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                                   EXHIBIT 99
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                          INDEPENDENT AUDITORS' REPORT

The Board of Directors
GGI Liquidating Corporation

         We have audited the accompanying consolidated balance sheets of GGI Liquidating Corporation (a debtor-in-possession as of December 31, 1996) (formerly Grant Geophysical, Inc.) and subsidiaries as of December 31, 1996, and the related consolidated statements of operations, stockholders' equity (deficit), and cash flows for each of the years in the two-year period ended December 31, 1996 and the nine month period ended September 30, 1997. These consolidated financial statements are the responsibility of GGI Liquidating Corporation's management. Our responsibility is to express an opinion on these consolidated financial statements based on our audits.

         We conducted our audits in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements are free of material misstatement. An audit includes examining, on a test basis, evidence supporting the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. An audit also includes assessing the accounting principles used in significant estimates made by management, as well as evaluating the overall financial statement presentation. We believe our audits provide a reasonable basis for our opinion.

         In our opinion, the consolidated financial statements referred to above present fairly, in all material respects, the financial positions of GGI Liquidating Corporation and subsidiaries as of December 31, 1996, and the results of their operations and their cash flows for each of the years in the two-year period ended December 31, 1996, and the nine month period ended September 30, 1997, in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles.

         The accompanying consolidated financial statements and financial statement schedule have been prepared assuming that GGI Liquidating Corporation will continue as a going concern which contemplates among other things, the realization of assets and liquidation of liabilities in the ordinary course of business. As discussed in Note 1 to the consolidated financial statements, GGI Liquidating Corporation (the Petitioning Company) filed a voluntary petition for reorganization under chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code on December 6, 1996. The chapter 11 case of the Petitioning Company is administered by the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware (the "Court"). The Petitioning Company is operating the business as debtor-in-possession which requires certain of its actions to be approved by the Court. In September 1997 the Court approved the "Second Amended Plan of Reorganization" (the "Plan") filed by GGI Liquidating Corporation. The Plan was consummated on September 30, 1997, with the purchase by Grant Geophysical, Inc. of substantially all of the assets and the assumption of certain liabilities of GGI Liquidating Corporation. GGI Liquidating Corporation is currently in liquidation and will distribute all of its assets pursuant to the Plan. Upon the completion of its asset distribution, GGI Liquidating Corporation will dissolve and cease to exist.

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The consolidated financial statements and financial statement schedule do not
include any adjustments relating to the recoverability and classification of reported asset amounts or the amounts and classification of liabilities that might result from the Plan and the distribution of assets pursuant thereto.

KPMG PEAT MARWICK LLP

Houston, Texas
December 22, 1997