Exhibit 99.2

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Financial Supplement - Third Quarter 2009

The information included in the Financial Supplement is unaudited. This document should be read in conjunction with the Company’s Form 10-Q which will be filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Index

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Financial Highlights ($ and shares in millions, except per share data)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Net income	$967	$942	$214	$801	$662	$740	$935	$2,123	$2,337
Net income per share: (1)
Basic	$1.56	$1.56	$0.36	$1.36	$1.12	$1.27	$1.66	$3.51	$4.05
Diluted	$1.54	$1.54	$0.36	$1.35	$1.11	$1.27	$1.65	$3.47	$4.02

Operating income	$1,008	$918	$330	$939	$799	$732	$914	$2,256	$2,445
Operating income per share: (1)
Basic	$1.63	$1.52	$0.56	$1.60	$1.36	$1.26	$1.62	$3.73	$4.24
Diluted	$1.60	$1.50	$0.55	$1.58	$1.34	$1.25	$1.61	$3.68	$4.21

Return on equity	14.6%	14.4%	3.4%	12.8%	10.2%	11.1%	13.6%	10.9%	11.7%
Operating return on equity	15.6%	14.3%	5.1%	14.7%	12.4%	11.3%	14.1%	11.7%	12.6%

Total assets, at period end	$114,144	$113,625	$112,695	$109,751	$110,467	$111,326	$112,617	$112,695	$112,617
Total equity, at period end	$26,388	$25,923	$24,721	$25,319	$26,497	$26,920	$28,160	$24,721	$28,160

Book value per share, at period end	$43.31	$43.56	$41.94	$43.12	$45.12	$47.29	$51.24	$41.94	$51.24
Less: Net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax	0.95	0.11	(1.40)	(0.25)	0.93	1.53	4.08	(1.40)	4.08
Adjusted book value per share, at period end	$42.36	$43.45	$43.34	$43.37	$44.19	$45.76	$47.16	$43.34	$47.16

Weighted average number of common shares outstanding (basic) (1)	615.4	598.2	586.7	583.6	584.6	575.8	558.4	600.0	572.8
Weighted average number of common shares outstanding and common stock equivalents (diluted) (1)	624.8	607.9	594.7	590.3	590.4	579.8	564.1	609.1	577.5
Common shares outstanding at period end	606.9	592.8	587.2	585.1	585.3	567.5	547.9	587.2	547.9

Common stock dividends declared	$178	$180	$177	$177	$177	$172	$166	$535	$515

Common stock repurchased:
Under repurchase authorization (2)
Shares	20.8	15.3	6.2	2.7	—	18.5	20.8	42.3	39.3
Cost	$1,000	$750	$272	$100	$—	$750	$1,000	$2,022	$1,750
Other
Shares	0.6	0.1	0.1	—	0.7	0.3	—	0.8	1.0
Cost	$28	$7	$2	$1	$27	$13	$3	$37	$43

(1)  In accordance with new guidance on determining whether instruments granted in share-based payment transactions are participating securities, which was effective January 1, 2009, all prior-period basic and diluted EPS data has been restated to reflect the retrospective application of this guidance.

(2)  Repurchased under Board of Director authorization.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Reconciliation to Net Income and Earnings Per Share (1) ($ and shares in millions, except earnings per share)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Net income
Operating income	$1,008	$918	$330	$939	$799	$732	$914	$2,256	$2,445
Net realized investment gains (losses)	(41)	24	(116)	(138)	(137)	8	21	(133)	(108)
Net income	$967	$942	$214	$801	$662	$740	$935	$2,123	$2,337

Basic earnings per share
Operating income	$1.63	$1.52	$0.56	$1.60	$1.36	$1.26	$1.62	$3.73	$4.24
Net realized investment gains (losses)	(0.07)	0.04	(0.20)	(0.24)	(0.24)	0.01	0.04	(0.22)	(0.19)
Net income	$1.56	$1.56	$0.36	$1.36	$1.12	$1.27	$1.66	$3.51	$4.05

Diluted earnings per share
Operating income	$1.60	$1.50	$0.55	$1.58	$1.34	$1.25	$1.61	$3.68	$4.21
Net realized investment gains (losses)	(0.06)	0.04	(0.19)	(0.23)	(0.23)	0.02	0.04	(0.21)	(0.19)
Net income	$1.54	$1.54	$0.36	$1.35	$1.11	$1.27	$1.65	$3.47	$4.02

Adjustments to net income and weighted average shares for net income EPS calculations: (2)
								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Basic
Net income, as reported	$967	$942	$214	$801	$662	$740	$935	$2,123	$2,337
Preferred stock dividends, net of taxes	(1)	(1)	(1)	(1)	(1)	(1)	(1)	(3)	(3)
Participating share-based awards - allocated income	(6)	(7)	(1)	(6)	(5)	(5)	(6)	(14)	(16)
Net income available to common shareholders - basic	$960	$934	$212	$794	$656	$734	$928	$2,106	$2,318

Diluted
Net income available to common shareholders - basic	$960	$934	$212	$794	$656	$734	$928	$2,106	$2,318
Effect of dilutive securities:
Performance shares	—	—	—	—	—	—	1	—	1
Convertible preferred stock	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	3	3
Zero coupon convertible notes	1	1	1	1	1	—	—	3	1
Net income available to common shareholders - diluted	$962	$936	$214	$796	$658	$735	$930	$2,112	$2,323

Common Shares
Basic
Weighted average shares outstanding	615.4	598.2	586.7	583.6	584.6	575.8	558.4	600.0	572.8

Diluted
Weighted average shares outstanding	615.4	598.2	586.7	583.6	584.6	575.8	558.4	600.0	572.8
Weighted average effects of dilutive securities:
Stock options and performance shares	4.4	4.8	3.3	2.1	2.0	1.9	3.7	4.2	2.1
Convertible preferred stock	2.6	2.5	2.3	2.2	2.2	2.1	2.0	2.5	2.1
Zero coupon convertible notes	2.4	2.4	2.4	2.4	1.6	—	—	2.4	0.5
Diluted weighted average shares outstanding	624.8	607.9	594.7	590.3	590.4	579.8	564.1	609.1	577.5

(1)  In accordance with new guidance on determining whether instruments granted in share-based payment transactions are participating securities, which was effective January 1, 2009, all prior-period basic and diluted EPS data has been restated to reflect the retrospective application of this guidance.

(2)  Adjustments to net income and weighted average shares for net income EPS calculations can also be used for the operating income EPS calculations.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Statement of Income - Consolidated ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Revenues
Premiums	$5,340	$5,357	$5,448	$5,434	$5,301	$5,353	$5,421	$16,145	$16,075
Net investment income	815	778	716	483	542	658	763	2,309	1,963
Fee income	105	90	120	75	73	89	72	315	234
Net realized investment gains (losses)	(62)	36	(170)	(219)	(214)	13	29	(196)	(172)
Other revenues	34	34	31	32	33	49	42	99	124
Total revenues	6,232	6,295	6,145	5,805	5,735	6,162	6,327	18,672	18,224

Claims and expenses
Claims and claim adjustment expenses	3,021	3,092	3,871	3,009	3,190	3,335	3,123	9,984	9,648
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs	954	961	990	975	944	953	967	2,905	2,864
General and administrative expenses (1)	853	864	1,001	800	782	839	889	2,718	2,510
Interest expense	90	91	95	94	92	94	98	276	284
Total claims and expenses	4,918	5,008	5,957	4,878	5,008	5,221	5,077	15,883	15,306

Income before income taxes	1,314	1,287	188	927	727	941	1,250	2,789	2,918
Income tax expense (benefit)	347	345	(26)	126	65	201	315	666	581
Net income	$967	$942	$214	$801	$662	$740	$935	$2,123	$2,337

Net realized investment gains (losses)
Other-than-temporary impairment losses:
Total losses	$(38)	$(28)	$(156)	$(198)	$(184)	$(75)	$(43)	$(222)	$(302)
Portion of losses recognized in accumulated other changes in equity from nonowner sources	—	—	—	—	—	45	24	—	69
Other-than-temporary impairment losses	(38)	(28)	(156)	(198)	(184)	(30)	(19)	(222)	(233)
Other net realized investment gains (losses)	(24)	64	(14)	(21)	(30)	43	48	26	61
Net realized investment gains (losses)	$(62)	$36	$(170)	$(219)	$(214)	$13	$29	$(196)	$(172)

Other statistics
Effective tax rate on net investment income	20.2%	19.8%	18.1%	9.5%	12.6%	16.7%	19.2%	19.4%	16.6%
Net investment income (after-tax)	$650	$624	$587	$438	$474	$547	$616	$1,861	$1,637

Catastrophes, net of reinsurance (2):
Pre-tax	$95	$356	$1,042	$(85)	$83	$200	$158	$1,493	$441
After-tax	$62	$231	$682	$(56)	$54	$130	$103	$975	$287

(1)  In 3Q 2008, 4Q 2008, 1Q 2009 and 2Q 2009 “General and administrative expenses” includes $176 million, $(35) million, $(61) million, and $(26) million respectively, of estimated hurricane-related assessments from state-created insurance and windstorm insurance entities.

(2)  In 4Q 2008, “Catastrophes, net of reinsurance” includes a net benefit from re-estimation of current year catastrophe losses.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Net Income by Major Component and Combined Ratio - Consolidated ($ in millions, net of tax)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Underwriting gain (loss)	$401	$338	$(208)	$545	$353	$206	$338	$531	$897
Net investment income	650	624	587	438	474	547	616	1,861	1,637
Other, including interest expense	(43)	(44)	(49)	(44)	(28)	(21)	(40)	(136)	(89)
Operating income	1,008	918	330	939	799	732	914	2,256	2,445
Net realized investment gains (losses)	(41)	24	(116)	(138)	(137)	8	21	(133)	(108)
Net income	$967	$942	$214	$801	$662	$740	$935	$2,123	$2,337

GAAP Combined ratio (1) (2)
Loss and loss adjustment expense ratio	55.7%	57.0%	69.9%	54.9%	59.7%	61.4%	57.0%	60.9%	59.4%
Underwriting expense ratio (3)	31.9%	32.3%	34.8%	31.0%	30.9%	31.8%	32.7%	33.1%	31.8%
Combined ratio	87.6%	89.3%	104.7%	85.9%	90.6%	93.2%	89.7%	94.0%	91.2%
GAAP combined ratio excluding incremental impact of direct to consumer initiative	87.5%	89.2%	104.5%	85.7%	90.1%	92.6%	89.1%	93.8%	90.6%

Impact of catastrophes on combined ratio (4)	1.8%	6.6%	19.1%	-1.6%	1.6%	3.7%	2.9%	9.3%	2.7%
Impact of prior year reserve development on combined ratio	-7.5%	-9.8%	-6.2%	-5.1%	-4.9%	-4.9%	-5.7%	-7.8%	-5.1%

(1) Before policyholder dividends.

(2)  Billing and policy fees, which are a component of other revenues, are allocated as a reduction of underwriting expenses. In addition, fee income is allocated as a reduction of losses and loss adjustment expenses and underwriting expenses as follows:

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Billing and policy fees	$27	$26	$27	$26	$27	$27	$26	$80	$80
Fee income:
Loss and loss adjustment expenses	$43	$30	$58	$13	$20	$42	$24	$131	$86
Underwriting expenses	62	60	62	62	53	47	48	184	148
Total fee income	$105	$90	$120	$75	$73	$89	$72	$315	$234

(3)  The impact of changes in prior year estimates of hurricane-related assessments, which is not included in the impact of catastrophes or prior year reserve development on the combined ratio, is (1.2), (0.5), and (0.5) points for 1Q 2009, 2Q 2009, and YTD 3Q 2009, respectively.

(4)  The impact of catastrophes on the combined ratios for the three months ended September 30, 2008 and December 31, 2008 included 15.8 and (1.0) point impacts, respectively, on the loss and loss adjustment expense ratio, and 3.3 and (0.6) point impacts, respectively, on the underwriting expense ratio.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Operating Income - Consolidated ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Revenues
Premiums	$5,340	$5,357	$5,448	$5,434	$5,301	$5,353	$5,421	$16,145	$16,075
Net investment income	815	778	716	483	542	658	763	2,309	1,963
Fee income	105	90	120	75	73	89	72	315	234
Other revenues	34	34	31	32	33	49	42	99	124
Total revenues	6,294	6,259	6,315	6,024	5,949	6,149	6,298	18,868	18,396

Claims and expenses
Claims and claim adjustment expenses	3,021	3,092	3,871	3,009	3,190	3,335	3,123	9,984	9,648
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs	954	961	990	975	944	953	967	2,905	2,864
General and administrative expenses	853	864	1,001	800	782	839	889	2,718	2,510
Interest expense	90	91	95	94	92	94	98	276	284
Total claims and expenses	4,918	5,008	5,957	4,878	5,008	5,221	5,077	15,883	15,306

Operating income before income taxes	1,376	1,251	358	1,146	941	928	1,221	2,985	3,090
Income tax expense	368	333	28	207	142	196	307	729	645
Operating income	$1,008	$918	$330	$939	$799	$732	$914	$2,256	$2,445

Other statistics
Effective tax rate on net investment income	20.2%	19.8%	18.1%	9.5%	12.6%	16.7%	19.2%	19.4%	16.6%
Net investment income (after-tax)	$650	$624	$587	$438	$474	$547	$616	$1,861	$1,637

Catastrophes, net of reinsurance (1):
Pre-tax	$95	$356	$1,042	$(85)	$83	$200	$158	$1,493	$441
After-tax	$62	$231	$682	$(56)	$54	$130	$103	$975	$287

(1)  In 4Q 2008, “Catastrophes, net of reinsurance” includes a net benefit from re-estimation of current year catastrophe losses.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Selected Statistics - Property and Casualty Operations ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Statutory underwriting
Gross written premiums	$5,933	$6,061	$6,134	$5,709	$5,863	$5,969	$5,935	$18,128	$17,767
Net written premiums	$5,188	$5,629	$5,481	$5,385	$5,203	$5,605	$5,340	$16,298	$16,148

Net earned premiums	$5,340	$5,357	$5,448	$5,434	$5,301	$5,353	$5,421	$16,145	$16,075
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	2,978	3,118	3,781	2,974	3,159	3,300	3,090	9,877	9,549
Underwriting expenses	1,706	1,766	1,811	1,643	1,710	1,724	1,770	5,283	5,204
Statutory underwriting gain (loss)	656	473	(144)	817	432	329	561	985	1,322
Policyholder dividends	7	9	4	11	8	6	7	20	21
Statutory underwriting gain (loss) after policyholder dividends	$649	$464	$(148)	$806	$424	$323	$554	$965	$1,301

Other statutory statistics
Reserves for losses and loss adjustment expenses	$42,840	$42,885	$42,848	$41,307	$41,156	$41,495	$41,357	$42,848	$41,357
Increase (decrease) in reserves	$(228)	$45	$(37)	$(1,541)	$(151)	$339	$(138)	$(220)	$50
Statutory surplus	$22,353	$22,288	$21,929	$21,491	$21,561	$21,267	$22,050	$21,929	$22,050
Net written premiums/surplus (1)	0.97:1	0.97:1	0.99:1	1.01:1	1.01:1	1.02:1	0.98:1	0.99:1	0.98:1

(1)  Based on 12 months of rolling net written premiums.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Written and Earned Premiums - Property and Casualty Operations ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Written premiums
Gross	$5,933	$6,061	$6,134	$5,709	$5,863	$5,969	$5,935	$18,128	$17,767
Ceded	(745)	(432)	(653)	(324)	(660)	(364)	(595)	(1,830)	(1,619)
Net	$5,188	$5,629	$5,481	$5,385	$5,203	$5,605	$5,340	$16,298	$16,148

Earned premiums
Gross	$5,932	$5,957	$6,035	$5,978	$5,808	$5,862	$5,915	$17,924	$17,585
Ceded	(592)	(600)	(587)	(544)	(507)	(509)	(494)	(1,779)	(1,510)
Net	$5,340	$5,357	$5,448	$5,434	$5,301	$5,353	$5,421	$16,145	$16,075

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Operating Income - Business Insurance ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Revenues
Premiums	$2,786	$2,781	$2,823	$2,790	$2,757	$2,770	$2,768	$8,390	$8,295
Net investment income	573	540	494	310	355	451	529	1,607	1,335
Fee income	105	90	120	75	73	89	72	315	234
Other revenues	6	7	8	9	6	12	14	21	32
Total revenues	3,470	3,418	3,445	3,184	3,191	3,322	3,383	10,333	9,896

Claims and expenses
Claims and claim adjustment expenses	1,558	1,556	1,952	1,542	1,618	1,644	1,508	5,066	4,770
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs	451	451	466	450	449	450	448	1,368	1,347
General and administrative expenses (1)	516	516	565	482	467	493	517	1,597	1,477
Interest expense	—	—	—	1	—	—	—	—	—
Total claims and expenses	2,525	2,523	2,983	2,475	2,534	2,587	2,473	8,031	7,594

Operating income before federal income taxes	945	895	462	709	657	735	910	2,302	2,302
Income taxes	262	237	84	90	110	175	242	583	527
Operating income	$683	$658	$378	$619	$547	$560	$668	$1,719	$1,775

Other statistics
Effective tax rate on net investment income	19.7%	19.2%	17.4%	6.3%	10.8%	15.9%	18.8%	18.8%	15.7%
Net investment income (after-tax)	$460	$436	$409	$291	$317	$379	$429	$1,305	$1,125

Catastrophes, net of reinsurance (2):
Pre-tax	$57	$185	$488	$(24)	$12	$59	$86	$730	$157
After-tax	$37	$120	$318	$(16)	$8	$38	$56	$475	$102

(1)  In 3Q 2008, 4Q 2008, 1Q 2009, and 2Q 2009 “General and administrative expenses” includes $76 million, $(14) million, $(26) million, and $(12) million, respectively, of estimated hurricane-related assessments from state-created insurance and windstorm insurance entities.

(2)  In 4Q 2008, “Catastrophes, net of reinsurance” includes a net benefit from re-estimation of current year catastrophe losses.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Operating Income by Major Component and Combined Ratio - Business Insurance ($ in millions, net of tax)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Underwriting gain (loss)	$219	$217	$(35)	$325	$226	$172	$228	$401	$626
Net investment income	460	436	409	291	317	379	429	1,305	1,125
Other	4	5	4	3	4	9	11	13	24
Operating income	$683	$658	$378	$619	$547	$560	$668	$1,719	$1,775

GAAP Combined ratio (1) (2)
Loss and loss adjustment expense ratio	54.2%	54.7%	67.1%	54.6%	57.8%	57.6%	53.5%	58.7%	56.3%
Underwriting expense ratio (3)	32.4%	32.4%	34.2%	31.1%	31.2%	32.2%	33.0%	33.0%	32.1%
Combined ratio	86.6%	87.1%	101.3%	85.7%	89.0%	89.8%	86.5%	91.7%	88.4%

Impact of catastrophes on combined ratio (4)	2.1%	6.6%	17.3%	-0.8%	0.4%	2.1%	3.1%	8.7%	1.9%
Impact of prior year reserve development on combined ratio	-11.2%	-12.8%	-8.7%	-7.3%	-6.6%	-7.8%	-9.5%	-10.9%	-8.0%

(1) Before policyholder dividends.

(2)  Billing and policy fees, which are a component of other revenues, are allocated as a reduction of underwriting expenses. In addition, fee income is allocated as a reduction of losses and loss adjustment expenses

and underwriting expenses as follows:

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Billing and policy fees	$3	$4	$3	$4	$4	$4	$4	$10	$12
Fee income:
Loss and loss adjustment expenses	$43	$30	$58	$13	$20	$42	$24	$131	$86
Underwriting expenses	62	60	62	62	53	47	48	184	148
Total fee income	$105	$90	$120	$75	$73	$89	$72	$315	$234

(3)  The impact of changes in prior year estimates of hurricane-related assessments, which is not included in the impact of catastrophes or prior year reserve development on the combined ratio, is (0.9), (0.4), and (0.5) points for 1Q 2009, 2Q 2009, and YTD 3Q 2009, respectively.

(4)  The impact of catastrophes on the combined ratios for the three months ended September 30, 2008 and December 31, 2008 included 14.6 and (0.3) point impacts, respectively, on the loss and loss adjustment expense ratio, and 2.7 and (0.5) point impacts, respectively, on the underwriting expense ratio.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Selected Statistics - Business Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Statutory underwriting
Gross written premiums	$3,308	$3,087	$3,215	$2,970	$3,294	$3,046	$3,029	$9,610	$9,369
Net written premiums	$2,911	$2,805	$2,748	$2,756	$2,963	$2,813	$2,611	$8,464	$8,387

Net earned premiums	$2,786	$2,781	$2,823	$2,790	$2,757	$2,770	$2,768	$8,390	$8,295
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	1,517	1,576	1,868	1,509	1,592	1,603	1,479	4,961	4,674
Underwriting expenses	903	897	922	842	903	877	892	2,722	2,672
Statutory underwriting gain	366	308	33	439	262	290	397	707	949
Policyholder dividends	4	6	2	6	4	4	4	12	12
Statutory underwriting gain after policyholder dividends	$362	$302	$31	$433	$258	$286	$393	$695	$937

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Net Written Premiums - Business Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Net written premiums by market
Select Accounts	$708	$724	$662	$662	$731	$732	$655	$2,094	$2,118
Commercial Accounts	673	550	635	666	710	564	609	1,858	1,883
National Accounts	246	241	240	269	259	227	197	727	683
Industry-Focused Underwriting	613	584	613	586	617	581	564	1,810	1,762
Target Risk Underwriting	423	445	366	359	422	458	360	1,234	1,240
Specialized Distribution	244	259	228	208	222	247	221	731	690
Total core	2,907	2,803	2,744	2,750	2,961	2,809	2,606	8,454	8,376
Business Insurance other	4	2	4	6	2	4	5	10	11
Total	$2,911	$2,805	$2,748	$2,756	$2,963	$2,813	$2,611	$8,464	$8,387

Net written premiums by product line
Commercial multi-peril	$791	$726	$693	$728	$789	$730	$682	$2,210	$2,201
Workers’ compensation	674	566	598	614	748	593	587	1,838	1,928
Commercial automobile	500	476	511	465	485	497	498	1,487	1,480
Property	482	515	433	430	463	507	401	1,430	1,371
General liability	462	520	510	519	479	486	443	1,492	1,408
Other	2	2	3	—	(1)	—	—	7	(1)
Total	$2,911	$2,805	$2,748	$2,756	$2,963	$2,813	$2,611	$8,464	$8,387

National accounts
Additions to claim volume under administration (1)	$712	$522	$482	$566	$594	$452	$403	$1,716	$1,449
Written fees	$103	$80	$85	$77	$85	$70	$65	$268	$220

(1)  Includes new and renewal business.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Operating Income - Financial, Professional & International Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Revenues
Premiums	$847	$852	$863	$867	$801	$810	$861	$2,562	$2,472
Net investment income	122	120	114	98	104	107	118	356	329
Other revenues	5	8	5	6	6	7	7	18	20
Total revenues	974	980	982	971	911	924	986	2,936	2,821

Claims and expenses
Claims and claim adjustment expenses	390	376	545	458	442	442	463	1,311	1,347
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs	159	163	166	164	146	151	162	488	459
General and administrative expenses (1)	144	149	149	139	138	146	141	442	425
Interest expense	—	1	1	—	—	—	—	2	—
Total claims and expenses	693	689	861	761	726	739	766	2,243	2,231

Operating income before federal income taxes	281	291	121	210	185	185	220	693	590
Income taxes	73	87	38	56	37	52	53	198	142
Operating income	$208	$204	$83	$154	$148	$133	$167	$495	$448

Other statistics
Effective tax rate on net investment income	23.5%	23.5%	22.0%	20.6%	19.4%	20.9%	21.7%	23.0%	20.7%
Net investment income (after-tax)	$93	$92	$89	$78	$84	$84	$93	$274	$261

Catastrophes, net of reinsurance (2):
Pre-tax	$—	$6	$91	$(13)	$—	$2	$4	$97	$6
After-tax	$—	$4	$64	$(10)	$—	$1	$3	$68	$4

(1)  In 3Q 2008, 4Q 2008, and 1Q 2009 “General and administrative expenses” includes $4 million, $(2) million, and $(1) million respectively, of estimated hurricane-related assessments from state-created insurance and windstorm insurance entities.

(2)  In 4Q 2008, “Catastrophes, net of reinsurance” includes a net benefit from re-estimation of current year catastrophe losses.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Operating Income by Major Component and Combined Ratio - Financial, Professional & International Insurance
($ in millions, net of tax)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Underwriting gain (loss)	$112	$107	$(8)	$72	$60	$44	$69	$211	$173
Net investment income	93	92	89	78	84	84	93	274	261
Other	3	5	2	4	4	5	5	10	14
Operating income	$208	$204	$83	$154	$148	$133	$167	$495	$448

GAAP Combined ratio (1)
Loss and loss adjustment expense ratio	45.7%	43.7%	62.9%	52.3%	54.7%	54.4%	53.3%	50.9%	54.1%
Underwriting expense ratio (2)	35.7%	36.7%	36.5%	34.9%	35.5%	36.5%	35.4%	36.3%	35.8%
Combined ratio	81.4%	80.4%	99.4%	87.2%	90.2%	90.9%	88.7%	87.2%	89.9%

Impact of catastrophes on combined ratio (3)	0.0%	0.6%	10.5%	-1.6%	0.0%	0.2%	0.5%	3.8%	0.2%
Impact of prior year reserve development on combined ratio	-7.4%	-15.5%	-4.9%	-4.2%	-1.4%	-1.4%	-2.9%	-9.2%	-1.9%

(1)  Before policyholder dividends.

(2)  The impact of changes in prior year estimates of hurricane-related assessments, which is not included in the impact of catastrophes or prior year reserve development on the combined ratio, is (0.1) and (0.0) points for 1Q 2009 and YTD 3Q 2009, respectively.

(3)  The impact of catastrophes on the combined ratios for the three months ended September 30, 2008 and December 31, 2008 included 9.8 and (1.5) point impacts, respectively, on the loss and loss adjustment expense ratio, and 0.7 and (0.1) point impacts, respectively, on the underwriting expense ratio.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Selected Statistics - Financial, Professional & International Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Statutory underwriting
Gross written premiums	$946	$1,065	$965	$990	$842	$975	$918	$2,976	$2,735
Net written premiums	$644	$985	$901	$938	$563	$914	$870	$2,530	$2,347

Net earned premiums	$847	$852	$863	$867	$801	$810	$861	$2,562	$2,472
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	387	383	539	456	437	448	459	1,309	1,344
Underwriting expenses	311	317	299	286	286	298	288	927	872
Statutory underwriting gain	149	152	25	125	78	64	114	326	256
Policyholder dividends	3	3	2	5	4	2	3	8	9
Statutory underwriting gain after policyholder dividends	$146	$149	$23	$120	$74	$62	$111	$318	$247

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Net Written Premiums - Financial, Professional & International Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Net written premiums by market
Bond & Financial Products	$355	$592	$609	$570	$334	$558	$574	$1,556	$1,466
International	289	393	292	368	229	356	296	974	881
Total	$644	$985	$901	$938	$563	$914	$870	$2,530	$2,347

Net written premiums by product line
General liability	$101	$259	$271	$290	$129	$256	$252	$631	$637
Fidelity & surety	216	299	307	248	170	265	291	822	726
International	289	393	292	368	229	356	296	974	881
Other	38	34	31	32	35	37	31	103	103
Total	$644	$985	$901	$938	$563	$914	$870	$2,530	$2,347

In 2Q 2009, results from the surety bond operation in Canada were reclassified from the “Bond and Financial Products” market to the “International” market, and from the “Fidelity & surety” product line to the “International” product line. All prior period amounts have been restated to reflect this reclassification.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Operating Income (Loss) - Personal Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Revenues
Premiums	$1,707	$1,724	$1,762	$1,777	$1,743	$1,773	$1,792	$5,193	$5,308
Net investment income	120	118	108	75	83	100	116	346	299
Other revenues	21	19	18	17	21	21	20	58	62
Total revenues	1,848	1,861	1,888	1,869	1,847	1,894	1,928	5,597	5,669

Claims and expenses
Claims and claim adjustment expenses	1,073	1,160	1,374	1,009	1,130	1,249	1,152	3,607	3,531
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs	344	347	358	361	349	352	357	1,049	1,058
General and administrative expenses (1)	181	193	281	174	170	187	220	655	577
Total claims and expenses	1,598	1,700	2,013	1,544	1,649	1,788	1,729	5,311	5,166

Operating income (loss) before federal income taxes	250	161	(125)	325	198	106	199	286	503
Income taxes	69	39	(61)	99	44	18	50	47	112
Operating income (loss)	$181	$122	$(64)	$226	$154	$88	$149	$239	$391

Other statistics
Effective tax rate on net investment income	19.1%	18.9%	17.2%	8.2%	12.0%	16.1%	18.7%	18.4%	16.0%
Net investment income (after-tax)	$97	$96	$89	$69	$73	$84	$94	$282	$251

Catastrophes, net of reinsurance (2):
Pre-tax	$38	$165	$463	$(48)	$71	$139	$68	$666	$278
After-tax	$25	$107	$300	$(30)	$46	$91	$44	$432	$181

(1)  In 3Q 2008, 4Q 2008, 1Q 2009, and 2Q 2009 “General and administrative expenses” includes $96 million, $(19) million, $(34) million, and $(14) million respectively, of estimated hurricane-related assessments from state-created insurance and windstorm insurance entities.

(2)  In 4Q 2008, “Catastrophes, net of reinsurance” includes a net benefit from re-estimation of current year catastrophe losses.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Operating Income (Loss) by Major Component and Combined Ratio - Personal Insurance
($ in millions, net of tax)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Underwriting gain (loss)	$70	$14	$(165)	$148	$67	$(10)	$41	$(81)	$98
Net investment income	97	96	89	69	73	84	94	282	251
Other	14	12	12	9	14	14	14	38	42
Operating income (loss)	$181	$122	$(64)	$226	$154	$88	$149	$239	$391

GAAP Combined ratio (1)
Loss and loss adjustment expense ratio	62.9%	67.3%	77.9%	56.8%	64.9%	70.5%	64.3%	69.4%	66.5%
Underwriting expense ratio (2)	29.3%	30.0%	35.0%	28.8%	28.4%	29.1%	30.9%	31.5%	29.5%
Combined ratio	92.2%	97.3%	112.9%	85.6%	93.3%	99.6%	95.2%	100.9%	96.0%
GAAP combined ratio excluding incremental impact of direct to consumer initiative	92.0%	96.7%	112.3%	84.9%	91.7%	97.7%	93.3%	100.5%	94.3%

Impact of catastrophes on combined ratio (3)	2.2%	9.6%	26.2%	-2.7%	4.1%	7.9%	3.8%	12.8%	5.2%
Impact of prior year reserve development on combined ratio	-1.5%	-2.2%	-2.5%	-2.1%	-3.7%	-1.9%	-1.3%	-2.1%	-2.2%

(1) Billing and policy fees, which are a component of other revenues, are allocated as a reduction of underwriting expenses. Billing and policy fees are as follows:

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Billing and policy fees	$24	$22	$24	$22	$23	$23	$22	$70	$68

(2)  The impact of changes in prior year estimates of hurricane-related assessments, which is not included in the impact of catastrophes or prior year reserve development on the combined ratio, is (2.0), (0.8), and (0.9) points for 1Q 2009, 2Q 2009, and YTD 3Q 2009 , respectively.

(3)  The impact of catastrophes on the combined ratios for the three months ended September 30, 2008 and December 31, 2008 included 20.8 and (1.6) point impacts, respectively, on the loss and loss adjustment expense ratio, and 5.4 and (1.1) point impacts, respectively, on the underwriting expense ratio.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Selected Statistics - Personal Insurance
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Statutory underwriting
Gross written premiums	$1,679	$1,909	$1,954	$1,749	$1,727	$1,948	$1,988	$5,542	$5,663
Net written premiums	$1,633	$1,839	$1,832	$1,691	$1,677	$1,878	$1,859	$5,304	$5,414

Net earned premiums	$1,707	$1,724	$1,762	$1,777	$1,743	$1,773	$1,792	$5,193	$5,308
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	1,074	1,159	1,374	1,009	1,130	1,249	1,152	3,607	3,531
Underwriting expenses	492	552	590	515	521	549	590	1,634	1,660
Statutory underwriting gain (loss)	$141	$13	$(202)	$253	$92	$(25)	$50	$(48)	$117

Policies in force (in thousands)
Automobile	2,495	2,526	2,538	2,526	2,509	2,491	2,482	2,538	2,482
Homeowners and other	4,702	4,755	4,808	4,831	4,861	4,901	4,944	4,808	4,944

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Selected Statistics - Personal Insurance (Agency Automobile) (1)
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Statutory underwriting

Gross written premiums	$930	$939	$934	$877	$924	$919	$905	$2,803	$2,748
Net written premiums	$922	$933	$926	$870	$917	$914	$898	$2,781	$2,729

Net earned premiums	$911	$919	$936	$939	$913	$917	$915	$2,766	$2,745
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	649	637	655	672	668	639	643	1,941	1,950
Underwriting expenses	259	263	260	247	254	249	247	782	750
Statutory underwriting gain (loss)	$3	$19	$21	$20	$(9)	$29	$25	$43	$45

Other statistics
GAAP Combined ratio (2):
Loss and loss adjustment expense ratio	71.3%	69.3%	69.9%	71.6%	73.2%	69.7%	70.2%	70.2%	71.0%
Underwriting expense ratio	27.4%	27.8%	27.5%	27.5%	27.0%	26.7%	27.1%	27.5%	26.9%
Combined ratio	98.7%	97.1%	97.4%	99.1%	100.2%	96.4%	97.3%	97.7%	97.9%

Impact of catastrophes on combined ratio	0.0%	1.5%	0.7%	0.0%	0.9%	1.0%	0.8%	0.7%	0.9%

Catastrophe losses, net of reinsurance:
Pre-tax	$—	$14	$6	$—	$8	$9	$7	$20	$24
After-tax	$—	$9	$4	$—	$5	$6	$5	$13	$16

Policies in force (in thousands)	2,495	2,522	2,528	2,512	2,489	2,466	2,451
Change from prior year quarter	1.6%	2.4%	2.4%	1.3%	-0.2%	-2.3%	-3.0%
Change from prior quarter	0.6%	1.1%	0.2%	-0.6%	-0.9%	-0.9%	-0.6%

(1) Represents Automobile sold through agents, brokers and other intermediaries, and excludes direct to consumer.

(2) Billing and policy fees, which are a component of other revenues, are allocated as a reduction of underwriting expenses.
Billing and policy fees are as follows:

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Billing and policy fees	$14	$13	$14	$13	$13	$14	$12	$41	$39

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Selected Statistics - Personal Insurance (Agency Homeowners and Other) (1)
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Statutory underwriting

Gross written premiums	$749	$970	$1,015	$865	$792	$1,018	$1,067	$2,734	$2,877
Net written premiums	$711	$906	$902	$814	$749	$952	$946	$2,519	$2,647

Net earned premiums	$796	$805	$825	$835	$824	$846	$865	$2,426	$2,535
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	425	522	719	335	458	599	499	1,666	1,556
Underwriting expenses	229	279	317	255	239	268	306	825	813
Statutory underwriting gain (loss)	$142	$4	$(211)	$245	$127	$(21)	$60	$(65)	$166

Other statistics
GAAP Combined ratio (2):
Loss and loss adjustment expense ratio	53.3%	64.9%	87.1%	40.2%	55.6%	70.8%	57.7%	68.7%	61.4%
Underwriting expense ratio	31.2%	31.4%	42.1%	28.8%	26.8%	28.4%	31.3%	34.9%	28.9%
Combined ratio	84.5%	96.3%	129.2%	69.0%	82.4%	99.2%	89.0%	103.6%	90.3%

Impact of catastrophes on combined ratio	4.8%	18.8%	55.3%	-5.6%	7.6%	15.3%	7.0%	26.6%	10.0%

Catastrophe losses, net of reinsurance:
Pre-tax	$38	$151	$457	$(48)	$63	$130	$61	$646	$254
After-tax	$25	$98	$296	$(30)	$41	$85	$39	$419	$165

Policies in force (in thousands)	4,702	4,753	4,804	4,824	4,850	4,886	4,923
Change from prior year quarter	2.7%	2.6%	3.0%	3.0%	3.1%	2.8%	2.5%
Change from prior quarter	0.4%	1.1%	1.1%	0.4%	0.5%	0.7%	0.8%

(1) Represents Homeowners and Other Lines sold through agents, brokers and other intermediaries, and excludes direct to consumer.

(2) Billing and policy fees, which are a component of other revenues, are allocated as a reduction of underwriting expenses.
Billing and policy fees are as follows:

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Billing and policy fees	$10	$9	$10	$9	$10	$9	$10	$29	$29

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Interest Expense and Other
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Revenues
Net investment income	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—
Other revenues	2	—	—	—	—	9	1	2	10
Total revenues	2	—	—	—	—	9	1	2	10

Claims and expenses
Interest expense	90	90	94	93	92	94	98	274	284
General and administrative expenses	12	6	6	5	7	13	11	24	31
Total claims and expenses	102	96	100	98	99	107	109	298	315

Operating loss before federal income tax benefit	(100)	(96)	(100)	(98)	(99)	(98)	(108)	(296)	(305)
Income taxes	(36)	(30)	(33)	(38)	(49)	(49)	(38)	(99)	(136)
Operating loss	$(64)	$(66)	$(67)	$(60)	$(50)	$(49)	$(70)	$(197)	$(169)

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Consolidated Balance Sheet
(in millions)

	September 30,	December 31,
	2009 (1)	2008

Assets
Fixed maturities, available for sale at fair value (including $81 and $8 subject to securities lending) (amortized cost $62,208 and $61,569)	$65,350	$61,275
Equity securities, at fair value (cost $387 and $461)	435	379
Real estate	872	827
Short-term securities	6,567	5,222
Other investments	2,899	3,035
Total investments	76,123	70,738

Cash	286	350
Investment income accrued	794	823
Premiums receivable	5,957	5,954
Reinsurance recoverables	13,339	14,232
Ceded unearned premiums	1,076	941
Deferred acquisition costs	1,825	1,774
Deferred tax asset	603	1,965
Contractholder receivables	6,457	6,350
Goodwill	3,365	3,366
Other intangible assets	612	688
Other assets	2,180	2,570
Total assets	$112,617	$109,751

	September 30,	December 31,
	2009 (1)	2008

Liabilities
Claims and claim adjustment expense reserves	$53,924	$54,723
Unearned premium reserves	11,209	10,957
Contractholder payables	6,457	6,350
Payables for reinsurance premiums	687	528
Debt	6,528	6,181
Other liabilities	5,652	5,693
Total liabilities	84,457	84,432

Shareholders’ equity
Preferred Stock Savings Plan - convertible preferred stock (0.2 and 0.3 shares issued and outstanding)	81	89
Common stock (1,750.0 shares authorized; 547.9 and 585.1 shares issued and outstanding)	19,433	19,242
Retained earnings	15,208	13,314
Accumulated other changes in equity from nonowner sources	1,657	(900)
Treasury stock, at cost (169.1 and 128.8 shares)	(8,219)	(6,426)
Total shareholders’ equity	28,160	25,319
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity	$112,617	$109,751

(1) Preliminary.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Investment Portfolio
(at carrying value, $ in millions)

	September 30,	Pre-tax Book	December 31,	Pre-tax Book
	2009	Yield (1)	2008	Yield (1)
Investment portfolio

Taxable fixed maturities (including redeemable preferred stock)	$24,032	5.20%	$22,481	5.32%
Tax-exempt fixed maturities	41,318	4.12%	38,794	4.14%
Total fixed maturities	65,350	4.53%	61,275	4.59%

Non-redeemable preferred stocks	241	6.53%	219	6.35%
Common stocks	194		160
Total equity securities	435		379

Real estate	872		827

Short-term securities	6,567	0.26%	5,222	1.20%

Private equities	1,484		1,505
Hedge funds	493		531
Real estate joint ventures & other	859		886
Mortgage loans	40	6.56%	94	8.06%
Trading securities	23		19
Total other investments	2,899		3,035

Total investments	$76,123		$70,738

Net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax, included in shareholders’ equity	$2,236		$(144)

(1)  Yields are provided for those investments with an embedded book yield.

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Investment Portfolio - Fixed Maturities Data
(at carrying value, $ in millions)

	September 30,	December 31,
	2009	2008
Fixed maturities
U.S. Treasury securities and obligations of U.S. Government corporations and agencies	$1,650	$1,841
Obligations of states and political subdivisions	41,732	39,062
Debt securities issued by foreign governments	1,876	1,519
Mortgage-backed securities - principally obligations of U.S. Government agencies	5,428	6,059
Corporates (including redeemable preferreds)	14,664	12,794
Total fixed maturities	$65,350	$61,275

Fixed Maturities

Quality Characteristics (1)

	September 30, 2009
	Amount	% of Total
Quality Ratings
Aaa	$27,100	41.5%
Aa	25,113	38.5
A	7,210	11.0
Baa	4,066	6.2
Total investment grade	63,489	97.2
Ba	926	1.4
B	580	0.9
Caa and lower	355	0.5
Total below investment grade	1,861	2.8
Total fixed maturities	$65,350	100.0%
Average weighted quality	Aa2, AA
Average duration of fixed maturities and short-term securities, net of securities lending activities and net receivables and payables on investment sales and purchases	3.7

(1)  Rated using external rating agencies or by Travelers when a public rating does not exist.  Below investment grade assets refer to securities rated “Ba” or below.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Investment Income ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Gross investment income
Fixed maturities	$736	$726	$727	$726	$713	$691	$703	$2,189	$2,107
Short-term securities	52	32	36	23	10	7	5	120	22
Other	39	32	(37)	(256)	(175)	(33)	63	34	(145)
	827	790	726	493	548	665	771	2,343	1,984
Investment expenses	12	12	10	10	6	7	8	34	21
Net investment income, pre-tax	815	778	716	483	542	658	763	2,309	1,963
Income taxes	165	154	129	45	68	111	147	448	326
Net investment income, after-tax	$650	$624	$587	$438	$474	$547	$616	$1,861	$1,637

Effective tax rate	20.2%	19.8%	18.1%	9.5%	12.6%	16.7%	19.2%	19.4%	16.6%

Average invested assets (1)	$74,733	$74,156	$74,256	$73,588	$72,720	$72,589	$73,515	$74,426	$72,991

Average yield pre-tax (1)	4.4%	4.2%	3.9%	2.6%	3.0%	3.6%	4.2%	4.1%	3.6%
Average yield after-tax	3.5%	3.4%	3.2%	2.4%	2.6%	3.0%	3.4%	3.3%	3.0%

(1)  Excludes net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax, and is adjusted for cash, receivables for investment sales, payables on investment purchases and accrued investment income.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Net Realized and Unrealized Investment Gains (Losses) ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Net realized investment gains (losses)
Fixed maturities	$(32)	$6	$(153)	$(192)	$(100)	$(2)	$19	$(179)	$(83)
Equity securities	(1)	(14)	(28)	(29)	(74)	1	2	(43)	(71)
Other (1)	(29)	44	11	2	(40)	14	8	26	(18)
Realized investment gains (losses) before tax	(62)	36	(170)	(219)	(214)	13	29	(196)	(172)
Related taxes	(21)	12	(54)	(81)	(77)	5	8	(63)	(64)
Net realized investment gains (losses)	$(41)	$24	$(116)	$(138)	$(137)	$8	$21	$(133)	$(108)

Gross investment gains (1)	$89	$138	$91	$160	$105	$116	$132	$318	$353
Gross investment losses before impairments (1)	(113)	(74)	(105)	(181)	(135)	(73)	(84)	(292)	(292)
Net investment gains (losses) before impairments	(24)	64	(14)	(21)	(30)	43	48	26	61
Other-than-temporary impairment losses:
Total losses	(38)	(28)	(156)	(198)	(184)	(75)	(43)	(222)	(302)
Portion of losses recognized in accumulated other changes in equity from nonowner sources	—	—	—	—	—	45	24	—	69
Other-than-temporary impairment losses	(38)	(28)	(156)	(198)	(184)	(30)	(19)	(222)	(233)
Net realized investment gains (losses) before tax	(62)	36	(170)	(219)	(214)	13	29	(196)	(172)
Related taxes	(21)	12	(54)	(81)	(77)	5	8	(63)	(64)
Net realized investment gains (losses)	$(41)	$24	$(116)	$(138)	$(137)	$8	$21	$(133)	$(108)

	March 31,	June 30,	September 30,	December 31,	March 31,	June 30,	September 30,
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009

Net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax, by asset type
Fixed maturities	$695	$(73)	$(1,406)	$(294)	$732	$1,139	$3,142
Equity securities & other	168	159	115	41	71	157	262
Unrealized investment gains (losses) before tax	863	86	(1,291)	(253)	803	1,296	3,404
Related taxes	287	23	(473)	(109)	260	431	1,168

Balance, end of period	$576	$63	$(818)	$(144)	$543	$865	$2,236

(1) Includes the following gross investment gains and gross investment losses related to U.S. Treasury futures, which are settled daily:

Gross investment Treasury future gains	$42	$49	$48	$51	$76	$71	$39	$139	$186
Gross investment Treasury future losses	$56	$39	$52	$96	$76	$46	$50	$147	$172

The Company entered into these arrangements as part of its strategy to shorten the duration of the fixed maturity portfolio. In a changing interest rate environment, the change in the value of the futures contracts can be expected to partially offset changes in the value of the fixed maturity portfolio.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Reinsurance Recoverables ($ in millions)

	September 30,	December 31,
	2009	2008
Gross reinsurance recoverables on paid and unpaid claims and claim adjustment expenses	$8,682	$9,376
Allowance for uncollectible reinsurance	(590)	(618)
Net reinsurance recoverables	8,092	8,758
Mandatory pools and associations	1,771	1,957
Structured settlements	3,476	3,517
Total reinsurance recoverables	$13,339	$14,232

The Company’s top five reinsurer groups, including retroactive reinsurance, by reinsurance recoverable is as follows:

	A.M. Best Rating of Group’s	September 30,	December 31,
Reinsurer	Predominant Reinsurer	2009	2008
Swiss Re Group	A third highest of 16 ratings	$918	$1,009
Munich Re Group	A+ second highest of 16 ratings	807	831
Transatlantic Holdings, Inc.	A third highest of 16 ratings	508	495
XL Capital Group	A third highest of 16 ratings	429	465
Berkshire Hathaway Group	A++ highest of 16 ratings	400	495

The gross reinsurance recoverables on paid and unpaid claims and claim adjustment expenses represent the current and estimated future amounts due from reinsurers on known and unasserted claims.  The ceded reserves are estimated in a manner consistent with the underlying direct and assumed reserves.  Although this total comprises recoverables due from nearly one thousand different reinsurance entities, about half is attributable to 10 reinsurer groups.

The net reinsurance recoverables reflect an allowance for uncollectible reinsurance that is based upon the Company’s ongoing review of amounts outstanding, reinsurer solvency, the Company’s experience, current economic conditions, and other relevant factors.  Of the total net recoverables due from reinsurers at September 30, 2009, after deducting mandatory pool and structured settlement balances, $6.4 billion, or 79%, were rated by A.M. Best Company.  Of the total rated by A.M. Best Company, 98% were rated A- or better.  The remaining 21% net recoverables from reinsurers were comprised of the following:  7% related to the Company’s participation in voluntary pools, 9% related to recoverables from captive insurance companies and 5% were balances from other companies not rated by A.M. Best Company.  In addition, $2.3 billion of the net recoverables were collateralized by letters of credit, funds held and trust agreements at September 30, 2009.

The mandatory pools and associations represent various involuntary assigned risk pools that the Company is required to participate in.  These pools principally involve workers’ compensation and automobile insurance, which provide various insurance coverages to insureds that otherwise are unable to purchase coverage in the open market.  The costs of these mandatory pools in most states are usually charged back to the participating members in proportion to voluntary writings of related business in that state.  In the event that a member of the pool becomes insolvent, the remaining members assume an additional pro rata share of the pool’s liabilities.

The structured settlements represent recoverables from annuities that were purchased from life insurance companies to settle personal physical injury claims, with workers’ compensation claims comprising a significant proportion.  In cases where the Company did not receive a release from the claimant, the Company retains the liability to the claimant in the event that the life insurance company fails to pay; accordingly, the Company continues to report the amount due from the life insurance company as a liability and as a recoverable for GAAP purposes. The Company’s top five groups by structured settlement is as follows:

	A.M. Best Rating of Group’s	September 30,	December 31,
Group	Predominant Insurer	2009	2008
Old Mutual	A- fourth highest of 16 ratings	$1,057	$1,075
Metlife	A+ second highest of 16 ratings	536	554
Genworth	A third highest of 16 ratings	475	485
Symetra	A third highest of 16 ratings	290	296
ING Group	A third highest of 16 ratings	236	242

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Net Reserves for Losses and Loss Adjustment Expense ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009
Business Insurance
Beginning of period	$34,021	$33,718	$33,649	$33,310	$32,270	$32,043	$31,986	$34,021	$32,270
Incurred	1,517	1,576	1,868	1,509	1,592	1,603	1,479	4,961	4,674
Paid	(1,736)	(1,696)	(2,148)	(1,683)	(1,816)	(1,688)	(1,726)	(5,580)	(5,230)
Acquired (sold) reserves, foreign exchange and other (1)	(84)	51	(59)	(866)	(3)	28	11	(92)	36
End of period	$33,718	$33,649	$33,310	$32,270	$32,043	$31,986	$31,750	$33,310	$31,750

Financial, Professional & International Insurance
Beginning of period	$5,520	$5,590	$5,650	$5,703	$5,397	$5,503	$5,821	$5,520	$5,397
Incurred	387	383	539	456	437	448	459	1,309	1,344
Paid	(324)	(294)	(324)	(468)	(309)	(338)	(354)	(942)	(1,001)
Acquired (sold) reserves, foreign exchange and other	7	(29)	(162)	(294)	(22)	208	44	(184)	230
End of period	$5,590	$5,650	$5,703	$5,397	$5,503	$5,821	$5,970	$5,703	$5,970

Personal Insurance
Beginning of period	$3,527	$3,532	$3,586	$3,835	$3,640	$3,610	$3,688	$3,527	$3,640
Incurred	1,074	1,159	1,374	1,009	1,130	1,249	1,152	3,607	3,531
Paid	(1,069)	(1,105)	(1,125)	(1,204)	(1,160)	(1,171)	(1,203)	(3,299)	(3,534)
End of period	$3,532	$3,586	$3,835	$3,640	$3,610	$3,688	$3,637	$3,835	$3,637

Total
Beginning of period	$43,068	$42,840	$42,885	$42,848	$41,307	$41,156	$41,495	$43,068	$41,307
Incurred	2,978	3,118	3,781	2,974	3,159	3,300	3,090	9,877	9,549
Paid	(3,129)	(3,095)	(3,597)	(3,355)	(3,285)	(3,197)	(3,283)	(9,821)	(9,765)
Acquired (sold) reserves, foreign exchange and other (1)	(77)	22	(221)	(1,160)	(25)	236	55	(276)	266
End of period	$42,840	$42,885	$42,848	$41,307	$41,156	$41,495	$41,357	$42,848	$41,357

Prior Year Reserve Development: Unfavorable (Favorable)

Business Insurance
Asbestos	$—	$—	$70	$—	$—	$—	$185	$70	$185
Environmental	—	85	—	—	—	70	—	85	70
All other	(312)	(442)	(317)	(205)	(182)	(286)	(447)	(1,071)	(915)
Prior year development excluding accretion of discount	(312)	(357)	(247)	(205)	(182)	(216)	(262)	(916)	(660)
Accretion of discount	15	16	15	14	14	14	14	46	42
Total Business Insurance	(297)	(341)	(232)	(191)	(168)	(202)	(248)	(870)	(618)

Financial, Professional & International Insurance	(63)	(132)	(43)	(36)	(12)	(11)	(25)	(238)	(48)

Personal Insurance	(25)	(37)	(44)	(37)	(64)	(34)	(22)	(106)	(120)
Total	$(385)	$(510)	$(319)	$(264)	$(244)	$(247)	$(295)	$(1,214)	$(786)

(1)  Reflects the sale of Unionamerica Holdings, Ltd. in 4Q 2008, decreasing net reserves by $790 million in Business Insurance.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Asbestos and Environmental Reserves ($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Asbestos reserves
Beginning reserves:
Direct	$4,353	$4,272	$4,184	$3,728	$3,299	$3,216	$3,136	$4,353	$3,299
Ceded	(619)	(600)	(588)	(501)	(385)	(363)	(345)	(619)	(385)
Net	3,734	3,672	3,596	3,227	2,914	2,853	2,791	3,734	2,914
Incurred losses and loss expenses:
Direct	—	—	70	—	—	—	185	70	185
Ceded	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Losses paid:
Direct (1)	81	88	526	99	83	80	70	695	233
Ceded	(19)	(12)	(87)	(18)	(22)	(18)	(9)	(118)	(49)
Sale of subsidiary: (2)
Direct	—	—	—	330	—	—	—	—	—
Ceded	—	—	—	(98)	—	—	—	—	—
Ending reserves:
Direct	4,272	4,184	3,728	3,299	3,216	3,136	3,251	3,728	3,251
Ceded	(600)	(588)	(501)	(385)	(363)	(345)	(336)	(501)	(336)
Net	$3,672	$3,596	$3,227	$2,914	$2,853	$2,791	$2,915	$3,227	$2,915

Environmental reserves
Beginning reserves:
Direct	$478	$450	$499	$472	$400	$378	$425	$478	$400
Ceded	12	12	12	13	14	14	3	12	14
Net	490	462	511	485	414	392	428	490	414
Incurred losses and loss expenses:
Direct	—	85	—	—	—	85	—	85	85
Ceded	—	—	—	—	—	(15)	—	—	(15)
Losses paid:
Direct	28	36	27	32	22	38	14	91	74
Ceded	—	—	(1)	6	—	(4)	—	(1)	(4)
Sale of subsidiary: (2)
Direct	—	—	—	40	—	—	—	—	—
Ceded	—	—	—	(7)	—	—	—	—	—
Ending reserves:
Direct	450	499	472	400	378	425	411	472	411
Ceded	12	12	13	14	14	3	3	13	3
Net	$462	$511	$485	$414	$392	$428	$414	$485	$414

(1)  Third quarter of 2008 includes the final payment in connection with the ACandS settlement.

(2)  In December 2008, the Company completed the sale of its subsidiary Unionamerica Holdings, Ltd.

See Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments on page 34.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Capitalization ($ in millions)

	September 30,	December 31,
	2009	2008
Debt

Short-term debt
Commercial paper	$100	$100
Zero coupon convertible notes due March 3, 2009, effective yield 4.17%	—	140
7.81% Private placement notes due September 16, 2010 and 2009	2	2
8.125% Senior notes due April 15, 2010 (1)	250	—
7.415% Medium-term notes due August 23, 2010	21	—
Total short-term debt	373	242

Long-term debt
8.125% Senior notes due April 15, 2010 (1)	—	250
7.415% Medium-term notes due August 23, 2010	—	21
7.22% Real estate non-recourse debt due September 1, 2011	9	9
7.81% Private placement notes due on various dates through 2011	2	4
5.375% Senior notes due June 15, 2012 (1)	250	250
5.00% Senior notes due March 15, 2013 (1)	500	500
5.50% Senior notes due December 1, 2015	400	400
6.25% Senior notes due June 20, 2016 (1)	400	400
5.75% Senior notes due December 15, 2017 (1)	450	450
5.80% Senior notes due May 15, 2018 (1)	500	500
5.90% Senior notes due June 2, 2019 (1)	500	—
7.75% Senior notes due April 15, 2026	200	200
7.625% Junior subordinated debentures due December 15, 2027	125	125
6.375% Senior notes due March 15, 2033 (1)	500	500
6.75% Senior notes due June 20, 2036 (1)	400	400
6.25% Senior notes due June 15, 2037 (1)	800	800
8.50% Junior subordinated debentures due December 15, 2045	56	56
8.312% Junior subordinated debentures due July 1, 2046	73	73
6.25% Fixed-to-floating rate junior subordinated debentures due March 15, 2067	1,000	1,000
Total long-term debt	6,165	5,938
Unamortized fair value adjustment	60	68
Unamortized debt issuance costs	(70)	(67)
	6,155	5,939
Total debt	6,528	6,181

Preferred equity	81	89
Common equity (excluding net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax)	25,843	25,374
Total capital (excluding net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax)	$32,452	$31,644
Total debt to capital (excluding net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax)	20.1%	19.5%

(1)  Redeemable anytime with “make-whole” premium.

The Travelers Companies, Inc. Statutory to GAAP Shareholders’ Equity Reconciliation ($ in millions)

	September 30,	December 31,
	2009 (1)	2008

Statutory capital and surplus	$22,050	$21,491

GAAP adjustments

Goodwill and intangible assets	3,773	3,841

Investments	3,789	342

Noninsurance companies	(3,724)	(3,924)

Deferred acquisition costs	1,825	1,774

Deferred federal income tax	(596)	699

Current federal income tax	(91)	(86)

Reinsurance recoverables	295	295

Furniture, equipment & software	633	526

Employee benefits	(2)	40

Agents balances	117	122

Other	91	199

Total GAAP adjustments	6,110	3,828

GAAP shareholders’ equity	$28,160	$25,319

(1) Estimated and Preliminary

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Statement of Cash Flows - Preliminary
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Cash flows from operating activities
Net income	$967	$942	$214	$801	$662	$740	$935	$2,123	$2,337
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Net realized investment (gains) losses	62	(36)	170	219	214	(13)	(29)	196	172
Depreciation and amortization	213	201	213	194	206	209	187	627	602
Deferred federal income tax expense (benefit)	(8)	34	23	(107)	22	(53)	77	49	46
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs	954	961	990	975	944	953	967	2,905	2,864
Equity in (income) loss from other investments	(17)	(16)	67	278	194	58	(41)	34	211
Premiums receivable	(28)	(177)	158	213	(78)	(188)	263	(47)	(3)
Reinsurance recoverables	272	10	251	676	167	371	355	533	893
Deferred acquisition costs	(968)	(991)	(991)	(895)	(948)	(997)	(970)	(2,950)	(2,915)
Claims and claim adjustment expense reserves	(386)	(38)	(249)	(1,360)	(373)	22	(448)	(673)	(799)
Unearned premium reserves	15	97	38	(420)	64	163	25	150	252
Other	(149)	(283)	58	(9)	(261)	(289)	94	(374)	(456)
Net cash provided by operating activities	927	704	942	565	813	976	1,415	2,573	3,204

Cash flows from investing activities
Proceeds from maturities of fixed maturities	1,604	1,084	982	1,199	1,210	1,179	1,380	3,670	3,769
Proceeds from sales of investments:
Fixed maturities	1,044	1,405	1,139	3,344	630	1,234	342	3,588	2,206
Equity securities	12	24	11	6	16	15	6	47	37
Real estate	—	25	—	—	—	—	—	25	—
Other investments	246	178	123	108	92	48	77	547	217
Purchases of investments:
Fixed maturities	(2,350)	(2,063)	(2,222)	(4,492)	(2,265)	(2,006)	(2,079)	(6,635)	(6,350)
Equity securities	(21)	(25)	(43)	(6)	(12)	(6)	(4)	(89)	(22)
Real estate	(9)	(16)	(6)	(7)	(5)	(4)	(3)	(31)	(12)
Other investments	(123)	(162)	(242)	(140)	(112)	(74)	(76)	(527)	(262)
Net (purchases) sales of short-term securities	320	(667)	407	(466)	(451)	(772)	(122)	60	(1,345)
Securities transactions in course of settlement	43	31	(461)	69	398	(32)	222	(387)	588
Other	(72)	(91)	(104)	222	(84)	(121)	(66)	(267)	(271)
Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities	694	(277)	(416)	(163)	(583)	(539)	(323)	1	(1,445)

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Statement of Cash Flows - Preliminary (Continued)
($ in millions)

								YTD	YTD
	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	1Q	2Q	3Q	3Q	3Q
	2008	2008	2008	2008	2009	2009	2009	2008	2009

Cash flows from financing activities
Payment of debt	(400)	—	(3)	(149)	(141)	—	(2)	(403)	(143)
Issuance of debt	—	496	—	—	—	494	—	496	494
Dividends paid to shareholders	(179)	(180)	(177)	(179)	(178)	(172)	(168)	(536)	(518)
Issuance of common stock - employee share options	15	44	13	17	10	18	48	72	76
Treasury stock acquired - share repurchase authorization	(1,000)	(765)	(290)	(112)	—	(750)	(970)	(2,055)	(1,720)
Treasury stock acquired - net employee share-based compensation	(26)	(2)	—	(1)	(27)	(1)	(1)	(28)	(29)
Excess tax benefits from share-based payment arrangements	4	3	1	2	1	1	2	8	4
Net cash used in financing activities	(1,586)	(404)	(456)	(422)	(335)	(410)	(1,091)	(2,446)	(1,836)

Effect of exchange rate changes on cash	2	(2)	(12)	(17)	—	10	3	(12)	13

Net increase (decrease) in cash	37	21	58	(37)	(105)	37	4	116	(64)
Cash at beginning of period	271	308	329	387	350	245	282	271	350
Cash at end of period	$308	$329	$387	$350	$245	$282	$286	$387	$286

Income taxes paid	$78	$637	$117	$9	$34	$329	$210	$832	$573
Interest paid	$72	$112	$64	$127	$63	$122	$63	$248	$248

The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Financial Supplement - Third Quarter 2009
Glossary of Financial Measures and Description of Reportable Business Segments

The following measures are used by the Company’s management to evaluate financial performance against historical results and establish targets on a consolidated basis.  In some cases, these measures are considered non-GAAP financial measures under applicable SEC rules because they are not displayed as separate line items in the consolidated statement of income or required to be disclosed in the notes to financial statements, and in some cases, include or exclude certain items not ordinarily included or excluded in the most comparable GAAP financial measure. In the opinion of the Company’s management, a discussion of these measures provides investors with a better understanding of the significant factors that comprise the Company’s periodic results of operations and how management evaluates the Company’s financial performance.

Operating income (loss) is net income (loss) excluding the after-tax impact of net realized investment gains (losses).  Operating income (loss) per share is operating income (loss) on a per share basis.

Return on equity is the ratio of net income to average equity.  Operating return on equity is the ratio of operating income to average equity excluding net unrealized investment gains and losses, net of tax.

In the opinion of the Company’s management, operating income, operating income per share and operating return on equity are meaningful indicators of underwriting and operating results.  These measures exclude net realized investment gains or losses which can be significantly impacted by both discretionary and other economic factors and are not necessarily indicative of operating trends.  Internally, the Company’s management uses operating income, operating income per share and operating return on equity to evaluate performance against historical results and establish financial targets on a consolidated basis.

Underwriting gain (loss) is net earned premiums and fee income less claims and claim adjustment expenses and insurance-related expenses.

A catastrophe is a severe loss, resulting from natural and man-made events, including risks such as fire, earthquake, windstorm, explosion, terrorism and other similar events.  Each catastrophe has unique characteristics, and catastrophes are not predictable as to timing or amount.  Their effects are included in net and operating income and claims and claim adjustment expense reserves upon occurrence.  A catastrophe may result in the payment of reinsurance reinstatement premiums and assessments from various pools.  In the opinion of the Company’s management, a discussion of the impact of catastrophes is meaningful for investors to understand the variability in periodic earnings.

Loss reserve development is the increase or decrease in incurred claims and claim adjustment expenses as a result of the re-estimation of claims and claim adjustment expense reserves at successive valuation dates for a given group of claims.  Loss reserve development may be related to one or more prior years or the current year.  In the opinion of the Company’s management, discussion of loss reserve development is useful to investors as it allows them to assess the impact between prior and current year development on incurred claims and claim adjustment expenses, net and operating income, and changes in claims and claim adjustment expense reserve levels from period to period.

GAAP combined ratio is the sum of the loss and loss adjustment expense ratio (loss and LAE ratio), the underwriting expense ratio and, where applicable, the ratio of dividends to policyholders to net earned premiums.  For GAAP, the loss and LAE ratio is the ratio of incurred losses and loss adjustment expenses reduced by an allocation of fee income to net earned premiums.  The underwriting expense ratio is the ratio of underwriting expenses incurred reduced by an allocation of fee income, and billing and policy fees to net earned premiums. A GAAP combined ratio under 100% generally indicates an underwriting profit. A GAAP combined ratio over 100% generally indicates an underwriting loss. The GAAP combined ratio is an operating statistic that includes GAAP measures in the numerator and the denominator.

GAAP combined ratio excluding incremental impact of direct to consumer initiative is the GAAP combined ratio adjusted to exclude the direct, variable impact of the company’s direct-to-consumer initiative in Personal Insurance.  In the opinion of the company’s management, this is useful in an analysis of the profitability of the company’s ongoing agency business.

Gross written premiums reflect the direct and assumed contractually determined amounts charged to the policyholders for the effective period of the contract based on the terms and conditions of the insurance contract.  Gross written premiums are a measure of overall business volume.  Net written premiums reflect gross written premiums less premiums ceded to reinsurers.

Book value per share is total common shareholders’ equity divided by the number of common shares outstanding.  Adjusted book value per share is total common shareholders’ equity excluding the after-tax impact of net unrealized investment gains and losses, divided by the number of common shares outstanding. In the opinion of the Company’s management, adjusted book value is useful in an analysis of a property casualty company’s book value as it removes the effect of changing prices on invested assets, (i.e., net unrealized investment gains (losses), net of tax) which do not have an equivalent impact on unpaid claims and claim adjustment expense reserves.

Debt to capital is the ratio of debt to the sum of shareholders’ equity and debt excluding the after-tax impact of net unrealized investment gains and losses.  In the opinion of the company’s management, the debt to capital ratio is useful in an analysis of the company’s leverage.

Travelers has organized its businesses into the following reportable business segments:

Business Insurance - The Business Insurance segment offers a broad array of property and casualty insurance and insurance-related services to its clients primarily in the United States.  Business Insurance is organized into the following six groups, which collectively comprise Business Insurance Core operations: Select Accounts; Commercial Accounts; National Accounts; Industry-Focused Underwriting including Construction, Technology, Public Sector Services, Oil & Gas, Aviation, and Agribusiness; Target Risk Underwriting including National Property, Inland Marine, Ocean Marine, Excess Casualty, Boiler & Machinery, and Global Accounts; and Specialized Distribution including Northland and National Programs.  Business Insurance also includes the Special Liability Group (which manages the Company’s asbestos and environmental liabilities) and the assumed reinsurance, healthcare and certain international and other runoff operations, which collectively are referred to as Business Insurance Other.

Financial, Professional & International Insurance - The Financial, Professional & International Insurance segment includes surety and financial liability coverages, which require a primarily credit-based underwriting process, as well as property and casualty products that are primarily marketed on a domestic basis in the United Kingdom, Ireland and Canada, and on an international basis through Lloyd’s.  The businesses in Financial, Professional & International Insurance are Bond & Financial Products and International.

Personal Insurance - The Personal Insurance segment writes virtually all types of property and casualty insurance covering personal risks.  The primary coverages in this segment are personal automobile and homeowners insurance sold to individuals.