VARTECH SYSTEMS INC (CIK 846535)
Form 10-Q
period 2001-10-31
filed 2001-12-14

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

1,950,000 shares of common stock, $.001 par value, (the issuer's only class of common stock), were outstanding as of December 12, 2001.

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PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.  FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

                           VarTech Systems Inc.

                              Balance Sheets

                                              October 31,        July 31,
                                                 2001              2001
                                               Unaudited         Audited
                                             ------------     ------------
ASSETS
Current Assets
  Cash and cash equivalents                   $   170,103       $   78,806
  Accounts receivable - trade                     563,290          569,063
  Accounts receivable - other                       1,539            2,755
  Accounts receivable - shareholder                    -               -
  Inventory                                       359,180          395,464
                                             ------------     ------------
     Total current assets                       1,094,112        1,046,088

Furniture and equipment                           527,345          524,935
Leasehold improvements                             12,145           12,145
Less:  Accumulated depreciation                  (329,411)        (311,611)
                                             ------------     ------------
                                                  210,079          225,469

Deposits                                           14,370           14,370
                                             ------------     ------------
    Total assets                              $ 1,318,561      $ 1,285,927
                                             ============     ============

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                           VarTech Systems Inc.

                              Balance Sheets

                                              October 31,         July 31,
                                                  2001              2001
                                               Unaudited          Audited
                                             ------------      ------------
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities
  Notes payable - credit lines                $   237,960       $   289,154
  Accounts payable                                195,293           159,053
  Income tax payable                               39,974            29,012
  Other accrued expenses                          109,870           122,637
                                             ------------      ------------
     Total current liabilities                    583,097           599,856

Deferred income taxes                              30,429            34,038
                                             ------------      ------------
    Total liabilities                             613,526           633,894

Preferred stock, 1,000,000 shares,
  $.01 par authorized, no shares issued               -               -
Common stock, 100,000,000 shares,
  $.001 par authorized; 2,100,000
  shares issued; 1,950,000 shares
  outstanding                                       2,100             2,100
Capital in excess of par value                    704,761           704,761
Treasury stock; 150,000 shares at cost           (150,000)         (150,000)
Retained earnings                                 148,174            95,172
                                             ------------      ------------
Total stockholders' equity                        705,035           652,033

Total liabilities and stockholders' equity    $ 1,318,561       $ 1,285,927
                                             ============      ============

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                         VarTech Systems Inc.

                         Statements of Income
                              (Unaudited)

                                          Quarter Ended
                                           October 31,
                                       2001         2000
                                    ----------   ----------
Sales                               $1,563,981   $1,667,223
Cost of sales                          874,966      872,646
                                    ----------   ----------
Gross profit                           689,015      794,577

Expenses                               599,648      694,062
                                    ----------   ----------
Net income before income taxes          89,367      100,515

Income taxes                            36,365       36,033
                                    ----------   ----------
Net income                          $   53,002   $   64,482

Basic and diluted net income
per common share                    $     .03    $     .03

Weighted average number of
common shares outstanding:
   Basic                             1,950,000    1,950,000
   Diluted                           1,950,000    1,990,833


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                        VarTech Systems Inc.

                       Statements of Cash Flows
                              (Unaudited)

                                             Quarter Ended
                                              October 31,
                                            2001        2000
                                         ---------   ---------

Cash flows from operating activities
  Net income                             $  53,002   $  64,482
  Adjustments to reconcile net
   income to net cash provided by
   (used in) operating activities:
     Depreciation                           17,800      21,950
     Deferred income taxes                  (3,609)      4,902
  Changes in operating assets
   and liabilities:
    Increase (decrease) in assets
     Accounts receivable                     6,990    (161,905)
     Inventory                              36,284    (155,600)
     Other assets                                           -
    Increase (decrease) in liabilities
     Accounts payable                       36,239      90,772
     Accrued expenses                       (1,805)     27,727
                                        -----------    --------
Net cash provided by (used in)
  operating activities                     144,901    (107,672)
                                        -----------   ---------
Cash flows from investing activities
  Purchase of property and
   equipment                                (2,410)    (21,760)
  Net increase in account
   receivable - shareholder                  -         (28,500)
                                          ---------   ---------
Net cash used in
  investing activities                      (2,410)    (50,260)
                                          ---------   ---------
Cash flows from financing activities
  Net (payments on) proceeds from
   lines of credit                         (51,194)    150,745
                                           ---------   ---------
Net increase (decrease) in cash and
  cash equivalents                          91,297      (7,187)

Cash and cash equivalents,
  beginning of period                       78,806      15,138
                                           ---------   ---------
Cash and cash equivalents,
  end of period                          $ 170,103    $  7,951
                                        ============   =========

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ITEM 2.  MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITIONS AND
RESULTS OF OPERATIONS


THREE MONTHS ENDED OCTOBER 31, 2001
COMPARED TO OCTOBER 31, 2000

The Company's revenues decreased by 6% to $1,563,981 in the first quarter ended October 31, 2001 as compared to $1,667,223 in the first quarter of the prior year.

Gross profit of $689,015 for the first quarter ended October 31, 2001 represented 44% of sales as compared to $794,577 which represented 47% of sales in the same period ended October 31, 2000.

The Company's net income before income taxes in the first quarter was $89,367 as compared to before tax net income of $100,515 in the same period last year. The decrease in net income was a result of the Company's decrease of 3% in gross profit margin.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

The Company has lines of credit totaling $750,000 which it uses for
short-term borrowing to acquire inventory and finance accounts receivable.
On October 31, 2001, the outstanding balance on these lines was $237,960.
The lines of credit and its current assets of $1,094,112 are deemed sufficient to fund operations for the next twelve months. As of October 31, 2001, the Company had $512,040 available under the lines of credit.

VARTECH SYSTEMS INC.
NOTES TO UNAUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
OCTOBER 31, 2001

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

DATE:  December 14, 2001

                                       C. Wayne Prater
                                       President and Chief Executive Officer

                                       signed/s/ C. Wayne Prater

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