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                                                                    Exhibit 99.2

   Statement Under Oath of Principal Executive Officer and Principal Financial Officer Regarding Facts and Circumstances Relating to Exchange Act Filings

I, Stephen J. Scarborough, state and attest that:

     (1) To the best of my knowledge, based upon a review of the covered reports of Standard Pacific Corp., and, except as corrected or supplemented in a subsequent covered report:

     .    no covered report contained an untrue statement of a material fact as
          of the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date on which it was filed); and

     .    no covered report omitted to state a material fact necessary to make
          the statements in the covered report, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading as of the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date on which it was filed).

     (2) I have reviewed the contents of this statement with the Company's audit committee.

     (3) In this statement under oath, each of the following, if filed on or before the date of this statement, is a "covered report":

     .    the Annual Report on Form 10-K of Standard Pacific Corp. for the year
          ended December 31, 2001, filed with the Commission on March 21, 2002;

     .    all reports on Form 10-Q, all reports on Form 8-K and all definitive
          proxy materials of Standard Pacific Corp. filed with the Commission subsequent to the filing of the Form 10-K identified above; and

     .    any amendments to any of the foregoing.



                                         Subscribed and sworn to
   /s/ Stephen J. Scarborough            before me this 14th day
-------------------------------------    of August, 2002.
Name:  Stephen J. Scarborough
Title: Chairman and Chief Executive         /s/ Judith D. Crimmins
       Officer                           ---------------------------------------
                                         Notary Public
Date:  August 14, 2002

                                         My Commission Expires:  Feb. 26, 2003