Exhibit 99.1

        Ultralife Batteries Receives $1.5 Million Military Battery Order

    NEWARK, N.Y.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Sept. 12, 2006--Ultralife Batteries, Inc. (NASDAQ: ULBI) has received an order valued at approximately $1.5 million from an undisclosed foreign military for lithium non-rechargeable batteries for use in powering surveillance equipment. Deliveries are expected to begin in September and be completed during the 4th quarter.
    "This order, and other recent business that we have won, supports the continued growth of our military sector, said John D. Kavazanjian, Ultralife's president and chief executive officer. "We are providing a wide range of portable power solutions for a variety of international defense applications."

    About Ultralife Batteries, Inc.

    Ultralife is a global provider of high-energy power systems for diverse applications. The company develops, manufactures and markets a wide range of non-rechargeable and rechargeable batteries, charging systems and accessories for use in military, industrial and consumer portable electronic products. Through its portfolio of standard products and engineered solutions, Ultralife is at the forefront of providing the next generation of power systems. Industrial, retail and government customers include General Dynamics, Philips Medical Systems, General Motors, Energizer, Kidde Safety, Lowe's, Radio Shack and the national defense agencies of the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Australia and New Zealand, among others.
    Ultralife's headquarters, principal manufacturing and research facilities are in Newark, New York, near Rochester. Ultralife's three other operating units are: Ultralife Batteries (UK) Ltd., in Abingdon, England; McDowell Research in Waco, Texas; and ABLE New Energy in Shenzhen, China. Detailed information on Ultralife is available at: www.ultralifebatteries.com.
    This press release may contain forward-looking statements based on current expectations that involve a number of risks and uncertainties. The potential risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially include: worsening global economic conditions, increased competitive environment and pricing pressures, disruptions related to restructuring actions and delays. Further information on these factors and other factors that could affect Ultralife's financial results is included in Ultralife's Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings, including the latest Annual Report on Form 10-K.
    Ultralife(R) is a registered trademark of Ultralife Batteries,
Inc.

    CONTACT: Ultralife Batteries, Inc.
             Pete Comerford, 315-332-7100
             pcomerford@ulbi.com
             or
             Investor Relations:
             Lippert/Heilshorn & Associates, Inc.
             Jody Burfening, 212-838-3777
             jburfening@lhai.com