Exhibit 99.1

Press Release	Source: Medicis

Medicis and Inamed Receive Hart-Scott-Rodino Request for Additional Information

Friday May 6, 8:00 am ET

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. & SANTA BARBARA, Calif.—(BUSINESS WIRE)—May 6, 2005—Medicis (NYSE:MRX - News) and Inamed Corporation (NASDAQ:IMDC - News) jointly announced today they have received a request for additional information from the Federal Trade Commission regarding the proposed merger between the companies. The information request was issued under notification requirements of the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976, as amended.

The effect of the second request is to extend the waiting period imposed by the HSR Act until thirty days after Medicis and Inamed have substantially complied with the second request, unless that period is extended voluntarily by the parties or terminated sooner by the FTC. The companies intend to respond promptly to the information request and continue to expect the transaction to close by the end of calendar 2005.

About Medicis

Medicis is the leading independent specialty pharmaceutical company in the United States focusing primarily on the treatment of dermatological and podiatric conditions and aesthetics medicine. The company is dedicated to helping patients attain a healthy and youthful appearance and self-image. Medicis has leading branded prescription products in a number of therapeutic categories, including acne, eczema, fungal infections, psoriasis, rosacea, seborrheic dermatitis and skin and skin-structure infections. The company’s products have earned wide acceptance by both physicians and patients due to their clinical effectiveness, high quality and cosmetic elegance. For more information about Medicis, please visit the company’s website at www.medicis.com.

NOTE: Full prescribing information for any Medicis prescription product is available by contacting the company.

About Inamed Corporation

Inamed is a global healthcare company with over 25 years of experience developing, manufacturing and marketing innovative, high-quality, science-based products. Current products include breast implants for aesthetic augmentation and for reconstructive surgery; a range of dermal products to treat facial wrinkles; and minimally invasive devices for obesity intervention, including the LAP-BAND® System for morbid obesity. The company’s website is www.inamed.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Securities Litigation Reform Act. All statements included in this press release that address activities, events or developments that Medicis and Inamed expect, believe or anticipate will or may occur in the future are forward-looking statements. These statements are based on certain assumptions made by Medicis and Inamed based on their experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions, expected future developments and other factors they believe are appropriate in the circumstances. Such statements are subject to a number of assumptions, risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond the control of Medicis and Inamed. Any such projections or statements include the current views of Medicis and Inamed with respect to future events and financial performance. No assurances can be given, however, that these events will occur or that such results will be achieved. There are a number of important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected, including the anticipated size of the markets for the companies’ products; the availability of product supply; the receipt of required regulatory approvals for the transaction (including the approval of antitrust

authorities necessary to complete the merger); the approval of the merger by the stockholders of Medicis and Inamed; the ability to realize the anticipated synergies and benefits of the merger; the ability to timely and cost-effectively integrate Inamed and Medicis’ operations; access to available and feasible financing (including financing for the merger) on a timely basis; the risks and uncertainties normally incident to the pharmaceutical and medical device industries including product liability claims; dependence on sales of key products; the uncertainty of future financial results and fluctuations in operating results; dependence on Medicis’ strategy including the uncertainty of license payments and/or other payments due from third parties; the timing and success of new product development by Medicis, Inamed or third parties; competitive product introductions; the risks of pending or future litigation or government investigations; and other risks described from time to time in Medicis’ and Inamed’s Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) filings including their Annual Reports on Form 10-K for the year ended June 30, 2004 and December 31, 2004, respectively. Medicis and Inamed disclaim any intent or obligation to update any forward-looking statements contained herein, which speak as of the date hereof.

Additional Information about the Transaction and Where to Find It

In connection with the merger, Medicis and Inamed intend to file relevant materials with the SEC, including a registration statement on Form S-4 that will contain a prospectus and a joint proxy statement. INVESTORS AND SECURITY HOLDERS OF MEDICIS AND INAMED ARE URGED TO READ THESE, WHEN THEY BECOME AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT MEDICIS, INAMED AND THE MERGER. The proxy statement, prospectus and other relevant materials (when they become available), and any other documents filed by Medicis or Inamed with the SEC, may be obtained free of charge at the SEC’s web site at www.sec.gov. In addition, investors and security holders may obtain free copies of the documents filed with the SEC by Medicis by directing a written request to: Medicis, 8125 North Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ, 85258, Attention: Investor Relations, or Inamed, 5540 Ekwill Street, Santa Barbara, California, 93111, Attention: Investor Relations. Investors and security holders are urged to read the proxy statement, prospectus and the other relevant materials when they become available before making any voting or investment decision with respect to the merger.

Medicis, Inamed and their respective executive officers and directors may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from the stockholders of Medicis and Inamed in connection with the merger. Information about those executive officers and directors of Medicis and their ownership of Medicis’ common stock is set forth in the proxy statement for Medicis’ 2004 Annual Meeting of Stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on October 21, 2004. Information about the executive officers and directors of Inamed and their ownership of Inamed’s common stock is set forth in the Inamed’s Annual Report on Form 10-K/A for the year ended December 31, 2004. Investors and security holders may obtain additional information regarding the direct and indirect interests of Medicis, Inamed and their respective executive officers and directors in the merger by reading the proxy statement and prospectus regarding the merger when it becomes available.

This communication shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any securities, nor shall there be any sale of securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such jurisdiction. No offering of securities shall be made except by means of a prospectus meeting the requirements of Section 10 of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended.

Contact:

     Medicis
     Kara Stancell, 602-808-3854 (Investor Relations)
     or
     Inamed Corporation
     Charles Huiner, 805-683-6761 (Investor Relations)