ECLIPSE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIES INC (CIK 863680)
Form 10-Q
period 1998-06-30
filed 1998-08-13

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                       U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                                WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

                                      FORM 10-Q

                  QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d)
                       OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                    FOR THE QUARTERLY PERIOD ENDED JUNE 30, 1998


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

     Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days.
                              Yes __X__    No _____

     Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's classes of common stock outstanding as of the latest practicable date.

                                 17,293,158 shares
                                As of  July 31, 1998

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


                        ECLIPSE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIES, INC.
                                 TABLE OF CONTENTS



                                       PART 1
                               FINANCIAL INFORMATION


                                                                              Page
                                                                              ----
Item 1.     Financial Statements:

            a.  Consolidated Balance Sheets
                as of June 30, 1998 and December 31, 1997 . . . . . . . . .     3

            b.  Consolidated Statements of Operations
                for the three and six months ended June 30, 1998 and 1997 .     4

            c.  Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
                for the six months ended June 30, 1998 and 1997 . . . . . .     5

            d.  Notes to Financial Statements . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     6


Item 2.     Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
               Condition and Results of Operations. . . . . . . . . . . . .     8


Item 3.     Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk  . .    18



                                      PART II
                                 OTHER INFORMATION


Item 1.     Legal Proceedings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    19


Item 2(d).  Changes in Securities and Use of Proceeds . . . . . . . . . . .    19


Item 4.     Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders . . . . . .    19


Item 6.     Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    20


            Signatures  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    21

                        ECLIPSE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIES, INC.
                             CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                    (IN THOUSANDS)

                                        ASSETS

                                                                            JUNE 30, 1998      DECEMBER 31,
                                                                             (UNAUDITED)          1997
                                                                            --------------    -------------
Current assets:
    Cash and cash equivalents. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        $  5,527     $  16,997
    Marketable securities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           7,869        18,197
    Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful accounts of $945 at
      June 30, 1998 and $757 at December 31, 1997, respectively. . . . . .           3,464         2,054
    Inventories. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           4,399         3,866
    Prepaids and other current assets. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             449           556
                                                                                  --------     ---------
      Total current assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          21,708        41,670
Property and equipment, net. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           1,130         1,420
Marketable securities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          10,702             -
Other assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             471           384
                                                                                  --------     ---------
      Total assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        $ 34,011     $  43,474
                                                                                  --------     ---------
                                                                                  --------     ---------

                                       LIABILITIES

Current liabilities:
   Accounts payable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        $  3,623      $  3,190
   Accrued liabilities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           1,133           965
   Customer deposits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             226            71
   Note payable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           1,000         1,000
   Current portion of long-term debt . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               8            10
                                                                                  --------      --------
      Total current liabilities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           5,990         5,236
Long-term debt, less current portion . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               8            10
                                                                                  --------      --------
      Total liabilities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           5,998         5,246
                                                                                  --------      --------

                                    SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

Common stock, no par value:
   Authorized: 50,000 shares;
   Issued and outstanding: 17,288 shares at June 30, 1998 and 16,858
     shares at December 31, 1997 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          67,824        66,596
Unrealized gain (loss) on marketable securities. . . . . . . . . . . . . .             (26)           50
Accumulated deficit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .         (39,785)      (28,418)
                                                                                 ---------      --------
      Total shareholders' equity . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          28,013        38,228
                                                                                 ---------      --------
      Total liabilities and shareholders' equity . . . . . . . . . . . . .       $  34,011      $ 43,474
                                                                                 ---------      --------
                                                                                 ---------      --------
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

                                                           THREE MONTHS ENDED      SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                JUNE 30,               JUNE 30,
                                                            1998        1997        1998       1997
                                                         ---------   ---------   ---------   --------
Net revenues . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     $  3,070    $  1,254     $  4,645   $  2,462
Cost of revenues . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        1,445         634        2,280      1,264
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
   Gross profit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        1,625         620        2,365      1,198
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
Operating expenses:
   Research and development. . . . . . . . . . . . .        4,186       2,917        7,313      5,644
   Sales and marketing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        2,747       1,466        5,504      2,877
   General and administrative. . . . . . . . . . . .          793       1,462        1,681      2,257
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
      Total operating expenses . . . . . . . . . . .        7,726       5,845       14,498     10,778
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
         Operating loss. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .       (6,101)     (5,225)     (12,133)    (9,580)
Interest expense . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          (21)          -          (54)        (6)
Interest and other income. . . . . . . . . . . . . .          381         583          820      1,087
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
         Net loss. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     $ (5,741)   $ (4,642)    $(11,367)  $ (8,499)

            Unrealized gain (loss) on marketable
            securities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     $    (51)   $     90     $    (26)  $    312
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
            Comprehensive loss . . . . . . . . . . .     $ (5,792)   $ (4,552)    $(11,393)  $ (8,187)
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------

Net loss per share:  basic and diluted . . . . . . .     $  (0.34)   $  (0.28)    $  (0.67)   $ (0.52)
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
Weighted average shares outstanding:  basic and
diluted      . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .       17,115      16,284       16,998     16,233
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
                                                         --------    --------     --------   --------
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


                                                                                         SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                              JUNE 30,
                                                                                         1998            1997
                                                                                    ------------    ------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
   Net loss  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $  (11,367)     $  (8,499)

   Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
      Depreciation and amortization. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          673            212
      Provision for doubtful accounts. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          224            776
      Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
         (Increase) decrease in accounts receivable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .       (1,634)           141
         Increase in inventories . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .         (533)          (835)
         (Increase) decrease in prepaids and other current assets. . . . . . . . .          107           (448)
         Increase (decrease) in accounts payable . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          433           (101)
         Increase in customer deposits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          155              -
         Increase in accrued liabilities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          168            716
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
                Net cash used in operating activities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .      (11,774)        (8,038)
                                                                                      ---------      ---------

Cash flows from investing activities:
      Purchase of marketable securities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .      (10,702)             -
      Sale of marketable securites . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .       10,252          6,836
      Acquisition of property and equipment. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .         (383)          (622)
      Increase in other assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .          (87)          (647)
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
                Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities. . . . . . . .         (920)         5,567
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
Cash flows from financing activities:
      Net proceeds from issuance of common stock and warrants. . . . . . . . . . .        1,228            588
      Payments on short-term borrowings. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           (2)             -
      Payments on long-term debt . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .           (2)           (37)
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
                Net cash provided by financing activities. . . . . . . . . . . . .        1,224            551
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
                  Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents. . . . . . . . . . . .      (11,470)        (1,920)

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .       16,997         24,106
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     $  5,527      $  22,186
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
Supplemental schedule of noncash investing and financing activities:
      Unrealized gain (loss) on marketable securities. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     $    (26)     $     312
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
                                                                                      ---------      ---------
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

     The interim financial statements in this report reflect all adjustments, consisting of normal recurring adjustments, that are, in the opinion of management, necessary for a fair presentation of the results of operations and cash flows for the interim periods covered and of the financial condition of the Company at the interim balance sheet dates. Results for interim periods are not necessarily indicative of results to be expected for the full fiscal year. The year-end balance sheet information was derived from audited financial statements but does not include all disclosures required by generally accepted accounting principles. These financial statements should be read in conjunction with the Company's audited financial statements and notes thereto for the year ended December 31, 1997, contained in the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K as filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

NET LOSS PER SHARE:

     Earnings per share are calculated in accordance with the provisions of Statement of Accounting Standards No. 128, "Earnings per Share," (SFAS 128). SFAS 128 requires the Company to report both basic earnings per share, which is the weighted-average number of common shares outstanding, and diluted earnings per share, which includes the weighted-average common shares outstanding and all dilutive potential common shares outstanding. All periods presented herein have been restated to reflect the adoption of SFAS 128. For the three and six months ended June 30, 1998 and 1997 dilutive potential common shares outstanding reflects shares issuable under the Company's stock option plans.

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


                                              THREE MONTHS ENDED         SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                  JUNE  30,                 JUNE  30,
                                              ---------------------   ----------------------
                                                 1998        1997         1998        1997
                                              ----------  ---------   -----------  ---------
Numerator - Basic and Diluted EPS
   Loss available to common stockholders . .  $  (5,741)  $  (4,642)  $  (11,367)  $  (8,499)
Denominator - Basic and Diluted EPS
   Weighted average shares outstanding . . .     17,115      16,284       16,998      16,233
                                              ---------   ---------   ----------   ---------
Basic and diluted net loss per share . . . .  $   (0.34)  $   (0.28)  $    (0.67)  $   (0.52)
                                              ---------   ---------   ----------   ---------
                                              ---------   ---------   ----------   ---------

                        ECLIPSE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIES, INC.
                     NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS


1.  Summary of Significant Accounting Policies -- (CONTINUED):

COMPREHENSIVE INCOME:

     Comprehensive income is presented in accordance with Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 130, "Reporting Comprehensive Income," and comprises net income plus revenues, expenses, gains and losses that, under generally accepted accounting principles, are excluded from net income.

RECENT PRONOUNCEMENTS:

     In June 1997, FASB issued Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 131, "Disclosures About Segments of an Enterprise and Related Information" ("SFAS 131"), which supersedes SFAS 14, "Financial Reporting for Segments of a Business Enterprise." SFAS 131 changes current practice under SFAS 14 by establishing a new framework on which to base segment reporting and also requires interim reporting of segment information. The Company is evaluating the impact of SFAS 131 which is effective for the Company's fiscal year ended December 31, 1998 with interim reporting disclosures required the first quarter of 1999.

     In June 1998, FASB issued Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 133, "Accounting for Derivative instruments and Hedging Activities" ("SFAS 133") which is effective for all fiscal quarters of fiscal years beginning after June 15, 1999. SFAS 133 establishes accounting and reporting standards for derivative instruments, including certain derivative instruments embedded in other contracts, and for hedging activities. The Company does not use derivative instruments and is not involved in hedging activities and has no plans to do so given the Company's current business operations.

2.  Inventories:

     Inventories are stated at lower of cost (first-in, first-out) or market and consist of the following (in thousands):

                                                  JUNE 30,   DECEMBER 31,
                                                    1998        1997
                                                 ----------  ------------
                                                 (UNAUDITED)
    Raw materials. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $  1,716    $  1,446
    Work in process. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .        338          -
    Finished goods . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .      2,345       2,420
                                                   --------    --------
                                                   $  4,399    $  3,866
                                                   --------    --------
                                                   --------    --------
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

OVERVIEW

     The Company was founded in 1989 to use laser technology to treat
cardiovascular disease.  From 1989 through September 1995, the Company
engaged in research, development and sale of surgical laser products
principally for procedures such as atherectomy and arthroscopy.  In 1995, the
Company determined that there was a significant opportunity in the
Transmyocardial Revascularization ("TMR")  market, and that the Company was
well-positioned to enter this market because of the Company's expertise with
laser-based surgical techniques and the treatment of cardiovascular disease.
Accordingly, in late 1995, the Company changed its strategic direction to
enter the TMR market.

     Prior to 1996, the Company had focused almost exclusively on research
and development activities relating to surgical laser products, substantially
contributing to operating losses since inception. Since 1996, the Company has
focused on TMR and Percutaneous Transmyocardial Revascularization ("PTMR")
activities, particularly research and development activities and clinical
trials. At June 30,1998, the Company had an accumulated deficit of
$39,785,000. Three clinical trials have been concluded and a number of
clinical trials are in progress in either TMR or PTMR.  The Company has
submitted an application to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration ("FDA") for
marketing clearance ("PMA" or Pre-Market Approval) of its TMR products in the
United  States. The Company received notification from the FDA, dated March
16, 1998, that its PMA application has been accepted for filing, which should
lead to a Circulatory Devices Panel Review. There is no way to predict when
the panel review will be held, nor is there any assurance that the panel will
recommend approval of the Company's products. The Company has received the
European Conforming Marks ("CE Mark") allowing the commercial sale of its TMR
and PTMR products to the European Community.

     The Company expects to continue to incur operating losses related to the
expansion of sales and marketing resources,  research and development
activities, including clinical studies, and the continued development of
corporate infrastructure(1). The timing and amounts of the Company's
expenditures will depend upon a number of factors, including the progress of
the Company's clinical trials, the status and timing of regulatory approvals,
the timing of market acceptance, if any, of the Company's products, and the
efforts required to develop the Company's sales and marketing organization.

_______________________
(1) Forward-Looking Statement

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

NET REVENUES

     Net revenues increased 145% to $3,070,000 for the three months ended
June 30, 1998 from $1,254,000 for the three months ended June 30, 1997. Net
revenues increased 89% to $4,645,000 for the six months ended June 30, 1998
from $2,462,000 for the six months ended June 30, 1997. These increases
resulted primarily from sales of laser and delivery systems.

     The Company's net revenues have continued to be adversely affected by a
Health Care Financing Administration ("HCFA") policy effective May 19, 1997
which restricts Medicare reimbursement for TMR equipment and procedures. The
Company's products had received third party reimbursement under the preceding
HCFA policy. Reimbursement is a significant factor considered by hospitals in
determining whether to acquire new equipment.

     Future revenues could continue to be adversely affected by restrictions
on third party reimbursement and the timing and manner of sale of TMR and
PTMR laser systems. The Company intends to continue selling the systems to
the hospital outright (list price is $295,000) or placing the system with the
hospital for a placement fee (currently $25,000) plus an additional fee for
each procedure performed.   The Company has also made contingency placements
which the Company has not yet been able to include as revenue because the
sale is contingent upon FDA approval or HCFA reimbursement. As a result of
the HCFA policy restricting Medicare reimbursement for TMR equipment and
procedures, the Company anticipates that these sales will continue to be more
difficult to make in the future than prior to the effective date of the
policy.

GROSS PROFIT

     Gross profit increased to $1,625,000 or 53% of net revenues and
$2,365,000 or 51% of net revenues for the three and six months ended June 30,
1998, respectively, as compared to $620,000 or 49% of net revenues and
$1,198,000 or 49% of net revenues in the corresponding periods in 1997.

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT EXPENSES

     Research and development expenditures increased to $4,186,000 or 136% of
net revenues and $7,313,000 or 157% of net revenues in the three and six
months ended June 30, 1998, respectively, as compared to $2,917,000 or 233%
of net revenues and $5,644,000 or 229% of net revenues in the corresponding
periods in 1997.  The increase in these expenses reflected the higher costs
of supporting clinical trials and an increase in research and development
activities.

     The Company's products are currently in clinical trials and therefore
subject to limitations by the FDA. The Company believes that continued
investment in the development of new and improved products and procedures and
continued investment in the Company's clinical trials is critical to its
future success(1). As a result of the HCFA policy restricting Medicare
reimbursement for TMR and PTMR equipment and procedures, the Company
reimbursed clinical sites for expenses incurred in conjunction with
performing clinical trials.  The Company anticipates a continued increase in
expenditures related to hospital support of the Company's clinical trials as
the number of its clinical trials increases(1). Accordingly, the Company
believes that research and development expenses will continue to increase as
long as HCFA policy restricts reimbursement for the Company's equipment and
procedures(1). There can be no assurance that the Company's future revenues, if
any, will be sufficient to offset the research and development expenses
required in connection with ongoing efforts including current and future
clinical trials.

_______________________
(1) Forward-Looking Statement

SALES AND MARKETING

     Sales and marketing expenses increased to $2,747,000 or 89% of revenues
and $5,504,000 or 118% of net revenues for the three and six  months ended
June 30, 1998, respectively, compared to $1,466,000 or 117% of net revenues
and $2,877,000 or 117% of net revenues for the three and six months ended
June 30, 1997, respectively. The increases reflected the Company's
application of additional resources to both TMR and PTMR markets, including
the expansion of the international sales staff and related travel expenses.
Additionally, the Company incurred  depreciation expense associated with
lasers placed as demonstration units.  The Company expects that sales and
marketing expenses will continue to increase as the Company continues to
focus resources on the development of the TMR and PTMR market(1).

GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE

     General and administrative expenses decreased  to $793,000 or 26% of net
revenues and $1,681,000 or 36% of net revenues for the three and six months
ended June 30, 1998, respectively, as compared to $1,462,000 or 117% of net
revenues and  $2,257,000 or 92% of net revenues for the corresponding periods
in 1997, respectively. The decreases were due to reduced outside expenses
related to legal, investor and public relations services.

INTEREST INCOME AND EXPENSE, NET

     Interest income decreased 35% to $381,000 and 25% to $820,000 for the
three and six  months ended June 30, 1998, respectively, as compared to
$583,000 and $1,087,000 for the corresponding periods of 1997. These
decreases were due to lower cash balances in 1998. Interest expense of
$21,000 and $54,000 for the three and six months ended June 30, 1998,
respectively,  increased as a result of a note payable related to the
Company's subsidiary, MicroHeart.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

     Since its inception, the Company has satisfied its capital requirements
primarily through sales of its equity securities and, to a lesser extent,
loans from shareholders. In addition, the Company's operations have been
funded in part through sales of the Company's products. At June 30, 1998, the
Company had aggregate cash and marketable securities of  $24,098,000 as
compared to $35,194,000 at December 31, 1997.  The Company used $11,774,000
and $8,038,000 for operating activities for the six months ended June 30,
1998 and June 30, 1997, respectively. At June 30, 1998, the Company had an
accumulated deficit of $39,785,000.

     The Company anticipates that its current cash and marketable securities,
together with sales of products for investigational use, will be sufficient
to meet the Company's capital requirements through the next 12 months(1).
There can be no assurance, however, that the Company will not require
additional sources of cash at an earlier date in the future, depending upon
the progress of expansion of the Company's clinical trials, any need for
additional clinical trials or other testing of the Company's products, and
the timing of other required expenditures as indicated above. If the Company
is required to obtain additional financing in the future, there can be no
assurance that capital will be available on terms acceptable to the Company,
if at all.

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

------------------------
(1) Forward-Looking Statement
is effective for the Company's fiscal year ended December 31, 1998 with
interim reporting disclosures required the first quarter of 1999.

FACTORS THAT MAY AFFECT FUTURE RESULTS

     THE COMPANY HAS IDENTIFIED CERTAIN FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS IN THE
MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF
OPERATIONS WITH A FOOTNOTE (1) SYMBOL. THE COMPANY MAY ALSO MAKE ORAL
FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS FROM TIME TO TIME. ACTUAL RESULTS MAY DIFFER
MATERIALLY FROM THOSE PROJECTED IN ANY SUCH FORWARD- LOOKING STATEMENTS DUE
TO A NUMBER OF FACTORS, INCLUDING THOSE SET FORTH BELOW AND ELSEWHERE IN THIS
FORM 10-Q.

     THE COMPANY OPERATES IN A DYNAMIC AND RAPIDLY CHANGING ENVIRONMENT THAT
INVOLVES NUMEROUS RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES. THE FOLLOWING SECTION LISTS SOME,
BUT NOT ALL, OF THOSE RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES WHICH MAY HAVE A MATERIAL
ADVERSE EFFECT ON THE COMPANY'S BUSINESS, FINANCIAL CONDITION OR RESULTS OF
OPERATIONS. THIS SECTION SHOULD BE READ IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE UNAUDITED
CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND NOTES THERETO INCLUDED IN PART I --ITEM
1 OF THIS QUARTERLY REPORT ON FORM 10-Q AND THE UNAUDITED FINANCIAL
STATEMENTS THERETO AND MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL
CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1997,
CONTAINED IN THE COMPANY'S 1997 ANNUAL REPORT TO STOCKHOLDERS ON FORM 10-K.

NO ASSURANCE OF FDA OR OTHER REQUIRED GOVERNMENTAL APPROVALS

     The Company's TMR and PTMR products are regulated in the U.S. as medical
devices by the FDA under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act ("FD&C
Act") and, as such, require FDA approval of a PMA application prior to
commercial sale in the U.S. The FDA approves PMA applications for specific
indications only and FDA regulation prohibits commercial marketing in the
U.S. of devices for indications that have not been approved by the FDA. The
process of obtaining required regulatory approvals from the FDA and other
regulatory authorities is lengthy, expensive and inherently uncertain,
generally takes several years or longer to complete, if approval is obtained
at all, and requires the submission of extensive clinical data and supporting
information to the FDA.

     A necessary prerequisite for submitting a PMA application is completion
of clinical testing to demonstrate the safety and effectiveness of the
Company's TMR and PTMR products.  On July 1, 1997, the Company initially
submitted a PMA application to the FDA for use of the Eclipse laser system to
treat patients with Class IV angina (chest pain) caused by coronary artery
disease using the TMR procedure. Thereafter, the Company amended this
application and on March 16, 1998 the FDA accepted the amended application
for filing. The Company is awaiting notification of an appearance date before
the FDA review panel, which is the next step in the process to obtain a PMA.
On May 16, 1996 the Company received an Investigational Device Exemption
("IDE") from the FDA to begin another clinical trial studying TMR in
conjunction with bypass surgery, compared to bypass surgery alone.  This
trial was halted due to positive safety results in March, 1998.  Follow-up
data from this trial is being collected.

     On May 30, 1997, the Company received an IDE from the FDA to begin its
first PTMR clinical trial, comparing patients treated with PTMR to patients
receiving only drug therapy.  In November 1997, the FDA gave the Company
authorization to begin Phase II of this trial. On October 17, 1997, the
Company received an IDE from the FDA, authorizing commencement of Phase I of
another PTMR clinical trial, studying PTMR in conjunction with balloon
angioplasty also known as percutaneous transluminal coronary angioplasty
("PTCA") or various other interventional procedures, compared to patients
receiving only PTCA or other interventions.  On April 24, 1998, the FDA gave
the Company authorization to begin Phase II of this trial.  The FDA review
process can be lengthy and its results are uncertain.  There can be no
assurance as to whether or when the FDA will approve any of these
applications, which would have a material adverse impact on the Company's
business, financial condition and operating results.

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

     Sales of medical devices outside of the U.S. are subject to foreign
regulatory requirements that vary widely by country. In addition, the FDA
must approve the export of devices that require a PMA but are not yet
approved domestically.  Foreign and domestic regulatory approvals, if
granted, may include significant limitations on the indicated uses for which
the product may be marketed. In addition, to obtain such approvals, medical
device manufacturers must comply with numerous other requirements of the FDA
and certain foreign regulatory authorities. For example, the European
Conforming Mark (the "CE Mark") is required to sell products in European
Union countries. The Company received CE Markings for its TMR laser in
December 1996 and for its PTMR laser in July 1998.  However, product
approvals can be withdrawn due to various factors, including failure to
comply with regulatory standards or unforeseen problems following initial
marketing.

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

     The Company's success will depend, in part, on its ability to obtain
patent protection for its products, preserve its trade secrets, and operate
without infringing the proprietary rights of others. The Company's policy is
to seek to
protect its proprietary position by, among other methods, filing U.S. and
foreign patent applications related to its technology, inventions and
improvements that are important to the development of its business. Although
the Company has a number of patents and patent applications pending relating
to various aspects of TMR, PTMR and other cardiovascular therapies, there can
be no assurance that any of the Company's patents or patent applications will
not be challenged, invalidated or circumvented in the future or that the
rights granted thereunder will provide a competitive advantage. The Company
intends to vigorously protect and defend its intellectual property. It is
uncertain whether patent protection will continue to be available for
surgical methods in the future. Costly and time-consuming litigation brought
by the Company may be necessary to enforce patents issued to the Company, to
protect trade secrets or know- how owned by the Company, or to determine the
enforceability, scope and validity of the proprietary rights of others.

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

     The Company expects that the markets for TMR and PTMR, which are
currently in the early stages of development, will be intensely competitive.
Competitors are likely to include at least four companies: PLC Systems, Inc.
("PLC"), CardioGenesis Corporation ("CardioGenesis"), U.S. Surgical
Corporation ("U.S. Surgical"), and Johnson & Johnson ("J & J") all four of
which are currently selling TMR and/or PTMR products for investigational use
in the U.S. and abroad. Other competitors may include additional companies
that elect to enter the market, including large companies in the laser,
cardiac devices and cardiac surgery markets. The Company believes that a
number of significant companies including Boston Scientific Corp., Baxter
International, Inc., and Arterial Vascular Engineering, Inc. have
distribution rights to current or future products in TMR or PTMR. Many of
these companies have significantly greater financial, development, marketing
and other resources than the Company. In the event a competitor is able to
obtain a PMA for its products prior to the Company, the Company's ability to
compete successfully could be materially and adversely affected.

     TMR and PTMR also compete with other more conventional or established
methods for the treatment of cardiovascular disease, including drug therapy,
PTCA and coronary artery bypass graft ("CABG"). Although the Company is
seeking to demonstrate the safety and effectiveness of the Company's TMR and
PTMR procedures in patients for whom other cardiovascular treatments are not
likely to provide relief, and in the future intends to pursue the safety and
effectiveness of TMR or PTMR when used in conjunction with other treatments,
there can be no assurance that the Company's  products will be accepted in
these markets, nor can there be any assurance that physicians will use the
Company's procedures to replace or supplement established treatments, or that
the Company's procedures will be competitive with current or future
technologies. In such event, the Company's business, financial condition and
operating results could be materially and adversely affected.

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

HISTORY OF OPERATING LOSSES

     From inception to June 30, 1998, the Company incurred cumulative net
losses of approximately $40 million. The Company's revenues and operating
income will continue to be constrained until such time, if ever, as FDA and
other regulatory approval is obtained for the Company's  products, and for an
indefinite period of time after any such approval is obtained. Furthermore,
the Company expects its expenses in all categories to increase as its
clinical trial and other business activities expand as well as continued
clinical research support required due to the absence of HCFA reimbursement
in all categories. Hence, there can be no assurance that the Company will
achieve or sustain profitability in the future. Failure to achieve
significant commercial revenues or profitability would materially and
adversely affect the Company's business, financial condition and results of
operations.

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

POTENTIAL DIFFICULTIES IN MANAGING A BUSINESS UNDERGOING RAPID CHANGE

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

     The approach of Year 2000 presents significant issues for many computer
systems, since much of the software in use today may not accurately process
data beyond 1999.  The Company is in the process of implementing new
information systems and accordingly does not anticipate any Year 2000 issues
from its own information systems, databases or programs.(1)  However, the
Company could be adversely impacted by Year 2000 issues faced by major
distributors, suppliers, customers, vendors and financial service
organizations with which the Company interacts.  The Company is currently
taking steps to address the impact, if any, of the Year 2000 issue on the
operations of the Company.  There can be no assurances that the Company will
be able to detect all potential failures of the Company's and/or third
parties' computer systems.  A significant failure of the Company's or a third
party's computer system could have a material adverse effect on the Company's
business, financial condition and result of operations.

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

     Medicare reimburses hospitals on a prospectively determined fixed amount
for the costs associated with an in- patient hospitalization based on the
patient's discharge diagnosis, and reimburses physicians on a prospectively
determined fixed amount based on the procedure performed, regardless of the
actual costs incurred by the hospital or physician in furnishing the care and
unrelated to the specific devices used in that procedure. Medicare and other
third party payors are increasingly scrutinizing whether to cover new
products and the level of reimbursement for covered products. In addition,
Medicare traditionally has considered items or services involving devices
that have not been approved or cleared for marketing by the FDA to be
precluded from Medicare coverage. Under a HCFA policy effective November 1,
1995, Medicare coverage will not be precluded for items and related services
involving devices that have been classified by the FDA as "non-experimental/
investigational" ("Category B") devices and that are furnished in accordance
with FDA- approved protocols governing clinical trials.  Even with items or
services involving Category B devices, however, Medicare coverage may be
denied if other coverage requirements are not met, for example if the
treatment is not medically needed for the specific patient.  In November
1995, the Company received Category B designation for its TMR procedure from
the HCFA. Accordingly, the Company's TMR procedures had received third party
reimbursement in many cases under HCFA's policy. In May 1997, HCFA determined
that there will not be coverage for any manufacturer's TMR procedures at that
time and HCFA is currently reviewing whether it will reinstate such coverage.
There can be no assurance that this coverage will be given in the future or
that Medicare will adequately reimburse the costs of the Company's TMR and
PTMR procedures when and if a PMA is granted.  While the Company is unable to
determine the ultimate effect of this policy change on the business and
operating results, the Company anticipates that research and development
expenses will increase significantly due to increased expenses in support of
clinical trials, and revenues from sale of investigational products are
likely to decrease, at least over the short term and possibly thereafter.

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

     The Company has made limited sales of its TMR and PTMR products to date,
primarily for investigational use only. Accordingly, the Company has
maintained a limited sales and marketing organization in the U.S. and abroad.
The Company plans to market its TMR and PTMR products, if approved, through a
direct sales force and through relationships with  distributors or agents.
Establishment of a sales force capable of effectively commercializing the
Company's TMR and PTMR products will require substantial efforts and require
significant management and financial resources. There can be no assurance
that the Company will be able to establish such a sales capability on a
timely basis, if at all. Moreover, there can be no assurance that the
Company's distributors will devote sufficient resources to development of the
markets for the Company's products or that they will be successful in such
commercialization efforts.

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

RISK OF PRODUCT LIABILITY

     The Company faces an inherent and significant business risk of exposure
to product liability claims in the event
that the use of its products results in personal injury or death, and there
can be no assurance that material product liability claims will not be
assessed against the Company in the future. The Company maintains insurance
against product liability claims in the amount of $10 million per occurrence
and $10 million in the aggregate.  However, there can be no assurance that
such coverage will continue to be available in the amount desired or on terms
acceptable to the Company, or that such coverage will be adequate for
liabilities actually incurred. Also, in the event that any of the Company's
products prove to be defective, the Company may be required to recall or
redesign such products. Any uninsured or underinsured claim brought against
the Company or any claim or product recall that results in significant cost
to or adverse publicity against the Company could materially and adversely
affect the Company's business, financial condition and results of operations.

LIMITED MANUFACTURING EXPERIENCE; DEPENDENCE ON KEY SUPPLIERS

     The Company's success will depend in part on its ability to manufacture
its products in a timely, cost-effective manner and in compliance with GMP,
ISO 9001 and other regulatory requirements. The manufacture of the Company's
products is a labor-intensive, complex operation involving a number of
separate processes and components. The Company's manufacturing activities to
date have consisted primarily of manufacturing limited quantities of systems
for use in clinical trials. The Company does not have experience in
manufacturing its products in the commercial quantities that might be
required if the Company receives regulatory approval for its TMR and PTMR
products. Furthermore, as a condition to receipt of PMA approval, the
Company's facilities, procedures and practices have been  subject to pre-
approval and will be subject to ongoing GMP inspections by FDA.

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

DEPENDENCE ON KEY PERSONNEL

     The Company's future business and operating results depend in
significant part, in aggregate or for each, upon the continued contributions
of its key technical and senior management personnel, including Douglas
Murphy-Chutorian, M.D., the Company's Chief Executive Officer, and Richard L.
Mueller, Jr., the Company's President and Chief Operating Officer. The
Company maintains key person life insurance policies on both of these
individuals in the amount of $2 million. The Company's future business and
operating results also depend in significant part upon its ability to attract
and retain qualified additional management, manufacturing, technical,
marketing and sales and support personnel for its operations. Competition for
such personnel is intense, and there can be no assurance that the Company
will be successful in attracting or retaining such personnel. The loss of any
key employee, the failure of any key employee to perform in his or her
current position, or the Company's inability to attract and retain skilled
employees, as needed, could materially and adversely affect the Company's
business, financial condition and results of operations.

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
          Underwriting discounts and commissions:      $  4,480,000
          Other expenses:                              $  1,565,000
                                                       ------------
          Total expenses:                              $  6,045,000
                                                       ------------
                                                       ------------
      All of such expenses were payments to others.

      The net offering proceeds to the Company after deducting the total expenses above were approximately $57,955,000. From May 31, 1996 to June 30, 1998, the Company used such net offering proceeds, in direct or indirect payments to others, as follows:


          Purchase and installment of machinery and equipment:      $ 2,670,000
          Working capital:                                          $29,410,000
          Investment in short-term, interest- bearing obligations:  $10,702,000
          Repayment of indebtedness:                                $ 1,777,000
                                                                    -----------
          Total                                                     $44,559,000
                                                                    -----------


          Each of such amounts is a reasonable estimate of the application of the net offering proceeds. This use of proceeds does not represent a material change in the use of proceeds described in the prospectus of the Registration Statement.

ITEM 4.  SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS

          At the Company's Annual Meeting of Shareholders on April 29, 1998, the following proposals were approved:

          1.  Election of Directors:

                                                 For         Against
                                                -----        -------
                Douglas Murphy-Chutorian      12,431,566     19,152
                Richard L. Mueller            12,431,566     19,152
                Robert L. Mortensen           12,431,566     19,152
                Iain M. Watson                12,431,566     19,152
                Alan L. Kaganov               12,431,566     19,152

          2. Ratify appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as independent accountants of the fiscal year ending December 31, 1998:


                    For            Against        Abstain
                   -----           -------        -------
                 12,431,700         9,768          9,250

              ECLIPSE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIES, INC.
                   Part II Other Information



ITEM 6.  EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

         a)  Exhibit 27

         b)  Reports on Form 8-K
             ----------------------------
             No reports on Form 8-K were filed by the Company during the three month period ended June 30, 1998.

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



Date:  July 31, 1998          /s/  Douglas Murphy-Chutorian, M.D.
                              --------------------------------------
                              Douglas Murphy-Chutorian, M.D.
                              Chief Executive Officer




Date:  July 31, 1998          /s/  Kenneth E. Bennert
                              --------------------------------------
                              Kenneth E. Bennert
                              Chief Financial Officer
                              (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)