Exhibit 99.1

6711 Columbia Gateway Drive, Suite 300
Columbia, Maryland 21046
Telephone 443-285-5400
Facsimile 443-285-7650
www.copt.com
NYSE: OFC

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE	Contact:
Mary Ellen Fowler
Senior Vice President and Treasurer
443-285-5450
maryellen.fowler@copt.com

CORPORATE OFFICE PROPERTIES TRUST

ANNOUNCES OFFERING OF 2.1 MILLION COMMON SHARES

COLUMBIA, MD March 31, 2009 — Corporate Office Properties Trust (COPT) (NYSE: OFC) announced today that it plans to issue 2.1 million common shares in an underwritten public offering being made in conjunction with the Company’s inclusion in the S&P MidCap 400 Index after the market closes on April 1, 2009. The shares will be issued pursuant to an effective shelf registration statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The underwriters will be granted a 30-day option to purchase up to an additional 315,000 shares.

The joint book-running managers for this offering are Merrill Lynch & Co. and KeyBanc Capital Markets.

The Company plans to use the net proceeds from the sale to repay borrowings under its unsecured revolving credit facility and for general corporate purposes.

Copies of the preliminary prospectus supplement and the accompanying prospectus relating to these securities may be obtained from Merrill Lynch & Co., Attention: Prospectus Department, 4 World Financial Center, New York, New York 10080; and from KeyBanc Capital Markets, Attention: Prospectus Department, 800 Superior Avenue, 17th Floor, Cleveland, Ohio 44114.

This announcement shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state or other jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state or other jurisdiction.

Company Information

Corporate Office Properties Trust (COPT) (NYSE: OFC) is a specialty office real estate investment trust (REIT) that focuses on strategic customer relationships and specialized tenant requirements in the U.S. Government, Defense Information Technology and Data sectors. The Company acquires, develops, manages and leases properties which are typically concentrated in large office parks primarily located adjacent to government demand drivers and/or in growth corridors. As of December 31, 2008, the Company owned 256 office and data properties totaling 19.2 million rentable square feet, which includes 18 properties totaling 769,000 square feet held

through joint ventures. The Company’s portfolio primarily consists of technically sophisticated buildings in visually appealing settings that are environmentally sensitive, sustainable and meet unique customer requirements. More information on COPT can be found at www.copt.com.

Forward-Looking Information

This press release may contain “forward-looking” statements, as defined in Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, that are based on the Company’s current expectations, estimates and projections about future events and financial trends affecting the Company.  Forward-looking statements can be identified by the use of words such as “may”, “will”, “should”, “expect”, “estimate” or other comparable terminology.  Forward-looking statements are inherently subject to risks and uncertainties, many of which the Company cannot predict with accuracy and some of which the Company might not even anticipate.  Accordingly, the Company can give no assurance that these expectations, estimates and projections will be achieved.  Future events and actual results may differ materially from those discussed in the forward-looking statements.

Important factors that may affect these expectations, estimates, and projections include, but are not limited to:

·                  the Company’s ability to borrow on  favorable terms;

·                  general economic and business conditions, which will, among other things, affect office property demand and rents, tenant creditworthiness, interest rates and financing availability;

·                  adverse changes in the real estate markets including, among other things, increased competition with other companies;

·                  risks of real estate acquisition and development activities, including, among other things, risks that development projects may not be completed on schedule, that tenants may not take occupancy or pay rent or that development and operating costs may be greater than anticipated;

·                  risks of investing through joint venture structures, including risks that the Company’s joint venture partners may not fulfill their financial obligations as investors or may take actions that are inconsistent with the Company’s objectives;

·                  the Company’s ability to satisfy and operate effectively under federal income tax rules relating to real estate investment trusts and partnerships;

·                  governmental actions and initiatives; and

·                  environmental requirements.

The Company undertakes no obligation to update or supplement any forward-looking statements.  For further information, please refer to the Company’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, particularly the section entitled “Risk Factors” in Item 1 of the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008.