WITTER DEAN DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L P (CIK 863535)
Form 10-Q
period 2005-09-30
filed 2005-11-14

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

Yes             No     X

Indicate by check-mark whether the registrant is a shell company
(as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act).  Yes___  No X



<page> <table> DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L.P.

INDEX TO QUARTERLY REPORT ON FORM 10-Q

September 30, 2005


PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1. Financial Statements

		Statements of Financial Condition as of September 30, 2005
 		(Unaudited) and December 31, 2004............................2

		Statements of Operations for the Three and Nine Months
		Ended September 30, 2005 and 2004 (Unaudited)................3

		Statements of Changes in Partners? Capital for the
	  Nine Months Ended September 30, 2005 and 2004 (Unaudited)....4

		Statements of Cash Flows for the Nine Months
		Ended September 30, 2005 and 2004 (Unaudited) ...............5

		Notes to Financial Statements (Unaudited).................6-11

Item 2.	Management?s Discussion and Analysis of
			Financial Condition and Results of Operations.........12-27

Item 3.	Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about
			Market Risk...........................................28-41

Item 4.	Controls and Procedures..................................41


PART II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 5.	Other Information.....................................42-43

Item 6.	Exhibits.................................................43



<page> <table> PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.  Financial Statements

DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L.P.
STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION
	September 30,	     December 31,
                               2005      	    2004
	 $	   $
	 (Unaudited)
ASSETS
Equity in futures interests trading accounts:
	Cash	26,048,573	33,183,507

	Net unrealized loss on open contracts (MSIL)	     (16,413)	      (49,863)
	Net unrealized gain (loss) on open contracts (MS&Co.)	     (290,035)   	    3,295,646

          Total net unrealized gain (loss) on open contracts	     (306,448)	   3,245,783

	Total Trading Equity	25,742,125	36,429,290

Interest receivable (Morgan Stanley DW)	          60,199	               51,924

	Total Assets	  25,802,324	 36,481,214

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS? CAPITAL

Liabilities

Redemptions payable	772,388	314,739
Administrative expenses payable	96,277	     106,750
Accrued management fees (VK Capital)	         64,806	      91,747

	Total Liabilities	       933,471	     513,236

Partners? Capital

Limited Partners (14,322.407 and
    16,577.488 Units, respectively)	24,554,825	35,521,922
General Partner (183.167 and
    208.167 Units, respectively)	       314,028	      446,056

	Total Partners? Capital	    24,868,853	 35,967,978

	Total Liabilities and Partners? Capital	    25,802,324	 36,481,214


NET ASSET VALUE PER UNIT                                   	      1,714.43	     2,142.78


	The accompanying notes are an integral part
	of these financial statements.


<page> <table> DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L.P.
	STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(Unaudited)



                                  For the Three	 Months                 For the Nine
Months
                            Ended September 30,                 Ended September 30,


                     2005   	                 2004    	       2005   	    2004
                       $	                    $		           $	  $
INVESTMENT INCOME
	Interest income (Morgan Stanley DW)	   180,990		     99,726	   508,223		          261,076

EXPENSES
	Brokerage commissions (Morgan Stanley DW)	308,534	318,491	1,067,873		1,342,752
	Management fees (VK Capital)	197,946      	    244,488	 648,244		   848,241
	Administrative expenses	28,000	39,000	90,000		101,000
	Transaction fees and costs	      14,854	       16,011    	        57,333		        63,363

		   Total Expenses 	     549,334	     617,990	   1,863,450		    2,355,356

NET INVESTMENT LOSS 	    (368,344)	    (518,264)	  (1,355,227)		  (2,094,280)

TRADING RESULTS
Trading profit (loss):
	Realized	2,102,867 	(3,770,008)	(2,157,802)		(4,202,534)
	Net change in unrealized	   (2,810,329)	  4,468,406 	   (3,552,231)	      	   (533,085)
			(707,462)	698,398	(5,710,033)		(4,735,619)
Proceeds from Litigation Settlement	     ?   	       10,904	     ?   		       10,904

	           Total Trading Results	      (707,462)	      709,302	   (5,710,033)		   (4,724,715)

NET INCOME (LOSS)	   (1,075,806)	      191,038	    (7,065,260)	           (6,818,995)

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATION

	Limited Partners	(1,061,916)	  188,642	(6,976,651)		(6,740,205)
	General Partner 	(13,890)	2,396	    	(88,609)	(78,790)


NET INCOME (LOSS) PER UNIT

	Limited Partners                                                  	        (69.41)                  11.51	(428.35)	(378.50)
	General Partner                                                   	        (69.41)                  11.51	(428.35)	(378.50)





The accompanying notes are an integral part
	of these financial statements.


<page> <table> DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L.P.
STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS? CAPITAL
For the Nine Months Ended September 30, 2005 and 2004
(Unaudited)




	  Units of
	  Partnership	Limited	General
	    Interest    	   Partners   	    Partner    	      Total
		$	$	$
Partners? Capital,
December 31, 2003	18,667.856	41,349,447	466,291	41,815,738

Net Loss                                                                   ?		(6,740,205)	(78,790)	(6,818,995)

Redemptions	  (1,397.625)	 (2,848,348)	    ?   	 (2,848,348)

Partners? Capital,
September 30, 2004	  17,270.231	 31,760,894	    387,501	  32,148,395




Partners? Capital,
December 31, 2004	16,785.655	    35,521,922	446,056	35,967,978

Net Loss                                                                   ?		(6,976,651)	(88,609)  	(7,065,260)

Redemptions	  (2,280.081)	 (3,990,446)	      (43,419)	  (4,033,865)

Partners? Capital,
September 30, 2005	  14,505.574	 24,554,825	    314,028	  24,868,853










	The accompanying notes are an integral part
	of these financial statements.


<page> <table> DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L.P.
STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
(Unaudited)





	    For the Nine Months Ended September 30,

	       2005     	      2004
	     $	     $

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES

Net loss		(7,065,260)	(6,818,995)
Noncash item included in net loss:
	Net change in unrealized	 3,552,231	533,085

Increase in operating assets:
	Interest receivable (Morgan Stanley DW)	                                            (8,275)	(12,036)

Decrease in operating liabilities:
	Administrative expenses payable	(10,473)	    (11,703)
	Accrued management fees (VK Capital)	      (26,941)	       (24,597)

Net cash used for operating activities	  (3,558,718)	   (6,334,246)


CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES

Cash paid from redemptions of Units	   (3,576,216)	    (2,826,769)

Net cash used for financing activities	   (3,576,216)	    (2,826,769)

Net decrease in cash	(7,134,934)	(9,161,015)

Balance at beginning of period	   33,183,507	  39,854,002

Balance at end of period	   26,048,573	  30,692,987




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

Morgan Stanley DW Inc. (?Morgan Stanley DW?). The clearing commodity brokers are Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated (?MS & Co.?) and Morgan Stanley & Co. International Limited (?MSIL?). The trading manager is VK Capital Inc., formerly, Morgan Stanley Futures & Currency Management Inc. (?VK Capital? or the ?Trading Manager?). Demeter, Morgan Stanley DW, MS & Co., MSIL, and VK Capital are wholly-owned subsidiaries of Morgan Stanley.

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

3.  Financial Instruments
The Partnership trades futures and forward contracts on physical commodities and other commodity interests, including, but not
<page> limited to, foreign currencies, financial instruments,
metals, energy, and agricultural products. Futures and forwards represent contracts for delayed delivery of an instrument at a specified date and price. Risk arises from changes in the value of these contracts and the potential inability of counterparties to perform under the terms of the contracts. There are numerous factors which may significantly influence the market value of these contracts, including interest rate volatility.

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
	Net Unrealized Gains/(Losses)
	 on Open Contracts	           Longest Maturities

	Exchange-	Off-Exchange-		Exchange-	Off-Exchange-
Date	  Traded  	  Traded     	Total	 Traded  	   Traded
                     $              $           $

Sep. 30, 2005	1,343,862	(1,650,310)	(306,448)	Jan. 2006	Jan. 2006
Dec. 31, 2004	2,066,811	1,178,972	3,245,783	Sep. 2005	Mar. 2005

The Partnership has credit risk associated with counterparty non-performance. The credit risk associated with the instruments in
<page> which the Partnership trades is limited to the amounts
reflected in the Partnership?s Statements of Financial Condition.

The Partnership also has credit risk because Morgan Stanley DW, MS & Co., and MSIL act as the futures commission merchants or the counterparties, with respect to most of the Partnership?s assets. Exchange-traded futures and forward contracts are marked to market on a daily basis, with variations in value settled on a daily basis. Morgan Stanley DW, MS & Co., and MSIL, each as a futures commission merchant for the Partnership?s exchange-traded futures and forward contracts, are required, pursuant to regulations of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (?CFTC?), to segregate from their own assets, and for the sole benefit of their commodity customers, all funds held by them with respect to exchange-traded futures and forward contracts, including an amount equal to the net unrealized gains (losses) on all open futures and forward contracts, which funds, in the aggregate, totaled $27,392,435
and $35,250,318 at September 30, 2005 and December 31, 2004,
respectively. With respect to the Partnership?s off-exchange-traded forward currency contracts, there are no daily exchange-required settlements of variation in value, nor is there any requirement that an amount equal to the net unrealized gains (losses) on open forward contracts be segregated. However, the





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

Results of Operations
General. The Partnership?s results depend on the Trading Manager and the ability of the Trading Manager?s trading programs to take advantage of price movements in the futures and forwards markets. The following presents a summary of the Partnership?s operations for the three and nine month periods ended September 30, 2005 and 2004, and a general discussion of its trading activities during each period. It is important to note, however, that the Trading Manager trades in various markets at different times and that prior activity in a particular market does not mean that such market will be actively traded by the Trading Manager or will be profitable in the future. Consequently, the results of operations of the Partnership are difficult to discuss other than in the context of the Trading Manager?s trading activities on behalf of <page> the Partnership during the period in question. Past performance is no guarantee of future results.
The Partnership?s results of operations set forth in the financial statements on pages 2 through 11 of this report are prepared in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America, which require the use of certain accounting policies that affect the amounts reported in these financial statements, including the following: The contracts the Partnership trades are accounted for on a trade-date basis and marked to market on a daily basis. The difference between their cost and market value is recorded on the Statements of Operations as ?Net change in unrealized trading profit (loss)? for open (unrealized) contracts, and recorded as ?Realized trading profit
(loss)? when open positions are closed out. The sum of these amounts, along with the ?Proceeds from Litigation Settlement? constitute the Partnership?s trading results. The market value of a futures contract is the settlement price on the exchange on which that futures contract is traded on a particular day. The value of foreign currency forward contracts is based on the spot rate as of the close of business. Interest income, as well as management fees, incentive fees, and brokerage commissions expenses of the Partnership are recorded on an accrual basis.

Demeter believes that, based on the nature of the operations of
the Partnership, no assumptions relating to the application of
<page> critical accounting policies other than those presently
used could reasonably affect reported amounts.

For the Three and Nine Months Ended September 30, 2005
The Partnership recorded total trading results including interest income totaling $(526,472) and expenses totaling $549,334, resulting in a net loss of $1,075,806 for the three months ended September 30, 2005. The Partnership?s net asset value per Unit decreased from $1,783.84 at June 30, 2005 to $1,714.43 at September 30, 2005.

The most significant trading losses of approximately 8.2% were recorded within the currency markets during August from long U.S. dollar positions against the euro, Japanese yen, and Swiss franc, as the value of the U.S. dollar declined amid higher crude oil prices, lower durable goods orders data, the U.S. trade imbalance, and economic warnings from U.S. Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan. The Japanese yen?s value was pushed higher early in the month amid expectations for improvements in the Japanese economy, while the value of the euro was strengthened by strong signals of euro-zone economic improvement. Elsewhere in the currency markets, losses were experienced from long positions in the euro versus the British pound cross-rate as the value of the pound reversed higher against the euro. Smaller losses were incurred from long positions in the Singapore dollar against the U.S. dollar as the
<page> value of the Singapore dollar finished lower. During
September, losses were incurred from short U.S. dollar positions against the Japanese yen, euro, and Swiss franc, as the value of the U.S. dollar increased during the month. The main driver of the U.S. dollar strength was expectations that the U.S. Federal Reserve would most likely continue to raise interest rates. In addition, the value of the euro was pulled lower after the release of lower 2005 and 2006 growth estimates for the European economy and news that Germany?s incumbent Chancellor, Gerhard Schroeder, refused to concede defeat to the opposition leader, Angela Merkel, in the days after the election. Additional losses of approximately 7.4% were recorded in the global interest rate futures markets throughout the quarter from both long and short positions in European, Japanese, U.S., and Australian fixed-income futures as prices moved without consistent direction amid conflicting economic data, uncertainty regarding the future interest rate policy of the United States and the European Union, and volatility in energy prices.
Smaller losses of approximately 0.4% were recorded in the metals markets, primarily during July and August, from positions in aluminum and gold as prices moved in a choppy manner amid conflicting news regarding supply and demand and volatility in the U.S. dollar. A portion of the Partnership?s overall losses for the quarter was offset by gains of approximately 7.4% in the energy markets during August from long positions in natural gas and crude oil as prices climbed higher after Hurricane Katrina
<page> struck the U.S. Gulf Coast, resulting in heavily damaged
or destroyed refineries and production facilities. Further gains were experienced during September from long positions in natural gas as prices continued to strengthen in response to concerns for the long-term effects on supplies in the Gulf of Mexico after Hurricane Katrina. Also pushing prices higher was anticipation of strong demand in the coming winter months and fears for the approach of Hurricane Rita and the additional damage it could have caused to output in the Gulf of Mexico. Additional gains of approximately 5.1% were experienced in the global stock index futures markets, primarily during July and September, from long positions in European and Pacific Rim equity index futures as prices increased on strong corporate earnings, a decline in oil prices and signs that the global economy could move forward despite Hurricane Katrina's devastation of the U.S. Gulf Coast. In the agricultural markets, gains of approximately 0.2% were recorded during August and September from short positions in coffee futures as prices trended lower amid news of lower global consumption and a strong crop from Brazil and Colombia.

The Partnership recorded total trading results including interest income totaling $(5,201,810) and expenses totaling $1,863,450, resulting in a net loss of $7,065,260 for the nine months ended September 30, 2005. The Partnership?s net asset value per Unit
<page> decreased from $2,142.78 at December 31, 2004 to $1,714.43
     at September 30, 2005.

The most significant trading losses of approximately 20.7% were recorded in the currency markets from positions in the euro relative to the British pound and the U.S. dollar. During January, long positions in the euro versus the British pound and the U.S. dollar incurred losses as the value of the euro reversed sharply lower in what many analysts described as a ?corrective? move after its strong upward trend during the fourth quarter of 2004. This decline in the value of the euro was attributed to weak economic data out of the European Union and a rebound in the value of its main rival, the U.S. dollar. Additional losses were recorded during February and March from both long and short positions in the euro against these currencies as the value of the euro moved without consistent direction amid conflicting economic data out of Germany, the European Union?s largest economy. Elsewhere in the currency markets, losses resulted from positions in the Singapore dollar, Swedish krona, South African rand, and Swiss franc relative to the U.S dollar, primarily during February and March, as the value of the U.S. dollar moved in a trendless range amid speculation that China would revalue its currency, negative comments by U.S. Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan about the considerable U.S. Current-Account deficit and the U.S. Federal Reserve's announcement of a quarter-point increase in
<page> the federal funds rate.  During August, further losses
were incurred from long U.S. dollar positions against the euro, Swedish krona, and Swiss franc, as the value of the U.S. dollar declined amid higher crude oil prices, lower durable goods orders data, the U.S. trade imbalance, and economic warnings from U.S. Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan. Smaller losses in August were experienced from long positions in the euro versus the British pound cross-rate as the value of the pound reversed higher against the euro. Finally, during September, losses were incurred in currencies from short U.S. dollar futures positions against the euro, Swiss franc, and Swedish krona, as the value of the U.S. dollar increased during the month on expectations that the U.S. Federal Reserve would
most likely continue to raise interest rates.   Additional
losses of approximately 3.9% were recorded in the global interest rate futures markets during March from short European interest rate futures positions as prices reversed higher amid strength in the euro towards the beginning of the month as investors feared that continued strength in the currency could restrict foreign exports. Prices were also pushed higher on the expectations that Europe would continue to maintain a low-interest rate environment, as well as economic concerns stemming from surging energy prices. Further losses were experienced during February from long positions in long-term U.S. interest rate futures as prices declined in response to strong global economic data and congressional testimony by U.S. Federal <page> Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan, which supported Wall Street expectations for additional interest rate hikes. During the third quarter, losses were recorded from both long and short positions in U.S., Australian, and European fixed-income futures as prices moved without consistent direction amid conflicting economic data, uncertainty regarding the future interest rate policy of the United States and the European Union, and volatility in energy prices. Within the agricultural complex, losses of approximately 2.5% were recorded from both long and short positions in corn during March, April, May, and June as prices moved without consistent direction throughout most of the year due to conflicting news regarding supply and demand and weather related factors in the U.S. growing regions. Elsewhere in the agricultural markets, losses were experienced from short positions in cotton futures during January as prices moved higher early in the month due to speculative buying and news of a decrease in supply. Further losses were incurred from long positions in cotton futures during May as prices declined on news of weak demand in China and technically-based selling. Smaller losses were experienced during February, March, and September from positions in cocoa futures. Within the metals markets, losses of approximately 1.5% were recorded during April, June, July, and August from both long and short positions in gold and aluminum futures as prices moved in a choppy manner amid conflicting news regarding supply and demand and volatility in the U.S. dollar. A portion of the Partnership?s overall
<page> losses for the first nine months of the year was offset
by gains of approximately 7.0% in the global stock index futures markets during May, June, July, and September from long positions in European equity index futures as prices moved higher on strength in the technology sector, strong corporate earnings, and weakness in the euro, as investors expressed confidence that a weaker euro would boost European exports. Elsewhere in the global equity index markets, gains were recorded during September from long positions in Australian stock index futures as prices moved significantly higher on news of the largest ever annual jobs gain, an improvement in that country?s Current-Account deficit, and strong retail sales data.
 Additional gains of approximately 2.6% were experienced in the energy markets during May from long positions in natural gas futures as prices drifted higher on the heels of higher crude oil prices. During August, further gains resulted from long positions in natural gas as prices climbed higher after Hurricane Katrina struck the U.S. Gulf Coast, resulting in heavily damaged or destroyed production facilities. Additional gains were experienced during September from long positions in natural gas as prices continued to strengthen throughout the month in response to concerns for the long-term effects on supplies in the Gulf of Mexico after Hurricane Katrina. Also pushing prices higher was anticipation of strong demand in the coming winter months and fears for the approach of Hurricane
<page> Rita and the additional damage it could have caused to
output in the Gulf of Mexico.

For the Three and Nine Months Ended September 30, 2004
The Partnership recorded total trading results including interest income totaling $809,028 and expenses totaling $617,990, resulting in net income of $191,038 for the three months ended September 30, 2004. The Partnership?s net asset value per Unit increased from $1,849.98 at June 30, 2004 to $1,861.49 at September 30, 2004.

The most significant trading gains of approximately 5.0% were generated in the energy markets, primarily during July and September, from long positions in crude oil as prices strengthened due to continuing fears about potential terrorist attacks against the production and refining facilities in Saudi Arabia and Iraq, concerns that top Russian oil producer, Yukos, may break up or stop selling oil, major disruptions in oil production in the Gulf of Mexico due to Hurricane Ivan, and growing civil unrest in Nigeria. Elsewhere in the energy markets, gains were recorded during August from short positions in natural gas futures as prices drifted lower due to record reserves and heavily reduced market demand. Additional gains of approximately 1.8% were recorded in the global interest rate futures markets, primarily during August and September, from long positions in European interest rate futures as prices trended higher, boosted by a surge in oil prices, uncertainty in the
<page> global equity markets, and testimony by U.S. Federal
Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan depicting a somewhat less optimistic view about the immediate future of the U.S. economy. Smaller gains of approximately 0.5% were experienced in the agricultural markets during July and September from short positions in corn futures as prices weakened due to ideal weather conditions in the growing region of the U.S. Midwest, reports of increased inventories by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and weak export demand. A portion of the Partnership?s overall gains for the quarter was offset by losses of approximately 4.1% recorded in the currency markets during July and September from positions in the Australian dollar relative to the U.S. dollar as the value of the Australian dollar moved without consistent direction due to volatility in gold prices, geopolitical concerns regarding terror warnings in the Pacific Rim, and the decision by the Reserve Bank of Australia to raise interest rates. Elsewhere in the currency markets, losses resulted from positions in the euro versus the U.S. dollar and the Japanese yen as the value of the euro experienced short-term price volatility throughout the quarter due to higher energy prices and uncertainty about the direction of the ?euro-zone? economy. Smaller losses were incurred, primarily during September, from short positions in the Swiss franc against the U.S. dollar as the Swiss currency?s ?safe-haven? status pushed its value higher in reaction to
major geopolitical concerns. Within the metals markets, losses of approximately 1.8% were experienced during September from short <page> positions in nickel futures as base metals prices increased on continued demand from China and reports of lower-than-expected inventories. Elsewhere in the metals markets, losses were recorded primarily during July from short positions in copper futures as prices moved higher due to speculation of increased demand and reduced supply from Mexico. Smaller losses of approximately 0.4% were recorded in the global stock index futures markets during July and August from short positions in S&P 500 Index futures as prices temporarily bounced higher due to better-than-expected U.S. economic data.

The Partnership recorded total trading results including interest income totaling $(4,463,639) and expenses totaling $2,355,356, resulting in a net loss of $6,818,995 for the nine months ended September 30, 2004. The Partnership?s net asset value per Unit decreased from $2,239.99 at December 31, 2003 to $1,861.49 at September 30, 2004.

The most significant trading losses of approximately 18.3% were recorded in the currency markets from positions in the Japanese yen versus the U.S. dollar. These losses were experienced primarily during the first and second quarters from both long and short positions in the yen relative to the U.S. dollar as the value of the yen experienced significant short-term price volatility. Conflicting economic data regarding a Japanese economic recovery, uncertainty regarding a currency market <page> intervention by the Bank of Japan, geopolitical concerns stemming from instability in Iraq, and uncertainty regarding the direction of U.S. and Japanese interest rates contributed to the yen?s trendless price movements. Losses were also recorded from positions in the Singapore dollar against the U.S. dollar as the value of the Singapore dollar experienced significant ?whipsawing? during the first and second quarters in tandem
with the Japanese yen. The price volatility in the Japanese yen also resulted in losses from cross-rate positions in the euro versus the Japanese yen for the aforementioned reasons. In the third quarter, however, volatility in the euro was responsible for losses in euro/Japanese yen cross-rate positions as the value of the euro moved in a trendless pattern throughout the quarter due to higher energy prices and uncertainty about the direction of the ?euro-zone? economy. Additional losses of approximately 2.5% were incurred in the metals markets, primarily during April, from long futures positions in gold as precious metals prices weakened due to the strength in the U.S. dollar. Elsewhere in the metals markets, losses were recorded primarily during September from short positions in nickel futures as base metals prices increased on continued demand from China and reports of lower-than-expected inventories. Smaller losses of approximately 0.6% were recorded in the global stock index futures markets during March and May from long positions in S&P 500 Index futures as equity prices decreased on geopolitical concerns. During July and August, short positions in S&P 500 Index futures resulted in further <page> losses as prices temporarily bounced higher due to better-than-expected U.S. economic data. A portion of the Partnership?s overall losses for the first nine months of the year was offset by gains of approximately 3.4% in the energy markets. During February, May, July, and September, long positions in crude oil profited as prices trended higher due to consistent news of tight supply, continuing geopolitical concerns in the Middle East, concerns that top Russian oil producer, Yukos, may break up or stop selling oil, major disruptions in oil production in the Gulf of Mexico due to Hurricane Ivan, and growing civil unrest in Nigeria. Additional gains of approximately 2.4% were experienced in the agricultural markets during January, March, and June from long positions in corn futures as prices increased on news of strong demand from Asia. Further gains were experienced during July and August from short positions in corn futures as prices weakened due to ideal weather conditions in the growing regions of the U.S. Midwest, reports of increased inventories by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and
weaker export demand.   Elsewhere in the agricultural complex,
gains were recorded from short positions in cotton futures, primarily during March, April, June, and July, as prices trended lower amid rising supplies and news of a consistent decline in demand from China. Smaller gains of approximately 1.0% were recorded in the global interest rate futures markets from long positions in European interest rate futures during February, March, August, and September as prices rallied on uncertainty in the global equity markets, <page> disappointing economic data, ?safe-haven? buying amid major geopolitical concerns, and a
surge in oil prices.

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

The futures and forwards traded by the Partnership involve varying degrees of related market risk. Market risk is often dependent upon changes in the level or volatility of interest rates, exchange rates, and prices of financial instruments and commodities, factors that result in frequent changes in the fair value of the Partnership?s open positions, and consequently in its earnings, whether realized or unrealized, and cash flow. Gains and losses on open positions of exchange-traded futures and forwards are settled daily through variation margin. Gains and losses on off-exchange-traded forward currency contracts are settled upon termination of the contract, however, the <page> Partnership is required to meet margin requirements equal to the net unrealized loss on open contracts in the Partnership accounts with the counterparty, which is accomplished by daily maintenance of the cash balance in a custody account held at Morgan Stanley DW for the benefit of MS & Co.

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

The Partnership?s past performance is no guarantee of its future results. Any attempt to numerically quantify the Partnership?s market risk is limited by the uncertainty of its speculative trading. The Partnership?s speculative trading and use of leverage may cause future losses and volatility (i.e., ?risk of ruin?) that far exceed the Partnership?s experience to date under <page> the ?Partnership?s Value at Risk in Different Market Sectors? section and significantly exceed the Value at Risk (?VaR?) tables disclosed.
Limited partners will not be liable for losses exceeding the current net asset value of their investment.

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

The Partnership?s risk exposure in the market sectors traded by the Trading Manager is estimated below in terms of VaR. The Partnership estimates VaR using a model based upon historical simulation (with a confidence level of 99%) which involves <page> constructing a distribution of hypothetical daily changes in the value of a trading portfolio. The VaR model takes into account linear exposures to risk including equity and commodity prices, interest rates, foreign exchange rates, and correlation among these variables. The hypothetical changes in portfolio value are based on daily percentage changes observed in key market indices or other market factors (?market risk factors?) to which the portfolio is sensitive. The one-day 99% confidence level of the Partnership?s VaR corresponds to the negative change in portfolio value that, based on observed market risk factors, would have been exceeded once in 100 trading days, or one day in 100. VaR typically does not represent the worst case outcome. Demeter uses approximately four years of daily market data (1,000 observations) and revalues its portfolio (using delta-gamma approximations) for each of the historical market moves that occurred over this time period. This generates a probability distribution of daily ?simulated profit and loss? outcomes.
The VaR is the appropriate percentile of this distribution. For example, the 99% one-day VaR would represent the 10th worst outcome from Demeter?s simulated profit and loss series.

The Partnership?s VaR computations are based on the risk
representation of the underlying benchmark for each instrument or
contract and do not distinguish between exchange and non-exchange
dealer-based instruments. They are also not based on exchange
and/or dealer-based maintenance margin requirements.

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

The Partnership?s Value at Risk in Different Market Sectors
The following table indicates the VaR associated with the Partnership?s open positions as a percentage of total Net Assets by primary market risk category at September 30, 2005 and 2004. At September 30, 2005 and 2004, the Partnership?s total capitalization was approximately $25 million and $32 million, respectively.

Primary Market         September 30, 2005   September 30, 2004
Risk Category	  	     Value at Risk        Value at Risk

Equity				     (2.91)%	   	       -   %

Interest Rate				(1.31)  	      	(1.81)

Currency	  		   		(1.15)			(1.04)

Commodity		  			(0.61)   	      	(2.56)

Aggregate Value at Risk		(3.08)%		    	(4.04)%

<page> The VaR for a market category represents the one-day
downside risk for the aggregate exposures associated with this market category. The Aggregate Value at Risk listed above represents the VaR of the Partnership?s open positions across all the market categories, and is less than the sum of the VaRs for all such market categories due to the diversification benefit across asset classes.

Because the business of the Partnership is the speculative trading of futures and forwards, the composition of its trading portfolio can change significantly over any given time period, or even within a single trading day, which could positively or negatively materially impact market risk as measured by VaR.

The table below supplements the quarter-end VaR set forth above
by presenting the Partnership?s high, low, and average VaR, as a
percentage of total Net Assets for the four quarter-end reporting
periods from October 1, 2004 through September 30, 2005.

Primary Market Risk Category        High      Low      Average
Equity	(2.91)%	(0.66)%	(2.09)%

Interest Rate	(1.85)	(0.58)	(1.38)

Currency	(2.28)	(1.15)	(1.47)

Commodity	(4.45)	(0.31)	(1.44)

Aggregate Value at Risk	(6.79)%	(1.79)%	(3.56)%

Limitations on Value at Risk as an Assessment of Market Risk
<page> VaR models permit estimation of a portfolio?s aggregate
market risk exposure, incorporating a range of varied market risks; reflect risk reduction due to portfolio diversification or hedging activities; and can cover a wide range of portfolio assets. However, VaR risk measures should be viewed in light of the methodology?s limitations, which include, but may not be limited to the following:
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

The VaR tables provided present the results of the Partnership?s VaR for each of the Partnership?s market risk exposures and on an aggregate basis at September 30, 2005, and for the four quarter-end reporting periods from October 1, 2004 through September 30, 2005.
 VaR is not necessarily representative of the Partnership?s historic risk, nor should it be used to predict the Partnership?s future financial performance or its ability to manage or monitor risk. There can be no assurance that the Partnership?s actual losses on a particular day will not exceed the VaR amounts indicated above or that such losses will not occur more than once in 100 trading days.

Non-Trading Risk
The Partnership has non-trading market risk on its foreign cash
balances.  These balances and any market risk they may represent
are immaterial.

The Partnership also maintains a substantial portion of its available assets in cash at Morgan Stanley DW; as of September 30, 2005, such amount is equal to approximately 94% of the Partnership?s net asset value. A decline in short-term interest rates would result in a decline in the Partnership?s cash management income. This cash flow risk is not considered to be material.

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

The following were the primary trading risk exposures of the
Partnership at September 30, 2005, by market sector.  It may be
anticipated, however, that these market exposures will vary
materially over time.

Equity. The largest market exposure of the Partnership at September 30, 2005 was to the global stock index sector, primarily to equity price risk in the G-7 countries. The G-7 countries consist of France, the U.S., Britain, Germany, Japan, Italy, and Canada. The stock index futures traded by the Partnership are by law limited to futures on broadly-based indices. At September 30, 2005, the Partnership?s primary exposures were to the CAC 40 (France), DAX (Germany), and Hang Seng (China) stock indices. The Partnership is exposed to the risk of adverse price trends or static markets in the U.S., European, and Asian stock indices. Static markets would not cause major market changes, but would make it difficult for the Partnership to avoid trendless price movements, resulting in numerous small losses.

Interest Rate.	  The second largest market exposure of the
Partnership at September 30, 2005 was to the global interest rate sector. Exposure was primarily spread across the European, Japanese, and U.S. interest rate sectors. Interest rate movements <page> directly affect the price of the sovereign bond futures positions held by the Partnership and indirectly affect the value of its stock index and currency positions. Interest rate movements in one country, as well as relative interest rate movements between countries, materially impact the Partnership?s profitability. The Partnership?s primary interest rate exposure is generally to interest rate fluctuations in the U.S. and the other G-7 countries. However, the Partnership also takes futures positions in the government debt of smaller countries ? e.g., Australia. Demeter anticipates that the G-7 countries interest rate will remain the primary interest rate exposure of the Partnership for the foreseeable future. The speculative futures positions held by the Partnership may range from short to long-term instruments. Consequently, changes in short, medium, or long-term interest rates may have an effect on the Partnership.

Currency. The third largest market exposure of the Partnership at September 30, 2005 was the currency sector. The Partnership?s currency exposure is to exchange rate fluctuations, primarily fluctuations which disrupt the historical pricing relationships between different currencies and currency pairs. Interest rate changes, as well as political and general economic conditions influence these fluctuations. The Partnership trades a number of currencies, including cross-rates - i.e., positions between two currencies other than the U.S. dollar. At September 30, 2005, the Partnership?s major exposures were to the euro and British pound <page> currency crosses, as well as to outright U.S. dollar positions. Outright positions consist of the U.S. dollar vs. other currencies. These other currencies include major and minor currencies. Demeter does not anticipate that the risk associated with the Partnership?s currency trades will change significantly in the future.

Commodity.
Metals.	  At September 30, 2005, the Partnership had market
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

Energy. At September 30, 2005, the Partnership had market exposure to the energy sector. The Partnership?s energy exposure was primarily by futures contracts in natural gas.
 Natural gas has exhibited volatility in process resulting from weather patterns and supply and demand factors and will likely continue in this choppy pattern.

Soft Commodities and Agriculturals.  At September 30, 2005,
the Partnership had market exposure to the markets that
comprise these sectors.  Most of the exposure was to the
corn, soybeans, and coffee markets.  Supply and demand
inequalities, severe weather disruptions, and market
expectations affect price movements in these markets.

Qualitative Disclosures Regarding Non-Trading Risk Exposure
The following was the only non-trading risk exposure of the
Partnership at September 30, 2005:

Foreign Currency Balances. The Partnership?s primary foreign currency balances at September 30, 2005 were in Australian dollars, British pounds, and Hong Kong dollars. The Partnership controls the non-trading risk of foreign currency balances by regularly converting them back into U.S. dollars upon liquidation of their respective positions.

Qualitative Disclosures Regarding Means of Managing Risk Exposure The Partnership and the Trading Manager, separately, attempt to manage the risk of the Partnership?s open positions in essentially the same manner in all market categories traded. Demeter attempts to manage market exposure by diversifying the Partnership?s assets among different market sectors and trading approaches, and by monitoring the performance of the Trading
<page> Manager daily. In addition, the Trading Manager
establishes diversification guidelines, often set in terms of the maximum margin to be committed to positions in any one market sector or market-sensitive instrument.

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


<page> PART II.  OTHER INFORMATION

Item 5.  OTHER INFORMATION
Subsequent Event. Effective October 3, 2005, with the consent of the general partner, VK Capital began trading approximately 20% of the Partnership?s assets pursuant to its QDS Program, as described below. The allocation to the QDS Program was primarily done to diversify the trading methodologies of the Trading Manager with the objective of enhancing the overall risk/return characteristics of the Partnership. The QDS Program has been trading approximately $1.4 million of proprietary assets of a Morgan Stanley affiliate since the inception of the QDS Program in August 2004.


The QDS Program is a diversified systematic trading program designed to provide consistent returns with strict risk control measures. The portfolio composition includes a diverse group of global futures and currency markets which include the Agriculture, Currency, Energy, Global Stocks, Global Financial, and Metal complexes. QDS positions itself with managed exposure to take advantage of significant longer term price moves via algorithms that highlight trading opportunities.

VK Capital will continue to trade approximately 40% of the Partnership?s assets pursuant to its Diversified Portfolio and approximately 40% of the Partnership?s assets pursuant to its Global Portfolio. Subject to the prior approval of the General
<page> Partner, VK Capital may, at any time, trade some or all of
the Partnership?s assets among one or more of its other trading
programs.


Item 6.  EXHIBITS
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












DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND III L.P.
NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)