SCI SYSTEMS INC (CIK 87744)
Form 10-Q
period 1995-09-24
filed 1995-11-08

[DESCRIPTION]   FY 1996 FORM 10-Q FOR Q1


                                  UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549
                 -----------------------------------------------

                                    FORM 10-Q

                                   (Mark One)

          [X] QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
                         SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
               For the quarterly period ended September 24, 1995

                                       or

          [ ] TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
                         SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
        For the transition period from _______________ to ______________

                          Commission file Number 0-2251

                                SCI SYSTEMS, INC.
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)



                  Delaware                           63-0583436
        (State or other jurisdiction of           (I.R.S. Employer
        incorporation or organization)           Identification No.)
       c/o SCI Systems (Alabama), Inc.
           2101 West Clinton Avenue
           Huntsville, Alabama                          35805
      (Address of principal executive offices)        (Zip Code)


                 ----------------------------------------------

                                 (302) 998-0592
              (Registrant's telephone number, including area code)
                 ----------------------------------------------
Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days. [X] Yes [ ] No

Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's classes of common stock, as of the latest practicable date.
                Common Stock, $.10 par value - 29,489,595 Shares
                         Outstanding at October 31, 1995



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<TABLE>


PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION
Item 1. Financial Statements.

                                SCI Systems, Inc.
                      Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets

                                                                          September 24,     June 30,
                                                                                 1995          1995
(In thousands of dollars)                                                  (Unaudited)          (*)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Assets


Current Assets
Cash and cash equivalents                                                  $   20,097    $   10,277
Accounts receivable                                                           270,438       259,308
Inventories                                                                   632,935       456,107
Refundable and deferred federal and foreign income taxes                        8,475         7,869
Other current assets                                                           14,642        11,491
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                      Total Current Assets                                    946,587       745,052



Property, Plant and Equipment
(Less accumulated depreciation of $255,381 at September 24, 1995, and
$242,953 at June 30, 1995)                                                    221,642       214,025

Goodwill
(Less accumulated amortization of $9,235 at September 24, 1995, and
$9,026 at June 30, 1995)                                                        2,786         2,995


Deferred Compensation Assets Held in Trust                                      5,509         5,040


Other Noncurrent Assets                                                        12,685        14,180
                                                                           -----------    ----------


                       Total Assets                                        $1,189,209     $ 981,292
                                                                           ===========    ==========

* Derived  from  audited  financial  statements,  but does not  include  all the
information and footnotes required by generally accepted  accounting  principles
for complete financial statements.

See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

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<TABLE>



                                SCI Systems, Inc.
                      Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets


                                                                          September 24,    June 30,
                                                                                 1995          1995
(In thousands of dollars except share data)                                (Unaudited)          (*)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity

Current Liabilities
Accounts payable and accrued expenses                                      $  525,354    $  417,495
Accrued payroll and related expenses                                           22,550        22,634
Federal, foreign and state income taxes                                        25,131        19,079
Current maturities of long-term debt                                            5,728         5,720
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                   Total Current Liabilities                                  578,763       464,928

Deferred Income Taxes                                                           1,134           509

Pension Liability, less current portion                                         4,669         4,669

Deferred Compensation                                                           5,509         5,040

Long-term Debt - Note C
Industrial revenue bonds                                                       21,280        21,306
Long-term notes                                                               172,719        96,138
Convertible subordinated debentures                                               -0-        38,926
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                      Total Long-term Debt                                    193,999       156,370

Commitments and Contingencies - Note D

Shareholders' Equity
Preferred stock, 500,000 shares authorized but unissued                           -0-           -0-
Common stock, $.10 par value: authorized 50,000,000 shares; issued 29,489,595
shares at September 24, 1995, and 27,465,675 shares at June 30, 1995            2,949         2,747
Capital in excess of par value                                                166,552       126,123
Retained earnings                                                             242,317       227,195
Currency translation adjustment                                                (6,342)       (5,948)
Treasury stock of 29,683 shares, at cost                                         (341)         (341)
                   Total Shareholders' Equity                                 405,135       349,776
                                                                           -----------    ----------
        Total Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity                         $1,189,209     $ 981,292
                                                                           ===========    ==========
* Derived  from  audited  financial  statements,  but does not  include  all the
information and footnotes required by generally accepted  accounting  principles
for complete financial statements.

See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.


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



                                SCI Systems, Inc.
                   Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                               Quarter Ended:

                                                                         September 24, September 25,
(In thousands of dollars except per share data)                                  1995          1994
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net sales                                                                  $  876,623    $  618,421
Cost and expenses                                                             846,603       598,064
Goodwill amortization                                                             209           197
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                         Operating Income                                      29,811        20,160

Other income (expense):
Interest expense                                                               (4,698)       (4,348)
Other income, net                                                                 302           675
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                    Income before Income Taxes                                 25,415        16,487

Income taxes - Note B                                                          10,293         6,430
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                          Net Income                                         $ 15,122      $ 10,057
                                                                           ===========    ==========

Earnings per share - Note A:                                               $      .51    $      .36

Weighted average number of shares used in computation                      30,025,734    27,775,619


See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.


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<TABLE>

                                SCI Systems, Inc.
                 Condensed Consolidated Statements Of Cash Flows
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                                 Quarter Ended:

                                                                      September 24,   September 25,

(In thousands of dollars)                                                        1995          1994
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                              Operating Activities
Net income                                                                 $   15,122    $   10,057
Adjustments to reconcile net income to cash
(used for) provided by operations:
Depreciation and amortization                                                  14,431        11,805
Undistributed equity earnings                                                    (246)         (515)
Effect of property, plant and equipment disposals                                (102)          (34)
Unrealized foreign currency exchange loss (gain)                                  359          (381)
Changes in current assets and liabilities:
Accounts receivable                                                           (11,422)       23,142
Inventories                                                                  (177,098)      (36,907)
Refundable and deferred income taxes                                               99           -0-
Discontinued and other current assets                                          (3,182)       13,296
Accounts payable and accrued expenses                                         108,168       (20,987)
Income taxes                                                                    5,964         6,213
                                                                           -----------    ----------
      Net Cash (Used for) Provided by Operating Activities                    (47,907)        5,689
                                                                           -----------    ----------
Investing Activities
Purchase of property, plant and equipment                                     (21,892)      (16,115)
Proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment                               149            38
Decrease (increase) in noncurrent assets                                        1,741        (4,441)
                                                                           -----------    ----------
                 Net Cash Used for Investing                                  (20,002)      (20,518)
                                                                           -----------    ----------

Financing Activities
Net increase  in commercial paper and other short-term notes                   64,635           272
Payments on long-term debt                                                 (1,776,177)   (1,719,400)
Proceeds from long-term debt                                                1,787,728     1,724,614
Issuance of common stock                                                        1,806            76
                                                                           -----------    ----------
             Net Cash Provided by Financing Activities                         77,992         5,562
                                                                           -----------    ----------
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                                          (263)          (85)
                                                                           -----------    ----------
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents                            9,820        (9,352)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                               10,277        35,822
                                                                           -----------    ----------

          Cash and Cash Equivalents at End of Period                         $ 20,097      $ 26,470
                                                                           ===========    ===========
Cash equivalents consist of short-term deposits and liquid marketable securities
which are stated at cost that approximates market value.

See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.


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Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

September 24, 1995
(Unaudited)

Note A - Basis of Presentation

The accompanying  unaudited condensed  consolidated financial statements include
the accounts of the Company and its wholly owned  subsidiaries after elimination
of significant intercompany accounts and transactions.  The financial statements
have been  prepared  in  accordance  with  instructions  to Form 10-Q and do not
include  all the  information  and  footnotes  required  by  generally  accepted
accounting principles for complete financial statements. The statements (and all
other  information  in this  report)  have  not  been  examined  by  independent
auditors,  but in the opinion of the Company all  adjustments,  which consist of
normal recurring  accruals  necessary for a fair presentation of the results for
the period,  have been made.  The  results of  operations  for the period  ended
September 24, 1995, are not necessarily  indicative of the results of operations
for the year  ending  June  30,  1996.  For  further  information,  refer to the
financial  statements and footnotes  included in the Company's  annual report on
Form 10-K for the year ended June 30, 1995.

Primary  earnings per share are based on the weighted  average  number of common
stock and dilutive  common  stock  equivalents  outstanding  during each period.
Common stock  equivalents  consist of stock options whose exercise price is less
than the  stipulated  market  price  using the  Treasury-stock  method  for both
primary and fully diluted  earnings per share.  Fiscal year 1995's fully diluted
computations,  when applicable, assumed the dilutive conversion of the Company's
outstanding  convertible  debenture  issue,  after  adding back their  after-tax
interest  expense.  Shares  issued  upon  conversion  of the 5 5/8%  Convertible
Subordinated  Debentures on September 1, 1995,  have been treated as outstanding
from July 1, 1995, for purposes of the  computation;  fiscal year 1996's related
after-tax interest expense for the converted  debentures have been added back to
net income for computational purposes.

Note B - Income Taxes

The  Company  provides  U.S.  income  taxes  on  that  portion  of  its  foreign
subsidiaries'  earnings  that it does not consider  permanently  invested.  U.S.
income  taxes are not  provided  on certain  undistributed  earnings  of foreign
subsidiaries  aggregating  approximately  $49,000,000  at  September  24,  1995.
Otherwise,  approximately  $15,000,000 of cumulative deferred income taxes would
have been  provided.  Income tax provision for fiscal year 1996 differs from the
U.S. statutory income tax rate primarily due to state income taxes.

Note C - Changes in Amount Outstanding of Securities or Indebtedness

Outstanding  borrowings  at September 24, 1995,  under the  Company's  Revolving
Credit  and  Commercial  Paper and other  long-term  debt  agreements  increased
approximately $78,000,000 from the June 30, 1995 balance. At September 24, 1995,
the  Company  had  $100,000,000   outstanding  under  its  Asset  Securitization
Agreement,  a $50,000,000  increase from the June 30, 1995 amount.  Total unused
credit facilities  available to the Company at September 24, 1995,  approximated
$236,000,000.

The June 30, 1995 5 5/8%  Convertible  Subordinated  Debentures in the amount of
$38,825,000  were converted into 1,847,120  shares of the Company's common stock
on September 1, 1995.


Note D - Termination  of A-12 Aircraft Program Subcontracts

The Company was a subcontractor  for  development of certain  subsystems for the
U.S. NAVY A-12 Aircraft. The Government,  in January 1991, announced termination
(for default) of the A-12 prime  contracts.  Terminations  for convenience  were
received for eleven of the Company's  A-12  subcontracts,  of which the majority
were  with  McDonnell  Aircraft  Company  (McDonnell).   Settlements  have  been
concluded for all subcontracts  terminated for  convenience,  at the approximate
amounts  previously accrued by the Company.  In October 1991,  McDonnell filed a
sealed suit in Federal Court in St. Louis,  Missouri  claiming  default on seven
other subcontracts, with a remaining Company inventory exposure of approximately
$22,000,000.  Based upon the advice of special counsel,  the Company believes it
has meritorious defenses, although no assurance can be given to that effect, and
is pursuing counterclaims against McDonnell through the courts.



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Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Results of Operations
        and Financial Condition

Results of Operations

Sales for the first  quarter  of fiscal  year 1996 were  $876.6  million,  a 42%
increase over $618.4 million in fiscal year 1995's first quarter.  Substantially
all of the increased sales resulted from increased unit volumes. Geographically,
foreign sales  increased 45% during fiscal year 1996's first quarter from fiscal
year 1995 first quarter's sales. Domestic sales increased 39% during fiscal year
1996's first quarter over the same period in the prior fiscal year.

Operating income for fiscal year 1996's first quarter was $29.8 million compared
to $20.2  million in the same period of the  preceding  year.  Operating  profit
primarily improved because of increased production volumes.

Interest  expense for fiscal year 1996's first quarter  increased  slightly over
the preceding year's first quarter expense.  As a percent of sales,  fiscal year
1996  first  quarter's  interest  expense  declined  to  0.5%  from  0.7% in the
preceding  fiscal year's first  quarter.  Aggregate  quarter-end  borrowings and
amounts  securitized  remained at the same approximate level in fiscal year 1996
as that at the end of fiscal year 1995's first quarter, although sales increased
42%.

Fiscal year 1996's  estimated  effective  income tax rate  differs from the U.S.
statutory rate primarily due to the effects of state income taxes. The estimated
effective  income tax rate  increased  to 40.5% in fiscal  year 1996 from 39% in
fiscal year 1995's  first  quarter as a result of higher  state income taxes and
higher foreign income taxes as certain tax holidays expired.

Average  asset  turnover  for fiscal  year  1996's  first  quarter was 3.2 times
compared  with 2.8 times for  fiscal  year  1995's  first  quarter.  The  higher
turnover  resulted  from  increased  percentage  of finished  product  assembly
business and improved asset management.


Capital Resources and Liquidity

The Company had working capital of $368 million at September 24, 1995,  compared
with $280 million at June 30, 1995. September 24, 1995's ratio of current assets
to current  liabilities  (current  ratio) was 1.6, the same level as at June 30,
1995.

Available funds at September 24, 1995, were approximately  $256 million.  Fiscal
year 1996's capital expenditures are currently estimated to be between 80 and 90
million dollars.

The dollar  amount of order  backlog at  September  24,  1995,  believed  by the
Company to be firm was  approximately  $2.502  billion,  as  compared  to $1.174
billion a year earlier, and $2.135 billion a quarter earlier.


                           PART II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K

(a) Exhibits
     (1) Exhibit 11 -  Computation  of primary and fully  diluted  earnings  per
                       share.
     (2) Exhibit 27 -  Financial Data Schedule

(b) Reports
The Company during the period of July 1, 1995, to September 24, 1995,  filed one
report on Form 8-K. The report, filed on August 22, 1995, dealt with the Company
calling for  redemption  on September 1, 1995,  all of its  outstanding  5 5/8 %
Convertible Subordinated Debentures due on March 1, 2012.





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                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant  to the  requirements  of the  Securities  Exchange  Act of  1934,  the
Registrant  has duly  caused  this  report  to be  signed  on its  behalf by the
undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.

                                    SCI Systems, Inc.
                                    (Registrant)





Date: November 7, 1995              By: Olin B. King /s/
      ----------------                 -----------------
                                    Olin B. King
                                    Chairman of the Board
                                    and Chief Executive Officer
                                    (Principal  Executive Officer and
                                    Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)


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