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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

                    REPORT OF INDEPENDENT PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS

To GaSonics International Corporation:

     We have audited the accompanying consolidated balance sheets of GaSonics International Corporation (a Delaware Corporation) and subsidiaries as of September 30, 2000 and 1999, and the related consolidated statements of operations, stockholders' equity and cash flows for each of the three years in the period ended September 30, 2000. These financial statements and the schedule referred to below are the responsibility of the Company's management. Our responsibility is to express an opinion on these financial statements based on our audits.

     We conducted our audits in accordance with auditing standards generally accepted in the United States. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements are free of material misstatement. An audit includes examining, on a test basis, evidence supporting the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. An audit also includes assessing the accounting principles used and significant estimates made by management, as well as evaluating the overall financial statement presentation. We believe that our audits provide a reasonable basis for our opinion.

     In our opinion, the financial statements referred to above present
fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of GaSonics International Corporation and subsidiaries as of September 30, 2000 and 1999, and the results of their operations and cash flows for each of the three years in the period ended September 30, 2000 in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States.

     Our audit was made for the purpose of forming an opinion on the financial statements taken as a whole. The schedule listed in the index under item 14(a)(2) is the responsibility of the Company's management and is presented for purposes of complying with the Securities and Exchange Commission rules and is not part of the basic financial statements. This schedule has been subjected to the auditing procedures applied in the audit of the basic financial statements and, in our opinion, fairly states in all material respects the financial data required to be set forth therein in relation to the basic financial statements taken as a whole.

ARTHUR ANDERSEN LLP

San Jose, California
October 30, 2000