NUTRITION MANAGEMENT SERVICES CO/PA (CIK 879303)
Form 10-Q
period 2001-09-30
filed 2001-11-14

                                  UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             WASHINGTON, D. C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

(Mark one)
[ X ]       QUARTERLY  REPORT  PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(D) OF THE SECURITIES
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
outstanding as of November 9, 2001.

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

Part I.     Financial Information                                       Page No.
            ---------------------                                       --------

            Consolidated Balance Sheets of
            September 30, 2001 (unaudited) and June 30, 2001             2 - 3

            Consolidated Statements of Operations for the Three
            Months Ended September 30, 2001 (unaudited) and
            2000 (unaudited)                                               4

            Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the Three
            Months Ended September 30, 2001 (unaudited) and
            2000 (unaudited)                                               5

            Notes to Financial Statements                                6 - 7

            Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
            and Results of Operations                                    8 - 10

Part II.    Other Information                                              11

            Signatures                                                     12

                                      - 1 -

                      NUTRITION MANAGEMENT SERVICES COMPANY

                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                     ASSETS

                                                                      September 30,    June 30,
                                                                         2001            2001
                                                                         ----            ----
                                                                      (unaudited)

Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents                                          $   438,156   $   451,875
   Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful
      accounts of $1,400,586 and 1,175,596, respectively                6,660,866     6,424,629
   Accrued Income                                                          65,810       177,967
   Deferred income taxes                                                  636,617       636,617
   Inventory                                                              238,823       232,869
   Prepaid and other                                                      375,354       417,009
                                                                      -----------   -----------
Total current assets                                                    8,415,626     8,340,966
                                                                      -----------   -----------

Property and equipment, net                                             8,998,529     9,127,742
                                                                      -----------   -----------

Construction in Progress                                                     --            --
                                                                      -----------   -----------
Other assets:
   Investment in contracts                                                240,000       280,000
   Advances to employees                                                  484,763       328,988
   Deferred income taxes                                                  192,269       192,269
   Bond issue costs                                                       221,021       224,562
   Deferred costs and other assets                                         10,021        10,020
                                                                      -----------   -----------
Total other assets                                                      1,148,074     1,035,839
                                                                      -----------   -----------
                                                                      $18,562,229   $18,504,547
                                                                      ===========   ===========

            See Notes to Unaudited Consolidated Financial Statements

                                     - 2 -

                      NUTRITION MANAGEMENT SERVICES COMPANY

                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                      LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

                                                                              September 30,         June 30,
                                                                                   2001              2001
                                                                                   ----              -----
                                                                                (unaudited)

Current liabilities:
     Current portion of long-term debt                                         $    186,814    $    186,813
     Accounts payable                                                             4,155,117       4,537,741
     Accrued expenses                                                               398,626         341,286
     Accrued payroll and related expenses                                           296,437         273,217
     Other                                                                          119,286         125,960
                                                                               ------------    ------------
Total current liabilities                                                         5,156,280       5,465,017
                                                                               ------------    ------------

Long-Term liabilities:
    Long-term debt, net of current portion                                        6,011,914       5,386,120
    Long-term note payable                                                          982,881       1,067,128
                                                                               ------------    ------------
    Total long-term liabilities                                                   6,994,795       6,453,248
                                                                               ------------    ------------

Stockholders' equity:
    Undesignated preferred stock - no par, 2,000,000 shares authorized, none
            issued or outstanding                                                      --              --

     Common stock:
     Class A - no par, 10,000,000 shares authorized; 3,000,000 issued
             2,747,000 and 2,747,000 outstanding, respectively                    3,801,926       3,801,926
     Class B - no par, 100,000 shares authorized, issued and outstanding                 48              48
     Retained earnings                                                            3,108,743       3,283,871
                                                                               ------------    ------------
                                                                                  6,910,717       7,085,845

     Less:  treasury stock (Class A common: 253,000 and 253,000
       shares, respectively) - at cost                                             (499,563)       (499,563)

Total stockholders' equity                                                        6,411,154       6,586,282
                                                                               ------------    ------------
                                                                               $ 18,562,229    $ 18,504,547
                                                                               ============    ============

            See Notes to Unaudited Consolidated Financial Statements

                                      - 3 -

                      NUTRITION MANAGEMENT SERVICES COMPANY

                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                                                Three months ended
                                                   September 30,
                                                2001           2000
                                                ----           ----

Food Service Revenue                       $  7,422,218    $ 12,192,563

Cost of Operations
     Payroll and related expenses             2,394,289       3,755,366
     Other costs of operations                3,433,335       6,455,074
                                           ------------    ------------
          Cost of operations                  5,827,624      10,210,440
                                           ------------    ------------

Gross Profit                                  1,594,594       1,982,123
                                           ------------    ------------

Expenses
     General and administrative expenses      1,214,849       1,563,123
     Depreciation and amortization              210,448         156,272
      Provision for doubtful accounts           225,000         180,000
                                           ------------    ------------
           Expenses                           1,650,297       1,899,395
                                           ------------    ------------

Income/(Loss) from operations                   (55,703)         82,728
                                              ---------    ------------

Other income (expense)
     Other                                      (23,323)          6,115
     Interest income                              3,143          12,160
     Interest expense                           (99,252)       (144,591)
                                              ---------    -------------
            Other income (expense) - net       (119,432)       (126,316)
                                              ---------    ------------

Loss before income taxes                       (175,135)        (43,588)
                                              ---------    ------------
Provision for income taxes                         --            23,334
                                              ---------    ------------

Net loss                                       ($175,135)  ($    66,922)
                                              ==========   ============

Net loss per share - basic and diluted         ($   0.06)  ($      0.02)
                                              ==========   ============

Weighted average number of shares              2,847,000      2,847,000
                                              ==========   ============

            See Notes to Unaudited Consolidated Financial Statements

                                      - 4 -

                      NUTRITION MANAGEMENT SERVICES COMPANY
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                         Three Months-Ended
                                                                            September 30,
                                                                          2001           2000
                                                                          ----           ----
Operating activities:
Net loss                                                              ($  175,135)   ($   66,922)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash provided by (used in)
operating activities:
     Depreciation and amortization                                        210,448        146,039
     Provision for bad debts                                              225,000        180,000
     Amortization of deferred gain                                              0         (6,591)
     Amortization of bond costs                                             3,641          3,642
Changes in assets and liabilities:
     Accounts receivable                                                 (461,237)    (1,301,081)
     Accrued Income                                                       112,157        153,413
     Inventory and other                                                   35,701        113,295
     Accounts payable                                                    (382,625)       709,700
     Accrued expenses                                                      41,048        114,198
     Accrued payroll and related expenses                                  23,220         24,312
     Accrued professional                                                  13,179         (8,824)
     Accrued incomes taxes                                                  3,113         26,173
     Other                                                                 33,236         41,750
                                                                      -----------    -----------
Net cash (used in)/provided by operating activities                      (318,254)       129,104
                                                                      -----------    -----------

Investing activities:
     (Advances)/Repayment to employees                                   (155,776)       (21,957)
     Purchase of property and equipment, (net)                            (81,236)       (51,445)
     Deferred costs                                                             0              0
                                                                      -----------    -----------
Net cash used in investing activities                                    (237,012)       (73,402)
                                                                      -----------    -----------

Financing activities:
     Repayments of long-term debt                                        (125,000)    (1,150,000)
     Repayments of long-term note payable                                 (84,247)       (84,294)
     Repayments of term loan                                              (15,206)       (13,964)
     Proceeds from line of credit                                         766,000        700,000
                                                                      -----------    -----------
Net cash provided by/(used in) financing activities                       541,547       (584,258)
                                                                      -----------    -----------

  Net decrease in cash                                                    (13,719)      (492,556)
                                                                      -----------    -----------

Cash and cash equivalents - beginning of period                           451,875      1,134,720

Cash and cash equivalents - end of period                             $   438,156    $   642,164
                                                                      ===========    ===========

SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
CASH PAID DURING THE PERIOD FOR:
     Interest                                                         $   100,485    $    90,721
     Income taxes                                                     $         0    $       200

            See Notes to Unaudited Consolidated Financial Statements
                                      - 5 -

                      NUTRITION MANAGEMENT SERVICES COMPANY

              NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                                SEPTEMBER 30,2001

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
            30, 2002.  The  financial  information  presented  should be read in
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
            Company claims that the client failed to pay $2.4 million on account
            of services Nutrition Management Services Company rendered, and that
            the client  should be required  to  reimburse  Nutrition  Management
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

                               SEPTEMBER 30, 2001

4.          BUSINESS SEGMENTS

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
based on  authoritative  guidance  similar to  accounting  principals  generally
accepted in the United States of America. As a result,  reported segment results
are not  necessarily  comparable  with  similar  information  reported  by other
similar companies.

                                                                 Food Service            Training and
                                                                  Management             Conference Center        Total
                                                                  ----------             -----------------        -----
         For the quarter ended Sept. 30, 2001:
           Food service revenue                                  $7,335,314              $   86,904            $7,422,218
           Depreciation and amortization                             84,454                 125,993               210,448
           Income (loss) from operations                            265,404                (321,103)              (55,702)
           Interest income                                            3,143                       0                 3,143
           Interest expense                                         (45,280)                (53,972)              (99,252)
           Income (loss) before taxes (benefit)                     220,599                (395,734)             (175,135)
           Net income (loss)                                        220,599                (395,734)             (175,135)
           Total assets                                           9,638,925               8,923,305            18,562,229
           Capital expenditures                                      81,236                       0                81,236

                                                                 Food Service          Training and
                                                                  Management           ConferenceCenter           Total
         For the quarter ended Sept. 30, 2000:
           Food service revenue                                  $12,010,657             $  181,906            $12,192,563
           Depreciation and amortization                              32,083                124,189                156,272
           Income (loss) from operations                             370,981               (288,254)                82,728
           Interest income                                            12,160                      0                 12,160
           Interest expense                                          (84,084)               (60,507)              (144,591)
           Income (loss) before taxes (benefit)                      305,173                (348,761)              (43,588)
           Net income (loss)                                         281,839                (348,761)              (66,922)
           Total assets                                           11,095,473               9,356,919            20,452,392
           Capital expenditures                                       51,445                       0                51,445

                                      - 7 -

           MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION
                            AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

            The following  discussion and analysis should be read in conjunction
with the financial statements and notes thereto.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

            Revenues for the quarter ended September 30, 2001 were $7,422,218, a
decrease of  $4,770,345  or 39.13%  compared to revenues of  $12,192,563  in the
corresponding  quarter  last  year.  This  decrease  is a  result  of  cancelled
contracts during the period offset by growth within existing contracts.

            Cost of operations  provided for the current quarter was $5,827,624,
compared to  $10,210,440  for similar  expenses in the same period last year,  a
decrease of $4,382,816 or 42.92%. This decrease in costs of services provided is
due to lower revenues during the period offset by inflationary  price, wage, and
expense increases.

            Gross  Profit for the current  quarter was  $1,594,594,  compared to
$1,982,123 for the same period last year, a decrease of $387,529 or 19.55%. This
decrease is due to lower  revenues in the period.  As a  percentage  of revenue,
gross profit increased from 16.26% to 21.48%.

            General and administrative  expenses for the quarter were $1,214,849
or 16.37% of revenue,  compared to  $1,563,123 or 12.82% of revenue for the same
quarter last year, a decrease of $348,274 or 22.28%.  The decrease is the result
of certain cost cutting measures implemented by the Company.

            Provision  for  doubtful  accounts  for  the  quarter  was  $225,000
compared to $180,000 for the  corresponding  quarter last year. This increase of
$45,000 is  attributable  to an increase in business  activities and a change in
contractual relationships.

            Interest expense for the three-month period totaled $99,252 compared
to $144,591 for the same period last year. The decrease in interest expense is a
result of repayment in borrowings as well as a reduction in interest rates.

            For the reasons  stated above,  net loss after taxes for the quarter
ended  September  30,  2001  was  ($175,135)   compared  to  ($66,922)  for  the
corresponding  quarter last year. Net loss per share for the current quarter was
($0.06)  compared  to net loss per share of ($0.02)  for the same  quarter  last
year.

                                      - 8 -

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

            At September 30, 2001 the Company had working capital of $3,259,396.

            OPERATING  ACTIVITIES.  Cash used in operations for the three months
ended  September  30,  2001  was  $318,254  compared  to  $129,104  provided  by
operations for the three months ended  September 30, 2000. A decrease in current
liabilities  and  noncash  items of  $142,983  offset by an increase in accounts
receivable  of $461,237  was  primarily  responsible  for the current  quarter's
activity.

            INVESTING ACTIVITIES. Investing activities consumed $237,012 in cash
in the current  quarter  compared to $73,402 in cash consumed in the same period
last year.

            FINANCING ACTIVITIES.  Current quarter financing activities provided
$541,547 in cash  compared  to  $584,258  consumed in the same period last year.
Proceeds  of $766,000  offset by  repayment  of long term debt of $224,453  were
responsible for the current quarter's activity.

            CAPITAL  RESOURCES.  In February  2001,  the Company  refinanced its
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
governments, may lead to delays in the collection of accounts receivable.

            The Company has no material  commitments  for capital  expenditures,
including the Collegeville Inn &  Conference  Center,  and believes that its
cash from operations,  existing  balances,  and available credit  facilities are
adequate  for the  fiscal  year  June  30,  2002 to  satisfy  the  needs  of its
operations.

                                      - 9 -

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

   Item 5.      Other Information                                           None

   Item 6.      Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                            None

                (a)  Exhibits

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

                                       /s/ Linda J. Haines
                                       -------------------------------
                                       Linda J. Haines
                                       (Principal Financial Officer)

Date:  November 14, 2001

                                     - 12 -