Exhibit 99.1

March 22, 2006

IMMEDIATE RELEASE: UPDATED
Contact: Melvin E. Meekins, Jr.
(410) 268-4554

Severn Bancorp, Inc. Announces First Quarter Dividend

Severn Bancorp, Inc. (Nasdaq - SVBI) the parent company of Severn Savings Bank, FSB and Hyatt Commercial, today announced that its Board of Directors has declared a regular quarterly dividend of $.06 per share for the first quarter of 2006. This dividend is payable on April 17, 2006 to shareholders of record as of the close of business on March 31, 2006, and will be paid on all outstanding shares after the effect of the 10% stock dividend the Board of Directors declared on February 21, 2006.
With over $840 million in assets, Severn Savings Bank, FSB is a community bank focused on residential and commercial mortgage lending in Anne Arundel County and, to a lesser extent, in other parts of Maryland, Delaware and Northern Virginia. The bank has three branch locations, at 1917 West Street in Annapolis, 413 Crain Highway in Glen Burnie and 3083 Solomon’s Island Road in Edgewater. Severn’s website is www.severnbank.com.
For additional information or questions, please contact Melvin E. Meekins, Jr., Executive Vice President or S. Scott Kirkley, Senior Vice President, Severn Bancorp, Inc. 1919A West Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401, (410) 268-4554, e-mail: mmeekins@severn.hpwsb.com or skirkley@severn.hpwsb.com.

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