Exhibit 99.1

Contact:	Dan Foley – Investors	Alberto Lopez – Media
	Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.	Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.
	(702) 407-6370	(702) 407-6344

Release #HET 12-0698

Harrah’s to Withdraw Common Stock Listing on NYSE Arca

Stock Will Continue Listing on New York Stock Exchange

LAS VEGAS – December 20, 2006 – Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc., (NYSE: HET) today announced plans to withdraw the listing of its common stock from NYSE Arca, Inc., formerly the Pacific Exchange. Harrah’s Entertainment common stock will continue to be listed on the New York Stock Exchange.

Harrah’s Entertainment has decided to withdraw its listing from NYSE Arca, Inc. to streamline operations and eliminate duplicative administrative requirements inherent with dual listings as a result of the NYSE Group’s recent merger with Archipelago Holdings, the parent company of NYSE Arca. The withdrawal is expected to be effective within the next month.  This withdrawal is unrelated to the announcement of December 19 that Harrah’s Entertainment entered into a definitive agreement for affiliates of Texas Pacific Group (TPG) and Apollo Management, L.P. to acquire Harrah’s for $90.00 in cash for each outstanding Harrah’s share.

Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. does not believe that withdrawing its listing from NYSE Arca, Inc. will have any impact on the liquidity of its stock. NYSE Arca will continue to trade Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. stock on an unlisted trading privilege basis.

Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. is the world’s largest provider of branded casino entertainment through operating subsidiaries. Since its beginning in Reno, Nevada nearly 70 years ago, Harrah’s has grown through development of new properties, expansions and acquisitions, and now owns or manages casinos on four continents.  The company’s properties operate primarily under the Harrah’s, Caesars and Horseshoe brand names; Harrah’s also owns the London Clubs International family of casinos.  Harrah’s Entertainment is focused on building loyalty and value with its customers through a unique combination of great service, excellent products, unsurpassed distribution, operational excellence and technology leadership.

More information about Harrah’s is available at its Web site – www.harrahs.com.

In connection with the proposed merger, Harrah’s will file a proxy statement with the Securities and Exchange Commission. INVESTORS AND SECURITY HOLDERS ARE STRONGLY ADVISED TO READ THE PROXY STATEMENT WHEN IT BECOMES AVAILABLE, BECAUSE IT WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION.  Investors and security holders may obtain a free copy of the proxy statement (when available) and other documents filed by Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. at the Securities and Exchange Commission’s Web site at http://www.sec.gov. The proxy statement and such other documents may also be obtained for free by directing such request to Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. Investor Relations, 2100 Caesars Palace Drive, Palace Tower, Spa Level, Las Vegas, NV 89109, telephone: (702) 407-6381 or on the company’s website at  http://investor.harrahs.com.

Harrah’s and its directors, executive officers and certain other members of its management and employees may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from its stockholders in connection with the proposed merger. Information regarding the interests Harrah’s participants in the solicitation will be included in the proxy statement relating to the proposed merger when it becomes available.

This release includes “forward-looking statements” intended to qualify for the safe harbor from liability established by the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. You can identify these statements by the fact that they do not relate strictly to historical or current facts. These statements contain words such as “may,” “will,” “project,” “might,” “expect,” “believe,” “anticipate,” “intend,” “could,” “would,” “estimate,” “continue” or “pursue,” or the negative or other variations thereof or comparable terminology. In particular, they include statements relating to, among other things, future actions, new projects, strategies, future performance, the outcomes of contingencies and future financial results of Harrah’s. These forward-looking statements are based on current expectations and projections about future events.

Investors are cautioned that forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance or results and involve risks and uncertainties that cannot be predicted or quantified and, consequently, the actual performance of Harrah’s may differ materially from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, the following factors, as well as other factors described from time to time in our reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (including the sections entitled “Risk Factors” and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” contained therein): the occurrence of any event, change or other circumstances that could give

rise to the termination of the merger agreement with TPG and Apollo; the outcome of any legal proceedings that have been, or will be, instituted against the Company related to the merger agreement; the inability to complete the merger due to the failure to obtain stockholder approval for the merger or the failure to satisfy other conditions to completion of the merger, including the receipt of all regulatory approvals related to the merger; the failure to obtain the necessary financing arrangements set forth in the debt and equity commitment letters delivered pursuant to the merger agreement; risks that the proposal transaction disrupts current plans and operations and the potential difficulties in employee retention as a result of the merger; the impact of the substantial indebtedness to be incurred to finance the consummation of the merger; the effects of local and national economic, credit and capital market conditions on the economy in general, and on the gaming and hotel industries in particular; construction factors, including delays, increased costs for labor and materials, availability of labor and materials, zoning issues, environmental restrictions, soil and water conditions, weather and other hazards, site access matters and building permit issues; the effects of environmental and structural building conditions relating to our properties; access to available and reasonable financing on a timely basis; the ability to timely and cost-effectively integrate acquisition into our operations, including Caesars and London Clubs; changes in laws, including increased tax rates, regulations or accounting standards, third-party relations and approvals, and decisions of courts, regulators and governmental bodies; litigation outcomes and judicial actions, including gaming legislative action, referenda and taxation; the ability of our customer-tracking, customer loyalty and yield-management programs to continue to increase customer loyalty and same store sales or hotel sales; our ability to recoup costs of capital investments through higher revenues; acts of war or terrorist incidents or natural disasters; abnormal

gaming holds; and the effects of competition, including locations of competitors and operating and market competition.

Any forward-looking statements are made pursuant to the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and, as such, speak only as of the date made. Harrah’s disclaims any obligation to update the forward-looking statements. You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements which speak only as of the date stated, or if no date is stated, as of the date of this press release.