Exhibit 99.1

                  Uranium Resources, Inc. Announces Addition to
                      Management Team and Warrant Exercise

    LEWISVILLE, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Dec. 14, 2004--Uranium Resources, Inc (OTCBB:URIX)("URI") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr.
Craig S. Bartels to the position of Senior Vice President-Technology
and New Project Development of URI, and also President of Hydro
Resources, Inc. ("HRI"). As President of HRI, the New Mexico
subsidiary of Uranium Resources, Inc., Mr. Bartels will be responsible
for managing the continued development of HRI's extensive New Mexico
uranium assets.
    Mr. Bartels, who is rejoining Uranium Resources, Inc., is
acknowledged as one of the technical leaders in the field of insitu
leach mining ("ISL") and spent seventeen years with the Company before leaving in 1999. In the years since he left the Company, he has
remained active in ISL and its technology. He spent fourteen months
working with General Atomics on the plant and wellfield design of
their Australian Beverley uranium ISL project, provided ISL expertise
for a Canadian company in its evaluation of a copper ISL project in
Arizona, and dedicated considerable time to the ongoing development of management and geochemistry software that optimizes the design,
operation and restoration of ISL wellfields.
    As President of Hydro Resources, Inc., Mr. Bartels takes over for
Mr. Mark S. Pelizza, who will continue with his expanded core
responsibilities as Vice President-Health, Safety, and Environmental
Affairs of Uranium Resources, Inc. Mr. Pelizza was instrumental in
recruiting Mr. Bartels back to URI and HRI and will work closely with
him on transitioning into his role as President of HRI. Mr. Pelizza
will continue to be actively involved with the ongoing development, governmental and environmental issues for HRI.
    Mr. Bartels will be located in Albuquerque, New Mexico and will
report to Mr. Paul K. Willmott, President and Chairman of URI.
    URI also announced that it has recently issued 4,275,000 shares of
common stock, $0.001 par value, in connection with the conversion of outstanding warrants originally issued in August 2000. The warrants
were converted at $0.12 per share and raised $513,000 of new funds to
URI. This conversion of the warrants, combined with the previous
conversion of 1,350,000 in October 2004 which raised $162,000 of
equity completes the shares that were available for issuance under the
August 2000 warrant purchase.
    This press release contains "forward-looking statements." These
include, without limitation, statements relating to future mining
plans, production and other such matters. The words "expect,"
"anticipate," "estimate," or "plan" and similar expressions identify forward-looking statements. Such statements are based on certain
assumptions and analyses made by the Company in light of its
experience and its perception of historical trends, current
conditions, expected future developments and other factors it believes
are appropriate in the circumstances. The Company does not undertake
to update, revise or correct any of the forward-looking information.
Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from the Company's expectations expressed in the forward-looking statements
include, but are not limited to, the following: industry conditions; volatility of uranium prices; operational risks; potential
liabilities, delays and associated costs imposed by government
regulation (including environmental regulation); inability to raise
the funds for the substantial capital expenditures required to fund operations; and risks related to exploration and developmental
drilling. For a more complete explanation of these various factors,
see "Cautionary Statements" included in the Company's latest Annual
Report on Form 10-KSB filed with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.
    Uranium Resources, Inc. is a Dallas area based uranium-mining
company whose shares are quoted on the OTC Bulletin Board under the
symbol URIX. The Company specializes in in-situ solution mining and
holds substantial uranium mineralization in South Texas and New
Mexico.

    CONTACT: Uranium Resources, Inc., Lewisville
             Paul K. Willmott or Thomas H. Ehrlich, 972-219-3330