UNITED TRUST GROUP INC (CIK 832480)
Form 10-Q
period 2003-03-31
filed 2003-05-14

                                 UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549

                                   FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)

[X]      QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 AND 15(d)
         OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2003

                                       OR

[ ]      TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF
         THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from                       to ____________________

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
30, 2003, was 4,005,085.

                   UNITED TRUST GROUP, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                (The "Company")

                               TABLE OF CONTENTS

Part 1.   Financial Information................................................3

   ITEM 1.  FINANCIAL STATEMENTS...............................................3

     Consolidated Balance Sheets as of March 31, 2003 and December 31, 2002....3

     Consolidated Statements of Operations for the three months
      ended March  31, 2003 and 2002...........................................4

     Consolidated Statement of Changes in Shareholders' Equity for the
      period ended March 31, 2003..............................................5

     Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the three months ended
      March 31, 2003 and 2002..................................................6

     Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements................................7

   ITEM 2.  MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION

                          PART 1. FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                          Item 1. Financial Statements

                            UNITED TRUST GROUP, INC.
                                AND SUBSIDIARIES

                     Consolidated Balance Sheets (Unaudited)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                  March 31,          December 31,
             ASSETS                                                 2003                 2002*
                                                              ------------------   ------------------

Investments:
  Fixed maturities at amortized cost
    (market $56,033,123  and $60,517,065)                  $         53,939,130 $         58,327,663
  Investments held for sale:
  Fixed maturities, at market
    (cost $115,207,807 and $105,244,887)                            118,319,987          108,704,518
  Equity securities, at market
    (cost $8,142,662  and $4,122,887)                                 8,445,630            4,883,870
  Mortgage loans on real estate at amortized cost                    22,925,327           23,804,827
  Investment real estate, at cost,
   net of accumulated depreciation                                   16,909,345           17,503,812
  Policy loans                                                       13,260,642           13,346,504
  Short-term investments                                                326,562              377,676
                                                              ------------------   ------------------
                                                                    234,126,623          226,948,870

Cash and cash equivalents                                            16,629,741           24,050,485
Accrued investment income                                             2,379,932            2,452,840
Reinsurance receivables:
  Future policy benefits                                             32,940,377           33,039,036
  Policy claims and other benefits                                    3,722,366            3,770,285
Cost of insurance acquired                                           22,785,678           23,156,164
Deferred policy acquisition costs                                     2,294,026            2,462,487
Property and equipment,
   net of accumulated depreciation                                    2,142,297            2,203,408
Income taxes receivable, current                                        203,323              245,132
Other assets                                                            307,022              574,263
                                                              ------------------   ------------------
      Total assets                                         $        317,531,385 $        318,902,970
                                                              ==================   ==================

             LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

Policy liabilities and accruals:
  Future policy benefits                                   $        235,166,458 $        234,762,656
  Policy claims and benefits payable                                  2,640,605            1,834,952
  Other policyholder funds                                            1,248,240            1,176,359
  Dividend and endowment accumulations                               12,638,105           12,628,294
Deferred income taxes                                                12,044,704           12,239,060
Notes payable                                                         2,289,776            2,995,275
Other liabilities                                                     4,361,330            4,943,507
                                                              ------------------   ------------------
      Total liabilities                                             270,389,218          270,580,103
                                                              ------------------   ------------------

Shareholders' equity:
Common stock - no par value, stated value $.02 per share
  Authorized 7,000,000 shares - 3,507,845 and 3,536,311 shares
  issued after deducting treasury shares of 156,073 and 147,607          70,156               70,726
Additional paid-in capital                                           42,679,379           42,976,344
Retained earnings                                                     2,009,732            2,503,856
Accumulated other comprehensive income                                2,382,900            2,771,941
                                                              ------------------   ------------------
      Total shareholders' equity                                     47,142,167           48,322,867
                                                              ------------------   ------------------
      Total liabilities and shareholders' equity           $        317,531,385 $        318,902,970
                                                              ==================   ==================

*Balance sheet audited at December 31, 2002
                            See accompanying notes.

                            UNITED TRUST GROUP, INC.
                                AND SUBSIDIARIES

                Consolidated Statements of Operations (Unaudited)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                       Three Months Ended
                                                                 March 31,            March 31,
                                                                    2003                 2002
                                                              -----------------    -----------------
Revenues:

  Premiums and policy fees                                 $         4,567,277  $         4,994,227
  Reinsurance premiums and policy fees                                (684,274)            (717,366)
  Net investment income                                              2,750,690            3,307,478
  Realized investment gains, net                                       242,281                4,696
  Other income                                                         171,781              204,006
                                                              -----------------    -----------------
                                                                     7,047,755            7,793,041

Benefits and other expenses:

  Benefits, claims and settlement expenses:
    Life                                                             5,451,065            5,328,814
    Reinsurance benefits and claims                                   (477,644)          (1,026,833)
    Annuity                                                            277,191              268,675
    Dividends to policyholders                                         270,308              264,450
  Commissions and amortization of deferred
    policy acquisition costs                                           173,653              302,521
  Amortization of cost of insurance acquired                           370,486              386,097
  Operating expenses                                                 1,169,440            1,530,433
  Interest expense                                                      41,416               72,210
                                                              -----------------    -----------------
                                                                     7,275,915            7,126,367

Income (loss) before income taxes, minority interest
  and equity in earnings of investees                                 (228,160)             666,674

Income tax expense                                                    (265,964)             (83,880)
Minority interest in income of
  consolidated subsidiaries                                                  0             (105,760)

                                                              -----------------    -----------------
Net income (loss)                                          $          (494,124) $           477,034
                                                              =================    =================

Basic income (loss) per share from continuing
 operations and net income (loss)                          $             (0.14) $              0.14
                                                              =================    =================

Diluted income (loss) per share from continuing
  operations and net income (loss)                         $             (0.12) $              0.14
                                                              =================    =================

Basic weighted average shares outstanding                            3,519,191            3,528,436
                                                              =================    =================

Diluted weighted average shares outstanding                           4,019,191            3,528,436
                                                              =================    =================

                            See accompanying notes.

                            UNITED TRUST GROUP, INC.
                                AND SUBSIDIARIES
            Consolidated Statement of Changes in Shareholders' Equity
                    For the Period ended March 31, 2003 (Unaudited)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Common stock
  Balance, beginning of year                       $            70,726
  Issued during year                                                 0
  Retired common shares                                           (400)
  Purchase treasury shares                                        (170)
                                                     ------------------
  Balance, end of period                                        70,156
                                                     ------------------

Additional paid-in capital
  Balance, beginning of year                                42,976,344
  Issued during year                                                 0
  Retired common shares                                       (238,400)
  Purchase treasury shares                                     (58,565)
                                                     ------------------
  Balance, end of period                                    42,679,379
                                                     ------------------

Retained earnings
  Balance, beginning of year                                 2,503,856
  Net loss                                                    (494,124)      $          (494,124)
                                                     ------------------        ------------------
  Balance, end of period                                     2,009,732
                                                     ------------------

Accumulated other comprehensive income
  Balance, beginning of year                                 2,771,941
  Other comprehensive income
     Unrealized holding loss on securities
          and reclassification adjustment                     (389,041)                 (389,041)
                                                     ------------------        ------------------
  Comprehensive income                                                       $          (883,165)
                                                                               ==================
  Balance, end of period                                     2,382,900
                                                     ------------------

Total shareholders' equity, end of period          $        47,142,167
                                                     ==================

                            See accompanying notes.

                            UNITED TRUST GROUP, INC.
                                AND SUBSIDIARIES

                Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (Unaudited)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                              March 31,         March 31,
                                                                                 2003             2002
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents
Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net income (loss)                                                      $        (494,124)$        477,034
  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by
    (used in) operating activities:
      Amortization/accretion of fixed maturities                                   168,017           97,202
      Realized investment gains, net                                              (242,281)          (4,696)
      Policy acquisition costs deferred                                             (8,000)         (17,000)
      Amortization of deferred policy acquisition costs                            176,461          272,108
      Amortization of cost of insurance acquired                                   370,486          386,097
      Depreciation                                                                 121,233          151,597
      Minority interest                                                                  0          105,760
      Change in accrued investment income                                           72,908          376,308
      Change in reinsurance receivables                                            146,578          395,590
      Change in policy liabilities and accruals                                  1,075,409         (859,384)
      Charges for mortality and administration of
        universal life and annuity products                                     (2,116,380)      (2,234,743)
      Interest credited to account balances                                      1,381,828        1,475,314
      Change in income taxes                                                       198,753           55,161
      Change in other assets and liabilities, net                                   (1,199)        (813,541)
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities                                849,689         (137,193)

Cash flows from investing activities:
  Proceeds from investments sold and matured:
    Fixed maturities held for sale                                              12,329,492        8,420,000
    Fixed maturities matured                                                    12,136,686        6,885,707
    Mortgage loans                                                               3,643,730        2,483,750
    Real estate                                                                    766,905          486,592
    Policy loans                                                                   656,512          757,831
    Short-term                                                                      51,114           50,000
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
  Total proceeds from investments sold and matured                              29,584,439       19,083,880
  Cost of investments acquired:
    Fixed maturities held for sale                                             (26,771,651)     (14,970,384)
    Fixed maturities                                                            (3,436,538)               0
    Equity securities                                                           (4,000,000)        (185,075)
    Mortgage loans                                                              (2,764,230)      (3,654,685)
    Real estate                                                                   (259,059)         (63,981)
    Policy loans                                                                  (570,650)        (623,959)
    Short-term                                                                           0           (1,450)
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
  Total cost of investments acquired                                           (37,802,128)     (19,499,534)
  Purchase of property and equipment                                                     0           (8,051)
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
Net cash used in investing activities                                           (8,217,689)        (423,705)

Cash flows from financing activities:
  Policyholder contract deposits                                                 2,658,689        2,746,397
  Policyholder contract withdrawals                                             (1,708,399)      (2,267,119)
  Payments of principal on notes payable                                          (705,499)        (777,199)
  Proceeds from line of credit                                                           0          600,000
  Retirement of common stock                                                      (238,800)               0
  Purchase of treasury stock                                                       (58,735)        (298,665)
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities                                (52,744)           3,414
                                                                            ---------------   --------------

Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents                                       (7,420,744)        (557,484)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                                24,050,485       15,477,348
                                                                            ---------------   --------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period                               $      16,629,741 $     14,919,864
                                                                            ===============   ==============
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
2002.

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
and  affiliates.  At March 31, 2003 Mr.  Correll  owns or controls  directly and
indirectly approximately 60% of UTG's outstanding stock.

At March 31, 2003, consolidated subsidiaries of United Trust Group, Inc. were as
depicted  on  the  following   organizational   chart.  For  an  explanation  of
contemplated  future changes to the  organizational  structure,  please refer to
note 10 to the consolidated financial statements.

2.  INVESTMENTS

As of March  31,  2003  and  December  31,  2002,  fixed  maturities  and  fixed
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
investments.  As of March  31,  2003,  the  carrying  value  of  fixed  maturity
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
2000 as available for sale.

3.  NOTES PAYABLE

At March 31,  2003 and  December  31,  2002,  the  Company  had  $2,289,776  and
$2,995,275 in long-term debt outstanding,  respectively.  The notes payable were
incurred  in April 2001 to  facilitate  the  repurchase  of common  stock  owned
primarily  by James E.  Melville and Larry E.  Ryherd,  two former  officers and
directors of the UTG, and members of their respective families. These notes bear
interest at the fixed rate of 7% per annum  (paid  quarterly)  with  payments of
principal  to be made in five equal  annual  installments.  In January  2003 the
balance of an advance  principal  payment in the amount of $705,499  was made on
these notes.

The collective  scheduled principal  reductions on these notes for the next five
years is as follows:

                         Year                     Amount

                         2003                  $         0
                         2004                      763,259
                         2005                      763,259
                         2006                      763,258
                         2007                            0

A.   Lines of Credit

On November 15, 2001, UTG was extended a $3,300,000  line of credit ("LOC") from
the First  National  Bank of the  Cumberlands  ("FNBC")  located in  Livingston,
Tennessee.  The FNBC is owned by, Millard V. Oakley, who is a former Director of
UTG.  The line of credit  was for a one-year  term from the date of issue.  Upon
maturity  the  Company  renewed the LOC for an  additional  one-year  term.  The
interest  rate on the LOC is  variable  and indexed to be the lowest of the U.S.
prime rates as published  in the Wall Street  Journal,  with any  interest  rate
adjustments  to be  made  monthly.  At  March  31,  2003,  the  Company  had  no
outstanding borrowings attributable to this LOC.

On April 1, 2002,  UTG was extended a $5,000,000  line of credit ("LOC") from an
unaffiliated  third  party,  Southwest  Bank  of St.  Louis.  The  LOC was for a
one-year term from the date of issue.  Upon maturity the Company renewed the LOC
for an additional  one-year term from the date of issue.  As collateral  for any
draws under the line of credit,  the former FCC,  which has now merged into UTG,
pledged  100% of the common stock of its  insurance  subsidiary  UG.  Borrowings
under the LOC will bear interest at the rate of .25% in excess of Southwest Bank
of St.  Louis'  prime rate.  At March 31, 2003,  the Company had no  outstanding
borrowings attributable to this LOC.

4.  CAPITAL STOCK TRANSACTIONS

A.  Stock Repurchase Program

On June 5, 2001, the board of directors of UTG  authorized  the repurchase  from
time to time in the open market or in privately negotiated transactions of up to
$1 million of UTG's  common  stock.  Repurchased  shares will be  available  for
future  issuance  for general  corporate  purposes.  From  inception of the plan
through April 30, 2003,  UTG has spent  $716,422 in the  acquisition  of 102,004
shares under this program.

B.  Earnings Per Share Calculations

Earnings per share are based on the  weighted  average  number of common  shares
outstanding  during each  period,  retroactively  adjusted to give effect to all
stock splits, in accordance with Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No.
128. At March 31,  2003,  UTG had an  obligation  to issue to FSF or its assigns
500,000 shares of UTG common stock,  as a result of a failed  earnings  covenant
(See note 4C to the  consolidated  financial  statements  below).  As such,  the
computation of diluted  earnings per share differs from basic earnings per share
at March 31, 2003. At March 31, 2002,  diluted earnings per share is the same as
basic  earnings  per  share  since  the  Company  had  no  dilutive  instruments
outstanding.

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
December 31, 2002, the Company had total  earnings of $16,970,883  applicable to
this covenant. Therefore, UTG did not meet the earnings requirements stipulated,
and pursuant to the covenant  based on a final  accounting,  the Company  issued
500,000 previously unissued shares of UTG common stock to FSF on April 30, 2003.

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
in future reporting periods.

On April 25,  2003 the Company  entered  into an  agreement  with Fiserv for the
conversion of the two TPA client  companies to the "ID3" system.  The conversion
will begin in May 2003 and is expected to be  completed  by February  2004.  The
conversion will be performed  utilizing  Company  personnel with onsite training
and  guidance   provided  by  Fiserv.   The   conversion  is  expected  to  cost
approximately $600,000. Following the conversion of these blocks of business the
Company  anticipates  immediately  starting  the  conversion  of  the  remaining
insurance business to the "ID3" software system. Fiserv LIS is a unit of Fiserv,
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
business,  results of operations and financial condition. At March 31, 2003, the
Company  maintains  a  liability  of  $225,000  to cover  estimated  legal costs
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

6.  Other Cash Flow Disclosure

On a cash basis, the Company paid $41,416 and $71,898 in interest expense during
the first quarter of 2003 and 2002,  respectively.  The Company paid $0 and $290
in federal  income tax during the first quarter of 2003 and 2002,  respectively.
At March 31, 2003,  the Company had acquired  $19,775 in equity  securities  for
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
aggregate at March 31, 2003 these  accounts hold  approximately  $5,000,000  for
which there are no pledges or  guarantees  outside FDIC  insurance  limits.  The
Company has not  experienced  any losses in such accounts and believes it is not
exposed to any significant credit risk on cash and cash equivalents.

8.     COMPREHENSIVE INCOME

                                                                             Tax
                                                         Before-Tax          (Expense)            Net of Tax
       March 31, 2003                                    Amount              or Benefit           Amount
       ----------------------------------------------    ----------------    -----------------    ---------------

       Unrealized holding losses during
           Period                                    $   (597,903)       $   209,266          $   (388,637)
       Less: reclassification adjustment
           for gains realized in net income                  (621)               217                  (404)
                                                         ----------------    -----------------    ---------------
       Net unrealized losses                             (598,524)           209,483              (389,041)
                                                         ----------------    -----------------    ---------------
       Other comprehensive income                    $   (598,524)       $   209,483          $   (389,041)
                                                         ================    =================    ===============

9.  RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS

On February 20, 2003,  UG purchased  $4,000,000  of a trust  preferred  security
offering  issued by an upstream  affiliate,  First  Southern  Bancorp,  Inc. The
security has a mandatory redemption after 30 years with a call provision after 5
years.  The security pays a quarterly  dividend at a fixed rate of 6.515%.  This
security  is  currently  caried  at  cost,  pending  valuation  by the  National
Association of Insurance Commissioners' Securities Valuation Office.

10.  MERGER OF LIFE INSURANCE SUBSIDIARIES

The ABE,  APPL, and UG Boards  approved  merger  transactions  at the March 2003
meeting  whereby ABE and APPL would each be merged with and into UG. The mergers
will require the approval of the insurance departments of the States of Ohio and
Illinois  prior to  completion.  The Company does not anticipate any delays with
the approval process and expects the mergers to be completed by July 2003.

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
statements include the accounts of UTG and its subsidiaries at March 31, 2003.

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
decreased  9% when  comparing  the first  quarter of 2003 to the same  period in
2002.  The Company  currently  writes  little new  business.  Unless the Company
acquires a block of in-force business or significantly  increases its marketing,
management  expects  premium  revenue to continue to decline at a similar  rate,
which is consistent with prior experience.

Several of the  customer  service  representatives  of the  Company  have become
licensed insurance agents,  allowing them to offer products within the Company's
portfolio to existing  customers.  The Company is currently  implementing  a new
product referred to as "the Legacy" to be used by the licensed  customer service
representatives  when selling  insurance on new lives, or attempting to conserve
insurance on existing  business.  Since the implementation of the new product is
just starting, results of this effort are yet to be seen.

The  Company  is in  the  early  stages  of  moving  forward  with  a  marketing
opportunity  with First  Southern  National  Bank ("FSNB") an affiliate of UTG's
largest  shareholder,  Chairman  and  CEO,  Jesse  T.  Correll.  Management  has
considered various products including annuity type products, mortgage protection
products and existing  insurance  products,  as potential products that could be
marketed to banking customers.  This marketing  opportunity has potential and is
believed to be a viable niche.  The Company has recently  designed the "Horizon"
annuity product as well as the aforementioned  "Legacy" life product,  which are
both to be used in marketing efforts through FSNB.

Although   premium   writings   through  FSNB  and  by  the   customer   service
representatives  of the Company are not  expected to be  significant  to Company
revenue in the near future,  management  believes it is a start in their attempt
to slow down the yearly decline in premium revenue.

Net investment  income decreased 17% when comparing the first quarter of 2003 to
the same period in 2002. The national prime rate has continued its decline going
from 4.75% at March 31, 2002 to 4.25% at March 31, 2003. The declining  interest
rates over the last couple of years has resulted in lower earnings on short-term
funds as well as on  longer-term  investments  acquired.  Should  this  economic
climate  continue,  net  investment  income  should  continue  to decline as the
Company, along with others in the insurance industry,  seeks adequate returns on
investments,  while staying within the  conservative  investment  guidelines set
forth by  insurance  regulations.  Management  has  shortened  the length of the
Company's portfolio and maintained a conservative  investment  philosophy.  This
approach hurts investment earnings in the short run, but the Company has not had
to write off any investment  losses due to excessive risk, and management  feels
we are in a better position for an economic up-turn.

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
interest  rates  continue to decline,  the Company won't be able to lower rates,
and both net investment income and net income will be impacted negatively.

The Company had net realized  investment  gains of $242,281 in the first quarter
of 2003 compared to net realized  investment gains of $4,696 for the same period
in 2002.  Approximately  $240,000 of the net realized gains in the first quarter
of 2003 were  attributable to the sale of two separate  parcels of land held for
investment purposes in Springfield, Illinois.

Other income  decreased 16% when comparing the first quarter of 2003 to the same
period in 2002.  The  majority  of the  revenue in this line item comes from the
Company performing  administrative work as a third party  administrator  ("TPA")
for an unaffiliated life insurance company,  and as such,  receives monthly fees
based on policy in force counts and certain other  activity  indicators  such as
number of premium  collections  performed.  During the first quarter of 2003 and
2002, the Company received  $117,260 and $124,635  respectively,  for this work.
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
headquartered in Brookfield, Wisconsin.

(b)  Expenses

Life benefits,  claims and settlement  expenses net of reinsurance  benefits and
claims,  increased  16% in the first quarter of 2003 compared to the same period
in 2002. This increase is due to a reduction in reinsurance  benefits and claims
incurred  in the current  quarter.  The  Company  reinsures  its risks as to not
retain more than $125,000, including accidental death benefits, on any one life.
Therefore,  the amount of reinsurance benefit incurred is determined by the size
of an insured's  policy when a claim for benefit is made.  Aside from the effect
of  reinsurance,  direct  death  benefits  and  policy  surrenders  remained  at
comparable levels when comparing the first quarter of 2003 to the same period in
2002.

Commissions and amortization of deferred policy  acquisition costs decreased 43%
in the first  quarter  of 2003  compared  to the same  period in 2002.  The most
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
establishment  of the original  asset.  No impairments  were recorded in the two
periods reported.

Operating  expenses  decreased  24% in the first quarter of 2003 compared to the
same period in 2002.  Expense  reductions have been made in the normal course of
business, as the Company simplifies its organizational structure and continually
monitors  expenditures  looking for  savings  opportunities.  Subsequent  to the
reporting  period,  on April 25, 2003 the Company entered into an agreement with
Fiserv for the  conversion of the two TPA client  companies to the "ID3" system.
The  conversion  will  begin in May  2003 and is  expected  to be  completed  by
February 2004. The conversion will be performed utilizing Company personnel with
onsite training and guidance  provided by Fiserv.  The conversion is expected to
cost approximately $600,000.

Interest expense decreased 43% in the first quarter of 2003 compared to the same
period in 2002.  The Company has used dividend  payments from its life insurance
subsidiary UG to reduce long term debt  outstanding from $4,223,471 at March 31,
2002 to $2,289,776 at March 31, 2003.  All remaining  debt was incurred in April
2001 to facilitate  the  repurchase of common stock owned  primarily by James E.
Melville and Larry E.  Ryherd,  two former  officers  and  directors of UTG, and
members of their respective families.  The notes bear interest at the fixed rate
of 7% per annum (paid  quarterly)  with payments of principal to be made in five
equal annual  installments.  In January 2003 the balance of an advance principal
payment in the amount of $705,499 was made on these notes. The future collective
scheduled  principal  reductions on these notes are due as follows:  $763,259 on
April 1,  2004,  $763,259  on April 1, 2005 and  $763,258  due on April 1, 2006.
Management believes overall sources available are adequate to service this debt.
These  sources are include  current cash  balances of UTG,  and expected  future
dividends from its life insurance subsidiary UG.

(c)  Net income

The Company had a net loss of  $(494,124)  in the first quarter of 2003 compared
to net income of $477,034 for the same period in 2002. Total revenues  decreased
approximately  $745,000,  which was primarily  attributable to a 17% decrease in
investment  income and a 9%  decrease  in premium  revenues.  Income tax expense
increased approximately $180,000, which was primarily attributable to a shift in
the Company's deferred tax liability.  Partially  offsetting the above decreases
to net income, the minority interest liability of approximately $106,000 held at
March 31, 2002, was retired with the merger of First Commonwealth Corporation (a
then 82% owned subsidiary of UTG) with and into UTG on June 12, 2002.

Financial Condition

The financial condition of the Company has retreated slightly since December 31,
2002. Total shareholders' equity decreased approximately  $1,181,000 as of March
31, 2003 compared to December 31, 2002. The decrease was mainly  attributable to
a net loss of $494,124, the purchase of treasury shares and retirement of common
stock in the amount $297,535,  and unrealized  losses of $389,041 on investments
held for sale.

Investments  represent  approximately  74% and 71% of total  assets at March 31,
2003 and December  31,  2002,  respectively.  Accordingly,  investments  are the
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
risk investments.

As of March 31, 2003, the carrying value of fixed maturity securities in default
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
of total assets were  approximately 5% and 8% as of March 31, 2003, and December
31, 2002,  respectively.  Fixed  maturities  as a percentage  of total  invested
assets were approximately 74% as of March 31, 2003 and December 31, 2002.

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
policy being surrendered.

Cash provided by (used in) operating  activities was $849,689 and $(137,193) for
the periods ending March 31, 2003 and March 31, 2002, respectively. The net cash
provided by operating  activities plus net policyholder  contract deposits after
the payment of policyholder withdrawals equaled $1,799,979 for the first quarter
of 2003 and  $342,085  for the same  period in 2002.  Management  utilizes  this
measurement  of cash flows as an indicator of the  performance  of the Company's
insurance  operations,  since  reporting  regulations  require  cash inflows and
outflows  from  universal  life  insurance  products  to be shown  as  financing
activities when reporting on cash flows.

Cash used in investing  activities was $8,217,689 and $423,705,  for the periods
ending March 31, 2003 and March 31,  2002,  respectively.  The most  significant
aspect of cash used in investing activities are the fixed maturity transactions.
Fixed  maturities  account  for  80% and 77% of the  total  cost of  investments
acquired  in the  first  quarter  of 2003  and  for the  same  period  in  2002,
respectively.

Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities was $(52,744) and $3,414 for
the periods ending March 31, 2003 and March 31, 2002, respectively. Policyholder
contract  deposits  decreased 3% for the first  quarter of 2003  compared to the
same period in 2002.  Policyholder  contract  withdrawals  decreased 25% for the
first quarter of 2003  compared to the same period in 2002.  In addition,  as of
March 31, 2002,  the Company had purchased  $58,735 in treasury  stock under the
stock  repurchase  program  and retired  $238,800 in common  stock from a former
employee of the Company, originally issued under the employee and director stock
purchase program.

At March 31,  2003,  the Company had a total of  $2,289,776  in  long-term  debt
outstanding.  All remaining debt is owed to two former officers and directors of
the  Company  and their  respective  families as a result of an April 2001 stock
purchase  transaction.  These  notes bear  interest  at the fixed rate of 7% per
annum (paid  quarterly),  with  remaining  principal  payments  of $763,259  due
annually in 2004 and 2005 and $763,258 due in 2006.  Management believes overall
sources  available  are more than  adequate to service this debt.  These sources
include current cash balances of UTG,  expected future  operating  cashflows and
payment of dividends  from the Company's life  subsidiary,  UG. In January 2003,
UTG paid the balance of an advance  principal  payment in the amount of $705,499
completing the remaining 2003 principal payment.

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
received  on  cash  balances.  At  March  31,  2003,  substantially  all  of the
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
company is domiciled.

UG is an Ohio  domiciled  insurance  company,  which  requires  five days  prior
notification  to the  insurance  commissioner  for the  payment  of an  ordinary
dividend.  Ordinary  dividends  are  defined  as the  greater  of: a) prior year
statutory  earnings or b) 10% of statutory capital and surplus.  At December 31,
2002 UG's total  statutory  capital and  surplus  amounted  to  $16,030,200.  At
December  31,  2002,  UG had a statutory  gain from  operations  of  $2,062,744.
Extraordinary  dividends  (amounts in excess of ordinary  dividend  limitations)
require prior approval of the insurance commissioner and are not restricted to a
specific  calculation.  UG paid an ordinary dividend of $600,000 to UTG in April
2003.

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
contracts.  In January 2003 the balance of an advance  principal  payment in the
amount of $705,499 was made on these notes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                 March 31, 2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                             Expected maturity date
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                    2003     2004     2005     2006     2007     Thereafter  Total      Fair value
------------------ -------- -------- -------- -------- -------- ----------- ---------- -----------
Long term debt
------------------ -------- -------- -------- -------- -------- ----------- ---------- -----------
  Fixed rate           0    763,259  763,259  763,258      0          0     2,289,776  2,406,156
------------------ -------- -------- -------- -------- -------- ----------- ---------- -----------
  Avg. int. rate       0       7.0%     7.0%     7.0%      0          0           7.0%        0
------------------ -------- -------- -------- -------- -------- ----------- ---------- -----------
  Variable rate        0         0        0        0       0          0             0         0
------------------ -------- -------- -------- -------- -------- ----------- ---------- -----------
  Avg. int. rate       0         0        0        0       0          0             0         0
------------------ -------- -------- -------- -------- -------- ----------- ---------- -----------

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
     Section 1350

99.3 United Trust Group Whistle Blower Policy

(b) Reports on Form 8-K

No reports on Form 8-K were filed by UTG during the quarterly period ended March
31, 2003.

                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant  to the  requirements  of the  Securities  Exchange  Act of  1934,  the
registrant  has duly  caused  this  report  to be  signed  on its  behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

                            UNITED TRUST GROUP, INC.
                                  (Registrant)

Date:   May  13, 2003                     By  /s/ Randall L. Attkisson

                                              Randall L. Attkisson
                                              President, Chief Operating Officer
                                                 and Director

Date:   May 13, 2003                      By  /s/ Theodore C. Miller

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

Date:   May 13, 2003                               By  /s/ Jesse T. Correll

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
     weaknesses.

Date:   May 13, 2003            By  /s/ Theodore C. Miller

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
     Section 1350

99.3 United Trust Group Whistle Blower Policy