TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND II L P (CIK 853086)
Form 10-Q
period 2003-09-03
filed 2003-11-12

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



                                                                                                             Page
Part I    Financial Information

    Item 1.   Financial Statements (unaudited)

          Balance Sheets - September 30, 2003
          and December 31, 2002.............................................................................    3


          Statements of Operations for the three and nine months
          ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.................................................................    4


          Statements of Partners' Capital for the nine months
          ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.................................................................    5


          Statements of Cash Flows for the nine months
          ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.................................................................    6


          Notes to Financial Statements.....................................................................    8


    Item 2.   Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
              and Results of Operations.....................................................................   14


    Item 3.   Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about Market Risk....................................   22


    Item 4.   Controls and Procedures.......................................................................   22


Part II   Other Information

    Item 6.   Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K..............................................................   23



TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND II, L.P.
(a California Limited Partnership)

Balance Sheets

September 30, 2003 and December 31, 2002
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                                 2003                   2002
                                                                           ----------------       ----------------
Assets
Container rental equipment, net of accumulated
    depreciation of $14,243 (2002: $14,572) (note 4)                       $        14,987        $        17,105
Cash                                                                                   380                    373
Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful
     accounts of $72 (2002: $81)                                                     1,002                  1,198
Due from affiliates, net (note 2)                                                       57                     55
Prepaid expenses                                                                         -                     15
                                                                           ----------------       ----------------

                                                                           $        16,426        $        18,746
                                                                           ================       ================
Liabilities and Partners' Capital
Liabilities:
   Accounts payable                                                        $            90        $            74
   Accrued liabilities                                                                 148                    193
   Accrued damage protection plan costs                                                160                    126
   Accrued recovery costs                                                               11                      8
   Deferred quarterly distributions                                                     42                     47
   Deferred damage protection plan revenue                                              83                     83
                                                                           ----------------       ----------------

      Total liabilities                                                                534                    531
                                                                           ----------------       ----------------

Partners' capital:
   General partners                                                                      -                      -
   Limited partners                                                                 15,892                 18,215
                                                                           ----------------       ----------------

      Total partners' capital                                                       15,892                 18,215
                                                                           ----------------       ----------------


                                                                           $        16,426        $        18,746
                                                                           ================       ================


See accompanying notes to financial statements



TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND II, L.P.
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements of Operations

For the three and nine months ended September 30, 2003 and 2002
(Amounts in thousands except for unit and per unit amounts)
(unaudited)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                       Three months       Three months        Nine months        Nine months
                                                          Ended              Ended              Ended              Ended
                                                      Sept. 30, 2003     Sept. 30, 2002     Sept. 30, 2003     Sept. 30, 2002
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------
Rental income                                        $         1,162    $         1,207    $         3,554    $         3,448
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------

Costs and expenses:
   Direct container expenses                                     327                298                841                982
   Bad debt (benefit) expense                                    (10)                 5                 (4)                18
   Depreciation (note 4)                                         470              1,004              1,427              2,000
   Write-down of containers (note 4)                               8                 77                 41                279
   Professional fees                                               7                 11                 19                 35
   Management fees to affiliates (note 2)                        115                107                339                306
   General and administrative costs to
     affiliates (note 2)                                          55                 55                168                182
   Other general and administrative costs                         19                 42                 56                127
   Loss on sale of containers                                     15                 58                 82                 37
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------

                                                               1,006              1,657              2,969              3,966
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------

   Income (loss) from operations                                 156               (450)               585               (518)
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------

Interest income                                                    1                  2                  3                  5
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------

   Net earnings (loss)                               $           157    $          (448)   $           588    $          (513)
                                                     ================   ================   ================   ================

Allocation of net earnings (loss) (note 2):
   General partners                                  $             9    $             8    $            29    $            28
   Limited partners                                              148               (456)               559               (541)
                                                     ----------------   ----------------   ----------------   ----------------

                                                     $           157    $          (448)   $           588    $          (513)
                                                     ================   ================   ================   ================

Limited partners' per unit share
   of net earnings (loss)                            $          0.04    $         (0.13)   $          0.16    $         (0.15)
                                                     ================   ================   ================   ================

Limited partners' per unit share
   of distributions                                  $          0.24    $          0.22    $          0.78    $          0.73
                                                     ================   ================   ================   ================

Weighted average number of limited
   partnership units outstanding                           3,598,318          3,640,833          3,605,084          3,649,886
                                                     ================   ================   ================   ================


See accompanying notes to financial statements


TEXTAINER EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND II, L.P.
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements of Partners' Capital

For the nine months ended September 30, 2003 and 2002
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                         Partners' Capital
                                                    ---------------------------------------------------------
                                                       General               Limited                Total
                                                    -------------         -------------         -------------
Balances at January 1, 2002                         $          -          $     22,044          $     22,044

Distributions                                                (28)               (2,681)               (2,709)

Redemptions (note 5)                                           -                  (181)                 (181)

Net earnings (loss)                                           28                  (541)                 (513)
                                                    -------------         -------------         -------------

Balances at September 30, 2002                      $          -          $     18,641          $     18,641
                                                    =============         =============         =============

Balances at January 1, 2003                         $          -          $     18,215          $     18,215

Distributions                                                (29)               (2,796)               (2,825)

Redemptions (note 5)                                           -                   (86)                  (86)

Net earnings                                                  29                   559                   588
                                                    -------------         -------------         -------------

Balances at September 30, 2003                      $          -          $     15,892          $     15,892
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

                                                                                         2003              2002
                                                                                     -----------       -----------
Cash flows from operating activities:
   Net earnings (loss)                                                               $      588        $     (513)
   Adjustments to reconcile net earnings (loss) to
     net cash provided by operating activities:
        Depreciation (note 4)                                                             1,427             2,000
        Write-down of containers (note 4)                                                    41               279
        Increase in allowance for doubtful accounts                                          (9)               (5)
        Loss on sale of containers                                                           82                37
        (Increase) decrease in assets:
           Accounts receivable                                                              209                93
           Due from affiliates, net                                                         (20)              (38)
           Prepaid expenses                                                                  15                10
         Increase (decrease) in liabilities:
           Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                         (29)               29
           Accrued damage protection plan costs                                              34                10
           Accrued recovery costs                                                             3               (84)
           Deferred damage protection plan revenue                                            -                11
                                                                                     -----------       -----------


              Net cash provided by operating activities                                   2,341             1,829
                                                                                     -----------       -----------

Cash flows from investing activities:
   Proceeds from sale of containers                                                         583             1,128
                                                                                     -----------       -----------

              Net cash provided by investing activities                                     583             1,128
                                                                                     -----------       -----------

Cash flows from financing activities:
   Redemptions of limited partnership units                                                 (86)             (181)
   Distributions to partners                                                             (2,831)           (2,730)
                                                                                     -----------       -----------

              Net cash used in financing activities                                      (2,917)           (2,911)
                                                                                     -----------       -----------

Net increase in cash                                                                          7                46

Cash at beginning of period                                                                 373               266
                                                                                     -----------       -----------

Cash at end of period                                                                $      380        $      312
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

The following  table  summarizes  the amounts of  distributions  to partners and
proceeds  from sale of  containers  which had not been  paid or  received  as of
September  30,  2003 and 2002,  and  December  31, 2002 and 2001,  resulting  in
differences in amounts recorded and amounts of cash disbursed or received by the
Partnership, as shown in the Statements of Cash Flows for the nine-month periods
ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

                                                              Sept. 30         Dec. 31       Sept. 30       Dec. 31
                                                                2003            2002           2002           2001
                                                             ----------      ----------     ----------      --------

Distributions to partners included in:
     Due to affiliates..............................            $  3           $  4            $  4          $  2
     Deferred quarterly distributions...............              42             47              38            61

Proceeds from sale of containers included in:
     Due from affiliates............................             125            144             177           244


The following  table  summarizes  the amounts of  distributions  to partners and
proceeds from sale of  containers  recorded by the  Partnership  and the amounts
paid or received  as shown in the  Statements  of Cash Flows for the  nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.


                                                                                               2003          2002
                                                                                               ----          ----

Distributions to partners declared..............................................             $2,825        $2,709
Distributions to partners paid..................................................              2,831         2,730

Proceeds from sale of containers recorded.......................................                564         1,061
Proceeds from sale of containers received.......................................                583         1,128

The  Partnership  has  entered  into direct  finance  leases,  resulting  in the
transfer of containers from container rental  equipment to accounts  receivable.
The carrying value of containers transferred during the nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002 was $4 and $12, respectively.


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

     As part of the operation of the  Partnership,  the Partnership is to pay to
     the General Partners an equipment  management fee, an incentive  management
     fee and an equipment  liquidation  fee. These fees are for various services
     provided  in  connection  with the  administration  and  management  of the
     Partnership.  For the three and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003
     the  Partnership  incurred  $33  and  $90  of  incentive  management  fees,
     respectively,  and $24 and $66, respectively, for the comparable periods in
     2002.  There were no  equipment  liquidation  fees  incurred  during  these
     periods.

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

     Subject to certain reductions,  TEM receives a monthly equipment management
     fee equal to 7% of gross lease revenues  attributable  to operating  leases
     and 2% of gross revenues attributable to full payout net leases. These fees
     totaled $82 and $249 for the three and nine-month  periods ended  September
     30, 2003, respectively,  and $83 and $240, respectively, for the comparable
     periods in 2002.

     Certain  indirect  general  and  administrative  costs  such  as  salaries,
     employee   benefits,   taxes  and  insurance  are  incurred  in  performing
     administrative  services  necessary to the  operation  of the  Partnership.
     These  costs  are   incurred   and  paid  by  TFS  and  TEM.   General  and
     administrative  costs  allocated  to the  Partnership  during the three and
     nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002 were as follows:


                                        Three months         Nine months
                                       ended Sept. 30,     ended Sept. 30,
                                       ---------------     ---------------

                                       2003       2002     2003       2002
                                       ----       ----     ----       ----

        Salaries                        $28        $37     $ 91       $118
        Other                            27         18       77         64
                                         --         --      ---        ---
         Total general and
             administrative costs       $55        $55     $168       $182
                                         ==         ==      ===        ===

     TEM allocates these general and administrative  costs based on the ratio of
     the Partnership's interest in the managed containers to the total container
     fleet managed by TEM during the period.  TFS allocates these costs based on
     the ratio of the  Partnership's  investors to the total number of investors
     of all limited partnerships managed by TFS or equally among all the limited
     partnerships  managed by TFS. The General Partners  allocated the following
     general and  administrative  costs to the Partnership  during the three and
     nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002:


                                        Three months          Nine months
                                       ended Sept. 30,      ended Sept. 30,
                                       ---------------      ---------------

                                       2003       2002      2003       2002
                                       ----       ----      ----       ----

            TEM                         $47        $48      $145       $156
            TFS                           8          7        23         26
                                         --         --       ---        ---
              Total general and
               administrative costs     $55        $55      $168       $182
                                         ==         ==       ===        ===


     At September 30, 2003 and December 31, 2002,  due from  affiliates,  net is
     comprised of:

                                                            2003      2002
                                                            ----      ----
             Due from affiliates:
                      Due from TEM.....................      $94       $92
                                                              --        --

             Due to affiliates:
                      Due to TL........................        -         1
                      Due to TFS.......................       31        26
                      Due to TCC.......................        6        10
                                                              --        --
                                                              37        37
                                                              --        --

                Due from affiliates, net                     $57       $55
                                                              ==        ==

     These amounts  receivable  from and payable to affiliates  were incurred in
     the ordinary course of business  between the Partnership and its affiliates
     and represent timing differences in the accrual and remittance of expenses,
     fees and distributions described above and in the accrual and remittance of
     net rental revenues and container sales proceeds from TEM.

Note 3.  Lease Rental Income

     Leasing income arises principally from the renting of containers to various
     international  shipping lines. Revenue is recorded when earned according to
     the terms of the container rental contracts.  These contracts are typically
     for  terms of five  years or less.  The  following  is the lease mix of the
     on-lease containers (in units) at September 30, 2003 and 2002:

                                                   2003           2002
                                                   ----           ----

            On-lease under master leases          4,036          4,867
            On-lease under long-term leases       3,405          3,152
                                                  -----          -----

               Total on-lease containers          7,441          8,019
                                                  =====          =====

     Under  master  lease  agreements,  the lessee is not  committed  to lease a
     minimum number of containers from the Partnership during the lease term and
     may  generally  return  any  portion  or  all  of  the  containers  to  the
     Partnership  at any time,  subject  to  certain  restrictions  in the lease
     agreement. Under long-term lease agreements,  containers are usually leased
     from the  Partnership  for  periods of between  three to five  years.  Such
     leases  are  generally  cancelable  with  a  penalty  at the  end  of  each
     twelve-month  period.  Under direct  finance  leases,  the  containers  are
     usually leased from the  Partnership  for the remainder of the  container's
     useful life with a purchase option at the end of the lease term.

     The remaining containers are off-lease and are located primarily at a large
     number of storage depots. At September 30, 2003 and 2002, the Partnership's
     off-lease containers were in the following locations:

                                                   2003         2002
                                                   ----         ----

          Americas                                  604          971
          Europe                                    150          303
          Asia                                      515          392
          Other                                      21           42
                                                  -----        -----

             Total off-lease containers           1,290        1,708
                                                  =====        =====

     At  September  30, 2003  approximately  6% of the  Partnership's  off-lease
     containers had been specifically identified as for sale.

Note 4.  Container Rental Equipment

     Effective July 1, 2002, the Partnership  revised its estimate for container
     salvage  value from a percentage of equipment  cost to an estimated  dollar
     residual value. The effect of this change for both the three and nine-month
     periods ended  September 30, 2002 was an increase to  depreciation  expense
     $564.  The  Partnership  will  evaluate the estimated  residual  values and
     remaining  estimated  useful lives on an on-going basis and will revise its
     estimates as needed.  As a result,  depreciation  expense may  fluctuate in
     future periods based on fluctuations in these estimates.

     The  Partnership  stopped  purchasing  containers in 2001,  but its leasing
     activities  are  affected by  fluctuations  in new  container  prices.  New
     container  prices  steadily  declined  from  1995  through  1999,  and have
     remained  low  through  2003.  As a  result,  the  cost  of new  containers
     purchased  in recent years is  significantly  less than the average cost of
     containers  purchased  in  prior  years.  The  Partnership   evaluated  the
     recoverability  of the  recorded  amount of container  rental  equipment at
     September  30, 2003  and  2002 for  containers to be held for continued use
     and determined  that a reduction to the carrying value of these  containers
     was not required.  The Partnership also evaluated the recoverability of the
     recorded amount of containers identified for sale in the ordinary course of
     business and  determined  that a reduction to the carrying value of some of
     these  containers  was required.  The  Partnership  wrote down the value of
     these containers to their estimated net realizable  value,  which was based
     on recent sales  prices less cost to sell.  During the  nine-month  periods
     ended  September 30, 2003 and 2002,  the  Partnership  recorded  write-down
     expenses  of  $41  and  $279,  respectively,  on  112  and  545  containers
     identified  as for sale and  requiring  a reserve.  During the  three-month
     periods  ended  September  30,  2003 and  2002,  the  Partnership  recorded
     write-down expenses of $8 and $77,  respectively,  on 31 and 111 containers
     identified  as for sale and  requiring  a reserve.  During  the  nine-month
     periods  ended   September  30,  2003  and  2002,  the   Partnership   also
     reclassified  7 and 56 containers  from  containers  identified for sale to
     containers  held for  continued  use due to the  improvement  in demand for
     leased  containers in Asia.  At September  30, 2003 and 2002,  the net book
     value of the 77 and 251 containers identified as for sale was $60 and $195,
     respectively.

     During the nine-month period ended September 30, 2003, the Partnership sold
     123  previously  written  down  containers  for a loss of $11 and  sold 630
     previously written down containers for a loss of $56 during the same period
     in 2002.  During  the  three-month  period  ended  September  30,  2003 the
     Partnership sold 26 previously written down containers for a loss of $1 and
     sold 173  previously  written down  containers for a loss of $31 during the
     same period in 2002. The  Partnership  incurred  losses on the sale of some
     containers  previously  written down as the actual sales prices received on
     these containers were lower than the estimates used for the write-downs.

     The  Partnership  also sold  containers  that had not been written down and
     recorded  a loss of $71 and a gain of $19  during  the  nine-month  periods
     ended  September 30, 2003 and 2002,  respectively.  During the  three-month
     periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002, the Partnership  recorded losses
     of $14 and $27,  respectively,  on the sale of containers that had not been
     written down.

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

                                                               Units             Average
                                                              Redeemed       Redemption Price        Amount Paid
                                                              --------       ----------------        -----------


        Total Partnership redemptions as of
          December 31, 2001....................                71,715               $8.66                $621
        Nine-month period ended
          September 30, 2002...................                37,451               $4.83                 181
                                                              -------                                     ---
        Total Partnership redemptions as of
          September 30, 2002...................               109,166               $7.35                $802
                                                              =======                                     ===

        Total Partnership redemptions as of
          December 31, 2002....................               129,570               $6.82                $883
        Nine-month period ended
          September 30, 2003...................                22,112               $3.89                  86
                                                              -------                                     ---
        Total Partnership redemptions as of
          September 30, 2003...................               151,682               $6.39                $969
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

During the nine-month period ended September 30, 2003, the Partnership  declared
cash  distributions to limited  partners  pertaining to the period from December
2002 through August 2003 in the amount of $2,796,  which  represented  $0.78 per
unit.  On a cash basis,  as reflected  on the  Statements  of Cash Flows,  after
paying   redemptions  and  general  partner   distributions,   $2,226  of  total
distributions was from operations,  and the balance was a return of capital.  On
an accrual  basis,  as reflected on the Statements of Partners'  Capital,  after
paying redemptions,  $473 of these distributions were from current year earnings
and $2,323 was a return of capital.

From time to time,  the  Partnership  redeems units from limited  partners for a
specified  redemption  value,  which  is  set  by  formula.  Up  to  2%  of  the
Partnership's outstanding units may be redeemed each year, although the 2% limit
may be exceeded at the Managing General  Partner's  discretion.  All redemptions
are subject to the Managing  General  Partner's  good faith  determination  that
payment for the redeemed units will not (i) cause the Partnership to be taxed as
a  corporation,  (ii) impair the capital or  operations of the  Partnership,  or
(iii) impair the ability of the Partnership to pay  distributions  in accordance
with its distribution  policy.  During the nine-month period ended September 30,
2003, the  Partnership  redeemed  22,112 units for a total dollar amount of $86.
The Partnership used cash flow from operating activities to pay for the redeemed
units.

Net cash  provided by operating  activities  for the  nine-month  periods  ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002, was $2,341 and $1,829,  respectively.  The increase
of $512, or 28%, was primarily due to the  fluctuations in net earnings  (loss),
adjusted for non-cash  transactions,  accounts  receivable and accrued  recovery
costs.  Net earnings  (loss),  adjusted for  non-cash  transactions,  fluctuated
primarily  due to the  decrease in direct  container  expenses  and  increase in
rental income.  These items are discussed more fully in "Results of Operations."
The decrease in gross accounts  receivable of $209 during the nine-month  period
ended  September  30,  2003 was  primarily  due to the  decrease  in the average
collection  period of  accounts  receivable,  offset by the  increase  in rental
income.  The decrease in gross accounts  receivable of $93 during the comparable
period in 2002 was primarily due to the decrease in rental income, offset by the
increase in the average collection period of accounts  receivable.  The decrease
in accrued  recovery costs of $84 during the nine-month  period ended  September
30, 2002 was primarily  due to an  adjustment  made to eliminate the reserve for
certain containers that were determined to be unrecoverable.

For the nine-month  periods ended  September 30, 2003 and 2002 net cash provided
by  investing   activities  (the  sale  of  containers)  was  $583  and  $1,128,
respectively.  The  decrease of $545 was  primarily  due to the  decrease in the
number of  containers  sold.  Some  containers  sold were  located in low demand
locations, and these sales were driven by the liquidation plans discussed above,
and by adverse market conditions in these locations. Until demand for containers
improves  in certain low demand  locations,  the  Partnership  plans to continue
selling some of its containers that are off-lease in these locations rather than
incurring  the expense of  repositioning  them.  The sale of  containers  in low
demand locations,  the decline in value for used containers in recent years, and
the  related  market  conditions  are  discussed  more fully  under  "Results of
Operations."

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

                                                         2003        2002
                                                         ----        ----
          Beginning container fleet...............      9,425      10,990
          Ending container fleet..................      8,731       9,727
          Average container fleet.................      9,078      10,359

The average  container  fleet  decreased  12% from the  nine-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable period in 2003, primarily due to continuing
sales of  containers  (i) that had reached the end of their useful lives or (ii)
that an analysis had indicated their sale was otherwise  warranted.  Included in
this  second  group  were  containers  located  in  low  demand  locations.  The
Partnership expects that the size of its container fleet will further decline as
additional  containers  are  sold  for  these  reasons  and as  the  Partnership
continues  its  liquidation  plans.  The  Partnership  expects  rental income to
decline as the container  fleet  declines.  While the decline in container fleet
resulted  in lower  rental  income,  this  decrease  was more than offset by the
improvement in utilization,  resulting in the increase in rental income from the
nine-month  period  ended  September  30,  2002 to the same  period in 2003.  An
overall decline in rental income is expected to continue in future years, as the
size of the Partnership's container fleet continues to decrease.

Rental  income and direct  container  expenses are also  affected by the average
utilization of the container fleet, which was 84%, and 69% during the nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002, respectively. The remaining container
fleet is off-lease  and is being  stored  primarily at a large number of storage
depots.  At  September  30,  2003  and  2002,   utilization  was  85%  and  82%,
respectively, and the Partnership's off-lease containers (in units) were located
in the following locations:

                                                    2003        2002
                                                    ----        ----

          Americas                                   604         971
          Europe                                     150         303
          Asia                                       515         392
          Other                                       21          42
                                                   -----       -----

             Total off-lease containers            1,290       1,708
                                                   =====       =====

At  September  30,  2003,   approximately  6%  of  the  Partnership's  off-lease
containers had been specifically identified as for sale.

In addition to utilization, rental income is affected by daily rental rates. The
average daily rental rate for the Partnership's  containers decreased 6% between
the periods.  Average rental rates declined primarily due to the decline in long
term lease  rates.  The  decline in average  rental  rates under  master  leases
between the periods was minor. The majority of the  Partnership's  rental income
was  generated  from  leasing  of  the  Partnership's  containers  under  master
operating leases, but an increasing  percentage of the Partnership's  containers
have been on lease under long term leases.  At September 30, 2003 and 2002,  46%
and 39%,  respectively,  of the Partnership's  on-lease containers were on lease
under long-term leases.  Long term leases generally have lower rental rates than
master leases  because the lessees have  contracted to lease the  containers for
several years and cannot return the  containers  prior to the  termination  date
without a penalty.  Fluctuations  in rental  rates  under  either  type of lease
generally will affect the Partnership's operating results.

The  following is a comparative  analysis of the results of  operations  for the
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

The Partnership's income (loss) from operations for the nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002 was $585 and ($518), respectively,  on rental income
of $3,554 and $3,448,  respectively.  The increase in rental  income of $106, or
3%, from the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002 to the comparable period
in 2003 was  attributable  to the  increase  in income from  container  rentals,
offset by the decrease in other rental income,  which is discussed below. Income
from container rentals, the major component of total revenue, increased $147, or
5%,  primarily  due to the  increase in on-hire  utilization  of 22%,  offset by
decreases in the average  container  fleet of 12% and average rental rates of 6%
between the periods.

Beginning  in March 2002,  utilization  began to improve and  improved  steadily
through the end of 2002.  Utilization  declined slightly in the first quarter of
2003, which is traditionally a slow period for container demand, improved during
the second quarter and was stable in the third quarter of 2003.  Utilization has
remained  relatively strong due to a large volume of export cargo out of Asia, a
larger percentage of containers under long term lease and efforts by the General
Partners to reduce the  quantities of containers  that can be redelivered in low
demand  locations.  However,  rental rates continued to slowly decline primarily
due to low new  container  prices,  low interest  rates and low rates offered by
competitors.  The  General  Partners  are  cautiously  optimistic  that  current
utilization  levels can be maintained  during the next several months.  However,
the General Partners caution that market  conditions could deteriorate again due
to global economic and political conditions.  Demand for leased containers could
therefore  weaken  again and result in a decrease  in  utilization  and  further
declines in lease rates and  container  sale  prices,  adversely  affecting  the
Partnership's operating results.

Although demand for leased containers has improved,  the trade imbalance between
Asia  and  the  Americas  continues.  As  a  result,  a  large  portion  of  the
Partnership's  off-lease  containers are located in low demand  locations in the
Americas  as  detailed  in the  above  chart.  For  these  and  other  off-lease
containers,  the Partnership  determines whether these containers should be sold
or held for  continued  use.  The  decision to sell  containers  is based on the
current  expectation  that the economic  benefit of selling these  containers is
greater  than  the  estimated  economic  benefit  of  continuing  to  own  these
containers.  The  majority  of the  containers  sold are older  containers.  The
expected  economic  benefit  of  continuing  to own these  older  containers  is
significantly  less than that of newer containers.  This is due to their shorter
remaining  marine life,  the cost to reposition  them,  and the shipping  lines'
preference for leasing newer containers when they have a choice.

Once the decision is made to sell  containers,  the Partnership  writes down the
value of these  specifically  identified  containers  when the carrying value is
greater than the container's  estimated net realizable value,  which is based on
recent sales prices less cost of sales.  Container  sales prices  appear to have
stabilized  as the average sales price for  containers  sold by TEM on behalf of
the  Partnership  as well as  other  container  owners  was  comparable  for the
nine-month  periods ended  September 30, 2003 and 2002.  Fluctuations in average
sales prices between the periods are primarily due to the type of container sold
as well as the location of the container.

Other rental income consists of other lease-related items, primarily income from
charges to lessees for dropping off containers in surplus locations less credits
granted to lessees for  leasing  containers  from  surplus  locations  (location
income),  income  from  charges to lessees for  handling  related to leasing and
returning  containers (handling income) and income from charges to lessees for a
Damage  Protection  Plan (DPP).  For the nine-month  period ended  September 30,
2003, other rental income was $382 a decrease of $41 from the equivalent  period
in 2002. Other rental income decreased  primarily due to the decline in handling
and location income of $51 and $26, respectively,  offset by the increase in DPP
income of $36.  Handling  income  decreased  primarily  due to the  decrease  in
container  movement.  Location income  decreased  primarily due to a decrease in
charges to lessees for dropping off containers in certain locations.  DPP income
increased primarily due to an increase in the number of containers covered under
DPP.

Direct  container  expenses  decreased $141, or 14%, from the nine-month  period
ended  September  30, 2002 to the  equivalent  period in 2003.  The decrease was
primarily due to the decrease in storage expense of $314,  offset by an increase
in repositioning expense of $196. Storage expense decreased primarily due to the
increase in utilization noted above and the decrease in the average storage cost
per container. Repositioning expense increased due to increases in the number of
containers  repositioned  and  in the  average  repositioning  costs  due to (i)
expensive  repositioning  moves related to one lessee who required containers to
be delivered to certain locations and (ii) longer average repositioning moves.

Bad debt  (benefit)  expense was $(4) and $18 for the  nine-month  periods ended
September 30, 2003 and 2002,  respectively.  Fluctuations  in bad debt (benefit)
expense  reflect the adjustment to the bad debt reserve,  after  deductions have
been taken  against the  reserve,  and are based on  management's  then  current
estimates of the portion of accounts  receivable that may not be collected,  and
which will not be covered by insurance.  These  estimates are based primarily on
management's  current assessment of the financial condition of the Partnership's
lessees and their ability to make their required payments.  The benefit recorded
during the nine-month  period ended  September 30, 2003 reflects a lower reserve
estimate, after deductions had been taken against the reserve, from December 31,
2002 and the expense  recorded  during the same period in 2002 reflects a higher
estimate, after deductions had been taken against the reserve, from December 31,
2001.

Depreciation  expense  decreased $573, or 29%, from the nine-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable  period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to an additional depreciation expense of $496 booked in the third quarter of
2002 to write down fully  depreciated  containers to the new  estimated  salvage
values as discussed below and the decrease in average fleet size noted above.

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

The  Partnership  stopped  purchasing   containers  in  2001,  but  its  leasing
activities are affected by fluctuations in new container  prices.  New container
prices  steadily  declined from 1995 through 1999, and have remained low through
2003.  As a result,  the cost of new  containers  purchased  in recent  years is
significantly less than the average cost of containers purchased in prior years.
The Partnership evaluated the recoverability of the recorded amount of container
rental  equipment at September  30, 2003 and 2002 for  containers to be held for
continued  use and  determined  that a reduction to the carrying  value of these
containers was not required.  The Partnership also evaluated the  recoverability
of the recorded amount of containers  identified for sale in the ordinary course
of business and  determined  that a reduction  to the carrying  value of some of
these  containers was required.  The  Partnership  wrote down the value of these
containers to their  estimated net realizable  value,  which was based on recent
sales prices less cost to sell.  During the nine-month  periods ended  September
30, 2003 and 2002, the Partnership recorded write-down expenses of $41 and $279,
respectively,  on 112 and 545 containers  identified as for sale and requiring a
reserve.  During the  nine-month  period ended  September 30, 2003 and 2002, the
Partnership also reclassified 7 and 56 containers from containers identified for
sale to containers  held for continued use due to the  improvement in demand for
leased containers in Asia. At September 30, 2003 and 2002, the net book value of
the 77 and 251 containers identified as for sale was $60 and $195, respectively.

The  Partnership  sold 123 previously  written down containers for a loss of $11
during the  nine-month  period ended  September 30, 2003 and sold 630 previously
written down  containers  for a loss of $56 during the same period in 2002.  The
Partnership  incurred losses on the sale of some containers  previously  written
down as the actual sales prices received on these containers were lower than the
estimates used for the write-downs.

The Partnership also sold containers that had not been written down and recorded
a loss of $71 and a gain of $19 during the  nine-month  periods ended  September
30, 2003 and 2002, respectively.

As more containers are subsequently identified as for sale or if container sales
prices decline,  the Partnership may incur additional  write-downs on containers
and/or may incur losses on the sale of containers. The Partnership will continue
to evaluate  the  recoverability  of the recorded  amounts of  container  rental
equipment.

Management fees to affiliates  increased $33, or 11%, from the nine-month period
ended September 30, 2002 to the equivalent  period in 2003. The increase was due
to  increases  in  both  incentive  and  equipment  management  fees.  Incentive
management  fees,  which  are based on the  Partnership's  limited  and  general
partner  distributions  made from cash from  operations  and  partners'  capital
increased primarily due to the increase in the amount of distributions paid from
cash from operations between the two periods.  Equipment  management fees, which
are based  primarily on gross revenue,  increased as a result of the increase in
rental income and were  approximately  7% of rental  income for both  nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

General and  administrative  costs to affiliates  decreased $14, or 8%, from the
nine-month period ended September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003, primarily
due to the  decrease  in overhead  costs  allocated  by TEM, as the  Partnership
represented a smaller portion of the total fleet managed by TEM.

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

Other general and administrative  costs decreased $71 from the nine-month period
ended  September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to decreases in other service fees between the periods.

Loss on sale of containers,  net fluctuated  from $37 for the nine-month  period
ended September 30, 2002 to $82 for the comparable period in 2003.  Although the
Partnership sold fewer containers  during the nine-month  period ended September
30, 2003, the average loss incurred on these sales  increased,  resulting in the
increase in loss on container sales between the periods

Net earnings/(loss) per limited partnership unit fluctuated from a loss of $0.15
during the  nine-month  period  ended  September  30,  2002 to earnings of $0.16
during  the  comparable  period  in  2003,  reflecting  the  fluctuation  in net
earnings/(loss) allocated to limited partners from a loss of $541 to earnings of
$559,  respectively.  The allocation of net  earnings/(loss)  for the nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002 included a special allocation of gross
income to General Partners of $23 and $33, respectively,  in accordance with the
Partnership Agreement.

The  following is a comparative  analysis of the results of  operations  for the
three-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

The  Partnership's  income (loss) from  operations for the  three-month  periods
ending September 30, 2003 and 2002 was $156 and ($450), respectively,  on rental
income of $1,162 and $1,207, respectively. The decrease in rental income of $45,
or 4%, from the  three-month  period ended  September 30, 2002 to the comparable
period in 2003 was attributable to the decrease in income from container rentals
and other rental  income.  Income from container  rentals  decreased $22, or 2%,
primarily  due to  decreases in the average  container  fleet of 11% and average
rental  rates of 4% between the  periods,  partially  offset by the  increase in
on-hire utilization of 12%.

For the  three-month  period ended  September 30, 2003,  other rental income was
$127, a decrease of $23 from the equivalent  period in 2002. Other rental income
decreased  primarily due to the declines in handling and location  income of $29
and $15,  respectively,  offset by the  increase in DPP income of $21.  Handling
income decreased primarily due to the decrease in container  movement.  Location
income decreased  primarily due to a decrease in charges to lessees for dropping
off  containers  in certain  locations  and an  increase  in credits  granted to
lessees for picking up containers from certain  locations.  DPP income increased
primarily due to an increase in the number of containers covered under DPP.

Direct  container  expenses  increased $29, or 10%, from the three-month  period
ended  September  30, 2002 to the  equivalent  period in 2003.  The increase was
primarily  due to an  increase  in  repositioning  expense  of $106,  offset  by
decreases  in  storage  and  handling  expenses  of $60 and  $20,  respectively.
Repositioning  expense  increased  due to increases in the number of  containers
repositioned  and in the  average  repositioning  costs  due to  longer  average
repositioning  moves. Storage expense decreased primarily due to the increase in
utilization noted above and decrease in average storage cost per container.  The
decline in  handling  expense  was  primarily  due to the  decline in  container
movement.

Bad debt (benefit)  expense  increased from $5 for the three-month  period ended
September  30,  2002 to ($10) for the  comparable  period in 2003.  The  benefit
recorded during the three-month period ended September 30, 2003 reflects a lower
reserve estimate, after deductions had been taken against the reserve, from June
30, 2003 and the  expense  recorded  during the same  period in 2002  reflects a
higher reserve  estimate,  after  deductions had been taken against the reserve,
from June 30, 2002.

Depreciation  expense decreased $534, or 53%, from the three-month  period ended
September 30, 2002 to the comparable  period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to an additional depreciation expense of $496 booked in the third quarter of
2002 to write down fully  depreciated  containers to the new  estimated  salvage
values and the decrease in average fleet size noted above.

During  the  three-month   periods  ended  September  30,  2003  and  2002,  the
Partnership recorded write-down expenses of $8 and $77, respectively,  on 31 and
111 containers  identified as for sale and requiring a reserve.  The Partnership
sold 26 of these previously  written down containers for a loss of $1 during the
three-month period ended September 30, 2003 and sold 173 previously written down
containers  for a loss of $31 during the same  period in 2002.  The  Partnership
also sold  containers  that had not been written down and recorded losses of $14
and $27  during the  three-month  periods  ended  September  30,  2003 and 2002,
respectively.

Management fees to affiliates  increased $8, or 7%, from the three-month  period
ended  September  30, 2002 to the  comparable  period in 2003.  The increase was
primarily due to the increase in incentive management fees. Incentive management
fees increased primarily due to the increase in the amount of distributions paid
from cash from  operations  between the two periods.  Equipment  management fees
were comparable and were  approximately 7% of rental income for both three-month
periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

General and  administrative  costs to affiliates were comparable at $55 for both
the three-month periods ended September 30, 2003 and 2002.

Other general and administrative costs decreased $23 from the three-month period
ended  September 30, 2002 to the same period in 2003. The decrease was primarily
due to decreases in other service fees between the periods.

Loss on sale of containers,  net fluctuated from $58 for the three-month  period
ended September 30, 2002 to $15 for the comparable  period in 2003. The decrease
was  primarily  due to the  Partnership  incurring  a  lower  average  loss  per
container sale and selling fewer containers.

Net (loss) earnings per limited partnership unit fluctuated from a loss of $0.13
during the three-month  period ended September 30, 2002 to earnings of $0.04 for
the comparable period in 2003, reflecting the fluctuation in net (loss) earnings
allocated  to  limited  partners  from a loss  of  $456  to  earnings  of  $148,
respectively.  The allocation of net earnings (loss) for the three-month periods
ended September 30, 2003 and 2002 included a special  allocation of gross income
to the General Partners in accordance with the Partnership Agreement.

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

The foregoing includes forward-looking statements and predictions about possible
or  future  events,  results  of  operations  and  financial  condition.   These
statements  and  predictions  may  prove  to  be  inaccurate,   because  of  the
assumptions  made by the  Partnership  or the  General  Partners  or the  actual
development  of  future  events.  No  assurance  can be given  that any of these
forward-looking statements or predictions will ultimately prove to be correct or
even substantially correct. The risks and uncertainties in these forward-looking
statements  include,  but are not  limited  to,  changes  in demand  for  leased
containers,  changes in global  business  conditions  and their  effect on world
trade,  future  modifications  in the way in  which  the  Partnership's  lessees
conduct their business or of the  profitability of their business,  increases or
decreases in new  container  prices or the  availability  of financing for them,
alterations in the costs of maintaining and repairing used containers, increases
in competition,  changes in the Partnership's  ability to maintain insurance for
its  containers  and its  operations,  the effects of  political  conditions  on
worldwide  shipping and demand for global trade or of other general business and
economic cycles on the  Partnership,  as well as other risks detailed herein and
from time to time in the Partnership's  filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.  The  Partnership  does  not  undertake  any  obligation  to  update
forward-looking statements.

Item 3.  Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about Market Risk.

Inapplicable.

Item 4.  Controls and Procedures.

Based on an evaluation of the Partnership's  disclosure  controls and procedures
(as defined in Rules 13a-15 and 15d-15 of the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934),
the  managing  general  partner's  principal  executive  officer  and  principal
financial officer have found those controls and procedures to be effective as of
the end of the  period  covered by the  report.  There has been no change in the
Partnership's internal control over financial reporting that occurred during the
Partnership's most recent fiscal quarter, and which has materially affected,  or
is reasonably  likely materially to affect,  the Partnership's  internal control
over financial reporting.

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


Signature                                Title                                          Date



________________________                 Chief Financial Officer, Senior                November 12, 2003
Ernest J. Furtado                        Vice President and Secretary





________________________                 President                                      November 12, 2003
John A. Maccarone

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



                           By /s/Ernest J. Furtado
                              ______________________________________
                              Ernest J. Furtado
                              Chief Financial Officer


Date:  November 12, 2003


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, this report
has been signed below by the following persons on behalf of Textainer  Financial
Services  Corporation,  the Managing  General Partner of the Registrant,  in the
capacities and on the dates indicated:

Signature                                   Title                                             Date



/s/Ernest J. Furtado
________________________________            Chief Financial Officer, Senior                   November 12, 2003
Ernest J. Furtado                           Vice President and Secretary





/s/John A. Maccarone
________________________________            President                                         November 12, 2003
John A. Maccarone


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

November 12, 2003

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

November 12, 2003

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



In connection with the Quarterly Report of Textainer Equipment Income Fund II, L.P., (the "Registrant") on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended September 30, 2003, as filed on November 12, 2003 with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Report"), I, John A. Maccarone, the President and Director of Textainer Financial Services Corporation ("TFS") and Principal Executive Officer of TFS, the Managing General Partner of the Registrant, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. ss. 1350, as adopted, regarding Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

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



In connection with the Quarterly Report of Textainer Equipment Income Fund II, L.P., (the "Registrant") on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended September 30, 2003, as filed on November 12, 2003 with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Report"), I, Ernest J. Furtado, Chief Financial Officer, Senior Vice President, Secretary and Director of Textainer Financial Services Corporation ("TFS") and Principal Financial and Accounting Officer of TFS, the Managing General Partner of the Registrant, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. ss. 1350, as adopted, regarding Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

(i) The Report fully complies with the requirements of Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and



(ii) The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition, results of operations and cash flows of the Registrant.





     November 12, 2003




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