Genta Incorporated Announces Postponement of Special Stockholders Meeting

BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ – May 26, 2009 – Genta Incorporated (OTCBB: GNTA.OB) today announced that it has postponed its special meeting of stockholders, which had previously been scheduled for 2:30 p.m., Eastern time, on Wednesday, May 27, 2009.  The Company expects to announce a new date for the special meeting in the near future.

About Genta

Genta Incorporated is a biopharmaceutical company with a diversified product portfolio that is focused on delivering innovative products for the treatment of patients with cancer.  Two major programs anchor the Company’s research platform: DNA/RNA-based Medicines and Small Molecules. Genasense® (oblimersen sodium) Injection is the Company's lead compound from its DNA/RNA Medicines program.  The leading drug in Genta’s Small Molecule program is Ganite® (gallium nitrate injection), which the Company is exclusively marketing in the U.S. for treatment of symptomatic patients with cancer related hypercalcemia that is resistant to hydration.  The Company has developed G4544, an oral formulation of the active ingredient in Ganite, that has recently entered clinical trials as a potential treatment for diseases associated with accelerated bone loss.  The Company is also developing tesetaxel, a novel, orally absorbed, semi-synthetic taxane that is in the same class of drugs as paclitaxel and docetaxel.  Ganite and Genasense are available on a “named-patient” basis in countries outside the United States.  For more information about Genta, please visit our website at: www.genta.com.

Safe Harbor

This press release may contain forward-looking statements with respect to business conducted by Genta Incorporated. By their nature, forward-looking statements and forecasts involve risks and uncertainties because they relate to events and depend on circumstances that will occur in the future.  Such forward-looking statements include those that express plan, anticipation, intent, contingency, goals, targets, or future developments and/or otherwise are not statements of historical fact.  The words “potentially”, “anticipate”, “could”, “calls for”, and similar expressions also identify forward-looking statements.  The Company does not undertake to update any forward-looking statements.  Factors that could affect actual results include, without limitation, risks associated with:

·	the Company’s ability to obtain necessary regulatory approval for Genasense® from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”);
·	the safety and efficacy of the Company’s products or product candidates;
·	the Company’s assessment of its clinical trials;
·	the commencement and completion of clinical trials;
·	the Company’s ability to develop, manufacture, license and sell its products or product candidates;
·	the Company’s ability to enter into and successfully execute license and collaborative agreements, if any;
·
the adequacy of the Company’s capital resources and cash flow projections, the Company’s ability to obtain sufficient financing to maintain the Company’s planned operations, or the Company’s risk of bankruptcy;

·	the adequacy of the Company’s patents and proprietary rights;
·	the impact of litigation that has been brought against the Company; and
·	the other risks described under Certain Risks and Uncertainties Related to the Company’s Business, as contained in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K and Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q.

There are a number of factors that could cause actual results and developments to differ materially.  For a discussion of those risks and uncertainties, please see the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for 2008 and its most recent quarterly report on Form 10-Q.

SOURCE: Genta Incorporated

CONTACT:
Genta Investor Relations
info@genta.com