Exhibit 99.1

BioTime, Inc. Agrees to Sell $8.58 Million of Common Shares

ALAMEDA, Calif., – (BUSINESS WIRE) – September 14, 2015 – BioTime, Inc. (NYSE MKT and TASE:  BTX) today announced that it has agreed to sell 2,607,401 of its common shares, no par value, at an offering price of $3.29 per share, for a gross purchase price of approximately $8.58 million, to selected investors, including a major shareholder, Broadwood Partners, L.P. (“Broadwood”), in a registered direct offering.  The price per share was the closing price of BioTime common shares on the NYSE MKT on September 11, 2015, the last trading day before BioTime and the investors entered into an agreement for the sale of the shares.  Neal Bradsher, a member of the BioTime Board of Directors, is the President of the investment manager of Broadwood Partners, L.P.  BioTime will pay no fees or commissions to broker-dealers or any finder’s fees, nor will we issue any stock purchase warrants, in connection with the offer and sale of the shares.

The common shares offered by BioTime in the registered direct offering are being offered and sold pursuant to a prospectus supplement dated as of September 14, 2015, which has been filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) in connection with a takedown from the Company’s shelf registration statement on Form S-3 (File No. 333-201824), which became effective on February 12, 2015, and the base prospectus dated February 12, 2015.  Copies of the prospectus supplement, together with the accompanying prospectus, can be obtained at the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any of the securities described above, nor shall there be any sale of any such securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to the registration or qualification under the securities laws of such jurisdiction.

About BioTime

BioTime, Inc., a pioneer in regenerative medicine, is a clinical-stage biotechnology company. BioTime and its subsidiaries are leveraging their industry-leading experience in pluripotent stem cell technology and a broad intellectual property portfolio to facilitate the development and use of cell-based therapies and gene marker-based molecular diagnostics for major diseases and degenerative conditions for which there presently are no cures. The lead clinical programs of BioTime and its subsidiaries include OpRegen®, currently in a Phase I/IIa trial for the treatment of the dry form of age-related macular degeneration; AST-OPC1, currently in a Phase I/IIa trial for spinal cord injuries; Renevia™, currently in a pivotal trial in Europe as an injectable matrix for the engraftment of transplanted cells to treat HIV-related lipoatrophy; and cancer diagnostics, nearing the completion of initial clinical studies for the detection of lung, bladder, and breast cancers. AST-VAC2, a cancer vaccine, is in the pre-clinical trial stage.

BioTime’s subsidiaries include the publicly traded Asterias Biotherapeutics, Inc., developing pluripotent stem cell-based therapies in neurology and oncology, including AST-OPC1 and AST-VAC2; Cell Cure Neurosciences Ltd., developing stem cell-based therapies for retinal and neurological disorders, including OpRegen®; OncoCyte Corporation, developing cancer diagnostics; LifeMap Sciences, Inc., developing and marketing an integrated online database resource for biomedical and stem cell research; LifeMap Solutions, Inc., a subsidiary of LifeMap Sciences, developing mobile health (mHealth) products; ES Cell International Pte Ltd, which has developed cGMP-compliant human embryonic stem cell lines that are being marketed by BioTime for research purposes under the ESI BIO branding program; OrthoCyte Corporation, developing therapies to treat orthopedic disorders, diseases, and injuries; and ReCyte Therapeutics, Inc., developing therapies to treat a variety of cardiovascular and related ischemic disorders.

BioTime common stock is traded on the NYSE MKT and the TASE under the symbol BTX. For more information, please visit www.biotimeinc.com or connect with the company on Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, YouTube, and Google+.

Forward-Looking Statements

Statements pertaining to future financial and/or operating results, future growth in research, technology, clinical development, and potential opportunities for BioTime and its subsidiaries, along with other statements about the future expectations, beliefs, goals, plans, or prospects expressed by management constitute forward-looking statements. Any statements that are not historical fact (including, but not limited to statements that contain words such as “will,” “believes,” “plans,” “anticipates,” “expects,” “estimates”) should also be considered to be forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties, including, without limitation, risks inherent in the development and/or commercialization of potential products, uncertainty in the results of clinical trials or regulatory approvals, need and ability to obtain future capital, and maintenance of intellectual property rights. Actual results may differ materially from the results anticipated in these forward-looking statements and as such should be evaluated together with the many uncertainties that affect the business of BioTime and its subsidiaries, particularly those mentioned in the cautionary statements found in BioTime’s Securities and Exchange Commission filings. BioTime disclaims any intent or obligation to update these forward-looking statements.

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Contacts:
BioTime, Inc.
Dan L. Lawrence, 510-775-0510
dlawrence@biotimemail.com
or
Investor Contact:
EVC Group, Inc.
Michael Polyviou, 646-445-4800
mpolyviou@evcgroup.com
or
Media Contact:
Gotham Communications, LLC
Bill Douglass, 646-504-0890
bill@gothamcomm.com
or
Israel Contact:
Gelbart-Kahana Investor Relations
Zeev Gelbart, +972-3-6074717
zeevg@gk-biz.com

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