Exhibit 99.2
News release . . .
Date: 5 November 2007
Ref: PR568g
Rio Tinto Offer for Alcan – additional shares acquired
Rio Tinto today announces that approximately 8,545,000 additional common shares of Alcan Inc. (“Alcan”) have either been validly deposited and taken up under the offer by Rio Tinto Canada Holding Inc. (“RTCH”) to acquire all of the shares of Alcan (the “Offer”) or are covered by notices of guaranteed delivery. The additional shares (which represent approximately 2.27 per cent of the outstanding shares), together with approximately 339,339,000 shares already beneficially owned by RTCH, represent approximately 92.47 per cent of the outstanding shares of Alcan.
RTCH is now entitled to acquire all the remaining Alcan shares by way of compulsory acquisition under the Canada Business Corporations Act. RTCH will exercise these rights promptly after the expiry of the Offer.
All additional validly deposited shares during the balance of the Offer period will be taken up daily and payment for such shares will be made to the depositary within two business days of take-up. Shares covered by notices of guaranteed delivery will be taken up when the certificates representing them are delivered to the depositary. The Offer expires at 6:00 p.m. (Canadian Eastern Time) on November 8, 2007.
About Rio Tinto
Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group headquartered in the UK, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London listed company, and Rio Tinto Limited, which is listed on the Australian Securities Exchange.
Rio Tinto’s business is finding, mining, and processing mineral resources. Major products are aluminium, copper, diamonds, energy (coal and uranium), gold, industrial minerals (borax, titanium dioxide, salt, talc) and iron ore. Activities span the world but are strongly represented in Australia and North America with significant businesses in South America, Asia, Europe and southern Africa.
Cont.../
Rio Tinto plc 6 St James’s Square London SW1Y 4LD
Telephone 020 7930 2399 Fax 020 7930 3249
Registered Office: 6 St James’s Square London SW1Y 4LD Registered in England No. 719885

For further information or a copy of reports filed under Canadian securities legislation, please contact:
Rio Tinto Canada Holding Inc.
770 Sherbrooke Street West, Suite 1800
Montreal, Quebec H3A1G1
Or please contact:

Media Relations, London	Media Relations, Australia

Christina Mills	Ian Head
Office: +44 (0) 20 8080 1306	Office: +61 (0) 3 9283 3620
Mobile: +44 (0) 7825 275 605	Mobile: +61 (0) 408 360 101

Nick Cobban	Amanda Buckley
Office: +44 (0) 20 8080 1305	Office: +61 (0) 3 9283 3627
Mobile: +44 (0) 7920 041 003	Mobile: +61 (0) 419 801 349

Investor Relations, London	Investor Relations, Australia

Nigel Jones	Dave Skinner
Office: +44 (0) 20 7753 2401	Office: +61 (0) 3 9283 3628
Mobile: +44 (0) 7917 227 365	Mobile: +61 (0) 408 335 309

David Ovington	Investor Relations, North America
Office: +44 (0) 20 7753 2326
Mobile: +44 (0) 7920 010 978	Jason Combes
Office: +1 (0) 801 685 4535
Mobile: +1 (0) 801 558 2645
Email: questions@riotinto.com
Website: www.riotinto.com
High resolution photographs available at: www.newscast.co.uk
Additional information
The offer to purchase all of the issued and outstanding common shares of Alcan for US$101 per common share in a recommended, all cash transaction (the “Offer”) is being made by Rio Tinto Canada Holding Inc. (the “Offeror”), an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of Rio Tinto. The address of the Offeror is 770 Sherbrooke Street West, Suite 1800, Montreal, Quebec, H3A 1G1.
The Offer represents a total consideration for Alcan common shares of approximately US$38.1 billion.
The subsequent offering period has commenced and the Offer is open for acceptance until 6.00 p.m., Canadian Eastern Time, on November 8, 2007, unless extended.
This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute or form part of any offer or invitation to purchase, otherwise acquire, subscribe for, sell, otherwise dispose of or issue, or any solicitation of any offer to sell, otherwise dispose of, issue, purchase, otherwise acquire or subscribe for, any security. The Offer (as the same may be varied or extended in accordance with applicable law) is being made exclusively by means of, and subject to the terms and conditions set out in, the offer and takeover bid circular delivered to

Alcan and filed with Canadian provincial securities regulators and the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) and mailed to Alcan shareholders.
The release, publication or distribution of this announcement in certain jurisdictions may be restricted by law and therefore persons in such jurisdictions into which this announcement is released, published or distributed should inform themselves about and observe such restrictions.
In connection with the Offer, an offer and takeover bid circular as well as ancillary documents such as a letter of transmittal and a notice of guaranteed delivery have been filed with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities and the SEC and an Alcan directors’ circular with respect to the Offer has also been filed. A Tender Offer statement on Schedule TO (the “Schedule TO”) and a Solicitation/Recommendation Statement on Schedule 14D-9 (the “Schedule 14D-9”) has also been filed with the SEC.
SHAREHOLDERS OF ALCAN ARE URGED TO READ THE OFFER AND TAKEOVER BID CIRCULAR (INCLUDING THE LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF GUARANTEED DELIVERY), THE SCHEDULE TO (INCLUDING THE OFFER AND TAKEOVER BID CIRCULAR, LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL AND RELATED TENDER OFFER DOCUMENTS) AND THE SCHEDULE 14D-9 AS THEY CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE OFFER.
The offer and takeover bid circular as well as other materials filed with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities are available electronically without charge at www.sedar.com. The Schedule TO and the Schedule 14D-9 are available electronically without charge at the SEC’s website, www.sec.gov. Materials filed with the SEC or the Canadian securities regulatory authorities may also be obtained without charge at Rio Tinto’s website, www.riotinto.com.
While the Offer is being made to all holders of Alcan common shares, this announcement does not constitute an offer or a solicitation in any jurisdiction in which such offer or solicitation is unlawful. The Offer is not being made in, nor will deposits be accepted in, any jurisdiction in which the making or acceptance thereof would not be in compliance with the laws of such jurisdiction. However, the Offeror may, in its sole discretion, take such action as it may deem necessary to extend the Offer in any such jurisdiction.
The Offer is made to holders in France of Alcan common shares admitted to trading on Euronext-Paris. An announcement including the main information relating to the Offer documents has been prepared and released pursuant to article 231-24 of the AMF General Regulation and contains information relating to how and in which time limit Alcan shareholders residing in France can accept this Offer. The offer document and the announcement prepared pursuant to article 231-24 of the AMF General Regulation, as amended on 17 September 2007, 23 and 24 October 2007 are available free of charge to the holders of Alcan Shares registered with Euroclear France who request it from Citi France, Global Transaction Services, Operations department, 19 le Parvis la Défense 7, 92073 Paris la Défense. They are also available on the internet at the following address: www.computershare.com/Rio-AlcanFrenchofferdocument.
The Offer is made to holders in Belgium of Alcan common shares and/or certificates admitted to trading on Euronext Brussels (the “IDRs”). A Belgian supplement, addressing issues specific to holders of Alcan common shares and/or IDRs in Belgium (the “Belgian Supplement”) was approved by the Belgian Banking, Finance and Insurance Commission (the “BFIC”) on 2 August 2007. A notice of extension of the Offer was approved by the BFIC on 18 September 2007 (the “First Supplement”). A second notice of extension of the Offer

was approved by the BFIC on 23 October 2007 (the “Second Supplement”). The offer document, the Belgian Supplement , the First Supplement and the Second Supplement are available free of charge to the investors in Belgium who request it from the Belgian branch of Citibank International plc, Department GTS Operations, 4th floor, boulevard Général Jacques 263G, 1050 Brussels. They are also available on the internet at the following address: www.computershare.com/Rio-AlcanBelgianofferdocument