Exhibit 99.1

NEWS

For Immediate Release

Editorial Contact:
Rich Yonker
Vitesse
+1.805.388.3700

Vitesse Extends Completion Date for Filing First, Second, and Third Quarter 2008 Financials

CAMARILLO, Calif. — December 1, 2008 — Vitesse Semiconductor Corporation (Pink Sheets: VTSS.PK) today announced that it will need additional time to complete the review of its quarterly financial results for fiscal 2008 and to file quarterly reports on Form 10-Q for the periods ended December 31, 2007, March 31, 2008 and June 30, 2008 (the “Forms 10-Q”).  The Company intends to complete the review of its fiscal 2008 quarterly financial results and to file the Forms 10-Q as well as an annual report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2008 with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on or before December 30, 2008.

Vitesse plans to conduct an investor conference call and webcast after the filing of its fiscal year 2008 Form 10-K. Details for the call will be announced in a news release.

About Vitesse

Vitesse designs, develops and markets a diverse portfolio of high-performance, cost-competitive semiconductor solutions for Carrier and Enterprise Ethernet networks worldwide. Engineering excellence and dedicated customer service distinguish Vitesse as an industry leader in Gigabit Ethernet LAN, Ethernet-over-SONET, Fibre Channel, Optical Transport, and other applications. Vitesse innovation empowers customers to deliver superior products for Enterprise, Access, Metro, and Core applications. Additional company and product information is available at www.vitesse.com.

# # #

Vitesse is a registered trademark in the United States and/or other jurisdictions of Vitesse Semiconductor Corporation. All other trademarks or registered trademarks mentioned herein are the property of their respective holders.

Safe Harbor

Statements made in this release that are not historical facts are “forward-looking” statements (as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995) that involve risks and uncertainties and are subject to change at any time. These forward-looking statements may include, but are not limited to, statements containing words such as “anticipate,” “believe,” “plan,” “estimate,” “expect,” “hope,” “intend,” and similar expressions. Factors that could cause actual results to differ are identified in the public filings made by Vitesse with the Securities and Exchange Commission and include the fact that we have disclosed that you should not rely upon our published financial statements and the fact that we have not filed all of our reports required by the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. More information on factors that could affect our business and financial results are included in our public filings made with the Securities and Exchange Commission, which are available on the web site of the Securities and Exchange Commission, www.sec.gov.

Vitesse Extends Completion Date for Filing First, Second, and Third Quarter 2008 Financials

2-2-2

The forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that are, in some cases, beyond our control. We caution investors that any forward-looking statements made by us are not guarantees of future performance, including, but not limited to, the risks that the recently announced proposed settlement of certain lawsuits against the Company will not be completed or approved by the court, that any court approval will be successfully reversed on appeal, or that the settlement agreement is terminated or cancelled under its terms. We disclaim any obligation to update any such factors or to announce publicly the results of any revisions to any of the forward-looking statements to reflect future events or developments.