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                                  NEWS RELEASE
                                  ------------


For Immediate Release                                  October 23, 2007

Contacts: John K. Keach, Jr.                           Mark T. Gorski
          Chairman                                     Executive Vice President
          Chief Executive Officer                      Chief Financial Officer
          (812) 373-7816                               (812) 373-7379



                         HOME FEDERAL BANCORP ANNOUNCES
                             THIRD QUARTER EARNINGS
                             ----------------------


(Columbus,  In) -- Home Federal  Bancorp (the  "Company")  (NASDAQ:  HOMF),  the
holding  company of HomeFederal  Bank of Columbus,  Indiana (the "Bank"),  today
announced  quarterly earnings of $1,701,000 or $0.48 diluted earnings per common
share,  for the quarter.  This compared to earnings of $341,000 or $0.09 diluted
earnings  per share,  a year  earlier.  The  Company's  net income for the third
quarter of the prior year included a pre-tax loss of $1,956,000  resulting  from
the sale of investment  securities.  Excluding the impact of the loss on sale of
investment  securities  in the prior  year,  net income  increased  1.9% for the
quarter  and  diluted  earnings  per  share  increased  9.1%  for  the  quarter.
Year-to-date  net income was  $4,481,000  or $1.25  diluted  earnings per common
share,  compared to  $3,405,000,  or $0.89 diluted  earnings per common share, a
year  earlier.  Year-to-date  earnings  for 2007  included  a pre-tax  charge of
$788,000  related  to a  separation  agreement  with  a  former  executive  vice
president of the Bank and the Company,  which was recorded in the first quarter.
Excluding  the  impact  of  the  charge  related  to the  separation  agreement,
year-to-date  earnings would have been $4,957,000 or $1.38 diluted  earnings per
common share.  Excluding the loss on sale of investment  securities in the prior
year,  year-to-date  net income  increased  4.7% and diluted  earnings per share
increased  11.3%.  Total loans  increased $9.7 million for the quarter and $42.4
million  year-to-date  driven by commercial  loan and  commercial  mortgage loan
growth of $15.2  million  for the quarter and $65.6  million  year-to-date.  The
growth in commercial loans had a positive impact on net interest  margin,  which
increased to 3.51% for the quarter and 3.47% year-to-date. Chairman and CEO John
Keach,  Jr. stated,  "We are pleased with the continued growth of our commercial
bank franchise and the positive impact of this growth on net interest  revenue."
Executive  Vice  President  and  CFO  Mark  Gorski  added,  "Our  investment  in
Indianapolis continues to drive positive changes on our balance sheet."

Balance Sheet

Total assets were $876.6  million as of September  30, 2007, a decrease of $27.9
million  from  December  31, 2006.  Total loans  increased  $9.7 million for the
quarter and $42.4  million  year-to-date.  The growth in the loan  portfolio was
primarily  the  result  of an  increase  in  commercial  loans of $41.5  million
year-to-date  and an  increase in  commercial  mortgage  loans of $24.1  million
year-to-date.  The increase in commercial  loans has been partially  offset by a
decrease in residential mortgage loans and other consumer loans. Residential

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<PAGE>

Home Federal Bancorp
Third Quarter Earnings
Page 2

mortgage loans have decreased $17.9 million  year-to-date as  substantially  all
new mortgage loan  originations  are being sold in the secondary  market.  Other
consumer  loans have  decreased  $5.4 million  year-to-date  due  primarily to a
reduction in indirect  automobile loans as the Bank discontinued the origination
of indirect automobile loans during 2006.

Total bank premises and equipment decreased $1.9 million from December 31, 2006.
In  September,  the Bank sold four retail  branch  buildings  and  entered  into
operating  leases  with the buyer.  The gain on sale of these  buildings,  which
totaled approximately $2.0 million, will be deferred and amortized over the life
of the leases.  The proceeds from the sale will be used to fund  commercial loan
growth.

Total retail deposits increased $3.8 million for the quarter and decreased $24.6
million  year-to-date.  Retail  deposit  balances at year-end  included  several
unusually  large  public  fund  account  balances.   During  2007,  public  fund
transaction  account balances decreased $47.6 million to more normal levels. All
other retail deposit  categories in total increased  $23.0 million  year-to-date
including  growth of $14.6 million  year-to-date  in certificates of deposit and
growth of $9.2 million year-to-date in money market accounts.

Total FHLB borrowings increased $15.0 million year-to-date. The increase in FHLB
borrowings was used to offset a $13.2 million decrease in brokered deposits.

As of September 30, 2007,  shareholders'  equity was $68.9 million. The decrease
in shareholders' equity of $2.4 million year-to-date was primarily the result of
stock  repurchases  of 214,583  shares for $6.3  million.  The return on average
assets  year-to-date  was 0.69%  annualized  while the return on average  equity
year-to-date was 8.64%.  Excluding the impact of the charges associated with the
separation agreement,  the return on average assets year-to-date would have been
0.76% annualized while the return on average equity would have been 9.56%.

Asset Quality

Provision  for loan  losses was  $286,000  for the third  quarter  and  $789,000
year-to-date.  Net charge offs were  $54,000 for the third  quarter and $631,000
year-to-date.  The  annualized net charge off ratio for the first nine months of
2007 was 0.12%  compared to an annualized  net charge off ratio of 0.17% for the
first nine months of 2006.  Non-performing  assets to total assets  increased to
1.35% at  September  30, 2007 from 0.46% at December  31,  2006.  Non-performing
loans to total gross loans  increased to 1.59% at September  30, 2007 from 0.54%
at  December  31,  2006.   The   increases  in  the   non-performing   loan  and
non-performing  asset ratios  during the year were  primarily  the result of two
commercial  loan  relationships  totaling  approximately  $6.1 million that were
placed on non-accrual  status during the year along with an increase in consumer
loan  delinquencies.  The ratio of the  allowance for loan losses to total loans
was 0.93% at September 30, 2007.  In addition,  the allowance for loan losses to
non-performing  loans  was 58% as of  September  30,  2007  compared  to 176% at
December 31, 2006.

Net Interest Income

Net  interest  income  increased  $567,000 or 8.9% to $7.0 million for the third
quarter while year-to-date net interest income increased $1.6 million or 8.7% to
$20.6  million.  Net  interest  margin for the third  quarter of 2007 was 3.51%,
which  represented an increase of 5 basis points  compared to the second quarter
of 2007.  Year-to-date  net interest margin for 2007 was 3.47% compared to 3.28%
for 2006 - a 19 basis point increase.

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<PAGE>

Home Federal Bancorp
Third Quarter Earnings
Page 3

The  increase  in net  interest  margin was  primarily  the result of a shift in
composition  of the balance sheet.  Commercial and commercial  real estate loans
continue to replace lower  yielding  residential  mortgage  loans and investment
securities  while  retail  deposits  have  replaced   generally  higher  costing
wholesale funding sources.

Non Interest Income

Non  interest  income  increased  $2.2  million  for the third  quarter and $2.3
million  year-to-date.  During the third quarter of 2006, the Company incurred a
loss of $1,956,000 related to the sale of investment securities.  Excluding this
loss, non interest  income would have  increased  $216,000 or 6.9% for the third
quarter  and  $299,000  or  3.3%  year-to-date.   Investment  advisory  services
increased  $181,000  or 57.1% for the third  quarter and  increased  $350,000 or
33.9%  year-to-date.  During the third quarter,  the Company  acquired a book of
business from an existing broker in the Bank's current Indianapolis market area.
Service fees on deposits accounts were flat for the third quarter, but increased
$401,000 or 9.0%  year-to-date  as the Bank  implemented  an enhanced  overdraft
privilege product during the second quarter of 2006. These increases were offset
by the decrease in loan servicing income, which decreased $106,000 for the third
quarter  and  $586,000  year-to-date.  The  Bank  sold  its  mortgage  servicing
portfolio during the fourth quarter of 2006.

Non Interest Expenses

Non interest expenses  increased  $469,000 or 6.8% to $7.4 million for the third
quarter while  year-to-date non interest expenses increased $1.8 million or 8.8%
to $22.5 million.  Included in compensation  and employee  benefits in the third
quarter of 2006 was a reduction in the Company's  vacation  accrual of $260,000.
Excluding  the impact of the  adjustment  to the  vacation  accrual in the prior
year,  expenses for the third quarter increased  $209,000 or 2.9%.  Year-to-date
miscellaneous  expenses  for 2007  include  expenses  incurred  pursuant  to the
separation  agreement and a $200,000  write-down of the Bank's former operations
building,  which was classified as held for sale. The write-down represented the
entire  remaining  book  value of the  building.  Excluding  the  impact  of the
separation  agreement and the write-down of the building,  non interest expenses
increased  $828,000 or 4.0%  year-to-date.  Compensation  and employee  benefits
expense  increased  $567,000 or 4.8%  year-to-date due to additional  salary and
incentive  compensation  expense for the new  commercial  lending and commercial
credit staff in Indianapolis,  additional  brokerage  commission costs resulting
from  increased  revenue  and  normal  annual  salary  increases.   Year-to-date
miscellaneous  expenses,  excluding  the charges  associated  with the  building
write-down and the separation  agreement,  increased  $277,000 compared to 2006.
The increase was primarily due to an increase of $127,000 in  professional  fees
as additional  legal and accounting  expenses were incurred to address new proxy
disclosure requirements and new accounting pronouncements.

Stock Repurchase Programs

In April 2007, the Board of Directors approved the twelfth repurchase, from time
to time, on the open market of up to 5% of the Company's  outstanding  shares of
common stock,  without par value ("Common Stock"),  or 175,628 such shares. Such
purchases  will be made  subject to market  conditions  in open  market or block
transactions.  Management  believes  that the purchase of these shares will help
increase long term shareholder value by increasing earnings per share and return
on equity. The Company  repurchased 134,181 shares under the eleventh repurchase
plan and 80,402 shares under the twelfth  repurchase plan for a total of 214,583
shares  repurchased  year to date. The Company had 95,226 shares remaining to be
repurchased under this plan at September 30, 2007.

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<PAGE>

Home Federal Bancorp
Third Quarter Earnings
Page 4

Home Federal  Bancorp is a bank  holding  company  registered  with the Board of
Governors of the Federal Reserve System (the "Federal Reserve"),  which has been
authorized  by the Federal  Reserve to engage in  activities  permissible  for a
financial  holding company.  HomeFederal Bank, its principal  subsidiary,  is an
FDIC insured state chartered  commercial  bank.  HomeFederal Bank was founded in
1908 and offers a wide  range of  consumer  and  commercial  financial  services
through 19 branch offices in central and southeastern Indiana.

Forward-Looking Statement

This  press  release  contains  certain  forward-looking  statements  within the
meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking
statements  include  expressions such as "expects,"  "intends,"  "believes," and
"should," which are necessarily statements of belief as to the expected outcomes
of future events.  Actual results could materially  differ from those presented.
Home Federal  Bancorp  undertakes no  obligation  to release  revisions to these
forward-looking  statements or reflect events or circumstances after the date of
this release.  The Company's ability to predict future results involves a number
of risks and  uncertainties,  some of which have been set forth in the Company's
most recent annual report on Form 10-K,  which  disclosures are  incorporated by
reference herein.


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<PAGE>

HOME FEDERAL BANCORP
CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS  (unaudited)
(in thousands, except share data)


                                                              September 30,    December 31,
                                                                   2007            2006
                                                              -------------    ------------
Assets:
Cash and due from banks                                         $  36,147       $ 106,063
Securities available for sale at fair value
(amortized cost $61,606 and $57,421)                               61,160          56,887
Securities held to maturity (fair value $1,616 and $1,628)          1,624           1,635
Loans held for sale (fair value $6,666 and $7,055)                  6,523           6,925
Portfolio loans and leases:
   Commercial loans                                               193,289         151,781
   Commercial mortgage loans                                      251,491         227,433
   Residential mortgage loans                                     148,063         166,003
   Second & home equity loans                                     103,028         102,713
   Other consumer loans                                            29,043          34,483
   Unearned income                                                   (256)           (153)
                                                                ---------       ---------
Total portfolio loans                                             724,658         682,260
Allowance for loan and lease losses                                (6,757)         (6,598)
                                                                ---------       ---------
Portfolio loans, net                                              717,901         675,662


Bank premises and equipment                                        15,313          17,232
Accrued interest receivable                                         4,581           4,679
Goodwill                                                            1,874           1,695
Other assets                                                       31,479          33,689
                                                                ---------       ---------
   TOTAL ASSETS                                                 $ 876,602       $ 904,467
                                                                =========       =========

Liabilities:
Deposits:
   Demand                                                       $  75,227       $  72,804
   Interest checking                                               80,359         129,025
   Savings                                                         39,547          41,710
   Money market                                                   174,817         165,605
   Certificates                                                   308,515         293,914
                                                                ---------       ---------
 Retail deposits                                                  678,465         703,058
                                                                ---------       ---------
   Brokered deposits                                                9,199          22,357
   Public fund certificates                                           315           1,744
                                                                ---------       ---------
 Wholesale deposits                                                 9,514          24,101
                                                                ---------       ---------
Total deposits                                                    687,979         727,159
                                                                ---------       ---------

FHLB Borrowings                                                    83,699          68,667
Short term borrowings                                                 162              --
Junior subordinated debt                                           15,464          15,464
Accrued taxes, interest and expense                                 2,999           4,462
Other liabilities                                                  17,419          17,434
                                                                ---------       ---------
   Total liabilities                                              807,722         833,186
                                                                ---------       ---------
Commitments and Contingencies
Shareholders' equity:
 No par preferred stock; Authorized:  2,000,000 shares
  Issued and outstanding: None
 No par common stock; Authorized:  15,000,000 shares
  Issued and outstanding: 3,462,039 and 3,610,218                  20,322          17,081
 Retained earnings, restricted                                     49,437          55,137
 Accumulated other comprehensive loss, net of taxes                  (879)           (937)
                                                                ---------       ---------
   Total shareholders' equity                                      68,880          71,281
                                                                ---------       ---------
   TOTAL LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY                   $ 876,602       $ 904,467
                                                                =========       =========

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<PAGE>

HOME FEDERAL BANCORP
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME (unaudited)
(in thousands, except share data)


                                                    Three Months Ended                 Year to Date
                                                       September 30,                  September 30,
                                                --------------------------     --------------------------
Interest income:                                    2007           2006            2007           2006
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Short term investments                          $       162    $       157     $       917    $       507
Securities                                              686          1,187           1,995          3,528
Commercial loans                                      3,857          2,765          10,747          6,949
Commercial mortgage loans                             4,341          3,660          12,263         10,388
Residential mortgages                                 2,601          2,765           7,993          8,185
Second and home equity loans                          1,852          1,821           5,506          5,114
Other consumer loans                                    564            642           1,736          1,969
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Total interest income                                14,063         12,997          41,157         36,640
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------

Interest expense:
Checking and savings accounts                           367            440           1,298            882
Money market accounts                                 1,572          1,400           4,258          3,528
Certificates of deposit                               3,665          2,969          10,725          8,083
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
 Total interest on retail deposits                    5,604          4,809          16,281         12,493
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------


Brokered deposits                                       123            281             552            836
Public funds                                             29            115              41            286
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
 Total interest on wholesale deposits                   152            396             593          1,122
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
 Total interest on deposits                           5,756          5,205          16,874         13,615
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------


FHLB borrowings                                       1,065          1,147           2,830          3,351
Other borrowings                                          1              2               8              5
Long term debt                                           --            201              --            650
Junior subordinated debt                                279             47             824             47
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Total interest expense                                7,101          6,602          20,536         17,668
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------


Net interest income                                   6,962          6,395          20,621         18,972
Provision for loan losses                               286            196             789            533
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Net interest income after provision for loan
losses                                                6,676          6,199          19,832         18,439
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------

Non interest income:
 Gain on sale of loans                                  419            356           1,107          1,065
 Gain (loss) on sale of securities                       --         (1,956)             --         (1,956)
 Investment advisory services                           498            317           1,383          1,033
 Service fees on deposit accounts                     1,719          1,729           4,882          4,481
 Loan servicing income, net of impairments              130            236             426          1,012
 Miscellaneous                                          578            490           1,669          1,577
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Total non interest income                             3,344          1,172           9,467          7,212
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------

Non interest expenses:
 Compensation and employee benefits                   4,169          3,796          12,297         11,730
 Occupancy and equipment                              1,032          1,006           3,016          2,907
 Service bureau expense                                 432            384           1,223          1,131
 Marketing                                              312            378             873          1,090
 Miscellaneous                                        1,412          1,324           5,049          3,784
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Total non interest expenses                           7,357          6,888          22,458         20,642
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------


Income before income taxes                            2,663            483           6,841          5,009
Income tax provision                                    962            142           2,360          1,604
                                                -----------    -----------     -----------    -----------
Net Income                                      $     1,701    $       341     $     4,481    $     3,405
                                                ===========    ===========     ===========    ===========

Basic earnings per common share                 $      0.49    $      0.09     $      1.28    $      0.91
Diluted earnings per common share               $      0.48    $      0.09     $      1.25    $      0.89

Basic weighted average number of shares           3,457,603      3,679,793       3,512,479      3,729,047
Dilutive weighted average number of shares        3,518,623      3,767,985       3,592,684      3,820,421
Dividends per share                             $     0.200    $     0.200     $     0.600    $     0.588


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<PAGE>

Supplemental Data:                                      Three Months Ended         Year to Date
(unaudited)                                                September 30,           September 30,
                                                       --------------------     -------------------
                                                          2007        2006        2007        2006
                                                        -------     -------     -------     -------
Weighted average interest rate earned
    on total interest-earning assets                      7.09%       6.56%       6.93%       6.33%
Weighted average cost of total
    interest-bearing liabilities                          3.61%       3.34%       3.54%       3.10%
Interest rate spread during period                        3.49%       3.23%       3.39%       3.23%

Net interest margin
    (net interest income divided by average
    interest-earning assets on annualized basis)          3.51%       3.23%       3.47%       3.28%
Total interest income divided by average
    total assets (on annualized basis)                    6.44%       5.94%       6.31%       5.72%
Total interest expense divided by
    average total assets (on annualized basis)            3.22%       2.99%       3.16%       2.76%
Net interest income divided by average
    total assets (on annualized basis)                    3.19%       2.92%       3.16%       2.96%

Return on assets (net income divided by
    average total assets on annualized basis)             0.78%       0.16%       0.69%       0.53%
Return on equity (net income divided by
    average total equity on annualized basis)            10.01%       1.93%       8.64%       6.34%


                                                       September 30,   December 31,
                                                            2007          2006
                                                          -------       -------
Book value per share outstanding                          $ 19.90       $ 19.74

Nonperforming Assets:
  Loans:   Non-accrual                                    $10,478       $ 2,852
           Past due 90 days or more                           256           459
           Restructured                                       879           440
                                                          -------       -------
  Total nonperforming loans                                11,613         3,751
  Real estate owned, net                                      258           416
  Other repossessed assets, net                                 0            20
                                                          -------       -------
  Total Nonperforming Assets                              $11,871       $ 4,187

Nonperforming assets divided by total assets                 1.35%         0.46%
Nonperforming loans divided by total loans                   1.59%         0.54%

Balance in Allowance for Loan Losses                      $ 6,757       $ 6,598


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</TABLE>