AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER



                                        Among



                           REPUBLIC AUTOMOTIVE PARTS, INC.

                        KEYSTONE AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES, INC.


                                         and


                                  KAI MERGER, INC.


                            Dated as of February 17, 1998

                            AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER





                    AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER (hereinafter called this

          "Agreement"), dated as of February 17, 1998, among Republic

          Automotive Parts, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the "Company"),

          Keystone Automotive Industries, Inc, a California corporation

          ("Keystone"), and  KAI Merger, Inc., a Delaware corporation and a

          wholly-owned subsidiary of Keystone ("Merger Sub").



                                      RECITALS



                    WHEREAS, the respective boards of directors of each of

          Keystone, Merger Sub and the Company have approved the merger of

          Merger Sub with and into the Company (the "Merger") and adopted

          this Agreement;



                    WHEREAS, it is intended that, for federal income tax

          purposes, the Merger shall qualify as a "tax-free" reorganization

          under the provisions of Section 368(a) of the Internal Revenue

          Code of 1986, as amended, and the rules and regulations

          promulgated thereunder (the "Code");

                    WHEREAS, as an inducement to the willingness of

          Keystone to enter into this Agreement, the board of directors of

          the Company has approved the grant to Keystone of an option to

          purchase shares of common stock of the Company pursuant to a

          stock option agreement, substantially in the form of Exhibit A

          (the "Stock Option Agreement"), and each of the Company and

          Keystone have duly authorized, executed and delivered the Stock

          Option Agreement; and



                    WHEREAS, the Company, Keystone and Merger Sub desire to

          make certain representations, warranties, covenants and

          agreements in connection with this Agreement.



                    NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the premises, and

          of the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements

          contained herein, the parties hereto agree as follows:







                                      ARTICLE I



                         The Merger; Closing; Effective Time



                    1.1  The Merger.  Upon the terms and subject to the

          conditions set forth in this Agreement, at the Effective Time (as

          defined in Section 1.3) Merger Sub shall be merged with and into

          the Company and the separate corporate existence of Merger Sub

          shall thereupon cease.

          The Company shall be the surviving

          corporation in the Merger (sometimes hereinafter referred to as

          the "Surviving Corporation") and shall continue to be governed by

          the laws of the State of Delaware, and the Merger shall have the

          effects provided in the Delaware General Corporation Law ( the

          "DGCL").



                    1.2  Closing.  The closing of the Merger (the

          "Closing") shall take place (i) at the offices of Manatt, Phelps

          & Phillips, LLP, 11355 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles,

          California 090064-1614 at 9:00 a.m. local time on the second

          business day after the date on which the last to be fulfilled or

          waived of the conditions set forth in Article VII (other than

          those conditions that by their nature are to be satisfied at the

          Closing, but subject to the fulfillment or waiver of those

          conditions) shall be satisfied or waived in accordance with this

          Agreement or (ii) at such other place and time and/or on such

          other date as the Company and Keystone may agree in writing (the

          "Closing Date").



                    1.3  Effective Time.  As soon as practicable following

          the Closing, the Company and Keystone will cause a certificate of

          merger (the "Certificate of Merger") to be signed, acknowledged

          and delivered for filing with the Secretary of State of the State

          of Delaware as provided in Sections 251(c) and 103 of the DGCL.

          The Merger  shall become effective at the time when the

          Certificate of Merger shall have become effective in accordance

          with the DGCL (the "Effective Time").

                                     ARTICLE II



              Certificate of Incorporation and By-Laws of the Surviving

                                     Corporation



                    2.1  The Certificate of Incorporation.  The certificate

          of incorporation of the Company as in effect immediately prior to

          the Effective Time shall be the certificate of incorporation of

          the Surviving Corporation (the "Charter"), until duly amended as

          provided therein or by applicable law, except that Article Fourth

          of the Charter shall be amended to read in its entirety as

          follows: "The authorized capital stock of the Corporation shall

          consist of one thousand shares of common stock having a par value

          of one dollar per share."



                    2.2  The By-Laws.  The by-laws of the Company in effect

          at the Effective Time shall be the by-laws of the Surviving

          Corporation (the "By-Laws"), until duly amended as provided

          therein or by applicable law.







                                     ARTICLE III



                         Officers, Directors and Management



                    3.1  Directors of Surviving Corporation.  The directors

          of Merger Sub at the Effective Time shall, from and after the

          Effective Time, be the directors of the Surviving Corporation

          until their successors shall have been duly elected or appointed

          and shall have
          qualified or until their earlier death,

          resignation or removal in accordance with the Charter and the By-

          Laws.



                    3.2  Officers of Surviving Corporation.  The officers

          of the Company at the Effective Time (other than the Chairman of

          the Board of the Company) shall, from and after the Effective

          Time, be the officers of the Surviving Corporation until their

          successors shall have been duly elected or appointed and shall

          have qualified or until their earlier death, resignation or

          removal in accordance with the Charter and the By-Laws.







                                     ARTICLE IV



                       Effect of the Merger on Capital Stock;

                              Exchange of Certificates



                    4.1  Effect on Capital Stock.  At the Effective Time,

          as a result of the Merger and without any action on the part of

          the holder of any capital stock of the Company:


                         (a)  Merger Consideration.  Each share of the

          common stock, having a par value of $0.50 per share (each a

          "Company Share" and together the "Company Shares"), of the

          Company issued ;and outstanding immediately prior to the

          Effective Time (other than (i) Company Shares that are owned by

          Keystone or Merger Sub; or (ii) Company Shares that are held in

          the treasury of the Company (collectively, "Excluded Company

          Shares")) shall be
          converted into 0.80 of a share (the "Exchange

          Ratio") of common stock, no par value, of Keystone ("Keystone

          Common Stock"), subject to adjustment as provided in Section 4.4

          (the "Merger Consideration").  At the Effective Time, all Company

          Shares shall no longer be outstanding, shall be canceled and

          retired and shall cease to exist, and each certificate (a

          "Certificate") formerly representing any Company Shares (other

          than Excluded Company Shares) shall thereafter represent only the

          right to the Merger Consideration and the right, if any, to

          receive, pursuant to Section 4.2(d), cash in lieu of fractional

          shares into which such Company Shares have been converted

          pursuant to this Section 4.1(a).



                         (b)  Cancellation of Shares.  Each Company Share

          issued and outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time

          and owned directly by Keystone, Merger Sub or the Company shall,

          by virtue of the Merger and without any action on the part of the

          holder thereof, no longer be outstanding, shall be canceled and

          retired without payment of any consideration therefor and shall

          cease to exist.


                         (c)  Merger Sub.  At the Effective Time, each

          share of common stock, par value $0.10 per share, of Merger Sub

          issued and outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time

          shall be converted into one share of common stock of the

          Surviving Corporation, and the Surviving Corporation shall be a

          wholly-owned subsidiary of Keystone.



                    4.2  Exchange of Certificates for Shares.

                         (a)  Exchange Procedures.  As soon as practicable

          after the Effective Time, the Surviving Corporation shall cause

          an exchange agent (the "Exchange Agent"), selected by Keystone

          with the Company's prior approval, which shall not be

          unreasonably withheld, to mail to each holder of record of

          Company Shares (other than holders of record of Excluded Company

          Shares) (i) a letter of transmittal specifying that delivery

          shall be effected, and that risk of loss and title to the

          Certificates shall pass, only upon delivery of the Certificates

          (or affidavits of loss in lieu thereof) to the Exchange Agent,

          such letter of transmittal to be in such form and have such other

          provisions as Keystone and the Company may reasonably agree, and

          (ii) instructions for surrendering the Certificates in exchange

          for (A) uncertificated shares of Keystone Common Stock registered

          on the stock transfer books of Keystone in the name of such

          holder ("Registered Keystone Shares") or, at the election of such

          holder, certificates representing shares of Keystone Common Stock

          and (B) cash in lieu of fractional shares.  Subject to

          Section 4.2(g), upon surrender of a Certificate for cancellation

          to the Exchange Agent together with such letter of transmittal,

          duly executed, the holder of such Certificate shall be entitled

          to receive in exchange therefor (x) Registered Keystone Shares

          or, at the election of such holder, a certificate, representing

          that number of whole shares of Keystone Common Stock that such

          holder is entitled to receive pursuant to this Article IV, (y) a

          check in the amount (after giving effect to any required tax

          withholdings) of any cash in lieu of fractional shares, and the

          Certificate so surrendered shall forthwith be canceled.  No

          interest will be paid or accrued on any amount payable upon due

          surrender of the Certificates.  In the event of a transfer of

          ownership of Company Shares that is not registered in the

          transfer records of the Company, the Registered Keystone Shares

          or certificate, as the case may be, representing the proper

          number of shares of

          Keystone Common Stock, together with a check

          for any cash to be paid upon due surrender of the Certificate,

          may be issued and/or paid to such a transferee if the Certificate

          formerly representing such Company Shares is presented to the

          Exchange Agent, accompanied by all documents required to evidence

          and effect such transfer and to evidence that any applicable

          stock transfer taxes have been paid.  If any Registered Keystone

          Shares or certificate for shares of Keystone Common Stock is to

          be issued in a name other than that in which the Certificate

          surrendered in exchange therefor is registered, it shall be a

          condition of such exchange that the Person (as defined below)

          requesting such exchange shall pay any transfer or other taxes

          required by reason of the issuance of  Registered Keystone Shares

          or certificates for shares of Keystone Common Stock in a name

          other than that of the registered holder of the Certificate

          surrendered, or shall establish to the satisfaction of Keystone

          or the Exchange Agent that such tax has been paid or is not

          applicable.



                    For the purposes of this Agreement, the term "Person"

          shall mean any individual, corporation (including not-for-

          profit), general or limited partnership, limited liability

          company, joint venture, estate, trust, association, organization,

          Governmental Entity (as defined in Section 5.1(b)) or other

          entity of any kind or nature.



                         (b)  Voting.  Holders of unsurrendered

          Certificates shall not be entitled to vote after the Effective

          Time at any meeting of Keystone stockholders with a record date

          at or after the Effective Time.

                         (c)  Transfers.  After the Effective Time, there

          shall be no transfers on the stock transfer books of the Company

          of the Company Shares that were outstanding immediately prior to

          the Effective Time.



                         (d)  Fractional Shares.  Notwithstanding any other

          provision of this Agreement, no fractional shares of Keystone

          Common Stock will be issued and any holder of record of Company

          Shares entitled to receive a fractional share of Keystone Common

          Stock, but for this Section 4.2(d), shall be entitled to receive

          an amount in cash (without interest) determined by multiplying

          such fraction (rounded to the nearest one-hundredth of a share)

          by the closing price of a share of Keystone Common Stock, on the

          NASDAQ National Market, as reported in The Wall Street Journal,

          West Coast edition, for the last trading day prior to the

          Effective Time.  Keystone shall make available to the Exchange

          Agent cash in an amount sufficient to make the payments in lieu

          of fractional shares of Keystone Common Stock.



                         (e)  Termination of Exchange Period; Unclaimed

          Stock.  Any shares of Keystone Common Stock and any portion of

          the cash payable with respect to the Keystone Common Stock

          pursuant to Section 4.1 and Section 4.2(d) (including the

          proceeds of any investments thereof) that remains unclaimed by

          the former shareholders of the Company 180 days after the

          Effective Time shall be paid to Keystone.  Any former

          shareholders of the Company who have not theretofore complied

          with this Article IV shall look only to Keystone for payment of

          their shares of Keystone Common Stock and any cash issuable

          and/or payable pursuant to Section 4.1 and Section 4.2(d) upon

          due surrender of their Certificates (or affidavits
          of loss in

          lieu thereof), in each case, without any interest thereon.

          Notwithstanding the foregoing, none of Keystone, the Surviving

          Corporation, the Exchange Agent or any other Person shall be

          liable to any former holder of Company Shares for any amount

          properly delivered to a public official pursuant to applicable

          abandoned property, escheat or similar laws.



                         (f)  Lost, Stolen or Destroyed Certificates.  In

          the event any Certificate shall have been lost, stolen or

          destroyed, upon the making of an affidavit of that fact by the

          Person claiming such Certificate to be lost, stolen or destroyed

          and the posting by such Person of a bond in the form customarily

          required by Keystone as indemnity against any claim that may be

          made against it with respect to such Certificate, Keystone will

          issue the shares of Keystone Common Stock, and the Exchange Agent

          will issue any cash payment in lieu of a fractional share in

          respect thereof, issuable and/or payable in exchange for such

          lost, stolen or destroyed Certificate pursuant to this Article IV

          upon due surrender of and deliverable in respect of the Company

          Shares represented by such Certificate pursuant to this

          Agreement, in each case, without interest.



                         (g)  Affiliates.  Notwithstanding anything herein

          to the contrary, Certificates surrendered for exchange by any

          Affiliate (as defined in Section 6.7(a)) of the Company shall not

          be exchanged until Keystone has received a written agreement from

          such Person as provided in Section 6.7 hereof.

                    4.3  Adjustments to Prevent Dilution.  In the event

          that prior to the Effective Time there is a change in the number

          of Company Shares or shares of Keystone Common Stock or

          securities convertible or exchangeable into or exercisable for

          Company Shares or shares of Keystone Common Stock issued and

          outstanding as a result of a distribution, reclassification,

          stock split (including a reverse split), stock dividend or

          distribution, merger (except as contemplated by this Agreement)

          or other similar transaction, the Exchange Ratio shall be

          equitably adjusted to eliminate the effects of such event.





                                      ARTICLE V



                           Representations and Warranties



                    5.1  Representations and Warranties of the Company,

          Keystone and Merger Sub.  Except as set forth in the disclosure

          letter, dated the date hereof, delivered by the Company to

          Keystone or by Keystone to the Company (each a "Disclosure

          Letter", and the "Company Disclosure Letter" and the "Keystone

          Disclosure Letter", respectively), as the case may be, the

          Company (except for references in subparagraphs (a), (b)(ii) and

          (c) below to documents made available or disclosed by Keystone to

          the Company) hereby represents and warrants to Keystone and

          Merger Sub, and Keystone (except for references in subparagraphs

          (a), (b)(ii) and (c) below to documents made available or

          disclosed by the Company to Keystone), on behalf of itself and

          Merger Sub, hereby represents and warrants to the Company, that:

                         (a)  Organization, Good Standing and

          Qualification.  Each of it and its Subsidiaries is a corporation

          duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the

          laws of its respective jurisdiction of organization and has all

          requisite corporate or similar power and authority to own and

          operate its properties and assets and to carry on its business as

          presently conducted and is qualified to do business and is in

          good standing as a foreign corporation in each jurisdiction where

          the ownership or operation of its properties or conduct of its

          business requires such qualification, except where the failure to

          be so qualified or in good standing is not, when taken together

          with all other such failures, reasonably likely to have a

          Material Adverse Effect (as defined below) on it.  It has made

          available to Keystone, in the case of the Company, and to the

          Company, in the case of Keystone, a complete and correct copy of

          its certificate of incorporation and by-laws, each as amended to

          date.  Such certificates of incorporation and by-laws as so made

          available are in full force and effect.



                    As used in this Agreement, (i) the term "Subsidiary"

          means, with respect to the Company, Keystone, or Merger Sub, as

          the case may be, any entity, whether incorporated or

          unincorporated, of which at least fifty percent of the securities

          or ownership interests having by their terms ordinary voting

          power to elect at least fifty percent of the board of directors

          or other Persons performing similar functions is directly or

          indirectly owned by such party or by one or more of its

          respective Subsidiaries or by such party and any one or more of

          its respective Subsidiaries, (ii) the term "Material Adverse

          Effect" means, with respect to any Person, a material adverse

          effect on the total enterprise value of such Person and its

          Subsidiaries, taken as a whole, other than effects or changes

          resulting from the execution of this Agreement or the
          announcement thereof, and (iii) reference to "the other party"

          means, with respect to the Company, Keystone and means, with

          respect to Keystone, the Company.



                         (b)  Governmental Filings; No Violations.  (i)

          Other than (A) the filings pursuant to Section 1.3 and

          Section 6.8, (B) the notification under the Hart-Scott-Rodino

          Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976, as amended (the "HSR Act"),

          the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange

          Act") and the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities

          Act"), (C) the filings and/or notice to comply with state

          securities or "blue-sky" laws (such filings and/or notices of the

          Company being the "Company Required Consents" and of Keystone

          being the "Keystone Required Consents"), no notices, reports or

          other filings are required to be made by it to or with, nor are

          any consents, registrations, approvals, permits or authorizations

          required to be obtained by it from, any governmental or

          regulatory authority, court, agency, commission, body or other

          governmental entity ("Governmental Entity"), in connection with

          the execution and delivery of this Agreement and the Stock Option

          Agreement by it and the consummation by it of the Merger and the

          other transactions contemplated hereby and thereby, except those

          that the failure to make or obtain are not, individually or in

          the aggregate, reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse

          Effect on it or to prevent, or materially impair its ability to

          effect, the consummation by it of the transactions contemplated

          by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement.



                              (ii) The execution, delivery and performance

          of this Agreement and the Stock Option Agreement by it do not,

          and the consummation by it of the Merger and the other
          transactions contemplated hereby and thereby will not, constitute

          or result in (A) a breach or violation of, or a default under,

          its certificate of incorporation or by-laws or the comparable

          governing instruments of any of its "Significant Subsidiaries",

          as such term is defined in Rule 1.02(w) of Regulation S-X

          promulgated under the Exchange Act, (B) a material breach or

          material violation of, a material default under, the acceleration

          of any obligations or the creation of a lien, pledge, security

          interest or other encumbrance on its assets or the assets of any

          of its Subsidiaries (with or without notice, lapse of time or

          both) pursuant to, any agreement, lease, contract, note,

          mortgage, indenture, arrangement or other obligation

          ("Contracts") binding upon it or any of its Subsidiaries or any

          Law (as defined in Section 5.1(h)) or (C) any change in the

          rights or obligations of any party under any of its Contracts,

          except for any breach, violation, default, acceleration, creation

          or change that, individually or in the aggregate, is not

          reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it or to

          prevent, or materially impair its ability to effect, the

          consummation by it of the transactions contemplated by this

          Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement.  The Company Disclosure

          Letter, with respect to the Company, and the Keystone Disclosure

          Letter, with respect to Keystone, sets forth a correct and

          complete list of all Contracts of it and its Subsidiaries

          required to be filed as material contract exhibits under the

          Exchange Act and pursuant to which consents or waivers are or may

          be required prior to consummation of the transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement.



                         (c)  Reports; Financial Statements.  It has made

          available to the other party each registration statement, report,

          proxy statement or information statement prepared by it since

          December 31, 1996 as to the Company and since March 28, 1997 as

          to Keystone (the "Audit Date"), including its Annual Report on

          Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 1996 for the Company

          and for the year ended March 28, 1997 for Keystone in the form

          (including exhibits, annexes and any amendments thereto) filed

          with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC")

          (collectively, including any such reports filed subsequent to the

          date hereof, its "Reports").  As of their respective dates, its

          Reports did not contain any untrue statement of a material fact

          or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or

          necessary to make the statements made therein, in the light of

          the circumstances in which they were made, not misleading.  Each

          of the consolidated balance sheets included in or incorporated by

          reference into its Reports (including the related notes and

          schedules) fairly presents the consolidated financial position of

          it and its Subsidiaries as of its date and each of the

          consolidated statements of income and of cash flows included in

          or incorporated by reference into its Reports (including any

          related notes and schedules) fairly presents the consolidated

          results of operations and cash flows of it and its Subsidiaries

          for the periods set forth therein (subject, in the case of

          unaudited statements, to notes and year-end audit adjustments

          that will not be material in amount or effect), in each case in

          accordance with generally accepted accounting principles ("GAAP")

          consistently applied during the periods involved, except as may

          be noted therein.



                         (d)  Absence of Certain Changes.  Except as

          disclosed in its Reports filed prior to the date hereof, as set

          forth in the Disclosure Letters or as expressly contemplated by

          this Agreement, since the Audit Date it and its Subsidiaries have

          conducted their respective
          businesses only in the ordinary and

          usual course of such businesses, and there has not been (i) any

          change in the financial condition, business or results of

          operations of it and its Subsidiaries, except those changes that

          are not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to

          have a Material Adverse Effect on it; (ii) any damage,

          destruction or other casualty loss with respect to any asset or

          property owned, leased or otherwise used by it or any of its

          Subsidiaries, whether or not covered by insurance, which damage,

          destruction or loss is reasonably likely, individually or in the

          aggregate, after taking into account any insurance coverage, to

          have a Material Adverse Effect on it; (iii) any declaration,

          setting aside or payment of any dividend or other distribution in

          respect of its capital stock; or (iv) any change by it in

          accounting principles, practices or methods except as required by

          GAAP.



                         (e)  Litigation and Liabilities.  Except as

          disclosed in its Reports filed prior to the date hereof and in

          the Disclosure Letters, there are no (i) civil, criminal or

          administrative actions, suits, claims, hearings, investigations

          or proceedings ("Litigation") pending or, to the actual knowledge

          of its named executive officers as set forth in the Proxy

          Statement for its last Annual Meeting of Stockholders (the "Named

          Executive Officers"), threatened against it or any of its

          affiliates (as defined in Rule 12b-2 under the Exchange Act) or

          (ii) obligations or liabilities, whether or not accrued,

          contingent or otherwise, including those relating to matters

          involving any Environmental Law (as defined in Section 5.2(e)),

          pending or, to the actual knowledge of its named executive

          officers, threatened against it or any of its Affiliates that in

          either case are reasonably likely to result in any claims against

          or obligations or liabilities of it or any of its Affiliates,

          except for those that are not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it or to

          prevent, or materially impair its ability to effect, the

          consummation by it of the transactions contemplated by this

          Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement; provided, that for

          purposes of this paragraph (e) no Litigation arising after the

          date hereof shall be deemed to have a Material Adverse Effect if

          and to the extent such Litigation (or any relevant part thereof)

          is based on this Agreement or the transactions contemplated

          hereby.



                         (f)  Accounting and Tax Matters.  As of the date

          hereof, neither it nor any of its Affiliates has taken or agreed

          to take any action, nor do its Named Executive Officers have any

          actual knowledge of any fact or circumstance, that would prevent

          Keystone from accounting for the business combination to be

          effected by the Merger as a "pooling-of-interests" or prevent the

          Merger from qualifying as a "reorganization" within the meaning

          of Section 368(a) of the Code.



                         (g)  Taxes.  It and each of its Subsidiaries have

          prepared in good faith and duly and timely filed (taking into

          account any extension of time within which to file) all material

          Tax Returns (as defined below) required to be filed by any of

          them and all such filed Tax Returns are complete and accurate in

          all material respects and:  (i) it and each of its Subsidiaries

          have paid all Taxes (as defined below) that are shown as due on

          such filed Tax Returns or that it or any of its Subsidiaries is

          obligated to withhold from amounts owing to any employee,

          creditor or third party, except with respect to matters contested

          in good faith or for such amounts that, alone or in the

          aggregate, are not reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse

          Effect on it; (ii) as of the date hereof, there are not pending

          against it or its Subsidiaries or, to the actual knowledge of its

          Named Executive Officers, threatened against it or its

          Subsidiaries, in writing, any audits, examinations,

          investigations or other proceedings in respect of Taxes or Tax

          matters, except with respect to matters contested in good faith

          or for such amounts that, alone or in the aggregate, are not

          reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it; and

          (iii) there are not, to the actual knowledge of its Named

          Executive Officers, any unresolved questions or claims concerning

          its or any of its Subsidiaries' Tax liability that are reasonably

          likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it.  Neither it nor

          any of its Subsidiaries has any liability with respect to income,

          franchise or similar Taxes in excess of the amounts accrued in

          respect thereof that are reflected in the financial statements

          included in its Reports, except such excess liabilities as have

          been incurred in the ordinary course of business since the date

          of such Reports and such excess liabilities as are not,

          individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to have a

          Material Adverse Effect on it.



                    As used in this Agreement, (x) the term "Tax"

          (including, with correlative meaning, the terms "Taxes", and

          "Taxable") includes all federal, state, local and foreign income,

          profits, franchise, gross receipts, environmental, customs duty,

          capital stock, severance, stamp, payroll, sales, employment,

          unemployment, disability, use, property, withholding, excise,

          production, value added, transfer, occupancy and other taxes,

          duties or assessments of any nature whatsoever, together with all

          interest, penalties and additions imposed with respect to such

          amounts and any interest in respect of such penalties and

          additions, and (y) the term "Tax Return" includes all returns,

          amended returns and reports (including elections, declarations, disclosures, schedules, estimates and information returns)

          required to be supplied to a Tax authority relating to Taxes.



                         (h)  Compliance with Laws.  Except as set forth in

          its Reports filed prior to the date hereof and in the Disclosure

          Letters, the businesses of each of it and its Subsidiaries have

          not been, and are not being, conducted in violation of any law,

          statute, ordinance, regulation, judgment, order, decree,

          injunction, arbitration award, license, authorization, opinion,

          agency requirement or permit of any Governmental Entity or common

          law (collectively, "Laws"), except for violations that are not,

          individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to have a

          Material Adverse Effect on it or to prevent, or materially impair

          its ability to effect, the consummation by it of the transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement.

          Except as set forth in its Reports filed prior to the date hereof

          and in the Disclosure Letters, as of the date hereof no

          investigation or review by any Governmental Entity with respect

          to it or any of its Subsidiaries is, to the actual knowledge of

          its Named Executive Officers, pending or threatened, nor has any

          Governmental Entity indicated to it or any of its Subsidiaries an

          intention to conduct the same, except for those the outcome of

          which are not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably

          likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it or to prevent, or

          materially impair its ability to effect, the consummation by it

          of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock

          Option Agreement.  To the actual knowledge of its Named Executive

          Officers, as of the date hereof no material change is required in

          its or any of its Subsidiaries' processes, properties or

          procedures in connection with any such Laws, and it has not

          received any notice or communication of any material

          noncompliance with any such Laws that has not been cured as of the date hereof, except for such changes and noncompliance that

          are not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to

          have a Material Adverse Effect on it or to prevent, or materially

          impair its ability to effect, the consummation by it of the

          transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option

          Agreement.  Each of it and its Subsidiaries has all permits,

          licenses, franchises, variances, exemptions, orders and other

          governmental authorizations, consents and approvals

          (collectively, "Permits") necessary to conduct their business as

          presently conducted, except for those the absence of which are

          not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to have

          a Material Adverse Effect on it.



                    5.2  Representations and Warranties of the Company.

          Except as set forth in the Company Disclosure Letter, the Company

          hereby represents and warrants to Keystone and Merger Sub that:



                         (a)  Capital Structure.  The authorized capital

          stock of the Company consists of (i) 5,000,000 Company Shares, of

          which 3,401,818 Company Shares were issued and outstanding and

          73,165 Company Shares were held in treasury, (ii) 150,000 shares

          of Preferred Stock, $1.00 par value, of which no shares were

          issued and outstanding and (iii) 50,000 shares of Junior

          Participating Cumulative Preferred Stock, $1.00 par value, of

          which no shares were issued and outstanding, as of the close of

          business on January 31, 1998.  All of the outstanding Company

          Shares have been duly authorized and are validly issued, fully

          paid and nonassessable.  Other than Company Shares reserved for

          issuance pursuant to the Stock Option Agreement and Company

          Shares reserved for issuance as set forth below or which may be

          issued in accordance with Section 6.1(a), the Company has no

          Company Shares reserved for issuance.  As of January 31, 1998,

          there were not more than (i) 750,000 Company Shares reserved for

          issuance pursuant to the Company's Stock Compensation Plan and

          (ii) 60,000 Company Shares reserved for issuance under the 1997

          Stock Option Plan for Non-Employee Directors (collectively, the

          "Stock Plans").  Each of the outstanding shares of capital stock

          or other securities of each of the Company's Significant

          Subsidiaries is duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and

          nonassessable and owned by the Company or a direct or indirect

          wholly-owned Subsidiary of the Company, free and clear of any

          lien, pledge, security interest, claim or other encumbrance.

          Except as set forth above and except for Company Shares and

          options to purchase Company Shares which may be issued in

          accordance with Section 6.1(a), neither the Company nor any of

          its Subsidiaries has any obligation with respect to any

          preemptive or other outstanding rights, options, warrants,

          conversion rights, stock appreciation rights, redemption rights,

          repurchase rights, agreements, arrangements or commitments to

          issue or sell any shares of capital stock or other securities of

          the Company or any of its Significant Subsidiaries or any

          securities or obligations convertible or exchangeable into or

          exercisable for, or giving any Person a right to subscribe for or

          acquire, any securities of the Company or any of its Significant

          Subsidiaries, and no securities or obligations evidencing such

          rights are authorized, issued or outstanding.  The Company Shares

          issuable pursuant to the Stock Option Agreement have been duly

          reserved for issuance by the Company, and upon any issuance of

          such Company Shares in accordance with the terms of the Stock

          Option Agreement, such Company Shares will be duly and validly

          issued and fully paid and nonassessable.  The Company does not

          have outstanding any bonds, debentures, notes or other

          obligations the holders of which have the right to vote (or convertible into or exercisable for securities having the right

          to vote) with the shareholders of the Company on any matter.


                         (b)  Corporate Authority; Approval and Fairness.

          The Company has all requisite corporate power and authority and

          has taken all corporate action necessary in order to execute,

          deliver and perform its obligations under this Agreement and the

          Stock Option Agreement and to consummate, subject only to

          approval of this Agreement by the holders of a majority of the

          outstanding Company Shares (the "Company Requisite Vote") and the

          Company Required Consents, the Merger.  Each of this Agreement

          and the Stock Option Agreement has been duly executed and

          delivered by the Company and, assuming the due authorization,

          execution and delivery of this Agreement by Keystone and Merger

          Sub and the due authorization, execution and delivery of the

          Stock Option Agreement by Keystone, is a valid and binding

          agreement of the Company enforceable against the Company in

          accordance with its terms, subject to bankruptcy, insolvency,

          fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws

          of general applicability relating to or affecting creditors'

          rights and to general equity principles (the "Bankruptcy and

          Equity Exception").  The board of directors of the Company

          (A) has adopted this Agreement and approved the Merger and the

          other transactions contemplated hereby, (B) has approved the

          execution and delivery of the Stock Option Agreement and (C) has

          received the opinion of its financial advisors in a customary

          form and to the effect that, as of the date of this Agreement,

          the Exchange Ratio is fair, from a financial point of view, to

          the holders of the Company Shares (other than Keystone or any of

          its affiliates) and said opinion has not been withdrawn.  The 80%

          vote requirement set forth in Article Fifteenth of the Company's

          Certificate of Incorporation, as amended, is not applicable to

          the Merger approval, the conditions of Article Fifteenth, Section

          3(a) having been duly met.



                         (c)  Employee Benefits.



                              (i)  A copy of each executive bonus, deferred

          compensation, pension, retirement, profit-sharing, thrift,

          savings, employee stock ownership, stock bonus, stock purchase,

          restricted stock, stock option, employment, termination,

          severance, compensation, medical, health or other material plan,

          agreement, policy or arrangement that covers employees,

          directors, former employees or former directors of it and its

          Subsidiaries (its "Compensation and Benefit Plans") and any trust

          agreements or insurance contracts forming a part of such

          Compensation and Benefit Plans has been made available by the

          Company to Keystone prior to the date hereof and each such

          Compensation and Benefit Plan is listed in Section 5.2(c) of the

          Company Disclosure Letter.



                              (ii) All of its Compensation and Benefit

          Plans are in substantial compliance with all applicable law,

          including the Code and the Employee Retirement Income Security

          Act of 1974, as amended ("ERISA") with the exception of any

          instances of non-compliance that are not, individually or in the

          aggregate, reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on

          the Company.  Each of its Compensation and Benefit Plans that is

          an "employee pension benefit plan" within the meaning of

          Section 3(2) of ERISA (a "Pension Plan") and that is intended to

          be qualified under Section 401(a) of the Code has received a favorable determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service

          (the "IRS"), and it is not aware of any circumstances likely to

          result in revocation of any such favorable determination letter.

          As of the date hereof, there is no pending or, to the knowledge

          of its Named Executive Officers, threatened in writing material

          litigation relating to its Compensation and Benefit Plans which

          is reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it.

          Neither it nor any Subsidiary has engaged in a transaction with

          respect to any of its Compensation and Benefit Plans that,

          assuming the taxable period of such transaction expired as of the

          date hereof, would subject it or any of its Subsidiaries to a

          material tax or penalty imposed by either Section 4975 of the

          Code or Section 502 of ERISA and that is reasonably likely to

          have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company.



                              (iii)     As of the date hereof, no liability

          under Subtitle C or D of Title IV of ERISA (other than the

          payment of prospective premium amounts to the Pension Benefit

          Guaranty Corporation in the normal course) has been or is

          expected to be incurred by it or any Subsidiary with respect to

          any ongoing, frozen or terminated "single-employer plan", within

          the meaning of Section 4001(a)(15) of ERISA, currently or

          formerly maintained by any of them, or the single-employer plan

          of any entity which is considered one employer with it under

          Section 4001 of ERISA or Section 414 of the Code (its "ERISA

          Affiliate") (each such single-employer plan, its "ERISA Affiliate

          Plan").  No notice of a "reportable event", within the meaning of

          Section 4043 of ERISA for which the 30-day reporting requirement

          has not been waived, has been required to be filed for any of its

          Pension Plans or any of its ERISA Affiliate Plans within the 12-month period ending on the date hereof or will be required to be

          filed in connection with the transactions contemplated by this

          Agreement.



                              (iv) Neither any of its Pension Plans nor any

          of its ERISA Affiliate Plans has an "accumulated funding

          deficiency" (whether or not waived) within the meaning of

          Section 412 of the Code or Section 302 of ERISA.  Neither it nor

          its Subsidiaries has provided, or is required to provide,

          security to any of its Pension Plans or to any of its ERISA

          Affiliate Plans pursuant to Section 401(a)(29) of the Code.



                              (v)  The consummation of the Merger (or its

          approval by its shareholders) and the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement and the Stock Option Agreement

          will not (x) entitle any of its employees or directors or any

          employees of its Subsidiaries to severance pay, directly or

          indirectly, upon termination of employment, (y) accelerate the

          time of payment or vesting or trigger any payment of compensation

          or benefits under, increase the amount payable or trigger any

          other material obligation pursuant to, any of its Compensation

          and Benefit Plans or (z) result in any breach or violation of, or

          a default under, any of its Compensation and Benefit Plans.



                              (vi) Since the Audit Date, except as provided

          for herein, in the Company Disclosure Letter or as disclosed in

          the Company's Reports filed prior to the date hereof, there has

          not been any increase in the compensation payable or that could become payable by it or any of its Subsidiaries to officers or

          key employees or any amendment of any of its Compensation and

          Benefit Plans other than increases or amendments in the ordinary

          course.



                         (d)  Takeover Statutes.  The Board of Directors of

          the Company, including a majority of the non-employee directors

          of the Company, has duly adopted resolutions approving the

          Merger, the Stock Option Agreement and the transactions

          contemplated hereby and thereby and specifically naming Keystone

          and its existing and future affiliates or associates.  Such

          resolutions satisfy the requirements of Section 203 of the DGCL,

          are by their terms irrevocable, and have not been amended or

          modified in any manner. The provisions of Section 203 of the DGCL

          do not and will not apply to the Merger or the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement.  No

          other "fair price," "moratorium," "control share acquisition" or

          other similar anti-takeover statute or regulation (each a

          "Takeover Statute") as in effect on the date hereof or any anti-

          takeover provision in the Company's certificate of incorporation

          and by-laws is applicable to the Company, the Company Shares, the

          Merger or the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement

          or the Stock Option Agreement.



                         (e)  Environmental Matters.  Except as disclosed

          in its Reports filed prior to the date hereof and except for such

          matters that, individually or in the aggregate, are not

          reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it:

          (i) each of it and its Subsidiaries has complied in all material

          respects with all applicable Environmental Laws (as defined

          below); (ii) the properties currently owned or operated by it or

          any of its Subsidiaries (including soils, any groundwater underlying such properties, surface water, buildings or other

          structures) are not contaminated with any Hazardous Substances

          (as defined below) at levels that require investigation or

          cleanup under applicable Environmental Laws; (iii) the properties

          formerly owned or operated by it or any of its Subsidiaries were

          not contaminated with Hazardous Substances during the period of

          ownership or operation by it or any of its Subsidiaries;

          (iv) neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries has received written

          notice that it is subject to liability for any Hazardous

          Substance disposal or contamination on any third party property;

          (v) neither it nor any Subsidiary has been responsible for any

          release or threat of release of any Hazardous Substance; (vi) as

          of the date hereof neither it nor any Subsidiary has received any

          written notice, demand, letter, claim or request for information

          alleging that it or any of its Subsidiaries may be in violation

          of or liable under any Environmental Law; and (vii) neither it

          nor any of its Subsidiaries is subject to any binding orders,

          decrees, injunctions or other arrangements with any Governmental

          Entity or is subject to any indemnity or other agreement with any

          third party relating to liability under any Environmental Law or

          relating to Hazardous Substances.



                    As used herein, the term "Environmental Law" means any

          Law relating to:  (A) the protection, investigation or

          restoration of the environment, health, safety, or natural

          resources, (B) the handling, use, presence, disposal, release or

          threatened release of any Hazardous Substance or (C) noise, odor,

          wetlands, pollution, contamination or any injury or threat of

          injury to persons or property in connection with any Hazardous

          Substance.

                    As used herein, the term "Hazardous Substance" means

          any substance that is: listed, classified or regulated pursuant

          to any Environmental Law, including any petroleum product or by-

          product, friable asbestos-containing material, lead-containing

          paint, polychlorinated biphenyls, radioactive materials or radon.



                         (f)  Labor Matters.  As of the date hereof,

          neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries is the subject of any

          material proceeding asserting that it or any of its Subsidiaries

          has committed an unfair labor practice or is seeking to compel it

          to bargain with any labor union or labor organization nor is

          there pending or, to the actual knowledge of its Named Executive

          Officers, threatened, nor has there been for the past five years,

          any labor strike, dispute, walkout, work stoppage, slow-down or

          lockout involving it or any of its Subsidiaries, except in each

          case as is not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably

          likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it.



                         (g)  Brokers and Finders.  Neither it nor any of

          its officers, directors or employees has employed any broker or

          finder or incurred any liability for any brokerage fees,

          commissions or finders' fees in connection with the Merger or the

          other transactions contemplated in this Agreement and the Stock

          Option Agreement.



                         (h)  Intellectual Property.  (i) The Company

          and/or each of its Subsidiaries owns, or is licensed or otherwise

          possesses legally enforceable rights to use, all material

          patents, trademarks, trade names, service marks, copyrights, and any applications therefor, technology, know-how, computer

          software programs or applications, and tangible or intangible

          proprietary information or materials that are used in its or any

          of its Subsidiaries' businesses as currently conducted, and to

          the actual knowledge of its Named Executive Officers all patents,

          trademarks, trade names, service marks and copyrights held by it

          and/or its Subsidiaries are valid and subsisting, except for any

          failures to so own, be licensed or possess or to be valid and

          subsisting, as the case may be, that, individually or in the

          aggregate, are not reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse

          Effect on it.



                         (i)  Rights Agreement.  The Company has amended

          the Rights Agreement relating to its Junior Participating

          Cumulative Preferred Stock Purchase Rights, issued to

          stockholders in June 1992, to provide that neither Keystone nor

          Merger Sub shall be deemed to be an Acquiring Person (as defined

          in the Rights Agreement) and the Distribution Date (as defined

          therein) shall not be deemed to occur and that the Rights will

          not become separable, distributable, unredeemable or exercisable

          as a result of entering into this Agreement, the Stock Option

          Agreement, the Affiliate Agreement or consummating the Merger

          and/or the other transactions contemplated hereby and thereby.



                    5.3  Representations and Warranties of Keystone and

          Merger Sub.  Except as set forth in the Keystone Disclosure

          Letter, Keystone, on behalf of itself and Merger Sub, hereby

          represents and warrants to the Company that:

                         (a)  Capital Structure.  (i) The authorized

          capital stock of Keystone consists of 50,000,00 shares of

          Keystone Common Stock, of which 14,642,000 shares were issued and

          outstanding as of the close of business on January 31, 1998; and

          3,000,000 shares of Preferred Stock, no par value (the "Keystone

          Preferred Shares"), of which no shares were outstanding as of the

          close of business on January 31, 1998.  All of the outstanding

          shares of Keystone Common Stock have been duly authorized and are

          validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.  Keystone has no

          shares of Keystone Common Stock or Keystone Preferred Shares

          reserved for issuance except as described below.  Each of the

          outstanding shares of capital stock of each of Keystone's

          Significant Subsidiaries is duly authorized, validly issued,

          fully paid and nonassessable and owned by Keystone or a direct or

          indirect wholly-owned Subsidiary of Keystone, free and clear of

          any lien, pledge, security interest, claim or other encumbrance.

          Except pursuant to Keystone's 1996 Employee Stock Incentive Plan,

          neither Keystone nor any of its Subsidiaries has any obligation

          with respect to any preemptive or other outstanding rights,

          options, warrants, conversion rights, stock appreciation rights,

          redemption rights, repurchase rights, agreements, arrangements or

          commitments to issue or to sell any shares of capital stock or

          other securities of Keystone or any of its Significant

          Subsidiaries or any securities or obligations convertible or

          exchangeable into or exercisable for, or giving any Person a

          right to subscribe for or acquire, any securities of the Company

          or any of its Significant Subsidiaries, and no securities or

          obligation evidencing such rights are authorized, issued or

          outstanding.  Keystone does not have outstanding any bonds,

          debentures, notes or other obligations the holders of which have

          the right to vote (or convertible into or exercisable for

          securities having the right to vote) with the stockholders of

          Keystone on any matter.

                              (ii) The authorized capital stock of  Merger

          Sub consists of 1,000 shares of common stock, par value $0.10 per

          share, all of which are validly issued and outstanding.  All of

          the issued and outstanding capital stock of Merger Sub is, and at

          the Effective Time will be, owned by Keystone, and there are

          (i) no other shares of capital stock or other voting securities

          of Merger Sub, (ii) no securities of Merger Sub convertible into

          or exchangeable for shares of capital stock or other voting

          securities of Merger Sub and (iii) no options or other rights to

          acquire from Merger Sub, and no obligations of Merger Sub to

          issue, any capital stock, other voting securities or securities

          convertible into or exchangeable for capital stock or other

          voting securities of Merger Sub.  Merger Sub has not conducted

          any business prior to the date hereof and has no, and prior to

          the Effective Time will have no, assets, liabilities or

          obligations of any nature other than those incident to its

          formation and pursuant to this Agreement and the Merger and the

          other transactions contemplated by this Agreement.



                         (b)  Corporate Authority; Approval and Fairness.

          Keystone and Merger Sub each has all requisite corporate power

          and authority and each has taken all corporate action necessary

          in order to execute, deliver and perform its obligations under

          this Agreement and the Stock Option Agreement and to consummate,

          subject only to approval of this Agreement by the holders of a

          majority of the outstanding Keystone Shares (the "Keystone

          Requisite Vote") and the Keystone Required Consents, the Merger.

          Each of this Agreement and the Stock Option Agreement has been

          duly executed and delivered by Keystone and Merger Sub and,

          assuming the due authorization, execution and delivery of this

          Agreement and the Stock Option Agreement by the Company, is a

          valid and binding agreement of Keystone and Merger Sub,
          enforceable against each of Keystone and Merger Sub in accordance

          with its terms, subject to the Bankruptcy and Equity Exception.

          Keystone has received the opinion of its financial advisors, A.G.

          Edwards & Sons, Inc., in a customary form and to the effect that

          the Merger Consideration to be paid by Keystone in the Merger is

          fair to Keystone from a financial point of view and said opinion

          has not been withdrawn.  The shares of Keystone Common Stock,

          when issued pursuant to this Agreement, will be duly authorized,

          validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable, and no stockholder

          of Keystone will have any preemptive right of subscription or

          purchase in respect thereof.



                         (c)  Employee Benefits.

                              (i)  A complete list of each bonus, deferred

          compensation, pension, retirement, profit-sharing, thrift,

          savings, employee stock ownership, stock bonus, stock purchase,

          restricted stock, stock option, employment, termination,

          severance, compensation, medical, health or other material plan,

          agreement, policy or arrangement that covers employees,

          directors, former employees or former directors of Keystone or

          any of its Subsidiaries ("Keystone Compensation and Benefit

          Plans") is set forth in the Keystone Disclosure Letter.



                              (ii) All of the Keystone Compensation and

          Benefit Plans are in substantial compliance with all applicable

          law, including the Code and ERISA, with the exception of any

          instances of non-compliance that are not, individually or in the

          aggregate, reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on

          Keystone or any Subsidiary.  Each of the Keystone Compensation

          and Benefit Plans that is a Pension Plan and that is intended to be qualified under Section 401(a) of the Code has received a

          favorable determination letter from the IRS, and neither Keystone

          nor any Subsidiary is aware of any circumstances likely to result

          in revocation of any such favorable determination letter.  As of

          the date hereof, there is no pending or, to the knowledge of the

          Named Executive Officers of Keystone, threatened in writing

          material litigation relating to Keystone Compensation and Benefit

          Plans which is reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse

          Effect on it.  Neither Keystone nor any Subsidiary has engaged in

          a transaction with respect to any of the Keystone Compensation

          and Benefit Plans that, assuming the taxable period of such

          transaction expired as of the date hereof, would subject it to a

          material tax or penalty imposed by either Section 4975 of the

          Code or Section 502 of ERISA and that is reasonably likely to

          have a Material Adverse Effect on Keystone or any Subsidiary.



                              (iii)     As of the date hereof, no material

          liability under Subtitle C or D of Title IV of ERISA (other than

          the payment of prospective premium amounts to the Pension Benefit

          Guaranty Corporation in the normal course) has been or is

          expected to be incurred by Keystone or any Subsidiary with

          respect to any ongoing, frozen or terminated "single-employer

          plan", within the meaning of Section 4001(a)(15) of ERISA,

          currently or formerly maintained by any of them, or any ERISA

          Affiliate Plan.  No notice of a "reportable event", within the

          meaning of Section 4043 of ERISA for which the 30-day reporting

          requirement has not been waived, has been required to be filed

          for any of its Pension Plans or any of its ERISA Affiliate Plans

          within the 12-month period ending on the date hereof or will be

          required to be filed in connection with the transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement.

                              (iv) Neither any of its Pension Plans nor any

          of its ERISA Affiliate Plans have a material "accumulated funding

          deficiency" (whether or not waived) within the meaning of

          Section 412 of the Code or Section 302 of ERISA.  Neither

          Keystone nor its Subsidiaries have provided, or are required to

          provide, security to any of its Pension Plans or to any of its

          ERISA Affiliate Plans pursuant to Section 401(a)(29) of the Code.



                              (v)  The consummation of the Merger (or its

          approval by its shareholders) and the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement, the Stock Option Agreement and

          the Affiliate Agreement will not (x) entitle any of Keystone's or

          its Subsidiaries' employees or directors to severance pay,

          directly or indirectly, upon termination of employment,

          (y) accelerate the time of payment or vesting or trigger any

          payment of compensation or benefits under, increase the amount

          payable or trigger any other material obligation pursuant to, any

          of the Keystone Compensation and Benefit Plans or (z) result in

          any breach or violation of, or a default under, any of the

          Keystone Compensation and Benefit Plans.



                         (d)  Environmental Matters.  Except as disclosed

          in its Reports filed prior to the date hereof and except for such

          matters that, individually or in the aggregate, are not

          reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it:

          (i) each Keystone and its Subsidiaries have complied in all

          material respects with all applicable Environmental Laws;

          (ii) the properties currently owned or operated by Keystone or

          any of its Subsidiaries (including soils, any groundwater

          underlying such properties, surface water, buildings or other

          structures) are not contaminated with any Hazardous Substances at

          levels that require investigation or cleanup under applicable

          Environmental Laws; (iii) the properties formerly owned or

          operated by Keystone or any of its Subsidiaries were not

          contaminated with Hazardous Substances during the period of

          ownership or operation by Keystone or any of its Subsidiaries;

          (iv) neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries has received written

          notice that it is subject to liability for any Hazardous

          Substance disposal or contamination on any third party property;

          (v) neither it nor any Subsidiary has been responsible for any

          release or threat of release of any Hazardous Substance; (vi) as

          of the date hereof neither Keystone nor any Subsidiary has

          received any written notice, demand, letter, claim or request for

          information alleging that it or any of its Subsidiaries may be in

          violation of or liable under any Environmental Law; and

          (vii) neither Keystone nor any Subsidiary is subject to any

          binding orders, decrees, injunctions or other arrangements with

          any Governmental Entity or is subject to any indemnity or other

          agreement with any third party relating to liability under any

          Environmental Law or relating to Hazardous Substances.



                         (e)  Labor Matters.  As of the date hereof,

          neither Keystone nor any Subsidiary is the subject of any

          material proceeding asserting that it or any of its Subsidiaries

          has committed an unfair labor practice or is seeking to compel it

          to bargain with any labor union or labor organization affecting a

          substantial number of its employees nor is there pending or, to

          the actual knowledge of its Named Executive Officers, threatened,

          nor has there been for the past five years, any labor strike,

          dispute, walkout, work stoppage, slow-down or lockout involving

          it or any of its Subsidiaries, except in each case as is not,

          individually or in the aggregate, reasonably likely to have a

          Material Adverse Effect on it or any of its Subsidiaries.

                         (f)  Intellectual Property.  Keystone and/or each

          Subsidiary owns, or is licensed or otherwise possesses legally

          enforceable rights to use, all material patents, trademarks,

          trade names, service marks, copyrights, and any applications

          therefor, technology, know-how, computer software programs or

          applications, and tangible or intangible proprietary information

          or materials that are used in its or any of its Subsidiaries'

          businesses as currently conducted, and to the actual knowledge of

          Keystone's Named Executive Officers all patents, trademarks,

          trade names, service marks and copyrights held by it and/or its

          Subsidiaries are valid and subsisting, except for any failures to

          so own, be licensed or possess or to be valid and subsisting, as

          the case may be, that, individually or in the aggregate, are not

          reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on it.



                         (g)  Brokers and Finders.  Neither it nor any of

          its officers, directors or employees has employed any broker or

          finder or incurred any liability for any brokerage fees,

          commissions or finders' fees in connection with the Merger or the

          other transactions contemplated in this Agreement and the Stock

          Option Agreement.



                                     ARTICLE VI



                                      Covenants



                    6.1  Interim Operations.  (a) The Company covenants and

          agrees as to itself and its Subsidiaries that, after the date

          hereof and prior to the Effective Time (unless Keystone shall otherwise approve in writing, which approval shall not be

          unreasonably withheld or delayed, and except as otherwise<PAGE>





          expressly contemplated by this Agreement, the Stock Option

          Agreement, the Company Disclosure Letter or as required by

          applicable Law):



                              (i)  the business of it and its Subsidiaries

          shall be conducted in the ordinary and usual course and, to the

          extent consistent therewith, it and its Subsidiaries shall use

          all reasonable efforts to preserve its business organization

          intact and maintain its existing relations and goodwill with

          customers, suppliers, distributors, creditors, lessors, employees

          and business associates;



                              (ii) it shall not (A) amend its certificate

          of incorporation or by-laws; (B) split, combine, subdivide or

          reclassify its outstanding shares of capital stock; (C) declare,

          set aside or pay any dividend payable in cash, stock or property

          in respect of any capital stock; or (D) repurchase, redeem or

          otherwise acquire, or permit any of its Subsidiaries to purchase

          or otherwise acquire, any shares of its capital stock or any

          securities convertible into or exchangeable or exercisable for

          any shares of its capital stock;



                              (iii)     neither it nor any of its

          Subsidiaries shall knowingly take any action that would prevent

          the merger from qualifying as a tax-free "reorganization" within

          the meaning of Section 368(a) of the Code or that would cause any

          of its representations and warranties herein to become untrue in

          any material respect;

                              (iv) neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries

          shall terminate, establish, adopt, enter into, make any new

          grants or awards under, amend or otherwise modify, any

          Compensation and Benefit Plans or Stock Plans or increase the

          salary, wage, bonus or other compensation of any directors,

          officers or employees or take any action which would result in an

          acceleration of benefits or vesting under the Stock Plans as a

          result of the consummation of the Merger which would not

          otherwise occur pursuant to the terms and conditions of such

          benefits or Stock Plan grants, awards or options as in effect on

          the date hereof;



                              (v)  neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries

          shall issue any preferred stock or incur any indebtedness for

          borrowed money (other than indebtedness in the ordinary course of

          business consistent with past practice, indebtedness incurred

          solely for the purpose of funding the Escrow Account or the

          replacement or refinancing of existing short-term indebtedness);

          or guarantee any such indebtedness;



                              (vi) neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries

          shall make any capital expenditures in an aggregate amount in

          excess of the aggregate amount reflected in the Company's capital

          expenditure budget heretofore delivered to Keystone;


                              (vii)     except as contemplated by

          Section 6.1(a)(iv), neither the Company nor any of its

          Subsidiaries shall issue, deliver, sell, or encumber shares of

          any class of its common stock or any securities convertible into,

          or any rights, warrants or options to acquire, any such shares

          except the option granted under the Stock Option Agreement, options and performance share programs outstanding on the date

          hereof under the Stock Plans, and shares issuable pursuant to

          such options and performance share programs;



                              (viii)    neither it nor any of its

          Subsidiaries shall acquire any business, whether by merger,

          consolidation, purchase of property or assets or otherwise;



                              (ix) neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries

          shall agree prior to the Effective Time to do any of the

          foregoing after the Effective Time.



                         (b)  Keystone covenants and agrees as to itself

          and its Subsidiaries that, after the date hereof and prior to the

          Effective Time (unless the Company shall otherwise approve in

          writing, which approval shall not be unreasonably withheld or

          delayed, and except as otherwise expressly contemplated by this

          Agreement or in the Keystone Disclosure Letter or as required by

          applicable Law):

                              (i)  the business of it and its Subsidiaries

          shall be conducted in the ordinary and usual course and, to the

          extent consistent therewith, it and its Subsidiaries shall use

          all reasonable efforts to preserve its business organization

          intact and maintain its existing relations and goodwill with

          customers, suppliers, distributors, creditors, lessors, employees

          and business associates;

                              (ii)  it shall not (A) amend its certificate

          of incorporation or by-laws in any manner that would prohibit or

          hinder, impede or delay in any material respect the Merger or the

          consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby;

          (B) declare, set aside or pay any dividend or other distribution

          payable in cash or property in respect of any capital stock; or

          (C) repurchase, redeem or otherwise acquire, or permit any of its

          Subsidiaries to purchase or otherwise acquire, except in open

          market transactions or in connection with the Keystone Stock

          Plans, any shares of its capital stock or any securities

          convertible into or exchangeable for any shares of its capital

          stock;



                              (iii)     neither it nor any of its

          Subsidiaries shall knowingly take any action that would prevent

          the Merger from qualifying as a tax-free "reorganization" within

          the meaning of Section 368(a) of the Code or that would cause any

          of its representations and warranties herein to become untrue in

          any material respect, provided, however, that nothing contained

          herein shall limit the ability of Keystone to exercise its rights

          under the Stock Option Agreement; and



                              (iv) neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries

          will authorize or enter into an agreement to do any of the

          foregoing.



                         (c)  Keystone and the Company agree that any

          written approval obtained under this Section 6.1 may be relied

          upon by the other party if signed by the Chief Executive Officer

          or the Chief Financial Officer of the other party.

                    6.2. Acquisition Proposals.  (a) The Company agrees

          that neither it nor any of its Subsidiaries nor any of the

          officers and directors of it or its Subsidiaries shall and that

          it shall direct and use its best efforts to cause its and its

          Subsidiaries' Representatives (as defined below) not to, directly

          or indirectly, initiate, solicit, encourage or otherwise

          facilitate any inquiries or the making of any proposal or offer

          with respect to a merger, reorganization, share exchange,

          consolidation or similar transaction involving it, or any

          purchase of, or tender offer for, 15% or more of the equity

          securities of it or any of its Subsidiaries or 15% or more of its

          and its Subsidiaries' assets (based on the fair market value

          thereof) taken as a whole (any such proposal or offer being

          hereinafter referred to as an "Acquisition Proposal").  The

          Company further agrees that neither it nor any of its

          Subsidiaries nor any of the officers and directors of it or its

          Subsidiaries shall, and that it shall direct and use its best

          efforts to cause its Representatives not to, directly or

          indirectly, have any discussions with or provide any confidential

          information or data to any Person relating to an Acquisition

          Proposal or engage in any negotiations concerning an Acquisition

          Proposal, or otherwise facilitate any effort or attempt to make

          or implement an Acquisition Proposal; provided, however, that

          nothing contained in this Agreement shall prevent the Company or

          its board of directors from (A) complying with Rule 14e-2

          promulgated under the Exchange Act with regard to an Acquisition

          Proposal; (B) making any disclosure to the Company's shareholders

          if, in the good faith judgment of the board of directors of the

          Company, failure so to disclose would be inconsistent with its

          obligations under applicable law; (C) engaging in any discussions

          or negotiations with or providing any information to, any Person

          in response to a bona fide written Acquisition Proposal by any

          such Person received after the date hereof that was not solicited

          by the Company after the date hereof; or (D) recommending such an

          Acquisition Proposal to the shareholders of the Company if and

          only to the extent that, in such case referred to in clause (C)

          or (D), the board of directors of the Company concludes in good

          faith (after consultation with its financial advisor) that such

          Acquisition Proposal is reasonably capable of being completed,

          taking into account all legal, financial, regulatory and other

          aspects of the proposal and the Person making the proposal, and

          would, if consummated, result in a transaction more favorable to

          the Company's shareholders from a financial point of view than

          the transaction contemplated by this Agreement (any such more

          favorable Acquisition Proposal being referred to in this

          Agreement as a "Superior Proposal").  The Company agrees that it

          will immediately cease and cause to be terminated any existing

          activities, discussions or negotiations with any parties

          conducted heretofore with respect to any Acquisition Proposal.

          The Company also agrees that it will promptly request each Person

          that has heretofore executed a confidentiality agreement in

          connection with its consideration of any Acquisition Proposal to

          return all confidential information heretofore furnished to such

          Person by or on behalf of it or any of its Subsidiaries.



                         (b)  The Company agrees that it will take the

          necessary steps to promptly inform the individuals or entities

          referred to in the first sentence hereof of the obligations

          undertaken in this Section 6.2. The Company agrees that it will

          notify Keystone promptly if any such inquiries, proposals or

          offers are received by, any such information is requested from,

          or any such discussions or negotiations are sought to be

          initiated or continued with, any of the Company's Representatives

          indicating, in connection with such notice, the name of such

          Person and the material terms and conditions of any proposals or offers and thereafter shall keep Keystone informed, on a current

          basis, of the status and material terms of any such proposals or

          offers and the status of any such discussions or negotiations.


                    6.3  Information Supplied.  The Company and Keystone

          each agrees, as to itself and its Subsidiaries, that none of the

          information supplied or to be supplied by it or its Subsidiaries

          for inclusion or incorporation by reference in (i) the

          Registration Statement on Form S-4 to be filed with the SEC by

          Keystone in connection with the issuance of shares of Keystone

          Common Stock in the Merger (including the proxy statement and

          prospectus (the "Prospectus/Proxy Statement") constituting a part

          thereof) (the "S-4 Registration Statement") will, at the time the

          S-4 Registration Statement becomes effective under the Securities

          Act, and (ii) the Prospectus/Proxy Statement and any amendment or

          supplement thereto will, at the date of mailing to shareholders

          and at the time of the Shareholders Meeting, in any such case,

          contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state

          any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in

          order to make the statements therein, in the light of the

          circumstances under which they were made, not misleading.  If at

          any time prior to the Effective Time any information relating to

          Keystone or the Company, or any of their respective affiliates,

          officers or directors, should be discovered by Keystone or the

          Company which should be set forth in an amendment or supplement

          to any of the S-4 Registration Statement or the Prospectus/Proxy

          Statement, so that any of such documents would not include any

          misstatement of a material fact or omit to state any material

          fact necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of

          the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading, the

          party which discovers such information shall promptly notify the

          other parties hereto and an appropriate amendment or supplement describing such information shall be promptly filed with the SEC

          and, to the extent required by law, disseminated to the

          shareholders of the Company and Keystone.



                    6.4  Shareholders Meeting.  The Company and Keystone

          will take, in accordance with applicable law and each of their

          certificates of incorporation and by-laws, all action necessary

          to convene meetings of their respective holders of Company Shares

          stockholders (the "Shareholders Meetings") as promptly as

          practicable after the S-4 Registration Statement is declared

          effective to consider and vote upon the approval of this

          Agreement and the Merger.  Unless the board of directors of the

          Company determines in good faith after consultation with outside

          legal counsel that to do so would result in a failure to comply

          with its fiduciary duties under applicable law, the Company's

          board of directors shall recommend approval of this Agreement and

          the Merger and shall take all lawful action to solicit such

          approval.



                    6.5  Filings; Other Actions; Notification.  (a)

          Keystone and the Company shall promptly prepare and file with the

          SEC the Prospectus/Proxy Statement, and Keystone shall prepare

          and file with the SEC the S-4 Registration Statement as promptly

          as practicable.  Keystone and the Company each shall use all

          reasonable efforts to have the S-4 Registration Statement

          declared effective under the Securities Act as promptly as

          practicable after such filing, and promptly thereafter mail the

          Prospectus/Proxy Statement to the shareholders of Keystone and

          the Company.  Keystone shall also use all reasonable efforts to

          obtain prior to the effective date of the S-4 Registration

          Statement all necessary state securities law or "blue sky" permits and approvals required in connection with the Merger and

          to consummate the other transactions contemplated by this

          Agreement.



                         (b)  The Company and Keystone each shall use all

          reasonable efforts to cause to be delivered to the other party

          and its directors (i) letters of its independent auditors, dated

          (A) the date on which the S-4 Registration Statement shall become

          effective and (B) the Closing Date, and addressed to the other

          party and its directors, in form and substance customary for

          "comfort" letters delivered by independent public accountants in

          connection with registration statements similar to the S-4

          Registration Statement, and (ii) if elected by Keystone, a letter

          from its independent auditors addressed to Keystone and the

          Company, dated as of the Closing Date, stating their opinion that

          the Merger will qualify for pooling-of-interests accounting

          treatment.



                         (c)  The Company and Keystone shall cooperate with

          the other and use (and shall cause their respective Subsidiaries

          to use) their respective best efforts to take or cause to be

          taken all actions, and do or cause to be done all things,

          necessary, proper or advisable to be done on its part under this

          Agreement and the Stock Option Agreement and applicable Laws to

          consummate and make effective the Merger and the other

          transactions contemplated by this Agreement and the Stock Option

          Agreement as soon as practicable, including preparing and filing

          as promptly as practicable all documentation required to be filed

          by it to effect all necessary applications, notices, petitions,

          filings and other documents applicable to it and to obtain as

          promptly as practicable all consents, registrations, approvals,

          permits and authorizations necessary or advisable to be obtained

          from any third party and/or any Governmental Entity in order for it to consummate the Merger or any of the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement,

          including, but not limited to, the HSR Act.



                         (d)  Subject to applicable laws relating to the

          exchange of information, the Company and Keystone each shall,

          upon request by the other, furnish the other with all information

          concerning itself, its Subsidiaries, directors, officers and

          stockholders and such other matters as may be reasonably

          necessary or advisable in connection with the Prospectus/Proxy

          Statement, the S-4 Registration Statement or any other statement,

          filing, notice or application made by or on behalf of Keystone,

          the Company or any of their respective Subsidiaries to any third

          party and/or any Governmental Entity in connection with the

          Merger and the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the

          Stock Option Agreement.



                         (e)  The Company and Keystone each shall keep the

          other apprised of the status of matters relating to completion of

          the transactions contemplated hereby, including promptly

          furnishing the other with copies of notices or other

          communications received by Keystone or the Company, as the case

          may be, or any of its Subsidiaries, from any third party and/or

          the SEC with respect to the Merger and the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement.

          Each of the Company and Keystone shall give prompt notice to the

          other of any change that is reasonably likely to result in a

          material Adverse Effect on it or of any failure of any of the

          conditions to the other party's obligations to effect the Merger

          set forth in Article VII.

                    6.6  Access; Consultation.  (a) Upon reasonable notice,

          and except as may otherwise be required by applicable law, the

          Company and Keystone each shall (and shall cause its Subsidiaries

          to) afford the other's and the other's Subsidiaries, employees,

          agents and representatives (including any investment banker,

          attorney or accountant retained by the other or any of the

          other's Subsidiaries) (such officers, directors, employees,

          agents and representatives being referred to in this Agreement,

          with respect to the Company or Keystone, as the context requires,

          as such party's "Representatives") reasonable access, during

          normal business hours throughout the period prior to the

          Effective Time, to its properties, books, contracts and records

          and, during such period, each shall (and shall cause its


          Subsidiaries to) furnish promptly to the other all information

          concerning its business, properties and personnel as may

          reasonably be requested, provided that no investigation pursuant

          to this Section shall affect or be deemed to modify any

          representation or warranty made by the Company, Keystone or

          Merger Sub hereunder, and provided, further, that the foregoing

          shall not require the Company or Keystone to permit any

          inspection, or to disclose any information, that in the

          reasonable judgment of the Company or Keystone, as the case may

          be, would violate applicable law or any of its obligations with

          respect to confidentiality or would result in the disclosure of

          any trade secrets of third parties if the Company or Keystone, as

          the case may be, shall have used all reasonable efforts to obtain

          the consent of such third party to such inspection or disclosure.

          All requests for information made pursuant to this Section shall

          be directed to an executive officer of the Company or Keystone,

          as the case may be, or such Person as may be designated by any

          such executive officer, as the case may be.  All information

          provided pursuant to this Section 6.6 shall be governed by the terms of the Confidentiality Agreement between the Company and

          Keystone dated January 22, 1998 (the "Confidentiality

          Agreement").



                         (b)  Subject to the Confidentiality Agreement,

          from the date hereof to the Effective Time, Keystone and the

          Company agree to consult with each other on a regular basis on a

          schedule to be agreed with regard to their respective operations.



                    6.7  Affiliates.  (a) Each of the Company and Keystone

          shall deliver to the other a letter identifying all Persons whom

          such party believes to be, at the date of the Shareholders

          Meeting, "affiliates" of such party for purposes of applicable

          interpretations regarding use of the pooling-of-interests

          accounting method and, in the case of "affiliates" of the

          Company, for purposes of Rule 145 under the 1933 Act.  Each of

          the Company and Keystone shall use all reasonable efforts to

          cause each Person who is identified as an "affiliate" in the

          letter from such party referred to above to deliver to Keystone

          prior to the date of the Shareholders Meeting a written

          agreement, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, in the case

          of affiliates of the Company (the "Company Affiliate's Letter"),

          and Exhibit C, in the case of affiliates of Keystone (the

          "Keystone Affiliate's Letter").  Prior to the Effective Time,

          each of the Company and Keystone shall use all reasonable efforts

          to cause each additional Person who is identified by such party

          as an "affiliate" to execute the applicable written agreement as

          set forth in this Section 6.7 (each Person identified by a party

          pursuant to the provisions of this Section 6.7(a), an

          "Affiliate").

                         (b)  If the Merger would otherwise qualify for

          pooling-of-interests accounting treatment, shares of Keystone

          Common Stock issued to such Affiliates of the Company in exchange

          for Company Shares shall not be transferable until such time as

          financial results covering at least 30 days of combined

          operations of Keystone and the Company shall have been published

          within the meaning of Section 201.01 of the SEC's Codification of

          Financial Reporting Policies, regardless of whether each such

          Affiliate has provided the written agreement referred to in this

          Section, except to the extent permitted by, and in accordance

          with, SEC Accounting Series Release 135 and SEC Staff Accounting

          Bulletins 65 and 76.  Keystone agrees to use its best efforts to

          publish said financial results on Form 8-K within 60 days after

          the Effective Time.  If the Merger would otherwise qualify for

          pooling-of-interests accounting treatment, any Company Shares

          held by any such Affiliate shall not be transferable, regardless

          of whether such Affiliate has provided the applicable written

          agreement referred to in this Section, if such transfer, either

          alone or in the aggregate with other transfers by Affiliates,

          would preclude Keystone's ability to account for the business

          combination to be effected by the Merger as a pooling of

          interests.  The Company shall not register the transfer of any

          Certificate, unless such transfer is made in compliance with the

          foregoing.  The provisions of this Section 6.7(b) regarding the

          filing of a Form 8-K are intended to be for the benefit of and

          shall be enforceable by, each of the Affiliates of the Company,

          their heirs and representatives.



                    6.8  National Market Listing and De-listing.  Keystone

          shall use its best efforts to cause the shares of Keystone Common

          Stock to be issued in the Merger to be approved for listing on

          the NASDAQ National Market, prior to the Closing Date.  The

          Surviving Corporation shall use its best efforts to cause the

          Company Shares to be de-listed from the NASDAQ National Market

          and de-registered under the Exchange Act as soon as practicable

          following the Effective Time.



                    6.9  Publicity.  The initial press release with respect

          to the Merger shall be a joint press release, and thereafter the

          Company and Keystone each shall consult with each other prior to

          issuing any press releases or otherwise making public

          announcements with respect to the Merger and the other

          transactions contemplated by this Agreement and the Stock Option

          Agreement and prior to making any filings with any third party

          and/or any Governmental Entity (including NASDAQ) with respect

          thereto, except as may be required by law or by obligations

          pursuant to any listing agreement with or rules of NASDAQ.



                    6.10  Benefits.



                         (a)  Stock Options.


                              (i)  At the Effective Time, each outstanding

          option to purchase Company Shares (a "Company Option") under the

          Stock Plans, whether vested or unvested, shall be deemed to

          constitute an option to acquire, on the same terms and conditions

          as were applicable under such Company Option, the same number of

          shares of Keystone Common Stock as the holder of such Company

          Option would have been entitled to receive pursuant to the Merger

          had such holder exercised such Company Option in full immediately prior to the Effective Time (rounded down to the nearest whole

          number) (a "Substitute Option"), at an exercise price per share

          (rounded up to, the nearest whole cent) equal to (y) the

          aggregate exercise price for the Company Shares otherwise

          purchasable pursuant to such Company Option divided by (z) the

          number of full shares of Keystone Common Stock deemed purchasable

          pursuant to such Company Option in accordance with the foregoing.

          At or prior to the Effective Time, the Company shall make all

          necessary arrangements with respect to the Stock Plans, including

          any necessary amendments thereto, to permit the assumption of the

          unexercised Company Options by Keystone pursuant to this Section

          and no later than the Effective Time Keystone shall register

          under the Securities Act of 1933 on Form S-8 or other appropriate

          form (and use its best efforts to maintain the effectiveness

          thereof) shares of Keystone Common Stock issuable pursuant to all

          Substitute Options.  As promptly as practicable after the

          Effective Time, the Company shall deliver to the participants in

          the Stock Plans appropriate notices setting forth such

          participants' rights pursuant to such assumed Company Options.



                              (ii) Effective at the Effective Time,

          Keystone shall assume each Company Option in accordance with the

          terms of the Stock Plan under which it was issued and the stock

          option agreement by which it is evidenced.



                         (b)  Employee Benefits.  Keystone shall, and shall

          cause the Surviving Corporation to, honor, pursuant to their

          terms, all employee benefit obligations to current and former

          employees under the Compensation and Benefit Plans.

                    6.11 Expenses.  Except as otherwise provided in

          Section 8.5, whether or not the Merger is consummated, all costs

          and expenses incurred in connection with this Agreement and the

          Merger and the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement

          shall be paid by the party incurring such cost or expense, except

          that expenses incurred in connection with the filing fee for the

          S-4 Registration Statement and printing and mailing the

          Prospectus/Proxy Statement and the S-4 Registration Statement and

          the filing fee under the HSR Act shall be shared equally by

          Keystone and the Company.



                    6.12 Indemnification; Directors, and Officers,

          Insurance.  (a)  From and after the Effective Time, Keystone

          agrees that it will indemnify and hold harmless each present and

          former director and officer of the Company (when acting in such

          capacity) determined immediately prior to the Effective Time (the

          "Indemnified Parties"), against any costs or expenses (including

          reasonable attorneys, fees), judgments, fines, losses, claims,

          damages or liabilities (collectively, "Costs") incurred in

          connection with any claim, action, suit, proceeding or

          investigation, whether civil, criminal, administrative or

          investigative, arising out of or pertaining to matters existing

          or occurring at or prior to the Effective Time, whether asserted

          or claimed prior to, at or after the Effective Time, to the

          fullest extent that the Company would have been permitted under

          Delaware law and its certificate of incorporation or by-laws in

          effect on the date hereof to indemnify such Person (and Keystone

          shall also advance expenses as incurred to the fullest extent

          permitted under applicable law, provided the Person to whom

          expenses are advanced provides an undertaking to repay such

          advances if it is ultimately determined that such Person is not

          entitled to indemnification).

                         (b)  Any Indemnified Party wishing to claim

          indemnification under paragraph (a) of this Section 6.12, upon

          learning of any such claim, action, suit, proceeding or

          investigation, shall promptly notify Keystone thereof, but the

          failure to so notify shall not relieve Keystone of any liability

          it may have to such Indemnified Party if such failure does not

          materially prejudice Keystone.  In the event of any such claim,

          action, suit, proceeding or investigation (whether arising before

          or after the Effective Time), (i) Keystone or the Surviving

          Corporation shall have the right to assume the defense thereof

          and Keystone shall not be liable to such Indemnified Parties for

          any legal expenses of other counsel or any other expenses

          subsequently incurred by such Indemnified Parties in connection

          with the defense thereof, except that if Keystone or the

          Surviving Corporation elects not to assume such defense or

          counsel for the Indemnified Parties advises that there are issues

          which raise conflicts of interest between Keystone or the

          Surviving Corporation and the Indemnified Parties, the

          Indemnified Parties may retain counsel satisfactory to them, and

          Keystone or the Surviving Corporation shall pay all reasonable

          fees and expenses of such counsel for the Indemnified Parties

          promptly as statements therefor are received; provided, however,

          that Keystone shall be obligated pursuant to this

          paragraph (b) to pay for only one firm of counsel for all

          Indemnified Parties in any jurisdiction, (ii) the Indemnified

          Parties will cooperate in the defense of any such matter, and

          (iii) Keystone shall not be liable for any settlement effected

          without its prior written consent.



                         (c)  Keystone or the Surviving Corporation shall

          maintain a policy of officers, and directors, liability insurance

          for acts and omissions occurring prior to the Effective Time

          ("D&O Insurance") with coverage in amount and scope at least as favorable as the Company's existing directors' and officers'

          liability insurance coverage for a period of six years after the

          Effective Time; provided, however, if the existing D&O Insurance

          expires, is terminated or canceled, or if the annual premium

          therefor is increased to an amount in excess of $60,000 (the

          "Current Premium"), in each case during such six year period,

          Keystone or the Surviving Corporation will use its best efforts

          to obtain D&O Insurance in an amount and scope as great as can be

          obtained for the remainder of such period for a premium not in

          excess (on an annualized basis) of the Current Premium.



                         (d)  If Keystone or the Surviving Corporation or

          any of its successors or assigns (i) shall consolidate with or

          merge into any other corporation or entity and shall not be the

          continuing or surviving corporation or entity of such

          consolidation or merger or (ii) shall transfer all or

          substantially all of its properties and assets to any individual,

          corporation or other entity, then and in each such case, proper

          provisions shall be made so that the successors and assigns of

          Keystone or the Surviving Corporation, as the case may be, shall

          assume all of the obligations set forth in this Section.



                         (e)  The provisions of this Section are intended

          to be for the benefit of, and shall be enforceable by, each of

          the Indemnified Parties, their heirs and their representatives.



                    6.13 Takeover Statute.  If any Takeover Statute is or

          may become applicable to the Merger or the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option Agreement,

          each party hereto and its board of directors shall grant such approvals and take such actions as are necessary so that such

          transactions may be consummated as promptly as practicable on the

          terms contemplated by this Agreement or the Stock Option

          Agreement or by the Merger and otherwise act to eliminate or

          minimize the effects of such statute or regulation on such

          transactions.



                    6.14 Confidentiality.  The Company and Keystone each

          acknowledges and confirms that it has entered into the

          Confidentiality Agreement and that the Confidentiality Agreement

          shall remain in full force and effect in accordance with its

          terms, whether or not the Merger is consummated.



                    6.15 Transfer Taxes.  All state, local, foreign use,

          real property transfer, stock transfer or similar Taxes

          (including any interest or penalties with respect thereto)

          attributable to the Merger (collectively, the "Transfer Taxes")

          shall be timely paid by the Company.



                    6.16 Tax Status.  From and after the Effective Time and

          for a period of twenty- four months thereafter Keystone agrees

          that it shall not, and it shall not permit any of its

          Subsidiaries to, take any action (other than lifting any transfer

          restrictions on the Keystone Shares issued in the Merger pursuant

          to the provisions of the Company Affiliate Agreement) that would

          prevent the Merger from qualifying as a tax-free reorganization

          within the meaning of Section 368(a) of the Code and the Treasury

          regulations.  In the event of a breach of the provisions of this

          Section 6.16, Keystone shall indemnify and hold harmless the

          Persons who were stockholders of the Company immediately prior to

          the Effective Time in respect of any and all damages (including, but not limited to, reasonable attorneys' fees and costs) which

          arise from or are related to any breach by Keystone of this

          Section 6.16.  The provisions of this Section 6.16 are intended

          for the benefit of, and shall be enforceable by, each Person who

          was a stockholder of the Company immediately prior to the

          Effective Time.



                                     ARTICLE VII



                                     Conditions



                    7.1  Conditions to Each Party's Obligation to Effect

          the Merger.  The respective obligation of each party to effect

          the Merger is subject to the satisfaction or waiver at or prior

          to the Effective Time of each of the following conditions:



                         (a)  Shareholder Approval.  This Agreement shall

          have been duly approved by holders of Company Shares and Keystone

          Shares constituting the Company Requisite Vote and the Keystone

          Requisite Vote;



                         (b)  National Market Listing.  The shares of

          Keystone Common Stock issuable to the Company shareholders

          pursuant to this Agreement shall have been approved for listing

          on the NASDAQ National Market, upon official notice of issuance.

                         (c)  Governmental Consents.  The waiting period

          applicable to the consummation of the Merger under the HSR Act

          shall have expired or been terminated.



                         (d)  Laws and orders.  No Governmental Entity of

          competent jurisdiction shall have enacted, issued, promulgated,

          enforced or entered any Law (whether temporary, preliminary or

          permanent) that is in effect and restrains, enjoins or otherwise

          prohibits consummation of the Merger or the other transactions

          contemplated by this Agreement or that is, individually or in the

          aggregate with all other such Laws, reasonably likely to have a

          Material Adverse Effect on Keystone or the Company (collectively,

          an "Order"), and none of the Department of Justice or the Federal

          Trade Commission shall have instituted any proceeding or

          threatened in writing or publicly announced its intention to

          institute any proceeding seeking any such Order.



                         (e)  S-4.  The S-4 Registration Statement shall

          have become effective under the Securities Act.  No stop order

          suspending the effectiveness of the S-4 Registration Statement

          shall have been issued, and no proceedings for that purpose shall

          have been initiated or be threatened by the SEC.



                    7.2  Conditions to Obligations of Keystone and Merger

          Sub.  The obligations of Keystone and Merger Sub to effect the

          Merger are also subject to the satisfaction or waiver by Keystone

          at or prior to the Effective Time of the following conditions:

                         (a)  Representations and Warranties.  The

          representations and warranties of the Company set forth in this

          Agreement (i) to the extent qualified by Material Adverse Effect

          shall be true and correct and (ii) to the extent not qualified by

          Material Adverse Effect shall be true and correct,  except that

          this clause (ii) shall be deemed satisfied so long as any

          failures of such representations and warranties to be true and

          correct, taken together, do not have a Material Adverse Effect on

          the Company, in each case (i) and (ii), as of the date of this

          Agreement and (except to the extent such representations and

          warranties speak as of an earlier date) as of the Closing Date as

          though made on and as of the Closing Date, and Keystone shall

          have received a certificate signed on behalf of the Company by

          the Chief Executive Officer of the Company to such effect.



                         (b)  Performance of Obligations Company.  The

          Company shall have performed all material obligations required to

          be performed by it under this Agreement at or prior to the

          Closing Date, and Keystone shall have received a certificate

          signed on behalf of the Company by the Chief Executive Officer of

          the Company to such effect.


                         (c)  Dissenting Keystone Shares.  Holders of less

          than 5% of the issued and outstanding Keystone Shares shall have

          dissented from the Merger under California law.



                         (d)  Consent of Lender.  Either (i) Keystone shall

          have received the consent of Mellon Bank, N.A. under its Credit

          Agreement with Mellon Bank, N.A., dated March 25, 1997, to the

          consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby or (ii) the

          Company shall have received the consent of Comerica Bank under

          its Revolving Credit Agreement with Comerica Bank, dated March

          31, 1997, not to accelerate the outstanding indebtedness

          thereunder as a result of the consummation of the transactions

          contemplated hereby.



                         (e)  Fairness Opinion.  The fairness opinion

          referenced in Section 5.3(b) of this Agreement shall remain in

          full force and effect and shall not have been withdrawn or

          modified (in any way which is materially adverse to Keystone) by

          A.G. Edwards & Sons, Inc.



                         (f)  Legal Opinion.  The Company shall have

          received the legal opinion from its counsel referred to in

          Section 7.3(e).



                    7.3  Conditions to Obligation of the Company.  The

          obligation of the Company to effect the Merger is also subject to

          the satisfaction or waiver by the Company at or prior to the

          Effective Time of the following conditions:



                         (a)  Representations and Warranties.  The

          representations and warranties of Keystone and Merger Sub set

          forth in this Agreement (i) to the extent qualified by Material

          Adverse Effect shall be true and correct, and (ii) to the extent

          not qualified by material Adverse Effect shall be true and

          correct, except that this clause (ii) shall be deemed satisfied

          so long as any failures of such representations and warranties to

          be true and correct, taken together, do not have a Material

          Adverse Effect on Keystone, in each case (i) and (ii), as of the date of this Agreement and (except to the extent such

          representations and warranties speak as of an earlier date) as of

          the Closing Date as though made on and as of the Closing Date,

          and the Company shall have received a certificate signed on

          behalf of Keystone by the Chief Executive Officer of Keystone to

          such effect.



                         (b)  Performance of Obligations of Keystone and

          Merger Sub.  Each of Keystone and Merger Sub shall have performed

          all material obligations required to be performed by it under

          this Agreement at or prior to the Closing Date, and the Company

          shall have received a certificate signed on behalf of Keystone

          and Merger Sub by the Chief Executive Officer of Keystone to such

          effect.


                         (c)  Dissenting Keystone Shares.  Holders of less

          than 5% of the issued and outstanding Keystone Shares shall have

          dissented from the Merger under California law.



                         (d)  Fairness Opinion.  The fairness opinion

          referred to in Section 5.2(b) of this Agreement shall remain in

          full force and effect and shall not have been withdrawn or

          modified (in any way which is materially adverse to the Company)

          by the Company's financial advisor.



                         (e)  Legal Opinion.  The Company shall have

          received a legal opinion from its counsel, in form and substance

          reasonably satisfactory to the Company, to the effect that the

          Merger qualifies as a tax-free reorganization within the meaning

          of Section 368(a) of the Code.

                                    ARTICLE VIII



                                     Termination



                    8.1  Termination by Mutual Consent.  This Agreement may

          be terminated and the Merger may be abandoned at any time prior

          to the Effective Time, whether before or after the approval by

          shareholders of the Company or Keystone, by mutual written

          consent of the Company and Keystone, by action of their

          respective boards of directors.



                    8.2  Termination by Either Keystone or the Company.

          This Agreement may be terminated and the Merger may be abandoned

          at any time prior to the Effective Time by action of the board of

          directors of either Keystone or the Company if (i) the Merger

          shall not have been consummated by August 31, 1998, whether such

          date is before or after the date of approval by the shareholders

          of the Company or Keystone, (the "Termination Date"); (ii) the

          approval of the Company's or Keystone's shareholders required

          hereunder shall not have been obtained at a meeting duly convened

          therefor or at any adjournment or postponement thereof or

          (iii) any Order permanently restraining, enjoining or otherwise

          prohibiting consummation of the Merger shall become final and

          non-appealable (whether before or after the approval by the

          shareholders of Keystone or the Company); provided that the right

          to terminate this Agreement pursuant to clause (i) above shall

          not be available to any party that has breached in any material respect its obligations under this Agreement in any manner that

          shall have proximately contributed to the failure of the Merger

          to be consummated.



                    8.3  Termination by the Company.  This Agreement may be

          terminated and the Merger may be abandoned at any time prior to

          the Effective Time, whether before or after the approval by

          shareholders of the Company referred to herein, by action of the

          board of directors of the Company:



                         (a)  If (i) the Company shall not have willfully

          breached any of the terms of this Agreement in a manner resulting

          in failure of a condition set forth in Section 7.2(a) or 7.2(b),

          (ii) the board of directors of the Company approves entering into

          a binding written agreement concerning a transaction that

          constitutes a Superior Proposal and the Company notifies Keystone

          in writing that the Company wishes to enter into such agreement,

          (iii) Keystone does not make, within five business days of

          receipt of the Company's written notification of its desire to

          enter into a binding agreement for a Superior Proposal, an offer

          that the board of directors of the Company believes, in good

          faith after consultation with its financial advisors, is at least

          as favorable, from a financial point of view, to the shareholders

          of the Company as the Superior Proposal, and that contains terms

          and conditions (other than with respect to type or amount of

          consideration) that do not differ materially from the terms and

          conditions of the proposed agreement for such Superior Proposal

          and (iv) the Company prior to such termination pays to Keystone

          in immediately available funds any fees required to be paid

          pursuant to Section 8.5. The Company agrees to notify Keystone promptly if its desire to enter into a written agreement referred

          to in its notification shall change at any time after giving such

          notification.



                         (b)  If there has been a breach by Keystone or

          Merger Sub of any representation, warranty, covenant or agreement

          contained in this Agreement which (i) would result in a failure

          of a condition set forth in Section 7.3(a) or 7.3(b) and (ii) it

          cannot be cured prior to the Termination Date.



                    8.4  Termination by Keystone.  This Agreement may be

          terminated and the Merger may be abandoned at any time prior to

          the Effective Time by action of the board of directors of

          Keystone if (i) the board of directors of the Company shall have

          withdrawn or adversely modified its approval or recommendation of

          this Agreement or failed to reconfirm its recommendation of this

          Agreement within ten business days after a written request by

          Keystone to do so, provided that such a request is made after the

          board of directors of the Company has taken any of the actions

          specified in clause (C) or (D) of the proviso of Section 6.2 with

          respect to an Acquisition Proposal and such Acquisition Proposal

          has not been rejected by such board of directors or withdrawn,

          (ii) there has been a breach by the Company of any

          representation, warranty, covenant or agreement contained in this

          Agreement which (A) would result in a failure of a condition set

          forth in Section 7.2(a) or 7.2(b) and (B) cannot be cured prior

          to the Termination Date or (iii) if the Company or any of its

          Representatives shall take any of the actions that would be

          proscribed by Section 6.2 but for the exception therein allowing

          certain actions to be taken pursuant to clause (C) or (D) of the proviso thereof (other than any such actions taken pursuant to

          such clause (C) with respect to any bona fide written Acquisition

          Proposal (received after the date hereof that was not solicited

          by the Company after the date hereof) taken during the ten

          calendar day period following receipt of such Acquisition

          Proposal by the Company if, and only if, the Company receives

          such Acquisition Proposal during the Initial 15 Day Period).  For

          purposes of this Agreement, the "Initial 15 Day Period" shall

          mean the 15 calendar day period commencing with the first

          calendar day after which this Agreement shall have been filed by

          Keystone or the Company with the SEC as an exhibit to a Current

          Report on Form 8-K under the Exchange Act.



                    8.5  Effect of Termination and Abandonment.  (a)  In

          the event of termination of this Agreement and the abandonment of

          the Merger pursuant to this Article VIII, this Agreement (other

          than as set forth in Section 9.1) shall become void and of no

          effect with no liability on the part of any party hereto (or of

          any of its directors, officers, employees, agents, legal or

          financial advisors or other representatives); provided, however,

          that except as otherwise provided herein, no such termination

          shall relieve any party hereto of any liability or damages

          resulting from any intentional breach of any covenant of such

          party set forth in this Agreement (in any such case in which

          Keystone is not the breaching party, to the extent any such

          liability or damages exceed any Termination Fee which may have

          been paid to Keystone pursuant to Section 8.5(b)); and, provided,

          further, that if such termination arises pursuant to Section

          8.3(b) or clause (ii) of Section 8.4 as a result of a breach of a

          representation and warranty made by the other party (other than a

          breach caused solely as a result of an event or circumstance

          occurring or arising subsequent to the date of the execution and

          delivery of this Agreement), such other party shall pay to the non-breaching party promptly, but in no event later than two days

          after the date of such termination, a fee equal to two hundred

          fifty thousand dollars ($250,000).



                         (b)  In the event that (i) after the date hereof a

          bona fide Acquisition Proposal with respect to the Company or any

          Subsidiary of the Company that was not solicited by the Company

          after the date hereof shall have been made to the Company or any

          of its Subsidiaries by any Person and made known to shareholders

          generally or has been made directly to shareholders generally or

          any Person shall have publicly announced an intention (whether or

          not conditional) to make a bona fide Acquisition Proposal with

          respect to the Company or any Subsidiary of the Company and such

          Acquisition Proposal or announced intention shall not have been

          withdrawn prior to the Shareholders Meeting and thereafter this

          Agreement is terminated by either Keystone or the Company

          pursuant to Section 8.2(ii) as a result of the failure of the

          Company's shareholders to approve the Merger at the meeting

          referred to herein and within nine months after such termination

          the Company shall have entered into an agreement to consummate a

          transaction with such Person that would constitute an Acquisition

          Proposal if it were the subject of a proposal, or (ii) this

          Agreement is terminated (x) by the Company pursuant to

          Section 8.3(a) or (y) by Keystone pursuant to Section 8.4(i),

          (ii) (solely with respect to a willful and intentional breach of

          Section 6.2) or (iii), then the Company shall promptly, but in no

          event later than two days after the date of such termination

          (except as otherwise provided in Section 8.3(a)) or, in the case

          of a termination pursuant to Section 8.2(ii), two days after the

          relevant agreement is entered into, pay Keystone a fee equal to

          $1.9 million (the "Termination Fee"), payable by wire transfer of

          same day funds. The Company acknowledges that the agreements contained in this Section 8.5(b) are an integral part of the

          transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and that, without

          these agreements, Keystone and Merger Sub would not enter into

          this Agreement; accordingly, if the Company fails to promptly pay

          the amount due pursuant to this Section 8.5(b), and, in order to

          obtain such payment, Keystone or Merger Sub commences a suit

          which results in a judgment against the Company for the fee set

          forth in this paragraph (b), the Company shall pay to Keystone or

          Merger Sub its costs and expenses (including attorneys, fees) in

          connection with such suit, together with interest on the amount

          of the fee at the prime rate of Mellon Bank, N.A. in effect on

          the date such payment was required to be made.  Solely for

          purposes of Section 8.5(b)(i), the term "Acquisition Proposal"

          shall have the meaning assigned to such term in Section 6.2(a)

          except that references to "15%" in the definition of "Acquisition

          Proposal" in Section 6.2(a) shall be deemed to be references to

          35%.







                                     ARTICLE IX



                              Miscellaneous and General



                    9.1  Survival.  This Article IX (other than Sections

          9.2 and 9.4) and the agreements of the Company, Keystone and

          Merger Sub contained in Sections 6.7(b) (Affiliates), 6.10

          (Benefits), 6.11 (Expenses), 6.12 (Indemnification; Directors'

          and Officers' Insurance) and 6.16 (Tax Status) shall survive the

          consummation of the Merger.  This Article IX (other than

          Section 9.2, Section 9.3, and Section 9.14) and the agreements of

          the Company, Keystone and Merger Sub contained in Section 6.11

          (Expenses), Section 6.15 (Confidentiality) and Section 8.5

          (Effect of Termination and Abandonment) shall survive the

          termination of this Agreement.  All other representations,

          warranties, covenants and agreements in this Agreement shall not

          survive the consummation of the Merger or the termination of this

          Agreement.



                    9.2  Modification or Amendment.  Subject to the

          provisions of applicable law, at any time prior to the Effective

          Time, the parties hereto may modify or amend this Agreement, by

          written agreement executed and delivered by duly authorized

          officers of the respective parties.



                    9.3  Waiver of Conditions.  (a)  Any provision of this

          Agreement may be waived prior to the Effective Time if, and only

          if, such waiver is in writing and signed by the party against

          whom the waiver is to be effective.



                         (b)  No failure or delay by any party in

          exercising any right, power or privilege hereunder shall operate

          as a waiver thereof nor shall any single or partial exercise

          thereof preclude any other or further exercise thereof or the

          exercise of any other right, power or privilege.  Except as

          otherwise herein provided, the rights and remedies herein

          provided shall be cumulative and not exclusive of any rights or

          remedies provided by law.



                    9.4  Counterparts.  This Agreement may be executed in

          any number of counterparts, each such counterpart being deemed to

          be an original instrument, and all such counterparts shall

          together constitute the same agreement.

                    9.5  GOVERNING LAW AND VENUE; WAIVER OF JURY TRIAL.

          (a) THIS AGREEMENT SHALL BE DEEMED TO BE MADE IN AND IN ALL

          RESPECTS SHALL BE INTERPRETED, CONSTRUED AND GOVERNED BY AND IN

          ACCORDANCE WITH THE LAW OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE, WITHOUT REGARD

          TO THE CONFLICT OF LAW PRINCIPLES THEREOF, AND THE MERGER SHALL

          BE GOVERNED BY AND IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE DGCL, TO THE EXTENT

          APPLICABLE.  The parties hereby irrevocably submit to the

          jurisdiction of the Federal courts of the United States of

          America or the Court of Chancery located in the State of Delaware

          solely in respect of the interpretation and enforcement of the

          provisions of this Agreement and of the documents referred to in

          this Agreement, and in respect of the transactions contemplated

          hereby and thereby, and hereby waive, and agree not to assert, as

          a defense in any action, suit or proceeding for the

          interpretation or enforcement hereof or of any such document,

          that it is not subject thereto or that such action, suit or

          proceeding may not be brought or is not maintainable in said

          courts or that the venue thereof may not be appropriate or that

          this Agreement or any such document may not be enforced in or by

          such courts, and the parties hereto irrevocably agree that all

          claims with respect to such action or proceeding shall be heard

          and determined in such a court.  The parties hereby

          consent to and grant any such court jurisdiction over the Person

          of such parties and over the subject matter of such dispute and

          agree that mailing of process or other papers in connection with

          any such action or proceeding in the manner provided in

          Section 9.6 or in such other manner as may be permitted by law,

          shall be valid and sufficient service thereof.

                         (b)  EACH PARTY ACKNOWLEDGES AND AGREES THAT ANY

          CONTROVERSY WHICH MAY ARISE UNDER THIS AGREEMENT IS LIKELY TO

          INVOLVE COMPLICATED AND DIFFICULT ISSUES, AND THEREFORE EACH SUCH

          PARTY HEREBY IRREVOCABLY AND UNCONDITIONALLY WAIVES ANY RIGHT

          SUCH PARTY MAY HAVE TO A TRIAL BY JURY IN RESPECT OF ANY

          LITIGATION DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY ARISING OUT OF OR RELATING TO

          THIS AGREEMENT, OR THE TRANSACTIONS CONTEMPLATED BY THIS

          AGREEMENT.  EACH PARTY CERTIFIES AND ACKNOWLEDGES THAT (i) NO

          REPRESENTATIVE, AGENT OR ATTORNEY OF ANY OTHER PARTY HAS

          REPRESENTED, EXPRESSLY OR OTHERWISE, THAT SUCH OTHER PARTY WOULD

          NOT, IN THE EVENT OF LITIGATION, SEEK TO ENFORCE THE FOREGOING

          WAIVER, (ii) EACH SUCH PARTY UNDERSTANDS AND HAS CONSIDERED THE

          IMPLICATIONS OF THIS WAIVER, (iii) EACH SUCH PARTY MAKES THIS

          WAIVER VOLUNTARILY, AND (iv) EACH SUCH PARTY HAS BEEN INDUCED TO

          ENTER INTO THIS AGREEMENT BY, AMONG OTHER THINGS, THE MUTUAL

          WAIVERS AND CERTIFICATIONS IN THIS SECTION 9.5.



                    9.6  Notices.  Notices, requests, instructions or other

          documents to be given under this Agreement shall be in writing

          and shall be deemed given, (i) three business days following

          sending by registered or certified mail, postage prepaid,

          (ii) when sent if sent by facsimile, provided that the fax is

          promptly confirmed by telephone confirmation thereof, (iii) when

          delivered, if delivered personally to the intended recipient, and

          (iv) one business day later, if sent by overnight delivery via a

          national courier service, and in each case, addressed to a party

          at the following address for such party:



                    If to Keystone or Merger Sub:


                    Keystone Automotive Industries, Inc.

                    700 East Bonita Avenue

                    Pomona, California 91767

                    Attn:  James C. Lockwood, Esq.

                    Fax:  (909) 624-9136



                    with copies to:



                    Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

                    11355 W. Olympic Boulevard

                    Los Angeles, California 90064

                    Attn:  Paul Irving, Esq.

                    Fax:  (310) 312-4224



                    If to the Company:

                    Republic Automotive Parts, Inc.

                    500 Wilson Pike Circle

                    Suite 115

                    P.O. Box 2088

                    Brentwood, Tennessee 37024

                    Attn:  Keith M. Thompson

                    Fax: (615) 373-1629



                    with copies to:

                    Patterson, Belknap, Webb & Tyler, LLP

                    1133 Avenue of the Americas

                    New York, NY  10036-6701

                    Attn:  Jeffrey E. LaGueux, Esq.

                    Fax:  (212) 336-2222



                    and



                    Berner & Berner, P.C.

                    515 Madison Avenue

                    20th Floor

                    New York, New York 10022

                    Attn: Richard O. Berner, Esq.

                    Fax: (212) 735-0638



          or to such other Persons or addresses as may be designated in

          writing by the party to receive such notice as provided above.



                    9.7  Entire Agreement.  This Agreement (including any

          exhibits hereto), the Stock Option Agreement, the Confidentiality

          Agreement, the Company Disclosure Letter and the Keystone

          Disclosure Letter constitute the entire agreement, and supersede

          all other prior agreements, understandings, representations and

          warranties both written and oral, among the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof. EACH PARTY HERETO AGREES THAT,

          EXCEPT FOR THE REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES CONTAINED IN THIS

          AGREEMENT AND THE STOCK OPTION AGREEMENT, NEITHER KEYSTONE AND

          MERGER SUB NOR THE COMPANY MAKES ANY OTHER REPRESENTATIONS OR

          WARRANTIES, AND EACH HEREBY DISCLAIMS ANY OTHER REPRESENTATIONS

          OR WARRANTIES MADE BY ITSELF OR ANY OF ITS OFFICERS, DIRECTORS,

          EMPLOYEES, AGENTS, FINANCIAL AND LEGAL ADVISORS OR OTHER

          REPRESENTATIVES, WITH RESPECT TO THE EXECUTION AND DELIVERY OF

          THIS AGREEMENT OR THE TRANSACTIONS CONTEMPLATED HEREBY,

          NOTWITHSTANDING THE DELIVERY OR DISCLOSURE TO THE OTHER OR THE

          OTHER'S REPRESENTATIVES OF ANY DOCUMENTATION OR OTHER INFORMATION

          WITH RESPECT TO ANY ONE OR MORE OF THE FOREGOING.



                    9.8  No Third Party Beneficiaries.  Except as provided

          in Sections 6.7(b) (Affiliates), 6.12 (Indemnification;

          Directors, and Officers, Insurance) and 6.16 (Tax Status), this

          Agreement is not intended to confer upon any Person other than

          the parties hereto any rights or remedies hereunder.



                    9.9  Obligations of Keystone and of the Company.

          Whenever this Agreement requires a Subsidiary of Keystone to take

          any action, such requirement shall be deemed to include an

          undertaking on the part of Keystone to cause such Subsidiary to

          take such action. whenever this Agreement requires a Subsidiary

          of the Company to take any action, such requirement shall be deemed to include an undertaking on the part of the Company to

          cause such Subsidiary to take such action and, after the

          Effective Time, on the part of the Surviving Corporation to cause

          such Subsidiary to take such action.



                    9.10 Severability.  The provisions of this Agreement

          shall be deemed severable and the invalidity or unenforceability

          of any provision shall not affect the validity or enforceability

          or the other provisions hereof.  If any provision of this

          Agreement, or the application thereof to any Person or any

          circumstance, is invalid or unenforceable, (a) a suitable and

          equitable provision shall be substituted therefor in order to

          carry out, so far as may be valid and enforceable, the intent and

          purpose of such invalid or unenforceable provision and (b) the

          remainder of this Agreement and the application of such provision

          to other Persons or circumstances shall not be affected by such

          invalidity or unenforceability, nor shall such invalidity or

          unenforceability affect the validity or enforceability of such

          provision, or the application thereof, in any other jurisdiction.



                    9.11 Interpretation.  The table of contents and

          headings herein are for convenience of reference only, do not

          constitute part of this Agreement and shall not be deemed to

          limit or otherwise affect any of the provisions hereof.  Where a

          reference in this Agreement is made to a Section or Exhibit, such

          reference shall be to a Section of or Exhibit to this Agreement

          unless otherwise indicated.  Whenever the words "include,"

          "includes" or "including" are used in this Agreement, they shall

          be deemed to be followed by the words "without limitation."

                    9.12 Assignment.  This Agreement shall not be

          assignable by operation of law or otherwise.

                    IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Agreement has been duly

          executed and delivered by the duly authorized officers of the

          parties hereto as of the date first written above.



                                   KEYSTONE AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES, INC.


                                   By:/s/Charles J. Hogarty
                                      ____________________________________
                                      Name:     Charles J. Hogarty
                                      Title:    Chief Executive Officer



                                   KAI MERGER, INC.


                                   By:/s/Charles J. Hogarty
                                      ____________________________________
                                      Name:     Charles J. Hogarty
                                      Title:    Chief Executive Officer


                                   REPUBLIC AUTOMOTIVE PARTS, INC.


                                   By:/s/Donald B. Hauk
                                      ____________________________________
                                      Name:     Donald B. Hauk
                                      Title:    Executive Vice President
                                                and Chief Financial Officer



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                                  TABLE OF CONTENTS


                                                                       Page



          RECITALS                                                       1

          ARTICLE I  The Merger; Closing; Effective Time                 2
               1.1  The Merger.                                          2
               1.2  Closing.                                             3
               1.3  Effective Time.                                      3

          ARTICLE II Certificate of Incorporation and By-Laws of the
               Surviving Corporation                                     4
               2.1  The Certificate of Incorporation.                    4
               2.2  The By-Laws                                          4

          ARTICLE III Officers, Directors and Management                 4
               3.1  Directors of Surviving Corporation.                  4
               3.2  Officers of Surviving Corporation.                   5

          ARTICLE IV  Effect of the Merger on Capital Stock;
                      Exchange of Certificates                           5
               4.1  Effect on Capital Stock.                             5
                    (a)  Merger Consideration                            5
                    (b)  Cancellation of Shares                          6
                    (c)  Merger Sub                                      6
               4.2  Exchange of Certificates for Shares.                 6
                    (a)  Exchange Procedures                             7
                    (b)  Voting                                          8
                    (c)  Transfers                                       9
                    (d)  Fractional Shares                               9
                    (e)  Termination of Exchange Period; Unclaimed Stock 9
                    (f)  Lost, Stolen or Destroyed Certificates         10
                    (g)  Affiliates                                     10
               4.3  Adjustments to Prevent Dilution.                    10

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          ARTICLE V  Representations and Warranties                     11
               5.1  Representations and Warranties of the Company,
                     Keystone and Merger Sub                            11
                    (a)  Organization, Good Standing and Qualification  12
                    (b)  Governmental Filings; No Violations            13
                    (c)  Reports; Financial Statements                  14
                    (d)  Absence of Certain Changes                     15
                    (e)  Litigation and Liabilities                     16
                    (f)  Accounting and Tax Matters                     17
                    (g)  Taxes                                          17
                    (h)  Compliance with Laws                           19
               5.2  Representations and Warranties of the Company       20
                    (a)  Capital Structure                              20
                    (b)  Corporate Authority; Approval and Fairness     22
                    (c)  Employee Benefits                              23
                    (d)  Takeover Statutes                              25
                    (e)  Environmental Matters                          26
                    (f)  Labor Matters                                  27
                    (g)  Brokers and Finders                            28
                    (h)  Intellectual Property                          28
                    (i)  Rights Agreement                               29
               5.3  Representations and Warranties of Keystone
                     and Merger Sub                                     29
                    (a)  Capital Structure                              29
                    (b)  Corporate Authority; Approval and Fairness     31
                    (c)  Employee Benefits                              32
                    (d)  Environmental Matters                          34
                    (e)  Labor Matters                                  35
                    (f)  Intellectual Property                          35
                    (g)  Brokers and Finders                            36

          ARTICLE VI  Covenants                                         36
               6.1  Interim Operations                                  36
               6.2. Acquisition Proposals.                              40
               6.3  Information Supplied.                               42
               6.4  Shareholders Meeting.                               43
               6.5  Filings; Other Actions; Notification                44
               6.6  Access; Consultation.                               46
               6.7  Affiliates.                                         47

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               6.8  National Market Listing and De-listing.             49
               6.9  Publicity                                           49
               6.10  Benefits.                                          50
                    (a)  Stock Options                                  50
                    (b)  Employee Benefits                              51
               6.11 Expenses                                            51
               6.12 Indemnification; Directors, and Officers, Insurance 51
               6.13 Takeover Statute                                    54
               6.14 Confidentiality                                     54
               6.15 Transfer Taxes                                      55
               6.16 Tax Status                                          55

          ARTICLE VII  Conditions                                       55
               7.1  Conditions to Each Party's Obligation to
                    Effect the Merger                                   56
                    (a)  Shareholder Approval                           56
                    (b)  National Market Listing                        56
                    (c)  Governmental Consents                          56
                    (d)  Laws and orders                                56
                    (e)  S-4                                            57
               7.2  Conditions to Obligations of Keystone
                    and Merger Sub                                      57
                    (a)  Representations and Warranties                 57
                    (b)  Performance of Obligations Company             58
                    (c)  Dissenting Keystone Shares                     58
                    (d)  Consent of Lender                              58
                    (e)  Fairness Opinion                               58
                    (f)  Legal Opinion                                  58
               7.3  Conditions to Obligation of the Company             59
                    (a)  Representations and Warranties                 59
                    (b)  Performance of Obligations of Keystone
                         and Merger Sub                                 59
                    (c)  Dissenting Keystone Shares                     60
                    (d)  Fairness Opinion                               60
                    (e)  Legal Opinion                                  60

          ARTICLE VIII  Termination                                     61
               8.1  Termination by Mutual Consent                       61
               8.2  Termination by Either Keystone or the Company       61
               8.3  Termination by the Company                          62

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               8.4  Termination by Keystone                             63
               8.5  Effect of Termination and Abandonment               64

          ARTICLE IX  Miscellaneous and General                         66
               9.1  Survival                                            66
               9.2  Modification or Amendment                           67
               9.3  Waiver of Conditions                                67
               9.4  Counterparts                                        67
               9.5  GOVERNING LAW AND VENUE; WAIVER OF JURY TRIAL       68
               9.6  Notices                                             69
               9.7  Entire Agreement                                    72
               9.8  No Third Party Beneficiaries                        73
               9.9  Obligations of Keystone and of the Company          73
               9.10 Severability                                        74
               9.11 Interpretation                                      74
               9.12 Assignment                                          75


          EXHIBITS

               A    Stock Option Agreement                             A-1

               B    Form of Company Affiliate's Letter                 B-1

               C    Form of Keystone Affiliate's Letter                C-1


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                               INDEX OF DEFINED TERMS


          Term                                                  Section

          Acquisition Proposal.................................6.2(a),8.5(b)(i)
          Affiliate............................................     6.7
          Agreement............................................preamble
          Audit Date...........................................  5.1(c)
          Bankruptcy and Equity Exception......................  5.2(b)
          By-Laws..............................................     2.2
          Certificate..........................................  4.1(a)
          Certificate of Merger................................     1.3
          Charter..............................................     2.1
          Closing..............................................     1.2
          Closing Date.........................................     1.2
          Code.................................................recitals
          Company..............................................preamble
          Company Affiliate's Letter...........................  6.7(a)
          Company Disclosure Letter............................     5.1
          Company Option.......................................6.10(a)(i)
          Company Required Consents............................5.1(b)(i)
          Company Requisite Vote...............................  5.2(b)
          Company Share........................................  4.1(a)
          Company Shares.......................................  4.1(a)
          Compensation and Benefit Plans.......................5.2(c)(i)
          Confidentiality Agreement............................  6.6(a)
          Contracts............................................5.1(b)(ii)(B)
          Costs................................................ 6.12(a)
          Current Premium...................................... 6.12(c)
          D&O Insurance........................................ 6.12(c)
          DGCL.................................................     1.1
          Disclosure Letter....................................     5.1
          Effective Time.......................................     1.3
          Environmental Law....................................  5.2(e)
          ERISA................................................5.2(c)(ii)
          ERISA Affiliate......................................5.2(c)(iii)
          ERISA Affiliate Plan.................................5.2(c)(iii)
          Escrow Account.......................................     4.4
          Escrow Agent.........................................     4.4
          Escrow Agreement.....................................     4.4
          Exchange Act.........................................5.1(b)(i)(B)
          Exchange Agent.......................................  4.2(a)
          Exchange Ratio.......................................  4.1(a)

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          Excluded Company Shares..............................  4.1(a)
          GAAP.................................................  5.1(c)
          Governmental Entity..................................5.1(b)(i)(C)
          Hazardous Substance..................................  5.2(e)
          HSR Act..............................................5.1(b)(i)(B)
          Indemnified Parties.................................. 6.12(a)
          Initial 15 Day Period................................     8.4
          IRS..................................................5.2(c)(ii)
          Keystone.............................................preamble
          Keystone Affiliate's Letter.......................... 6.7(a)
          Keystone Common Stock................................  4.1(a)
          Keystone Disclosure Letter...........................     5.1
          Keystone Preferred Shares............................5.3(a)(i)
          Keystone Required Consents...........................5.1(b)(i)
          Keystone Requisite Vote..............................  5.3(b)
          Laws.................................................  5.1(h)
          Litigation...........................................5.1(e)(i)
          Material Adverse Effect..............................5.1(a)(ii)
          Merger...............................................recitals
          Merger Consideration.................................  4.1(a)
          Merger Sub...........................................preamble
          Named Executive Officers.............................  5.1(e)
          Order................................................  7.1(d)
          Pension Plan.........................................5.2(c)(ii)
          Person...............................................  4.2(a)
          Permits..............................................  5.1(h)
          Prospectus/Proxy Statement...........................  6.3(i)
          Registered Keystone Shares...........................4.2(a)(ii)(A)
          Reports..............................................  5.1(c)
          Representatives......................................  6.6(a)
          S-4 Registration Statement...........................  6.3(i)
          SEC..................................................  5.1(c)
          Securities Act.......................................5.1(b)(i)(B)
          Shareholders Meetings................................     6.4
          Significant Subsidiaries.............................5.1(b)(ii)(A)
          Stock Option Agreement...............................recitals
          Stock Plans..........................................5.2(a)(ii)
          Subsidiary...........................................5.1(a)(i)
          Substitute Option....................................6.10(a)(i)
          Superior Proposal....................................  6.2(a)
          Surviving Corporation................................     1.1
          Takeover Statute.....................................  5.2(d)
          Tax..................................................5.1(g)(x)

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          Taxes................................................5.1(g)(x)
          Taxable..............................................5.1(g)(x)
          Tax Return...........................................5.1(g)(y)
          Termination Date.....................................  8.2(i)
          Termination Fee......................................  8.5(b)
          The Other Party......................................5.1(a)(iii)
          Transfer Taxes.......................................    6.15

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