REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES INC (CIK 865120)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-09-30
filed 1996-11-14

FORM 10-Q

                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

                             Washington, D.C. 20549

(Mark One)

|X| QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                For the quarterly period ended September 30, 1996

                                       OR

|_| TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from ________ to ___________

Commission file number: 1-11144


                          Regency Health Services, Inc.


State or other jurisdiction of                                (I.R.S. Employer
incorporation or organization                               Identification No.)

          Delaware                                                  33-0210226


                             Regency Health Services
                                 2742 Dow Avenue
                            Tustin, California 92780
                                  714-544-4443


         Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days. Yes X No ____


         Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the registrant's classes of common stock, as of the latest practicable date.

       Title                                                       Outstanding

Common Stock                                                        16,737,170

                          PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.  Financial Statements


                                               REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES, INC.
                                                CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                                      (In thousands)

                                                          ASSETS


                                                                                      September 30,         December 31,
                                                                                          1996                  1995
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------
                                                                                       (Unaudited)

CURRENT ASSETS:
        Cash and cash equivalents                                                                   $                     $
                                                                                               21,717               104,238
        Restricted cash                                                                         5,100
                                                                                                                          -
        Accounts receivable, net of allowances of $3,812 at
            September 30, 1996 and $3,757 at December 31, 1995                                 74,177                51,203
        Estimated third party settlements                                                       9,738                   800
        Notes and other receivables                                                             1,726                 2,182
        Deferred income taxes                                                                   5,447                 5,447
        Assets held for sale                                                                    7,558                 8,970
        Other current assets                                                                    8,056                 6,396
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

            Total current assets                                                              133,519               179,236
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT:
        Land                                                                                   21,281                21,249
        Buildings and improvements                                                            102,497                96,396
        Leasehold interest - other                                                             19,629                19,631
        Equipment                                                                              33,577                24,610
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

                                                                                              176,984               161,886
        Less - accumulated depreciation and amortization                                     (41,467)              (34,679)
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

            Total property and equipment                                                      135,517               127,207
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

OTHER ASSETS:
        Mortgage notes receivable, net of allowances of $949 at
            September 30, 1996 and $951 at December 31, 1995                                    4,515                 5,163
        Goodwill, net of accumulated amortization of $2,860 at
            September 30, 1996 and $563 at December 31, 1995                                   57,224                13,621
        Other assets, net of accumulated amortization of $3,151 at
            September 30, 1996 and $2,206 at December 31, 1995                                 22,980                13,715
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

            Total other assets                                                                 84,719                32,499
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

                                                                                                    $                     $
                                                                                              353,755               338,942
                                                                                    ==================    ==================


                  The   accompanying   notes  are  an  integral  part  of  these
consolidated financial statements.



                                               REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES, INC.
                                          CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (Continued)
                                             (In thousands, except par value)

                                           LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY


                                                                                      September 30,         December 31,
                                                                                          1996                  1995
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------
                                                                                       (Unaudited)


CURRENT LIABILITIES:
        Current portion of long-term debt                                                           $                     $
                                                                                                2,297                 4,371
        Accounts payable                                                                       24,705                22,285
        Accrued expenses                                                                        5,344                 5,946
        Accrued compensation                                                                   22,855                18,051
        Accrued workers' compensation                                                           4,901                 5,377
        Deferred revenue                                                                        2,065                 1,743
        Accrued interest                                                                        6,719                 4,231
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

            Total current liabilities                                                          68,886                62,004

LONG-TERM DEBT, NET OF CURRENT PORTION                                                        182,558               179,615
OTHER LIABILITIES AND NONCURRENT RESERVES                                                       9,029                 8,988
DEFERRED INCOME TAXES                                                                           9,353                 7,946
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

            Total liabilities                                                                 269,826               258,553
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY:
        Common stock,  $.01 par value;  authorized - 35,000  shares;  16,732 and
             16,670 shares issued and outstanding at September 30, 1996
             and December 31, 1995, respectively                                                  167                   167
        Additional paid-in capital                                                             51,968                56,679
        Retained earnings                                                                      31,794                23,543
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------


            Total stockholders' equity                                                         83,929                80,389
                                                                                    ------------------    ------------------

                                                                                                    $                     $
                                                                                              353,755               338,942
                                                                                    ==================    ==================









                  The   accompanying   notes  are  an  integral  part  of  these
consolidated financial statements.


                                               REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES, INC.
                                            CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                          (In thousands, except per share amounts)


                                                                       Three months ended             Nine months ended
                                                                          September 30,                  September 30,
                                                                   --------------------------    ----------------------------
                                                                      1996          1995             1996           1995
                                                                          (Unaudited)                    (Unaudited)


 NET OPERATING REVENUE                                              $             $                         $              $
                                                                       144,100       107,491          411,695        304,806
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------

 COSTS AND EXPENSES:
     Operating expenses
                                                                       116,959        87,208          335,653        247,062
     Corporate general and administrative
                                                                         5,423         4,648           17,103         14,346
     Rent expense
                                                                         6,599         4,266           18,289         12,624
     Depreciation and amortization
                                                                         4,011         2,631           11,197          7,253
     Interest expense
                                                                         5,023         2,009           13,368          5,843
     Class action suit settlement
                                                                             -             -                -          3,098
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------

         Total costs and expenses
                                                                       138,015       100,762          395,610        290,226
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------

 INCOME BEFORE PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES
                                                                         6,085         6,729           16,085         14,580
 PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES
                                                                         2,444         2,687            6,641          5,670
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------

 INCOME BEFORE EXTRAORDINARY ITEM
                                                                         3,641         4,042            9,444          8,910
 EXTRAORDINARY ITEM - Loss on extinguishment of debt, net
     of applicable income taxes of $812
                                                                       (1,193)             -          (1,193)              -
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------

 NET INCOME                                                         $             $                         $              $
                                                                         2,448         4,042            8,251          8,910
                                                                   ============  ============    =============  =============


 INCOME (LOSS) PER COMMON SHARE - PRIMARY
 Income before extraordinary item                                   $             $                         $              $
                                                                          0.22          0.24             0.57           0.54
 Extraordinary item
                                                                        (0.07)             -           (0.07)              -
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------
 Net income per share                                               $             $                         $              $
                                                                          0.15          0.24             0.50           0.54
                                                                   ============  ============    =============  =============

 Weighted average shares of common stock and
     equivalents
                                                                        16,279        16,683           16,505         16,624
                                                                   ============  ============    =============  =============

 INCOME (LOSS) PER COMMON SHARE - FULLY DILUTED
 Income before extraordinary item                                   $             $                         $              $
                                                                          0.22          0.22             0.54           0.51
 Extraordinary item
                                                                        (0.07)             -           (0.06)              -
                                                                   ------------  ------------    -------------  -------------
 Net income per share                                               $             $                         $              $
                                                                          0.15          0.22             0.48           0.51
                                                                   ============  ============    =============  =============

 Weighted average shares of common stock and  equivalents
                                                                        17,492        20,670           19,546         20,577
                                                                   ============  ============    =============  =============

                   The  accompanying   notes  are  an  integral  part  of  these
consolidated financial statements.



                                            REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES, INC.
                                        CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                                    (In thousands)

                                                                                            Nine months ended
                                                                                               September 30,
                                                                                    -----------------------------------

                                                                                          1996               1995
                                                                                          ----               ----
                                                                                               (Unaudited)
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
    Net income                                                                                     $                 $
                                                                                               8,251             8,910
    Adjustments  to  reconcile  net  income to net cash  provided  by  operating
      activities:
       Extraordinary loss on discharge of debt                                                 2,005
                                                                                                                     -
       Depreciation and amortization                                                          11,197             7,317
       Deferred income taxes and charge in lieu of taxes, net of payments                      1,407             3,660
       Other, net                                                                                418                20
       Change in cash from changes in assets and liabilities,  excluding effects
            of acquisitions and dispositions:
           Accounts receivable                                                              (21,445)           (4,404)
           Estimated third party settlements                                                 (8,938)               336
           Other current assets                                                              (1,456)             9,189
           Current and other liabilities                                                       9,172             1,135
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

       Net cash provided by operating activities                                                 611            26,163
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
    Acquisitions                                                                            (48,513)
                                                                                                              (13,225)
    Purchases of property and equipment                                                     (10,969)          (10,937)
    Collection on mortgage notes receivable                                                      109               169
    Changes in other assets, net                                                             (1,767)             (610)
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

       Net cash used in investing activities                                                (61,140)          (24,603)
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
    Payments on long-term debt                                                              (62,650)           (3,388)
    Proceeds from issuance of long-term debt                                                  56,143             1,843
    Workers' compensation trust funding                                                     (10,637)
                                                                                                                     -
    Purchase of treasury stock
                                                                                             (5,082)                 -
    Proceeds from exercise of warrants and options                                               234             1,147
    Proceeds from exercise of stock appreciation rights
                                                                                                   -               615
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

       Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities                                  (21,992)               217
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS                                        (82,521)             1,777

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, beginning of period                                               104,238            25,677
                                                                                    -----------------   ---------------

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, end of period                                                           $                 $
                                                                                              21,717            27,454
                                                                                    =================   ===============

               The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

                          REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES, INC.
                   NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)


1.       Basis of Presentation

         The unaudited consolidated financial statements and related notes have been prepared pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission. Accordingly, certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles have not been presented. The accompanying unaudited financial statements and related notes should be read in conjunction with the consolidated financial statements and related notes included in Regency Health Services, Inc.'s ("Regency" or the "Company") 1995 Annual Report on Form 10-K.

         In the opinion of the management of Regency, all material adjustments necessary to present fairly the Company's financial condition, results of operations, and changes in financial position have been made. All material intercompany balances, profits, and transactions have been eliminated. The consolidated results of operations presented are not necessarily indicative of the consolidated results for a full year.

         The preparation of financial statements in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities and disclosure of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting period.
Actual results could differ from those estimates.

         Estimated third party settlements classified in accounts receivable, other assets and other liabilities and non-current reserves in the 1995 financial statements have been reclassified to estimated third party settlements in current assets to conform to the 1996 presentation. Certain other amounts have been reclassified in the 1995 financial statements to conform to the 1996 presentation.

2.       Acquisitions

         Effective January 2, 1996, the Company completed the acquisition of the assets of Assist-A-Care, a pharmacy located in San Diego, California. The
purchase price was $5.8 million, composed of $3.2 million cash and a $2.6 million note payable.

         Effective February 1, 1996, the Company acquired leasehold interests in 18 health care facilities in Tennessee and North Carolina with 2,375 beds from Liberty Healthcare Limited Partnership ("Liberty") through an asset purchase for $39.3 million cash and a note payable for $2.2 million. The Company also acquired Executive Pharmacy (consisting of one pharmacy in North Carolina and one in Tennessee) with a $763,000 note payable and an enteral feeding business for $1.5 million cash from businesses affiliated with Liberty. In addition, the Company paid $400,000 cash for the inventory of Liberty. A portion of the purchase was funded with notes payable, which may be reduced as a result of certain seller liabilities and audit adjustments. Escrow accounts established at the time of purchase were funded with $2.96 million for payment on the notes payable and are included in other assets on the accompanying consolidated balance sheet as of September 30, 1996.

         On April 1, 1996, the Company completed the acquisition of the assets of Buena Vista Nursing Center ("Buena Vista"), a health care facility with 64 skilled nursing beds and 22 assisted living beds, located in Lexington, North Carolina. The purchase price was $2.875 million, consisting of $2.675 million in cash and a $200,000 note payable. Payment of the note is dependent upon Buena Vista attaining certain financial performance targets.

         These transactions were accounted for using the purchase method of accounting under generally accepted accounting principles. Revenues and expenses are included in the accompanying financial statements subsequent to the purchase date. The purchase price allocation related to these transaction has not yet been finalized.

         The following unaudited pro forma condensed consolidated statements of earnings present the summarized consolidated results of operations of the
Company after giving effect to the acquisitions of Liberty and Liberty-affiliated businesses for the nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995, as if such acquisitions had been consummated on January 1, 1995 (in thousands, except per share data):


                                                                              Nine months ended
                                                                                September 30,
                                                                       --------------------------------
                                                                           1996              1995
                                                                       --------------   ---------------
                                                                                 (Unaudited)

             Net operating revenue                                          $418,501         $ 364,504
             Total costs and expenses                                        401,835           349,249
                                                                       --------------   ---------------

             Income before provision for income taxes                         16,666            15,255
             Provision for income taxes                                        6,885             5,940
                                                                       --------------   ---------------

             Net income before extraordinary item                         $    9,781       $     9,315
                                                                       ==============   ===============

             Income before extraordinary item per common share-

                  Primary                                                $      0.59      $       0.56
                                                                       ==============   ===============

                  Fully diluted                                          $      0.56      $       0.53
                                                                       ==============   ===============



         The pro forma results are presented for informational purposes only and are not necessarily indicative of what results of operations actually would have been had such acquisitions been consummated at the beginning of such period or of future operations or results. The effect of the other acquisitions is immaterial.

3.       Dispositions

         On March 1, 1996, the Company disposed of a 98-bed facility in Lynwood, California resulting in a $182,000 charge against the reserve established in the fourth quarter 1995.

4.       Workers' Compensation Claims Trust

         In 1995, the Company established a revocable workers' compensation claims trust ("Trust") to pre-fund its workers' compensation obligations. The Trust was funded for fiscal 1995 in March 1996 with approximately $10.6 million from available cash. Of the remaining $7.8 million in the Trust at September 30, 1996, $5.1 million was classified as current restricted cash and $2.7 million was classified as other long-term assets.

5. Issuance of Subordinated Notes and Redemption of Convertible Subordinated Debentures

         On June 28, 1996, the Company issued 12 1/4% Subordinated Notes (the "Subordinated Notes") in an aggregate amount of $50 million. Interest on the Subordinated Notes will be payable semi-annually on January 15 and July 15 of each year, commencing January 15, 1997. The Subordinated Notes will mature on July 15, 2003, unless previously redeemed. Net proceeds received by the Company totaled approximately $48.4 million and funded the redemption of the Company's outstanding 6 1/2% Convertible Subordinated Debentures due 2003 (the "Convertible Subordinated Debentures") on July 29, 1996. The Subordinated Notes contain certain covenants similar to the 9-7/8% Senior Subordinated Notes, including limitations on the ability of the Company to, among other things, (a) incur additional indebtedness and issue redeemable preferred stock, (b) sell equity interests in subsidiaries, (c) make certain restricted payments (as defined), (d) create liens, and (e) engage in mergers, consolidations or transfers of substantially all of the assets of the Company to another party.

         On July 29, 1996, the Company completed the redemption of all $48.9 million of its outstanding Convertible Subordinated Debentures for cash at such amount from the proceeds of the Subordinated Notes and available cash. The redemption reduces fully diluted shares by 3.9 million shares and produces an extraordinary loss on extinguishment of debt of $868,000, net of tax, resulting from the write-off of unamortized underwriting costs.

6.       Refinancing of Industrial Revenue Bonds

         Effective September 30, 1996, the Company refinanced three of its Industrial Revenue Bond Issues (IRBs) with an aggregate outstanding principal balance of $7,560,000 with three new issues of tax exempt IRBs maturing through September 2012. One of the new issues has a principal balance of $2,830,000 and bears interest at rates ranging from 4.2% to 6.0% based on the maturity dates of the individual bonds. The other two IRBs bear interest at a variable rate initially set at 4.0% which is capped at 12.0%. The refinancing resulted in an extraordinary loss on extinguishment of debt of $325,000, net of tax, resulting from the write-off of unamortized underwriting costs and a call premium paid.

7.       Net Income Per Share

         For the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995, primary income per share was calculated based on the weighted average number of common and common equivalent shares outstanding during the periods. For the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995, fully diluted income per share was computed as described above and includes the issuance of common shares upon the assumed conversion of the Convertible Subordinated Debentures for the period prior to redemption. Additionally, interest and amortization of underwriting costs related to such debentures were added, net of tax, to income for the purpose of calculating fully diluted income per share for the period prior to redemption. Such amounts aggregated $158,000 and $509,000 for the three months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995, respectively, and $1,129,000 and $1,527,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995, respectively.

8.       Subsequent Event

On November 1, 1996, the Company closed the sale of three of the remaining 12 previously identified facilities held for sale in California with 148 licensed beds for an aggregate sales price of $2.0 million.

Item 2: Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations

General

         The following table sets forth certain operating data for the Company on the dates indicated:


                                                                               September 30,
                                                                           1996             1995
                                                                          -----             ----
                                                                                    (Unaudited)
        In-patient operations
             Facilities.............................................         112                 93
             Licensed beds..........................................      11,537              9,134
             Subacute beds..........................................       1,108                972
             Subacute units.........................................          46                 40

        Contract rehabilitation therapy operations
             Non-affiliated facilities served.......................         103                 73
             Regency operated facilities served.....................          52                 15
                                                                          ------              -----
                       Total........................................         155                 88
                                                                          ======              =====

        Pharmacy operations
             Non-affiliated facilities served.......................          81                  5
             Regency operated facilities served.....................          63                 34
                                                                          ------               ----
                       Total........................................         144                 39
                                                                          ======                ===

        Home health agencies........................................          29                 29

------------------



In-Patient Operations

         The Company's in-patient operations derive its net operating revenue from the performance of routine and ancillary services at the Company's facilities. Revenue from routine services is comprised of charges for room and board and basic nursing services for the care of patients, including those in the Company's subacute specialty units. Revenue from ancillary services is comprised of charges for rehabilitative services, subacute specialty services, and pharmaceutical products and services provided to patients at the Company's facilities. In-patient operations derive most of its ancillary services revenue from Medicare- and HMO-eligible patients. The Company has classified revenue from in-patient operations as either basic nursing care revenue or subacute revenue. Basic nursing care revenue includes charges for room and board for non-Medicare and non-HMO patients. Subacute revenue includes room and board and basic nursing services for Medicare and HMO patients and revenues from all ancillary services provided to patients at the Company's facilities.

         The Company's growth strategy includes the selective acquisition of both new facilities as well as other service providers. The Company incurs certain costs and experiences operating inefficiencies in connection with the acquisition of a new facility following such acquisition, relating to the integration of such facility's financial and administrative systems, physical plant and other aspects of its operations into those of the Company. In addition, the introduction of a substantial portion of the Company's contract rehabilitation therapy, pharmacy and other ancillary services to a new facility may take as long as 12 months to fully implement. There can be no assurance that each of the service providers the Company may acquire will be profitable, or that the acquisition of new facilities that result in significant integration costs and inefficiencies will not adversely affect the Company's profitability.

         During the fourth quarter of 1995 the Company exchanged leasehold interests in three healthcare facilities with 360 beds in New Mexico for
leasehold interests in four healthcare facilities with 461 beds in Ohio previously operated by another company. In October 1995, the Company also opened a newly constructed facility and disposed of one additional facility.

         In December 1995, the Company determined to dispose of 13 facilities located in California as part of its strategic plan of diversifying from the California Medicaid system ("Medi-Cal"). The results of operations of these facilities will continue to be reflected in the Company's financial statements until such dispositions are completed. In March 1996, the Company disposed of one of the thirteen facilities and on November 1, 1996, the Company disposed of three additional facilities (see Note 8 to the Consolidated Financial Statements).

         Effective February 1, 1996, the Company acquired 18 healthcare facilities with 2,375 beds in Tennessee and North Carolina (see Note 2 to the Consolidated Financial Statements). Effective April 1, 1996, the Company acquired 1 healthcare facility in North Carolina with 86 beds.

Ancillary Businesses Operations

         In July 1995, the Company acquired SCRS which provides rehabilitation services to Company-operated and non-affiliated healthcare facilities in 14 states in the West, Midwest, and Southeast. In the third quarter 1996 and 1995, 69.9% and 85.8%, respectively, of SCRS revenues were derived from providing services to non-affiliated healthcare providers. On August 9, 1996, SCRS purchased the assets of Managed Respiratory Care Services, Inc., a respiratory therapy company located in Arizona. The purchase price consisted of $300,000 cash and an "Earn-Out" clause in an amount not to exceed $500,000.

         The Company's pharmacy operations provide prescription services and basic pharmaceutical dispensing programs to Company and third party healthcare facilities. During the first nine months of 1996 and 1995, 65% and 56%, respectively, of revenues from pharmacy operations were derived from providing services to non-affiliated healthcare providers and patients at Regency facilities billed directly to third-party payors. In January and February of 1996, the Company acquired three additional pharmacy operations (see Note 2 to the Consolidated Financial Statements).

         The Company's 29 home healthcare locations provide skilled nursing, rehabilitation and other services in selected areas in California and Ohio.


         The acquisitions occurring in the first, second and third quarters 1996 are collectively referred to as the "1996 Acquisitions."

Results of Operations

         The following table sets forth the amounts of certain elements of net operating revenue and the percentage of total net operating revenue for the
periods presented: (dollars in thousands) <TABLE>

                                                                     Three months ended September 30,
                                                                      1996                         1995
                                                                      ----                         ----
                                                                               (Unaudited)

Basic nursing care.........................................    $74,355         52%          $57,378        53%
Subacute...................................................     42,384         29            33,666        31
                                                             ---------       -----        ---------      ----
     Total in-patient operations...........................    116,739         81            91,044        84
Home healthcare operations.................................      9,146          6             8,011         8
Contract rehabilitation therapy operations to
     non-affiliates (1)....................................     11,767          8             6,040         6
Pharmacy operations to non-affiliates (2)..................      5,710          4             1,931         2
Interest...................................................        738          1               465        --
                                                             ---------       -----        ---------     -----
     Total.................................................   $144,100        100%         $107,491       100%
                                                              ========        ===          ========       ===

(1)      Net of intercompany billings of $5,056,000 and $999,000 for the three months ended September 30, 1996, and 1995,
respectively.
(2)      Net of  intercompany  billings  of  $3,013,000  and  $1,499,000  for the  three  months  ended  September  30,  1996
and 1995, respectively.


                                                                      Nine months ended September 30,
                                                                      1996                         1995
                                                                      ----                         ----
                                                                               (Unaudited)

Basic nursing care.........................................   $211,368         51%        $173,097         57%
Subacute...................................................    127,047         31            96,417        31
                                                            ----------       -----        ---------      ----
     Total in-patient operations...........................    338,415         82           269,514        88
Home healthcare operations.................................     26,695          6            22,454         7
Contract rehabilitation therapy operations to
     non-affiliates (1)....................................     28,522          7             6,040         2
Pharmacy operations to non-affiliates (2)..................     15,815          4             5,219         2
Interest...................................................      2,248          1             1,579         1
                                                           -----------       ----       -----------      ----
     Total.................................................   $411,695        100%         $304,806       100%
                                                              ========        ===          ========       ===

(1) Net of intercompany billings of $12,946,000 and $999,000 for the nine months
ended  September  30,  1996  and  1995,  respectively.  (2) Net of  intercompany
billings of $8,365,000 and  $4,176,000  for the nine months ended  September 30,
1996 and 1995, respectively.


         The following  table sets forth certain  operating data for the Company
for the periods presented:



                                      Three months ended                        Nine months ended
                                         September 30,                            September 30,
                                --------------------------------         ---------------------------------
                                    1996              1995                  1996                 1995
                                    ----              ----                  ----                 ----
                                          (Unaudited)                              (Unaudited)
Patient Days by Payor:
     Medicare                         76,245             58,575              232,305              183,626
     Private/Other                   194,112            169,297              568,035              512,223
     Managed Care                     27,166             23,476               86,809               71,133
     Medicaid                        640,819            484,080            1,843,341            1,424,769
                                -------------     --------------         ------------        -------------
          Total                      938,342            735,428            2,730,490            2,191,751
                                =============     ==============         ============        =============

Home Health Visits                    68,477             68,138              213,761              196,170
Home Health Hours                    117,760            113,835              332,809              282,577

Revenue Mix:
     Medicare                           28.9 %             30.8 %               29.8 %               32.2 %
     Private/Other                      25.2 %             24.5 %               24.4 %               21.8 %
     Managed Care                        4.6 %              5.2 %                5.2 %                5.5 %
     Medicaid                           41.3 %             39.5 %               40.6 %               40.5 %




         The following  table presents the  percentage of net operating  revenue
represented by certain items reflected in the Company's Consolidated  Statements
of Operations for the periods presented:


                                                               Three months ended                Nine months ended
                                                                  September 30,                    September 30,
                                                           ----------------------------     -----------------------------
                                                              1996            1995              1996            1995
                                                              ----            ----              ----            ----
                                                                   (Unaudited)                      (Unaudited)

NET OPERATING REVENUE                                            100.0 %         100.0 %           100.0 %         100.0 %
                                                           ------------   -------------     -------------   -------------

COSTS AND EXPENSES:
Operating expenses                                                81.1            81.1              81.5            81.1
Corporate general and administrative                               3.8             4.3               4.2             4.7
Rent expense                                                       4.6             4.0               4.4             4.1
Depreciation and amortization                                      2.8             2.4               2.7             2.4
Interest expense                                                   3.5             1.9               3.3             1.9
Class action lawsuit settlement                                     --              --                --             1.0
                                                           ------------   -------------     -------------   -------------

     Total costs and expenses                                     95.8            93.7              96.1            95.2
                                                           ------------   -------------     -------------   -------------

INCOME BEFORE PROVISION FOR
INCOME TAXES AND EXTRAORDINARY ITEM                                4.2 %           6.3 %             3.9 %           4.8 %
                                                           ============   =============     =============   =============

Quarter Comparison 1996 to 1995

Net Operating Revenue

     The Company's net  operating  revenue for the three months ended  September
30, 1996 ("Third  Quarter 1996") was $144.1  million  compared to $107.5 million
for the three  months  ended  September  30, 1995  ("Third  Quarter  1995"),  an
increase of $36.6 million or 34.1%.

     Net operating revenue from in-patient  operations  increased $25.7 million,
or  28.2%,  to $116.7  million  from  $91.0  million  primarily  due to the 1996
acquisition of 18 in-patient  facilities and, on a same store basis, an increase
in average rates per patient day of 3.9%. The 18 in-patient  facilities acquired
by the Company in  February  1996  contributed  $21.6  million of net  operating
revenue during Third Quarter 1996. On a same store basis,  the increase in rates
per patient day of 3.9% from Third  Quarter 1995 was  primarily due to providing
services to higher acuity  patients,  an increase in the Medi-Cal  reimbursement
rates and the Company recognizing revenue associated with the elimination of the
Medicare Routine Cost Limit (RCL)  inflationary  freeze.  The increase in higher
acuity  patients on a same store basis is demonstrated by the shift in the payor
mix from  Medicaid  (43.8% to 43.0%) and  private  (14.5% to 13.4%) to  Medicare
(28.9% to 29.2%)  and  managed  care (6.2% to 6.6%),  partially  offset by a .5%
decrease in total  patient  days.  The  Medi-Cal  rate  increases in August 1996
resulted in approximately $.4 million in revenues.  The revenue  associated with
the elimination of the RCL inflationary freeze totaled $.9 million.

     Net operating revenue from home healthcare  operations grew $1.1 million to
$9.1 million, or 14.2% in Third Quarter 1996 over Third Quarter 1995,  primarily
reflecting  an increase in patient  visits to 68,477 in Third  Quarter 1996 from
68,138 in Third  Quarter 1995 and an increase in  treatment  hours to 117,760 in
Third  Quarter 1996 from 113,835 in Third Quarter  1995.  Net operating  revenue
from pharmacy  operations to non-affiliates  increased $3.8 million or 195.7% in
Third Quarter 1996 over Third Quarter 1995,  primarily due to the acquisition of
Assist-A-Care   in  January  1996  and  Executive   Pharmacy  in  February  1996
(collectively,  the "Pharmacy  Acquisitions").  Net  operating  revenue from the
Pharmacy  Acquisitions  for Third Quarter 1996 was $3.1  million.  Net operating
revenue  from  contract  rehabilitation  therapy  operations  to  non-affiliates
increased $5.7 million,  or 94.8% in Third Quarter 1996 over Third Quarter 1995,
primarily due to an increase in the number of  non-affiliated  facilities served
to 103 in Third Quarter 1996, from 73 in Third Quarter 1995.

Costs and Expenses

     Total costs and expenses  for Third  Quarter 1996  increased  $37.2
million,  or 37%, to  $138.0 million  (95.8% of net  operating
revenue) from $100.8 million (93.7% of net operating revenue) for Third Quarter
1995.

     Operating expenses as a percentage of net operating revenue remained
consistent at 81.1% for Third Quarter 1996 and Third Quarter
1995.

     Corporate general and administrative  expense is the corporate overhead and
regional costs related to the supervision of operations.  The expense  increased
from $4.6 million in the Third Quarter 1995 to $5.4 million in the Third Quarter
1996.  The increase is  attributable  to the 1996  Acquisitions,  however,  this
expense  decreased as a percentage  of net  operating  revenue to 3.8% for Third
Quarter 1996 from 4.3% in Third Quarter 1995.  The decrease,  as a percentage of
revenues is attributed to achieving economies of scale through acquisition,  the
reduction of certain corporate office expenses and same store growth.

     Rent expense as a percentage  of net  operating  revenue  increased to 4.6%
in Third  Quarter 1996 from 4.0% in Third Quarter 1995 primarily due to the
assumption of lease obligations from the 1996 Acquisitions.

     Depreciation  and  amortization  expense as a percentage  of net  operating
revenue  increased to 2.8% in Third Quarter 1996 from 2.4% in Third Quarter 1995
primarily due to goodwill  amortization  related to the purchase of SCRS in July
1995 and the 1996 Acquisitions.

     Interest expense as a percentage of net operating revenue increased to 3.5%
in Third  Quarter  1996 from 1.9% in Third  Quarter  1995  primarily  due to the
Company issuing the 9-7/8% Senior  Subordinated Notes (the "Senior  Subordinated
Notes") in October  1995  partially  offset by the  repayment of the 8.1% Senior
Secured  Notes in that  month.  A  portion  of the  increase  is also due to the
Company issuing the 12-1/4%  Subordinated Notes in June 1996 partially offset by
the  repayment of the 6-1/2%  Convertible  Subordinated  Debentures  on July 29,
1996.

     The extraordinary  item of $1.2 million resulted from the redemption of all
$48.9 million of the  outstanding  Convertible  Subordinated  Debentures and the
refinancing of the Industrial  Revenue Bond Issues (IRBs). The redemption of the
Convertible   Subordinated   Debentures   produced  an  extraordinary   loss  on
extinguishment of debt of $868,000,  net of tax, resulting from the write off of
unamortized  underwriting  costs and the  refinancing of the IRBs resulted in an
extraordinary  loss on extinguishment of debt of $325,000 net of tax,  resulting
from the write off of unamortized underwriting costs and a call premium paid.

Nine Months Comparison 1996 to 1995

Net Operating Revenue

     The Company's net operating revenue for the nine months ended September 30,
1996 ("Nine Months 1996") was $411.7 million  compared to $304.8 million for the
nine months ended September 30, 1995 ("Nine Months 1995"), an increase of $106.9
million or 35.1%.

     Net operating revenue from in-patient  operations  increased $68.9 million,
or 25.6%,  to $338.4 million from $269.5 million due to the 1996  acquisition of
18 in-patient  facilities and an increase in average  revenue per patient day of
6.1%,  on a same store  basis.  The 18  in-patient  facilities  acquired  by the
Company in February 1996  contributed  $54.5  million of net  operating  revenue
during  Nine  Months  1996.  On a same store  basis,  the  average  increase  in
reimbursement  rates per  patient  day of 6.1% was  primarily  due to  providing
services to higher acuity  patients,  an increase in the Medi-Cal  reimbursement
rates beginning in August 1996 and the Company  recognizing  revenue  associated
with the elimination of the Medicare RCL inflationary freeze.

      Net operating revenue from home healthcare operations grew $4.2 million to
$26.7 million,  or 18.9%,  in Nine Months 1996 over Nine Months 1995,  primarily
reflecting  an  increase  in patient  visits to 213,761 in Nine Months 1996 from
196,170 in Nine Months 1995 and an  increase  in  treatment  hours to 332,809 in
Nine Months 1996 from 282,577 in Nine Months 1995.  Net  operating  revenue from
pharmacy operations to non-affiliates  increased $10.6 million or 203.0% in Nine
Months 1996 over Nine Months 1995,  primarily due to the Pharmacy  Acquisitions.
Net operating  revenue from the Pharmacy  Acquisitions  for Nine Months 1996 was
$8.7  million.  Net  operating  revenue  from  contract  rehabilitation  therapy
operations to non-affiliates increased $22.5 million, or 372.2% to $28.5 million
in Nine  Months  1996 from $6.0  million in Nine Months 1995 and was a result of
the   purchase  of  SCRS  in  July  1995  and  an  increase  in  the  number  of
non-affiliated facilities served by SCRS from 73 to 103.

Costs and Expenses

     Total costs and expenses for Nine Months 1996  increased  $105.4 million,
or 36.3%,  to  $395.6 million  (96.1% of net  operating
revenue) from $290.2 million (95.2% of net operating revenue) for Nine Months
1995.

     Operating  expenses as a percentage of net operating  revenue  increased to
81.5% for Nine  Months  1996,  from 81.1% for Nine  Months  1995.  The  increase
resulted  from  the  incurrence  of  increased  labor  costs  in the  in-patient
operations while  reimbursement rates per patient day for room and board charges
remained  relatively flat for the Medi-Cal and Medicare systems during the first
and second quarters of 1996. In addition,  the home health agency  participating
in the Medicare  Prospective Pay System pilot project  beginning in 1996 did not
adequately  reduce costs at the outset of this  program in the first  quarter of
1996. The Company made the necessary cost reductions during the second and third
quarters.

     Corporate general and administrative  expense is the corporate overhead and
regional costs related to the supervision of operations.  The expense  increased
from $14.3 million in Nine Months 1995 to $17.1 million in Nine Months 1996. The
increase  is  attributable  to the  1996  Acquisitions,  however,  this  expense
decreased as a percentage of net operating  revenue to 4.2% for Nine Months 1996
from 4.7% in Nine  Months  1995.  The  decrease as a  percentage  of revenues is
attributed to achieving economies of scale through acquisition, the reduction of
certain corporate office expenses and same store growth.

     Rent  expense as a  percentage  of net  operating  revenue  increased  to
4.4% in Nine  Months  1996 from 4.1% in Nine Months 1995
primarily due to the assumption of lease obligations from the 1996 Acquisition.

     Depreciation  and  amortization  expense as a percentage  of net  operating
revenue  increased  to 2.7% in Nine  Months  1996 from 2.4% in Nine  Months 1995
primarily due to goodwill  amortization  related to the purchase of SCRS in July
1995 and the 1996 Acquisitions.

     Interest expense as a percentage of net operating revenue increased to 3.3%
in Nine Months 1996 from 1.9% in Nine Months 1995  primarily  due to the Company
issuing the Senior  Subordinated  Notes in October 1995 partially  offset by the
repayment of the Senior  Secured Notes in that month.  A portion of the increase
is also due to the Company issuing the 12-1/4%  Subordinated  Notes in June 1996
partially  offset  by the  repayment  of  the  6-1/2%  Convertible  Subordinated
Debentures on July 29, 1996.

     Pursuant to the settlement of a class action lawsuit,  the Company recorded
a charge  of $3.1  million  in Nine  Months  1995.  The  amount  represents  the
Company's portion of the settlement,  together with related legal fees and other
costs.

     The extraordinary  item of $1.2 million resulted from the redemption of all
$48.9 million of the  outstanding  Convertible  Subordinated  Debentures and the
refinancing  of  the  IRBs.  The  redemption  of  the  Convertible  Subordinated
Debentures produced an extraordinary loss on extinguishment of debt of $868,000,
net of tax,  resulting from the write off of unamortized  underwriting costs and
the refinancing of the IRBs resulted in an extraordinary  loss on extinguishment
of debt of  $325,000  net of tax,  resulting  from the write off of  unamortized
underwriting costs and a call premium paid.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

     Working  capital at September  30, 1996  decreased  $52.6  million to $64.6
million  (including  cash and cash  equivalents  of $21.7  million)  from $117.2
million  (including cash and cash equivalents of $104.2 million) at December 31,
1995.  The decrease was  primarily  attributable  to funding the purchase of the
1996 Acquisitions (including funding of working capital),  funding of a workers'
compensation trust and the purchase of treasury stock. The Company established a
revocable  workers'  compensation  claims payment trust to pre-fund its workers'
compensation  obligations  which was funded  for fiscal  1995 in March 1996 with
approximately  $10.6 million from available cash (see Note 4 to the Consolidated
Financial  Statements).  During the Nine Months 1996, the Company's  receivables
increased   approximately   $23.0   million   primarily   related  to  the  1996
Acquisitions.  A portion  of the  increase  in  receivables  is due to delays in
securing  state and federal  provider  numbers for certain of the 18  healthcare
facilities  acquired  in  the  1996  Acquisitions.  Management  anticipates  the
remaining  collections  related to the delay  will  occur in the fourth  quarter
1996. The estimated third party settlements  increased by $8.9 million primarily
due to recording  revenue  related to RCL exceptions and the  elimination of the
RCL  inflationary  freeze.  As of September 30, 1996 and December 31, 1995,  the
Company had RCL  exception  request  receivables  totaling $7.1 million and $4.5
million, respectively.

     The Company's major  requirements  for liquidity  relate to funding working
capital,  capital  improvements and debt service  obligations.  The Company must
also  provide  funding  to  cover  potential  delays,  temporary  cessations  or
interruptions  in payments by  third-party  payors due to political or budgetary
constraints.  Management  believes  that these  liquidity  needs can be met from
available cash, internally generated funds and existing borrowing capacity under
a revolving  credit loan  agreement  ("Credit  Agreement")  with  NationsBank of
Texas, N.A. as agent for a group of banks (discussed below).

     The  Company's  healthcare  facilities  require  capital  improvements  for
renovations and improvements in physical appearance. Future capital improvements
may be required as a result of routine regulatory inspections.  In addition, the
Company is and will continue to invest in improving its information systems. The
Company's capital  expenditures for the nine months ended September 30, 1996 and
1995 were  approximately  $11.0 million and $10.9 million,  respectively.  These
capital  expenditures  have been financed  through a  combination  of internally
generated  funds  and  debt.  The  Company  expects  to spend  approximately  an
aggregate of $13.0 million for capital  expenditures  during 1996 to be financed
through   borrowings  under  the  Credit  Agreement  and  funds  generated  from
operations.

     The Company has financed its acquisitions  from a combination of borrowings
and funds  generated  by  operations.  The  Company  expects to  finance  future
acquisitions  from a combination  of existing cash,  the Credit  Agreement,  and
alternative  sources  such as real estate  investment  trusts.  Depending on the
numbers, size and timing of any such transactions, the Company may in the future
require additional financing in order to continue to make acquisitions.

     In April and May 1996,  the  Company  purchased  555,000  shares of Company
common stock at an average price of $9.16 per share. The transaction,  accounted
for using the cost method, reduced stockholders' equity by $5.1 million.

     On June  28,  1996 the  Company  issued  12 1/4%  Subordinated  Notes  (the
"Subordinated  Notes") in an aggregate  amount of $50  million.  Interest on the
Notes  will be  payable  semi-annually  on  January 15 and July 15 of each year,
commencing  January 15,  1997.  The Notes will mature on July 15,  2003,  unless
previously redeemed.  Net proceeds received by the Company totaled approximately
$48.4  million and funded the  redemption  of the  Company's  outstanding 6 1/2%
Convertible Subordinated Debentures due 2003 on July 29, 1996 (see Note 5 to the
Consolidated Financial Statements).

     Effective September 30, 1996, the Company refinanced three of its IRBs with
an aggregate  outstanding  principal balance of $7,560,000 with three new issues
of tax exempt IRBs maturing through  September 2012. One of the new issues bears
interest at rates  ranging from 4.2% to 6.0% based on the maturity  dates of the
individual  bonds. The other two IRBs bear interest at a variable rate initially
set at 4.0%, which is capped at 12.0% (see note 6 to the Consolidated  Financial
Statements).  The IRBs are now secured by irrevocable  letters of credit instead
of mortgages on the specific facilities.

     The extraordinary  item of $1.2 million resulted from the redemption of all
$48.9 million of the  outstanding  Convertible  Subordinated  Debentures and the
refinancing  of  the  IRBs.  The  redemption  of  the  Convertible  Subordinated
Debentures  produced an extraordinary loss on extinguishment of debt of $868,000
net of tax resulting  from the write off of unamortized  underwriting  costs and
the refinancing of the IRBs resulted in an extraordinary  loss on extinguishment
of debt of  $325,000  net of tax,  resulting  from the write off of  unamortized
underwriting costs and a call premium paid. <PAGE>

     On December 28, 1995 the Company entered into the Credit  Agreement,  which
provides up to  $50,000,000 in a revolving line of credit and letters of credit.
As of October 31, 1996,  no borrowings  have been drawn on the Credit  Agreement
and  approximately  $16,702,000 of standby letters of credit have been issued in
connection with the Company's  self-insured  workers'  compensation programs and
the refinanced IRBs.

Seasonality

     The  Company's  income  from  operations  before  fixed  charges  generally
fluctuates  from  quarter  to  quarter.  The  fluctuation  is related to several
factors: the timing of Medicaid rate increases,  seasonal census cycles, and the
number of calendar days in a given quarter.  As a result,  the Company's  income
from operations  before fixed charges tends to be higher in its third and fourth
quarters when compared to the first and second quarters.

Impact of Inflation

     The healthcare industry is labor intensive. Wages and other labor costs are
especially sensitive to inflation. Increases in wages and other labor costs as a
result of  inflation,  or increases in federal or state  minimum wages without a
corresponding  increase in Medicare  and  Medicaid  reimbursement  rates,  could
adversely  impact the  Company.  A national  increase in the minimum wage and an
additional  increase in  California  have recently  been  approved,  however the
Company estimates that this will not have a significant impact on its results of
operations.

Reimbursement

     The  majority  of the  Company's  net  operating  revenue is  derived  from
services provided under the Medicare and Medicaid  programs.  Numerous proposals
relating  to  healthcare  reform  have been or may be  introduced  in the United
States Congress, state legislatures or by governmental agencies who regulate the
Medicare and Medicaid  programs.  It is uncertain what reform will ultimately be
enacted by the federal government, any state government or governmental agencies
and therefore, the Company cannot predict at this time the impact on the Company
of any proposed reforms.

     As  discussed  above,  the Company  provides  contract  rehabilitation  and
pharmacy services to both Regency operated and non-affiliated facilities.  Under
current  Medicare  regulations,  reimbursement  for these  services  provided to
Medicare  eligible  patients  in Regency  facilities  is based upon the  related
entity's  cost to  provide  the  services  unless a  significant  portion of the
related  entity's  revenues  is derived  from  non-affiliated  facilities.  If a
significant   portion  of  the  related   entity's   revenues  is  derived  from
non-affiliated  facilities,  Medicare will reimburse the facility's  cost, which
includes a profit paid to the related entity.  During 1995 and prior years,  the
Company was  reimbursed  by Medicare  based on its pharmacy  operation  costs on
billings  to  Regency  facilities,  as it did not meet the  significant  portion
criteria. After the acquisition of Assist-A-Care Pharmacy and Executive Pharmacy
in 1996, the Company  believes it meets the "significant  portion"  criteria and
began recording a profit on billings for pharmacy  services provided to Medicare
eligible  patients  in Regency  facilities.  The  Company  believes it meets the
"significant   portion"  criteria  for  its  contract   rehabilitation   therapy
operations  provided by SCRS, and therefore has recorded a profit on billings to
Regency  facilities since the acquisition of SCRS.  Medicare  regulations do not
define  a  "significant  portion,"  therefore,   the  Company's  and  Medicare's
interpretations  could  differ,  which could result in  retroactive  adjustments
related to the  profit on  billings  to  Regency  facilities  for  pharmacy  and
contract rehabilitation services.

     In the federal budget deficit reduction bill, various  reimbursement  rules
and  regulations  were  adopted by the federal  government  that  pertain to the
Company. The changes to regulations promulgated under OBRA, some of which expand
the  remedies  available to enforce  regulations  mandating  minimum  healthcare
standards,  may have an adverse effect on the Company's operations.  The Company
is unable to predict the  particular  effect on the Company  until the manner in
which these regulations is implemented becomes known.

                           PART II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.  Legal Proceedings

         None

Item 6.  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K

         None

         Pursuant to the  requirements  of the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934,
the  registrant  has duly  caused  this report to be signed on its behalf by the
undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.



REGENCY HEALTH SERVICES, INC.



By:___________________________________________
         Bruce D. Broussard
         Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer


Date:    November 14, 1996