Exhibit 99.1

Uranium Resources, Inc. Announces Commencement of Development at South Texas Projects

    LEWISVILLE, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Dec. 5, 2005--Uranium Resources, Inc. (OTCBB:URIX) announced today that the Texas State Office of
Administrative Hearings has issued its Proposal for Decision
recommending that the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
("TCEQ") approve the Company's Production Area Authorization 3 at the Kingsville Dome project, subject to certain conditions that the
Company believes it can satisfy. The Company anticipates that the TCEQ
should act on this recommendation in January 2006.
    The Company started wellfield development at previously approved production areas at Kingsville Dome in November 2005 and expects that production should commence in the second quarter of 2006. Activities
have also begun to upgrade the Kingsville processing facility to allow
the processing of this additional Kingsville Dome production and
production from PAA 3, which the Company projects will start later in
2006.
    Paul K. Willmott, President and Chairman, stated, "We have
produced over 3.5 million pounds of uranium from Kingsville Dome in
the past and eagerly welcome our ability to once again access the
potential of this resource base. We expect to have the ability to
produce from both our Vasquez and our Kingsville Dome sites
concurrently. This should strengthen our position as a stable and
reliable supplier of uranium in a market that continues to show
firming prices in both the short and long-term. We will continue to
evaluate our uranium sales contract position and look to add value to
the Company by enhancing the value of our contract portfolio."
    The Company also announced that it has commenced exploration
drilling on the recently acquired 750 acres near the Company's
currently idle but fully licensed Rosita facility. The Company plans
to upgrade and restart the Rosita facility to process any economic
material found along with the recently identified mineralized uranium material on the Rosita property itself.
    This press release contains "forward-looking statements." These
include, without limitation, statements relating to future mining
plans, production and other such matters. The words "expect,"
"anticipate," "estimate," or "plans" and similar expressions identify forward-looking statements. Such statements are based on certain
assumptions and analyses made by the Company in light of its
experience and its perception of historical trends, current
conditions, expected future developments and other factors it believes
are appropriate in the circumstances. The Company does not undertake
to update, revise or correct any of the forward-looking information.
Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from the Company's expectations expressed in the forward-looking statements
include, but are not limited to, the following: industry conditions; volatility of uranium prices; operational risks; potential
liabilities, delays and associated costs imposed by government
regulation (including environmental regulation); inability to raise
the funds for the substantial capital expenditures required to fund operations; and risks related to exploration and developmental
drilling. For a more complete explanation of these various factors,
see "Cautionary Statements" included in the Company's latest Annual
Report on Form 10-KSB/A filed with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.
    Uranium Resources, Inc. is a Dallas area based uranium-mining
company whose shares are quoted on the OTC Bulletin Board under the
symbol URIX. The Company specializes in in-situ solution mining and
holds mineralized uranium materials in South Texas and New Mexico.

    CONTACT: Uranium Resources, Inc., Lewisville
             Paul K. Willmott/Thomas H. Ehrlich, 972-219-3330