SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A LTD (CIK 837753)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-09-30
filed 1996-11-12

                                    FORM 10-Q


                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

                             Washington, D.C. 20549


    [ X ]         QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF
                              THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                For the quarterly period ended September 30, 1996

                                       OR

    [   ]         TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF
                              THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                For the transition period from ______________ to _______________

                       Commission File number 33-15998-01


                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

                  Texas                                                                     76-0254057
(State or other jurisdiction of organization)                                   (I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)

                        16825 Northchase Drive, Suite 400
                              Houston, Texas 77060
                    (Address of principal executive offices)
                                   (Zip Code)

                                  (713)874-2700
              (Registrant's telephone number, including area code)

                                      None
              (Former name, former address and former fiscal year,
                          if changed since last report)


Indicate by check mark whether the Registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the Registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days.

Yes  X      No
   ----       ----

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.

                                      INDEX



PART I.    FINANCIAL INFORMATION                                                                               PAGE


      ITEM 1.    Financial Statements

            Balance Sheets

                - September 30, 1996 and December 31, 1995                                                         3

            Statements of Operations

                - Three month and nine month periods ended September 30, 1996 and 1995                             4

            Statements of Cash Flows

                - Nine month periods ended September 30, 1996 and 1995                                             5

            Notes to Financial Statements                                                                          6

      ITEM 2.    Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
                     Condition and Results of Operations                                                           8

PART II.    OTHER INFORMATION                                                                                     10


SIGNATURES                                                                                                        11

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                                 BALANCE SHEETS


                                                                                         September 30,      December 31,
                                                                                             1996               1995
                                                                                       ---------------     ---------------
                                                                                         (Unaudited)
         ASSETS:

         Current Assets:
              Cash and cash equivalents                                                $        1,402       $        1,361
              Nonoperating interests income receivable                                          8,838                6,093
                                                                                       --------------       --------------
                   Total Current Assets                                                        10,240                7,454
                                                                                       --------------       --------------
         Nonoperating interests in oil and gas
              properties, using full cost accounting                                        4,276,995            4,353,214
         Less-Accumulated amortization                                                     (3,699,221)          (3,631,106)
                                                                                       --------------       --------------
                                                                                              577,774              722,108
                                                                                       --------------       --------------
                                                                                       $      588,014       $      729,562
                                                                                       ==============       ==============

         LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL:

         Current Liabilities:
              Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                 $       62,207       $      182,521
                                                                                       --------------       --------------

         Partners' Capital                                                                    525,807              547,041
                                                                                       --------------       --------------
                                                                                       $      588,014       $      729,562
                                                                                       ==============       ==============



                 See accompanying notes to financial statements.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                            STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                   (Unaudited)





                                                     Three Months Ended                  Nine Months Ended
                                                        September 30,                      September 30,
                                              ---------------------------------  ---------------------------------
                                                      1996            1995            1996             1995
                                              ---------------   ---------------  ---------------   ---------------
REVENUES:
   Income from nonoperating interests         $        30,439   $        29,172  $       108,371   $        87,534
   Interest income                                         17                19               41                43
                                              ---------------   ---------------  ---------------   ---------------
                                                       30,456            29,191          108,412            87,577
                                              ---------------   ---------------  ---------------   ---------------

COSTS AND EXPENSES:
   Amortization                                        21,502            37,692           68,115           192,342
   General and administrative                           7,886            10,209           27,355            22,206
                                              ---------------   ---------------  ---------------   ---------------
                                                       29,388            47,901           95,470           214,548
                                              ---------------   ---------------  ---------------   ---------------
NET INCOME (LOSS)                             $         1,068   $       (18,710) $        12,942   $      (126,971)
                                              ===============   ===============  ===============   ===============



Limited Partners' net income (loss)
   per unit                                   $           .02   $          (.39) $           .27   $         (2.66)
                                              ===============   ===============  ===============   ===============


                 See accompanying note to financial statements.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                            STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)


                                                                                           Nine Months Ended
                                                                                              September 30,
                                                                               ----------------------------------------
                                                                                       1996                   1995
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
    Income (Loss)                                                               $       12,942          $      (126,971)
    Adjustments to reconcile income (loss) to
      net cash provided by operations:
      Amortization                                                                      68,115                  192,342
      Change in assets and liabilities:
        (Increase) decrease in nonoperating interests income receivable                 (2,745)                  (3,747)
        Increase (decrease) in accounts payable
          and accrued liabilities                                                     (120,314)                   9,988
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
               Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities                     (42,002)                  71,612
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
    Additions to nonoperating interests in oil and gas properties                      (12,750)                 (14,997)
    Proceeds from sale of nonoperating interests
      in oil and gas properties                                                         88,969                    3,274
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
               Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities                      76,219                  (11,723)
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
    Cash distributions to partners                                                     (34,176)                 (59,846)
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS                                        41                       43
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                         1,361                    1,287
                                                                               ---------------          ---------------
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT END OF PERIOD                                      $        1,402          $         1,330
                                                                               ===============          ===============
Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information:
    Cash paid during the period for interest                                    $        6,287          $         7,870
                                                                               ===============          ===============



                 See accompanying notes to financial statements.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                          NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)


(1)  General Information -

                  The financial statements included herein have been prepared by the Partnership and are unaudited except for the balance sheet at December 31, 1995 which has been taken from the audited financial statements at that date. The financial statements reflect adjustments, all of which were of a normal recurring nature, which are, in the opinion of the managing general partner necessary for a fair presentation. Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles have been omitted pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Partnership believes adequate disclosure is provided by the information presented. The financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements and the notes included in the latest Form 10-K.

(2)  Organization and Terms of Partnership Agreement -

                  Swift Energy Managed Pension Assets Partnership 1988-A, Ltd., a Texas limited partnership (the Partnership), was formed on June 2, 1988, for the purpose of purchasing net profits interest, overriding royalty interests and royalty interests (collectively, "nonoperating interests") in producing oil and gas properties within the continental United States. Swift Energy Company ("Swift"), a Texas corporation, and VJM Corporation ("VJM"), a California corporation, serve as Managing General Partner and Special General Partner of the Partnership, respectively. The general partners are required to contribute up to 1/99th of limited partner net contributions. The 426 limited partners made total capital contributions of $4,770,363.

                  Nonoperating interests acquisition costs and the management fee are borne 99 percent by the limited partners and one percent by the general partners. Organization and syndication costs were borne solely by the limited partners.

                  Generally, all continuing costs (including development costs, operating costs, general and administrative reimbursements and direct expenses) and revenues are allocated 90 percent to the limited partners and ten percent to the general partners. If prior to partnership payout, however, the cash distribution rate for a certain period equals or exceeds 17.5 percent, then for the following calendar year, these continuing costs and revenues will be allocated 85 percent to the limited partners and 15 percent to the general partners. After partnership payout, continuing costs and revenues will be shared 85 percent by the limited partners, and 15 percent by the general partners, even if the cash distribution rate is less than 17.5 percent.

(3)  Significant Accounting Policies -

      Use of Estimates --

                  The preparation of financial statements in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities at the date of the financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting period.
        Actual results could differ from estimates.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                    NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
                                   (UNAUDITED)


       Nonoperating Interests in Oil and Gas Properties --

                  For financial reporting purposes the Partnership follows the "full-cost" method of accounting for nonoperating interests in oil and gas property costs. Under this method of accounting, all costs incurred in the acquisition of nonoperating interests in oil and gas properties are capitalized. The unamortized cost of nonoperating interests in oil and gas properties is limited to the "ceiling limitation" (calculated separately for the Partnership, limited partners and general partners). The "ceiling limitation" is calculated on a quarterly basis and represents the estimated future net revenues from nonoperating interests in proved properties using current prices discounted at ten percent. Proceeds from the sale or disposition of nonoperating interests in oil and gas properties are treated as a reduction of the cost of the nonoperating interests with no gains or losses recognized except in significant transactions.

                  The Partnership computes the provision for amortization of oil and gas properties on the units-of-production method. Under this method, the provision is calculated by multiplying the total unamortized cost of oil and gas properties by an overall rate determined by dividing the physical units of oil and gas produced during the period by the total estimated proved oil and gas reserves at the beginning of the period.

                  The calculation of the "ceiling limitation" and the provision for depreciation, depletion and amortization is based on estimates of proved reserves. There are numerous uncertainties inherent in estimating quantities of proved reserves and in projecting the future rates of production, timing and plan of development. The accuracy of any reserve estimate is a function of the quality of available data and of engineering and geological interpretation and judgment. Results of drilling, testing and production subsequent to the date of the estimate may justify revision of such estimate. Accordingly, reserve estimates
        are often different from the quantities of oil and gas that are ultimately recovered.

(4)  Related-Party Transactions -

                  An affiliate of the Special General Partner, as Dealer Manager, received $117,747 for managing and overseeing the offering of the limited partnership units. A one-time management fee of $119,259 was paid to Swift for services performed for the Partnership.

                  The Partnership entered into a Net Profits and Overriding Royalty Interest Agreement ("NP/OR Agreement") with Swift Energy Income Partners 1988-B, Ltd. (Operating Partnership), managed by Swift, for the purpose of acquiring nonoperating interests in producing oil and gas properties. Under terms of the NP/OR Agreement, the Operating Partnership will convey to the Partnership nonoperating interests in the aggregate net profits (i.e., oil and gas sales net of related operating costs) of the properties acquired equal to its proportionate share of the property acquisition costs.

(5)  Vulnerability Due to Certain Concentrations -

                  The Company's revenues are primarily the result of sales of its oil and natural gas production. Market prices of oil and natural gas may fluctuate and adversely affect operating results.

                  The Partnership extends credit to various companies in the oil and gas industry which results in a concentration of credit risk. This concentration of credit risk may be affected by changes in economic or other conditions and may accordingly impact the Partnership's overall credit risk. However, the Managing General Partner believes that the risk is mitigated by the size, reputation, and nature of the companies to which the Partnership extends credit. In addition, the Partnership generally does not require collateral or other security to support customer receivables.

(6)  Fair Value of Financial Instruments -

                  The Partnership's financial instruments consist of cash and cash equivalents and short-term receivables and payables. The carrying amounts approximate fair value due to the highly liquid nature of the short-term instruments.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL
                       CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

GENERAL

      The Partnership is formed for the purpose of investing in nonoperating interests in producing oil and gas properties located within the continental United States. In order to accomplish this, the Partnership goes through two distinct yet overlapping phases with respect to its liquidity and results of operations. When the Partnership is formed, it commences its "acquisition" phase, with all funds placed in short-term investments until required for the acquisition of nonoperating interests. Therefore, the interest earned on these pre-acquisition investments becomes the primary cash flow source for initial partner distributions. As the Partnership acquires nonoperating interests in producing properties, net cash from ownership of nonoperating interests becomes available for distribution, along with the investment income. After all partnership funds have been expended on nonoperating interests in producing oil and gas properties, the Partnership enters its "operations" phase. During this phase, income from nonoperating interests in oil and gas sales generates substantially all revenues, and distributions to partners reflect those revenues less all associated partnership expenses. The Partnership may also derive proceeds from the sale of nonoperating interests in acquired oil and gas properties, when the sale of such interests is economically appropriate or preferable to continued operations.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

      The Partnership has completed acquisition of nonoperating interests in producing oil and gas properties, expending all of the limited partners' net commitments available for acquisitions.

      Under the NP/OR Agreement, the Managing General Partner acquires interests in oil and gas properties from outside parties and sells these interests to an affiliated operating partnership, who in turn creates and sells to the Partnership nonoperating interests in these same oil and gas properties.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

      The following analysis explains changes in the revenue and expense categories for the quarter ended September 30, 1996 (current quarter) when compared to the quarter ended September 30, 1995 (corresponding quarter), and for the nine months ended September 30, 1996 (current period), when compared to the nine months ended September 30, 1995 (corresponding period).

Three Months Ended September 30, 1996 and 1995

      Income from nonoperating interests increased 4 percent in the current quarter of 1996 when compared to the third quarter in 1995. However, oil and gas sales declined $4,711 or 8 percent in the third quarter of 1996 when compared to the corresponding quarter in 1995, primarily due to decreased gas and oil production. A decline of 33 percent in gas production and 43 percent in oil production had a significant impact on partnership performance. Current quarter gas and oil prices increased 45 percent or $.66/MCF and 35 percent or $5.02/BBL, respectively, partially offsetting the revenue declines.

      Associated amortization expense decreased 14 percent or $3,382.

      The Partnership recorded an additional provision in amortization in the third quarter of 1995 for $12,808 when the present value, discounted at ten percent, of estimated future net revenues from oil and gas properties, using the guidelines of the Securities and Exchange Commission, was below the fair market value originally paid for oil and gas properties. The additional provision results from the Managing General Partner's determination that the fair market value paid for properties may or may not coincide with reserve valuations determined according to guidelines of the Securities and Exchange Commission.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL
                 CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (CONTINUED)


Nine Months Ended September 30, 1996 and 1995

      Income from nonoperating interests increased 24 percent in the current period of 1996 when compared to the corresponding period in 1995. Oil and gas sales increased $7,050 or 4 percent in the first nine months of 1996 over the corresponding period in 1995. An increase in gas prices of 41 percent or $.59/MCF and in oil prices of 24 percent or $3.34/BBL were major contributing factors to the increased revenues for the period. Also, current period gas and oil production decreased 24 percent and 21 percent, respectively, when compared to the corresponding period in 1995, partially offsetting the effect of increased gas and oil prices.

      Associated amortization expense decreased 15 percent or $12,278.

      The Partnership recorded an additional provision in amortization in the first nine months of 1995 for $111,949 when the present value, discounted at ten percent, of estimated future net revenues from oil and gas properties, using the guidelines of the Securities and Exchange Commission, was below the fair market value originally paid for oil and gas properties. The additional provision results from the Managing General Partner's determination that the fair market value paid for properties may or may not coincide with reserve valuations determined according to guidelines of the Securities and Exchange Commission.

      During 1996, partnership revenues and costs will be shared between the limited partners and general partners in a 90:10 ratio.

                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD
                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION




ITEM 5.    OTHER INFORMATION


                                     -NONE-

                                   SIGNATURES



Pursuant to the requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.


                          SWIFT ENERGY MANAGED PENSION
                         ASSETS PARTNERSHIP 1988-A, LTD.
                                               (Registrant)

                                    By:        SWIFT ENERGY COMPANY
                            Managing General Partner


Date:  November 6, 1996             By:        /s/ John R. Alden
       ----------------                        --------------------------------
                                               John R. Alden
                        Senior Vice President, Secretary
                         and Principal Financial Officer

Date:  November 6, 1996             By:        /s/ Alton D. Heckaman, Jr.
       ----------------                        --------------------------------
                                               Alton D. Heckaman, Jr.
                           Vice President, Controller
                        and Principal Accounting Officer