3

Strong underlying fundamentals

  Strong underlying earnings and cash flows from operations

  Impacted by:

−   Lower prices and price volatility across most commodities

−   Stronger currencies, input cost pressures especially in Australia

  Net loss following aluminium and Mozambique coal impairments

$ billion	2011	2012	Movement
Underlying earnings	15.5	9.3	-40%
Net earnings/(loss)	5.8	(3.0)	-151%
Cash flows from operations	27.4	16.5	-40%

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4

Pursuing greater value for our shareholders

Aluminium rod, Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, Canada

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5

  Disciplined and rigorous approach to capital allocation

  Investment programme focused on highest quality opportunities

  Prudent balance sheet and single A credit rating

  Progressive dividend provides sustainable long term returns to shareholders

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6
Other board focus areas in 2012

Pilbara iron ore expansion, Western Australia	Richards Bay Minerals, South Africa

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7

A consistent strategy

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8
Volatility in commodity prices is set to continue

Significant market volatility unlike anything we have seen before Iron ore prices are illustrative of this turbulence

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9
Navigating through volatility

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10
Leading on transparency Group’s 2012 total tax contribution of US $11.6bn

Rossing, Namibia

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11
Positive long-term prospects

Oyu Tolgoi, Mongolia

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14

Safety

Safety briefing, Gove Alumina Refinery, Australia

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15
Strong operating performance

The Pilbara, Western Australia

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16

Investments in high value projects

  Total capital expenditure in 2012 of US$17.4bn

  Investments made in the high value areas of our business

  A recovery plan in place to minimise the impact of the pit wall slide at our copper mine in Utah

  Divesting assets that no longer align with our strategy

Oyu Tolgoi, Mongolia

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17
The year ahead

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18

The year ahead

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19

Building a stronger, more focused and accountable business

Streamlined the Executive committee from 11 to nine members Bonus and reward structures more closely aligned to individual value delivery Delayering the organisation Reviewing our operating model

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20

A clear direction

"My vision is to build a company that is greatly admired and respected.  A company that is attractive to investors; a company that customers, suppliers, governments and communities want to partner with; and a company employees and shareholders are proud to be part of."

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21

Delivering value for the next 140 years

Boron, US

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23
Resolutions 1 - 17

• Receipt of 2012 Annual report

• Approval of 2012 Remuneration report

• Re-election of directors

• Re-appointment of auditors

• Remuneration of auditors

• Approval of Performance Share Plan 2013

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24
Resolutions 18 - 21

• General authority to allot shares

• Disapplication of pre-emption rights

• Authority to purchase Rio Tinto plc shares

• Notice period for general meetings other than annual general meetings

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