Exhibit 2
         [LOGO]                             September 12, 1997
         Fisher Scientific
         International, Inc.


         Contact:  Kevin Clark
                   603-929-2412


                      RECAPITALIZATION OF FISHER SCIENTIFIC
                   IS ADJUSTED TO REFLECT IMPACT OF UPS STRIKE

                   HAMPTON, N.H. -- Fisher Scientific International Inc.

         (NYSE: FSH) and Thomas H. Lee Company have agreed to modify the

         previously announced recapitalization of Fisher to reflect the

         adverse impact on Fisher of the United Parcel Service of

         America, Inc. strike and to enhance the likelihood of complet-

         ing the transaction by year-end 1997.


                   Under the amended agreement, shareholders will re-

         ceive in a merger transaction $48.25 in cash for each Fisher

         share they own, or stock in the recapitalized company.  As in

         the original agreement, which called for a $51 cash price, ap-

         proximately 97% of Fisher common shares are expected to be ex-

         changed for cash under the new agreement.


                   The amended agreement reduces the possibility that

         the transaction could be impaired by a material adverse effect

         under the merger agreement.  The amended agreement also

         strengthens the financial commitments for the transaction.


                   The UPS strike significantly reduced Fisher sales for

         the current quarter and substantially increased operating

         costs.  In addition, the company expects <PAGE>







         the strike will materially reduce profitability in the fourth

         quarter of this year.  Before the strike, Fisher was one of

         UPS's largest customers in terms of annual revenue to the

         shipper.  Although Fisher made the maximum possible use of

         alternative carriers during the work stoppage and redeployed

         its 690-person United States sales force to make deliveries, it

         could not overcome the harmful effects of the strike.


                   The recapitalization is subject to, among other

         things, Fisher stockholder approval at a special meeting to be

         held in early December 1997.  Proxy materials are expected to

         be filed shortly with the Securities and Exchange Commission.


                   In another action today, Fisher's board of directors

         declared a regular quarterly dividend of 2 cents per share on

         the common stock, payable Oct. 15, 1997 to shareholders of

         record Oct. 1.


                   Fisher Scientific is the world leader in serving

         science, providing more than 245,000 products and services to

         research, healthcare, industrial, educational and government

         customers in 145 countries.


                   Thomas H. Lee Company is a Boston-based private

         equity firm focused on identifying and acquiring substantial

         ownership positions in growth companies.  Founded in 1974, the

         company currently manages approximately $3 billion of committed

         capital.  Recent transactions include Experian (formerly TRW)

         Information Systems, Homeside Lending, Safelite Glass and

         Syratech.

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