Contacts: Lorus Therapeutics Inc. Bruce Rowlands Senior Vice President (416) 798-1200 ext. 338 browlands@lorusthera.com	Media Contact: Eliza Walsh / Amy Banek Mansfield Communications (416) 599-0024 / (212) 370-5045 eliza@mcipr.com	US Investor Relations Tim Clemensen Rubenstein Investor Relations (212) 843-9337 tim@rir1.com

LORUS THERAPEUTICS PRESENTS AT ASIA’S LARGEST BIOTECHNOLOGY CONFERENCE

–Lorus to review progress of its extensive oncology pipeline–

TSX:               LOR

AMEX:          LRP

TORONTO, CANADA, September 28, 2004 – Lorus Therapeutics Inc. (“Lorus”) announced today that the company’s chief operating officer, Dr. Aiping Young, and director of business development, Germaine Gross, will attend the BioJapan conference in Tokyo, Japan.  Dr. Young will present a comprehensive review of Lorus’ oncology pipeline to the conference on September 30th.

BioJapan is Asia’s largest biotechnology-related conference.  The conference will include presentations from biotechnology representatives from over seven different countries.  Participants will have the opportunity to investigate potential partnership opportunities, explore Japan's biotech clusters and meet with executives from other biotech companies looking to develop new international relationships.

About Lorus

Lorus is a biopharmaceutical company focused on the research and development of cancer therapies.  Lorus’ goal is to capitalize on its research, preclinical, clinical and regulatory expertise by developing new drug candidates that can be used, either alone, or in combination, to successfully manage cancer.  Through its own discovery efforts and an acquisition and in-licensing program, Lorus is building a portfolio of promising anticancer drugs.  Late-stage clinical development and marketing may be done in cooperation with strategic pharmaceutical partners.  Lorus currently has three products in human clinical trials with a pipeline of eight clinical trials in phase II clinical trial programs and one phase III registration clinical trial.  Lorus Therapeutics Inc. is a public company listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol LOR, and on the American Stock Exchange under the symbol LRP.  Virulizin(R) is a registered trademark of Lorus Therapeutics Inc.

Forward Looking Statements

Except for historical information, this press release contains forward-looking statements, which reflect the Company’s current expectation and assumptions, and are subject to a number of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those anticipated.  These forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties, including, but not limited to, changing market conditions, the Company’s ability to obtain patent protection and protect its intellectual property rights, commercialization limitations imposed by intellectual property rights owned or controlled by third parties, intellectual property liability rights and liability claims asserted against the Company, the successful and timely completion of clinical studies, the establishment of corporate alliances, the impact of competitive products and pricing, new product development, uncertainties related to the regulatory approval process, product development delays, the Company’s ability to attract and retain business partners and key personnel, future levels of government funding, the Company’s ability to obtain the capital required for research, operations and marketing and other risks detailed from time-to-time in the Company’s ongoing quarterly filings, annual information form, annual reports and 40 -F filings. We undertake no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Lorus Therapeutics Inc.’s press releases are available through the Company’s Internet site: http://www.lorusthera.com.

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