WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III L P (CIK 838856)
Form 10-Q
period 2006-03-31
filed 2006-05-12

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(Mark one)

x	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2006 or

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

Any such forward-looking statements are subject to unknown risks, uncertainties, and other factors and are based on a number of assumptions involving judgments with respect to, among other things, future economic, competitive, and market conditions, all of which are difficult or impossible to predict accurately. To the extent that our assumptions differ from actual results, our ability to meet such forward-looking statements, including our ability to generate positive cash flow from operations, provide dividends to stockholders, and maintain the value of our real estate properties, may be significantly hindered. See Item 1A in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005 for a discussion of some of the risks and uncertainties, although not all risks and uncertainties, which could cause actual results to differ materially from those presented in our forward-looking statements.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P.

PART I.    FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The information furnished in the Partnership’s accompanying balance sheets and consolidated statements of operations, partners’ capital, and cash flows reflects all adjustments that are, in management’s opinion, necessary for a fair and consistent presentation of the aforementioned financial statements.

The accompanying financial statements should be read in conjunction with the notes to the Partnership’s financial statements and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations included both in this report on Form 10-Q and in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005. The Partnership’s results of operations for the three months ended March 31, 2006 are not necessarily indicative of the operating results expected for the full year.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P.

BALANCE SHEETS

ASSETS

	(Unaudited) March 31, 2006	December 31, 2005
Investment in joint ventures	$2,508,379	$2,557,806
Cash and cash equivalents	1,115,543	1,125,364
Due from joint ventures	90,073	35,739
Other assets	4,104	0

Total assets	$3,718,099	$3,718,909

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

Liabilities:
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$20,950	$9,328
Due to affiliates	6,555	9,187

Total liabilities	27,505	18,515

Partners’ capital:
Limited partners:
Class A – 19,635,965 units issued and outstanding	3,690,594	3,700,394
Class B – 2,544,540 units issued and outstanding	0	0
General partners	0	0

Total partners’ capital	3,690,594	3,700,394

Total liabilities and partners’ capital	$3,718,099	$3,718,909

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended March 31,
	2006	2005

EQUITY IN INCOME OF JOINT VENTURES	$29,307	$45,933

EXPENSES:
Partnership administration	32,013	30,208
Legal and accounting	18,536	11,524

Total expenses	50,549	41,732

INTEREST AND OTHER INCOME	11,442	14,013

NET INCOME (LOSS)	$(9,800)	$18,214

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATED TO LIMITED PARTNERS:
CLASS A	$(9,800)	$18,214

CLASS B	$0	$0

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER LIMITED PARTNER UNIT:
CLASS A	$0.00	$0.00

CLASS B	$0.00	$0.00

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2005

AND THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2006 (UNAUDITED)

	Limited Partners				General Partners	Total Partners’ Capital
	Class A		Class B
	Units	Capital	Units	Capital

BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 2004	19,635,965	$7,603,539	2,544,540	$0	$0	$7,603,539

Net income	0	279,805	0	542,049	0	821,854
Distributions of net sale proceeds ($0.21 and $0.21 per Class A Unit and Class B Unit, respectively)	0	(4,182,950)	0	(542,049)	0	(4,724,999)

BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 2005	19,635,965	3,700,394	2,544,540	0	0	3,700,394

Net loss	0	(9,800)	0	0	0	(9,800)

BALANCE, MARCH 31, 2006	19,635,965	$3,690,594	2,544,540	$0	$0	$3,690,594

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended March 31,
	2006	2005
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Net income (loss)	$(9,800)	$18,214
Operating distributions received from joint ventures	35,739	40,149
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash provided by operating activities:
Equity in income of joint ventures	(29,307)	(45,933)
Operating changes in assets and liabilities:
Increase in other assets	(4,104)	0
Increase (decrease) in accounts payable and accrued expenses	11,622	(691)
(Decrease) increase in due to affiliates	(2,632)	1,877

Net cash provided by operating activities	1,518	13,616

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
Investment in joint ventures	(11,339)	0

Net cash used in investing activities	(11,339)	0

NET (DECREASE) INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS	(9,821)	13,616

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, beginning of period	1,125,364	2,184,474

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, end of period	$1,115,543	$2,198,090

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P.

CONDENSED NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2006 (unaudited)

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

Joint Venture	Joint Venture Partners	Properties
Fund II and Fund III Associates (“Fund II-III Associates “)	• Fund II and Fund II-OW(1) • Wells Real Estate Fund III, L.P.	1. Boeing at the Atrium A four-story office building located in Houston, Texas
Fund II, III, VI and VII Associates (“Fund II-III-VI-VII Associates”)	• Fund II-III Associates • Wells Real Estate Fund VI, L.P. • Wells Real Estate Fund VII, L.P.	No properties owned during the periods presented.
Fund III and Fund IV Associates (“Fund III-IV Associates”)	• Wells Real Estate Fund III, L.P. • Wells Real Estate Fund IV, L.P.	2. 4400 Cox Road(2) An office building located in Richmond, Virginia

(1)	Fund II and Fund II-OW is a joint venture between Wells Real Estate Fund II and Wells Real Estate Fund II-OW.

(2)	This property was sold in June 2005.

Wells Real Estate Fund II, Wells Real Estate Fund II-OW, Wells Real Estate Fund IV, L.P., Wells Real Estate Fund VI, L.P., and Wells Real Estate Fund VII, L.P. are affiliated with the Partnership through one or more common general partners. Each of the properties described above was acquired on an all-cash basis. For further information regarding the Joint Ventures and foregoing properties, refer to the Partnership’s Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005.

On June 21, 2005, Fund III-IV Associates sold the 4400 Cox Road Building to ASI Partners, LLC, which is the sole owner of Apex Systems, Inc., the majority tenant, for a gross sales price of $6,500,000. As a result of the sale, the Partnership received net sale proceeds of approximately $3,609,000 and was allocated a gain of approximately $830,000.

2.	SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES

Basis of Presentation

The financial statements of the Partnership have been prepared in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission, including the instructions to Form 10-Q and Article 10 of Regulation S-X, and in accordance with such rules and regulations, do not include all of the information and footnotes required by U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) for complete financial statements. In the opinion of the General Partners, the statements for the unaudited interim periods presented include all adjustments that are of a normal and recurring nature and necessary to fairly and consistently present the results for such periods. Results for interim periods are not necessarily indicative of full-year results. For further information, refer to the financial statements and footnotes included in the Partnership’s Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005.

Investment in Joint Ventures

The Partnership has evaluated the Joint Ventures and concluded that none are variable interest entities under the provisions of Financial Accounting Standards Board Interpretation No. (“FIN”) 46(R), Consolidation of Variable Interest Entities, which supersedes FIN 46 and is an interpretation of Accounting Research Bulletin (“ARB”) No. 51, Consolidated Financial Statements. The Partnership does not have control over the operations of the Joint Ventures; however, it does exercise significant influence. Approval by the Partnership as well as the other joint venture partners is required for any major decision or any action that would materially affect the Joint Ventures, or their real property investments. Accordingly, upon applying the provisions of Statement of Financial Accounting Standard (“SFAS”) No. 94, Consolidation of All Majority-Owned Subsidiaries, ARB No. 51, and Statement of Position No. 78-9, Accounting for Investments In Real Estate Ventures, the Partnership accounts for its investments in the Joint Ventures using the equity method of accounting, whereby original investments are recorded at cost and subsequently adjusted for contributions, distributions, and net income (loss) attributable to the Partnership. Pursuant to the terms of the joint venture agreements, all income (loss) and distributions are allocated to joint venture partners in accordance with their respective ownership interests. Distributions of net cash from operations, if available, are generally distributed to the joint venture partners on a quarterly basis.

Other Assets

As of March 31, 2006, other assets is comprised primarily of interest income receivable.

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

Upon the sale of properties, unless reserved, net sale proceeds are to be distributed in the following order:

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

Summary of Financial Information

Condensed financial information for the joint ventures in which the Partnership held direct interests for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively, is presented below:

	Total Revenues		Income (Loss) From Continuing Operations		Income From Discontinued Operations		Net Income (Loss)
	Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,
	2006	2005	2006	2005	2006	2005	2006	2005
Fund II-III Associates	$460,687	$456,928	$84,696	$115,975	$1,553	$820	$86,249	$116,795
Fund III-IV Associates	806	0	(3,446)	(6,575)	0	12,917	(3,446)	6,342

	$461,493	$456,928	$81,250	$109,400	$1,553	$13,737	$82,803	$123,137

Condensed financial information for the joint venture in which the Partnership held an equity interest through its ownership in Fund II-III Associates for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively, is presented below:

	Total Revenues		Loss From Continuing Operations		Income From Discontinued Operations		Net Income
	Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,
	2006	2005	2006	2005	2006	2005	2006	2005
Fund II-III-VI-VII Associates	$0	$0	$0	$(6,042)	$0	6,353	$0	$311

The Partnership allocates operating income (loss) and gain (loss) on sale of properties generated by the Joint Ventures to its Class A and Class B limited partners pursuant to the respective partnership agreement provisions outlined in Note 2. The components of income (loss) from discontinued operations recognized by the Joint Ventures results are provided below:

	March 31, 2006			March 31, 2005
	Operating Income (loss)	Gain on Sale	Total	Operating Income	Gain on Sale		Total
Fund II-III Associates	$1,553	$0	$1,553	$820	$0		$820
Fund II-III-VI-VII Associates	0	0	0	(901)	7,254	(1)	6,353
Fund III-VI Associates	0	0	0	12,917	0		12,917

	$1,553	$0	$1,553	$12,836	$7,254		$20,090

(1)	Represents additional gain recognized on the sale of the Holcomb Bridge Property, which was deferred at closing related to a rental guarantee for certain space at the Holcomb Bridge Property.

Due from Joint Ventures

As presented in the accompanying balance sheets, due from joint ventures as of March 31, 2006 and December 31, 2005 represents operating cash flow generated by the Joint Ventures for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and December 31, 2005, respectively, which is attributable to the Partnership.

4.	RELATED-PARTY TRANSACTIONS

Management and Leasing Fees

Wells Management Company, Inc. (“Wells Management”), an affiliate of the General Partners, receives compensation for the management and leasing of the Partnership’s properties owned through the Joint Ventures equal to (a) of the gross revenues collected monthly, 3% of the gross revenues for management and 3% of the gross revenues for leasing (aggregate maximum of 6%) plus a separate fee for the one-time lease-up of newly constructed properties in an amount not to exceed the fee customarily charged in arm’s-length transactions by others rendering similar services in the same geographic area for similar properties or (b) in the case of commercial properties leased on a long-term net basis (ten or more years), 1% of the gross revenues except for initial leasing fees equal to 3% of the gross revenues over the first five years of the lease term. Management and leasing fees are paid by the Joint Ventures and, accordingly, included in equity in income of joint venture in the accompanying statements of operations. The Partnership’s share of management and leasing fees and lease acquisition costs incurred through the Joint Ventures is $10,400 and $11,482 for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively.

Administration Reimbursements

Wells Capital and Wells Management perform certain administrative services for the Partnership, relating to accounting, property management, and other partnership administration, and incur the related expenses. Such expenses are allocated among various other entities affiliated with the General Partners based on estimates of the amount of time spent dedicated to each fund by individual administrative personnel. In the opinion of the General Partners, this allocation is a reasonable estimation of such expenses. The Partnership reimbursed Wells Capital and Wells Management for administrative expenses of $18,235 and $26,114 for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively. In addition, Wells Capital pays for certain operating expenses of the Partnership (“bill-backs”) directly and invoices the Partnership for the reimbursement thereof. As of March 31, 2006 and December 31, 2005, due to affiliates is comprised of administrative reimbursements and bill-backs due to Wells Capital and/or Wells Management.

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

Future net income generated by WREF will be largely dependent upon the amount of fees earned by Wells Capital and Wells Management based on, among other things, the level of investor proceeds raised from the sale of common stock for certain WREF-sponsored programs and the volume of future acquisitions and dispositions of real estate assets by WREF-sponsored programs. As of March 31, 2006, the General Partners believe that WREF generates adequate cash flow from operations and has adequate liquidity available in the form of cash on hand and current receivables necessary to meet its current and future obligations as they become due.

Litigation against Related Parties

During early 2004, a putative class action complaint was filed against, among others, Leo. F. Wells, III, one of our General Partners, Wells Capital, the corporate general partner of Wells Partners, our other general partner,

and Wells Management (Hendry et al. v. Leo F. Wells, III et al., Superior Court of Gwinnett County, Georgia, Civil Action No. 04-A-2791-2). The Court granted the plaintiffs’ motion to permit voluntary dismissal of this suit, and the case was subsequently dismissed without prejudice. In November 2004, the same plaintiffs filed a second putative class action complaint against, among others, Mr. Wells, Wells Capital, and Wells Management (Hendry et al. v. Leo F. Wells, III et al., Superior Court of Gwinnett County, Georgia Civil Action No. 04A-13051-6). The second action alleges, among other things, that: (i) Mr. Wells and Wells Capital breached their fiduciary duties to the limited partners of Wells Real Estate Fund I (“Fund I”), a previously syndicated real estate partnership having common general partners, in connection with certain disclosures and prior actions relating to the distribution of net sale proceeds, (ii) the defendants breached an alleged contract arising out of a June 2000 consent solicitation to the limited partners of Fund I relating to an alleged waiver of deferred management fees, and (iii) certain misrepresentations and omissions in an April 2002 consent solicitation to the limited partners of Fund I caused that consent solicitation to be materially misleading. The plaintiffs seek, among other remedies, judgment against Mr. Wells and Wells Capital, jointly and severally, in an amount to be proven at trial; punitive damages; disgorgement of fees earned by the General Partners; enforcement of the alleged contract relating to the alleged waiver of deferred management fees; and an award to the plaintiffs of their attorneys’ fees, costs, and expenses. On January 28, 2005, the defendants filed motions for summary judgment and motions to dismiss the plaintiffs’ claims. Pursuant to orders entered July 1, 2005, the Court granted the defendants’ motions to dismiss and for summary judgment on all counts in the complaint. Thus, this action has now been dismissed, subject to the plaintiffs’ right to file a notice of appeal within the required time period. On August 3, 2005, the plaintiffs filed a motion requesting the Court to vacate and re-enter the orders to give the plaintiffs an opportunity to file a motion for reconsideration or notice of appeal. On February 15, 2006, the Court heard argument on the plaintiffs’ motion to vacate and to re-enter the judgments previously entered on July 1, 2005. Following the argument, the Court stated orally from the bench that he would grant the motion, so the judgments could be re-entered to allow the plaintiffs thirty days within which to file a notice of appeal. The Court has not yet entered an order granting this motion.

On or about August 8, 2005, the defendants filed a motion for attorneys’ fees and expenses of litigation. On or about August 12, 2005, the plaintiffs filed a motion for attorneys’ fees and expenses of litigation as to one defense asserted by the defendants. On April 20, 2006, the Court held a hearing addressing only the liability aspects of the defendants’ and the plaintiffs’ motions for attorneys’ fees and expenses. The Court has not yet ruled on either party’s motion.

ITEM 2.	MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

The following discussion and analysis should be read in conjunction with the accompanying financial statements and notes thereto. See also “Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” preceding Part I, as well as the notes to our financial statements and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations provided in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005.

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

Portfolio Overview

We are currently in the disposition-and-liquidation phase of our life cycle. Of the six assets in which we originally owned interests, we have sold five assets. Our focus on the remaining asset involves leasing and marketing efforts that we believe will result in the best disposition pricing for our limited partners.

Our General Partners are currently reserving operating distributions to limited partners and a portion of net sale proceeds to fund re-leasing costs anticipated in connection with preparing Boeing at the Atrium, the only property remaining in the portfolio, for sale. We anticipate that operating distributions will continue to be reserved or remain low in the near term, given there is only one asset remaining.

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

Information relating to the properties owned, or previously owned, by the joint ventures is provided below:

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

Short-Term Liquidity

During the three months ended March 31, 2006, we generated net operating cash flows, including operating distributions received from the Joint Ventures, of approximately $1,500, as compared to approximately $13,600 for the three months ended March 31, 2005. The 2006 decrease is primarily attributable to a corresponding decrease in operating distributions received from the Joint Ventures as a result of the sale of 4400 Cox Road in June 2005. Operating distributions from the Joint Ventures are generally representative of rental revenues and tenant reimbursements, less property operating expenses, management fees, general administrative expenses, and capital expenditures.

We expect operating distributions to limited partners will remain low or be reserved in the near-term, as we intend to fund our pro-rata share of re-leasing costs anticipated in connection with preparing Boeing at the Atrium for sale. To the extent of any future operating distributions paid to limited partners will be largely dependent upon the amount of cash generated from Boeing at the Atrium, our expectations of future cash flows, and determination of near-term cash needs for tenant re-leasing costs and other capital improvements for the remaining property owned by Fund II-III Associates.

We believe that the cash on hand is sufficient to cover our working capital needs, including liabilities of approximately $28,000, as of March 31, 2006. We anticipate that we will be able to fund our proportionate share of the anticipated capital expenditures noted above using cash on hand and future operating cash flow during 2006.

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

Fund II-III Associates funds capital expenditures primarily related to building improvements for the purpose of maintaining the quality of our remaining property, and tenant improvements for the purpose of readying our remaining property for re-leasing. As leases expire, we typically attempt to re-lease space to an existing tenant or market the space to prospective new tenants. Generally, tenant improvements funded in connection with lease renewals require less capital than those funded in connection with new leases. However, external conditions, such as the supply of and demand for comparable space available within a given market, drive capital costs as well as rental rates. Any capital or other expenditures not provided for by the operations of Fund II-III Associates will be required to be funded by the Partnership and respective joint venture partners on a pro-rata basis.

Operating cash flows, if available, are generally distributed from the Joint Ventures to the Partnership approximately one month following calendar quarter-ends. However, the Joint Ventures will reserve operating distributions, or a portion thereof, as needed in order to fund known capital and other expenditures. Our cash management policy typically includes first utilizing current period operating cash flow until depleted, at which point operating reserves are utilized to fund capital and other required expenditures. In the event that current and prior period accumulated operating cash flows are insufficient to fund such costs, net property sale proceeds reserves would then be utilized.

As of March 31, 2006, we had received, used, and held net sale proceeds allocated to the Partnership from the sale of properties as presented below:

Property Sold	Net Sale Proceeds	Partnership’s Approximate Ownership %	Net Sale Proceeds Allocated to the Partnership	Use of Net Sale Proceeds		Net Sale Proceeds Distributed to Partners as of March 31, 2006	Undistributed Net Sale Proceeds as of March 31, 2006
				Amount	Purpose

Greenville Center (sold in 2002)	$2,271,187	100.0%	$2,271,187	$0	–	$2,271,187	$0

Stockbridge Village Shopping Center (sold in 2004)	12,024,223	57.2%	6,879,238	626,466	• Re-leasing 4400 Cox Road building (2004)	6,252,772	0

Holcomb Bridge Property (sold in 2004)	6,889,379	8.8%	607,643	58,283	• Re-leasing 4400 Cox Road building (2004)	549,360	0

Brookwood Grill (sold in 2004)	2,318,115	37.7%	872,770	84,746	• Re-leasing 4400 Cox Road building (2004)	788,024	0

4400 Cox Road (sold in 2005)	6,308,796	57.2%	3,609,357	0	–	2,833,662	775,695

Total			$14,240,195	$769,495		$12,695,005	$775,695

Upon evaluating the capital needs of the remaining property in which we currently hold an interest, our General Partners have estimated that substantially all of the undistributed net sale proceeds above will be required to fund the Partnership’s share of anticipated re-leasing costs and capital improvements for Boeing at the Atrium.

Results of Operations

Equity in Income of Joint Ventures

Equity in income of Joint Ventures was $29,307 and $45,933 for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively. The 2006 decrease is primarily attributable to forgone operating income as a result of the sale of 4400 Cox Road in June 2005. We expect equity in income of Joint Ventures to remain at similar levels, given the remaining property in the portfolio is currently stabilized.

Expenses

Our total expenses were $50,549 and $41,732 for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively. The 2006 increase is primarily attributable to an increase in legal fees and printing costs associated with increased reporting and regulatory requirements. We anticipate additional increases in our administrative expenses in future periods resulting from increased costs relating to compliance with reporting and regulatory requirements.

Interest and Other Income

Interest and other income were $11,442 and $14,013 for the three months ended March 31, 2006 and 2005, respectively. The 2006 decrease is a result of a decrease in the average amount of net sale proceeds held during the respective periods primarily as a result of (i) net sales proceeds distributed in May 2005 and November 2005, partially offset by (ii) the net sale proceeds received from the sale of 4400 Cox Road property in June 2005 and (iii) an increase in the daily interest yield. Future levels of interest income will be largely dependent upon the timing of future dispositions and net sale proceeds distributions to the investors.

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

Summary

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

Investment in Real Estate Assets

We will be required to make subjective assessments as to the useful lives of our depreciable assets. We will consider the period of future benefit of the remaining property to determine the appropriate useful lives. These assessments have a direct impact on net income. The estimated useful lives for the remaining real estate assets owned through Fund II-III Associates by class are as follows:

Buildings	40 years
Building improvements	5-25 years
Land improvements	20 years
Tenant improvements	Shorter of lease term or economic life

In the event that Fund II-III Associates utilizes inappropriate useful lives or methods of depreciation, our net income would be misstated.

Valuation of Real Estate Assets

We continually monitor events and changes in circumstances that could indicate that the carrying amount of the remaining property in which we have an ownership interest, through investment in Fund II-III Associates, may not be recoverable. When indicators of potential impairment are present which indicate that the carrying amount of real estate asset may not be recoverable, management assesses the recoverability of the real estate asset by determining whether the carrying value of the real estate asset will be recovered through the undiscounted future operating cash flows expected from the use of the asset and its eventual disposition. In the event that such expected undiscounted future cash flows do not exceed the carrying value, management adjusts the real estate asset to the fair value, as defined by SFAS No. 144, Accounting for the Impairment or Disposal of Long-Lived Assets, and recognizes an impairment loss. Estimated fair value is calculated based on the following information, dependent upon availability, in order of preference: (i) recently quoted market price, (ii) market prices for comparable properties, or (iii) the present value of undiscounted cash flows, including estimated salvage value. We have determined that there has been no impairment in the carrying value of the remaining real estate asset held as of March 31, 2006.

Projections of expected future cash flows require management to estimate future market rental income amounts subsequent to the expiration of current lease agreements, property operating expenses, discount rates, the number of months it takes to re-lease the property, and the number of years the property is held for investment. The use of inappropriate assumptions in the future cash flow analysis would result in an incorrect assessment of the property’s future cash flows and fair value, and could result in the overstatement of the carrying value of the remaining real estate asset held by Fund II-III Associates and net income of the Partnership.

Related-Party Transactions

We have entered into agreements with Wells Capital, Wells Management, an affiliate of our General Partners, and their affiliates, whereby we pay certain fees and expense reimbursements to Wells Capital, Wells Management, and their affiliates for asset management; the management and leasing of our properties; administrative services relating to accounting, property management, and other partnership administration; and incur the related expenses. See Note 4 to our financial statements included in this report for a description of these fees and expense reimbursements we have incurred.

Potential Tax Impact on Limited Partners Holding Class B Units – American Jobs Creation Act of 2004

The American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 added Section 470 to the Internal Revenue Code, which provides certain limitations on the utilization of losses by investors that are allocable to leased property owned by a

partnership having both taxable and tax-exempt partners such as the Partnership. In March 2005, the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) issued IRS Notice 2005-29, which announced that the IRS would not apply Section 470 to partnerships for the taxable year 2004 based solely on the fact that a partnership had both taxable and tax-exempt partners. In December 2005, the IRS issued IRS Notice 2006-2 extending the period for transitional relief through the 2005 tax year; however, it is important to note that IRS Notices 2005-29 and 2006-2 provide relief for partnerships only for tax years 2004 and 2005. Although the IRS has indicated that it is continuing to study the application of Section 470 to partnerships, such as the Partnership, unless further legislation is enacted to address this issue, or some other form of relief from the provisions of Section 470 of the American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 is granted, beginning in tax year 2006, and thereafter, passive losses allocable to limited partners holding Class B Units may only be used to offset passive income generated from the same property or within the same fund.

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

There were no significant changes in our internal control over financial reporting during the quarter ended March 31, 2006 that have materially affected, or are likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

PART II.    OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 1.	LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

We are from time to time a party to other legal proceedings, which arise in the ordinary course of our business. We are not currently involved in any litigation the outcome of which would, in management’s judgment based on information currently available, have a material adverse effect on our results of operations or financial condition, nor is management aware of any such litigation threatened against us during the quarter ended March 31, 2006, requiring disclosure under Item 103 of Regulation S-K.

ITEM 1A.	RISK FACTORS

There have been no material changes from the risk factors previously disclosed in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005.

ITEM 2.	UNREGISTERED SALES OF EQUITY SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

(a)	We did not sell any equity securities that were not registered under the Securities Act of 1933 during the quarter ended March 31, 2006.

(b)	Not applicable.

(c)	We did not redeem any securities during the quarter ended March 31, 2006.

ITEM 3.	DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES

(a)	We were not subject to any indebtedness and, therefore, did not default with respect to any indebtedness during the quarter ended March 31, 2006.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 4.	SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS

No matters were submitted to a vote of our limited partners during the quarter ended March 31, 2006.

ITEM 5.	OTHER INFORMATION

(a)	During the quarter ended March 31, 2006, there was no information required to be disclosed in a report on Form 8-K which was not disclosed in a report on Form 8-K.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 6.	EXHIBITS

The Exhibits to this report are set forth on Exhibit Index to First Quarter Form 10-Q attached hereto.

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND III, L.P. (Registrant)

	By:	WELLS CAPITAL, INC. (Corporate General Partner)

May 11, 2006	/S/ LEO F. WELLS, III
Leo F. Wells, III President, Principal Executive Officer, and Sole Director of Wells Capital, Inc.

May 11, 2006	/S/ DOUGLAS P. WILLIAMS
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