Exhibit 99.1

CONTACT:

VIVUS, Inc.	Investor Relations:	The Trout Group
Timothy E. Morris		Brian Korb
Chief Financial Officer		bkorb@troutgroup.com
650-934-5200		646-378-2923

VIVUS Announces $45.8 Million Registered Direct Offering of Common Stock

MOUNTAIN VIEW, Calif., August 23, 2011 — VIVUS, Inc. (NASDAQ: VVUS), a pharmaceutical company dedicated to the development and commercialization of novel therapeutic products, today announced that it has entered into definitive agreements dated August 23, 2011 with a select group of institutional investors to sell 6,889,098 shares of its common stock in a “registered direct” offering. The investors have agreed to purchase the shares at a purchase price of $6.65 per share, resulting in gross proceeds of approximately $45.8 million to VIVUS before estimated fees and expenses of approximately $562,000.

All of the shares of common stock are being offered pursuant to an effective Registration Statement on Form S-3 previously filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”). A prospectus supplement relating to the offering will be filed by VIVUS with the SEC.  The transaction is expected to close on or about August 24, 2011, subject to customary closing conditions.

Funds managed by QVT Financial LP were lead investors in the offering with two other existing investors also participating. VIVUS intends to use the proceeds from the financing for general corporate purposes as set forth in the prospectus supplement to the Registration Statement.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any of the securities described herein, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state or jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful. The securities may be offered only by means of the prospectus supplement and the related base prospectus.  Copies of the prospectus supplement and accompanying base prospectus relating to this offering may be obtained at the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov or directly from the company by contacting VIVUS, Inc., Attention: Corporate Secretary, 1172 Castro Street, Mountain View, CA 94040, (650) 934-5200.

VIVUS, Inc. 1172 Castro Street, Mountain View, CA 94040   Tel 650-934-5200   Fax 650-934-5389  www.vivus.com

About VIVUS

VIVUS is a biopharmaceutical company developing therapies to address obesity, sleep apnea, diabetes and male sexual health. The company’s lead investigational product in clinical development, QNEXA®, has completed phase 3 clinical trials for the treatment of obesity and is currently being considered for approval by US and EU regulators. VIVUS received a Complete Response Letter, or CRL, to the initial QNEXA NDA on October 28, 2010. QNEXA is also in phase 2 clinical development for the treatment of type 2 diabetes and obstructive sleep apnea. In the area of sexual health, VIVUS has submitted an NDA for avanafil, a PDE5 inhibitor being studied for the treatment of erectile dysfunction. For more information about the company, please visit www.vivus.com.

Certain statements in this press release are forward-looking within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements may be identified by the use of forward-looking words such as “anticipate,” “believe,” “forecast,” “estimate” and “intend,” among others. There are a number of factors that could cause actual events to differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements. These factors include, but are not limited to, the timing and substance of our response to the FDA’s requests from the End of Review meeting; our response to, and continued dialogue with, the FDA relating to matters raised in the FDA’s CRL; the timing and results of the retrospective observational study of fetal outcomes in infants born to mothers exposed to topiramate during pregnancy or FORTRESS; the FDA’s interpretation of and agreement with the information VIVUS submitted and may submit relating to teratogenicity and cardiovascular safety; the FDA’s interpretation of the data from our SEQUEL study, or OB-305; the FDA’s requests, if any, to conduct additional prospective studies or retrospective observational studies or to provide further analysis of clinical trial data; the review and questions from the EMA and CHMP on the MAA; substantial competition; the impact on future sales based on specific indication and contraindications contained in the label and the extent of the Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies program; uncertainties of litigation and intellectual property and patent protection; reliance on sole-source suppliers; limited sales and marketing resources and dependence upon third parties; risks related to the development of innovative products; risks related to the failure to obtain FDA or foreign authority clearances or approval; noncompliance with FDA or foreign regulations; and our dependence on the performance of our collaborative partners. As with any pharmaceutical in development, there are significant risks in the development, the regulatory approval, and commercialization of new products. There are no guarantees that our response to the FDA’s CRL or the results of the retrospective observational study of fetal outcomes in infants born to mothers exposed to topiramate during pregnancy and subsequent meetings and communications will be sufficient to satisfy the FDA’s safety concerns, that the FDA will not require us to conduct any additional  prospective studies or retrospective observational studies, or that any product will receive regulatory approval for any indication or prove to be commercially successful. VIVUS does not undertake an obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements. Investors should read the risk factors set forth in VIVUS’ Form 10-K for the year ending December 31, 2010, and periodic reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

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