TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND III L P (CIK 866888)
Form 10-Q
period 2003-09-30
filed 2003-11-12

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



                                                                                                             Page

Part I   Financial Information

    Item 1.   Financial Statements (unaudited)

          Balance Sheets - September 30, 2003
          and December 31, 2002.............................................................................    3


          Statements of Operations for the three and nine months
          ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.................................................................    4


          Statements of Partners' Capital for the nine months
          ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.................................................................    5


          Statements of Cash Flows for the nine months
          ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.................................................................    6


          Notes to Financial Statements.....................................................................    8


    Item 2.   Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
              and Results of Operations.....................................................................   14


    Item 3.   Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about Market Risk....................................   22


    Item 4.   Controls and Procedures.......................................................................   22


Part II  Other Information

    Item 6.   Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K. ............................................................   23



TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND III, L.P.
(a California Limited Partnership)

Balance Sheets

September 30, 2003 and December 31, 2002
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                               2003                   2002
                                                                         ---------------        ---------------
Assets
Container rental equipment, net of accumulated
   depreciation of $35,895, (2002:  $37,690) (note 4)                    $       24,837         $       31,529
Cash                                                                                560                    548
Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful
   accounts of $183, (2002: $119)                                                 2,114                  2,441
Due from affiliates, net (note 2)                                                   182                    121
Prepaid expenses                                                                      -                     25
                                                                         ---------------        ---------------

                                                                         $       27,693         $       34,664
                                                                         ===============        ===============

Liabilities and Partners' Capital
Liabilities:
   Accounts payable                                                      $          196         $          200
   Accrued liabilities                                                              243                    332
   Accrued recovery costs                                                           132                    128
   Accrued damage protection plan costs                                             252                    185
   Warranty claims                                                                    -                     30
   Deferred quarterly distributions                                                  86                     88
   Deferred damage protection plan revenue                                          157                    157
                                                                         ---------------        ---------------

      Total liabilities                                                           1,066                  1,120
                                                                         ---------------        ---------------

Partners' capital:
   General partners                                                                   -                      -
   Limited partners                                                              26,627                 33,544
                                                                         ---------------        ---------------

      Total partners' capital                                                    26,627                 33,544
                                                                         ---------------        ---------------


                                                                         $       27,693         $       34,664
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

                                                Three months        Three months        Nine months         Nine months
                                                   Ended                Ended              Ended               Ended
                                               Sept. 30, 2003      Sept. 30, 2002      Sept. 30, 2003      Sept. 30, 2002
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------
Rental income                                 $        2,353      $        2,427      $        7,336      $        6,857
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------

Costs and expenses:
     Direct container expenses                           521                 716               1,529               2,281
     Bad debt (benefit) expense                           (8)                 14                  80                  (4)
     Depreciation (note 4)                             1,378               1,788               4,435               4,166
     Write-down of containers (note 4)                    22                 359                 285               1,366
     Professional fees                                     5                  13                  14                  42
     Management fees to affiliates (note 2)              241                 189                 707                 609
     General and administrative costs
       to affiliates (note 2)                            108                 114                 339                 385
     Other general and administrative costs               32                  70                  92                 213
     Loss on sale of containers (note 4)                 164                 276                 323                 723
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------

                                                       2,463               3,539               7,804               9,781
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------

     Loss from operations                               (110)             (1,112)               (468)             (2,924)
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------

Interest income                                            1                    3                  5                  31
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------

     Net loss                                 $         (109)     $       (1,109)     $         (463)     $       (2,893)
                                              ===============     ===============     ===============     ===============

Allocation of net (loss) earnings (note 2):
     General partners                         $           23      $           15      $           65      $           88
     Limited partners                                   (132)             (1,124)               (528)             (2,981)
                                              ---------------     ---------------     ---------------     ---------------

                                              $         (109)     $       (1,109)     $         (463)     $       (2,893)
                                              ===============     ===============     ===============     ===============
Limited partners' per unit share
     of net loss                              $        (0.02)     $        (0.19)     $        (0.09)     $        (0.49)
                                              ===============     ===============     ===============     ===============

Limited partners' per unit share
     of distributions                         $         0.38      $         0.24      $         1.07      $         1.42
                                              ===============     ===============     ===============     ===============

Weighted average number of limited
     partnership units outstanding                 5,919,042           5,953,813           5,924,175           6,038,505
                                              ===============     ===============     ===============     ===============


See accompanying notes to financial statements



TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND III, L.P.
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements of Partners' Capital

For the nine months ended September 30, 2003 and 2002
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                      Partners' Capital
                                                ----------------------------------------------------------
                                                    General               Limited               Total
                                                --------------        ---------------      ---------------
Balances at January 1, 2002                     $           -         $       47,745       $       47,745

Distributions                                             (88)                (8,590)              (8,678)

Redemptions (note 5)                                        -                   (599)                (599)

Net earnings  (loss)                                       88                 (2,981)              (2,893)
                                                --------------        ---------------      ---------------

Balances at Septmeber 30, 2002                  $           -         $       35,575       $       35,575
                                                ==============        ===============      ===============

Balances at January 1, 2003                     $           -         $       33,544       $       33,544

Distributions                                             (65)                (6,321)              (6,386)

Redemptions (note 5)                                        -                    (68)                 (68)

Net earnings (loss)                                        65                   (528)                (463)
                                                --------------        ---------------      ---------------

Balances at September 30, 2003                  $           -         $       26,627       $       26,627
                                                ==============        ===============      ===============


See accompanying notes to financial statements


TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND III, L.P.
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements of Cash Flows

For the nine months ended September 30, 2003 and 2002
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                      2003                2002
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
    Net loss                                                                   $          (463)    $        (2,893)
    Adjustments to reconcile net loss to
      net cash provided by operating activities:
         Depreciation (note 4)                                                           4,435               4,166
         Write-down of containers (note 4)                                                 285               1,366
         Increase (decrease) in allowance for doubtful accounts                             64                 (31)
         Loss on sale of containers                                                        323                 723
         Decrease (increase) in assets:
            Accounts receivable                                                            265                 278
            Due from affiliates, net                                                       (19)               (122)
            Prepaid expenses                                                                25                  16
         (Decrease) increase in liabilities:
            Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                       (93)                  6
            Accrued recovery costs                                                           4                 (65)
            Accrued damage protection plan costs                                            67                  11
            Deferred damage protection plan revenue                                          -                   9
            Warranty claims                                                                (30)                (29)
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

                  Net cash provided by operating activities                              4,863               3,435
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

Cash flows from investing activities:
    Proceeds from sale of containers                                                     1,606               3,019
    Container purchases                                                                      -                   5
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

                  Net cash provided by investing activities                              1,606               3,024
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

Cash flows from financing activities:
    Redemptions of limited partnership units                                               (68)               (599)
    Distributions to partners                                                           (6,389)             (8,665)
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

                  Net cash used in financing activities                                 (6,457)             (9,264)
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

Net increase (decrease) in cash                                                             12              (2,805)

Cash at beginning of period                                                                548               3,253
                                                                               ----------------    ----------------

Cash at end of period                                                          $           560     $           448
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

The following table summarizes the amounts of container purchases, distributions
to partners,  and proceeds  from sale of  containers  which had not been paid or
received as of  September  30, 2003 and 2002,  and  December  31, 2002 and 2001,
resulting in  differences  in amounts  recorded and amounts of cash disbursed or
received by the  Partnership,  as shown in the  Statements of Cash Flows for the
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

                                                              Sept. 30        Dec. 31       Sept. 30        Dec. 31
                                                                2003            2002          2002            2001
                                                             ----------     ----------     ----------     ----------
Container purchases included in:
     Due to (from) affiliates.......................             $  -           $  -           $  -          $  (7)

Distributions to partners included in:
     Due to affiliates..............................                8              9              7              5
     Deferred quarterly distributions...............               86             88             65             54

Proceeds from sale of containers included in:
     Due from affiliates............................              402            361            505            708


The following table summarizes the amounts of container purchases, distributions
to partners and proceeds from sale of containers recorded by the Partnership and
the amounts  paid or received as shown in the  Statements  of Cash Flows for the
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

                                                                                              2003            2002
                                                                                              ----            ----

Container purchases recorded....................................................            $    -          $    2
Container purchases paid........................................................                 -              (5)

Distributions to partners declared..............................................             6,386           8,678
Distributions to partners paid..................................................             6,389           8,665

Proceeds from sale of containers recorded.......................................             1,647           2,816
Proceeds from sale of containers received.......................................             1,606           3,019

The  Partnership  has  entered  into direct  finance  leases,  resulting  in the
transfer of containers from container rental  equipment to accounts  receivable.
The carrying value of containers transferred during the nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002 was $2 and $58, respectively.

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

     As part of the operation of the  Partnership,  the Partnership is to pay to
     the General Partners,  an acquisition fee, an equipment  management fee, an
     incentive  management fee and an equipment  liquidation fee. These fees are
     for various  services  provided in connection with the  administration  and
     management of the  Partnership.  The  Partnership  incurred $74 and $192 of
     incentive  management  fees during the three and  nine-month  periods ended
     September 30, 2003,  respectively,  and $20 and $130 during the  equivalent
     periods in 2002, respectively. No acquisition or equipment liquidation fees
     were incurred during these periods.

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

     Subject to certain reductions,  TEM receives a monthly equipment management
     fee equal to 7% of gross revenues  attributable to operating  leases and 2%
     of gross  revenues  attributable  to full  payout  net  leases.  These fees
     totaled $167 and $515 for the three and nine-month  periods ended September
     30,  2003,  respectively,  and  $169 and  $479,  respectively,  during  the
     comparable periods in 2002.

     Certain  indirect  general  and  administrative  costs  such  as  salaries,
     employee   benefits,   taxes  and  insurance  are  incurred  in  performing
     administrative  services  necessary to the  operation  of the  Partnership.
     These  costs  are   incurred   and  paid  by  TFS  and  TEM.   General  and
     administrative  costs  allocated  to the  Partnership  during the three and
     nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002 were as follows:

                                       Three months          Nine months
                                      ended Sept. 30,      ended Sept. 30,
                                      ---------------      ---------------

                                      2003       2002      2003       2002
                                      ----       ----      ----       ----

          Salaries                    $ 56       $ 77      $182       $250
          Other                         52         37       157        135
                                       ---        ---       ---        ---
            Total general and
               administrative costs   $108       $114      $339       $385
                                       ===        ===       ===        ===

     TEM allocates these general and administrative  costs based on the ratio of
     the Partnership's interest in the managed containers to the total container
     fleet managed by TEM during the period.  TFS allocates these costs based on
     the ratio of the  Partnership's  investors to the total number of investors
     of all limited partnerships managed by TFS or equally among all the limited
     partnerships  managed by TFS. The General Partners  allocated the following
     general and  administrative  costs to the Partnership  during the three and
     nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002:

                                       Three months          Nine months
                                      ended Sept. 30,      ended Sept. 30,
                                      ---------------      ---------------

                                      2003       2002      2003       2002
                                      ----       ----      ----       ----

          TEM                         $ 92       $100      $293       $330
          TFS                           16         14        46         55
                                       ---        ---       ---        ---
            Total general and
               administrative costs   $108       $114      $339       $385
                                       ===        ===       ===        ===



     At September 30, 2003 and December 31, 2002,  due from  affiliates,  net is
     comprised of:

                                                           2003          2002
                                                           ----          ----
             Due from affiliates:
                      Due from TEM...................      $263          $194
                                                            ---           ---

             Due to affiliates:
                      Due to TFS.....................        71            56
                      Due to TCC.....................         9            16
                      Due to TL......................         1             1
                                                            ---           ---
                                                             81            73
                                                            ---           ---

                  Due from affiliates, net                 $182          $121
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


Note 3.  Lease Rental Income

     Leasing income arises principally from the renting of containers to various
     international  shipping lines. Revenue is recorded when earned according to
     the terms of the container rental contracts.  These contracts are typically
     for  terms of five  years or less.  The  following  is the lease mix of the
     on-lease containers (in units) at September 30, 2003 and 2002:

                                                     2003              2002
                                                     ----              ----

              On-lease under master leases          9,165            10,822
              On-lease under long-term leases       6,401             6,157
                                                   ------            ------

                   Total on-lease containers       15,566            16,979
                                                   ======            ======

     Under  master  lease  agreements,  the lessee is not  committed  to lease a
     minimum number of containers from the Partnership during the lease term and
     may  generally  return  any  portion  or  all  of  the  containers  to  the
     Partnership  at any time,  subject  to  certain  restrictions  in the lease
     agreement. Under long-term lease agreements,  containers are usually leased
     from the  Partnership  for  periods of between  three to five  years.  Such
     leases  are  generally  cancelable  with  a  penalty  at the  end  of  each
     twelve-month  period.  Under direct  finance  leases,  the  containers  are
     usually leased from the  Partnership  for the remainder of the  container's
     useful life with a purchase option at the end of the lease term.

     The remaining containers are off-lease and are located primarily at a large
     number of storage depots. At September 30, 2003 and 2002, the Partnership's
     off-lease containers were in the following locations:

                                                         2003        2002
                                                         ----        ----

                Americas                                1,332       2,085
                Europe                                    416         902
                Asia                                    1,061       1,174
                Other                                      66          78
                                                        -----       -----

                   Total off-lease containers           2,875       4,239
                                                        =====       =====

     At September  30, 2003  approximately  10% of the  Partnership's  off-lease
     containers had been specifically identified as for sale.

Note 4.   Container Rental Equipment

     Effective July 1, 2002, the Partnership  revised its estimate for container
     salvage  value from a percentage of equipment  cost to an estimated  dollar
     residual value. The effect of this change for both the three and nine-month
     periods ended September 30, 2002 was an increase to depreciation expense of
     $690.  The  Partnership  will  evaluate the estimated  residual  values and
     remaining  estimated  useful lives on an on-going basis and will revise its
     estimates as needed.  As a result,  depreciation  expense may  fluctuate in
     future periods based on fluctuations in these estimates.

     The  Partnership  stopped  purchasing  containers in 2002,  but its leasing
     activities  are  affected by  fluctuations  in new  container  prices.  New
     container prices steadily declined from 1995 through 1999 and have remained
     low through  2003.  As a result,  the cost of new  containers  purchased in
     recent  years is  significantly  less than the average  cost of  containers
     purchased in prior years. The Partnership  evaluated the  recoverability of
     the recorded amount of container rental equipment at September 30, 2003 and
     2002 for  containers  to be held for continued  use and  determined  that a
     reduction to the carrying value of these  containers was not required.  The
     Partnership  also evaluated the  recoverability  of the recorded  amount of
     containers  identified  for sale in the  ordinary  course of  business  and
     determined  that a  reduction  to the  carrying  value  of  some  of  these
     containers  was  required.  The  Partnership  wrote down the value of these
     containers to their  estimated  net  realizable  value,  which was based on
     recent sales prices less cost to sell. During the nine-month  periods ended
     September 30, 2003 and 2002 the Partnership recorded write-down expenses of
     $285 and $1,366,  respectively,  on 628 and 1,874 containers  identified as
     for sale  and  requiring  a  reserve.  For the  three-month  periods  ended
     September 30, 2003 and 2002, the Partnership  recorded  write-down expenses
     of $22 and $359,  respectively,  on 166 and 418  containers  identified for
     sale and requiring a reserve.  Additionally,  during the nine-month periods
     ended September 30, 2003 and 2002, the Partnership  reclassified 42 and 262
     containers  from  containers  identified  for sale to  containers  held for
     continued  use due to the  improvement  in demand for leased  containers in
     Asia. At September 30, 2003 and 2002, the net book value of the 287 and 705
     containers identified for sale was $245 and $585, respectively.

     The Partnership  sold 715 previously  written down containers for a loss of
     $62 during the  nine-month  period ended  September 30, 2003 and sold 1,961
     previously  written  down  containers  for a loss of $150  during  the same
     period in 2002. During the three-month period ended September 30, 2003, the
     Partnership  sold 181 previously  written down  containers for a loss of $5
     and sold 653  previously  written down  containers for a loss of $75 during
     the same period in 2002.  The  Partnership  incurred  losses on the sale of
     some containers previously written down as the actual sales prices received
     on these containers were lower than the estimates used for the write-downs.

     The  Partnership  also sold  containers  that had not been written down and
     recorded  losses  of $261 and $573  during  the  nine-month  periods  ended
     September 30, 2003 and 2002,  respectively.  During the three-month periods
     ended September 30, 2003 and 2002 the  Partnership  recorded losses of $159
     and $201, respectively, on the sale of containers that had not been written
     down.

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


                                                          Units               Average
                                                         Redeemed        Redemption Price       Amount Paid
                                                         --------        ----------------       ------------
       Total Partnership redemptions as of
          December 31, 2001.......................        162,075             $11.55               $1,871

       Nine-month period ended
          September 30, 2002......................        134,112             $ 4.47                  599
                                                          -------                                   -----

       Total Partnership redemptions as of
          September 30, 2002......................        296,187             $ 8.34               $2,470
                                                          =======                                   =====


       Total Partnership redemptions as of
          December 31, 2002.......................        314,335             $ 8.10               $2,546

       Nine-month period ended
          September  30, 2003.....................         16,623             $ 4.09                   68
                                                          -------                                   -----

       Total Partnership redemptions as of
          September 30, 2003......................        330,958             $ 7.90               $2,614
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

During the nine-month period ended September 30, 2003, the Partnership  declared
cash  distributions to limited  partners  pertaining to the period from December
2002 through August 2003, in the amount of $6,321,  which  represented $1.07 per
unit. On a cash basis as reflected on the Statements of Cash Flows, after paying
redemptions and general partner distributions, $4,730 of total distributions was
from operations,  and the balance was a return of capital.  On an accrual basis,
as reflected on the Statements of Partners' Capital,  all of these distributions
were a return of capital.

From time to time,  the  Partnership  redeems units from limited  partners for a
specified  redemption  value,  which  is  set  by  formula.  Up  to  2%  of  the
Partnership's outstanding units may be redeemed each year, although the 2% limit
may be exceeded at the Managing General  Partner's  discretion.  All redemptions
are subject to the Managing  General  Partner's  good faith  determination  that
payment for the redeemed units will not (i) cause the Partnership to be taxed as
a  corporation,  (ii) impair the capital or  operations of the  Partnership,  or
(iii) impair the ability of the Partnership to pay  distributions  in accordance
with its distribution  policy.  During the nine-month period ended September 30,
2003, the  Partnership  redeemed  16,623 units for a total dollar amount of $68.
The  Partnership  used cash from  operating  activities  to pay for the redeemed
units.

Net cash  provided by operating  activities  for the  nine-month  periods  ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002, was $4,863 and $3,435,  respectively.  The increase
of $1,428,  or 42%, was  primarily  attributable  to  fluctuations  in net loss,
adjusted for non-cash transactions,  and in due from affiliates,  net, offset by
the decrease in accounts payable and accrued liabilities. Net loss, adjusted for
non-cash  transactions,  decreased  primarily  due to  the  decrease  in  direct
container  expenses and the increase in rental income,  which are discussed more
fully in "Results of Operations." The fluctuations in due from affiliates,  net,
resulted  from  timing  differences  in  the  payment  of  expenses,   fees  and
distributions  and the  remittance of net rental  revenues and  container  sales
proceeds, as well as fluctuations in these amounts. The fluctuations in accounts
payable and accrued liabilities  resulted from timing differences in the payment
of expenses and fees, as well as fluctuations in these amounts.

For the nine-month  periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002, net cash provided
by  investing  activities  (the  sale of  containers)  was  $1,606  and  $3,024,
respectively.  Net  cash  provided  by  investing  activities  decreased  $1,418
primarily due to the decrease in proceeds from  container  sales.  Proceeds from
container sales decreased  $1,413 primarily due to the decrease in the number of
containers sold. Some containers sold were located in low demand locations,  and
these sales were driven by the liquidation plans discussed above, and by adverse
market  conditions in these locations.  Until demand for containers  improves in
certain low demand locations,  the Partnership plans to continue selling some of
its containers that are off-lease in these  locations  rather than incurring the
expense of repositioning  them. The sale of containers in low demand  locations,
the decline in value for used containers in recent years, and the related market
conditions are discussed more fully under "Results of Operations."

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

                                                             2003      2002
                                                             ----      ----

          Beginning container fleet...............         20,536    24,561
          Ending container fleet..................         18,441    21,218
          Average container fleet.................         19,489    22,890

The average  container  fleet  decreased  15% from the  nine-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable period in 2003, primarily due to continuing
sales of  containers  (i) that had reached the end of their useful lives or (ii)
that an analysis had indicated their sale was otherwise  warranted.  Included in
this  second  group  were  containers  located  in  low  demand  locations.  The
Partnership expects that the size of its container fleet will further decline as
additional  containers  are  sold  for  these  reasons  and as  the  Partnership
continues  its  liquidation  plans.  The  Partnership  expects  rental income to
decline as the container  fleet  declines.  While the decline in container fleet
resulted  in lower  rental  income,  this  decrease  was more than offset by the
improvement in utilization,  resulting in the increase in rental income from the
nine-month  period  ended  September  30,  2002 to the same  period in 2003.  An
overall decline in rental income is expected in future years, as the size of the
Partnership's container fleet continues to decrease.

Rental income and direct container expenses are also affected by the utilization
of the container  fleet,  which was 83% and 62% on average during the nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002, respectively. The remaining container
fleet is off-lease and is located primarily at a large number of storage depots.
At September 30, 2003 and 2002, utilization was 84% and 80%,  respectively,  and
the  Partnership's  off-lease  containers  (in  units)  were  in  the  following
locations:

                                                    2003             2002
                                                    ----             ----

      Americas                                     1,332            2,085
      Europe                                         416              902
      Asia                                         1,061            1,174
      Other                                           66               78
                                                   -----            -----
            Total off-lease containers             2,875            4,239
                                                   =====            =====

At  September  30,  2003  approximately  10%  of  the  Partnership's   off-lease
containers had been specifically identified as for sale.

In addition to utilization, rental income is affected by daily rental rates. The
average daily rental rate for the Partnership's  containers decreased 8% between
the periods.  Average rental rates declined primarily due to the decline in long
term lease  rates.  The  decline in average  rental  rates under  master  leases
between the periods was minor. The majority of the  Partnership's  rental income
was  generated  from  leasing  of  the  Partnership's  containers  under  master
operating leases, but in the past several years an increasing  percentage of the
Partnership's containers have been on lease under long term leases. At September
30, 2003 and 2002,  41% and 36%,  respectively,  of the  Partnership's  on lease
containers were on lease under long term leases. Long term leases generally have
lower rental rates than master  leases  because the lessees have  contracted  to
lease the containers for several years and cannot return the containers prior to
the  termination  date  without a penalty.  Fluctuations  in rental  rates under
either type of lease generally will affect the Partnership's operating results.

The  following is a comparative  analysis of the results of  operations  for the
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

The  Partnership's  loss  from  operations  for  the  nine-month  periods  ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002 was $468 and $2,924, respectively,  on rental income
of $7,336 and $6,857, respectively. The increase in rental income of $479 or 7%,
from the nine-month  period ended  September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003
was  attributable  to  increases  in  container  rental  income and other rental
income,  which is discussed  below.  Income from  container  rentals,  the major
component of total revenue, increased $447, or 8%, primarily due to the increase
in average on-hire utilization of 34%, offset by decreases in average fleet size
of 15% and average rental rates of 8% between the periods.

Beginning  in March 2002,  utilization  began to improve and  improved  steadily
through the end of 2002.  Utilization  declined slightly in the first quarter of
2003, which is traditionally a slow period for container demand, improved during
the second quarter and was stable in the third quarter of 2003.  Utilization has
remained  relatively strong due to a large volume of export cargo out of Asia, a
larger percentage of containers under long term lease and efforts by the General
Partners to reduce the  quantities of containers  that can be redelivered in low
demand  locations.  However,  rental rates continued to slowly decline primarily
due to low new  container  prices,  low interest  rates and low rates offered by
competitors.  The  General  Partners  are  cautiously  optimistic  that  current
utilization  levels can be maintained  during the next several months.  However,
the General Partners caution that market  conditions could deteriorate again due
to global economic and political conditions.  Demand for leased containers could
therefore  weaken  again and result in a decrease  in  utilization  and  further
declines in lease rates and  container  sale  prices,  adversely  affecting  the
Partnership's operating results.

Although demand for leased containers has improved,  the trade imbalance between
Asia  and  the  Americas  continues.  As  a  result,  a  large  portion  of  the
Partnership's  off-lease  containers are located in low demand  locations in the
Americas  as  detailed  in the  above  chart.  For  these  and  other  off-lease
containers,  the Partnership  determines whether these containers should be sold
or held for  continued  use.  The  decision to sell  containers  is based on the
current  expectation  that the economic  benefit of selling these  containers is
greater  than  the  estimated  economic  benefit  of  continuing  to  own  these
containers.  The  majority  of the  containers  sold are older  containers.  The
expected  economic  benefit  of  continuing  to own these  older  containers  is
significantly  less than that of newer containers.  This is due to their shorter
remaining  marine life,  the cost to reposition  them,  and the shipping  lines'
preference for leasing newer containers when they have a choice.

Once the decision is made to sell  containers,  the Partnership  writes down the
value of these  specifically  identified  containers  when the carrying value is
greater than the container's  estimated net realizable value,  which is based on
recent sales prices less cost of sales.  Container  sales prices  appear to have
stabilized  as the average sales price for  containers  sold by TEM on behalf of
the  Partnership  as well as  other  container  owners  was  comparable  for the
nine-month  periods ended  September 30, 2003 and 2002.  Fluctuations in average
sales prices between the periods are primarily due to the type of container sold
as well as the location of the container.

Other rental income consists of other lease-related items, primarily income from
charges to lessees for dropping off containers in surplus locations less credits
granted to lessees for  leasing  containers  from  surplus  locations  (location
income),  income  from  charges to lessees for  handling  related to leasing and
returning  containers (handling income) and income from charges to lessees for a
Damage  Protection  Plan (DPP).  For the nine-month  period ended  September 30,
2003,  other  rental  income was $971,  an increase  of $32 from the  equivalent
period in 2002.  The increase was primarily due to increases in DPP and location
income of $127 and $11, respectively,  offset by the decrease in handling income
of $112.  DPP income  increased  primarily  due to an  increase in the number of
containers  covered under DPP.  Location income  increased  primarily due to the
increase in charges to one lessee who  required  containers  to be  delivered to
specific  locations.  The decrease in handling  income was  primarily due to the
decrease in container movement.

Direct  container  expenses  decreased $752, or 33%, from the nine-month  period
ended  September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to decreases in storage and handling expenses of $902 and $90, respectively,
offset  by  increases  in  repositioning  and  DPP  expenses  of $195  and  $77,
respectively.  Storage  expense  decreased  primarily  due  to the  increase  in
utilization  noted  above  and the  decrease  in the  average  storage  cost per
container.  The decline in handling  expense was primarily due to the decline in
container  movement.  Repositioning  expense increased due to an increase in the
average repositioning costs due to (i) expensive  repositioning moves related to
one lessee who  required  containers  to be  delivered  to certain  locations as
discussed above and (ii) longer average  repositioning  moves. This increase was
partially offset by the decline in the number of containers repositioned between
the periods. The increase in DPP expense was primarily due to an increase in the
number of containers covered under DPP.

Bad debt  expense/(benefit)  was $80 and ($4) for the  nine-month  periods ended
September   30,  2003  and  2002,   respectively.   Fluctuations   in  bad  debt
expense/(benefit)  reflect  the  adjustments  to the  bad  debt  reserve,  after
deductions  have been taken against the reserve,  and are based on  management's
then  current  estimates of the portion of accounts  receivable  that may not be
collected and which will not be covered by insurance.  These estimates are based
primarily on management's  current assessment of the financial  condition of the
Partnership's  lessees and their ability to make their  required  payments.  The
expense recorded during the nine-month  period ended September 30, 2003 reflects
a higher reserve estimate,  after deductions had been taken against the reserve,
from  December 31,  2002.  The benefit  recorded  during the same period in 2002
reflects a lower reserve  estimate,  after deductions had been taken against the
reserve, from December 31, 2001.

Depreciation  expense  increased  $269, or 6%, from the nine-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable  period in 2003. The increase was primarily
due to an  increase  in the  depreciation  rate as a result  of the  Partnership
revising its estimate for container salvage value from a percentage of equipment
cost  to an  estimated  dollar  residual  value  effective  July  1,  2002.  The
Partnership will evaluate the estimated residual values and remaining  estimated
useful lives on an on-going basis and will revise its estimates as needed.  As a
result,   depreciation   expense  may  fluctuate  in  future  periods  based  on
fluctuations in these estimates.

The  Partnership  stopped  purchasing   containers  in  2002,  but  its  leasing
activities are affected by fluctuations in new container  prices.  New container
prices  steadily  declined  from 1995 through 1999 and have remained low through
2003.  As a result,  the cost of new  containers  purchased  in recent  years is
significantly less than the average cost of containers purchased in prior years.
The Partnership evaluated the recoverability of the recorded amount of container
rental  equipment at September  30, 2003 and 2002 for  containers to be held for
continued  use and  determined  that a reduction to the carrying  value of these
containers was not required.  The Partnership also evaluated the  recoverability
of the recorded amount of containers  identified for sale in the ordinary course
of business and  determined  that a reduction  to the carrying  value of some of
these  containers was required.  The  Partnership  wrote down the value of these
containers to their  estimated net realizable  value,  which was based on recent
sales prices less cost to sell.  During the nine-month  periods ended  September
30,  2003 and 2002 the  Partnership  recorded  write-down  expenses  of $285 and
$1,366,  respectively,  on 628 and 1,874  containers  identified as for sale and
requiring a reserve. During the nine-month  periods ended September 30, 2003 and
2002, the  Partnership  also  reclassified 42 and 262 containers from containers
identified for sale to containers  held for continued use due to the improvement
in demand for leased containers in Asia. At September 30, 2003 and 2002, the net
book value of the 287 and 705 containers  identified for sale was $245 and $585,
respectively.

The  Partnership  sold 715 previously  written down containers for a loss of $62
during the nine-month  period ended September 30, 2003 and sold 1,961 previously
written down  containers  for a loss of $150 during the same period in 2002. The
Partnership  incurred losses on the sale of some containers  previously  written
down as the actual sales prices received on these containers were lower than the
estimates used for the write-downs.

The Partnership also sold containers that had not been written down and recorded
losses of $261 and $573 during the nine-month  periods ended  September 30, 2003
and 2002, respectively.

As more  containers are  subsequently  identified for sale or if container sales
prices decline,  the Partnership may incur additional  write-downs on containers
and/or may incur losses on the sale of containers. The Partnership will continue
to evaluate  the  recoverability  of the recorded  amounts of  container  rental
equipment.

Management fees to affiliates  increased $98, or 16%, from the nine-month period
ended  September 30, 2002 to the  comparable  period in 2003 due to increases in
both incentive and equipment  management fees.  Incentive management fees, which
are based on the Partnership's  limited and general partner  distributions  made
from cash from operations and partners' capital  increased  primarily due to the
increase in the amount of distributions  paid from cash from operations  between
the two periods. Equipment management fees increased as a result of the increase
in rental income and were  approximately 7% of rental income for both nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

General and administrative  costs to affiliates  decreased $46, or 12%, from the
nine-month  period  ended  September  30, 2002 to the same  period in 2003.  The
decline was  primarily due to the decrease in the  allocation of overhead  costs
from TEM, which  decreased as the  Partnership  represented a smaller portion of
the total fleet managed by TEM.

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

Other general and administrative costs decreased $121 from the nine-month period
ended  September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to decreases in other service fees between the periods.

Loss on sale of  containers  decreased  $400 from the  nine-month  period  ended
September 30, 2002 to the  comparable  period in 2003. The decrease was due to a
decrease in the number of  containers  sold and a decrease  in the average  loss
recorded on container sales.

Net loss per limited  partnership  unit  decreased  from $0.49 to $0.09 from the
nine-month  period ended  September 30, 2002 to the  equivalent  period in 2003,
respectively,  reflecting the decrease in net loss allocated to limited partners
from $2,981 to $528, respectively. The allocation of net loss for the nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002 included a special allocation of gross
income to the General Partners of $70 and $117, respectively, in accordance with
the Partnership Agreement.

The  following is a comparative  analysis of the results of  operations  for the
three-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

The  Partnership's  loss  from  operations  for the  three-month  periods  ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002 was $110 and $1,112, respectively,  on rental income
of $2,353 and $2,427, respectively. The decrease in rental income of $74, or 3%,
from the three-month period ended September 30, 2002 to the comparable period in
2003 was  attributable to decreases in container rental and other rental income.
Income from container  rentals  decreased $26, or 1%, primarily due to decreases
in average fleet size of 14% and average rental rates of 5% between the periods,
offset by the increase in average on-hire utilization of 18%.

For the  three-month  period ended  September 30, 2003,  other rental income was
$310,  a decrease of $48 from the  equivalent  period in 2002.  The decrease was
primarily  due to  decreases  in handling  and  location  income of $74 and $27,
respectively,  offset  by an  increase  in DPP  income of $52.  Handling  income
decreased primarily due to the decrease in container  movement.  Location income
declined  primarily due to an increase in credits granted to lessees for picking
up containers from certain locations.  DPP income increased  primarily due to an
increase in the number of containers covered under DPP.

Direct container  expenses  decreased $195, or 27%, from the three-month  period
ending September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due  to  the  decrease  in  storage  and  handling  expense  of  $188  and  $58,
respectively,  offset by the increase in  repositioning  expense of $59. Storage
expense  decreased  primarily due to the increase in utilization noted above and
the  decrease  in the  average  storage  cost  per container.  Handling  expense
decreased  primarily  due to the decline in  container  movement.  Repositioning
expense increased due to an increase in the average  repositioning  costs due to
longer  average  repositioning  moves,  partially  offset by the  decline in the
number of containers repositioned between the periods.

Bad debt  (benefit)/expense  was ($8) and $14 for the three-month  periods ended
September  30,  2003 and 2002,  respectively.  The benefit  recorded  during the
three-month  period ended September 30, 2003 reflects a lower reserve  estimate,
after  deductions  had been taken against the reserve,  from June 30, 2003.  The
expense recorded during the three-month period ended September 30, 2002 reflects
a higher reserve estimate,  after deductions had been taken against the reserve,
from June 30, 2002.

Depreciation  expense decreased $410, or 23%, from the three-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable  period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to an additional  depreciation expense of $91 booked in the third quarter of
2002 to write down fully  depreciated  containers to the new  estimated  salvage
values and the decrease in average fleet size noted above.

During  the  three-month   periods  ended  September  30,  2003  and  2002,  the
Partnership recorded write-down expenses of $22 and $359,  respectively,  on 166
and 418 containers  identified for sale and requiring a reserve. The Partnership
sold 181 of these previously written down containers for a loss of $5 during the
three-month period ended September 30, 2003 and sold 653 previously written down
containers  for a loss of $75 during the same  period in 2002.  The  Partnership
also sold  containers that had not been written down and recorded losses of $159
and $201  during the  three-month  periods  ended  September  30, 2003 and 2002,
respectively.

Management fees to affiliates increased $52, or 28%, from the three-month period
ended September 30, 2002 to the comparable period in 2003,  primarily due to the
increase in incentive  management  fees.  Incentive  management  fees  increased
primarily due to the increase in the amount of distributions paid from cash from
operations.  Equipment  management fees declined slightly and were approximately
7% of rental income for both periods.

General and  administrative  costs to  affiliates  decreased $6, or 5%, from the
three-month  period ended  September 30, 2002 to the equivalent  period in 2003,
primarily due to a decrease in the allocation of overhead costs from TEM, as the
Partnership represented a smaller portion of the total fleet managed by TEM.

Other general and administrative costs decreased $38 from the three-month period
ended  September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to decreases in other service fees between the periods.

Loss on sale of  containers  decreased  $112 from the  three-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable  period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to a decrease in the number of containers sold and a decrease in the average
loss recorded on container sales.

Net loss per limited  partnership  unit  decreased  from $0.19 to $0.02 from the
three-month  period ended  September 30, 2002 to the equivalent  period in 2003,
respectively,  reflecting  the  decrease  in the net loss  allocated  to limited
partners from $1,124 to $132, respectively.  The allocation of net loss included
a special  allocation of gross income to the General Partners in accordance with
the Partnership Agreement.

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

The foregoing includes forward-looking statements and predictions about possible
or  future  events,  results  of  operations  and  financial  condition.   These
statements  and  predictions  may  prove  to  be  inaccurate,   because  of  the
assumptions  made by the  Partnership  or the  General  Partners  or the  actual
development  of  future  events.  No  assurance  can be given  that any of these
forward-looking statements or predictions will ultimately prove to be correct or
even substantially correct. The risks and uncertainties in these forward-looking
statements  include,  but are not  limited  to,  changes  in demand  for  leased
containers,  changes in global  business  conditions  and their  effect on world
trade,  future  modifications  in the way in  which  the  Partnership's  lessees
conduct their business or of the  profitability of their business,  increases or
decreases in new  container  prices or the  availability  of financing for them,
alterations in the costs of maintaining and repairing used containers, increases
in competition,  changes in the Partnership's  ability to maintain insurance for
its  containers  and its  operations,  the effects of  political  conditions  on
worldwide  shipping and demand for global trade or of other general business and
economic cycles on the  Partnership,  as well as other risks detailed herein and
from time to time in the Partnership's  filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.  The  Partnership  does  not  undertake  any  obligation  to  update
forward-looking statements.

Item 3.  Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about Market Risk.

Inapplicable.

Item 4.  Controls and Procedures

Based on an evaluation of the Partnership's  disclosure  controls and procedures
(as defined in Rules 13a-15 and 15d-15 of the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934),
the  managing  general  partner's  principal  executive  officer  and  principal
financial officer have found those controls and procedures to be effective as of
the end of the  period  covered by the  report.  There has been no change in the
Partnership's internal control over financial reporting that occurred during the
Partnership's most recent fiscal quarter, and which has materially affected,  or
is reasonably  likely materially to affect,  the Partnership's  internal control
over financial reporting.


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


Signature                                Title                                          Date



________________________                 Chief Financial Officer, Senior                November 12, 2003
Ernest J. Furtado                        Vice President and Secretary




________________________                 President                                      November 12, 2003
John A. Maccarone

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



                                     By /s/Ernest J. Furtado
                                        _____________________________________
                                        Ernest J. Furtado
                                        Chief Financial Officer


Date:  November 12, 2003


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, this report
has been signed below by the following persons on behalf of Textainer  Financial
Services  Corporation,  the Managing  General Partner of the Registrant,  in the
capacities and on the dates indicated:


Signature                                Title                                          Date


/s/Ernest J. Furtado
_________________________________        Chief Financial Officer, Senior                November 12, 2003
Ernest J. Furtado                        Vice President and Secretary



/s/John A. Maccarone
_________________________________        President                                      November 12, 2003
John A. Maccarone


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

November 12, 2003

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

November 12, 2003

                             /s/ Ernest J. Furtado
                             ___________________________________________________
                             Ernest J. Furtado
                             Chief Financial Officer, Senior Vice President, Secretary and Director of TFS

                                  EXHIBIT 32.1







                            CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO

                               18 U.S.C. ss. 1350,

                        AS ADOPTED, REGARDING SECTION 906

                        OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002



In connection with the Quarterly Report of Textainer Equipment Income Fund III, L.P., (the "Registrant") on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended September 30, 2003, as filed on November 12, 2003 with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Report"), I, John A. Maccarone, the President and Director of Textainer Financial Services Corporation ("TFS") and Principal Executive Officer of TFS, the Managing General Partner of the Registrant, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. ss. 1350, as adopted, regarding Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

(i) The Report fully complies with the requirements of Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

(ii) The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition, results of operations and cash flows of the Registrant.



November 12, 2003



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

                                  EXHIBIT 32.2







                            CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO

                               18 U.S.C. ss. 1350,

                        AS ADOPTED, REGARDING SECTION 906

                        OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002



In connection with the Quarterly Report of Textainer Equipment Income Fund III, L.P., (the "Registrant") on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended September 30, 2003, as filed on November 12, 2003 with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Report"), I, Ernest J. Furtado, Chief Financial Officer, Senior Vice President, Secretary and Director of Textainer Financial Services Corporation ("TFS") and Principal Financial and Accounting Officer of TFS, the Managing General Partner of the Registrant, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. ss. 1350, as adopted, regarding Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

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