TECHNE CORPORATION DECLARES DIVIDEND


Minneapolis/July 31, 2012/ -- Techne Corporation (NASDAQ:TECH) announced that its Board of Directors has decided to pay a dividend of $0.28 per share for the quarter ended June 30, 2012. The quarterly dividend will be payable August 24, 2012 to all common shareholders of record on August 10, 2012. Future cash dividends will be considered by the Board of Directors on a quarterly basis.


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Techne Corporation has two operating subsidiaries:  Research and
Diagnostic Systems, Inc. (R&D Systems) of Minneapolis, Minnesota and R&D Systems Europe, Ltd. (R&D Europe) of Abingdon, England. R&D Systems is a specialty manufacturer of biological products. R&D Systems has three operating subsidiaries, BiosPacific, Inc. (BiosPacific), located in Emeryville, California, Boston Biochem, Inc., located in Cambridge, Massachusetts and R&D Systems China Co. Ltd., (R&D China), located in Shanghai, China. BiosPacific is a worldwide supplier of biologics to manufacturers of in vitro diagnostic systems and immunodiagnostic kits. Boston Biochem is a leading developer and manufacturer of ubiquitin-related research products. R&D China and R&D Europe distribute biotechnology products. R&D Europe has two subsidiaries, Tocris Holding, Ltd (Tocris) of Bristol, England and R&D Systems GmbH, a German sales operation. Tocris is a leading supplier of reagents for non-clinical life science research.

Contact:  Greg Melsen, Chief Financial Officer
          Kathy Backes, Controller
          (612) 379-8854