RARITAN FINANCIAL INFORMATION FOR YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1997,
                   PREVIOUSLY FILED AS PART OF EXHIBIT 13 TO
     RARITAN'S ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K FOR YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1997.

Management's discussion and analysis

GENERAL
       Raritan Bancorp Inc. (the "Corporation") is a bank holding company for The Raritan Savings Bank (the "Bank"). The principal business of the Corporation consists of the business of the Bank. The Bank is a New Jersey-chartered stock savings bank with offices in Raritan, Bridgewater, Manville, Martinsville, Somerville, Warren and Whitehouse Station, New Jersey.
       Effective August 1, 1996, the Manville Savings Bank, SLA ("Manville") was merged with, and into, the Bank pursuant to a merger agreement. As part of the merger, 186,894 common shares of the Corporation were issued. Proceeds from the issuance of these shares totaled $2.0 million. The transaction was accounted for using the purchase method of accounting. Negative goodwill totaling $746,000 was recorded and is being accreted to income over a period of five years using the straight-line method. Net loans and deposits acquired totaled $11.9 million and $12.5 million, respectively.
       At December 31, 1997, the Corporation had total assets of $408.3 million compared to $375.4 million at December 31, 1996, an increase of 8.8%.
       Securities available-for-sale plus investment securities, net (comprised of United States Treasury securities, obligations of U.S. government agencies, obligations of states and political subdivisions, and mortgage-backed securities issued by Federal agencies) decreased $8.9 million, or 9.0%, to $90.3 million at December 31, 1997. Net loans increased $32.3 million, or 13.9%, to $264.4 million at December 31, 1997. Of $62.1 million of mortgage disbursements, $2.8 million was of a fixed-rate nature, while the balance of $59.3 million was adjustable rate or of short-term nature. Consumer and commercial lending disbursements totaled $35.5 million for 1997 and consisted primarily of loans which are tied to the prime lending rate and are of a short-term nature.
       Non-performing loans (over 90 days delinquent) and real estate acquired by foreclosure totaled $945,000, or 0.4% of total net loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure at December 31, 1997, compared to $1,420,000, or 0.6% of total net loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure at December 31, 1996.
       During the year ended December 31, 1997, the Bank provided $600,000 to the allowance for loan losses, compared to $450,000 a year earlier. The increased provision was in response to a growing diversified loan portfolio.
       The following table provides a summary of the Corporation's non-performing loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure at December 31, 1997:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                 Number of Loans         Amount
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                  (in thousands)
First mortgage loans                                           6           $569
Second mortgage loan                                           1             54
Consumer loan                                                  1             11
Loans with modified terms                                      2            177
Matured loan                                                   1             94
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total non-performing loans                                    11            905
Real estate acquired by foreclosure
     (included in Other Assets)                                1             40
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                              12           $945
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       Of the eleven non-performing loans, ten ($894,000) are secured by real estate, and one ($11,000) is unsecured.
       Based on a review of all non-performing loans and "watch list" loans (loans on the "watch list" include performing loans rated substandard and special mention at December 31, 1997), a specific allowance of $1,150,000 has been allocated to such loans, together with a general allowance of $2,155,000 on the remaining loan portfolio taken as a whole. During 1997, the Bank charged off $410,000 of loans, compared to $380,000 in the previous year. At December 31, 1997, the ratio of the allowance for loan losses to non-performing loans was 365.2%.
       During the year, management reviews, on a quarterly basis, the overall adequacy of the allowance for loan losses based on an evaluation of the risk characteristics of the loan portfolio both on potential individual problem loans, and on the aggregate loan portfolio taken as a whole. Such factors as the financial condition of the borrower, the fair value of the underlying collateral and other items which, in management's opinion, deserve recognition in estimating the adequacy of the allowance for loan losses are evaluated.
       The provision for loan losses for the years ended December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995 was $600,000, $450,000 and $300,000 respectively. The increasing provisions are the results of responding to a growing diversified loan portfolio.
       In addition, there are no potential problem loans not included in non-performing assets which causes management to have serious doubts as to the ability to comply with the present loan repayment terms, and which require disclosure as non-performing loans, or which management believes will materially affect future

                                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

operating results, liquidity or capital resources.
       Deposits grew to $337.1 million at December 31, 1997 from $331.2 million at December 31, 1996. Deposit outflows, net of interest credited of $13.6 million, totaled $7.7 million.
       Shareholders' equity totaled $30.9 million, or $13.01 per share, at December 31, 1997, compared to $28.3 million, or $12.45 per share, at December 31, 1996. The increase is the result of net income totaling $3,908,000 for the year ended December 31, 1997, together with a decrease of $51,000 in the ESOP debt, a $165,000 increase in the fair value adjustment of securities available-for-sale, plus $613,000 from the issuance of 132,863 common treasury shares for stock options, and the $53,000 amortization of a restricted stock award, net of related taxes, partially offset by dividends paid to shareholders of $1,123,000 and the repurchase of 49,112 shares of the Corporation's common stock for $1,061,000.

COMPARISON OF YEARS ENDED
DECEMBER 31, 1997 AND 1996

INTEREST INCOME: Total interest income increased in 1997, on a fully-taxable basis, to $27.7 million, an increase of $2.7 million, or 10.8%, from $25.0 million in 1996. The increase is primarily the result of an increase in average interest-earning assets to $364.1 million from $335.7 million for the prior year, together with an increase in the average yield to 7.60% from 7.43% a year earlier. The increase in loan disbursement volume was responsible for the increase in net interest income. Funding for earning assets came from loan and securities repayments and borrowings.
       Interest income for 1997 was also affected by the loss of interest income on non-performing loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure. When a loan becomes more than ninety days delinquent, the Corporation discontinues the accrual of interest income and deducts interest income on that loan which had previously been accrued into interest income for such period of time. The loss of interest on loans charged-off, non-performing loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure was approximately $94,000, for 1997. In addition, during April, 1997, $6.9 million of mortgage-backed securities (classified as available-for-sale) with a weighted average yield of 7.08% were sold with the proceeds invested in a $7,200,000 corporate-owned life insurance policy whose increase in cash surrender value is being reflected in service charges and other income in the accompanying Consolidated Statements of Income.

INTEREST EXPENSE: Interest expense increased $1.7 million, or 13.0% to $14.5 million in 1997, from $12.9 million in 1996 primarily as the result of an increase in average borrowings (FHLB advances and agreements to repurchase the same securities) to $16.1 million from $305,000 a year earlier, in addition to an overall 16 basis point increase in the cost of interest-bearing liabilities.

NET INTEREST INCOME: The net interest income results of the Corporation depend upon the interest rate spread between the average yield earned on its loan and investment portfolios and the average rate paid on its deposit accounts and borrowings.
       Net interest income on a fully-taxable equivalent basis of $13.2 million for the year ended December 31, 1997 increased $1.1 million from $12.1 million for 1996. As shown by the tables on pages 14 and 15, net interest income increased primarily as a result of a 4.6% increase in average net earning assets (primarily the net increase in the loan portfolio) to $38.6 million from $36.9 million a year earlier. The increased volume in average net earning assets
together with a one basis point increase in the net yield on average interest-earning assets resulted in the 8.7% increase in net interest income (on a fully- taxable equivalent basis).
       Net interest for 1997 was also affected by the aforementioned sale of $6.9 million of mortgage-backed securities which reduced net interest income by approximately $300,000.
       Changes in net interest income generally occur because of fluctuations in the balances and/or composition of interest-earning assets and interest-bearing liabilities and changes in their corresponding interest yields and costs. In periods of rising rate environments, short-term interest-bearing deposits reprice more rapidly than interest-earning assets (particularly loans) of a variable rate nature whose rates are tied to indices. These earning assets generally lag increases in market interest rates. The converse is generally true in periods of falling interest rates as shorter-term interest-bearing deposits reprice downward more rapidly than variable rate loans tied to indices.
       The provision for loan losses for 1997 was $600,000 compared to $450,000 for 1996. As described above, the increased provision for 1997 was in response to a growing diversified loan portfolio. The provision was considered sufficient based upon management's judgment of the amount necessary to maintain the allowance at a level adequate to absorb any potential losses.

                Management's discussion and analysis continued

OTHER INCOME: Service charges and other income increased $236,000 or 32.8%, primarily as a result of the full effect of the $193,000 increase in the cash surrender value of the aforementioned corporate-owned life insurance. Gain on the sale of the aforementioned $6.9 million mortgage-backed securities (classified as available-for-sale) totaled $78,000. In addition, other securities classified as available-for-sale totaling $6,013,000 were called at a gross gain of $16,000.

OPERATING EXPENSES: Operating expenses for the year ended December 31, 1997 increased $41,000 or 0.6%, to $7.5 million from $7.4 million a year earlier. Salaries and employee benefits increased $487,000 or 13.0%, to $4.2 million from $3.7 million a year earlier. The full impact of the addition of five employees as a result of the Manville Savings Bank merger and acquisition in August, 1996, together with normal cost of living and merit adjustments contributed to the increase. Occupancy expense increased to $45,000, or 6.0%, to $798,000 from $753,000 in 1996. Included in 1997 are expenses of approximately $50,000 which pertain to the Corporation's new corporate headquarters which became operational in December, 1997. The FDIC insurance premium decreased $491,000 to $80,000 for 1997 compared to $571,000 a year earlier as a result of $436,000 charge during the third quarter of 1996 which represented a one-time assessment to recapitalize the Savings Association Insurance Fund. Also as a result, this recapitalization assessed a lower FDIC premium rate for the Bank beginning in 1997. Other operating expenses increased $25,000 or 1% to $2.34 million for 1997 compared to $2.32 million for 1996. Primary contributors to increasing operating expenses for 1997 were furniture, fixtures and equipment expenses, consultant and advertising expenses. Primary contributors to decreasing operating expenses were a full year's effect of negative goodwill accretion pertaining to the previously mentioned Manville Savings Bank merger and acquisition, and a decrease in legal expenses and supervisory exam fees. In addition during the second quarter of 1996 there was a $200,000 reversal of an expense accrual.

INCOME TAX EXPENSE: Income taxes increased $386,000 to $2.2 million in 1997 from $1.8 million for the prior year. Increases and decreases are basically direct functions of the Corporation's pretax income.

COMPARISON OF YEARS ENDED
DECEMBER 31, 1996 AND 1995

INTEREST INCOME: Total interest income increased in 1996, on a fully-taxable basis, to $25.0 million, an increase of $1.5 million, or 6.4%, from $23.5 million in 1995. The increase is primarily the result of an increase in average interest-earning assets to $335.7 million from $318.0 million for the prior year, together with an increase in the average yield to 7.43% from 7.39% a year earlier. The increase in loan disbursement volume was responsible for the increase in net interest income. Funding for earning assets came primarily from loan and securities repayments.

       Interest income for 1996 was also affected by the loss of interest income on non-performing loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure. The loss of interest on loans charged-off, non-performing loans and real estate acquired by foreclosure was approximately $142,000, for 1996.

INTEREST EXPENSE: Interest expense decreased $150,000, or 1.2% to $12.9 million in 1996, from $13.0 million in 1995 primarily as the result the decrease in average borrowings (primarily agreements to repurchase the same securities) to $305,000 from $4,655,000 a year earlier, in addition to a 25 basis point decrease in the cost of interest-bearing liabilities, partially offset by an overall increase of $17.5 million in the average balances due to depositors.

NET INTEREST INCOME: Net interest income on a fully-taxable equivalent basis of $12.1 million for the year ended December 31, 1996 increased $1.6 million from $10.5 million for 1995. As shown by the tables on pages 14 and 15, net interest income decreased primarily as a result of a 14.4% increase in the average net earning assets (primarily the net increase in the loan portfolio) to $36.9 million from $32.2 million a year earlier. The increased volume in average net earning assets together with the thirty basis point increase in the net yield on average interest-earning assets resulted in the 15.5% increase in net interest income (on a fully-taxable equivalent basis).
       The provision for loan losses for 1996 was $450,000 compared to $300,000 for 1995. The increase was in response to a growing and diversified loan portfolio.

OTHER INCOME: Serving charges and other income increased 19.4% primarily as a result from the upward repricing of certain services relating to deposit products which was effective in mid-1995. During 1996, an obligation of a state and political subdivision which was classified as available-for-sale in the amount of $50,000 was called at a gross gain of $1,000.

                                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

OPERATING EXPENSES: Other expenses for the year ended December 31, 1996 increased $830,000, or 12.6%, to $7.4 million from $6.6 million a year earlier. Salaries and employee benefits increased to $326,000, or 9.6%, to $3.7 million from $3.4 million a year earlier. The addition of five employees from the Manville merger and acquisition together with normal merit and cost of living increases contributed to the increase, together with a $175,000 ESOP contribution, partially offset by a reduction in health insurance premiums. Occupancy expenses increased $104,000, or 16.0%, to $753,000 from $649,000 in 1995. The increase results primarily from the rent expense associated with the new Manville branch office. Unanticipated snow removal expenses during the first quarter of 1996 also contributed to the increase. The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation ("FDIC") insurance premium increased $145,000, or 34.0%, to $571,000 in 1996 from $426,000 a year earlier. On September 30, 1996, Federal legislation was enacted which imposed a special one-time assessment on Savings Association Insurance Fund ("SAIF") insured deposits, including approximately $83.0 million in "Oakar" and "Sasser" deposits held by the Bank, to recapitalize the SAIF and spread the obligations for payment of the Financing Corporation ("FICO") bonds across all SAIF and Bank Insurance Fund ("BIF") members. The Bank took a pre-tax charge of $436,000 as a result of this special assessment. Net cost of operation of other real estate increased $191,000 to $51,000 in 1996 from a credit balance of $140,000 in 1995. The 1995 balance included a $218,000 balance in the allowance for losses on real estate acquired by foreclosure which was eliminated and credited to the net cost of operation of real estate. Other operating expenses increased $64,000 to $2.3 million in 1996 as a result of increases in outside services, legal fees, consulting fees, supervisory examination and outside audit fees, marketing fees and office supplies.

INCOME TAX EXPENSE: Income taxes increased $271,000 to $1.8 million in 1996 from $1.5 million for the prior year. Increases and decreases are basically direct functions of the Corporation's pretax income.


MARKET RISK-ASSET/LIABILITY MANAGEMENT
       When used or incorporated by reference in disclosure documents, the words "anticipate," "expect," "project," "target," "goal" and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933. Such forward-looking statements are subject to certain risks, uncertainties and assumptions, including those set forth below. Should one or more of these risks or uncertainties materialize, or should underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those anticipated, estimated, expected or projected. These forward-looking statements speak only as of the date of the document. The Corporation expressly disclaims any obligation or undertaking to publicly release any updates or
revisions to any forward-looking statement contained herein to reflect any change in the Corporation's expectation with regard thereto or any change in events, conditions or circumstances on which any such statement is based.
       The primary market risk faced by the Corporation is interest rate risk. The Corporation's senior management monitors and considers methods of managing the rate and sensitivity repricing characteristics of the balance sheet components consistent with maintaining acceptable levels of changes in net
portfolio value ("NPV") and net interest income. A primary purpose of the Corporation's asset and liability management is to manage interest rate risk to effectively invest the Corporation's capital and to preserve the value created by its core business operations. As such, certain management monitoring processes are designed to minimize the impact of sudden and sustained changes in interest rates on NPV and net interest income.
       The Corporation's exposure to interest rate risk is reviewed on at least a quarterly basis by the Board of Directors. Interest rate risk exposure is measured using interest rate sensitivity analysis to determine the Corporation's change in NPV in the event of hypothetical changes in interest rates and interest rate sensitivity gap analysis is used to determine the repricing characteristics of the Bank's assets and liabilities. If estimated changes to NPV and net interest income are not within the limits established by the Board, the Board may direct management to adjust its asset and liability mix to bring interest rate risk within Board approved limits.
       In order to reduce  the  exposure  to  interest  rate  fluctuations,  the
Corporation has developed strategies to manage its liquidity, shorten its effective maturities of certain interest-earning assets, and increase the interest rate sensitivity of its asset base. Management has sought to decrease the average maturity of its assets by emphasizing the origination of mortgage loans, consumer loans and commercial loans which are of an adjustable-rate nature, or tied to the prime lending rate. These loans are retained by the Bank for its portfolio.

                Management's discussion and analysis continued

     Interest rate sensitivity analysis is used to measure the Corporation's interest rate risk by computing estimated changes in NPV of its cash flows from assets, liabilities and off-balance sheet items in the event of a range of assumed changes in market interest rates. NPV represents the market value of portfolio equity and is equal to the market value of assets minus the market value of liabilities, with adjustments made for off-balance sheet items. This analysis assesses the risk of loss in market risk sensitive instruments in the event of a sudden and sustained one hundred to two hundred basis points increase or decrease in the market interest rates. The following table presents the Corporation's projected change in NPV for the various rate shock levels of December 31, 1997. All market risk sensitive instruments presented in this table are held to maturity or available for sale. The Corporation has no trading securities.

- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Change in                                                       Actual
Interest             Market Value of            Actual         Percent
Rates               Portfolio Equity            Change          Change
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                (in thousands)

200 basis
point rise                   $24,650          $(11,918)            (33)%

100 basis
point rise                    30,781            (5,787)            (16)

Base Scenario                 36,568                                --

100 basis point
decline                       40,849             4,281              12

200 basis point
decline                       44,391             7,823              21
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The preceding table indicates that at December 31, 1997, in the event of a sudden and sustained increase in prevailing market interest rates, the Corporation's NPV would be expected to decrease, and that in the event of a sudden and sustained decrease in prevailing market interest rates, the Corporation's NPV would be expected to increase.
       The NPV is based on the net present value of estimated discounted cash flows utilizing market prepayment assumptions and market rates of interest provided by independent broker quotations and other public sources as of December 31, 1997, with adjustments made to reflect the shift in the Treasury yield curve as appropriate.
       Computation of prospective effects of hypothetical interest rate changes are based on numerous assumptions, including relative levels of market interest rates, loan prepayments and deposits decay, and should not be relied upon as indicative of actual results. Further, the computations do not contemplate any actions the ALCO could undertake in response to changes in interest rates.
       Certain shortcomings are inherent in the method of analysis presented in the computation of NPV. Actual values may differ from those projections presented, should market conditions vary from assumptions used in the calculation of the NPV. Certain assets, such as adjustable-rate loans, which represent one of the Corporation's primary loan products, have features which restrict changes in interest rates on a short-term basis and over the life of the assets. In addition, the proportion of adjustable-rate loans in the Corporation's portfolio could decrease in future periods if market interest rates remain at or decrease below current levels due to refinance activity. Further, in the event of a change in interest rates, prepayment and early withdrawal levels would likely deviate significantly from those assumed in the NPV. Finally, the ability of many borrowers to repay their adjustable-rate mortgage loans may decrease in the event of interest rate increases.
       In addition, the Corporation uses interest rate sensitivity gap analysis to monitor the relationship between the maturity and repricing of its interest-earning assets and interest-bearing liabilities, while maintaining an acceptable interest rate spread. Interest rate sensitivity gap is defined as the difference between the amount of interest-earning assets maturing or repricing within a specific time period and the amount of interest-bearing liabilities maturing or repricing within that same time period. A gap is considered positive when the amount of interest-rate-sensitive assets exceeds the amount of interest-rate-sensitive liabilities, and is considered negative when the amount of interest-rate-sensitive liabilities exceeds the amount of interest-rate-sensitive assets. Generally, during a period of rising interest rates, a negative gap would adversely affect net interest income, while a positive gap would result in an increase in net interest income. Conversely, during a period of falling interest rates, a negative gap would result in an increase in net interest income, while a positive gap would negatively affect net interest income. Management's goal is to maintain a reasonable balance between exposure to interest rate fluctuations and earnings. The Corporation's one-year cumulative gap is a negative $35.6 million or 8.7% of the Corporation's total assets of $408.3 million at December 31, 1997.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES
     The Corporation's liquidity is a measure of its ability to fund loans and withdrawal of deposits in a cost-effective manner. The corporation's principal sources of funds are deposits, scheduled amortization

                                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

and  prepayment  of loan  principal,  maturities  and  principal  repayments  of
securities and funds provided by operations. At December 31, 1997, the Corporation's liquid assets (cash and investment securities maturing in one year or less) totaled $38.2 million which represents 9.4% of total assets.
       The Corporation's main liquidity demands come from loan disbursements which totaled $97.6 million. At December 31, 1997 outstanding commitments to extend credit totaled $46.6 million. Management believes that the Corporation has adequate sources of liquidity to fund these commitments.
       Both the Corporation and the Bank are subject to regulatory capital requirements mandated by the Federal Reserve Board (FRB) and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), respectively. Both are required to maintain minimum capital requirements, defined by both the FRB and FDIC as risk-based capital (Tier 1 and Total and leverage capital ratio).
       The following chart presents the minimum capital requirement ratios and actual ratios for both the Corporation and the Bank:

December 31, 1997                             Required    Actual     Excess
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Corporation:
  Risk-based capital:
    Tier 1                                     4.00%      12.255%     8.255%
    Total                                      8.00       13.507      5.507
  Leverage capital ratio                       4.00        7.330      3.330
The Bank:
  Risk-based capital:
  Tier 1                                       4.00%      12.235%     8.235%
    Total                                      8.00       13.486      5.486
  Leverage capital ratio                       4.00        7.319      3.319

       Management is not aware of any known trends, events or uncertainties that will have, or that are reasonably likely to have a material effect on the Corporation's liquidity, capital resources or operations. The Corporation is not aware of any current recommendations by any regulatory authorities, which, if they were to be implemented, would have a material effect on the Corporation's liquidity, capital resources or operations.

IMPACT OF THE YEAR 2000
       The Corporation is conducting a comprehensive review of its computer systems and third party vendors to identity the systems that could be affected by the "Year 2000" issue. The Year 2000 problem is the result of computer programs being written using two digits rather than four to define the applicable year. Any of the Corporation's programs that have time-sensitive software may recognize a date using "00" as the Year 1900 rather than the Year 2000. This could result in system failure or miscalculations. The Corporation is devoting the necessary internal and external resources in the development of an implementation plan to address Year 2000. Management anticipates that all Year 2000 initiatives and testing will be completed in a timely manner and will meet all regulatory milestones. Expenditures in future years are not expected to have a material impact on the Corporation.

                Management's discussion and analysis continued

       The following table presents for the periods indicated the total dollar amount of interest income from interest-earning assets and the yields as well as the interest paid on interest-bearing liabilities, expressed in both dollars and
rates: <TABLE> <CAPTION>
                                             1997                              1996                             1995
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                 Average                 Yield/    Average                 Yield/    Average                 Yield/
(Dollars in thousands)           Balance   Interest/2/     Cost    Balance   Interest/1/     Cost    Balance   Interest/l/     Cost
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ASSETS
Interest-Earning Assets:
   Loans/2/                     $249,769     $20,852      8.35%   $208,367     $17,317      8.31%   $188,116     $15,631      8.31%
   Taxable investments            92,483       5,597      6.05     111,760       6,798      6.08     120,203       7,270      6.05
Tax-exempt investments               743          77     10.36         767          80     10.43         793          84     10.59
Deposits with banks               21,103       1,149      5.44      14,842         765      5.15       8,878         501      5.64
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Total interest-earning
       assets                    364,098      27,675      7.60     335,736      24,960      7.43     317,990      23,486      7.39
Non-interest-earning
      assets/3/                   18,597                            13,238                            14,075
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Total                        $382,695                          $348,974                          $332,065
===================================================================================================================================

LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
Interest-Bearing Liabilities:
   Transaction accounts/4/       $ 24,148    $   498      2.06%   $ 22,150     $   468      2.11%   $ 19,312     $   437      2.26%
   Savings accounts/5/            119,450      4,299      3.60     114,789       3,921      3.42     119,038       4,718      3.96
Market-rate certificates          165,774      8,786      5.30     161,620       8,442      5.22     142,744       7,548      5.29
Borrowings                         16,082        942      5.86         305          26      8.52       4,655         304      6.53
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total interest-bearing
   liabilities                    325,454     14,525      4.46     298,864      12,857      4.30     285,749      13,007      4.55
Non-interest-bearing liabilities   23,664                           22,423                            19,812
Other liabilities                   3,819                            1,153                             1,134
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Total liabilities              352,937                          322,440                           306,695
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Shareholders' equity               29,758                           26,534                            25,370
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Total                         $382,695                         $348,974                          $332,065
===================================================================================================================================


Net interest income/
  interest rate spread/6/                    $13,150      3.14%                $12,103      3.13%                $10,479      2.84%
===================================================================================================================================
Net earning assets/net
   yield on average
   interest-earning assets/7/    $ 38,644                 3.61%   $ 36,872                  3.60%   $ 32,241                  3.30%
===================================================================================================================================
Ratio of interest-earning
   assets to interest-
   bearing liabilities                                    1.12x                             1.12x                             1.11x
===================================================================================================================================

1. On  a   fully-taxable   equivalent   basis.   Effective  tax  rate  used  was
   approximately 36%.
2. Loans include non-accruing (i.e. non-performing) loans. Loan fees included in
   interest  income were  $234,000,  $324,000  and  $275,000 for the years ended
   December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively.
3. Included in  non-interest-earning  assets are corporate-owned  life insurance
   and real estate acquired by foreclosure.
4. Includes NOW and SWEEP accounts.
5. Include money market deposit accounts, regular savings and club accounts, and
   Prime Performance accounts.
6. Interest rate spread  represents the difference  between average yield earned
   on interest-earning assets and average cost of interest-bearing liabilities.
7. Net yield on average  interest-earning  assets represents net interest income
   as a percentage of average interest-earning assets.

                                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

     The  following  table  presents  the dollar  amount of changes in  interest
income on a fully taxable basis and interest expense for each major component of
interest-earning  assets  and  interest-bearing  liabilities,  and the amount of
change  attributable  to average  balances  and  average  rates for the  periods
indicated.  The variances  attributable to simultaneous balance and rate changes
have been  allocated in  proportion  to the  relationship  of the dollar  amount
change in each category.

                                               Year 1997 compared to 1996                Year 1996 compared to 1995
                                                   Increase/(Decrease)                      Increase/(Decrease)
(In thousands)                            Volume          Rate           Net          Volume         Rate          Net
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Interest-Earning Assets:
Loans                                     $3,451         $   84        $3,535         $1,686         $ --        $1,686
Taxable investments                       (1,168)           (33)       (1,201)          (508)          36          (472)
Tax-exempt investments                        (2)            (1)           (3)            (3)          (1)           (4)
Deposits with banks                          339             45           384            303          (39)          264
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total income on interest-earning assets    2,620             95         2,715          1,478           (4)        1,474
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Interest-Bearing Liabilities:
Transaction accounts                          41            (11)           30             57          (26)           31
Savings accounts                             165            213           378           (165)        (632)         (797)
Market-rate certificates                     215            129           344            993          (99)          894
Borrowings                                   922             (6)          916           (413)         135          (278)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total expenses on
  interest-bearing liabilities             1,343            325         1,668            472         (622)         (150)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net interest income                       $1,277         $ (230)       $1,047         $1,006         $618        $1,624
===========================================================================================================================

The following  table presents the average yield on  interest-earning  assets and
average cost of interest-bearing  liabilities, the interest rate spread, and the
net yield on average interest-earnings assets for the years indicated.


Year ended December 31,                                                       1997              1996              1995
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yield on loans                                                                8.35%             8.31%             8.31%
Yield on taxable investments                                                  6.05              6.08              6.05
Yield on tax-exempt investments                                              10.36             10.43             10.59
Yield on deposits with banks                                                  5.44              5.15              5.64
Combined yield on
   interest-earning assets                                                    7.60              7.43              7.39
Cost of transaction accounts                                                  2.06              2.11              2.26
Cost of savings accounts                                                      3.60              3.42              3.96
Cost of market-rate certificates                                              5.30              5.22              5.29
Cost of borrowings                                                            5.86              8.52              6.53
Combined cost of
   interest-bearing liabilities                                               4.46              4.30              4.55
Interest rate spread                                                          3.14              3.13              2.84
Net yield on average
   interest-earning assets                                                    3.61              3.60              3.30
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note: All yields are on a fully-taxable basis assuming an effective income tax
rate of approximately 36%

Selected consolidated financial data         Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


(Dollars in thousands, except per share data)
At or for the year ended December 31,                   1997          1996           1995          1994          1993
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance Sheet Data:
    Total assets                                    $408,308      $375,393       $354,810      $333,546      $307,332
    Total net loans                                  264,395       232,105        192,590       180,594       162,701
    Securities available-for-sale, at fair value      48,951        47,253         50,547        40,456            --
    Investment securities, net                        41,307        51,919         61,406        86,224       121,074
    Deposits                                         337,084       331,178        315,038       296,166       281,333
    Shareholders' equity                              30,874        28,268         26,348        23,440        22,391

Operating Data:
    Interest and fee income                          $27,647       $24,931        $23,456       $20,892       $20,049
    Interest expense                                  14,525        12,857         13,007         9,992         9,230
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Net interest income                               13,122        12,074         10,449        10,900        10,819
    Provision for loan losses                            600           450            300           450         2,290
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Net interest income after provision
       for loan losses                                12,522        11,624         10,149        10,450         8,529
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Other income                                       1,049           720            658           702         2,658
    Operating expenses                                 7,464         7,423          6,593         6,721         7,432
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Income before income tax expense and
       cumulative effect of accounting changes         6,107         4,921          4,214         4,431         3,755
    Income tax expense                                 2,199         1,813          1,542         1,577         1,352
    Cumulative effect of accounting changes               --            --             --            --            13
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Net income                                        $3,908        $3,108         $2,672        $2,854        $2,416
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Net income per share (basic)                       $1.66         $1.39          $1.17         $1.26         $1.07
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Net income per share (diluted)                      1.54          1.27           1.09          1.19          1.02
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Cash dividends per common share                     0.47          0.40           0.35          0.31          0.25
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Selected Financial Ratios:
    Return on average assets                            1.02%        0.89%           0.80%         0.88%         0.81%
    Return on average equity                           13.13        11.71           10.53         12.33         11.22
    Dividend payout ratio                              30.52        31.50           32.11         26.05         24.51
    Average equity to average assets                    7.78         7.60            7.64          7.14          7.20
    Interest rate spread/1/                             3.14         3.13            2.84          3.19          3.51
    Net yield on average interest-earning assets/1/     3.61         3.60            3.30          3.52          3.79
    Average interest-earning assets to
       average interest-bearing liabilities             1.12x        1.12x           1.11x         1.10x         1.09x
Non-performing assets to total assets                   0.23%        0.38%           0.35%         0.63%         1.17%

/1/ Calculated on a fully-taxable basis.

NOTE: The above figures reflect the effects of the three-for-two stock splits
paid in the form of stock dividends on July 1, 1997 and December 1, 1993

Consolidated balance sheets                  Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


(Dollars in thousands, except share data)

December 31,                                                                             1997             1996
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Assets
     Cash and due from banks                                                       $    7,316       $    5,453
     Federal funds sold                                                                26,700           27,300
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total cash and cash equivalents                                               34,016           32,753
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Securities available-for-sale, at fair value                                      48,951           47,253
     Investment securities held-to-maturity, net
         (fair value $40,919 in 1997 and $51,202 in 1996)                              41,307           51,919
     Loans                                                                            267,764          235,474
         Less:
         Unearned income                                                                   64              404
         Allowance for loan losses                                                      3,305            2,965
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total net loans                                                              264,395          232,105
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Banking premises and equipment, net                                                     5,861            3,689
Federal Home Loan Bank of New York stock, at cost                                       2,672            2,672
Accrued interest receivable                                                             2,070            1,947
Other assets                                                                            9,036            3,055
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total assets                                                                $408,308         $375,393
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity
     Due to depositors:
         Interest-bearing                                                            $312,719         $309,569
         Non-interest-bearing                                                          24,365           21,609
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total deposits                                                               337,084          331,178
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Borrowings                                                                        35,103           10,154
     Accrued interest payable                                                             155               59
     Accrued expenses and other liabilities                                             5,092            5,734
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total liabilities                                                            377,434          347,125
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Shareholders' equity:
     Preferred stock, $.01 par value, 2,000,000 shares authorized; none issued             --               --
     Common Stock, $.01 par value, 3,500,000 shares authorized;
        2,587,412 shares issued at December 31, 1997 and 1996,  2,372,226 shares
        outstanding at December 31, 1997 and
        2,270,475* shares outstanding at December 31, 1996                                 26               26
     Additional paid-in capital                                                        11,275           11,165
     Retained earnings                                                                 22,133           20,007
     Fair value adjustment of securities available-for-sale, net of tax                   369              204
     Less:  Unallocated common stock acquired by the ESOP                                 103              154
            Unearned resticted stock                                                      230               --
            Cost of common stock in treasury, 215,186 shares at December 31, 1997
              and 316,937* shares at December 31, 1996                                  2,596            2,980
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total shareholders' equity                                                    30,874           28,268
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Commitments and contingencies (Notes 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18)
         Total liabilities and shareholders' equity                                  $408,308         $375,393
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Share amounts reflect the effect of the  three-for-two  stock split paid in the
form of a stock dividend on July 1, 1997.

See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements.

Consolidated statements of income            Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


(Dollars in thousands, except per share data)

Year ended December 31,                                                   1997            1996            1995
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Interest Income:
     Interest and fees on real estate loans                            $16,652         $13,475         $12,011
     Interest and fees on other loans                                    4,200           3,842           3,620
     Interest and dividends on securities:
         Taxable                                                         5,597           6,798           7,270
         Tax-exempt                                                         49              51              54
     Interest on deposits in other banks                                 1,149             765             501
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total interest income                                          27,647          24,931          23,456
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Interest Expense:
     Interest on deposit accounts                                       13,583          12,831          12,703
     Interest on borrowings                                                942              26             304
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total interest expense                                         14,525          12,857          13,007
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Net interest income                                                13,122          12,074          10,449
     Provision for loan losses                                             600             450             300
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Net interest income after provision for loan losses            12,522          11,624          10,149
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Other Income:
     Service charges and other income                                      955             719             602
     Gain on securities transactions, net                                   94               1              56
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total other income                                              1,049             720             658
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Operating Expenses:
     Salaries and employee benefits                                      4,220           3,733           3,407
     Occupancy expense                                                     798             753             649
     FDIC insurance premium                                                 80             571             426
     Net cost of (income from) operation of other real estate               26              51            (140)
     Other operating expenses                                            2,340           2,315           2,251
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Total operating expenses                                        7,464           7,423           6,593
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Income before income tax expense                                    6,107           4,921           4,214
     Income tax expense                                                  2,199           1,813           1,542
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net income                                                            $  3,908        $  3,108        $  2,672
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Average number of shares outstanding:
     Basic                                                           2,349,191      2,242,258*      2,277,781*
     Diluted                                                         2,531,981      2,437,694*      2,453,221*
Net income per share:
     Basic                                                               $1.66          $1.39*          $1.17*
     Diluted                                                             $1.54          $1.27*          $1.09*
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*These figures reflect the effect of the  three-for-two  stock split paid in the
form of a stock dividend on July 1, 1997.

See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements.

          Consolidated statements of changes in stockholders' equity

                                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

                                                                              Fair value Unallocated
                                                                              adjustment      common
                                                                           of securities       stock
                                                    Additional                available-    acquired   Unearned
(Dollars in thousands,                       Common    paid-in    Retained     for-sale,      by the restricted  Treasury
 except per share data)                  stock/(1)/    capital earnings/(1)/  net of tax        ESOP      stock     stock     Total
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, December 31, 1994                      $26    $10,599     $15,910       $(1,236)      $(257)       $--   $(1,602)  $23,440
Cash dividends declared and paid
     ($0.35 per share)/(1)/                      --         --        (790)           --          --         --        --      (790)
Reduction of debt relating to the
     Employee Stock Ownership Plan               --         --          --            --          51         --        --        51
Fair value adjustment of securities
     available-for-sale, net of tax              --         --          --         1,652          --         --        --     1,652
Net income                                       --         --       2,672            --          --         --        --     2,672
Issuance of 30,450 common treasury
     shares for stock options/(1)/               --         (1)         --            --          --         --       151       150
Treasury stock acquired at cost
     57,000 shares/(1)/                          --         --          --            --          --         --      (827)     (827)
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, December 31, 1995                       26     10,598      17,792           416        (206)        --    (2,278)   26,348
Cash dividends declared and paid
     ($0.40 per share)/(1)/                      --         --        (893)           --          --         --        --      (893)
Reduction of debt relating to the
     Employee Stock Ownership Plan               --         --          --            --          52         --        --        52
Fair value adjustment of securities
     available-for-sale, net of tax              --         --          --          (212)         --         --        --      (212)
Net Income                                       --         --       3,108            --          --         --        --     3,108
Issuance of 4,500 common treasury
     shares for stock options/(1)/               --         (2)         --            --          --         --        30        28
Treasury stock acquired at cost-
     159,114 shares/(1)/                         --         --          --            --          --         --    (2,300)   (2,300)
Issuance of 186,894 common treasury
     shares in connection with the Manville
     Savings' merger and acquisition/(1)/        --        569          --            --          --         --     1,568     2,137
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, December 31, 1996                       26     11,165      20,007           204        (154)        --    (2,980)   28,268
Cash dividends declared and paid
     ($0.47 per share)/(1)/                      --         --      (1,123)           --          --         --        --    (1,123)
Reduction of debt relating to the
     Employee Stock Ownership Plan               --         --          --            --          51         --        --        51
Fair value adjustment of securities
     available-for-sale, net of tax              --         --          --           165          --         --        --       165
Net income                                       --         --       3,908            --          --         --        --     3,908
Issuance of 132,863 common treasury
     shares for stock options/(1)/               --         --        (659)           --          --         --     1,272       613
Treasury stock acquired, at cost --
     49,112 shares/(1)/                          --         --          --            --          --         --    (1,061)   (1,061)
Restricted stock award                           --        103          --            --          --       (276)      173        --
Restricted stock award amortization              --         --          --            --          --         46        --        46
Tax benefit for stock
     related compensation                        --          7          --            --          --         --        --         7
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, December 31, 1997                      $26    $11,275     $22,133          $369       $(103)     $(230)  $(2,596)  $30,874
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

/1/ As adjusted to reflect the effect of the  three-for-two  stock split paid in
    the form of a stock dividend on July 1, 1997.

See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements.

Consolidated statements of cash flows

                                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


(In thousands)
Year ended December 31,                                                                        1997            1996           1995
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash Flows From Operating Activities:
Net income                                                                                   $  3,908       $  3,108       $  2,672
Adjustments  to  reconcile   net  income  to  net  cash  Provided  by  operating
      activities:
         Increase in accrued interest receivable                                                 (123)           (88)           (28)
         Amortization, net, on securities                                                         154            149            238
         Provision for loan losses                                                                600            450            300
         Recovery of losses on real estate acquired by foreclosure                                 --             --           (218)
         Gain on net securities transactions                                                      (94)            (1)           (56)
         Increase (decrease) in accrued interest payable                                           96             (2)           (13)
         Increase (decrease) in accrued expenses                                                   45             55           (476)
         Decrease (increase) in prepaid expenses                                                  259           (170)           104
         Depreciation                                                                             372            378            354
         Deferred income taxes                                                                    124           (102)            76
         (Decrease) increase in income taxes payable                                              (47)           440            196
         Net (decrease) increase, other                                                           (14)         1,516           (632)
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total cash provided by operating activities                                                5,280          5,733          2,517
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash Flows From Investing Activities:
Proceeds from call and repayments of securities available-for-sale                             13,959         21,796          6,727
Proceeds from sale of securities available-for-sale                                             6,948             --             56
Proceeds from repayments of investment securities, net                                         10,522          9,394         11,676
Purchase of investment securities, net                                                             --             --         (1,442)
Purchase of securities available-for-sale                                                     (22,322)       (17,922)            --
Purchase of corporate-owned life insurance                                                     (7,200)            --             --
Redemption (purchase) of Federal Home Loan Bank of New York stock                                  --             99         (2,006)
Net disbursements for loans                                                                   (32,681)       (27,959)       (11,908)
Proceeds from disposal of other real estate                                                        17            171            626
Capital expenditures                                                                           (2,544)          (840)          (265)
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Net cash (used in) provided by investing activities                                      (33,301)       (15,261)         3,464
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash Flows From Financing Activities:
Net increase(decrease) in demand deposits,
     money market accounts, NOW accounts, Prime
     Performance Accounts and savings accounts                                                 10,688         (4,672)        (7,717)
Net (decrease) increase in market-rate certificates                                            (4,782)         8,285         26,589
Proceeds from issuance of common stock                                                            613          2,027            150
Treasury stock acquired, at cost                                                               (1,061)        (2,300)          (827)
Proceeds from (repayments on) borrowings                                                       24,949            (52)           157
Dividends paid                                                                                 (1,123)          (893)          (790)
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Net cash provided by financing activities                                                 29,284          2,395         17,562
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents                                            1,263         (7,133)        23,543
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year                                                 32,753         39,886         16,343
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of year                                                     $ 34,016       $ 32,753       $ 39,886
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Supplemental schedule of cash flow information:
Interest paid                                                                                $ 14,429       $ 12,859       $ 13,020
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income taxes paid                                                                            $  2,122       $  1,547       $  1,270
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mortgage loans originated to finance
     the disposal of real estate acquired by foreclosure                                     $     75       $   --         $    535
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Investment securities, net, transferred to securities available-for-sale                     $   --         $   --         $ 14,467
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net loans acquired from Manville Savings' Merger and Acquisition                             $   --         $ 11,911       $   --
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net deposits acquired from Manville Savings' Merger and Acquisition                          $   --         $ 12,532       $   --
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements.

Notes to consolidated financial statements
                                            Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995

NOTE 1 -- Summary Of Significant Accounting Policies

BUSINESS:  The  Bank is in the  business  of  providing  financial  services  to
individuals and small businesses with specific emphasis on depository  services,
residential mortgage lending,  consumer loans, construction loans and commercial
loans  through seven branch  offices in Somerset and  Hunterdon  counties in New
Jersey. The Bank is subject to competition from other financial institutions and
to the  regulations  of  certain  Federal  and New  Jersey  state  agencies  and
undergoes periodic examinations by those regulatory authorities.

BASIS  OF  FINANCIAL  STATEMENT  PRESENTATION:   The  accompanying  consolidated
financial  statements of Raritan  Bancorp Inc.  ("Corporation")  are prepared in
conformity  with  generally  accepted  accounting  principles  and  include  the
accounts of the Corporation and its wholly-owned subsidiary, The Raritan Savings
Bank ("Bank"). All significant  intercompany accounts and transactions have been
eliminated from the accompanying consolidated financial statements. In preparing
the  financial  statements,   management  is  required  to  make  estimates  and
assumptions  that  affect the  reported  amounts of assets and  liabilities  and
disclosure of contingent  assets and  liabilities  as of the date of the balance
sheets and results of operations for the periods indicated. Actual results could
differ   significantly  from  those  estimates.   Material  estimates  that  are
particularly  susceptible to  significant  change in the near term relate to the
determination  of the allowance for loan losses and the valuation of real estate
acquired by  foreclosure or in  satisfaction  of loans.  In connection  with the
determination of these  allowances,  management  generally  obtains  independent
appraisals.

CASH AND CASH  EQUIVALENTS:  For purposes of reporting cash flows, cash and cash
equivalents  include  cash and amounts  due from banks and  federal  funds sold.
Generally, federal funds sold are sold for one-day periods.

SECURITIES  AVAILABLE-FOR-SALE AND INVESTMENT SECURITIES HELD-TO-MATURITY,  NET:
The Corporation's  securities,  including  mortgage-backed  securities issued by
Federal agencies are classified as either  held-to-maturity,  available-for-sale
or trading. The Corporation  currently has no securities  classified as trading.
If management has the intent and the  Corporation has the ability at the time of
purchase to hold securities  until  maturity,  they are classified as investment
securities  held-to-maturity  and carried at amortized  historical cost adjusted
for  amortization  of  premiums  and  accretion  of  discounts,   utilizing  the
level-yield  method.  Unrealized  losses due to fluctuations in market value are
recognized as investment  security losses when a decline in value is assessed as
being other than temporary. Securities to be held for indefinite periods of time
and not intended to be held to maturity are classified as available-for-sale and
carried at fair value.  Unrealized  holding  gains and losses are excluded  from
earnings  and  reported  net  of  related  taxes  as  a  separate  component  of
shareholders'  equity until realized.  Securities  available-for-sale  are those
which  management  intends  to use as  part  of its  asset/liability  management
strategy  and  which may be sold in  response  to  changes  in  interest  rates,
resultant  prepayment  risk and  other  factors  related  to  interest  rate and
resultant prepayment risk. Gains and losses are recognized on a trade date basis
using the specific identification method.

LOANS AND ALLOWANCE FOR LOAN LOSSES:  Real estate  related loans and other loans
are stated at their principal  amounts  outstanding.  Loan  origination fees and
certain  related  direct loan  origination  costs are deferred and  amortized to
interest income using the related loan's effective yield.

     A loan is considered  impaired  when,  based upon current  information  and
events,  it is probable  that the Bank will be unable to collect all amounts due
according to the contractual terms of the loan

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


agreement.  Impaired  loans are measured  based on the present value of expected
future cash flows, or, as a practical expedient, at the loan's observable market
price, or the fair value of the underlying collateral, if the loan is collateral
dependent. The Bank classifies all non-performing loans as impaired loans.
       The accrual of income on loans,  including  impaired  loans is  generally
discontinued and all interest income  previously  accrued and unpaid is deducted
from  income when a loan  becomes  more than  ninety  days  delinquent,  or when
certain factors indicate reasonable doubt as to the timely collectibility of all
amounts  due.  Generally,  loans  on  which  the  accrual  of  income  has  been
discontinued  are  designated  as  non-performing  loans,  and include all loans
classified as "impaired" loans. Generally, non-performing and impaired loans are
returned to an accrual status only when none of the principal or interest is due
and  unpaid  and the full  collectibility  of the  outstanding  loan  balance is
reasonably  assured.  Cash  receipts on  non-performing  and impaired  loans are
generally  applied to interest income when the loan balance is considered  fully
collectible.
       The allowance for loan losses is established through a provision for loan
losses  charged to expense.  Loans are charged  against the  allowance  for loan
losses when management believes the collectibility of the principal is unlikely.
The allowance is an amount that  management  believes will be adequate to absorb
possible   losses  on  existing  loans  that  may  become   uncollectible.   The
determination  of the  balance of the  allowance  for loan losses is based on an
analysis  of the loan  portfolio,  economic  conditions,  historical  loan  loss
experience,  the borrower's ability to repay, collateral value and other factors
that warrant  recognition in providing an adequate  allowance.  While management
uses available information to recognize losses on loans, future additions may be
necessary  based  on  changes  in  economic  conditions.  In  addition,  various
regulatory  agencies,   as  an  integral  part  of  their  examination  process,
periodically  review the Corporation's  allowance for loan losses. Such agencies
may require the  Corporation  to recognize  additions to the allowance  based on
their  judgments  of  information  available  to  them  at  the  time  of  their
examination.

BANKING  PREMISES  AND  EQUIPMENT:  Land  is  carried  at  cost,  buildings  and
improvements,  leasehold improvements and furniture,  fixtures and equipment are
carried at cost, net of accumulated depreciation and amortization.  Depreciation
on buildings and  improvements  is provided for using the  straight-line  method
over estimated useful lives of 5 to 50 years.  The Bank  depreciates  furniture,
fixtures and equipment using the  straight-line  method over the estimated lives
of 3 to 25 years.  Leasehold  improvements  are  amortized  over the term of the
lease or useful life, whichever is less.

FEDERAL  HOME LOAN BANK OF NEW YORK  STOCK:  This stock is carried at cost.  The
Bank is required to maintain such  investment  as part of its  membership in the
Federal Home Loan Bank of New York.

INCOME TAXES:  The Corporation  files a consolidated  Federal income tax return.
Certain items of income and expenses are  recognized  in a different  period for
financial reporting purposes than for income tax purposes. Separate state income
tax returns are filed by the Corporation and the Bank.

       Deferred  tax  assets  and  liabilities  are  recognized  for the  future
consequences   attributable  to  differences  between  the  financial  statement
carrying  amounts of existing assets and  liabilities  and their  respective tax
bases,  as well as operating  loss and tax credit carry  forwards.  Deferred tax
assets are recognized for future deductible  temporary  differences and tax loss
and  credit  carryforwards  if their  realization  is "more  likely  than  not."
Deferred  tax  assets and  liabilities  are  measured  using  enacted  tax rates
expected  to apply to  taxable  income  in the  years in which  those  temporary
differences are expected to be recovered or settled.  The effect on deferred tax
assets and  liabilities  of a change in tax rate is  recognized in income in the
period that includes the enactment date.

       The Parent  Company's  income taxes, as reflected in the Parent Company's
Statements of Income, represent the taxes allocated to the Parent Company on the
basis of its contribution to consolidated income.

RETIREMENT  BENEFITS:  The Bank  maintains  a  noncontributory  defined  benefit
pension plan which covers all employees who have met eligibility requirements of
the  Plan.  It is the  Bank's  policy  to fund the plan  sufficient  to meet the
minimum  funding  requirements  set  forth  in the  Employee  Retirement  Income
Security  Act of 1974.  In  addition,  the Bank  provides  health  care and life
insurance benefits for qualifying employees.

Notes continued            Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


FAIR VALUE OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS: SFAS No. 107, "Disclosures About Fair Value
of Financial  Instruments," requires entities to disclose fair value information
on financial instruments.  The disclosure includes both on and off balance sheet
financial  instruments.  Fair value estimates are based on quoted market prices,
discounting  scheduled cash flows through the estimated maturity using estimated
market  discount  rates,  or other methods as  appropriate.  These estimates are
subjective in nature and involve  uncertainties and matters of judgment and as a
result cannot be considered as the actual value of the  Corporation.  Changes in
assumptions  used in determining fair value of the financial  instruments  could
significantly alter the estimates.
       The following  assumptions were used by the Corporation in estimating the
fair value of financial instruments.

  CASH AND DUE FROM BANKS, AND FEDERAL FUNDS SOLD: The carrying amount
  approximates fair value.

  INVESTMENT  SECURITIES,  NET AND  SECURITIES  AVAILABLE-FOR-  SALE:  For these
  securities, fair values are based on quoted market prices or dealer quotes.

  LOANS:  Fair value is  estimated  for  portfolios  of loans with  similar loan
  characteristics.  The fair value for certain  residential  mortgage  loans and
  consumer  loans are based on quoted  market  prices for  securities  backed by
  similar loans adjusted for differences in loan characteristics. The fair value
  for  commercial   mortgage  and  construction   type  loans  is  estimated  by
  discounting  cash flows using  current  interest  rates for loans with similar
  characteristics.

  DEPOSIT LIABILITIES:  The fair value of regular checking, NOW accounts,  money
  market deposit accounts,  Prime  Performance  Accounts and regular savings and
  club accounts is the same as the carrying amount  reported.  The fair value of
  market-rate  certificates is calculated using the discounted cash flow method.
  The  discount  rate used was the current rate offered by the Bank for deposits
  with similar remaining maturities.

  BORROWINGS:  Borrowings  consist  of  debt  relating  to  the  Employee  Stock
  Ownership Plan ("ESOP"),  advances from the Federal Home Loan Bank of New York
  and borrowings  under repurchase  agreements.  The fair value of borrowings is
  calculated  using the discounted cash flow method.  The discount rate used was
  the  current  rate  paid by the Bank for  borrowings  with  similar  remaining
  maturities.

  COMMITMENTS TO EXTEND CREDIT AND PERFORMANCE  STANDBY  LETTERS OF CREDIT:  The
  fair value of  commitments  is  estimated  using fees  currently  charged  for
  similar  agreements,  based on the remaining  term of the  commitment  and the
  present  credit  quality  rating of the  counterparty.  The fair  value of the
  performance  standby letters of credit is based on fees currently  charged for
  similar  agreements or on estimated  costs to terminate  them or to settle the
  obligations with the  counterparties  at the reporting date. The fair value of
  commitments  to extend credit and  performance  standby  letters of credit are
  immaterial at December 31, 1997 and 1996.

NET INCOME PER SHARE:  Effective December 31, 1997, the Corporation  adopted the
provisions of Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 128, "Earnings Per
Share." All prior  period share  amounts have been  restated to conform with the
provisions  of  this  statement.  In  addition,  all  share  amounts  have  been
retroactively  adjusted  for the impact of  subsequent  stock splits paid in the
form of stock  dividends.  Basic net income per share is  calculated by dividing
net income by the  weighted-average  number of common shares  outstanding during
the period. Diluted net income per share is calculated by dividing net income by
the   weighted-average   number   of   common   shares   outstanding   plus  the
weighted-average  number of net shares  that would be issued  upon  exercise  of
stock options  pursuant to the treasury  stock method.  Options in the amount of
182,790,  195,436  and  175,440,  for  1997,  1996 and 1995,  respectively,  are
included in the diluted weighted-average shares outstanding.

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


RECLASSIFICATION: Certain amounts in the financial statements presented for
prior periods have been reclassified to conform with the 1997 presentation.

NOTE 2 -- CASH AND DUE FROM BANK

       The Bank is required to maintain a cash  reserve  balance  based upon its
deposits in  accordance  with  banking  regulations.  The average  amount of the
reserve  for the years  ended  December  31,  1997 and 1996  were  approximately
$1,527,000 and $1,458,000, respectively.

NOTE 3 -- SECURITIES AVAILABLE-FOR-SALE AND INVESTMENT SECURITIES, NET

       The  amortized  cost of  securities  and their  estimated  fair  value at
December 31, 1997, were as follows:

                                                                         Gross          Gross
                                                     Amortized      Unrealized     Unrealized       Estimated
(In thousands)                                            Cost           Gains         Losses      Fair Value
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Securities available-for-sale:
U.S. Treasury securities and obligations
   of U.S. government agencies                         $10,157           $  41        $   (1)         $10,197
Obligations of states and political subdivisions           695              52             --             747
Equity securities                                          129             129             --             258
Mortgage-backed securities issued by Federal agencies   37,390             384           (25)          37,749
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       $48,371           $ 606        $  (26)         $48,951
=============================================================================================================
Investment securities held-to-maturity, net:
Mortgage-backed securities issued by Federal agencies  $41,307           $  15        $ (403)         $40,919
=============================================================================================================

       In December 1995, the  Corporation  adopted  Special Report No. 155-B, "A
Guide to Implementation  of Statement 115 on Accounting for Certain  Investments
in Debt and Equity Securities - Questions and Answers,"  (Special Report) issued
by the Financial Accounting Standards Board staff.
       In accordance  with the Special Report,  the Corporation  made a one-time
transfer of investment  securities,  net, with an amortized  cost and unrealized
gain   of   $14.5   million   and   $268,000,    respectively,   to   securities
available-for-sale.
       The  amortized  cost of  securities  and their  estimated  fair  value at
December 31, 1996, were as follows:

                                                                         Gross           Gross
                                                     Amortized      Unrealized      Unrealized       Estimated
(In thousands)                                            Cost           Gains          Losses      Fair Value
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Securities available-for-sale:
U.S. Treasury securities and obligations
   of U.S. government agencies                         $17,130           $  48          $ (35)         $17,143
Obligations of states and political subdivisions           710              38              --             748
Equity securities                                          129              41              --             170
Mortgage-backed securities issued by Federal agencies   28,959             396           (163)          29,192
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       $46,928           $ 523          $(198)         $47,253
==============================================================================================================
Investment securities held-to-maturity, net:
Mortgage-backed securities issued by Federal agencies  $51,919           $  22          $(739)         $51,202
==============================================================================================================

       The carrying value of investment  securities pledged as required security
for public funds and deposits  amounted to $1,003,000 and $1,002,000 at December
31, 1997 and 1996, respectively.
       During 1997, the  Corporation  sold  securities  which were classified as
available-for-sale  in the amount of $6,948,000  at a gross gain of $78,000.  In
addition,   securities   classified  as  available-for-sale  in  the  amount  of
$6,013,000 were called at a gross gain of $16,000.
       During 1996, a security classified as available-for-sale  was called at a
gross gain of $1,000.
       During 1995, an equity security previously  written-off was redeemed at a
gain of $56,000.

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

       The  scheduled  maturities  of  debt  securities  available-for-sale  and
investment  securities  held-to-maturity  net, at  December  31,  1997,  were as
follows:

                                                              Securities              Investment Securities
                                                          Available-for-Sale           Held-to-Maturity Net
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                     Amortized       Estimated       Amortized       Estimated
(In thousands)                                            Cost      Fair Value            Cost      Fair Value
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Due in one year or less                                $ 5,196         $ 5,200        $    --          $    --
Due after one year through five years                    4,961           4,997             --               --
Due after ten years                                        695             747             --               --
Mortgage-backed securities issued by federal agencies   37,390          37,749         41,307           40,919
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       $48,242         $48,693        $41,307          $40,919
==============================================================================================================

       The  scheduled  maturities  of  debt  securities  available-for-sale  and
investment  securities  held-to-maturity  net,  at  December  31,  1996  were as
follows:

                                                              Securities              Investment Securities
                                                          Available-for-Sale           Held-to-Maturity Net
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                     Amortized       Estimated       Amortized       Estimated
(In thousands)                                            Cost      Fair Value            Cost      Fair Value
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Due in one year or less                                $ 3,008         $ 2,996        $    --          $    --
Due after one year through five years                   12,138          12,151             --               --
Due after five years through ten years                   1,984           1,996             --               --
Due after ten years                                        710             748             --               --
Mortgage-backed securities issued by federal agencies   28,959          29,192          51,919          51,202
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       $46,799         $47,083         $51,919         $51,202
==============================================================================================================

NOTE      4 -- LOANS AND  ALLOWANCE  FOR LOAN  LOSSES  Loans are  summarized  as
          follows:

                                                                    December 31,
                                                    ----------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997                            1996
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Real estate:
     Mortgage                                         $246,438                       $216,946
     Construction                                        8,695                         11,019
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       255,133                        227,965
Consumer and other loans                                 7,235                          3,532
Commercial loans                                         5,396                          3,977
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                      $267,764                       $235,474
==============================================================================================================

       Loans to directors and principal  officers and their affiliates which are
made in the ordinary course of business, and on substantially the same terms and
rates as loans  to  other  persons,  aggregated  $5,958,000  and  $4,339,000  at
December  31,  1997  and  1996,  respectively.  Activity  during  1997  included
principal repayments of $605,000 and new disbursements of $2,224,000.

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


       The activity in the allowance for loan losses follows:

                                                                   Year ended December 31,
                                                  -------------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997            1996            1995
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance at beginning of year                            $2,965          $2,582          $2,729
Provision charged to operations                            600             450             300
Manville Savings' acquisition                               --             303              --
Charge-offs                                               (410)           (380)           (465)
Recoveries                                                 150              10              18
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance at end of year                                  $3,305          $2,965          $2,582
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       Non-performing loans (over 90 days delinquent),  and real estate acquired
by  foreclosure  (included in Other Assets)  totaled  $945,000 and $1,420,000 at
December 31, 1997 and 1996, respectively, as follows:

                                                                  December 31, 1997
                                                  -------------------------------------------------
                                                        Number                          Amount
                                                      Of Loans                  (In thousands)
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
First mortgage loans                                         6                            $569
Second mortgage loan                                         1                              54
Consumer loan                                                1                              11
Loans with modified terms                                    2                             177
Matured loan                                                 1                              94
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total non-performing loans                                  11                             905
Real Estate Acquired by Foreclosure
   (included in Other Assets)                                1                              40
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                            12                            $945
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                  December 31, 1996
                                                  -------------------------------------------------
                                                        Number                          Amount
                                                      Of Loans                  (In thousands)
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
First mortgage loans                                         4                          $  576
Home equity loans                                            2                             115
Second mortgage loan                                         1                              47
Commercial loans                                             2                             326
Loans with modified terms                                    3                             253
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total non-performing loans                                  12                           1,317
Real Estate Acquired by Foreclosure
   (included in Other Assets)                                1                             103
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                            13                          $1,420
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       The loss of interest on loans  charged-off,  non-performing  loans,  real
estate  acquired by  foreclosure,  non-accrual  loans and impaired loans totaled
approximately  $94,000,  $142,000 and $224,000 for the years ended  December 31,
1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively.
       The Corporation had impaired loans of $905,000 and $1,317,000 at December
31, 1997 and 1996,  respectively.  The Corporation  calculated a total allowance
for  impaired  loans of $157,000  and  $112,000  at December  31, 1997 and 1996,
respectively. Impaired loans averaged $1,344,000, $1,681,000, and $1,382,000 for
the years ended December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively.  Interest income
of $75,000, $29,000 and $17,000 was recognized, all on a cash basis, on impaired
loans for the years ended December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively.

      The Bank is not committed to lend additional  funds on loans with modified
terms or non-performing loans.

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


NOTE 5 -- BANKING PREMISES AND EQUIPMENT, NET

     A summary of the net  carrying  value of  banking  premises  and  equipment
follows:
                                  December 31,
                                                  ------------------------------
(In thousands)                                          1997               1996
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Land                                                  $  776             $  764
Buildings and improvements                             2,429              2,404
Furniture, fixtures and equipment                      3,050              2,226
Leasehold improvements                                 2,363                996
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       8,618              6,390
Less accumulated depreciation and amortization         2,757              2,701
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                      $5,861             $3,689
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
       Depreciation  and  amortization  expense  charged to  operations  totaled
$372,000, $378,000 and $354,000 in 1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively.

NOTE 6 -- Other Assets
       Other assets are summarized as follows:
                                  December 31,
                                                 -------------------------------
(In thousands)                                          1997               1996
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Real estate acquired by foreclosure                   $   40             $  103
Deferred tax assets, net                                 538                750
Unamortized premium paid-RTC                             431                547
Corporate-owned life insurance                         7,393                 --
Prepaid expenses                                         339                479
All other                                                295              1,176
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                      $9,036             $3,055
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTE 7 -- DUE TO DEPOSITORS
       The details of deposit balances are as follows:
                                                             December 31,
                                                 -------------------------------
(In thousands)                                          1997               1996
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Regular and business checking                       $ 24,365           $ 21,609
NOW accounts                                          22,948             22,374
Money market deposit accounts                         11,972             16,958
Prime Performance accounts                            70,289             51,541
Regular savings and club accounts                     43,214             49,618
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                     172,788            162,100
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Market-rate certificates:
7-31 day                                               4,105              6,078
6 month                                               33,868             36,439
9 month                                               27,492             26,775
12 month                                              31,960             33,395
24 month                                               8,381              8,722
Other certificates                                    15,303             15,719
IRA and KEOGH accounts                                43,187             41,950
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                     164,296            169,078
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                    $337,084           $331,178
================================================================================
notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary




Market-rate  certificates  $100,000 and over totaled $18,355,000 and $16,499,000
at December 31, 1997 and 1996,  respectively.  Interest  expense on  market-rate
certificates  $100,000 and over totaled $861,000,  $700,000 and $589,000 for the
years ended December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively.

At December 31, 1997, the scheduled  maturities of market-rate  certificates are
as follows:
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(In thousands)           1998                                         $125,327
                         1999                                           20,548
                         2000                                           10,338
                         2001                                            4,485
                         2002 and thereafter                             3,598
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                      $164,296
================================================================================


NOTE 8 -- INCOME TAXES
       The following is a summary of income tax expense, for the years ended
December 31:
(In thousands)                                  1997         1996          1995
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Taxes estimated to be payable currently:
   Federal                                    $1,905       $1,759        $1,343
   State                                         170          156           123
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Subtotal                              2,075        1,915         1,466
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deferred taxes (benefit):
   Federal                                       117         (94)            68
   State                                           7          (8)             8
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Subtotal                                124        (102)            76
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total income tax expense                      $2,199      $1,813         $1,542
================================================================================


       Total income tax expense for the years ended December 31, 1997,  1996 and
1995, differed from the amounts calculated by applying the expected U.S. Federal
Income tax rate of 34% to pre-tax income as a result of the following:

(In thousands)                                 1997        1996           1995
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income before income tax expense              $6,107      $4,921         $4,214
Statutory income tax rate                        34%         34%            34%
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                               2,076       1,673          1,433
Tax-exempt interest income                       (16)        (17)           (18)
State income taxes, net of Federal income
   tax benefit                                   117          98             86
Change in the beginning-of-the-year balance
   of the valuation allowance allocated to
   income tax expense                             --          55             36
Other                                             22           4              5
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income tax expense                            $2,199      $1,813         $1,542
================================================================================

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


       The  significant  components  of the deferred  income taxes for the years
ended  December 31, 1997,  1996 and 1995 were the result of changes in temporary
differences  between tax and financial reporting purposes and the changes in the
beginning-of-the-year balance of the valuation allowance for deferred tax assets
as follows:

                                                                      December 31,
                                                        --------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997              1996         1995
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deferred tax expense (benefit) (exclusive of the effect
   of the other component listed below)                   $124             $(157)         $40
Increase in the beginning-of-the-year balance of the
   valuation allowance for deferred tax assets              --                55           36
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                          $124             $(102)         $76
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       The tax effects of temporary  differences  that give rise to  significant
portions of the deferred tax assets and deferred tax liabilities at December 31,
1997 and 1996 follow:

                                                                    December 31,
                                                        --------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997                           1996
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deferred tax assets:
   Unearned income                                       $  --                          $  84
   Nonaccrual interest                                      12                              9
   Allowance for losses                                  1,189                          1,070
   Accrued expenses                                        537                            557
   Other                                                    34                             47
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total gross deferred tax assets                          1,772                          1,767
Less valuation allowance                                  (584)                          (584)
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deferred tax assets,
   net of valuation allowance                            1,188                          1,183
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deferred tax liabilities:
   Unamortized core deposit premium paid                   116                            152
   Unearned Income                                         107                             --
   Depreciation                                             28                             28
   Fair value adjustment of securities
     available-for-sale                                    208                            120
   Other                                                   191                            133
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total other gross deferred tax liabilities            650                            433
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Net deferred tax assets                                $538                           $750
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

         Included in the above table is the recognition of temporary differences
relating to the unrealized gains and losses on certain debt securities accounted
for under SFAS  No.115 for which no  deferred  tax was  recognized  through  the
Consolidated Statements of Income.

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


       Except  for the  effects  of the  reversal  of net  deductible  temporary
differences,  the  Corporation is not currently aware of any factors which would
cause any significant  differences between taxable income and pretax book income
in future  years.  However,  there can be no  assurances  that  there will be no
significant  differences  in the future  between  taxable income and pretax book
income if circumstances change (such as, for example, changes in tax laws or the
Corporation's  financial  condition or performance).  Management  believes it is
more  likely  than not that the  Corporation  will  realize  the  benefit of net
deferred tax assets based upon  recoverable  taxes in the  carryback  period and
projected  levels  of pretax  income,  and that  such net  deductible  temporary
differences  will reverse during periods in which the Corporation  generates net
taxable income.
       Based  upon  1996  Federal  tax  law  changes,  thrift  institutions  are
generally  required to recapture into income the portion of its bad debt reserve
(other than supplemental reserve) that exceeds its base year (December 31, 1987)
reserves. The recapture amount generally will be taken into income ratably (on a
straight-line basis) over a six-year period. Under a small thrift exception, the
Corporation's  tax  reserves  for bad debts  equaled  its  allowable  experience
reserve method and therefore, the Corporation will have no recapture.
       The   Corporation   has  not  recognized  a  deferred  tax  liability  of
approximately $746,000 for bad debt reserves for tax purposes which arose in tax
years  beginning  before  December  31, 1987 (i.e.,  base year).  A deferred tax
liability will be recognized if the Corporation  expects that charges to the bad
debt  reserves,  other  than the losses on loans or  recomputations  of bad debt
deductions resulting from operating loss carrybacks to prior years, would result
in taxable income.  The Corporation  does not anticipate any such recognition in
the foreseeable future.


NOTE 9 -- BENEFIT PLANS
       The Bank has a noncontributory  defined benefit pension plan covering all
eligible  full-time  employees.  Benefits  are based upon  years of service  and
compensation.  It is the Bank's  policy to fund the plan  sufficient to meet the
minimum  funding  requirements  set  forth  in the  Employee  Retirement  Income
Security Act of 1974.
       The  following  table  sets forth the plan's  funded  status and  amounts
recognized in the consolidated financial statements:

                                                                    December 31,
                                                       ------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997                            1996
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Actuarial present value of benefit obligations:
Accumulated benefit obligation, including vested
  benefits of $1,933 in 1997 and $1,561 in 1996        $(1,958)                        $(1,656)
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Projected benefit obligation for service
  rendered to date                                     $(2,494)                        $(2,198)
Plan assets at fair value, primarily debt and
  equity securities                                      3,100                           2,549
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Plan assets in excess of projected benefit obligation      606                             351
Transition amount from initial application                  (3)                             (5)
Unrecognized loss                                         (687)                           (363)
Unrecognized past service benefit                          (77)                            (87)
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Acrrued pension expense included
  in other liabilities                                   $(161)                          $(104)
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

     The following  table sets forth the  components of net pension  expense for
the years ended shown:

                                                               Year ended December 31,
                                                     -----------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997            1996            1995
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net pension expense includes the following components:
Service cost-benefits earned during the period           $ 126          $   93          $   95
Interest cost on projected benefit obligation              163             153             139
Deferred investment gain/loss                              373              --              --
Return on plan assets                                     (577)           (331)           (429)
Net amortization and deferral                              (28)            142             274
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net pension expense included in
   salaries and employee benefits                       $   57          $   57          $   79
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     The primary  assumptions used for calculating  year-end  actuarial  present
value of benefit obligations were:

                                                               Year ended December 31,
                                                     -----------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997            1996            1995
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weighted average discount rates used to determine the
   projected benefit obligation                          7.25%            7.75%           7.50%
Rates of increase in future salary levels                5.00             5.50            5.50

       In addition, the assumptions used for calculating net pension expense for
the years ended shown were:

                                                           For the year ended December 31,
                                                     -----------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997            1996            1995
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weighted average discount rates used to determine the
     projected benefit obligation                        7.75%            7.50%           8.25%
Rates of increase in future salary levels                5.50             5.50            6.00
Expected long-term rates of return on plan assets        8.00             8.00            8.00


       Under an employer sponsored plan, the Corporation provides certain health
care and life insurance  benefits for retired employees and certain  dependents.
All of the  Corporation's  employees are eligible for such benefits at age sixty
with  fifteen  years  service or rule of 75 with twenty  years of  service.  The
participant, in most cases, will be required to contribute a portion of the cost
of the premium for the benefits.  The medical  plans pay a stated  percentage of
most  medical  expenses  reduced  for  any  deductibles  and  payments  made  by
government programs, based on years of service.
         The following table sets forth the components of  postretirement  costs
for the years ended December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995:

                                                            For the year ended December 31,
                                                       ------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997            1996            1995
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Service cost                                               $13             $13             $16
Interest cost                                               16              14              15
Amortization of unrecognized gain                           (7)             (9)             (7)
Amortization of unrecognized prior
   service costs                                             1               1               --
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net periodic postretirement
   benefit cost                                            $23             $19             $24
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

     The  status  of the  post-retirement  plan at  December  31,  1997 and 1996
follows:

                                  December 31,
                                                      --------------------------
(In thousands)                                            1997            1996
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Accumulated post-retirement benefit obligation:
    Retirees                                              $(46)           $(25)
    Active plan participants and certain dependents       (206)           (172)
Fair value of assets                                        --              --
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fair value of assets in excess (less than) accumulated
   post-retirement benefit obligation                     (252)           (197)
Unrecognized gain                                         (118)           (154)
Service cost                                                10              10
Interest cost                                               --              --
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Accrued post-retirement benefit cost                     $(360)          $(341)
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       For  measuring  the  expected  post-retirement  benefit  obligation,  the
Corporation  assumed a 7.5% rate of  increase  in the per capita  claims cost in
1998 and assumed that rate would  decrease  linearly  over a ten-year  period to
5.0% and remain at that level  thereafter.  The  weighted-average  discount rate
used in determining the accumulated post-retirement benefit obligation was 7.25%
in 1997 and 7.75% in 1996.

       If the health care cost trend were increased one percent, the accumulated
post-retirement  benefit obligation as of December 31, l997 would have increased
by approximately  $49,800.  The effect of the change on the aggregate of service
and interest cost for 1997 would be an increase of approximately $6,500.

       As further  discussed  in Note 12,  the Bank  sponsors  an ESOP  covering
employees with a minimum of 1,000 hours of service per year. The ESOP,  which is
a tax qualified  employee benefit plan,  became effective upon conversion of the
Bank in May 1987,  and provides  retirement  benefits  for the  employees of the
Bank.

Activity in the ESOP follows:

Number of shares held by the ESOP at December 31, 1994                 204,477
Distributions to former employees                                       (7,626)
Purchase of shares funded by excess liquidity in the ESOP                4,924
Purchase of shares funded by a $100,000 contribution
   from the Bank                                                         6,746
Number of shares held by the ESOP at December 31, 1995                 208,521
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distributions to former employees                                         (810)
Purchase of shares funded by excess liquidity in the ESOP                5,124
Purchase of shares funded by a $175,000 contribution
   from the Bank                                                        12,843
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Number of shares held by the ESOP at December 31, 1996                 225,678
Distribution to former employees                                       (14,057)
Purchase of shares funded by excess liquidity in the ESOP                5,542
Purchase of shares funded by a $100,000 contribution
   from the Bank                                                         3,814
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Number of shares held by the ESOP at December 31, 1997                 220,977
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The above  shares  reflect the  three-for-two  stock split paid in the form of a
stock dividend on July 1, 1997.

       At December  31, 1997,  approximately  188,500  shares were  allocated to
participants, approximately 16,200 were committed to be released during 1998 and
approximately 16,300 shares were unallocated and secured the ESOP borrowing.

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

       The Bank  maintains  a 401(k)  Savings  Plan  which is  available  to all
full-time employees who have completed one year of service and have attained the
age of 21.

       Under the plan,  eligible  employees  may elect to have the Bank withhold
between  one  percent  and ten  percent of their  base  salary  through  payroll
deductions  and  contribute  that amount to the plan as a savings  contribution.
Participants  will receive an employer  matching  contribution of fifty percent.
The money  contributed  is invested at the  employees'  direction  by the plan's
trustees. Employees are fully vested in this plan on their third employment date
anniversary with the Bank.

       401(k) expenses totaled $103,000, $91,000 and $79,000 for the years ended
December 31, 1997, 1996 and 1995, respectively, and are included in Salaries and
Employee Benefits in the accompanying Consolidated Statements of Income.


NOTE 10 -- STOCK OPTION PLANS

       At December 31,  1997,  the  Corporation  had four option plans which are
described below.  All amounts  presented below reflect the  three-for-two  stock
split  paid in the form of a stock  dividend  on July 1,  1997.  Under  the 1992
Directors'  Plan, the  Corporation  may grant options to its Directors for up to
67,500  shares of common  stock.  Under  the 1987 and 1992  Officers'  Incentive
Plans,  the Corporation may grant options to purchase 177,750 and 157,500 shares
of common stock, respectively.  Under the 1997 Long-Term Incentive Stock Benefit
Plan,  the  Corporation  may  grant  options  and  awards to its  Directors  and
Officers,  for up to 27,000 and 225,000  shares of common  stock,  respectively.
Under the plans,  the exercise  price of each option  equals the market price of
the  Corporation's  stock on the date of grant,  and an option's maximum term is
ten years.  Options  granted to  directors  vest  immediately  at date of grant.
Options to officers  vest ratably  over a three-year  period from date of grant.
Stock  awards are  determined  by a  Committee  of the Board of  Directors.  The
Corporation  has elected to continue  to account  for  stock-based  compensation
under APB Opinion No. 25,  "Accounting  for Stock  Issued to  Employees"  and to
provide pro forma  disclosures  of net income and  earnings  per share as if the
Corporation  had adopted the fair value based method of accounting in accordance
with SFAS No. 123,  "Accounting for Stock-Based  Compensation." Had compensation
cost for the  Corporation's  stock option plans been determined  consistent with
SFAS No. 123, the  Corporation's  net income and net income per share would have
been reduced to the pro forma amounts indicated below.

(In thousands, except per share data)                        1997          1996
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net income                      As Reported                $3,908        $3,108
                                Pro Forma                   3,856         3,060
Net income per share (basic)    As Reported                  1.66          1.39
                                Pro Forma                    1.64          1.37
Net income per share (diluted)  As Reported                  1.54          1.27
                                Pro Forma                    1.52          1.26
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   The fair value of each option  grant is  estimated on the date of grant using
the  Black-Scholes  option-pricing  model  with the  following  weighted-average
assumptions  used for grants in 1997 and 1996:  dividend  yield of 3%;  expected
volatility of 20%;  risk-free  interest  rates equal to the five-year CMT on the
date of each option grant; and expected lives of five years.

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

       A summary of the status of the  Corporation's  four  fixed  stock  option
plans as of December 31, 1997,  1996 and 1995 and changes during the years ended
on those dates are presented below:

                                         1997                      1996                      1995
                                   -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                  Weighted                  Weighted                  Weighted
                                                   Average                   Average                   Average
                                                  Exercise                  Exercise                  Exercise
Fixed Options                         Options        Price      Options        Price      Options        Price
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Outstanding at beginning of year      351,787      $  6.27      345,037      $  6.01      379,237        $5.93
Granted                                63,150        19.41       11,250        14.08           --           --
Exercised                            (132,863)        4.60       (4,500)        6.22      (30,450)        4.95
Forfeited                                  --           --           --           --       (3,750)        6.22
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Outstanding at end of year            282,074       $10.00      351,787      $  6.27      345,037        $6.01
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Options exercisable at year-end       239,174                   351,787
Weighted-average fair value of
     options granted during the year   $ 4.14                     $4.23
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       The  following  table  summarizes  information  about fixed stock options
outstanding at December 31, 1997:

                                        Options Outstanding                       Options Exercisable
                                      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                Number    Weighted-average                                   Number
       Range of            Outstanding           Remaining    Weighted-average       Exercisable at   Weighted-average
Exercise Prices   at December 31, 1997    Contractual Life      Exercise Price    December 31, 1997     Exercise Price
- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
$4.67 to $5.00                  27,674           1.3 years               $4.88               27,674              $4.68
 6.22 to 10.33                 180,000           5.2                      7.18              180,000               7.18
14.08 to 15.33                  52,800           8.9                     15.06               27,500              14.82
         27.25                  21,600          10.0                     27.25                4,000              27.25
               -----------------------                                            -----------------
                               282,074                                                      239,174
               -----------------------                                            -----------------

       In 1997,  18,000 shares of  restricted  stock were awarded under the 1997
Long-Term  Incentive  Stock  Benefit Plan with a grant date fair value of $15.33
per share. At December 31, 1997  restricted  stock awards totaled 18,000 shares,
of which 3,000  shares were  vested.  These shares vest ratably over a period of
six years. Total expense applicable to the stock award was $46,000 in 1997.

NOTE 11 -- SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
       In connection  with the conversion of the Bank from a mutual savings bank
to a capital  stock savings bank,  the Bank  established a liquidation  account.
This liquidation  account will be maintained for the benefit of eligible account
holders  who  continue  to  maintain  their  accounts  in  the  Bank  after  the
conversion.  The liquidation account will be reduced annually to the extent that
the eligible  account holders have reduced their eligible  deposits.  Subsequent
increases  will  not  restore  an  eligible  account  holder's  interest  in the
liquidation  account.  In the event of a  complete  liquidation,  each  eligible
account holder will be entitled to receive a distribution  from the  liquidation
account in a  proportionate  amount to the  current  adjusted  eligible  account
balances  they held.  At December  31,  1997,  the  balance in this  liquidation
account was approximately $558,000.

       In conjunction  with the merger and acquisition of Manville Savings with,
and into the Bank,  a separate  liquidation  account  was also  established.  At
December 31, 1997,  the balance in this  liquidation  account was  approximately
$154,000.

Notes continued                             Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

NOTE 12 -- BORROWINGS

       Borrowings are summarized as follows:

                                                                                            December 31,
                                                                     -----------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                                                      1997                   1996
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Federal Home Loan Bank of New York Advances:
     Interest rate based on LIBOR:5.656%;
        matures on March 6, 1998                                                 $10,000                   $ --
     Fixed interest rate:
        5.86%; matures on August 21, 1998                                         10,000                     --
        6.875%; matured on January 2, 1997                                            --                 10,000
Securities   sold   under   agreements   to   repurchase:    Collateralized   by
     mortgage-backed  securities  issued by  Federal  agencies  with a  carrying
     value,  including  accrued interest  receivable of $16,908;  fixed interest
     rate: 5.84%; matures on September 25, 2002; callable on September 25, 2000,
     or on its quarterly anniversary thereafter.                                  15,000                     --
ESOP debt                                                                            103                    154
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                 $35,103                $10,154
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

       At December 31, 1997, the Bank had an available  line of credit  totaling
$35.4 million at the Federal Home Loan Bank of New York.

       The  Corporation  may enter into  sales of  securities  under  repurchase
agreements.  Such  agreements are treated as financings  and the  obligations to
repurchase  the  same  securities  sold  are  reflected  as a  liability  in the
Consolidated  Balance  Sheet.  The dollar  amount of securities  underlying  the
agreements are book entry securities.

       At December 31,  1997,  agreements  outstanding  to  repurchase  the same
securities  totaled  $15,000,000.  There were no such agreements  outstanding at
December 31, 1996.

       Agreements to repurchase the same securities  averaged  $4,027,000 during
the year ended  December 31,  1997.  There were no such  agreements  outstanding
during the year ended December 31, 1996.  The maximum amount  outstanding at any
month-end  under such  agreements  during the year ended  December  31, 1997 was
$15,000,000.  Accrued  interest  payable  totaled $15,000 and $0 at December 31,
1997 and 1996,  respectively.  The average  interest rate on such agreements was
5.84% for the year ended December 31, 1997.

       During  August  1992,  the  ESOP  borrowed  $360,000  from  an  unrelated
financial  institution to purchase 56,841 shares of the Corporation's  stock, as
adjusted for the three-for-two  stock split paid in the form of a stock dividend
on July 1, 1997.

       The ESOP borrowing is summarized as follows:

                                                                                            December 31,
                                                                     -----------------------------------------------
                                                                                    1997                   1996
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Original principal: $360,000; matures on
   August 25, 1999; interest rate: 10.00% and
   9.75% at December 31, 1997 and 1996,
   respectively, equals the lending financial
   Institution's prime rate plus 1.50%                                          $103,000               $154,000
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                $103,000               $154,000
- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


       As principal  payments are made by the ESOP, the corresponding  liability
will be reduced and shareholders'  equity will be increased.  Principal payments
totaled $51,000 in 1997. Future principal payments are scheduled as follows:

1998                                                               $  51,000
1999                                                                  52,000
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                   $ 103,000
================================================================================

       The ESOP was established effective January 1, 1987 in connection with the
Bank's  reorganization to stock form. The ESOP is a leverage plan,  meaning that
the ESOP Trust borrowed  funds to purchase  shares of the  Corporation's  common
stock for the ESOP.  As the ESOP loan is repaid,  shares are  released  from the
unallocated stock fund to be allocated to participants of the ESOP over the term
of  the  ESOP  loan.  In  addition,  the  Corporation  and  the  bank  can  make
discretionary  contributions  to the  ESOP.  The  ESOP  uses  the  discretionary
contributions to purchase shares of the Corporation's  common stock and allocate
the shares to the participants.
       The allocation to participant's  accounts are based on each participant's
compensation  during the calendar year. All employees of the Corporation and its
affiliates  who are age 21 and over,  and have completed one year of service are
eligible to participate and have at least 1,000 hours of service per year.
       Dividends on shares of allocated and unallocated stock are held in a cash
investment fund on behalf of the participants.  However, the Corporation has the
discretion to (i) distribute  such dividends  directly to the  participants;  or
(ii) to make payments on the ESOP loan and have additional  shares  allocated to
participants'  accounts.   Additional  shares  are  allocated  to  participants'
accounts as a result of the repayment of the ESOP loan.
       As the ESOP loan is repaid and shares are released  from the  unallocated
stock fund, the Corporation records  compensation expense equal to the amount of
the principal reduction.  In addition, the Corporation also records compensation
expense  in the  amount  of any  discretionary  contribution  made to the  ESOP.
Dividends on all ESOP shares are charged to retained earnings.
       The  Corporation  recorded  an ESOP  compensation  expense  of  $129,000,
$306,000 and $117,000 in 1997, 1996 and 1995  respectively,  and are included in
Salaries and Employee  Benefits in the accompanying  Consolidated  Statements of
Income.


NOTE 13 -- FAIR VALUE OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS

       The estimated fair values of the Corporation's  financial  instruments at
December 31, 1997 and 1996 are as follows:


                                                             December 31, 1997               December 31, 1996
                                                     -------------------------        ----------------------------
                                                      Carrying            Fair        Carrying            Fair
(In thousands)                                           Value           Value           Value           Value
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Financial assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents                          $ 34,016        $ 34,016        $ 32,753        $ 32,753
   Securities available-for-sale                        48,951          48,951          47,253          47,253
   Investment securities, net                           41,307          40,919          51,919          51,202
   Loans, net of unearned income                       267,700         272,041         235,070         236,265
   Less:  Allowance for loan losses                     (3,305)             --          (2,965)             --
   Net loans                                           264,395         272,041         232,105         236,265
Federal Home Loan Bank
   of New York Stock                                     2,672           2,672           2,672           2,672

Financial liabilities:
   Deposits                                            337,084         337,657         331,178         331,777
   Borrowings                                           35,103          36,034          10,154          10,154
- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

36

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


NOTE 14 -- COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES
       The Bank is a party to financial instruments with  off-balance-sheet risk
in the normal course of business to meet the financing  needs of its  customers.
These  instruments  expose  the Bank to  credit  risk in  excess  of the  amount
recognized in the balance sheet.
       The Bank's exposure to credit loss in the event of non-performance by the
other party to the  financial  instrument  for  commitments  to extend credit is
represented by the contractual  amount of those  instruments.  The Bank uses the
same credit policies in making  commitments  and  conditional  obligations as it
does for  on-balance-sheet  instruments.  Total credit exposure related to these
items at December 31, 1997 and 1996 is summarized below:

                                                                                      Contractual Amount
                                                                                         December 31,
- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                                                 1997                    1996
- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mortgage loan commitments (primarily variable rate)                         $ 8,910                 $ 6,916
Unused portion of commercial lines of credit and
   undisbursed portion of construction loans                                 26,973                  23,993
Unused portion of home equity lines of credit                                 9,042                   9,320
Performance standby letters of credit                                         1,683                   2,048
- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                            $46,608                 $42,277
=================================================================================================================

       Commitments to extend credit are agreements to lend to a customer as long
as  there  is no  violation  of  any  condition  established  in  the  contract.
Commitments  generally have fixed expiration dates or other termination  clauses
and may require  payment of a fee. The Bank  evaluates  each  customer's  credit
worthiness on a case-by-case  basis. The amount of collateral obtained if deemed
necessary by the Bank upon extension of credit is based on  management's  credit
evaluation of the counterpart Collateral held is generally real estate.
       Performance standby letters of credit are conditional  commitments issued
by the Bank to  guarantee  the  performance  of an act of a customer  to a third
party.  The most common purpose is to guarantee  completion of sitework within a
housing tract.
       Interest  rates on the above  commitments  are  primarily  of a  variable
nature.
       In the normal  course of business,  there are  outstanding  various legal
proceedings and claims which are not included in the  accompanying  consolidated
financial  statements.  In the opinion of  management,  the financial  position,
liquidity and results of operations  of the  Corporation  will not be materially
affected by the outcome of such legal proceedings and claims.


NOTE 15 -- CONCENTRATION OF CREDIT RISK
       The Corporation grants residential, consumer, construction and commercial
loans  secured  generally  by real  estate to  customers  located  primarily  in
Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, New Jersey and nearby communities. In addition,
parcels of real estate acquired by foreclosure and under foreclosure are located
in the same market area. Accordingly, as with most financial institutions in the
market area, the ultimate  collectibility  of a substantial  portion of the loan
portfolio  and  recoverability  of  real  estate  acquired  by  foreclosure  are
susceptible to changes in market conditions in these areas.

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


NOTE 16 -- LONG-TERM LEASES
       The future minimum rental  commitments  required under  operating  leases
that have initial or remaining  non-cancelable lease terms in excess of one year
are as follows:

                                                                      Minimum
                  Year ended December 31,                        Rent Expense
                  --------------------------------------------------------------
                  (In thousands)
                  1998                                                 $  625
                  1999                                                    634
                  2000                                                    642
                  2001                                                    597
                  2002                                                    525
                  Thereafter                                            2,873
                  --------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                       $5,896
                  ==============================================================

       Rent expense  included in occupancy  expense for the years ended December
31,  1997,   1996  and  1995  amounted  to  $290,000,   $226,000  and  $177,000,
respectively.


NOTE 17 -- DIVIDENDS AND OTHER RESTRICTIONS
       Subject to applicable  law, the Board of Directors of the Bank and of the
Corporation may each provide for the payment of dividends.
       The Bank will not be permitted to pay  dividends on its capital  stock if
its retained earnings would thereby be reduced below the amount required for the
liquidation accounts established at the time of its conversion to stock form and
the  issuance  of  stock  resulting  from  the  Manville   Savings'  merger  and
acquisition,  or  applicable  regulatory  capital  requirements.  New Jersey law
provides  that no  dividend  may be  paid  unless,  after  the  payment  of such
dividend, the capital stock of the Bank will not be impaired and either the Bank
will have a statutory  surplus of not less than 50% of its capital  stock or the
payment of such dividend will not reduce the statutory  surplus of the Bank. The
Bank has  designated a capital  surplus of $2.0 million,  which is not available
for the payment of dividends.
       During the years ended  December  31, 1997,  1996 and 1995,  the Board of
Directors  of the  Corporation  declared  cash  dividends  totaling  $1,123,000,
$893,000 and $790,000, respectively.


NOTE 18 -- CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS
       The Federal  Reserve Board in the case of bank holding  companies such as
the Corporation,  and the FDIC in the case of state banks such as the Bank, have
adopted  risk-based  capital  guidelines  which require a minimum ratio of 8% of
total risk-based  capital to assets, as defined in the guidelines.  At least one
half of the total  capital,  or 4%, is to be  comprised  of  common  equity  and
qualifying  perpetual  preferred  stock,  less  deductible  intangibles  (Tier 1
capital).
       In addition,  the Federal  Reserve  Board and the FDIC  supplemented  the
risk-based  capital  guidelines with an additional  capital ratio referred to as
the leverage ratio or core capital ratio.  The  regulations  require a financial
institution to maintain a minimum leverage ratio of 4% to 5%, depending upon the
condition of the institution.
       Under its prompt corrective action  regulations,  the FDIC is required to
take certain supervisory actions (and may take additional discretionary actions)
with  respect to an  undercapitalized  institution.  Such  actions  could have a
direct  material  effect  on  the  institution's   financial   statements.   The
regulations   establish  a  framework  for  the   classification  of  depository
institutions  into five categories:  well capitalized,  adequately  capitalized,
undercapitalized,     significantly     undercapitalized,     and     critically
undercapitalized. Generally, an institution is considered well capitalized if it
has a leverage  ratio of at least 5.0%; a Tier 1 capital ratio of at least 6.0%;
and a total risk-based capital ratio of at least 10.00%.

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary


       The foregoing  capital ratios are based in part on specific  quantitative
measures  of  assets,   liabilities  and  certain  off-balance  sheet  items  as
calculated  under   regulatory   accounting   practices.   Capital  amounts  and
classifications   are  subject  to  qualitative   judgments  by  the  regulatory
authorities about capital components, risk weightings and other factors.
       Management  believes that, as of December 31, 1997, the  Corporation  and
the Bank meet all  capital  adequacy  requirements  to which  they are  subject.
Further,  the  most  recent  FDIC  notification  characterized  the  Bank  as  a
well-capitalized  institution under the prompt  corrective  action  regulations.
There have been no conditions or events since that  notification that management
believes have changed the Corporation's or Bank's capital classification.

The following is a summary of the  Corporation's  and the Bank's actual  capital
amounts and ratios as of December 31, 1997 and 1996  compared to the  regulatory
authorities'   minimum  capital  adequacy   requirements  and  requirements  for
classification as a well capitalized institution:

                                                                     Regulatory Requirements
                                     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                          Minimum            For Classification
                                                 Actual              Capital Adequacy        As Well Capitalized
                                     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                          Amount       Ratio        Amount       Ratio       Amount      Ratio
- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Corporation:
December 31, 1997
Leverage (Tier 1) capital                $29,657      7.330%       $16,184       4.00%      $20,230      5.00%
Risk-based capital:
Tier 1                                    29,657     12.255          9,680       4.00        14,520      6.00
Total                                     32,685     13.507         19,359       8.00        24,199     10.00

December 31, 1996
Leverage (Tier 1) capital                 26,767       7.440        14,391       4.00        17,989      5.00
Risk-based capital:
Tier 1                                    26,767      12.834         8,343       4.00        12,514      6.00
Total                                     29,378      14.086        16,685       8.00        20,856     10.00

The Bank:
December 31, 1997
Leverage (Tier 1) capital                 29,605       7.319        16,180       4.00        20,225      5.00
Risk-based capital:
Tier 1                                    29,605      12.235         9,679       4.00        14,519      6.00
Total                                     32,633      13.486        19,358       8.00        24,198     10.00

December 31, 1996
Leverage (Tier 1) capital                 26,764       7.440        14,389       4.00        17,987      5.00
Risk-based capital:
Tier 1                                    26,764      12.833         8,342       4.00        12,513      6.00
Total                                     29,375      14.085        16,684       8.00        20,855     10.00
- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes continued                              Raritan Bancorp Inc. and Subsidiary

NOTE 19 -- RECAPITALIZATION OF SAVINGS ASSOCIATION INSURANCE FUND ("SAIF")

       On September 30, 1996, legislation was enacted which, among other things,
imposed  a special  one-time  assessment  on SAIF  insured  deposits,  including
approximately  $83.0 million in "Oakar" and "Sasser"  deposits held by the Bank,
to  recapitalize  the SAIF and spread the  obligations  for payment of Financing
Corporation  ("FICO")  bonds  across all SAIF and Bank  Insurance  Fund  ("BIF")
members. The FDIC special assessment being levied amount to 65.7 basis points on
SAIF  assessable  deposits held as of March 31, 1995. The Bank recorded a charge
of  $436,000  before  tax-effect,  as a result of the special  assessment.  This
legislation eliminated the substantial disparity between the amount that BIF and
SAIF member institutions had been paying for deposit insurance premiums.


NOTE 20 -- ACQUISITION AND MERGER OF MANVILLE SAVINGS BANK, SLA

       Effective August 1, 1996, the Manville Savings Bank, SLA was merged with,
and  into,  the Bank  pursuant  to a merger  agreement.  As part of the  merger,
186,894 (as  adjusted  for the  three-for-two  stock split paid in the form of a
stock dividend on July 1, 1997),  common shares of the Corporation  were issued.
Proceeds from the issuance of these shares totaled $2.0 million. The transaction
was accounted for using the purchase  method of  accounting.  Negative  goodwill
totaling  $746,000 was recorded and is being accreted to income over a period of
five years  using the  straight-line  method.  Net loans and  deposits  acquired
totaled $11.9 million and $12.5 million;  respectively.  The  acquisition had an
immaterial impact on the Corporation's results of operations.


NOTE 21 -- RECENTLY ISSUED ACCOUNTING PRONOUNCEMENTS

       Statement  of  Financial   Accounting   Standards  No.  130.   "Reporting
Comprehensive  Income" ("Statement 130") was issued in June, 1997. Statement 130
establishes  standards for reporting and display of comprehensive income and its
components  in a  full  set  of  general  purpose  financial  statements.  Under
Statement  130,  comprehensive  income  is  divided  into net  income  and other
comprehensive  income.  Other  comprehensive  income  includes items  previously
recorded  directly in equity,  such as unrealized  gains or losses on securities
available-for-sale.  Statement 130 is effective  for interim and annual  periods
beginning after December 15, 1997. Comparative financial statements provided for
earlier periods are required to be  reclassified  to reflect  application of the
provisions of the Statement.

       Statement of Financial Accounting  Standards No. 131,  "Disclosures about
Segments of an Enterprise and Related Information"  ("Statement 131") was issued
June,  1997.  Statement 131  establishes  standards for the way public  business
enterprises  are to  report  information  about  operating  segments  in  annual
financial statements and requires those enterprises to report selected financial
information   about  operating   segments  in  interim   financial   reports  to
shareholders.  Statement 131 is effective for financial  statements  for periods
beginning after December 15, 1997.


NOTE 22 -- RARITAN BANCORP INC. (PARENT COMPANY ONLY)

       Raritan  Bancorp Inc.  operates a  wholly-owned  subsidiary,  The Raritan
Savings Bank. The earnings of the Bank are recognized by the  Corporation  using
the equity method of accounting.  Accordingly, earnings of the Bank are recorded
as increases in the  Corporation's  investment and any dividends are recorded as
dividend  income from the Bank.  For  purposes  of  reporting  cash flows,  cash
includes  cash due from  bank.  Condensed  financial  statements  of the  Parent
Company only follow:

Raritan Bancorp Inc.
Parent Company Only
CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS



CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS                                                                                 December 31,
                                                                                                ---------------------------
(In thousands)                                                                                        1997            1996
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Assets:
     Cash                                                                                          $    38         $    14
     Investment in subsidiary Bank                                                                  30,823          28,265
     Other assets                                                                                       23               1
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                                   $30,884         $28,280
===========================================================================================================================
Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity:
     Accrued expenses                                                                              $    10         $    12
     Shareholders' equity                                                                           30,874          28,268
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                                   $30,884         $ 28,280
===========================================================================================================================

CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                                                                             Year ended December 31,
                                                                             ----------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                                                       1997             1996            1995
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income:
     Dividend income                                                               $1,610           $2,485          $1,480
Expenses                                                                               65               16              16
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                    1,545            2,469           1,464
Income tax benefit                                                                    (22)              (5)             (5)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income before equity in undistributed
     earnings of subsidiary                                                         1,567            2,474           1,469
Equity in undistributed earnings of subsidiary                                      2,341              634           1,203
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net income                                                                         $3,908           $3,108          $2,672
===========================================================================================================================

CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                                                                           Year ended December 31,
                                                                              ---------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                                                       1997             1996            1995
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash Flows From Operating Activities:
     Dividends received from the Bank                                             $ 1,610          $ 2,485         $ 1,480
     Expenses paid by cash                                                            (22)             (16)            (15)
     Income taxes reimbursed by Bank                                                    7                6               4
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash provided by operating activities                                           1,595            2,475           1,469
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash Flows From Investing Activities:
     Additional investment in subsidiary                                               --           (1,339)             --
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash used in investing activities                                                  --           (1,339)             --
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash Flows From Financing Activities:
     Issuance of common stock                                                         613            2,027             150
     Treasury stock acquired at cost                                               (1,061)          (2,300)           (827)
     Dividends paid                                                                (1,123)            (893)           (790)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash used by financing activities                                              (1,571)          (1,166)         (1,467)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net increase in cash                                                                   24              (30)              2
Cash at beginning of year                                                              14               44              42
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash at end of year                                                               $    38          $    14         $    44
===========================================================================================================================

A  reconciliation  of net income to net cash  provided by  operating  activities
follows:
                                                                                           Year ended December 31,
                                                                               --------------------------------------------
(In thousands)                                                                       1997             1996            1995
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net income                                                                        $ 3,908           $3,108         $ 2,672
Adjustments   to  reconcile  net  income  to  net  cash  provided  by  operating
activities:
     Decrease in accrued expenses                                                      (2)              (1)             (1)
     Decrease in income taxes receivable                                               30                2               1
     Equity in undistributed earnings of subsidiary                                (2,341)            (634)         (1,203)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total adjustments                                                             (2,313)            (633)         (1,203)
- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash provided by operating activities                                         $ 1,595           $2,475         $ 1,469
===========================================================================================================================

Independent auditors' report



To the Board of Directors and Shareholders
Raritan Bancorp Inc.

We have  audited the  consolidated  balance  sheets of Raritan  Bancorp Inc. and
subsidiary  as of  December  31,  1997  and 1996  and the  related  consolidated
statements of income,  changes in shareholders'  equity, and cash flows for each
of  the  years  in  the  three-year   period  ended  December  31,  1997.  These
consolidated  financial  statements are the  responsibility of the Corporation's
management.  Our  responsibility is to express an opinion on these  consolidated
financial statements based on our audits.

       We conducted our audits in accordance  with generally  accepted  auditing
standards.  Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain
reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements are free of material
misstatement.  An audit includes examining, on a test basis, evidence supporting
the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements.  An audit also includes
assessing the  accounting  principles  used and  significant  estimates  made by
management,  as well as evaluating the overall financial statement presentation.
We believe that our audits provide a reasonable basis for our opinion.

       In our opinion,  the consolidated  financial statements referred to above
present  fairly,  in all material  respects,  the financial  position of Raritan
Bancorp  Inc.  and  subsidiary  at December 31, 1997 and 1996 and the results of
their  operations  and their cash flows for each of the years in the  three-year
period ended December 31, 1997 in conformity with generally accepted  accounting
principles.


    /s/ KPMG Peat Marwick LLP

       Short Hills, New Jersey
       January 16, 1998