Exhibit 99.1

Rio Tinto plc
2 Eastbourne Terrace London W2 6LG United Kingdom T +44 (0) 20 7781 2000 F +44 (0) 20 7781 1800
Media release
Rio Tinto offer for Hathor Exploration
7 January 2012

Rio Tinto, through an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary, has now taken up a total of 119,456,310 Hathor common shares representing approximately 93.76 per cent of the outstanding common shares of Hathor on a fully diluted basis (other than the Hathor common shares already held by an affiliate of Rio Tinto as of the date of the offer) pursuant to its offer to acquire all of the outstanding Hathor common shares.

Rio Tinto’s offer expired at 5:00pm (Toronto time) on 6 January 2012. All Hathor common shares validly deposited and not withdrawn before the expiry of the offer have been taken up and payment will be made for such shares within three business days of take-up. Rio Tinto now intends to acquire all outstanding Hathor common shares not tendered to the offer through a compulsory acquisition under the Canada Business Corporations Act.

Rio Tinto also intends to apply to delist the Hathor common shares from the Toronto Stock Exchange as soon as practicable after the completion of the compulsory acquisition.
About Rio Tinto in Canada

Rio Tinto employs over 13,400 people across its extensive operations in Canada, which include mining and manufacturing interests in alumina, aluminium, iron ore, diamonds and titanium dioxide. Rio Tinto also operates exploration activities, research and development centres, port and rail facilities to support various businesses, technical and sales service centres, and substantial hydroelectric power facilities in British Columbia and Quebec. In addition, Canada is home to the global headquarters of Rio Tinto Alcan.

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group headquartered in the UK, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London and New York Stock Exchange listed company, and Rio Tinto Limited, which is listed on the Australian Securities Exchange.

Rio Tinto’s business is finding, mining, and processing mineral resources. Major products are aluminium, copper, diamonds, thermal and metallurgical coal, uranium, gold, industrial minerals (borax, titanium dioxide and salt) and iron ore. Activities span the world and are strongly represented in Australia and North America with significant businesses in Asia, Europe, Africa and South America.

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Bryan Tucker	Jason Combes
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