Exhibit 99.2

United Community Banks, Inc. Investor Presentation Fourth Quarter 2011 Jimmy C. Tallent Rex S. Schuette David P. Shearrow President & CEO EVP & CFO EVP & CRO rex_schuette@ucbi.com (706) 781-2266

Cautionary Statement                                           2

This presentation contains forward-looking statements, as defined by Federal Securities Laws, including statements about financial outlook and business environment.  These statements are provided to assist in the understanding of future financial performance.  Such performance involves risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially from those in such statements.  Any such statements are based on current expectations and involve a number of risks and uncertainties.  For a discussion of factors that may cause such forward-looking statements to differ materially from actual results, please refer to United Community Banks, Inc.’s Annual Report filed on Form 10-K with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Non-GAAP Measures                                           3

This presentation also contains non-GAAP financial measures determined by methods other than in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”).  Such non-GAAP financial measures include the following:  net interest margin – pre credit, core net interest margin, core net interest revenue, core fee revenue, core operating expense, core earnings, net operating (loss) income and net operating (loss) earnings per share, tangible common equity to tangible assets, tangible equity to tangible assets and tangible common equity to risk-weighted assets.  The most comparable GAAP measures to these measures are:  net interest margin, net interest revenue, fee revenue, operating expense, net (loss) income, diluted (loss) earnings per share and equity to assets.

Management uses these non-GAAP financial measures because we believe it is useful for evaluating our operations and performance over periods of time, as well as in managing and evaluating our business and in discussions about our operations and performance.  Management believes these non-GAAP financial measures provide users of our financial information with a meaningful measure for assessing our financial results and credit trends, as well as comparison to financial results for prior periods. These non-GAAP financial measures should not be considered as a substitute for financial measures determined in accordance with GAAP and may not be comparable to other similarly titled financial measures used by other companies.  For a reconciliation of the differences between our non-GAAP financial measures and the most comparable GAAP measures, please refer to the ‘Non-GAAP Reconcilement Tables’ at the end of the Appendix of this presentation.

Highlights Fourth Quarter                                           4

Net Income of $9.9 Million, or 12 Cents per Share

Second quarterly profit in 2011

Loan Growth Flat

First time since March 2008

Strong Core Deposit Growth

Nonperforming Assets Decline to $160 Million, or 2.3% of Assets

LOAN PORTFOLIO & CREDIT 5 QUALITY

Loan Portfolio (total $4.11 billion) 6 Geographic Diversity $.45B $ in millions Residential Construction $1.14B .11B 11% Residential Installment Mortgage 3% 28% $2.41B Commercial 58%

Commercial Loans (total $2.41 billion)                                                                7

$.16B

Geographic Diversity                                           Comm

Const $ in millions                                7% $.43B

C & I 18% $1.11B

Owner Occupied 46% $.71B

Income Producing 29%

Avg Loan Size (,000)

$700 $600

610

$500 $400                      449

420

$300 $200 $100

84

$0

Owner Income                                C & I           Comm Occupied Producing                                                      Constr

Commercial Real Estate (by loan type)                                                                8

(in millions)

December 31, 2011                                Portfolio Characteristics

Owner                      Income

Loan Type                      Occupied Producing                                           Total           Percent

Office Buildings                                $        285 $        211 $        496                                                           27%                      61% owner-occupied Retail                                                                120          145          265     15 Small Warehouses/Storage          115            78          193     11 Multi-Residential Properties            60            84          144      8Small business, doctors, Churches          139           -          139      8dentists, attorneys, CPAs Hotels/Motels           -            92            92      5 Convenience Stores            63            22            85      5 Franchise / Restaurants            37            34            71      4$12 million project limit Farmland            63           -            63      3 Manufacturing Facility            51            10            61      3 Golf Course/Recreation            60           -            60      3Average Loan Size Auto Dealership/Service            44              8            52      3 Leasehold Property            17              7            24      1-$468 Composite CRE Daycare Facility            16            10            26      1 Carwash            19              1            20      1-$420 Owner Occupied Other Small Business            10              8            18      1 Funeral Home            12              1            13      1-$610 Income Producing    Total$     1,111 $        711 $     1,822

Commercial Construction (by loan type)                                                                9

(in millions)

December 31, 2011 Loan Type                                                      Amount                      Percent

Land Develop - Vacant (Improved)                                                                $        65                      39 %           Portfolio Characteristics Raw Land - Vacant (Unimproved)          5735 Commercial Land Development          2515Average loan size: $449k Golf Course/Country Club            64 Office Buildings            32 Churches            32 Warehouse            21 Miscellaneous Construction            32    Total Commercial Construction$       164        100%

Residential Mortgage (total $1.14 billion)                                                                           10

Geographic Diversity                                           $.30B

Home Equity $ in millions                                           26%

Avg loan size: $44k

$.84B

Mortgage                      Avg loan 74%                                size: $72k

Origination Characteristics No broker loans Policy Max LTV: 80-85% 53.8% of HE Primary Lien

Residential Construction (total $.45 billion)                                                                           11

Geographic Diversity                                           a L d n

$ in millions

Developing

o C s n r u t t i c n o

Average Loan Size

Spec $223k                      Develop                      $619k Sold                      $132k           Raw Land                      $150k Lot                      $88k

Residential Construction – Total Company                                                                           12

4Q11 vs. (in millions)                                           4Q11           3Q11
          2Q11           1Q11           4Q10           4Q10

Land Loans

Developing Land
$       88                      $       97
$      105                      $      116
$      174                      $      (86)
Raw Land         61         60
        62         69
        99        (38) Lot Loans       207
216       218       228       275        (68)

Total                  356                              373                              385
                             413                              548                            (192)

Construction Loans

Spec                    59                               64                               74
                             88                               97                              (38)
Sold                                         33         37         43         49
         50        (17)

Total                    92                              101                              117
                             137                              147                              (55)
 Total Res Construction$      448$      474$      502
$      550$      695$     (247)

By Region

Atlanta                      $       86                      $       92                      $       97
                     $      110                      $      133                      $      (47)
Gainesville MSA         20         25         25         26         36
        (16)
North Georgia       214       229       249       266       339
      (125)
North Carolina         91         92         95       106       140        (49)
Coastal Georgia         24         24         24         27         30          (6)
Tennessee         13         12         12         15         17          (4)

Total Res Construction                                           $     448                      $     474
                     $     502                      $     550                      $     695                      $    (247)

New Loans Funded – Category and Market                                                                           13

(in millions)

2011           2011 CATEGORY                                4Q           YTD           MARKET                      4Q           YTD

Commercial RE:                                Atlanta                      $    56.1                      $  138.4 Owner Occupied                                           $    54.1                      $  146.8                      N. Georgia     30.0    113.3 Income Producing     24.1     66.1Coastal Georgia     35.6     73.0 Total Commercial RE     78.2    212.9North Carolina       7.2     25.2 Commercial C & I     41.4     79.6Tennessee     12.7     25.0 Commercial Constr.       2.1       6.7Gainesville       5.7     17.4 Residential     19.2     60.8   Total Markets$  147.3$  392.3 Residential Constr.       5.5     28.5 Consumer         .9       3.8    Total Categories$  147.3$  392.3

New Loan Commitments – Category and Market                                                                                     14

(in millions)

2011           2011 CATEGORY                                4Q           YTD           MARKET                      4Q           YTD

Commercial RE:                                Atlanta                      $    69.3                      $  206.5 Owner Occupied                                           $    56.7                      $  152.1                      N. Georgia     40.0    155.2 Income Producing     25.4     72.7Coastal Georgia     38.1     81.3 Total Commercial RE     82.1    224.8North Carolina     10.1     38.8 Commercial C & I     52.6    130.6Tennessee     17.3     36.7 Commercial Constr.       5.2     20.4Gainesville       7.2     23.7 Residential     23.4     74.1   Total Markets$  182.0$  542.2 Residential Constr.     17.2     87.1 Consumer       1.5       5.2    Total Categories$  182.0$  542.2

Credit Quality   15
(in millions)4Q11    3Q11    2Q11    1Q11    4Q10 Operating Net Charge-offs(1)   $ 20.6   $ 17.5   $ 16.5   $ 231.6   $ 47.7a
% of Average Loans(1)    1.99% 1.68% 1.58% 20.71% 4.03%
Allowance for Loan Losses   $ 114.5   $ 146.1   $ 127.6   $ 133.1   $ 174.7
as % of Total Loans    2.79% 3.55% 3.07% 3.17% 3.79 % as % of NPLs    90    101    180    159    98

Past Due Loans (30 89 Days)   .75%   .70%   .65%   1.26%   1.26%
Non-Performing Loans   $ 127.5   $ 144.5   $ 71.0   $ 83.7   $ 179.1 OREO    32.8    44.2    47.6    54.4    142.2 Total NPAs   $ 160.3   $ 188.7   $ 118.6   $ 138.1   $ 321.3
Accruing TDRs   $ 105.8   $ 69.8   $ 41.5   $ 44.4   $ 100.7
As % of Original Principal Balance
Non-Performing Loans    71.3% 77.8% 64.5% 57.3% 67.2 % OREO    35.9    33.4    32.6    30.3    64.4

Total NPAs as % of Total Assets    2.30    2.74    1.66    1.79    4.42 as % of Loans & OREO    3.87    4.54    2.82    3.25    6.77

(1) Excludes $25 million of charge-offs for largest loan relationship in 4Q11 and $11.75 million partial recovery of 2007 fraud loss in 4Q10.

NPL Inflow Trends                                16

Quarterly NPL Inflows Since 2009 ($mm)

$193.3                      76.4% $200.0 $174.8                                           $177.7                      $174.9                      Decline $155.0                                from Peak $139.0 $150.0$119.8 $103.4 $100.0$81.0

$54.7           $45.7 $50.0                      $35.9

$0.0

Q1 '09           Q2 '09           Q3 '09           Q4 '09           Q1 '10           Q2 '10           Q3 '10           Q4 '10           Q1 '11           Q2 '11           Q3 '11           Q4 '11

Resi Construction                                Com. Construction                                Resi. Mortgage                                Com. RE                      Commercial                      Consumer

Total NPLs ($mm)

Net Charge‐offs by Loan Category  17

(in thousands)

4Q11(1)  % of Average Loans (Annualized)

% of Avg
Total  Loans  3Q11  2Q11(2)  1Q11 (2)

Commercial (Sec. by RE):

Owner Occupied  $ 3,019   1.16% .34% .89% .89 % Income Producing   1,042   .57   .71   1.54   .33 Total Comm (Sec. by RE)   4,061   .90   .50   1.16   .65 Commercial Construction   455   1.08   3.54   4.31   1.77 Commercial & Industrial   1,894   1.75   .39   .59   .46 Total Commercial   6,410   1.06   .71   1.33   .73

Residential Construction   7,900   6.77   5.19   7.19   6.72 Residential Mortgage   5,887   2.04   2.09   1.97   1.59 Consumer/ Installment   427   1.47   2.75   2.07   1.19 Total Net Charge-offs  $ 20,624   1.99   1.68   2.27   1.84

(1) Excludes charge-offs for largest loan relationship of Commerical Construction $2,863; Commercial & Industrial $17,046; CRE Income Producing $901; and, Residential Construction $4,190 (2) Calculated excluding losses related to asset disposition plans.

plans.

Net Charge‐offs by Market  18

(in thousands)

4Q11(1)  % of Average Loans (Annualized)

% of Avg
Total  Loans  3Q11  2Q11(2)  1Q11(2)

Atlanta MSA  $ 4,195   1.37% .94% 1.66% 1.04 % Gainesville MSA   2,572   3.84   2.64   3.73   1.32 North Georgia   9,970   2.70   2.16   2.71   2.06 Western North Carolina   3,180   2.10   2.31   2.67   3.98 Coastal Georgia   335   .41   .88   1.52   0.42 East Tennessee   372   .59   .78   .76   1.00

Total  $ 20,624   1.99   1.68   2.27   1.84

(1) Excludes charge-offs for largest loan relationship of Commerical Construction $2,863; Commercial & Industrial $17,046; CRE Income Producing $901; and, Residential Construction $4,190 (2) Calculated excluding losses related to asset disposition plans.

NPAs by Loan Category and Market                                                                19

(in thousands)

4Q11           4Q11

NPLs           OREO                      Total NPAs                      NPLs
           OREO                      Total NPAs

LOAN CATEGORY                                MARKETS

Commercial (sec. by RE):
Atlanta MSA                      $        14,480 $          6,169 $           20,649
 Owner Occupied
   $        15,490 $          6,931 $        22,189
Gainesville MSA            2,069            3,760               5,829
Income Producing          11,832            2,814          14,621
North Georgia          88,600          15,136           103,736
Commercial Construction          16,655            3,336          19,991
Western N. Carolina          15,100            5,365             20,465
 Commercial & Industrial          34,613               -          34,613
Coastal Georgia            5,248            1,620               6,868
Total Commercial          78,590          13,081          91,414
East Tennessee            1,982               809               2,791

Total           $      127,479 $        32,859 $         160,338

Residential Construction          25,523          12,851          38,374
Residential
Mortgage
                                                  22,358            6,927          29,285
Consumer/ Installment            1,008               -            1,008

Total           $      127,479 $        32,859 $      160,081

Financial Review 20

Core Earnings Summary                                           21

(In Thousands)                                Variance - Incr / (Decr) 4Q11                                                      3Q11           4Q10

Net Interest Revenue                                           $      59,050                      $          (231)                      $       (1,082)

Fee Revenue                      11,442                      133           294

   Gross Revenue                                70,492                      (98)           (788)

Operating Expense (Excl OREO)                                                      43,843                      (250)           (261)

   Pre-Tax, Pre-Credit (Core)                                                      $      26,649                      $           152                      $          (527)

Net Interest Margin                                3.51%                      (.04) %                      (.07) %

Net Interest Margin                                22

NIM Characteristics

4.50%           4.48%           • Margin changes

4.05%

3.87%           3.84%           3.81%

3.71%           -4 bps vs. 3Q11 -7 bps vs. 4Q10

•           Lowered Core and CD Deposit Pricing

•           Loan Pricing at risk

•           4Q Excess liquidity –lowered Margin by 67 bps NIM                                                                                     and 66 bps in Q3

NIM – Core Credit(1)(2)

(1) Excludes impact of reversal of interest on performing loans classified as held for sale – Q1 2011 (2) Excluding impact of nonaccrual loans, OREO and interest reversals

Margin – Credit Costs                                           23

Credit Costs Impacting Margin

.50%

.47%           .46%*

.45%

.11%           .11%           Historically 8 to 12 bps

.40%

.35%

.30%           .30%           Significant improvement with

.29%

.30%           de-risking balance sheet first

.19%           .16%           .05%           .05%

.25%           .07%           quarter .07% .20% .07%                                           .13%

.15%           Cost 4Q11 vs. Historical – 18 .10%                                                                .19%           bps (annual earnings impact

.17%           .18%

.15%

.05%           .12%           of $12.1 million)

.00%

4Q10           1Q11           2Q11           3Q11           4Q11           1 bps = $670 thousand in NIR

Interest Reversals

Carry Cost of NPAs                                *Excludes bulk loan sale impact of 10

Lost Interest on C/Os                                           bps

Key Drivers of Net Interest Revenue / Margin 24 Positive Impact on Margin  Holding loan pricing flat  Actively lowering deposit pricing 4.35 4.31 4.74 4.76 4.79 Loan Pricing Spreads

Deposit Pricing, Excluding Brokered Deposits                                                                           25

1.25           1.16

1.12

1.00           .93

.89

.75           .62 .61

.46 .50                      .46           .44 .39

.32           .36 .26                      .30

.25           .22

.00

CDs           MMDA                      NOW

Note – CD pricing reflects the quarter-ending new and renewed yield.  MMDA / NOW pricing reflects the deposit yield for each quarter

Deposit Mix (total $6.1 billion)                                                      26

4Q11

Brokered

($ in millions)                                $6.1B           3%

Public Funds

14%           Demand &                      48% NOW

4Q11           3Q11           4Q10           4Q08           28%

Demand /  NOW                                $       1,674                      $       1,686
                      $       1,573                      $       1,457                      Time >$100k

13%

MMDA / Savings                                         1,228                               1,220
                               1,063                                  630

 Core Transaction                                         2,902                               2,906
                              2,636                               2,087

-4             +266           Time <$100k                                MMDA & Sav.

22%           20%

                                            10% Growth

  +815

                                            39% Growth

4Q08

Time < $100,000                                         1,326                               1,387
                              1,491                               1,945                      $7.0B

Demand &                      30%

Public Deposits                                            844                                  597
                                 663                                  755                      Brokered

11%           NOW

 Total Core                               5,072                               4,890
                        4,790                               4,787                      21%

Public Funds

Time >$100,000                                            807                                  867
                               940                               1,336                      12%

Public Deposits                                              40                                    38
                                62                                    87                      MMDA & Sav.

 Total Customer                                         5,919                               5,795
                              5,792                               6,210                      9%

Time >$100k

Brokered
Deposits                                            179                                  210
                               677                                  793                      19%

 Total Deposits                                $       6,098                      $       6,005
                   $       6,469                      $       7,003                      Time <$100k

28%

Core Deposit Growth – Category and Market   27

(in millions, excluding public)

  2011    2011
CATEGORY  4Q  YTD MARKET  4Q  YTD
Demand $ 8.8 $ 185.7 Atlanta $ 10.2 $ 102.4
MM Accounts  8.7  149.8 N. Georgia  (12.8)  80.8
Savings  (1.3)  14.9 North Carolina  (3.6)  27.4
NOW  (20.1)  (84.1) Tennessee  1.6  20.7
Total Categories $ (3.9) $ 266.3 Coastal Georgia  (5.9)  19.6
     Gainesville  6.6  15.4
     Total Markets $ (3.9) $ 266.3

Fee Revenue - Core                                28

(In Thousands)

Variance - Incr / (Decr) 4Q11                                                      3Q11           4Q10

NSF & Overdraft Fees                                           $     3,537                      $        (4)                      $    (295) ATM Fees                                                 2,969                            (333)
       434 Other Service Charges         742         51         70 Total Service Charges and Fees      7,248      (286)       209 M
ortgage Loan & Related Fees      1,825       677
      (43) Brokerage Fees         782        (54)           4 Other      1,587      (204)       124 Total$   11,442$      133$      294

Excludes net securities gains and charges on prepayment of FHLB advances, hedge ineffectiveness gains, gains from the sale of low income housing tax credits and mark to market adjustments on United's deferred compensation plan assets.

Operating Expenses - Core                                                      29

(In Thousands)

Variance - Incr / (Decr) 4Q11                                                      3Q11           4Q10

Salaries & Employee Benefits                                                      $   25,538                      $    (110)                            1,973 Communications & Equipment      3,129      (155)        (248) Occupancy      3,972       178          (52) FDIC Assessment      2,599          (4)        (700) Advertising & Public Relations         944      (108)        (158) Postage, Printing & Supplies      1,017        (19)          (46) Professional Fees      1,996        (55)     (1,020) Other Expense      4,648         23          (10)

$           43,843                      $    (250)                      $      (261)

Excludes foreclosed property costs, adjustment to reclassify pension plan actuarial gains and losses and unamortized prior service costs to other comprehensive income, and mark to market adjustments on United's deferred compensation plan liability.

Net Operating Loss                                30

(In Thousands)

4Q11           3Q11           4Q10    Pre-Tax, Pre-Credit (Core)                                                                $         26,649
                             $          26,497                                $          27,176

Provision for Loan Loss                                                     (14,000)
                       (36,000)                                          (47,750)

Foreclosed Property Costs:

Write-downs                                  (3,892)
          (1,772)                                            (8,031) Gains (Losses)
on Sales                                                                            (3,041)
                804            (7,818) Maintenance, Taxes, Etc.
            (2,369)            (1,845)            (4,753)
Total Foreclosed Property Costs            (9,302)
            (2,813)          (20,602) Hedge Ineffectiveness
 Gains                313                575                400
Securities Gains, Net                    4                 -
      -Gains from Sale of Low Income Housing Tax Credits
                728                 -                682 Reclassification of
 Acturial Gains and Losses and Prior Service Cost to OCI
            2,245                 -                 -Income Tax (Expense)
Benefit             3,264                402        (144,760)

   Net Operating Income (Loss)
                 $            9,901
                  $        (11,339)                                $      (184,854)

Partial Recovery of 2007 Fraud Loss                                                                                 -                                       -                                 11,750

Net Income (Loss)                                $           9,901
           $        (11,339)                                $      (173,104)

Net Operating Income (Loss) Per Share                                                                $
        .12                                $              (.25)                                $            (9.87)

Net Income (Loss)                                31

(In Thousands)

4Q11           3Q11           4Q10 Net Income (Loss)
                                          $        9,901
   $     (11,339)                      $   (173,104)

Preferred Stock Dividends
           (3,025)                               (3,019)
                 (2,586)

Net Income (Loss) Avail to Common Shareholders
                            $        6,876                      $     (14,358)
                    $   (175,690)   Net Income (Loss) Per Share$            .12$
     (.25)$         (9.25)   Tangible Book Value
$          6.47$          6.61$        14.80

Shares Outstanding (millions)
 57.6           57.5           18.9

Capital Ratios

32

       Well-                             Minimum

Capitalized                      Guideline                      DEC '11
                      SEP '11                      JUN '11 Bank Tier 1 RBC
                                                               6%                10%
         13.6%             13.5%             13.3 % Total RBC
                 10                11             14.8             14.8
             15.1 Leverage                    5
    8               8.8               8.7               8.4

Holding Company

Tier 1
RBC                                          6
     10                                   13.6
    13.8                                   13.6 Total RBC
                                        10
             11             15.4             15.6             16.2

Leverage                    5                 8               8.8
               8.8               8.5 Tier I Common RBC                 4.5                  7               8.2               8.2
               8.3

Tangible Equity to Assets                                                          8.2
                 8.4                                     7.9 Tangible
 Common to Assets
              5.4               5.7               5.6 (1)

(1) As of quarter-end (capital raise conversion)

33

United at a Glance 34 Assets $7.0 Billion Banks 27 Deposits $6.1 Billion Offices 106

Experienced Proven Leadership                                                      35

Joined Years in UCBI                                           Banking

Jimmy Tallent                                President & CEO                                1984           37 Rex Schuette                                Chief Financial Officer                                           2001           34 David ShearrowChief Risk Officer200730 Craig MetzMarketing & Retail Banking200219

Regional Presidents:

Bill Gilbert                      North & Coastal Georgia                                           2000           35 Tim Schools                                North Carolina & Tennessee                                                      201112 Glenn WhiteAtlanta200737

Business and Operating Model                                                      36

“Community bank service, large bank resources”

Twenty-seven “community banks”

           Local CEOs with deep roots in their communities

           Resources of $7.0 billion bank

Service is point of differentiation

           #1 in Customer Satisfaction according to Customer Service Profiles

           J.D. Power Customer Service Champion

           Recognized 40 companies in the U.S.

           Only bank to be recognized

           Golden rule of banking

           “The Bank That SERVICE Built”

           Ongoing customer surveys

           95% satisfaction rate in 2011

Strategic footprint with substantial banking opportunities

           Operates in a number of the more demographically attractive markets in the U.S.

Disciplined growth strategy

           Organic supported by de novos and selective acquisitions

Robust Demographics (fast growing markets)                                                                           37

Population Growth (%) Population                                                                Actual                      Projected Markets1                                (in thousands)                                2000 - 20102010 - 2015

North Georgia                                                     394                                23%           7 % Atlanta MSA                                                  5,611                                32           10 Gainesville MSA                     1913713 Coastal Georgia                     373115 Western North Carolina                     429124 East Tennessee                     860146

Total Markets

Georgia                                      10,014                                22           7 North Carolina                                                  9,552                                19           8 Tennessee                                        6,366125 United States              311,213114

¹ Population data is for 2010 and includes those markets where United takes deposits.  Source: SNL

Market Share Opportunities                                                      38

(excellent growth prospects)

Market

Deposits                      United                      Deposit

Markets                      (in billions) (1)                                Deposits (2)                      Banks           Offices                      Share(1)                      Rank(1)

North Georgia                                 $               6.8                                 $         2.0                      11           23           33%           1 Atlanta MSA                                                48.2            2.1103847 Gainesville MSA                  2.5              .315143 Coastal Georgia                  7.0              .42867 Western North Carolina                  7.3             1.0 121133 East Tennessee                15.9               .3 211210

Total Markets                                 $             87.7                                 $         6.1                      27           106

¹           FDIC deposit market share and rank as of 6/11 for markets where United takes deposits. Source: SNL and FDIC.

2           Based on current quarter.

Leading Demographics                                           39

Total Assets 2010 - 2015 Population Rank Ticker                                                                                     Company(1)                      State           ($ B)           Growth (2)

1           CFR           Cullen/Frost Bankers, Inc.                                           TX           $19.5           9.07%

2           WAL           Western Alliance Bancorporation                                                      AZ           6.5           7.60

3           FCNCA                      First Citizens Bancshares, Inc.                                                      NC           21.0           7.41

4           GBCI           Glacier Bancorp, Inc.                                           MT           7.0           7.19

5           PRSP           Prosperity Bancshares, Inc.                                                      TX           9.6           7.18

6           IBOC           International Bancshares Corporation                                                                TX           11.6           7.06

7           UCBI           United Community Banks, Inc.                                                      GA           7.0           7.06

8           TCBI           Texas Capital Bancshares, Inc.                                                      TX           7.7           6.37

9           HBHC                      Hancock Holding Company                                                      MS           19.4           6.29

10           FCBN           First Citizens Bancorporation, Inc.                                                                SC           8.3           6.05

11           FIBK           First Interstate BancSystem, Inc.                                                      MT           7.3           5.93

12           BOKF           BOK Financial Corporation                                                      OK           25.1           5.91

13           SNV           Synovus Financial Corp.                                           GA           28.3           4.84

14           STSA           Sterling Financial Corporation                                                      WA           9.2           4.51

15           FHN           First Horizon National Corporation                                                                TN           25.6           4.43

Note: Financial information as of September 30, 2011

(1) Includes publicly traded companies with assets between $5.0 – 50.0 billion as of September 30, 2011 (2) Population growth weighted by county (cumulative) Data Source: SNL Financial

Proactively Addressing Credit Environment                                                                           40

Structure

           Centralized underwriting and approval process

           Segregated work-out teams

           Highly skilled ORE disposition group

           Seasoned regional credit professionals

Process

           Continuous external loan review

           Intensive executive management involvement: o Weekly past due meetings o Weekly NPA/ORE meetings o Quarterly criticized watch loan review meetings o Quarterly pass commercial and CRE portfolio review meetings

           Internal loan review of new credit relationships

Policy

           Ongoing enhancements to credit policy

           Periodic updates to portfolio limits

Performing Classified Loans                                                      41

(in millions)                      4Q11           3Q11           2Q11           1Q11
           4Q10 LOANS BY CATEGORY

Commercial (Sec. by RE):

Owner Occupied                                $       79                      $       69
                   $       72                      $       75                      $       86 Income
Producing         64         65         46         45         71
Total Comm (Sec. by RE)       143       134       118       120
       157 Commercial Construction         18         26         31         35
        90 Commercial & Industrial         16         25         17         16         17

  TOTAL COMMERCIAL                                                             177
    185                             166                             171                             264

Consumer / Installment                                                      3                                 3
                               3                                 2                                 3
Residential Construction         72         76         74         81       159 Residential Mortgage         76         77         70         69
       86   LOANS$      328$      341$      313$      323$      512

Business Mix Loans (at quarter-end)                                                                42

4Q11 vs. (in millions)                                           4Q11           3Q11           2Q11
      1Q11           4Q10           4Q10 LOANS BY CATEGORY

Commercial (Sec. by RE):

Owner Occupied                                $   1,111                      $   1,037                      $   1,014
                     $     994                      $     980                      $       131 Income Producing
      711       734       728       698       781         (70) Total Comm (Sec. by
RE)    1,822    1,771    1,742    1,692    1,761          61 Commercial
Construction       164       169       195       213       297       (133) Commercial & Industrial
      428       429       428       431       441         (13)

  Total Commercial                                     2,414                           2,369                           2,365
                    2,336                           2,499                               (85)

Residential Construction                                                  448                             474                             502
                            550                             695                             (247)
 Residential Mortgage    1,135    1,150    1,177    1,187    1,279       (144) Consumer / Installment       113       117       119       121       131
         (18)   TOTAL LOANS$   4,110$   4,110$   4,163$   4,194$   4,604$      (494)

Loans – Markets Served (at quarter-end)                                                                           43

4Q11 vs. (in millions)                                           4Q11           3Q11           2Q11
           1Q11           4Q10           4Q10 LOANS BY MARKET

Atlanta MSA                      $   1,220                      $   1,192                      $   1,188
    $   1,179                      $   1,310                      $      (90) Gainesville MSA       265       272       275       282       312
  (47) North Georgia    1,426    1,478    1,500    1,531    1,689
      (263) Western North Carolina       597       607       626       640       702
    (105) Coastal Georgia       346       316       325       312       335         11
 East Tennessee
  256       245       249       250       256        -

Total           $   4,110                      $   4,110                      $   4,163
    $   4,194                      $   4,604                      $    (494)

Residential Construction – North Georgia                                                                           44

4Q11 vs. (in millions)                                           4Q11           3Q11           2Q11           1Q11
          4Q10           4Q10

Land Loans

Developing Land                                $       44                      $       51                      $       58
   $       62
                      $       88                      $      (44) Raw Land         26         25         25         27
         40       (14) Lot Loans       118       124       129       131       159       (41)

Total                  188                             200                             212                             220
        287                              (99)

Construction Loans

Spec                    12                               15                               18                               25
         31                             (19) Sold                                         14         14         19         21
         21         (7)

Total                    26                               29                               37                               46
        52                              (26) Total Res Construction $     214$     229$     249$     266$     339$    (125)

44

Residential Construction – Atlanta MSA                                                                           45

4Q11 vs. (in millions)                                           4Q11           3Q11           2Q11           1Q11
           4Q10           4Q10

Land Loans

Developing Land                                $       17                      $       19                      $       20
$       22                      $       30                      $      (13) Raw Land         14         15         16         19         23         (9) Lot Loans         22         22         22         24         32       (10)

Total                    53                               56                               58                               65
                             85                              (32)

Construction Loans

Spec                    27                               28                               30                               34
                           38                             (11) Sold                                          6          8
          9         11         10         (4)

Total                    33                               36                               39                               45
                            48                              (15) Total Res Construction $       86$       92$       97$     110$     133$      (47)

Business Mix Loans (at year-end)                                                                46

(in millions)                      2011           2010           2009           2008           2007
 LOANS BY CATEGORY

Commercial (Sec. by RE)                                           $   1,822                      $   1,761
                      $   1,779
                      $   1,627                      $   1,476 Commercial Construction       164
       297       363       500       527 Commercial & Industrial       428
       441       390       410       418

  Total Commercial                                     2,414                           2,499                           2,532
                          2,537                           2,421

Residential Construction                                                  448                             695                           1,050
                          1,479                           1,829 Residential Mortgage     1,135     1,279     1,427     1,526     1,502
Consumer / Installment       113       131       142       163       177
   TOTAL LOANS$   4,110$   4,604$   5,151$   5,705$   5,929

Loans – Markets Served (at year-end)                                                                47

(in millions)                      2011           2010           2009           2008           2007 LOANS BY MARKET

Atlanta MSA                      $  1,220                      $  1,310                      $  1,435                      $  1,706                      $  2,002 Gainesville MSA                                                  265       312       390       420       399 North Georgia    1,426    1,689    1,884    2,040    2,060 Western North Carolina       597       702       772       810       806 Coastal Georgia       346       335       405       464       416 East Tennessee       256       256       265       265       246

Total           $  4,110                      $  4,604                      $  5,151                      $  5,705                      $  5,929

Lending – Credit Summary 48 (in millions) Legal lending limit $156 House lending limit 20 Project lending limit 12 Top 25 relationships 414 Regional credit review – Standard underwriting

NPAs by Loan Category, Market, and Activity                                                                           49

Credit Quality (1)

Fourth Quarter 2011                                           Third Quarter 2011
 Second Quarter 2011

Non-performing                                Foreclosed                      Total           Non-performing
                               Foreclosed                      Total           Non-performing
 ForeclosedTotal (in thousands) Loans Properties NPAs Loans Properties NPAs
Loans Properties NPAs NPAs BY CATEGORY

Commercial (sec.by RE)                                           $            27,322 $              9,745 $
  37,067 $            21,998 $              8,880 $            30,878 $            17,764 $              6,796 $

        24,560 Commercial construction             16,655               3,336             19,991
      11,370               5,862
            17,232               2,782               6,764                 9,546 Commercial & industrial
    34,613                    -               34,613               53,009                    -               53,009
 1,998                    -                 1,998      Total commercial               78,590               13,081
          91,671               86,377               14,742
          101,119               22,544               13,560               36,104 Residential construction               25,523               12,851               38,374               34,472               21,561
               56,033               22,643               24,968               47,611 Residential mortgage               22,358                 6,927               29,285               22,671                 7,960
       30,631               24,809                 9,056               33,865 Consumer / installment
1,008                  -               1,008                  964                  -                 964               1,069
         -                 1,069      Total NPAs$            127,479 $             32,859 $            160,338 $
        144,484 $             44,263 $            188,747 $             71,065 $             47,584 $            118,649

     Balance as a % of

          Unpaid Principal                                           71.3%           35.9%           59.3%           77.8%
         33.4%           59.3%           64.5%           32.6%           46.3%

NPAs BY MARKET

Atlanta MSA                      $            14,480 $              6,169 $            20,649 $            13,350 $
         12,971 $            26,321 $            14,700 $            11,239 $             25,939 Gainesville MSA               2,069               3,760               5,829                5,311               2,495
 7,806               4,505               3,174                 7,679 North Georgia               88,600
    15,136             103,736             105,078               17,467
     122,545               28,117               21,278               49,395 Western North Carolina               15,100                 5,365               20,465               13,243                 7,941
           21,184               15,153                 8,953               24,106 Coastal Georgia                 5,248
                 1,620                 6,868                 5,600                 2,354
            7,954                 5,357                 2,564                 7,921 East Tennessee                 1,982                   809                 2,791                 1,902                 1,035

               2,937                 3,233                   376                 3,609      Total NPAs$            127,479 $             32,859 $            160,338 $            144,484 $             44,263 $            188,747 $             71,065 $             47,584 $            118,649

NPA ACTIVITY

Beginning Balance                                $            144,484 $             44,263 $            188,747 $             71,065 $             47,584 $            118,649 $             83,769 $             54,378 $            138,147 Loans placed on non-accrual               45,675                    -               45,675             103,365                    -             103,365               35,911                    -               35,911 Payments received              (1,884)                  -              (1,884)               (3,995)                  -              (3,995)              (7,702)                  -                (7,702) Loan charge-offs            (44,757)                  -            (44,757)             (15,335)                  -            (15,335)            (18,888)                  -              (18,888) Foreclosures            (16,039)             16,039                  -             (10,616)             10,616                  -            (22,025)             22,025                    -Capitalized costs                    -                   141                   141                    -                   818                   818                    -                     20                     20 Note / property sales                    -              (20,651)              (20,651)                    -              (13,787)              (13,787)                    -              (28,939)              (28,939) Write downs                    -                (3,893)                (3,893)                    -                (1,772)                (1,772)                    -                (3,118)                (3,118) Net gains (losses) on sales                    -                (3,040)                (3,040)                    -                   804                   804                    -                 3,218                 3,218      Ending Balance$            127,479 $             32,859 $            160,338 $            144,484 $             44,263 $            188,747 $             71,065 $             47,584 $            118,649

(1)  Excludes non-performing loans and foreclosed properties covered by the loss-sharing agreement with the FDIC, related to the acquisition of Southern Community Bank.

Net Charge-offs by Category and Market                                                                           50

Credit Quality (1)

Fourth Quarter 2011                                           Third Quarter 2011
  Second Quarter 2011 (2) Net Charge-
 Net Charge-                      Net Charge-Offs toOffs toOffs to NetAverageNetAverageNetAverage (in thousands)
Charge-Offs Loans (3) Charge-Offs Loans (3) Charge-Offs Loans (3)
NET CHARGE-OFFS BY CATEGORY

Commercial (sec.by RE)                                           $               4,962        1.09%                                                      $               2,192          .50%                                                      $               3,259          .76 % Commercial
construction                 3,318        7.88                 1,625        3.54
                 869        1.70 Commercial & industrial               18,940      17.47
                   420          .39
  523          .49      Total commercial               27,220        4.51                 4,237
          .71                 4,651          .79 Residential construction               12,090      10.36                 6,381        5.19
 6,629        5.04 Residential mortgage                 5,887        2.04
     6,110        2.09                 4,589        1.55 Consumer / installment                   427        1.47                   818        2.75
  614        2.04      Total$             45,624        4.39$             17,546        1.68$
          16,483        1.58

NET CHARGE-OFFS BY MARKET

Atlanta MSA                      $               4,195        1.37%
                      $               2,813          .94%
 $               2,920          .99 % Gainesville MSA                 2,572
   3.84                 1,804        2.64
   2,318        3.36 North Georgia               34,970        9.46
       8,124        2.16                 6,575        1.72 Western North Carolina                 3,180        2.10                 3,608        2.31
   3,522        2.21 Coastal Georgia                   335          .41
      709          .88                   815        1.02 East Tennessee                   372          .59                   488          .78
        333          .54      Total$             45,624        4.39$             17,546        1.68$             16,483        1.58

(1)  Excludes non-performing loans and foreclosed properties covered by the loss-sharing agreement with the FDIC, related to the acquisition of Southern Community Bank.

(2)  Includes charge-offs on loans related to United's previously announced asset disposition plan.  Such charge-offs severely distorted charge off rates for the first and second quarters of 2011.  A separate schedule has been included in this earnings release presenting the components of net charge-offs by loan category and geographic market for the first and second quarters of 2011.

(3)  Annualized.

Net Charge-offs by Category and Market                                                                           51

Asset Disposition Plan as of March 31, 2011

Credit Quality - Net Charge-Offs First Quarter 2011 (1)

           Asset Disposition Plan

Bulk Loan Sale (2)                                First Quarter Performing
      Nonperforming Other Bulk Loan                                                      Foreclosure
           Other Net2011 Net Charge-(in thousands) Loans Loans Sales (3)
Charge-Offs (4) Charge-Offs Offs NET CHARGE-OFFS BY CATEGORY

Commercial (sec. by RE)                                           $              29,451 $              11,091
$                3,318 $                1,905 $                2,842 $              48,607 Commercial
construction                32,530                15,328                     292                     419
                 1,146                49,715 Commercial & industrial                     365
           2,303                     859                      -                     513                  4,040
  Total commercial                62,346                28,722                  4,469
 2,324                  4,501              102,362 Residential construction                43,018
              23,459                  3,325                11,693
                10,643                92,138 Residential mortgage                13,917
     14,263                  1,676                  1,538
          4,989                36,383 Consumer / installment                       86
     168                       30                       24
                  383                     691      Total$            119,367 $              66,612 $
          9,500 $              15,579 $              20,516 $            231,574

NET CHARGE-OFFS BY MARKET

Atlanta MSA                      $              37,186 $                8,545 $                1,428 $
                6,034 $                3,296 $              56,489 Gainesville MSA                  3,563                  2,442                     957                     700
           954                  8,616 North Georgia                57,969                47,699
              2,508                  6,585
           8,544              123,305 Western North Carolina                11,138
 4,743                  2,415                  1,402
         6,749                26,447 Coastal Georgia                  6,835                  2,180
               2,013                     634
           341                12,003 East Tennessee                  2,676                  1,003                     179                     224
                   632                  4,714      Total$            119,367 $              66,612 $                9,500 $              15,579 $              20,516 $            231,574

(1)  Excludes non-performing loans and foreclosed properties covered by the loss-sharing agreement with the FDIC, related to the acquisition of Southern Community Bank.

(2)  Charge-offs totaling $186 million were recognized on the bulk loan sale in the first quarter of 2011.  The loans were transferred to the loans held for sale category in anticipation of the second quarter bulk loan sale that was completed on April 18, 2011.

(3)  Losses on smaller bulk sale transactions completed during the first quarter of 2011.

(4)  Loan charge-offs recognized in the first quarter of 2011 related to loans transferred to foreclosed properties.  Such charge-offs were elevated in the first quarter as a result of the asset disposition plan, which called for aggressive write downs to expedite sales in the second and third quarters of 2011.

Credit Quality – Bulk Loan Sale Summary                                                                           52

as of March 31, 2011

Credit Quality - Bulk Loan Sale Summary (1)

Performing Loans                                Nonperforming Loans
Total Loans

Carrying                      Charge-                      Loans Held Carrying
        Charge- Loans Held Carrying                                                      Charge-
   Loans Held (in thousands) Amount (2) Offs (3) for Sale (4) Amount (2) Offs (3)
 for Sale (4) Amount (2) Offs (3) for Sale (4) BY CATEGORY

Commercial (sec. by RE) $    40,902 $    29,451 $    11,451 $    17,202 $    11,090 $
   6,112 $    58,104 $    40,541 $    17,563 Commercial construction      45,490      32,530      12,960      22,440      15,328        7,112      67,930
    47,858      20,072 Commercial & industrial           504           365           139
  3,397        2,302        1,095        3,901
       2,667        1,234      Total commercial      86,896      62,346      24,550      43,039
  28,720      14,319    129,935
    91,066      38,869 Residential construction      59,747      43,018      16,729      35,508
     23,459      12,049      95,255
     66,477      28,778 Residential mortgage      19,342      13,917        5,425      21,716
  14,262        7,454      41,058
28,179      12,879 Consumer / installment           120             86             34           238
         169             69           358
        255           103      Total$  166,105 $  119,367 $    46,738 $  100,501 $    66,610 $
   33,891 $  266,606 $  185,977 $    80,629

BY MARKET

Atlanta MSA                      $    51,647 $    37,186 $    14,461 $    13,755 $      8,545 $
     5,210 $    65,402 $    45,731 $    19,671 Gainesville MSA        4,949        3,563        1,386        3,695        2,442        1,253        8,644
     6,005        2,639 North Georgia      80,831      57,969      22,862      70,900
   47,698      23,202    151,731
    105,667      46,064 Western North Carolina      15,468      11,138
  4,330        7,228        4,743        2,485
 22,696      15,881        6,815 Coastal Georgia        9,493        6,835
 2,658        3,527        2,179        1,348
   13,020        9,014        4,006 East Tennessee        3,717        2,676        1,041        1,396        1,003
    393        5,113        3,679        1,434      Total$  166,105
$  119,367 $    46,738 $  100,501 $    66,610 $    33,891 $  266,606
 $  185,977 $    80,629

(1)  This schedule presents a summary of classified loans included in the bulk loan sale transaction that closed on April 18, 2011.

(2)  This column represents the book value, or carrying amount, of the loans prior to charge offs to mark loans to expected proceeds from sale.

(3)  This column represents the charge-offs required to adjust the loan balances to the expected proceeds from the sale based on indicative bids received from prospective buyers, including principal payments received or committed advances made after the cutoff date through March 31, 2011 that are part of the settlement.

(4)  This column represents the expected proceeds from the bulk sale based on indicative bids received from prospective buyers and equals the balance shown on the consolidated balance sheet as loans held for sale.

Loans / Deposits – Liquidity                                                      53

(in millions)                      Variance 4Q11                                3Q11           4Q10
          vs 3Q11 vs 4Q10

Loans           $      4,110                      $      4,110                      $      4,604
      $        -                      $    (494)

Core (DDA, MMDA, Savings)                                                      $      2,902
             $      2,906
               $      2,636                      $          (4) $     266 Public Funds           884           635           725         249       159 CD's        2,133        2,254        2,431        (121)      (298) Total Deposits
 (excl Brokered)$      5,919$      5,795$      5,792$       124$     127

Loan to Deposit Ratio                                           69%           71%           79%

Investment Securities:

Available for Sale                                $      1,227                      $      1,173                      $      1,120
                    $         54                      $     107 Held to Maturity                                                      330           354           266
          (24)         64 Total Investment Securities        1,557        1,527        1,386           30       171 Floating Rate CMD, Bonds           563           596           104          (33)       459
 Total Securities Portfolio        2,120        2,123        1,490           (3)       630

Percent of Assets (Excludes Floaters)                                                                22%           22%           19%

Commercial & Short-Term Paper                                                      $         185                      $             -                      $         442                      $       185
$    (257) Floating Rate Securities           563           596           104          (33)
     459 Excess Fed and Other Cash           140           230           112          (90)
  28   Total Excess Liquidity$         888$         826$         658$
     62$     230

Wholesale Borrowings - Liquidity                                                                54

(in millions)

Unused                      Variance Capacity                                4Q11           3Q11
         4Q10           vs 3Q11                      vs 4Q10

Wholesale Borrowings

Brokered Deposits                                $     1,567                      $     179
   $     210
                    $     677                      $        (31)                      $      (498) FHLB
     1,058        41        41        55             -          (14) Fed Funds
           50       -       -       -             -             -Other Wholesale
         453      103      103      101             -             2

Total           $     3,128                      $     323                      $     354
 $     833                      $        (31)                      $      (510)

Long-Term Debt

Sub-Debt                      $      65                      $      65
   $      95                      $           -                      $        (30) Trust Preferred Securities        55        55        55             -
    -

Total Long-Term Debt                                           $     120                      $     120
                  $     150                      $            -                      $        (30)

Business Mix – Deposits (at quarter-end)                                                                           55

(in millions)

4Q11 vs. DEPOSITS BY CATEGORY                                                                4Q11           3Q11
           2Q11           1Q11           4Q10           4Q10

Demand & Now                                $  1,674                      $  1,686                      $  1,620
         $  1,576
                     $  1,573                      $     101 MMDA & Savings    1,228    1,220    1,174
    1,149    1,063       165

Core Transaction Deposits    2,902                                                                    2,906
            2,794
       2,725                          2,636                             266

Time < $100,000                                    1,326                          1,387                          1,503
       1,570                          1,491                            (165) Public Deposits       844
   597       605       628       663       181

Total Core Deposits                                    5,072                          4,890                          4,902
           4,923                          4,790                             282

Time > $100,000                                       807                             867                             936
            946                             940                            (133) Public Deposits         40
      38         44         44         62       (22)

Total Customer Deposits                                               5,919                          5,795
                5,882
                     5,913                          5,792                             127

Brokered Deposits                                       179                             210                             301
                   685                             677                            (498)

Total Deposits                                $  6,098                      $  6,005                      $  6,183
         $  6,598                      $  6,469                      $    (371)

Core Transaction Deposits                                           56

Geographic Diversity

4Q 10           4Q 11           Core Transactions / Total Deposits (%)

$ in millions                      4Q11           4Q10

Eastern Tennessee

Atlanta MSA                      51.0%                      50.3 % North Georgia                                           44.0           39.5

Coastal Georgia

Western NC                      52.9           48.2 Gainesville MSA                                           56.8           51.2

Gainesville MSA

Coastal GA                      43.2           39.5

Western North Carolina                                           East TN                      53.2           44.1

  Total           49.0%            45.5%

North Georgia

Atlanta MSA

NPA Sale in 2Q10                                57

Sold $103 Million NPA’s – With a $65 Million Capital Option and Warrant

           Completed sale on April 30, 2010

           Accelerates disposition of the more illiquid assets

CATEGORY (in millions)                                           MARKETS (in millions)

Commercial                      $     29.4                      Atlanta                      $     10.7 Commercial Construction                                                                       11.3                      Gainesville       13.5 Residential Construction       62.4N. Georgia       50.0    Total$   103.1Coastal Georgia         7.6 North Carolina       21.3

$           103.1

NPA Sale – Fair Value Accounting 2Q10                                                                           58

Fair Value Accounting – Warrant / Option to Purchase Equity

           Increase to Capital Surplus - $39.8 million

           Pre-tax expense charge - $45.3 million; after-tax cost - $30.0 million

           GAAP Capital +$9.8million – Slight Negative to “Regulatory Capital” (DTA)

(in millions)

Income                      Capital Statement                                Surplus

Fair Value of Warrants / Option                                                      $      (39.8)                      $       39.8 Loan Discount (3.5% to 5.8%)                                                                                    (4.5) Closing Costs         (1.0)   Total Charge to Expense       (45.3) Tax Benefit        15.3    Impact on Net Loss$      (30.0)$       39.8

Impact on GAAP Equity                                           $   +9.8

Non-GAAP Reconciliation Tables                                                                59

(in thousands except EPS)

Operating Earnings to GAAP Earnings Reconciliation

4Q11           3Q11           4Q10

Core net interest revenue reconciliation

Core net interest revenue                                           $      59,050                      $      59,281                      $      60,132 Taxable equivalent adjustment                                                                                       (423)            (420)            (497)   Net interest revenue (GAAP)$      58,627$       58,861$       59,635

Core fee revenue reconciliation

Core fee revenue                                $      11,442                      $      11,309                      $      11,148 Securities gains, net                                                                      4                                   -             -Gains from sales of low income housing tax credits             728             -             682 Hedge ineffectiveness gains             313             575             400 Mark to market on deferred compensation plan assets             180            (386)             212   Fee revenue (GAAP)$      12,667$       11,498$       12,442

Core operating expense reconciliation

Core operating expense                                           $      43,843                      $      44,093                      $      44,104 Foreclosed property expense                                                                                     9,302          2,813        20,602 Mark to market on deferred compensation plan liability             180            (386)             212 Reclassification of pension plan acturial gains and losses and   unamortized prior service costs to other comprehensive income         (2,245)             -             -  Operating expense (GAAP)$      51,080$       46,520$       64,918

Non-GAAP Reconciliation Tables                                                                60

Operating Earnings to GAAP Earnings Reconciliation

4Q11           3Q11           4Q10

Net interest margin - pre credit reconciliation

Net interest margin - pre credit
             3.81%              3.84%              4.05 % Effect of interest
reversals, lost interest, and carry costs of NPAs               (.30)
               (.29)               (.47)

Net interest margin                                              3.51
      3.55                                    3.58

Tangible common equity and tangible equity to tangible assets
 reconciliation

Tangible common equity to tangible assets
                                                     5.38%              5.65%              5.22%
 Effect of preferred equity              2.78              2.77              2.42

Tangible equity to tangible assets                                                                    8.16
            8.42                                    7.64

Effect of goodwill and other intangibles                                                                                .12
                               .13                                      .16

Equity to assets (GAAP)                                                         8.28%
         8.55%              7.80%

Tangible common equity to risk-weighted assets reconciliation

Tangible common equity to risk-weighted assets
                                                                    8.22%              8.52%              5.64%
 Effect of preferred equity
  4.27              4.33              3.53

Tangible equity to risk weighted assets
                       12.49
                        12.85                                              9.17

Effect of other comprehensive income                                                                               (.03)
                          (.29)                                               (.42)
 Effect of trust preferred              1.18              1.19
  1.06

Tier I capital ratio (Regulatory)
   13.64%             13.75%              9.81%

Analyst Coverage                                61

FBR Capital                      Raymond James & Assoc.

(Market Perform - Jul 28, 2011)                                                      (Market Perform - Oct 31, 2011)

FIG Partners                      Sandler O'Neill & Partners

(Market Perform - Jan 6, 2012)                                                      (Hold, Jan 6, 2012)

Guggenheim Securities, LLC                                                      Stephens, Inc.

(Neutral - Jan 6, 2012)                                           (Equal Weight - Jan 23, 2012)

Keefe, Bruyette & Woods                                           SunTrust Robinson Humphrey

(Market Perform - Jan 6, 2012)                                                      (Neutral - Jan 6, 2012)

Macquarie Capital (USA)

(Neutral - Jan 6, 2012)

62 United Community Banks, Inc. Investor Presentation Fourth Quarter 2011 Copyright 2012 United Community Banks, Inc. All rights reserved.