Exhibit 99.1

America Service Group Inc. Announces Florida Department of Corrections
 Decision to Award Region IV Contract to Company Operating Subsidiary,
                     Prison Health Services, Inc.


    BRENTWOOD, Tenn.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Oct. 23, 2006--America Service Group Inc. (NASDAQ:ASGR) announced today that the State of Florida Department of Corrections posted a notice of its decision to award a contract to provide comprehensive healthcare services in Region IV to the Company's primary operating subsidiary, Prison Health Services, Inc. (PHS).

    The award is subject to negotiation of final contract terms. The invitation to bid contemplated an initial five-year contract that
would commence November 20, 2006, and allow for an additional
five-year term at the sole discretion of the State of Florida
Department of Corrections. Annual revenues under the contract are
presently anticipated to be approximately $84 million.

    Commenting on today's announcement, Rodney Holliman, PHS
operations group vice president, said, "We welcome the opportunity provided us by the Florida Department of Corrections to continue
providing quality healthcare services to the patients within Region
IV."

    America Service Group Inc., based in Brentwood, Tennessee, is a leading provider of correctional healthcare services in the United States. America Service Group Inc., through its subsidiaries, provides a wide range of healthcare and pharmacy programs to government agencies for the medical care of inmates. More information about America Service Group can be found on the Company's Web site at www.asgr.com or at www.prisonhealthmedia.com.

    Cautionary Statement

    This press release contains "forward-looking" statements made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Statements in this release that are not historical facts, including statements about the Company's or management's beliefs and expectations, constitute forward-looking statements and may be indicated by words or phrases such as "anticipate," "estimate," "plans," "expects," "projects," "should," "will," "believes" or "intends" and similar words and phrases. Forward-looking statements involve inherent risks and uncertainties. A number of important factors could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statement. Such factors include, but are not limited to, the following:

    --  the risk that final contract terms to provide comprehensive
        medical services for Region IV inmates cannot be agreed upon with the State of Florida Department of Corrections;

    --  the risk that government entities (including the Company's
        government customers) may bring enforcement actions against, seek additional refunds from, or impose penalties on, the Company or its subsidiaries as a result of the matters recently investigated by the Audit Committee or the previous restatement of the Company's financial results;

    --  the risks arising from shareholder litigation as a result of
        the matters recently investigated by the Audit Committee or the previous restatement of the Company's financial results;

    --  risks associated with the possibility that we may be unable to
        satisfy covenants under our credit facility;

    --  risks arising from potential weaknesses or deficiencies in our
        internal control over financial reporting;

    --  risks arising from the possibility that we may be unable to
        collect accounts receivable;

    --  the Company's ability to retain existing client contracts and
        obtain new contracts;

    --  whether or not government agencies continue to privatize
        correctional healthcare services;

    --  the possible effect of adverse publicity on the Company's
        business;

    --  increased competition for new contracts and renewals of
        existing contracts;

    --  the Company's ability to execute its expansion strategies;

    --  the Company's ability to limit its exposure for catastrophic
        illnesses and injuries in excess of amounts covered under
        contracts or insurance coverage;

    --  the outcome of pending litigation;

    --  the Company's dependence on key personnel; and

    --  the Company's determination whether to repurchase shares under
        its stock repurchase program.

    A discussion of important factors and assumptions regarding certain statements and risks involved in an investment in the Company is contained in the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K and other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. These forward-looking statements are made as of the date of this release. The Company assumes no obligations to update or revise them or provide reasons why actual results may differ.

    CONTACT: America Service Group Inc., Brentwood
             Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer:
             Michael Catalano, 615-373-3100
             or
             Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer:
             Michael W. Taylor, 615-373-3100