Exhibit 99.1

For Immediate Release

Contact: Paul Colasono, CFO
Franklin Credit Management Corporation
(201) 604-4402
pcolasono@franklincredit.com

FRANKLIN CREDIT COMMENTS ON RECENTLY ANNOUNCED
MERGER OF SKY FINANCIAL AND HUNTINGTON BANCSHARES

Franklin Management Views Proposed Merger as Beneficial to Company

NEW YORK, January 9, 2007 -- Franklin Credit Management Corporation (NASDAQ Global Market: FCMC - News) today commented upon the pending merger between Sky Financial Group Inc., its lead lending bank, and Huntington Bancshares Incorporated. “The combined bank, on a pro forma basis, will be significantly larger, and as our business continues to expand, we believe it will be advantageous to have a borrowing relationship with a larger financial institution”, commented Paul Colasono, Chief Financial Officer of Franklin Credit Management Corporation. “Based on currently available information, it appears that the combined bank will have approximately $54 billion in assets and will be the 24th largest bank holding company headquartered in the United States”.

Marty Adams, Sky Financial’s current Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, will become the President and Chief Operating Officer of the combined bank. “This merger should be very beneficial for Franklin Credit,” added Gordon Jardin, Franklin’s Chief Executive Officer.

“We expect Mr. Adams, who will be responsible for Regional Banking, to remain actively involved with our lending relationship, and we have received positive feedback from Sky Financial’s management regarding the merger and Franklin’s borrowing facilities,” commented Tom Axon, Chairman of Franklin Credit Management Corporation.

About Franklin Credit Management Corporation

Franklin Credit Management Corporation ("Franklin") is a specialty consumer finance company primarily engaged in two related lines of business -- the acquisition, servicing and resolution of performing, reperforming and nonperforming residential mortgage loans; and the origination of non-prime mortgage loans for the Company's portfolio and for sale into the secondary market. Franklin focuses on acquiring and originating loans secured by 1-4 family residential real estate that generally fall outside the underwriting standards of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and involve elevated credit risk as a result of the nature or absence of income documentation, limited credit histories, higher levels of consumer debt or past credit difficulties. The Company typically purchases loan portfolios at a discount to the unpaid principal balance and originates loans with interest rates and fees calculated to provide a rate of return adjusted to reflect the elevated credit risk inherent in these types of loans. Franklin originates non-prime loans through its wholly-owned subsidiary, Tribeca Lending Corp. and generally holds for investment the loans acquired and a significant portion of the loans originated. The Company's executive offices are headquartered in New York City and its new

administrative and operations office is located in Jersey City, New Jersey. Additional information on the company is available on the Internet at our website at www.franklincredit.com. Franklin's common stock is listed on the NASDAQ Global Market under the symbol "FCMC".

Statements contained herein that are not historical fact may be forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, that are subject to a variety of risks and uncertainties. There are a number of important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected or suggested in forward-looking statements made by the Company. These factors include, but are not limited to: (i) unanticipated changes in the U.S. economy, including changes in business conditions such as interest rates, and changes in the level of growth in the finance and housing markets; (ii) the status of the Company’s relations with the Company’s principal lender and such lender's willingness to extend credit to the Company; (iii) the availability for purchases of additional loans; (iv) the availability of sub-prime borrowers for the origination of additional loans; (v) changes in the statutes or regulations applicable to the Company’s business or in the interpretation and enforcement thereof by the relevant authorities; (vi) the status of the Company’s regulatory compliance; and (vii) other risks detailed from time to time in the Company’s SEC reports and filings. Additional factors that would cause actual results to differ materially from those projected or suggested in any forward-looking statements are contained in the Company’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including, but not limited to, those factors discussed under the captions "Risk Factors", “Interest Rate Risk” and “Real Estate Risk” in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q which the Company urges investors to consider. The Company undertakes no obligation to publicly release the revisions to such forward-looking statements that may be made to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrences of unanticipated events, except as other wise required by securities, and other applicable laws. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. The Company undertakes no obligation to release publicly the results on any events or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events.