AMERICAN TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES III LP (CIK 856135)
Form 10-Q
period 2017-09-29
filed 2017-10-24

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

Commission File Number: 0-19217

American Tax Credit Properties III L.P.
(Exact Name of Registrant as Specified in its Charter)

Delaware	13-3545006
(State or Other Jurisdiction of Organization)	( I.R.S. Employer Incorporation or Identification No.)

Richman Tax Credit Properties III L.P.
777 West Putnam Avenue
Greenwich, Connecticut	06830
(Address of Principal Executive Offices)	(Zip Code)

Registrant's Telephone Number, Including Area Code:  (203) 869-0900

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

AMERICAN TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES III L.P.

PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

AMERICAN TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES III L.P.
BALANCE SHEETS
(UNAUDITED)

	September 29,	March 30,
	2017	2017

ASSETS

Cash and cash equivalents	$24,497	$62,429
Investment in Pemberwick Fund, a short duration bond fund	367,065	832,364

	$391,562	$894,793

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' DEFICIT

Liabilities

Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$16,345	$27,475
Payable to general partner and affiliates	2,648,933	3,101,684

	2,665,278	3,129,159

Commitments and contingencies

Partners' deficit

General partner	(2,101,639)	(2,060,698)
Limited partners (35,883 units of limited partnership interest outstanding)	(170,804)	(170,804)
Accumulated other comprehensive loss	(1,273)	(2,864)

	(2,273,716)	(2,234,366)

	$391,562	$894,793

See Notes to Financial Statements.

AMERICAN TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES III L.P.
STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS AND COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)
THREE AND SIX MONTH PERIODS ENDED SEPTEMBER 29, 2017 AND 2016
(UNAUDITED)

	Three Months Ended September 29,	Six Months Ended September 29,	Three Months Ended September 29,	Six Months Ended September 29,
	2017	2017	2016	2016

REVENUE

Interest	$1,247	$3,190	$2,248	$3,206
Other income from local partnerships			1,967	6,967

TOTAL REVENUE	1,247	3,190	4,215	10,173

EXPENSES

Administration fees	4,796	9,593	7,300	13,038
Management fees	4,796	9,593	7,300	13,038
Professional fees	8,927	18,923	10,805	20,536
Printing, postage and other	5,470	6,022	5,890	10,810

TOTAL EXPENSES	23,989	44,131	31,295	57,422

LOSS BEFORE GAIN ON SALE OF LIMITED PARTNER INTERESTS/LOCAL PARTNERSHIP PROPERTIES	(22,742)	(40,941)	(27,080)	(47,249)

GAIN ON SALE OF LIMITED PARTNER INTERESTS/LOCAL PARTNERSHIP PROPERTIES			20,272	857,937

NET INCOME (LOSS)	(22,742)	(40,941)	(6,808)	810,688

Other comprehensive income (loss) - investment in Pemberwick Fund	818	1,591	(888)	460

COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)	$(21,924)	$(39,350)	$(7,696)	$811,148

NET INCOME (LOSS) ATTRIBUTABLE TO

General partner	$(22,742)	$(40,941)	$(6,808)	$810,688
Limited partners	--	--	--	--

	$(22,742)	$(40,941)	$(6,808)	$810,688

NET INCOME (LOSS) per unit of limited partnership interest (35,883 units of limited partnership interest)	$--	$--	$--	$--

See Notes to Financial Statements.

AMERICAN TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES III L.P.
STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
SIX MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 29, 2017 AND 2016
(UNAUDITED)

	2017	2016

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES

Interest received	$4,782	$3,206
Cash paid for
Administration fees	(235,271)	(4,458)
Management fees	(236,666)
Professional fees	(24,338)	(35,041)
Printing, postage and other expenses	(11,737)	(10,810)

Net cash used in operating activities	(503,230)	(47,103)

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES

Proceeds in connection with sale of limited partner interests/local partnership properties		857,937
Redemptions from Pemberwick Fund	470,000
Investments in Pemberwick Fund	(4,702)	(662,841)
Distributions received from local partnerships		6,967

Net cash provided by investing activities	465,298	202,063

Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents	(37,932)	154,960

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period	62,429	110,119

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT END OF PERIOD	$24,497	$265,079

SIGNIFICANT NONCASH INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES

Unrealized gain on investment in Pemberwick Fund	$1,591	$460

See reconciliation of net income (loss) to net cash used in operating activities on page 6.

See Notes to Financial Statements.

AMERICAN TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES III L.P.
STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS - CONTINUED
SIX MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 29, 2017 AND 2016
(UNAUDITED)

	2017	2016

RECONCILIATION OF NET INCOME (LOSS) TO NET CASH USED IN OPERATING ACTIVITIES

Net income (loss)	$(40,941)	$810,688

Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash used in operating activities

Gain on sale of limited partner interests/local partnership properties		(857,937)
Loss on redemptions from Pemberwick Fund	1,592
Other income from local partnerships		(6,967)
Decrease in accounts payable and accrued expenses	(11,130)	(14,505)
Increase (decrease) in payable to general partner and affiliates	(452,751)	21,618

NET CASH USED IN OPERATING ACTIVITIES	$(503,230)	$(47,103)

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

In the event the operations of Fulton Street Houses result in a loss, equity in loss of investment in Fulton Street Houses allocated to the Partnership is recognized to the extent of the Partnership's investment balance in Fulton Street Houses. Equity in loss in excess of the Partnership's investment balance in Fulton Street Houses is allocated to other partners' capital in Fulton Street Houses. As a result of cumulative equity losses and distributions, the Partnership's investment in Fulton Street Houses reached a zero balance in a prior year.

3.	Investment in Pemberwick Fund

The Partnership carries its investment in Pemberwick Fund, a short duration bond fund ("Pemberwick") at estimated fair value. The fair value of the Partnership's investment in Pemberwick is classified within Level 1 of the fair value hierarchy of the guidance on Fair Value Measurements as defined in Accounting Standards Codification ("ASC") Topic 820. Level 1 inputs utilize quoted prices (unadjusted) in active markets for identical assets or liabilities that the Partnership has the ability to access. Pemberwick's net asset value ("NAV") is $10.03 per share as of September 29, 2017. An unrealized loss of $1,273 is reflected as accumulated other comprehensive loss in the accompanying unaudited balance sheet as of September 29, 2017. The Partnership has earned $54,446 of interest revenue from the date of its initial investment in Pemberwick through September 29, 2017.

4.	Going Concern Considerations

As of September 29, 2017, the Partnership's current liabilities exceed its liquid assets by approximately $2,274,000; such deficit is the result of accrued Management Fees and Administration Fees totaling approximately $2,649,000.  The General Partner and its asset management affiliate have historically not required the payment of such fees on a current basis and have agreed to continue to defer receipt of such fees until such time as the Partnership has liquid assets available for payment. Management of the Partnership believes that such deferral will provide the Partnership with the ability to meet its other obligations as they come due for at least the twelve month period beginning on October 24, 2017.

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

Material Changes in Financial Condition

As of September 29, 2017, American Tax Credit Properties III L.P. (the "Registrant") has experienced a significant change in financial condition as compared to March 30, 2017 resulting primarily from the payment of previously deferred administration and management fees of approximately $467,000. Principal changes in assets are comprised of periodic transactions and adjustments. Registrant had initially acquired a limited partner equity interest (the "Local Partnership Interest" or "Local Partnership Interests") in forty-three partnerships (the "Local Partnership" or "Local Partnerships"), that own/owned low-income multifamily residential complexes (the "Property" or "Properties") that qualified for the low-income housing tax credit (the "Low-income Housing Tax Credit") in accordance with Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code. As of October 24, 2017, Registrant holds a Local Partnership Interest in one Local Partnership, Fulton Street Houses Limited Partnership ("Fulton Street Houses"). During the six months ended September 29, 2017, Registrant received cash from interest revenue and redemptions from Pemberwick Fund, a short duration bond fund ("Pemberwick"), and utilized cash for operating expenses and investments in Pemberwick. Cash and cash equivalents and investment in Pemberwick decreased, in the aggregate, by approximately $503,000 during the six months ended September 29, 2017 (which includes an unrealized gain on investment in Pemberwick of approximately $2,000), primarily as the result of the payment of previously deferred administration and management fees of approximately $467,000 and recurring operating expenses. Payable to general partner and affiliates in the accompanying unaudited balance sheet as of September 29, 2017 represents deferred administration and management fees.

Results of Operations

Registrant's operating results are dependent, in part, on the operating results of Fulton Street Houses and are impacted by Fulton Street Houses' policies.  In addition, the operating results herein are not necessarily the same for tax reporting. Registrant accounts for its investment in Fulton Street Houses in accordance with the equity method of accounting. Accordingly, the investment is carried at cost and is adjusted for Registrant's share of Fulton Street Houses' results of operations and by cash distributions received. In the event the operations of Fulton Street Houses result in a loss, equity in loss of Fulton Street Houses allocated to Registrant is recognized to the extent of Registrant's investment balance in Fulton Street Houses.  Equity in loss in excess of Registrant's investment balance in Fulton Street Houses is allocated to other partners' capital in Fulton Street Houses. As a result of cumulative equity losses and distributions, Registrant's investment in Fulton Street Houses reached a zero balance in a prior year.

Cumulative losses and cash distributions in excess of Registrant's investment in Fulton Street Houses may result from a variety of circumstances, including Fulton Street Houses' accounting policies, debt structure and operating deficits, among other things. Accordingly, cumulative losses and cash distributions in excess of the investment are not necessarily indicative of adverse operating results of Fulton Street Houses.

Registrant's operations for the three months ended September 29, 2017 and 2016 resulted in a net loss of $22,742 and $6,808, respectively. The increase is primarily the result of gain on sale of limited partner interests/local partnership properties of approximately $20,000 recognized during the three months ended September 29, 2016, partially offset by a decrease in administration and management fees, in the aggregate, of approximately $5,000.  Other comprehensive income for the three months ended September 29, 2017 resulted from an unrealized gain on investment in Pemberwick of $818.

Registrant's operations for the six months ended September 29, 2017 and 2016 resulted in net income (loss) of $(40,941) and $810,688, respectively. The increase in net loss is primarily the result of gain on sale of limited partner interests/local partnership properties of approximately $858,000 recognized during the six months ended September 29, 2016, partially offset by a decrease in administration and management fees, in the aggregate, of approximately $7,000.  Other comprehensive income for the six months ended September 29, 2017 resulted from an unrealized gain on investment in Pemberwick of $1,591.

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

·
Registrant does not consolidate the accounts and activities of Fulton Street Houses, which is considered a Variable Interest Entity as defined by Financial Accounting Standards Board ("FASB") Accounting Standards Codification ("ASC") Topic 810; Subtopic 10 because Registrant is not considered the primary beneficiary. Registrant's investment balance in Fulton Street Houses represents the maximum exposure to loss in connection with such investment. Fulton Street Houses' partnership agreement grants the Fulton Street Houses Local General Partner the power to direct the activities that most significantly impact Fulton Street Houses' economic success. As a result of cumulative equity losses and distributions, Registrant's investment in Fulton Street Houses reached a zero balance in a prior year.

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

Registrant has carried out an evaluation, under the supervision and the participation of its management, including the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer of the general partner of the General Partner, of the effectiveness of the design and operation of its disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in Rule 13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e) under the Exchange Act), as of the three months ended September 29, 2017. Based upon that evaluation, the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer of the general partner of the General Partner concluded that Registrant's disclosure controls and procedures were effective as of September 29, 2017.

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

Effective October 20, 2017, Registrant's Principal Executive Offices are located at 777 West Putnam Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06830.

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
General Partner

By: Richman Housing Credits Inc.,
general partner

Dated: October 24, 2017	/s/Brian Myers
By: Brian Myers
Chief Executive Officer

Dated: October 24, 2017	/s/James Hussey
By: James Hussey
Chief Financial Officer

Dated: October 24, 2017	/s/Richard Paul Richman
By: Richard Paul Richman
Sole Director