CII FINANCIAL INC (CIK 844828)
Form 10-Q
period 2001-09-30
filed 2001-11-14

                                  UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549

                                    Form 10-Q
(Mark One)

  X   QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d)OF THE SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended       September 30, 2001

                                       OR

      TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from __________________ to ____________________

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

   As of November 13, 2001, there were 100 shares of common stock outstanding.

                      CII FINANCIAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                    FORM 10-Q
                  FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2001

                                      INDEX
                                                                                                           Page No.

Part I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

      Item 1.     Financial Statements

                  Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets -
                    September 30, 2001 and December 31, 2000.................................................    3

                  Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations -
                    three and nine months ended September 30, 2001 and 2000..................................    4

                  Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows -
                    nine months ended September 30, 2001 and 2000............................................    5

                  Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.......................................    6

      Item 2.     Management's Discussion and Analysis of
                    Financial Condition and Results of Operations............................................   10

      Item 3.     Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures
                    about Market Risk........................................................................   18

Part II - OTHER INFORMATION

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.  FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                      CII FINANCIAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                      CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                        (In thousands, except share data)

                                                                                   September 30              December 31
                                                                                       2001                     2000
                                                                                   (Unaudited)
ASSETS
   Invested assets:
       Debt securities, available-for-sale, at fair value..................           $193,995                 $177,671
       Debt securities, held-to-maturity, at amortized cost ...............             13,597                   21,258
       Preferred stocks, at fair value.....................................              2,784                    5,130
       Mortgage loans on non-affiliated real estate........................             11,743                   12,362
                                                                                      --------                 --------
   Total invested assets...................................................            222,119                  216,421
                                                                                      --------                 --------

   Cash and cash equivalents...............................................             28,240                   28,666
   Reinsurance recoverable................................................             255,803                  247,205
   Premiums receivable (net of allowances of $1,520 and $1,449)...........              11,097                   11,785
   Note receivable affiliate (Note 8).....................................               7,500
   Deferred income taxes..................................................              10,194                   16,251
   Property and equipment, net............................................               3,705                    4,126
   Other assets...........................................................              11,138                    9,148
                                                                                      --------                 --------
TOTAL ASSETS..............................................................            $549,796                 $533,602
                                                                                      ========                 ========

LIABILITIES
   Reserve for loss and loss adjustment expenses..........................            $410,609                 $374,554
   Unearned premiums......................................................              16,026                   13,493
   Ceded reinsurance premiums payable.....................................                  14                   11,073
   Debentures (Note 3)....................................................              19,187                   47,059
   Notes payable affiliate (Note 8).......................................              17,000
   Accounts payable and other accrued expenses............................              19,037                   24,071
                                                                                      --------                 --------
TOTAL LIABILITIES.........................................................             481,873                  470,250
                                                                                      --------                 --------

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES (Note 7)

STOCKHOLDER'S EQUITY
   Common stock, no par value, 1,000 shares
   authorized; 100 shares issued and outstanding...........................              3,604                    3,604
   Additional paid-in capital..............................................             64,450                   64,450
   Accumulated other comprehensive loss:
      Unrealized holding loss on available-for-sale investments ...........             (1,868)                  (4,535)
   Retained Earnings (accumulated deficit).................................              1,737                     (167)
                                                                                      --------                 --------
TOTAL STOCKHOLDER'S EQUITY.................................................             67,923                   63,352
                                                                                      --------                 --------
TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDER'S EQUITY.................................           $549,796                 $533,602
                                                                                      ========                 ========

     See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

                      CII FINANCIAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                 (In thousands)

                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                    Three Months Ended                        Nine Months Ended
                                                                       September 30                             September 30
                                                                 2001                2000                   2001             2000

REVENUES
  Direct written premiums...............................        $ 47,573            $ 56,570               $143,042       $ 153,034
  Changes in direct unearned premiums...................             464                 566                 (2,532)         (2,906)
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

  Direct earned premiums................................          48,037              57,136                140,510         150,128
  Less:  premiums ceded.................................           1,119              18,872                 12,218          59,177
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

  Net earned premiums...................................          46,918              38,264                128,292          90,951
  Net investment income.................................           3,653               3,887                 11,664          11,217
  Net realized investment (losses) gains................             (97)                (71)                   235            (460)
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

Total revenues..........................................          50,474              42,080                140,191         101,708
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

COSTS AND EXPENSES
  Direct loss and loss adjustment expenses..............          58,718              72,196                172,592         207,323
  Reinsurance recoveries................................         (20,658)            (41,893)               (68,241)       (123,303)
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

  Net loss and loss adjustment expenses.................          38,060              30,303                104,351          84,020
  Policy acquisition costs..............................           8,031               6,083                 21,440          14,174
  General, administrative and other.....................           3,426               3,560                 10,237          14,804
  Interest expense......................................             412                 875                  1,897           2,717
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

Total costs and expenses................................          49,929              40,821                137,925         115,715
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

INCOME (LOSS) BEFORE FEDERAL
INCOME TAX EXPENSE
AND EXTRAORDINARY GAIN..................................             545               1,259                  2,266         (14,007)

Federal income tax expense (benefit)....................             204                 448                    761          (4,902)
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

INCOME (LOSS) BEFORE
   EXTRAORDINARY GAIN...................................             341                 811                  1,505          (9,105)

Extraordinary (loss) gain from debt extinguishment
(net of income tax of $(34), $51, $214 and $353)........             (64)                 93                    399             654
                                                                --------            --------               --------       ---------

NET INCOME (LOSS).......................................        $    277            $    904               $  1,904       $  (8,451)
                                                                ========            ========               ========       =========

     See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

                      CII FINANCIAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                 (In thousands)

                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                                      Nine Months Ended September 30
                                                                                           2001            2000
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
  Net income (loss).............................................................        $ 1,904          $ (8,451)
  Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net
       cash provided by (used in) operating activities:
    Extraordinary gain..........................................................          (613)            (1,007)
    Depreciation and amortization...............................................           892              1,197
    Provision for asset impairment..............................................                            3,000
  Change in assets and liabilities:
    Reinsurance recoverable.....................................................         (8,598)          (79,732)
    Reserve for loss and loss adjustment expense................................         36,055            97,508
    Ceded reinsurance premiums payable..........................................        (11,059)           (1,897)
    Change in other assets and liabilities......................................            216           (12,871)
                                                                                        -------          --------
           Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities..................         18,797            (2,253)
                                                                                        -------          --------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
  Capital expenditures, net.....................................................           (504)             (820)
  Changes in investments .......................................................         (1,057)           10,717
  Note receivable affiliate.....................................................         (7,500)
                                                                                        -------          --------
           Net cash (used in) provided by investing activities..................         (9,061)            9,897
                                                                                        -------          --------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
  Dividend to Sierra............................................................                           (2,637)
  Payments on debentures........................................................        (27,162)           (2,432)
  Notes payable affiliate.......................................................         17,000
                                                                                        -------          --------
           Net cash used in financing activities................................        (10,162)           (5,069)
                                                                                        -------          --------

NET (DECREASE) INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS............................           (426)            2,575

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT BEGINNING OF PERIOD................................         28,666            16,833
                                                                                        -------          --------

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT END OF PERIOD......................................        $28,240          $ 19,408
                                                                                        =======          ========

                                                                                      Nine Months Ended September 30
                                                                                           2001             2000

Supplemental Condensed Consolidated Disclosures of Cash Flows Information:

Cash paid during the period for interest (net of amount capitalized)..............      $   2,890        $  3,713

Non-cash Investing and Financing Activities:
     Debentures exchanged.........................................................         19,692

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
     United States of America as used in preparing the Company's  annual audited
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
     indicated:

                                                               Three Months Ended              Nine Months Ended
                                                                  September 30                    September 30
           (In thousands)                                     2001          2000              2001              2000

           Net Income (Loss)...........................      $  277         $  904           $1,904           $(8,451)
           Change in Accumulated Other
             Comprehensive Income, Net.................       3,895            847            2,667             3,549
                                                             ------         ------           ------           -------

           Comprehensive Income (Loss).................      $4,172         $1,751           $4,571           $(4,902)
                                                             ======         ======           ======           =======

3.   Debentures

     In September  1991, CII Financial  issued 7 1/2%  Convertible  Subordinated
     Debentures  (the  "Subordinated  Debentures")  of  which  $47,059,000  were
     outstanding at March 31, 2001. Interest on the Subordinated  Debentures was
     due  semi-annually on March 15 and September 15, and they matured September
     15, 2001.  Each $1,000 in principal was  convertible  into 25.382 shares of
     common stock of Sierra at a conversion  price of $39.398 per share.  During
     the first nine months of 2000,  the Company  repurchased  $3,439,000 of the
     Subordinated  Debentures in the open market  resulting in an  extraordinary
     gain of $1,007,000 and a corresponding tax provision of $353,000.

     In  December  2000,  CII  Financial  commenced  an  offer to  exchange  the
     Subordinated  Debentures for cash and/or new debentures.  To facilitate the
     exchange,  CII Financial  borrowed $17.0 million from Sierra and California
     Indemnity obtained the necessary approval from the California Department of
     Insurance  to pay a dividend of $5.0  million to CII  Financial.  On May 7,
     2001,  CII  Financial  closed its  exchange  offer on $42.1  million of its
     outstanding Subordinated Debentures.  CII Financial purchased $27.1 million
     in principal  amount of  Subordinated  Debentures for $20.0 million in cash
     and issued $15.0 million in new 9 1/2% senior debentures, due September 15,
     2004, in exchange for $15.0 million in Subordinated Debentures.

     In  September  2001,   California  Indemnity  received  approval  from  the
     California  Department  of  Insurance  to pay an  additional  $5.0  million
     dividend to CII Financial,  which used the funds to fully pay the remaining
     $5.0 million in Subordinated Debentures at maturity.

     The exchange offer contained concessions by the holders of the Subordinated
     Debentures, including extending the maturity and accepting an interest rate
     that may have been lower than what CII  Financial  could have obtained from
     other lenders. In accordance with accounting  principles generally accepted
     in the United  States of  America,  the  exchange  of the new 9 1/2% senior
     debentures for the  Subordinated  Debentures was treated as a restructuring
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
     the transaction for CII Financial; accordingly, the exchange was considered
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
     restructuring.  All future  cash  payments  related to the  debentures  are
     reductions  of the carrying  amount of the  debentures  therefore no future
     interest  expense will be recognized for the  debentures.  The  transaction
     resulted in an  extraordinary  gain of  $613,000  and a  corresponding  tax
     provision of $214,000.

     The new 9 1/2% senior  debentures pay interest,  which is due semi-annually
     on March 15 and  September 15 of each year,  commencing  on  September  15,
     2001. The new 9 1/2% senior  debentures  rank senior to  outstanding  notes
     payable  from CII  Financial  to Sierra and CII  Financial's  guarantee  of
     Sierra's  revolving  credit  facility.  (See  Note  8  of  these  financial
     statements)  The  new 9  1/2%  senior  debentures  may be  redeemed  by CII
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
     discontinuance  of goodwill  amortization.  In addition,  the pronouncement
     includes provisions for the reclassification of certain existing recognized
     intangibles such as goodwill,  reassessment of the useful lives of existing
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
     results of operations.

     In  October  2001,  the  FASB  issued  Statement  of  Financial  Accounting
     Standards No. 144, "Accounting for the Impairment or Disposal of Long-Lived
     Assets"  ("SFAS  144"),  which is effective  January 1, 2002.  SFAS No. 144
     requires that long-lived assets that are to be sold within one year must be
     separately  identified  and carried at the lower of carrying  value or fair
     value less costs to sell. Long-lived assets expected to be held longer than
     one year are subject to depreciation and must be written down to fair value
     upon impairment. Long-lived assets no longer expected to be sold within one
     year,  such as some  foreclosed  real  estate,  must be written down to the
     lower  of  current  fair  value or fair  value  at the date of  foreclosure
     adjusted to reflect  depreciation  since  acquisition.  The Company has not
     determined the effect of implementing this standard.

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
     can assess 1% to 2% of direct premiums written, net of return premium ("net
     direct  written  premiums").   In  California  and  certain  other  states,
     insurance  companies  are  allowed  to recoup  the  assessments  from their
     policyholders,  while other states allow an offset against premium taxes or
     a combination of both.

     In California,  there were no guaranty  association  assessments imposed on
     companies writing solely workers'  compensation  insurance between 1990 and
     1999. In October 2000,  the Company  received a notice from the  California
     Insurance  Guarantee  Association of an assessment of $1.2 million of which
     one-half was paid prior to December 31, 2000 and the  remainder was paid in
     June 2001.  This assessment is being recouped by a 1% surcharge on workers'
     compensation  insurance  policies with effective dates on and after January
     1, 2001. The  assessment was based on 1% of net direct written  premiums in
     1999 and will be subsequently trued-up based on net direct written premiums
     in 2000.  Legislation  was enacted in  September  2001 in  California  that
     raised the assessment to 2% of net direct  written  premiums for a one-year
     period.  In October  2001,  the Company  received and paid an assessment of
     $3.1  million.  This  assessment  will be  recouped  by a 2%  surcharge  on
     workers' compensation  insurance policies with effective dates on and after
     January  1, 2002.  The  assessment  was based on 2% of net  direct  written
     premiums  in 2000 and will be  subsequently  trued-up  based on net  direct
     written  premiums  in 2001.  Due to the  current  ability to  substantially
     recoup  assessments or reduce  premium taxes,  the Company does not believe
     that guaranty association  assessments will materially affect its financial
     condition or results of operations.

8.   Note Receivable and Notes Payable to Affiliate

     In connection with the exchange offer for the Subordinated  Debentures (see
     Note 3 of these  financial  statements),  California  Indemnity lent Sierra
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
     120% of the principal  amount  outstanding.  At September 30, 2001, SHL had
     total equity,  on a statutory  accounting  basis,  of  approximately  $13.9
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
     debentures and CII Financial's guaranty of Sierra's credit facility.

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
income taxes.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS,  THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2001, COMPARED TO THREE
MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2000.

Revenues are comprised of net earned  premiums,  net  investment  income and net
realized  gains/losses.  Total  revenue  increased  by 20%  due  primarily  to a
reduction in premiums ceded to reinsurers.  Reflected in the 2001 direct written
premiums is a 31% decrease in production and a 27% composite increase in premium
rates for all states.

Net earned  premiums  are the end result of direct  written  premiums,  plus the
change in unearned  premiums,  less  premiums  ceded to  reinsurers.  Our direct
written premiums decreased by 15.9% due primarily to a decline in our California
business.  Offsetting  this was a  reduction  in the amount of premium  ceded to
reinsurers,  which  increased  earned premium by $17.8 million.  The decrease in
ceded  reinsurance  premiums was primarily due to the  expiration and run-off of
our low  level  reinsurance  agreement  on June 30,  2000  along  with new lower
retention  reinsurance  agreements,  all of  which  reduced  the  percentage  of
premiums being ceded.

The following table reflects a comparison of direct written premiums, by state:

                                              Three months ended September 30
                                       2001       % of total      2000      % of total
                                                   (dollars in millions)
        California                      $34.7         72.8%        $42.1         74.4%
        Nevada                            4.5          9.5           4.5          8.0
        Colorado                          4.5          9.5           5.8         10.2
        Texas                             2.3          4.8           2.1          3.7
        Other States                      1.6          3.4           2.1          3.7
                                        -----        -----         -----        -----
           Total                        $47.6        100.0%        $56.6        100.0%
                                        =====        =====         =====        =====

As shown in the preceding  table, our largest premium state,  California,  had a
17.6%  decrease  in direct  written  premiums.  However,  we obtained an average
premium rate increase on California  renewing  policies of approximately 33% for
the quarter  ended  September  30,  2001.  Premiums in force are an indicator of
future written premium trends.  Inforce  premiums are the total estimated annual
premiums of all  policies in force at a point in time.  Total  inforce  premiums
have  decreased  by 12.7% to $165.6  million  compared  to last  year.  This has
resulted in a decrease in direct  written  premiums,  especially in  California,
which we believe is due  largely to  business  lost as a result of premium  rate
increases we have been attempting to receive.  The number of inforce policies at
September 30, 2001 has also dropped by 25.2% compared to last year.

The  $300,000  or  6.8%  decrease  in net  investment  income  is  due to  lower
investment yields offset by an increase in the average invested asset balance.

                      CII FINANCIAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

         MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND
                              RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

We had net  realized  losses of $100,000  in both the third  quarter of 2001 and
2000. We try to manage our investment  portfolio to minimize  unplanned sales of
our available-for-sale investments.

Net loss and loss adjustment  expenses,  or LAE, increased by approximately $7.8
million due to the following:

     o    We recorded  approximately  $7.0  million in  additional  loss and LAE
          related to the  increase in net earned  premiums  in 2001  compared to
          2000.

     o    In the third  quarter of 2001, we recorded $1.5 million of net adverse
          loss  development  for prior  accident  years compared to net positive
          development  of $500,000  in the third  quarter of 2000  recorded  for
          prior accident years. The net adverse development recorded in 2001 was
          largely attributable to higher costs per claim, or claim severity,  in
          California.  Higher claim  severity  has had a negative  impact on the
          entire California workers' compensation industry.

     o    In the third  quarter of 2000,  we recorded an accident  year loss and
          LAE ratio of 80.5%. We have reduced the comparative 2001 accident year
          loss and LAE ratio to 77.9%,  resulting  in a decrease to our net loss
          and LAE  totaling  $1.2  million.  The  reduction in the loss ratio is
          primarily due to the composite premium rate increases  obtained on new
          and renewal business.

The net adverse loss  development  on prior  accident years included those years
that were  covered by our low level  reinsurance  agreement.  This results in an
increase in the reinsurance recoverable balance which is then reduced by amounts
collectable  from  reinsurers  for  paid  losses.  Net  reinsurance  recoverable
decreased  by $2.0 million in the third  quarter of 2001 and  increased by $14.7
million in the third quarter of 2000.

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
$250,000 and less than  $500,000.  This  agreement  covered claims with dates of
injury between July 1, 2000 and June 30, 2001. We already had an existing excess
of loss  reinsurance  agreement that covered 100% of the losses above  $500,000.
The latter reinsurance  agreement is a fixed rate multi-year  contract that will
expire December 31, 2002. The termination of the low level agreement will result
in our keeping more retained  losses and LAE.  However,  our California  premium
rates have been  increasing,  which we believe will largely mitigate the loss of
this favorable reinsurance protection.

As a  percentage  of net  earned  premiums,  the loss and LAE  ratio  was  81.1%
compared  to 79.2% for 2000.  The  increase is  primarily  due to the prior year
development booked in 2001.

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
of $3.2  million in the third  quarter of 2001  compared to $2.8  million in the
third quarter of 2000 and policyholders'  dividends of $300,000 in 2001 compared
to $800,000 in 2000.  Policyholders'  dividends,  which primarily are payable on
Nevada  participating  policies,  represent  .6% of  2001  net  earned  premiums
compared to 2.0% in 2000.

The  underwriting  expense ratio,  which includes policy  acquisition  costs and
other  underwriting  expenses  as a  percentage  of  net  earned  premiums,  was
relatively flat at 23.8% compared to 23.2% in 2000.

Interest  expense  decreased  by $500,000 or 52.9%  during the period due to the
exchange  offer for the CII  Financial,  Inc.  7 1/2%  Convertible  Subordinated
Debentures  (the  "Subordinated  Debentures")  that closed on May 7, 2001.  As a
result of the restructuring of the Subordinated Debentures,  all future interest
payments after the closing on both the remaining Subordinated Debentures and the
new 9 1/2%  senior  debentures  are  reductions  of the  carrying  amount of the
debentures and no further interest expense is recorded.  See Note 3 of the Notes
to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements. The interest expense recorded in
the third  quarter  of 2001 is all  related to a note  payable to Sierra  Health
Services,  Inc.  See Note 8 of the  Notes to  Condensed  Consolidated  Financial
Statements.

The combined  ratio is a measurement of  underwriting  profit or loss and is the
sum of the loss and LAE ratio,  underwriting  expense  ratio and  policyholders'
dividend  ratio. A combined  ratio of less than 100%  indicates an  underwriting
profit.  Our combined ratio was 105.5%  compared to 104.4% in 2000. The increase
was  primarily  due to a higher loss and LAE ratio of 1.9  percentage  points in
addition to an  increase  in the  underwriting  expense  ratio of .6  percentage
points,  offset  by a  decrease  in the  policyholders'  dividend  ratio  of 1.4
percentage  points.  The increase in the loss and LAE ratio was primarily due to
an increase of $2.0 million in the amount of adverse prior year loss development
recorded  in 2001  compared to 2000,  offset by a decrease in the 2001  accident
year loss ratio due to continued price strengthening.

Provision for income taxes was recorded at $200,000 for the quarter  compared to
$400,000 in 2000 with an effective tax rate of 37.4% compared to 35.6% for 2000.
The change in the effective  tax rate is due to a  combination  of tax preferred
investments and changes in the valuation allowance.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS,  NINE MONTHS ENDED  SEPTEMBER 30, 2001,  COMPARED TO NINE
MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2000.

Revenues are comprised of net earned  premiums,  net  investment  income and net
realized  gains/losses.  Total  revenue  increased  by 38%  due  primarily  to a
reduction in premiums ceded to reinsurers.  Reflected in the 2001 direct written
premiums is a 29% decrease in production and a 32% composite increase in premium
rates for all states.

Net earned  premiums  are the end result of direct  written  premiums,  plus the
change in unearned  premiums,  less  premiums  ceded to  reinsurers.  Our direct
written premiums  decreased by 6.5% due primarily to a decline in our California
business  offset by growth in Nevada,  Texas and Colorado.  The reduction in the
amount of premium ceded to reinsurers increased earned premium by $47.0 million.
The decrease in ceded  reinsurance  premiums was primarily due to the expiration
and run-off of our low level  reinsurance  agreement on June 30, 2000 along with
new lower retention reinsurance agreements,  all of which reduced the percentage
of premiums being ceded.

The following table reflects a comparison of direct written premiums, by state:

                                              Nine months ended September 30
                                       2001       % of total      2000      % of total
                                                   (dollars in millions)
        California                     $104.0          72.7%      $117.6         76.9%
        Nevada                           13.5           9.4         11.3          7.4
        Colorado                         13.4           9.4         12.4          8.1
        Texas                             7.2           5.0          5.6          3.7
        Other States                      4.9           3.5          6.1          3.9
                                       ------         -----       ------        -----
           Total                       $143.0         100.0%      $153.0        100.0%
                                       ======         =====       ======        =====

As shown in the preceding table, our largest premium state,  California,  had an
11.6% decrease in direct written  premiums.  We obtained an average premium rate
increase  on  California  renewing  policies of  approximately  40% for the nine
months ended  September  30, 2001 and 23% for policies that renewed in the first
nine months of 2000.  However,  the  production  of new and renewal  business is
decreasing because of the higher premium rates we are attempting to achieve.

The $1.1  million  or  10.6%  increase  in net  investment  income  is due to an
increase  in the  average  invested  asset  balance  offset by lower  investment
yields.

We had net  realized  gains of  $200,000  compared  to net  realized  losses  of
$500,000  in  2000.  We try to  manage  our  investment  portfolio  to  minimize
unplanned sales of our available-for-sale investments.

Net loss and loss adjustment expenses,  or LAE, increased by approximately $20.3
million due to the following:

     o    We recorded  approximately  $26.2 million in  additional  loss and LAE
          related to the  increase in net earned  premiums  in 2001  compared to
          2000.

     o    In 2001, we recorded $7.3 million of net adverse loss  development for
          prior accident years,  primarily 1996 to 1998, compared to net adverse
          loss  development  of $20.2  million  recorded in 2000,  primarily for
          accident years 1996 to 1999. The net adverse development  recorded was
          largely attributable to higher costs per claim, or claim severity,  in
          California.  Higher claim  severity  has had a negative  impact on the
          entire California workers' compensation industry.

     o    We established a higher loss and LAE ratio for the 2001 accident year,
          which has resulted in an increase of approximately  $7.0 million.  The
          majority of the  increase is due to the  termination  of the low level
          reinsurance agreement on June 30, 2000, which results in a higher risk
          exposure on policies  effective after that date and a higher amount of
          net incurred loss and LAE.

The net adverse loss  development  on prior  accident years included those years
that were  covered by our low level  reinsurance  agreement.  This results in an
increase in the reinsurance recoverable balance which is then reduced by amounts
collectable  from  reinsurers.  Net  reinsurance  recoverable  increased by $8.6
million in 2001 and $73.7 million in 2000.

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
$250,000 and less than  $500,000.  This  agreement  covered claims with dates of
injury between July 1, 2000 and June 30, 2001. We already had an existing excess
of loss  reinsurance  agreement that covered 100% of the losses above  $500,000.
The latter reinsurance  agreement is a fixed rate multi-year  contract that will
expire December 31, 2002. The termination of the low level agreement will result
in our keeping more retained  losses and LAE.  However,  our California  premium
rates have been  increasing,  which we believe will largely mitigate the loss of
this favorable reinsurance protection.

As a  percentage  of net  earned  premiums,  the loss and LAE  ratio  was  81.3%
compared  to 92.4% for 2000.  The  decrease is  primarily  due to the prior year
development  booked  in  2000,  offset  by  the  expiration  of  the  low  level
reinsurance agreement for policies effective after June 30, 2000.

Policy  acquisition  costs are those expenses that are directly  related to, and
vary  with,   written  premiums.   Examples  of  policy  acquisition  costs  are
commissions and allowances paid to agents and brokers, premium taxes, boards and
bureau fees and certain operating expenses primarily related to our underwriting
and  marketing  departments.  The increase in policy  acquisition  costs of $7.3
million  in  2001 is  primarily  attributable  to the  run off of the low  level
reinsurance treaty, whereby we are ceding less commission to our reinsurer.

General,  administrative and other expenses include other underwriting  expenses
of $8.8 million compared to $10.1 million in 2000 and  policyholders'  dividends
of $1.4 million  compared to $1.7 million in 2000.  In addition,  we recorded an
asset impairment charge of $3.0 million in 2000 for the write-off of capitalized
costs on an information  system software  project that was canceled  because the
vendor  was  unable  to  fulfill  its  contractual  obligations.  Policyholders'
dividends,  which  primarily  are  payable  on  Nevada  participating  policies,
represent 1.1% of 2001 net earned  premiums  compared to 1.8% of 2000 net earned
premiums.  The  decrease of $1.6  million in general,  administrative  and other
expenses  in 2001 is  primarily  due to  expense  reduction  initiatives,  which
reduced personnel and related expenses.

The  underwriting  expense ratio,  which includes policy  acquisition  costs and
other  underwriting  expenses as a percentage of net earned premiums,  was 23.6%
compared to 26.7% in 2000. The  improvement in the expense ratio was due in part
to higher net earned premiums,  which provides a larger base to spread our fixed
costs,  a reduction in  personnel  expenses and lower  agents'  commissions  and
allowances.

Interest expense  decreased by $.8 million or 30.2% during the period due to the
exchange offer for the Subordinated  Debentures that closed on May 7, 2001. As a
result of the restructuring of the Subordinated Debentures,  all future interest
payments made after the closing of the offer on both the remaining  Subordinated
Debentures  and the new 9 1/2% senior  debentures are reductions of the carrying
amount of the debentures and no further interest  expense will be recorded.  See
Note 3 of the Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.

The combined  ratio is a measurement of  underwriting  profit or loss and is the
sum of the loss and LAE ratio,  underwriting  expense  ratio and  policyholders'
dividend  ratio. A combined  ratio of less than 100%  indicates an  underwriting
profit.  Our  combined  ratio was 106.0%  compared  to 120.9% for the first nine
months of 2000.  The decrease was primarily due to a lower loss and LAE ratio of
11.1 percentage  points as well as a decrease in the underwriting  expense ratio
of 3.1 percentage points and a decrease in the policyholders'  dividend ratio of
 .7 percentage  points.  The decrease in the loss and LAE ratio was primarily due
to $7.3 million in adverse prior year loss development recorded in 2001 compared
to $20.2  million  recorded in 2000,  offset by an increase in the 2001 accident
year loss ratio due to the run off of the low level  reinsurance.  The reduction
in the  underwriting  expense ratio was  primarily  due to the asset  impairment
charge  recorded in 2000 and higher  retained  net earned  premiums  and expense
reduction initiatives taken by the Company.

Provision  for income  taxes was  recorded at $800,000  compared to a benefit of
$4.9 million in 2000 with an effective  tax rate of 33.6%  compared to 35.0% for
2000.  The  change  in the  effective  tax rate is due to a  combination  of tax
preferred investments and changes in the valuation allowance.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

Debentures

In  September  1991,  CII  Financial  issued  7  1/2%  Convertible  Subordinated
Debentures (the "Subordinated Debentures") of which $47,059,000 were outstanding
at March  31,  2001.  The  Subordinated  Debentures  were  neither  assumed  nor
guaranteed by Sierra and were  subordinated  to Sierra's  credit  facility debt.
Interest on the  Subordinated  Debentures was due  semi-annually on March 15 and
September 15, and they matured  September 15, 2001. Each $1,000 in principal was
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
subsidiary of CII Financial, obtained approval from the California Department of
Insurance  to pay a dividend of $5.0 million to CII  Financial.  On May 7, 2001,
CII Financial  closed its exchange  offer for $42.1  million of its  outstanding
Subordinated  Debentures.  CII  Financial  purchased  $27.1 million in principal
amount of  Subordinated  Debentures  for $20.0  million in cash and issued $15.0
million in new 9 1/2% senior debentures, due September 15, 2004, in exchange for
$15.0  million  in  Subordinated  Debentures.  The  transaction  resulted  in an
extraordinary  gain of $613,000 and a  corresponding  tax provision of $214,000.
See Note 3 of the Notes to Condensed  Consolidated  Financial  Statements for an
explanation of the accounting treatment of the transaction.

In August 2000, CII Financial  became a guarantor of Sierra's  revolving  credit
facility.  The revolving  credit  facility  commitment  was $121.1 million as of
September 30, 2001 and will decrease by $3.0 million on December 31, 2001 and an
additional $6.0 million on June 30, 2002. The outstanding balance decreased from
$135 million to $94 million during the nine month period. Under the terms of the
revolving credit facility,  capital  contributions to us from Sierra that we use
to repay  the  Subordinated  Debentures  could  have  required  Sierra to reduce
permanently an equal amount of the  outstanding  balance of its credit  facility
commitment.

In  September  2001,  California  Indemnity  Insurance  Company,  or  California
Indemnity,  received approval from the California Department of Insurance to pay
an additional $5.0 million dividend to CII Financial,  which used these funds to
fully pay the remaining $5.0 million in Subordinated  Debentures that matured on
September 15, 2001.

The new 9 1/2% senior  debentures pay interest,  which is due  semi-annually  on
March 15 and September 15 of each year,  commencing  on September 15, 2001.  The
new 9 1/2% senior  debentures rank senior to outstanding  notes payable from CII
Financial to Sierra and CII Financial's  guarantee of Sierra's  revolving credit
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

Recent Events

We are not aware of any direct  losses that may have occurred as a result of the
events of  September  11,  2001 or the  subsequent  anthrax  incidents.  We have
reviewed the financial  strength ratings of our primary  reinsurers with certain
rating  agencies  subsequent  to the events of September  11,  2001.  The rating
agencies  have  either  affirmed  or left the  ratings  unchanged  on all of our
primary  reinsurers.  As a result,  we do not  expect to incur any losses on our
reinsurance contracts as a result of the events of September 11, 2001.

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
substantially  all related to the  servicing  of interest  payments on the new 9
1/2% senior  debentures  and the payment of the new 9 1/2% senior  debentures at
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
investment  in  California  Indemnity.  Of the  $28.2  million  in cash and cash
equivalents held at September 30, 2001, $27.5 million is designated for use only
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
a dividend  to CII  Financial  of $5.0  million  in early May 2001 and  received
approval  to pay an  additional  $5.0  million  in  September  2001.  California
Indemnity  must  receive the prior  approval  of the  California  Department  of
Insurance to pay any further dividends in 2001.

Cash Flows

We had positive  cash flows from  operating  activities of $18.8 million in 2001
compared to negative cash flows of $2.3 million for 2000. Our positive cash flow
in 2001 was largely due to the run-off of the low level  reinsurance  agreement.
The growth in premium  revenues  has  resulted  in an  increase  in loss and LAE
reserves and in unearned  premiums.  Our negative cash flow for 2000 was largely
due to a net loss of $8.5 million offset by changes in assets and liabilities.

Our net cash used in  investing  activities  was $9.1  million  compared to cash
provided by investing  activities  of $9.9 million for 2000.  The primary use of
cash  for  investing  activities  in 2001  was a loan to  Sierra  by  California
Indemnity of $7.5 million in  conjunction  with the exchange  offer.  Due to the
negative cash flows from operations during 2000, we sold some of our investments
which resulted in positive cash from investments of $10.7 million.

We used $10.2 million in cash for financing  activities in 2001 compared to $5.1
million in 2000. Cash used in 2001 included $21.5 million for the exchange offer
and $5.7 million for  subsequent  debenture  reductions.  We obtained loans from
Sierra of $17.0 million in 2001. During 2000, we used $2.4 million to repurchase
outstanding debentures and paid a dividend of $2.6 million to Sierra.

                      CII FINANCIAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

ITEM 3. QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURES ABOUT MARKET RISK

Unrealized  holding losses on available for sale  investments  have decreased by
$2.7 million since  December 31, 2000 due primarily to an increase in the market
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

          (a)  Exhibits - None

          (b)  Reports on Form 8-K

               The Company has not filed any Reports of Form 8-K during this
               reporting period.

                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant  to the  requirements  of the  Securities  Exchange  Act of  1934,  the
registrant  has duly  caused  this  report  to be  signed  on its  behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

                                   CII FINANCIAL, INC.
                                      (Registrant)

Date:  November 14, 2001           /S/ JOHN F. OKITA
                                   JOHN F. OKITA
                                   Chief Financial Officer
                                   (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)