charges and $6.3 million asset impairment. [c] Includes ($13.0) for restricted cash for cash collateralized letters of credit

Capitalization Capitalization and Current Terms Jul 27, 2008 Nov 2, 2008 Feb 1, 2009 May 3, 2009 Aug 2, 2009 Nov 1, 2009 Jan 31, 2010 May 2, 2010 Aug. 1, 2010 Cash $40 $68 $91 $92 $105 $90 $78 $51 $54 $125 Million Revolver $- $- $- $- $- n/a n/a n/a n/a $125 Million ABL Credit Facility n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a — - — - L+450, Due April 2014 1% unused Commitment fee Amended and Restated Term Loan 293 293 293 293 293 150 150 150 136 L+600, 2% floor, Due April 2014, quarterly installments of 0.25% $180 Million 2.25% Convertible Notes 180 180 180 180 180 - - — -Industrial Revenue Bond 2 1 1 1 1 - — - — Total Debt $475 $474 $474 $474 $474 $150 $150 $150 $136 Convertible Preferred stock — - — - - $223 $231 $239 $248 Liquidation value $250 million, conversion rate $1.2748 Dividends payable in cash (8%) or PIK (12%) Call Put 2019 Total Stockholders’ Equity (Deficit) $599 $624 $95 $(24) $(18) $50 $31 $18 $7 Net Debt $435 $406 $383 $382 $369 $60 $72 $99 $82 Net Indebtedness $435 $424 $424 $424 $424 $100 $100 $100 $86 Debt/LTM Adjusted EBITDA 2.4x 2.4x 2.8x 3.6x 5.4x 3.4x 3.7x 3.9x 5.0x Net Indebtedness/LTM Adjusted EBITDA 2.2x 2.5x 2.6x 3.2x Fixed Charge Coverage Ratio 2.0x 1.9x 2.0x 1.5x Financial Maintenance Covenants: Term Loan: Prior to October 2011, no financial maintenance covenants. Beginning in October 2011, maximum Net Indebtedness/Adjusted EBITDA of 5.0x, and then declining by steps to 3.5x by October 2013. ABL: Available borrow ing base is a function of eligible inventory and receivables. If the remaining available borrow ing capacity under the ABL is less than $15 million, then a minimum fixed charge coverage ratio of 1x must be maintained.

Appendix

Reconciliation of Quarterly Adjusted EBITDA To Net Income (Loss) 45 Note: Adjusted EBITDA is defined in the Company's credit facilities, as amended from time to time. ($ in thousands) Trailing 12 mo. Q1 2007 Q2 2007 Q3 2007 Q4 2007 10,453 6,628 7,168 8,156 1,860 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 34,265 6,511 4,309 7,305 7,918 2,288 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 28,331 21,328 13,846 7,199 9,308 2,262 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 53,943 25,437 16,313 6,419 9,301 2,200 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 59,670 Net Income (Loss) Income Taxes Interest Expense Depreciation & Amortization Stock-Based Compensation Goodwill & Other Intangible Asset Impairment Cash Restructuring Charges Transaction Costs Lower of Cost or Market Adjustment, Net Asset Impairments (recovery) Gain on Embedded Derivative ADJUSTED EBITDA Q1 2008 6,100 3,823 8,522 9,144 2,871 - - - 226 - - - - - - - - - - - - 30,686 Q2 2008 13,466 8,537 7,748 8,645 3,442 - - - 640 - - - - - - - - - - - - 42,478 Q3 2008 30,494 18,554 7,463 8,665 1,563 - - - 43 - - - - - - - - - - - - 66,782 Q4 2008 23,218 17,092 7,761 8,334 1,628 - - - 150 - - - 2,739 157 - - - 61,079 Q1 2009 (529,981) (34,861) 6,623 8,324 1,372 517,628 2,479 - - - 29,378 623 - - - 1,585 Q2 2009 Q3 2009 Q4 2009 2,607 1,825 6,487 7,586 1,241 - - - 1,213 401 - - - 26 - - - 21,386 (101,851) (7,495) 9,578 7,640 1,045 - - - 1,564 107,718 - - - 347 - - - 18,546 (121,571) (16,382) 6,168 8,436 1,177 104,936 3,796 629 10,608 5,295 - - - 3,092 a On October 20, 2009, the Company amended and restated its Term Note facility which defines adjusted EBITDA. Adjusted EBITDA excludes non-cash charges for goodwill and other asset impairments, lower of cost or market charges and stock compensation as well as certain non-recurring charges. As such, the historical information is presented in accordance with the definition above. Concurrent with the amendment and restatement of the term note facility, the Company entered into an Asset-Backed Lending facility which has substantially the same definition of adjusted EBITDA except that the ABL facility caps certain non-recurring charges. The Company is disclosing adjusted EBITDA, which is a non-GAAP measure, because it is used by management and provided to investors to provide comparability of underlying operational results. a, b Q1 2010 (10,486) (5,779) 4,507 7,522 801 - - - 524 174 - - - 1,029 (919) (2,627) a, b (123,292) (19,031) 23,147 30,098 4,623 - - - 3,468 107,892 - - - 1,196 (930) 27,171 a, b a, b a, b a, b a, b a, b b Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of the adoption, effective November 2, 2009, of ASC Subtopic 470-20, "Debt with Conversion and Other Options" as well as certain additional reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations Q2 2010 (7,656) (5,536) 4,670 7,479 1,403 - - - 829 - - - - - - (116) (4) 1,069 a, b Q3 2010 (3,299) (221) 4,392 7,457 1,374 - - - 551 - - - - - - (64) (7) 10,183 b

Reconciliation of Annual Adjusted EBITDA To Net Income (Loss) b b 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 27,887 37,318 44,577 44,407 16,535 (33,773) a 22,800 44,890 51,337 68,946 58,568 73,278 Net Income (Loss) (750,796) Income Taxes 16,238 24,531 32,294 32,866 16,151 19,970 14,758 29,767 37,383 42,213 37,879 48,006 (56,913) Interest Expense 163 20,756 35,449 39,069 33,090 21,591 19,777 15,126 16,931 27,353 36,468 31,494 28,856 Depreciation & Amortization 7,876 17,818 28,542 33,487 34,866 22,883 23,007 22,974 24,488 30,292 34,697 34,788 31,986 401(k) Stock Contributions 1,604 2,219 4,144 3,677 3,491 3,581 3,229 5,080 3,849 — - - - — - — - — - -Stock-Based Compensation — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — 683 3,684 7,161 8,610 9,504 4,835 Goodwill & Other Intangible Asset — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - 622,564 Impairment Cash Restructuring Charges — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - 1,059 9,052 Transaction Costs — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — 108,748 Lower of Cost or Market Adjustment, Net — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — 2,739 39,986 Asset Impairment — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - 157 6,291 Non-Cash Real Estate Write Down, — - — - — - — - — - — - 1,330 391 - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - -Net of Tax Debt Refinancing — - — - — - 1,001 — - — - — - 808 — - — 9,879 — - - - — - — - — - — - — - — Cumulative Effects of Accounting Change, — - — - - - — - — - — - — - — 65,087 — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — -Net of Tax ADJUSTED EBITDA a 53,768 102,642 146,007 153,506 105,463 100,147 83,962 128,399 137,672 175,965 176,222 201,025 44,609 [a] Includes a pre-tax non-cash charge of $67.4 million from adopting SFAS No. 142, Goodwill and Other Intangible Assets. b On October 20, 2009, the Company amended and restated its Term Note facility which defines adjusted EBITDA. Adjusted EBITDA excludes non- cash charges for goodwill and other asset impairments, lower of cost or market charges and stock compensation as well as certain non- recurring charges. As such, the historical information is presented in accordance with the definition above. Concurrent with the amendment and restatement of the term note facility, the Company entered into an Asset- Backed Lending facility which has substantially the same definition of adjusted EBITDA except that the ABL facility caps certain non- recurring charges. The Company is disclosing adjusted EBITDA, which is a non- GAAP measure, because it is used by management and provided to investors to provide comparability of underlying operational results. Note: Adjusted EBITDA is defined in the Company’s credit facilities, as amended from time to time.

Reconciliation of Operating Income (Loss) to Adjusted Operating Income (Loss) Excluding Special Charges (in thousands) 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 b 2007 b 2008 b, c 2009 b, c Operating income (loss), GAAP basis 42,289 79,309 108,442 113,670 64,825 72,224 57,163 96,976 104,470 137,985 131,720 154,826 (683,420) Goodwill and other intangible impairments — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — 622,564 Goodwill amortization — - - - — - 11,208 11,468 12,232 — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - -Lower of cost or market charge — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — - 2,739 39,986 Change in control charges — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — 11,168 Restructuring charges — - — - — - — - — - — - 2,815 - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - 1,059 9,052 Asset impairments — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — - 157 6,291 Executive retirement — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - 2,852 — - — Environmental and other contingency adjs. — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - 1,115 Nonrecurring acquisition expense — - — 2,060 — - - - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - — - - - — - — - — - — - — Adjusted operating income (loss) (a) 42,289 81,369 119,650 125,138 79,872 72,224 57,163 96,976 104,470 137,985 131,720 161,633 6,756 (a) The Company discloses a tabular comparison of Adjusted operating income (loss), which is a non-GAAP measure because it is instrumental in comparing the results from period to period. Adjusted operating income (loss) should not be considered in isolation or as a substitute for operating income (loss) as reported on the face of our statement of income. (b) Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of the adoption, effective November 2, 2009, of ASC Subtopic 470-20, “Debt with Conversion and Other Options.” (c) Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations.

2009 Recapitalization Capitalization Recapitalization Capitalization Aug 2, 2009 Oct 20, 2009 Nov 1, 2009 Cash $105 Replaced revolver with Cash $90 $125 million undrawn ABL facility. $125 Million Revolver (L+175) — $125 Million ABL Revolver (L+450) -Term Loan (L+150) 293 Term Loan (L+600, 2% floor) 150 $180 Million 2.25% Convertible Notes 180 Total Debt $150 Industrial Revenue Bond 1 Amended/Extended term Total Debt $474 loan and paid down $143 Net Debt $60 million. Net Debt $369 Convertible Preferred Stock $223 Stockholder’s Deficit $ (18) Stockholder’s Equity $50 Exchanged convertible notes for $90 million cash and Financial Covenants 14.0* million shares of Financial Covenants common stock. Net Indebtedness to Adjusted EBITDA Leverage Ratio Covenant: 4.0x Covenant Beginning in October 2011: 5.0x then quarterly step downs Sold $250 million convertible preferred stock. ABL Fixed Charge Coverage Covenant: Senior Leverage Ratio Covenant: 2.75x 1.0:1.0 required only when excess available borrowings are less than $15 million. On March 5, 2010, the Company filed an amendment to its Certificate of Incorporation to effect the Reverse Stock Split at an exchange ratio of 1-to-5. As such, we have retrospectively adjusted the shares of common stock.

Simplified Illustration of Diluted EPS (dollars and shares in millions, except per share amounts) (amounts are provided for illustration and are NOT historical or forward looking) WTD AVG. EXAMPLE A EXAMPLE B OWN. INT. LOSS EARNINGS Diluted EPS Numerator, Two Class Method Net income (loss) (GAAP) (100.0) 100.0 Deduct Convertible Preferred Stock dividend (7.5) (7.5) Deduct Convertible Preferred Stock accretion (0.5) (0.5) Deduct non-cash beneficial conversion feature charge (5.0) (5.0) Net income (loss) applicable to common shares (113.0) 87.0 Deduct earnings allocated to participating securities (1) Unvested restricted common stock 2% - 1.7 Convertible Preferred Stock 67% - 58.3 Net income (loss) allocated to common shares 31% (113.0) 27.0 Diluted EPS Denominator Two Class Method Weighted average common shares outstanding 19.5 19.5 Unvested restricted common stock (1.5) (1.5) Dilutive impact of stock options outstanding (2) — 1.0 Diluted w eighted average common shares outstanding 18.0 19.0 Diluted Earnings Per Share, Two Class Method (3) $(6.28) $1.42 (1) Earnings are allocated between those securities that have rights to participate in future dividend distributions based on their relative weighted average ownership interests. Losses are not allocated to participating securities because they are not contractually obligated to fund or otherwise share in those losses. (2) Example B assumes that stock options are dilutive after having applied the treasury stock method. (3) If using the “if converted” method resulted in lower diluted earnings per share than the two class method, the lower amount would generally be reported. However, given the Company’s capital structure, this is not likely to occur.

Convertible Preferred Stock Key Terms Regarding Dividend Payments Dividends may be paid in cash (8% annual rate) or in-kind (12% annual rate) at the Company’s option: • Dividend payment dates: March 15th, June 15th, September 15th and December 15th. • Credit facility restrictions: • Both our ABL Facility and Term Loan Credit Facility restrict our ability to pay cash dividends until the first quarter of fiscal 2011. • Thereafter, cash dividend payments are generally limited to 50% of the consolidated net income accumulated subsequent to August 2, 2009, subject to specified adjustments, less the sum of all previous distributions. • Dividend Elimination or “knock-out”: • The dividend rate becomes 0% permanently, if at any time after April 2012 the trading price of our common stock exceeds $12.75 (adjusted for stock splits, etc.) for 20 consecutive trading days. However, in the event of a default, as defined, certain penalty dividends may be required. Summary of Preferred and Common Stock Outstanding at Aug. 1, 2010: Number of Shares of Common Stock, if converted (millions) Series B Convertible Preferred Stock 43.0 Common Stock 18.3 Unvested Restricted Common Stock 1.3 Total Outstanding Shares, if converted 62.6 The liquidation preference of the Series B Convertible Preferred Stock, including accrued unpaid dividends, was $274.3 million

Simplified Beneficial Conversion Feature (BCF) Charge Illustration for Paid In-Kind Dividends The following table illustrates a few selected dates out of a full quarter’s calculation of the BCF charge on our Paid In-Kind Dividends: (Dollars and shares in thousands, except per share information) Shares of Daily Conversion Closing BCF Amount Common Total BCF Charge Dividend Price Per Stock Per Converted Stock, if (Assuming stock price Accrual (1) Share (2) Price Common Share Converted of $8 to $15) (3) Day 1 $86.2 $6.374 $10.00 $3.626 13.5 $49.1 Day 2 86.2 6.374 5.00 — 13.5 -Day 3 86.2 6.374 12.00 5.626 13.5 76.1 ... Day 91 86.2 6.374 12.00 5.626 13.5 76.1 Total $7,900.0 1,250.0 Est. $2,000 — $7,900 (1) The daily dividend amount is determined quarterly based on the underlying amount of convertible preferred stock outstanding. The daily dividend amount is accrued at an annual rate of 12% but if it is later paid in cash instead of in-kind, the excess 4% dividend and the related beneficial conversion feature charge would be eliminated in the period in which it is paid. The Company has the option to pay the dividends in cash at 8% or in-kind at 12%, subject to restrictions in the credit facilities for our term loan and ABL revolver. Further, if at any time after April 2012, our stock trades above $12.75 for 20 consecutive trading days, the underlying basic preferred stock dividends are permanently eliminated thereafter. (2) The conversion price of $6.374 reflects the adjustment for the one-for-five reverse stock split that occurred in March 2010. (3) The amount of the beneficial conversion feature charged in any quarter will be the sum of the daily BCF amounts calculated as illustrated above and will depend on the daily closing price of our stock in relation to the $6.374 conversion price. The charge is limited or “capped” at the underlying dividend amount. As an example, based on a daily stock price ranging between $8 and $15, the estimated quarterly charge would be $2 million to $7.9 million. _ 51

52 Operating income (loss), GAAP basis Goodwill and other intangible asset impairment Lower of cost or market charge Change in control charges Restructuring charges Asset impairment Environmental and other contingency adjustments "Adjusted" operating income (loss) a Operating income (loss), GAAP basis Executive Retirement Lower of cost or market charge Restructuring charges Asset impairment "Adjusted" operating income (loss) a $(99,658) 98,959 8,102 - - - 103 - - - - - - $ 7,506 $29,354 - - - 2,739 - - - - - - $32,093 $(129,992) 147,239 17,152 - - - 1,306 714 - - - $ 36,419 $82,084 - - - - - - 972 - - - $83,056 $(389,184) 376,366 14,732 - - - 7,440 4,368 1,115 $ 14,837 $104,863 - - - - - - 60 157 $105,080 $(64,586) - - - - - - 11,168 203 1,209 - - - $(52,006) $(61,475) 2,852 - - - 27 - - - $(58,596) a The Company discloses a tabular comparison of "Adjusted" operating income (loss), which is a non-GAAP measure because it is referred to in the text of our press release and is instrumental in comparing the results from period to period. "Adjusted" operating income (loss) should not be considered in isolation or as a substitute for operating income (loss) as reported on the face of our statement of income. For the Year Ended November 1, 2009 For the Year Ended November 2, 2008 $(683,420) 622,564 39,986 11,168 9,052 6,291 1,115 $ 6,756 $154,826 2,852 2,739 1,059 157 $161,633 Metal Coil Coating Metal Components Engineered Building Systems Corporate Consolidated Metal Coil Coating Metal Components Engineered Building Systems Corporate Consolidated Reconciliation of Operating Income (Loss) to Adjusted Operating Income (Loss) Excluding Special Charges

Adjusted Earnings (Loss) Per Diluted Share 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 Earnings (loss) per diluted share, GAAP basis $11.70 $12.15 $4.55 $(9.05) $6.00 $11.20 $12.08 $15.91 $13.89 $18.49 $(171.18) Goodwill and other intangible asset impairment — - — — - — - - — 17.45 — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — 136.30 Debt extinguishment and refinancing costs - — - — - — — - — — - — — - - 1.45 — - — — - — — - — — - - 21.35 Lower of cost or market adjustment — - — — - — — - — - - — — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - 0.45 5.85 Convertible preferred stock beneficial — - — — - — - - — — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — 0.75 conversion feature Change in control charges - — - — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — — - - 1.55 Restructuring charge - — - — - — 0.48 — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — 0.15 1.25 Asset impairment — - — - - — — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — 0.90 Interest rate swap — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - — - — — - — — - — 0.30 Environmental and other contingency — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - — - — 0.10 adjustments Executive retirement costs — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - — - — — - — 0.45 — - - Group medical benefit — - - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - (0.30) — - — — - — — - — — - - Adoption of FAS 123 (R) — - - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - — - - — 0.50 — - — — - — — - -“Adjusted” diluted earnings (loss) per share a, b $11.70 $12.15 $5.03 $8.40 $6.00 $12.65 $11.78 $16.41 $13.89 $19.54 $(2.83) [a] The Company discloses a tabular comparison of “Adjusted” earnings (loss) per diluted share and net income (loss), which are non- GAAP measures because they are referred to in the text of our press releases and are instrumental in comparing the results from period to period. “Adjusted” diluted earnings (loss) per share and net income (loss) should not be considered in isolation or as a substitute for earnings (loss) per diluted share and net income (loss) as reported on the face of our statement income. [b] On March 5, 2010, the Company filed an amendment to its Certificate of Incorporation to effect the Reverse Stock Split at an exchange ratio of 1- for- 5. As such, we have retrospectively adjusted basic and diluted earnings per share, common stock, stock options, and common stock equivalents for the reverse stock split in all periods presented.

Adjusted Net Income (Loss) Applicable to Common Shares 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 Net income (loss) applicable to common shares, $44,577 $44,407 $16,535 $(33,773) $22,800 $44,890 $51,337 $68,946 $58,568 $73,278 $(762,509) GAAP basis Goodwill and other intangible asset impairment — - — — - — — - - 65,087 — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - — - — 599,966 Debt extinguishment and refinancing costs - — - — - — — - — — - — — - - 5,766 — - — — - — — - — — - - 95,559 Lower of cost or market adjustment — - — — - — — - — - - — — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - 1,687 25,773 Convertible preferred stock beneficial — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - — - — — - — — - — 10,526 conversion feature Change in control charges — - — — - — — - - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - — - - — — - — 6,880 Restructuring charge — - — — - — 1,745 — - - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - 652 5,576 Asset impairment - — - — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — 97 3,875 Interest rate swap — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - — - — — - — — - — 1,893 Environmental and other contingency adjustments — - — - - — — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — 687 Executive retirement costs - — - — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - — - — — - — — - — 1,748 — - -Group Medical Benefit — - - — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - (1,250) — - — — - — — - — — - -Adoption of FAS 123 (R) - - — — - — — - — — - — — - — — - - - — - 2,116 1,748 — - — — - - “Adjusted” net income (loss) applicable [a] $44,577 $44,407 $18,280 $31,314 $22,800 $50,656 $50,087 $71,062 $60,316 $77,462 $(11,774) to common shares [a] The Company discloses a tabular comparison of “Adjusted” earnings (loss) per diluted share and net income (loss), which are non- GAAP measures because they are referred to in the text of our press releases and are instrumental in comparing the results from period to period. “Adjusted” diluted earnings (loss) per share and net income (loss) should not be considered in isolation or as a substitute for earnings (loss) per diluted share and net income (loss) as reported on the face of our statement income.

Reconciliation of Segment Sales to Third Party Segment Sales ($ in thousands) b b b Q1 2007 Q1 2008 Q1 2009 Q1 2010 Metal Coil Coating Total Sales 59,219 14% 62,275 14% 41,501 13% 39,031 17% Inter-segment (42,788) (42,893) (30,077) (26,223) Third Party Sales 16,431 5% 19,382 5% 11,424 4% 12,808 7% Operating Profit (Loss) 4,643 28% 2,695 14% (63,760) (558%) 3,119 24% Metal Components Total Sales 146,093 33% 145,167 34% 121,480 39% 86,806 38% Inter-segment (22,838) (21,804) (20,438) (16,668) Third Party Sales 123,255 34% 123,363 34% 101,042 39% 70,138 38% Operating Profit (Loss) 8,839 7% 9,522 8% (128,607) (127%) 1,791 3% Engineered Building Systems Total Sales 229,169 53% 226,226 52% 151,848 48% 101,938 45% Inter-segment (9,354) (7,655) (4,511) (2,677) Third Party Sales 219,815 61% 218,571 61% 147,337 57% 99,261 55% Operating Profit (Loss) 23,948 11% 20,014 9% (352,214) (238%) (5,818) ( 6% ) Consolidated Total Sales 434,481 100% 433,668 100% 314,829 100% 227,775 100% Inter-segment (74,980) (72,352) (55,026) (45,568) Third Party Sales 359,501 100% 361,316 100% 259,803 100% 182,207 100% a Operating Profit (Loss) 24,233 7% 18,524 5% (557,833) (214%) (12,733) ( 7% ) [a] Includes special charges: $517.6 million related to goodwill and intangible asset impairments; $29.4 million related to inventory lower of cost or market write downs; and $3.1 million related to plant closings and restructuring. [b] Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations.

Reconciliation of Segment Sales to Third Party Segment Sales ($ in thousands) Q2 2007 Q2 2008b Q2 2009b Q2 2010 b YTD Q2 2007 YTD Q2 2008b YTD Q2 2009b YTD Q2 2010b Metal Coil Coating Total Sales 63,844 14% 80,171 16% 39,526 15% 44,759 18% 123,063 14% 142,446 15% 81,027 14% 83,790 17% Inter-segment (43,019) (52,883) (27,313) (27,663) (85,807) (95,776) (57,390) (53,886) Third Party Sales 20,825 6% 27,288 7% 12,213 5% 17,096 8% 37,256 5% 46,670 6% 26,637 5% 29,904 8% Operating Profit(Loss) 5,761 28% 6,705 25% (42,982) n/a 4,092 24% 10,404 28% 9,400 20% (106,742) n/a 7,211 24% Metal Components Total Sales 149,684 34% 165,384 33% 101,554 37% 95,069 37% 295,777 34% 310,551 33% 223,034 38% 181,875 38% Inter-segment (23,376) (26,031) (14,874) (20,693) (46,214) ( ) (47,835) 35,312 (37,361) Third Party Sales 126,308 34% 139,353 33% 86,680 39% 74,376 37% 249,563 34% 262,716 34% 187,722 39% 144,514 37% Operating Profit(Loss) 7,548 6% 15,171 11% (28,117) n/a 5,613 16,387 ( ) 8% 7% 24,693 9% 156,724 n/a 7,404 5% Engineered Building Systems Total Sales 229,861 52% 259,281 51% 128,795 113,403 48% 45% 459,030 52% 485,507 52% 280,643 48% 215,341 45% Inter-segment (9,082) (10,151) (3,407) (3,302) (18,436) (17,806) (7,918) (5,979) Third Party Sales 220,779 60% 249,130 60% 125,388 56% 110,101 55% 440,594 61% 467,701 60% 272,725 56% 209,362 55% Operating Profit(Loss) 17,315 8% 24,744 ( ) 10% (46,350) n/a (5,649) n/a 41,263 9% 44,758 10% 398,564 n/a (11,467) n/a Consolidated Total Sales 443,389 100% 504,836 100% 269,875 100% 100% 877,870 253,231 100% 938,504 100% 584,704 100% 481,006 100% Inter-segment (75,477) (89,065) (45,594) (150,457) ( ) (51,658) (161,417) 100,620 (97,226) Third Party Sales 367,912 100% 415,771 100% 224,281 100% 100% 727,413 201,573 100% 777,087 100% 484,084 100% 383,780 100% Operating Profit(Loss) 17,475 5% 29,549 7% (132,163)a n/a 9,156 n/a 41,708 6% a ( ) 48,073 6% (689,996) n/a (21,889) n/a a Includes special charges: $104.9 million related to goodwill and intangible asset impairments ($622.6 million YTD); $10.6 million related to inventory lower of cost or market write downs ($40.0 million YTD); and $9.1 million related to plant closings and restructuring ($12.2 million YTD). [b] Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations. 56

Reconciliation of Segment Sales to Third Party Segment Sales ($ in thousands) Q3 2007 Q3 2008c Q3 2009c Q3 2010 YTD Q3 2007 YTD Q3 2008c YTD Q3 2009c YTD Q3 2010 Metal Coil Coating Total Sales 72,275 14% 90,732 15% 44,256 15% 51,200 17% 195,338 14% 233,178 15% 125,283 14% 134,990 17% Inter-segment (49,013) (62,842) (28,196) (33,315) 134,820 (158,618) (85,586) (87,201) Third Party Sales 23,262 5% 27,890 6% 16,060 7% 17,885 7% 60,518 5% 74,560 6% 39,697 6% 47,789 8% Operating Profit(Loss) 8,165 35% 11,360 41% 1,016 6% 5,201 29% 18,569 31% 20,760 28% (105,726) n/a (12,412) n/a Metal Components Total Sales 178,312 34% 202,826 35% 113,216 40% 115,507 37% 474,089 34% 513,377 34% 336,250 39% 297,382 38% Inter-segment (26,849) (34,367) (17,134) (26,090) 73,063 (82,202) (52,446) (63,451) Third Party Sales 151,463 35% 168,459 35% 96,082 40% 89,417 37% 401,026 35% 431,175 34% 283,804 39% 233,931 37% Operating Profit(Loss) 14,153 9% 32,174 19% 13,128 14% 10,567 12% 30,540 8% 56,867 13% (143,596) n/a (17,971) n/a Engineered Building Systems Total Sales 271,151 52% 292,127 50% 129,819 45% 141,446 46% 730,181 52% 777,634 51% 410,462 47% 356,787 45% Inter-segment (11,795) (11,468) (4,101) (3,456) 30,231 (29,274) (12,019) (9,435) Third Party Sales 259,356 60% 280,659 59% 125,718 53% 137,990 56% 699,950 60% 748,360 60% 398,443 55% 347,352 55% Operating Profit(Loss) 33,575 13% 27,059 10% 9,042 7% (3,112) 2% 74,838 11% 71,817 10% (389,522) n/a (14,579) n/a Consolidated Total Sales 521,738 100% 585,685 100% 287,291 100% 308,153 100% 1,399,608 100% 1,524,189 100% 871,995 100% 789,159 100% Inter-segment (87,657) (108,677) (49,431) (62,861) 238,114 (270,094) (150,051) (160,087) Third Party Sales 434,081 100% 477,008 100% 237,860 100% 245,292 100% 1,161,494 100% 1,254,095 100% 721,944 100% 629,072 100% Operating Profit(Loss) 42,247 55,709 10,277a 4% 1,076b 1% 83,955 7% 103,782 (679,624)a n/a 20,813 b n/a 10% 12% 8% a Includes special charges: $104.9 million related to goodwill and intangible asset impairments ($622.6 million YTD); $10.6 million related to inventory lower of cost or market write downs ($40.0 million YTD); and $9.1 million related to plant closings and restructuring ($12.2 million YTD). b Includes special charges: $0.5 million related to plant closings and restructuring ($2.7 million YTD). c Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations.

Reconciliation of Segment Sales to Third Party Segment Sales ($ in thousands) Q4 2007 Q4 2008b Q4 2009b YTD Q4 2007 YTD Q4 2008b YTD Q4 2009b Metal Coil Coating Total Sales 77,205 14% 72,479 12% 44,614 15% 272,543 14% 169,897 15% 305,657 14% Inter-segment (54,140) (50,082) (31,122) (188,960) (208,700) (116,708) Third Party Sales 23,065 5% 22,397 4% 13,492 6% 83,583 5% 96,957 53,189 5% 5% Operating Profit (Loss) 6,567 28% 8,621 38% 6,044 45% 25,136 30% 29,381 (99,631) n/a 30% Metal Components Total Sales 189,242 34% 201,878 33% 122,484 41% 663,331 34% 715,255 458,734 39% 34% Inter-segment (28,646) (33,043) (17,156) (101,709) (115,245) (69,602) Third Party Sales 160,596 35% 168,835 33% 105,328 43% 561,622 35% 600,010 389,132 40% 34% Operating Profit (Loss) 19,069 12% 25,227 15% 13,561 13% 49,609 9% 82,094 (129,975) n/a 14% Engineered Building Systems Total Sales 291,363 52% 331,485 55% 128,476 44% 1,021,544 52% 1,109,119 538,938 46% 52% Inter-segment (11,450) (14,068) (3,988) (41,681) (43,342) (16,007) Third Party Sales 279,913 60% 317,417 63% 124,488 51% 979,863 60% 1,065,777 522,931 55% 61% Operating Profit (Loss) 38,427 14% 33,058 11% 338 0% 113,265 12% 104,875 (389,184) n/a 10% Consolidated Total Sales 557,810 100% 605,842 100% 295,574 100% 1,957,418 100% 2,130,031 1,167,569 100% 100% Inter-segment (94,236) (97,193) (52,266) (332,350) (367,287) (202,317) Third Party Sales 463,574 100% 508,649 100% 243,308 100% 1,625,068 100% 1,762,744 965,252 100% 100% Operating Profit (Loss) 47,779 10% 51,096 10% (3,651) n/a 131,734 8% 154,878 (683,420)a 9% n/a aIncludes special charges: goodwill and intangible asset impairments ($622.6 million YTD); inventory lower of cost or market write downs ($40.0 million YTD); $11.2 million change of control charges ($11.2 million YTD); $1.9 million related to plant closings and restructuring ($15.3 million YTD); and $1.1 million environmental and other contingency adjustments ($1.1 million YTD.) [b] Amounts have been retrospectively adjusted as a result of certain reclassifications due to the further integration of RCC and the rationalization of our operations.

10943 North Sam Houston Parkway West Houston, Texas 77064 www.ncilp.com