Exhibit 99.1

Contact:	Brad Belhouse – Investors	Josh Hirsberg – Investors
	Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.	Caesars Entertainment, Inc.
	(702) 407-6367	(702) 699-5269

	Gary Thompson – Media	Robert Stewart – Media
	Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.	Caesars Entertainment, Inc.
	(702) 407-6529	(702) 699-5043

Harrah’s Entertainment, Caesars Entertainment Certify

‘Substantial Compliance’ With FTC Information Requests

LAS VEGAS, January 19, 2005 – Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. (NYSE:HET) and Caesars Entertainment, Inc. (NYSE:CZR) said today they are in “substantial compliance” with requests from the Federal Trade Commission for information concerning the planned merger of the two companies.

Last July, Harrah’s and Caesars announced a $9.4 billion merger agreement that will create the world’s largest distributor of casino entertainment. The FTC subsequently issued a “second request” for information from each company concerning the merger.

Today the two companies each certified they have provided substantially all the information still being requested by the FTC. The transaction is expected to be completed in the second quarter, pending receipt of necessary regulatory approvals.

More information about the companies is available at their respective Web sites – www.harrahs.com and www.caesars.com

Founded 67 years ago, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. owns or manages through various subsidiaries 28 casinos in the United States, primarily under the Harrah’s and Horseshoe brand names. Harrah’s Entertainment is focused on building loyalty and value with its valued customers through a unique combination of great service, excellent products, unsurpassed distribution, operational excellence and technology leadership.

Caesars Entertainment, Inc. is one of the world’s leading gaming companies. With 25 properties on four continents, 25,000 hotel rooms, two million square feet of casino space and 52,000 employees, the Caesars portfolio is among the strongest in the industry. Caesars casino resorts operate under the Caesars, Bally’s, Flamingo, Grand Casinos, Hilton and Paris brand names. The company has its corporate headquarters in Las Vegas.

This release includes “forward-looking statements” intended to qualify for the safe harbor from liability established by the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. You can identify these statements by the fact that they do not relate strictly to historical or current facts. These statements contain words such as “may,” “will,” “project,” “might,” “expect,” “believe,” “anticipate,” “intend,” “could,” “would,” “estimate,” “continue” or “pursue,” or the negative or other variations thereof or comparable terminology. In particular, they include statements relating to, among other things, future actions, strategies, future performance, future financial results of Harrah’s and Caesars and Harrah’s anticipated acquisition of Caesars.  These forward-looking statements are based on current expectations and projections about future events.

Investors are cautioned that forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance or results and involve risks and uncertainties that cannot be predicted or quantified and, consequently, the actual performance or results of Caesars and Harrah’s may differ materially from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements.  Such risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, the following factors as well as other factors described from time to time in our reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (including the sections entitled “Risk Factors” and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” contained therein):  financial community and rating agency perceptions of Harrah’s and Caesars’, the effects of economic, credit and capital market conditions on the economy in general, and on gaming and hotel companies in particular; construction factors, including delays, zoning issues, environmental restrictions, soil and water conditions, weather and other hazards, site access matters and building permit issues; the effects of environmental and structural building conditions relating to our properties;  the ability to timely and cost-effectively integrate into Harrah’s operations the companies that it acquires, including with respect to its acquisition of Caesars;  access to available and feasible financing, including financing for Harrah’s acquisition of Caesars, on a timely basis; changes in laws (including increased tax rates), regulations or accounting standards, third-party relations and approvals, and decisions of courts, regulators and governmental bodies; litigation outcomes and judicial actions, including gaming legislative action, referenda and taxation; the ability of our customer-tracking, customer loyalty and yield-management programs to continue to increase customer loyalty and same store sales; our ability to recoup costs of capital investments through higher revenues; acts of war or terrorist incidents; abnormal gaming holds; and the effects of competition, including locations of competitors and operating and market competition.

Any forward-looking statements are made pursuant to the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and, as such, speak only as of the date made. Harrah’s and Caesars disclaim any obligation to update the forward-looking statements.  You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements which speak only as of the date stated, or if no date is stated, as of the date of this press release. Additional Information about the Acquisition and Where to Find It

In connection with Harrah’s proposed acquisition of Caesars (“Acquisition”), Caesars and Harrah’s intend to file relevant materials with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), including a registration statement on Form S-4 that will contain a prospectus and a joint proxy statement.  INVESTORS AND SECURITY HOLDERS OF HARRAH’S AND CAESARS ARE URGED TO READ THE WHEN THEY BECOME AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT HARRAH’S, CAESARS AND THE ACQUISITION.  The proxy statement, prospectus and other relevant materials (when they become available), and any other documents filed by Harrah’s or Caesars with the SEC, may be obtained free of charge at the SEC’s web site at www.sec.gov.  In addition, investors and security holders may obtain free copies of the documents filed with the SEC by Harrah’s by directing a written request to: Harrah’s, One Harrah’s Court, Las Vegas, Nevada 89119, Attention: Investor Relations or Caesars Entertainment, Inc., 3930 Howard Hughes Parkway, Las Vegas, Nevada 89109, Attention:  Investor Relations. Investors and security holders are urged to read the proxy statement, prospectus and the other relevant materials when they become available before making any voting or investment decision with respect to the Acquisition.

Harrah’s, Caesars and their respective executive officers and directors may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from the stockholders of Caesars

and Harrah’s in connection with the Acquisition.  Information about those executive officers and directors of Harrah’s and their ownership of Harrah’s common stock is set forth in the Harrah’s Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2003, which was filed with the SEC on March 5, 2004, and the proxy statement for Harrah’s 2004 Annual Meeting of Stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on March 4, 2004.  Information about the executive officers and directors of Caesars and their ownership of Caesars common stock is set forth in the proxy statement for Caesars’ 2004 Annual Meeting of Stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on April 16, 2004.  Investors and security holders may obtain additional information regarding the direct and indirect interests of Harrah’s, Caesars and their respective executive officers and directors in the Acquisition by reading the proxy statement and prospectus regarding the Acquisition when it becomes available.

This communication shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any securities, nor shall there be any sale of securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such jurisdiction.  No offering of securities shall be made except by means of a prospectus meeting the requirements of Section 10 of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended.