                                 [MISONIX LOGO]

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

       Misonix Contact:                   Investor Relations Contact:
       Richard Zaremba                    Jordan M. Darrow
       Chief Financial Officer            Darrow Associates, Inc.
       631-694-9555                       631-367-1866
       invest@misonix.com                 jdarrow@optonline.net

             MISONIX ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENT OF GRANT THORNTON LLP AS
                 INDEPENDENT REGISTERED PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM

FARMINGDALE, NY -- January 24, 2006 -- Misonix, Inc. (Nasdaq: MSON), a developer
of ultrasonic medical device technology for the treatment of cancer and other
health conditions, today announced that, effective immediately, its Audit
Committee has appointed Grant Thornton LLP ("Grant Thornton") as the Company's
independent registered public accounting firm. Grant Thornton replaces Ernst &
Young LLP ("Ernst & Young"), which had served as Misonix's independent auditor
since 1993, and has been engaged for services pertaining to fiscal year 2006.

The change in independent auditor was not related to any disagreement between
the Company and Ernst & Young. Misonix's intent in transitioning to Grant
Thornton was to engage a firm with a global reach that is focused on serving
middle market public companies and that has relevant medical technology
experience. Misonix will be serviced by Grant Thornton's Melville, New York
office, which is approximately 2 miles from the Company's global headquarters.

ABOUT GRANT THORNTON

Grant Thornton LLP is the U.S. member firm of Grant Thornton International, one
of the six global accounting, tax and business advisory organizations. Through
member firms in 111 countries, including 50 offices in the United States, the
partners and employees of Grant Thornton member firms provide personalized
attention and the highest quality service to public and private clients around
the globe. Visit Grant Thornton LLP at www.GrantThornton.com.
                                       ---------------------

ABOUT MISONIX

Misonix develops, manufactures, and markets medical, scientific, and industrial
ultrasonic and air pollution systems. Misonix's ultrasonic platform is the basis
for several innovative medical technologies. Misonix has a minority equity
position in Focus Surgery, Inc. which uses high intensity focused ultrasound
("HIFU") technology to destroy deep-seated cancerous tissues without effecting
surrounding healthy tissue. Addressing a combined market estimated to be in
excess of $3 billion annually, Misonix's proprietary ultrasonic medical devices
are used for wound debridement, cosmetic surgery, neurosurgery, laparoscopic
surgery, and other surgical and medical applications. Additional information is
available on the Company's Web site at www.misonix.com.

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With the exception of historical information contained in this press release,
content herein may contain "forward looking statements" that are made pursuant
to the Safe Harbor Provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995. These statements are based on management's current expectations and are
subject to uncertainty and changes in circumstances. In particular, the Company
may not be successful in its efforts with respect to strategic opportunities for
its Laboratory and Scientific Division and the affect this activity may have on
the other businesses within the Company. Investors are cautioned that
forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties that could cause
actual results to differ materially from the statements made. These factors
include general economic conditions, delays and risks associated with the
performance of contracts, uncertainties as a result of research and development,
potential acquisitions, consumer and industry acceptance, litigation and/or
court proceedings, including the timing and monetary requirements of such
activities, regulatory risks including approval of pending and/or contemplated
510(k) filings, the ability to achieve and maintain profitability in the
Company's business lines, and other factors discussed in the Company's Annual
Report on Form 10-K, subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q and current
reports on Form 8-K.