EDISON INTERNATIONAL (CIK 827052)
Form 10-Q
period 2005-06-30
filed 2005-08-09

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

                         Class                                            Outstanding at August 5, 2005
-----------------------------------------------------       -------------------------------------------------------
              Common Stock, no par value                                           325,811,206

=======================================================================================================================================

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

INDEX
                                                                                                   Page
                                                                                                    No.
                                                                                                  ------

Part I.  Financial Information:

  Item 1.          Financial Statements:

                   Consolidated Statements of Income - Three and Six Months
                     Ended June 30, 2005 and 2004                                                   1

                   Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income -
                     Three and Six Months Ended June 30, 2005 and 2004                              2

                   Consolidated Balance Sheets - June 30, 2005
                     and December 31, 2004                                                          3

                   Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows - Six Months
                     Ended June 30, 2005 and 2004                                                   5

                   Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements                                       6

  Item 2.          Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
                     and Results of Operations                                                     33

  Item 3.          Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk                      85

  Item 4.          Controls and Procedures                                                         85

Part II.  Other Information:

  Item 1.          Legal Proceedings                                                               86

  Item 2.          Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds                     87

  Item 4.          Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders                             88

  Item 6.          Exhibits                                                                        89

Signature

EDISON INTERNATIONAL
PART I        FINANCIAL INFORMATION
Item 1.       Financial Statements
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME

                                                               Three Months Ended             Six Months Ended
                                                                    June 30,                       June 30,
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions, except per-share amounts                        2005           2004             2005         2004
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                  (Unaudited)
Electric utility                                          $ 2,203         $  2,176       $  4,109       $ 3,872
Nonutility power generation                                   417              359            928           748
Financial services and other                                   29               30             56            61
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total operating revenue                                     2,649            2,565          5,093         4,681
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fuel                                                          399              384            818           611
Purchased power                                               743              527          1,131         1,107
Provisions for regulatory adjustment clauses - net            (41)             (33)            24           (51)
Other operation and maintenance                               815              796          1,624         1,581
Asset impairment and loss on lease termination                  7              954             11           954
Depreciation, decommissioning and amortization                267              266            527           522
Property and other taxes                                       50               53            102            98
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total operating expenses                                    2,240            2,947          4,237         4,822
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Operating income (loss)                                       409             (382)           856          (141)
Interest and dividend income                                   25               11             47            22
Equity in income from partnerships and
   unconsolidated subsidiaries - net                           24               10            108            29
Other nonoperating income                                      20                9             37            87
Interest expense - net of amounts capitalized                (204)            (252)          (417)         (489)
Loss on early extinguishment of debt                           --               --            (24)           --
Other nonoperating deductions                                 (13)             (16)           (22)          (29)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income (loss) from continuing operations before tax
   and minority interest                                      261             (620)           585          (521)
Income tax (benefit)                                           34             (264)           138          (221)
Dividends on utility preferred and preference stock
   not subject to mandatory redemption                          5                1              7             3
Minority interest                                              42               43             65            44
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income (loss) from continuing operations                      180             (400)           375          (347)
Income from discontinued operations - net of tax               21               26             28            72
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Income (loss) before accounting change                        201             (374)           403          (275)
Cumulative effect of accounting change - net of tax            --               --             --            (1)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net income (loss)                                         $   201         $   (374)      $    403       $  (276)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weighted-average shares of common stock outstanding           326              326            326           326
Basic earnings (loss) per common share:
Continuing operations                                     $  0.55         $  (1.23)      $   1.15       $ (1.07)
Discontinued operations                                      0.06             0.08           0.08          0.22
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total                                                     $  0.61         $  (1.15)      $   1.23       $ (0.85)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weighted-average shares, including
   effect of dilutive securities                              331              326            331           326
Diluted earnings (loss) per common share:
Continuing operations                                     $  0.55         $  (1.23)      $   1.14       $ (1.07)
Discontinued operations                                      0.06             0.08           0.08          0.22
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total                                                     $  0.61         $  (1.15)      $   1.22       $ (0.85)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dividends declared per common share                       $  0.25         $   0.20       $   0.50       $  0.40

                              The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF COMPREHENSIVE INCOME

                                                              Three Months Ended               Six Months Ended
                                                                   June 30,                         June 30,
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions                                                  2005           2004             2005           2004
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                  (Unaudited)
Net income (loss)                                          $  201          $  (374)       $   403         $ (276)
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax:
   Foreign currency translation adjustments                    (2)             (29)            (2)            (7)
   Unrealized gain on investments - net                        --               18             --             18
   Unrealized gains (losses) on cash flow hedges:
     Other unrealized (gain) loss on and
       amortization of cash flow hedges - net                  16               (3)           (54)           (48)
     Reclassification adjustment for gain (loss)
       included in net income                                  (3)              22             (8)            43
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Other comprehensive income (loss)                              11                8            (64)             6
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Comprehensive income (loss)                                $  212          $  (366)       $   339         $ (270)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                              The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                                                               June 30,             December 31,
In millions                                                                      2005                   2004
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                              (Unaudited)
ASSETS
Cash and equivalents                                                       $    2,119             $    2,688
Restricted cash                                                                   170                     73
Receivables, less allowances of $30 and $31 for uncollectible
  accounts at respective dates                                                    931                    846
Accrued unbilled revenue                                                          519                    320
Fuel inventory                                                                     95                     73
Materials and supplies                                                            240                    231
Accumulated deferred income taxes - net                                           445                    288
Trading and price risk management assets                                           35                     41
Regulatory assets                                                                 752                    553
Other current assets                                                              242                    336
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total current assets                                                            5,548                  5,449
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Nonutility property - less accumulated provision for
  depreciation of $1,369 and $1,311 at respective dates                         3,949                  3,922
Nuclear decommissioning trusts                                                  2,793                  2,757
Investments in partnerships and unconsolidated subsidiaries                       587                    608
Investments in leveraged leases                                                 2,451                  2,424
Other investments                                                                 176                    197
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total investments and other assets                                              9,956                  9,908
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Utility plant, at original cost:
   Transmission and distribution                                               16,042                 15,685
   Generation                                                                   1,372                  1,356
Accumulated provision for depreciation                                         (4,629)                (4,506)
Construction work in progress                                                     871                    789
Nuclear fuel, at amortized cost                                                   141                    151
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total utility plant                                                            13,797                 13,475
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Restricted cash                                                                   128                    155
Regulatory assets                                                               3,169                  3,285
Other deferred charges                                                            927                    875
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total deferred charges                                                          4,224                  4,315
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Assets of discontinued operations                                                  12                    122
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total assets                                                               $   33,537             $   33,269
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                              The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                                                               June 30,            December 31,
In millions, except share amounts                                                2005                  2004
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                              (Unaudited)
LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
Short-term debt                                                            $      148            $       88
Long-term debt due within one year                                                736                   809
Preferred stock to be redeemed within one year                                     --                     9
Accounts payable                                                                  717                   749
Accrued taxes                                                                     507                   226
Accrued interest                                                                  220                   233
Customer deposits                                                                 177                   168
Book overdrafts                                                                   262                   232
Trading and price risk management liabilities                                     148                    31
Regulatory liabilities                                                            766                   490
Other current liabilities                                                         939                 1,002
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total current liabilities                                                       4,620                 4,037
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Long-term debt                                                                  8,872                 9,678
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Accumulated deferred income taxes - net                                         5,230                 5,233
Accumulated deferred investment tax credits                                       135                   138
Customer advances and other deferred credits                                    1,237                 1,109
Power-purchase contracts                                                           88                   130
Preferred stock subject to mandatory redemption                                    --                   139
Accumulated provision for pensions and benefits                                   569                   523
Asset retirement obligations                                                    2,247                 2,188
Regulatory liabilities                                                          3,217                 3,356
Other long-term liabilities                                                       249                   232
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total deferred credits and other liabilities                                   12,972                13,048
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Liabilities of discontinued operations                                             15                    15
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total liabilities                                                              26,479                26,778
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Commitments and contingencies (Notes 2, 4 and 7)
Minority interest                                                                 308                   313
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Preferred and preference stock of utility
   not subject to mandatory redemption                                            529                   129
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Common stock (325,811,206 shares outstanding at each date)                      1,993                 1,975
Accumulated other comprehensive loss                                              (68)                   (4)
Retained earnings                                                               4,296                 4,078
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total common shareholders' equity                                               6,221                 6,049
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total liabilities and shareholders' equity                                 $   33,537            $   33,269
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                              The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS                                                  Six Months Ended
                                                                                           June 30,
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions                                                                     2005                      2004
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                         (Unaudited)
Cash flows from operating activities:
Income from continuing operations, after accounting change, net of tax      $    375                   $  (347)
Adjustments to reconcile to net cash provided by operating activities:
   Cumulative effect of accounting change, net of tax                             --                         1
   Depreciation, decommissioning and amortization                                527                       522
   Other amortization                                                             47                        49
   Minority interest                                                              65                        44
   Deferred income taxes and investment tax credits                             (155)                     (160)
   Equity in income from partnerships and unconsolidated subsidiaries           (108)                      (29)
   Income from leveraged leases                                                  (36)                      (44)
   Regulatory  assets - long-term                                                214                       199
   Regulatory liabilities - long-term                                           (127)                      (50)
   Loss on early extinguishment of debt                                           24                        --
   Other assets                                                                  (20)                      (55)
   Other liabilities                                                             166                        33
   Receivables and accrued unbilled revenue                                     (268)                     (198)
   Inventory, prepayments and other current assets                              (193)                      (72)
   Regulatory assets - short-term                                               (199)                     (404)
   Regulatory liabilities - short-term                                           276                       299
   Accrued interest and taxes                                                    282                       (32)
   Accounts payable and other current liabilities                                (97)                     (137)
   Distributions and dividends from unconsolidated entities                       39                        50
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash provided (used) by operating activities                                 812                      (331)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash flows from financing activities:
Long-term debt issued and issuance costs                                         980                     3,322
Long-term debt repaid                                                         (1,848)                   (1,648)
Bonds remarketed - net                                                            --                       350
Issuance of preference stock                                                     395                        --
Redemption of preferred securities                                              (148)                       (2)
Rate reduction notes repaid                                                     (116)                     (115)
Change in book overdrafts                                                         30                        36
Short-term debt financing - net                                                   60                      (209)
Shares purchased for stock-based compensation                                    (90)                      (21)
Proceeds from stock option exercises                                              51                        15
Dividends to minority shareholders                                               (58)                      (25)
Dividends paid                                                                  (163)                     (130)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash provided (used) by financing activities                                (907)                    1,573
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash flows from investing activities:
Capital expenditures                                                            (809)                     (749)
Acquisition costs related to nonutility generation plant                          --                      (285)
Proceeds from sale of property and interests in projects                          --                       118
Proceeds from sale of discontinued operations                                    124                        --
Contributions to and earnings from nuclear decommissioning trusts - net          (51)                      (42)
Distributions from (investments in) partnerships and unconsolidated subsidiaries  68                        13
Sales of short-term investments - net                                            140                        10
Sales of investments in other assets                                              26                        23
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net cash used by investing activities                                           (502)                     (912)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Effect of consolidation of variable interest entities on cash                      3                        79
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Effect of deconsolidation of variable interest entities on cash                   --                       (32)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net changes in cash of discontinued operations                                    27                        41
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                                           (1)                       --
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net increase (decrease) in cash and equivalents                                 (568)                      418
Cash and equivalents, beginning of period                                      2,689                     2,178
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash and equivalents, end of period                                            2,121                     2,596
Cash and equivalents, discontinued operations                                     (2)                     (199)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cash and equivalents, continuing operations                                 $  2,119                   $ 2,397
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
Net income (loss) available for common stock was $200 million and $(374) million for the three months ended June 30, 2005, and 2004,
respectively, and was $400 million and $(276) million for the six months ended June 30, 2005, and 2004, respectively.  In arriving at
net income, dividends on preferred securities and preferred stock have been deducted.

For the diluted EPS calculation, dilutive securities (stock-based compensation awards exercisable) are added to the weighted-average
shares.  However, in periods of net loss, dilutive securities are not added to the weighted-average shares due to their antidilutive
effect.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Income Taxes

Edison International's income tax expense increased $298 million and $359 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30,
2005, respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004, primarily due to increases in pre-tax income.  The increases were
partially offset by reductions in accrued tax liabilities at Southern California Edison (SCE) and Mission Energy Holding Company
(MEHC) in 2005 to reflect progress in settlement negotiations related to prior-year tax liabilities, property-related flow-through
items at SCE, and adjustments made to tax balances at SCE and MEHC.

Edison International's composite federal and state statutory rate was approximately 40% for the three-and six-month periods ended
June 30, 2005.  The lower effective tax rate of 16% and 27% realized in the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, was primarily due to reductions in tax liabilities at SCE and MEHC, property-related flow-through items at SCE, the
benefits received from low-income housing and production tax credits at Edison Capital, and adjustments to tax balances at SCE and
MEHC.

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

The American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 included a tax deduction on qualified production activities income (including income from the
sale of electricity).  In December 2004, the FASB issued guidance that this deduction should be accounted for as a special deduction,
rather than a tax rate reduction.  Accordingly, the special deduction is recorded in the year it is earned.  The tax deduction is not
expected to materially affect Edison International's 2005 financial statements.  Edison International is evaluating the effect that
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
financial reporting for, VIEs, where

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
consolidated entities.

Regulatory Assets and Liabilities

Regulatory assets included in the consolidated balance sheets are:

                                                                                June 30,       December 31,
     In millions                                                                  2005              2004
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                               (Unaudited)
     Current
     Regulatory balancing accounts                                           $     523         $     371
     Direct access procurement charges                                             111               109
     Purchased-power settlements                                                    60                62
     Other                                                                          58                11
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                   752               553
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Long-term
     Flow-through taxes - net                                                    1,048             1,018
     Rate reduction notes - transition cost deferral                               593               739
     Unamortized nuclear investment - net                                          523               526
     Nuclear-related ARO investment - net                                          265               272
     Unamortized coal plant investment - net                                        81                78
     Unamortized loss on reacquired debt                                           326               250
     Direct access procurement charges                                              90               141
     Environmental remediation                                                      58                55
     Purchased-power settlements                                                    62                91
     Other                                                                         123               115
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                 3,169             3,285
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total regulatory assets                                                 $   3,921         $   3,838
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Regulatory liabilities included in the consolidated balance sheets are:

                                                                                June 30,       December 31,
     In millions                                                                  2005              2004
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                               (Unaudited)
     Current
     Regulatory balancing accounts                                           $     609         $     357
     Direct access procurement charges                                             111               109
     Other                                                                          46                24
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                   766               490
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Long-term
     ARO                                                                           765               819
     Costs of removal                                                            2,137             2,112
     Direct access procurement charges                                              90               141
     Employee benefits plans                                                       223               200
     Other                                                                           2                84
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                 3,217             3,356
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total regulatory liabilities                                            $   3,983         $   3,846
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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

                                                                   Three Months Ended          Six Months Ended
                                                                        June 30,                   June 30,
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     In millions, except per-share amounts                         2005           2004        2005          2004
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                       (Unaudited)
     Net income (loss), as reported                            $    201         $ (374)     $    403     $  (276)
     Add:  stock-based compensation expense using
       the intrinsic value accounting method - net of tax            15              3            25           7
     Less:  stock-based compensation expense using
       the fair-value accounting method - net of tax                 17              3            30           6
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Pro forma net income (loss)                               $    199         $ (374)     $    398     $  (275)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Basic earnings (loss) per common share:
       As reported                                             $  0.61          $(1.15)     $   1.23     $ (0.85)
       Pro forma                                               $  0.61          $(1.15)     $   1.22     $ (0.84)

     Diluted earnings (loss) per common share:
       As reported                                             $  0.61          $(1.15)     $   1.22     $ (0.85)
       Pro forma                                               $  0.60          $(1.15)     $   1.20     $ (0.84)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Supplemental Accumulated Other Comprehensive Loss Information

Supplemental information regarding Edison International's accumulated other comprehensive loss, including discontinued operations, is:

                                                                                June 30,          December 31,
     In millions                                                                  2005                2004
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                              (Unaudited)
     Foreign currency translation adjustments                                   $   (2)             $   --
     Minimum pension liability - net                                               (16)                (15)
     Unrealized gains (losses) on cash flow hedges - net                           (50)                 11
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Accumulated other comprehensive loss                                       $  (68)             $   (4)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The minimum pension liability is discussed in Note 7, Compensation and Benefit Plans of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements"
included In Edison International's 2004 Annual Report.

Included in Edison International's accumulated other comprehensive loss at June 30, 2005, was a $44 million loss related to EME's net
unrealized losses on cash flow hedges and a $5 million loss related to SCE's interest rate swap (see discussion below).

Unrealized losses on cash flow hedges at June 30, 2005, include unrealized losses on commodity hedges primarily related to EME's
Midwest Generation and Homer City forward electricity contracts that qualify for hedge accounting.  These losses arise because
current forecasts of future electricity prices in these markets are greater than contract prices.  Partially offsetting these
unrealized losses were unrealized gains on commodity hedges related to EME's share of fuel contracts at its March Point cogeneration
facility.

Unrealized losses on cash flow hedges also included those related to SCE's interest rate swap (the swap terminated on January 5,
2001, but the related debt matures in 2008).  The unamortized loss of $5 million (as of June 30, 2005, net of tax) on the interest
rate swap will be amortized over a period ending in 2008.  Approximately $2 million, after tax, of the unamortized loss on this swap
will be reclassified into earnings during the next 12 months.  Amortized losses are recoverable through SCE's annual cost of capital
proceeding.

As EME's hedged positions for continuing operations are realized, approximately $55 million (after tax) of the net unrealized losses
on cash flow hedges at June 30, 2005 are expected to be reclassified into earnings during the next 12 months.  EME expects that
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

Supplemental Cash Flows Information

                                                                                       Six Months Ended
                                                                                           June 30,
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    In millions                                                                    2005                  2004
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                          (Unaudited)
     Cash payments (receipts) for interest and taxes:

     Interest - net of amounts capitalized                                      $    377             $     429
     Tax payments (receipts)                                                         (47)                    7

     Non-cash investing and financing activities:

     Details of debt exchanges:
       Pollution-control bonds redeemed                                         $   (204)                   --
       Pollution-control bonds issued                                                204                    --

     Dividends declared but not paid                                            $     81             $      65

     Details of consolidation of variable interest entities:
       Assets                                                                         --             $     625
       Liabilities                                                                    --                  (704)

     Details of deconsolidation of variable interest entities:
       Assets                                                                         --             $    (133)
       Liabilities                                                                    --                   165

     Reoffering of pollution-control bonds                                            --             $     196

     Details of pollution-control bond redemption:
       Release of funds held in trust                                                 --             $      20
       Pollution-control bonds redeemed                                               --                   (20)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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
Commission (CPUC) issued its decision on how the CDWR's power charge revenue requirement for 2004 through 2013 will be allocated
among the investor-owned utilities.  On June 30, 2005, the CPUC granted, in part, San Diego Gas & Electric's (SDG&E) petition for
modification of the December 2004 decision.  The June 30, 2005 decision adopted a methodology that retains the cost-follows-contract
allocation of the avoidable costs, and allocates the unavoidable costs associated with the contracts:  42.2% to Pacific Gas and
Electric's (PG&E) customers, 47.5% to SCE's customers and 10.3% to SDG&E's customers.  This newly adopted allocation methodology
decreases the total costs allocated to SDG&E's customers and increases the total costs

allocated to SCE's and PG&E's customers, relative to the December 2004 decision.  Amounts billed to SCE's customers for electric
power purchased and sold by the CDWR are remitted directly to the CDWR and are not recognized as revenue by SCE and therefore have no
impact on SCE's earnings.

Demand-Side Management and Energy Efficiency Performance Incentive Mechanisms

Under a variety of incentive mechanisms adopted by the CPUC in the past, SCE was entitled to certain shareholder incentives for its
performance achievements in delivering demand-side management and energy efficiency programs.  On June 10, 2005, SCE and the Office
of Ratepayer Advocates (ORA) executed a settlement agreement for SCE's outstanding issues concerning SCE shareholder incentives and
performance achievements resulting from the demand-side management, energy efficiency, and low-income energy efficiency programs from
program years 1994-2004.  In addition, the settlement addresses shareholder incentives and performance achievements for program years
1994-1998, anticipated but not yet claimed.  The settlement agreement recommends, among other things, that SCE be entitled to
immediately recover 92% of the total of SCE's current claims and future claims related to SCE's pre-1998 energy efficiency programs.
SCE's total claim for program years 1994-2004 made in 2000 through 2008, including interest, franchise fees and uncollectibles, is
approximately $46 million.  The settling parties agreed that it is reasonable for SCE to recover approximately $42 million of these
claims in the near future as full recovery of all of SCE's outstanding claims as well as future claims related to SCE's pre-1998
energy efficiency programs.  The settlement agreement requires CPUC approval.  On June 13, 2005, SCE and the ORA filed a joint motion
requesting CPUC adoption of the settlement agreement.  A decision is expected in the fourth quarter of 2005, which if approved, would
result in the recognition of a $42 million increase in earnings.  SCE has collected and deferred most of the expected claims in
rates, and expects to recover the remaining portion of the claims over a 12-month period beginning on January 1, 2006.

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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

the 2005 ERRA rate change and other factors contributed to the large increase in the undercollection amount in February 2005.  SCE's
trigger application stated that if the CPUC retained recently authorized ERRA rate levels rather than increasing rates, the
undercollection would be recovered by mid-September 2005.  On May 26, 2005, the CPUC issued a decision granting SCE's application to
maintain its previously authorized ERRA rate levels.

ERRA Reasonableness Review for the Period January 1, 2004 through December 31, 2004

On April 1, 2005, SCE submitted an ERRA review application requesting that the CPUC find its procurement-related costs for calendar
year 2004 to be reasonable, and that its contract administration and economic dispatch operations during 2004 complied with its
CPUC-adopted procurement plan.  In addition, SCE requested recovery of approximately $13 million associated with Nuclear Unit
Incentive Procedure rewards for efficient operation of the Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station (Palo Verde) and approximately
$7 million in administrative and general costs incurred to carry out the CPUC's directive to begin procuring energy supplies on
January 1, 2003 following the California energy crisis.  The ORA is scheduled to issue its report on SCE's 2004 costs and operations
in mid-August 2005.  Evidentiary hearings are scheduled to begin in September 2005 and a decision is expected in late December 2005
or early January 2006.

Generation Procurement Proceedings

Procurement of Renewable Resources

SCE's 2005 renewable procurement plan was filed on March 7, 2005.  On July 21, 2005, the CPUC issued a decision approving SCE's 2005
renewable procurement plan and deferred a ruling on SCE's renewable procurement plan for 2006 through 2014.  This decision also
approved the methodology advocated by SCE for determining the amount by which reported renewable procurement should be adjusted to
reflect line losses.

In addition, the decision states that SCE cannot count procurement from certain geothermal facilities towards its 1% annual renewable
procurement requirement, unless such procurement is from production certified as "incremental" by the California Energy Commission
(CEC).  A 2003 CPUC decision had held that SCE could count procurement from these geothermal facilities toward its 1% annual
renewable procurement requirement.

The geothermal facilities have applied to the CEC for certification of a portion of the facilities' production as "incremental."  A
decision from the CEC is expected in late August or early September 2005.  It is not clear whether any of the facilities' production
will be certified as "incremental" or how much, if any, of the "incremental" production from the facilities will be allocated to
SCE's procurement under its contract with the facilities if the CEC certification is granted.

Depending upon the amount, if any, of CEC certified "incremental" production allocated to SCE's procurement under its contract and
the manner in which the CPUC implements its flexible rules for compliance with renewable procurement obligations, SCE may not be in
compliance with its statutory renewable procurement obligations for 2003 through 2006 and could be subject to penalties for those
years.  The maximum penalty is $25 million per year.  To comply with renewable procurement mandates and avoid penalties for years
beyond 2006, SCE will either need to sign new contracts and/or extend existing renewable qualifying facility contracts.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

SCE received bids for renewable resource contracts in response to a solicitation it made in August 2003 and conducted negotiations
with bidders regarding potential procurement contracts.  On June 30, 2005, the CPUC issued a resolution approving six renewable
contracts resulting from the solicitation.  The CPUC's July 21, 2005 decision referenced above also approved SCE's proposed new
request for offers for additional renewable contracts, which SCE contemplates initiating in the third quarter of 2005.

Request for Offers for New Generation Resources

According to California state agencies, beginning in 2006, there is a need for new generation capacity in southern California.  SCE
has issued a Request for Offers (RFO) for new generation resources.  SCE has solicited offers for power-purchase agreements lasting
up to 10 years from new generation facilities with delivery under the agreement beginning between June 1, 2006 and August 1, 2008.
SCE has filed an application with the CPUC seeking approval of the RFO and the power-purchase agreements executed under the RFO.  SCE
is seeking recovery of the costs of the contracts, through the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)-jurisdictional rates, from
all affected customers.  In addition, SCE seeks CPUC assurance of full cost recovery in CPUC-approved rates, if the FERC denies any
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
charges to Scheduling Coordinators (SCs) in the affected zone within the ISO transmission grid.  The April 20, 2004 order directed
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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The potential net impact on SCE is estimated to be approximately $20 million to $25 million, including interest.  SCE filed a request
for clarification with the FERC asking the FERC to clarify that SCE can reflect and recover the disputed costs in SCE's reliability
services rates.  On June 8, 2005, the FERC denied the clarification, noting that during the appeal, the FERC's order is stayed,
therefore SCE is not required to pay at this time.  SCE may seek recovery in its reliability service rates of the costs should SCE be
required to pay these costs.

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
presence or absence of Mohave as an available resource beyond 2005 will impact SCE's long-term resource plan.  SCE's 2006 ERRA
forecast application assumes Mohave is an unavailable resource for power for 2006.  Because SCE expects to recover Mohave shut-down
costs in future rates, the outcome of this matter is not expected to have a material impact on earnings.

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
implementation of the restructured California electric industry.  SCE has incurred approximately $80 million of these unrecovered
costs since 1998.  In addition, SCE has accrued interest on these unrecovered costs.  The three California utilities appealed the
decisions to the D.C. Circuit Court.  On July 12, 2005, the D.C. Circuit Court vacated the FERC's August and November 2002 orders,
and remanded the case to the FERC for further proceedings.  SCE believes that the D.C. Circuit Court's decision increases the
likelihood that it will recover these costs.

Wholesale Electricity and Natural Gas Markets

As discussed in the "Wholesale Electricity and Natural Gas Markets" disclosure in Note 2 of "Notes to Consolidated Financial
Statements" included in Edison International's 2004 Annual Report, SCE is participating in several related proceedings seeking
recovery of refunds from sellers of electricity and natural gas who allegedly manipulated the electric and natural gas markets.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
decision, SCE was required to refund to customers amounts received under the terms of the El Paso settlement (net of legal and
consulting costs) through its ERRA mechanism.  In June 2004, SCE received its first settlement payment of $76 million.  Approximately
$66 million of this amount was credited to purchased-power expense, and was refunded to SCE's ratepayers through the ERRA over the
following twelve months, and the remaining $10 million was used to offset SCE's incurred legal costs.  El Paso has elected to prepay
the additional settlement payments due over a 20-year period and, as a result, SCE received $66 million in May 2005.  Amounts El Paso
refunds to the CDWR will result in reductions in the CDWR's revenue requirement allocated to SCE in proportion to SCE's share of the
CDWR's power charge revenue requirement.

On January 14, 2005, SCE, PG&E, SDG&E and several governmental entities agreed to settlement terms with Mirant Corporation and a
number of its affiliates (collectively Mirant), all of whom are debtors in Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings pending in Texas.  Among
other things, the settlement terms provide for cash and equivalent refunds totaling $320 million, of which SCE's allocated share is
approximately $68 million.  The settlement also provides for an allowed, unsecured claim totaling $175 million in the bankruptcy of
one of the Mirant parties, with SCE being allocated approximately $33 million of the unsecured claim.  The actual value of the
unsecured claim will be determined as part of the resolution of the Mirant parties' bankruptcies.  The Mirant settlement was approved
by the FERC on April 13, 2005 and by the bankruptcy court on April 15, 2005.  In April and May 2005, SCE received its allocated
$68 million in cash settlement proceeds.  SCE continues to hold its $33 million share of the allowed, unsecured bankruptcy claim.  The
Mirant settlement will be refunded to ratepayers as described below.

On July 15, 2005, SCE, PG&E, SDG&E and several governmental entities agreed to settlement terms with Enron Corporation and a number
of its affiliates (collectively Enron), most of which are debtors in Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings pending in New York.  Among
other things, the settlement terms provide for cash and equivalent payments from Enron totaling approximately $47 million and an
allowed, unsecured claim in the bankruptcy against one of the Enron entities in the amount of $875 million.  SCE's allocable share of
both the cash and allowed claim portions of the settlement consideration has not yet been finally determined, and the value of an
allocable share of the allowed claim will be determined as part of the resolution of the Enron parties' bankruptcies.  The settlement
remains subject to the approvals of the FERC, the CPUC and the Enron bankruptcy court.  The Enron settlement proceeds will be
refunded to ratepayers as described below.

On November 19, 2004, the CPUC issued a resolution authorizing SCE to establish an Energy Settlement Memorandum Account (ESMA) for
the purpose of recording the foregoing settlement proceeds (excluding the El Paso settlement) from energy providers and allocating
them in accordance with the terms of the October 2001 settlement agreement entered into by SCE and the CPUC which settled SCE's
lawsuit against the CPUC.  This lawsuit sought full recovery of SCE's electricity procurement costs incurred during the energy
crisis.  The resolution provides a mechanism whereby portions of the settlement proceeds recorded in the ESMA will be allocated to
recovery of SCE's litigation costs and expenses in the FERC refund proceedings described above and a 10% shareholder incentive
pursuant to the CPUC litigation settlement agreement.  Remaining amounts for each settlement are to be refunded to ratepayers through
the ERRA mechanism.  In the second quarter of 2005, SCE recorded a $7 million

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

increase to other nonoperating income as a shareholder incentive related to the Mirant refund received during the second quarter of
2005.

Note 3.  Pension Plans and Postretirement Benefits Other Than Pensions

Pension Plans

Edison International previously disclosed in Note 7 of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements" included in Edison
International's 2004 Annual Report that it expects to contribute approximately $53 million to its pension plans in 2005.  As of
June 30, 2005, $6 million in contributions have been made.  Edison International anticipates that its original expectation will be met
by year-end 2005.

Expense components are:
                                                                 Three Months Ended             Six Months Ended
                                                                      June 30,                      June 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     In millions                                                 2005           2004           2005          2004
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                    (Unaudited)
     Service cost                                              $   29        $   27           $   58       $   53
     Interest cost                                                 43            44               86           87
     Expected return on plan assets                               (56)          (60)            (112)        (118)
     Net amortization and deferral                                  7             6               14           12
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Expense under accounting standards                            23            17               46           34
     Regulatory adjustment - deferred                              (2)           --               (4)          --
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total expense recognized                                  $   21        $   17           $   42       $   34
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
pensions plans in 2005.  As of June 30, 2005, $13 million in contributions have been made.  Edison International anticipates that its
original expectation will be met by year-end 2005.

Expense components are:
                                                                 Three Months Ended             Six Months Ended
                                                                      June 30,                      June 30,
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     In millions                                                 2005           2004           2005          2004
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                    (Unaudited)
     Service cost                                              $   12        $   11           $   24       $   23
     Interest cost                                                 31            33               62           67
     Expected return on plan assets                               (25)          (27)             (51)         (55)
     Amortization of unrecognized prior service costs              (8)           (8)             (15)         (16)
     Amortization of unrecognized loss                             12            16               24           31
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total expense                                             $   22        $   25           $   44       $   50
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

Edison International's recorded estimated minimum liability to remediate its 28 identified sites at SCE (22 sites) and EME (6 sites
related to Midwest Generation) is $86 million, $84 million of which is related to SCE.  Edison International's other subsidiaries
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
to occur.  Edison International

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

believes that, due to these uncertainties, it is reasonably possible that cleanup costs could exceed its recorded liability by up to
$113 million, all of which is related to SCE.  The upper limit of this range of costs was estimated using assumptions least favorable
to Edison International among a range of reasonably possible outcomes.  In addition to its identified sites (sites in which the upper
end of the range of costs is at least $1 million), SCE also has 33 immaterial sites whose total liability ranges from $4 million (the
recorded minimum liability) to $10 million.

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
recover costs incurred at its remaining sites through customer rates.  SCE has recorded a regulatory asset of $57 million for its
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
relating to its 1991-1993 tax years.  This settlement, which was signed by Edison International in March 2005 and approved by the
United States Congress Joint Committee on Taxation on July 27, 2005, will result in a third quarter 2005 net earnings benefit for
Edison International of approximately $56 million, most of which relates to SCE.

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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
refund to ratepayers $7 million of the PBR rewards previously received and forego an additional $5 million of the PBR rewards pending
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
over data collection and processing.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
program for environmental, health and safety compliance.  SCE also took disciplinary action against twenty-four individuals in
several SCE business areas in early June 2005.  SCE submitted a report on the results of its investigation to the CPUC on December 3,
2004.

As with the customer satisfaction matter, the CPUC has not yet opened a formal investigative proceeding into this matter.  However,
the CPSD did submit several data requests to SCE to which SCE has responded.

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
indicates that it

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
strike the Government's supplemental brief and all of the exhibits attached to that brief.  Oral argument on the motion to strike is
scheduled for September 28, 2005.

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
spent fuel from the Unit 2 spent fuel pool to the independent spent fuel storage installation is complete.  There is now sufficient
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

Segment information for the three and six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004 was:

                                                                 Three Months Ended             Six Months Ended
                                                                      June 30,                      June 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     In millions                                                 2005           2004           2005          2004
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                    (Unaudited)
     Operating Revenue:
     Electric utility                                        $   2,203       $  2,176        $ 4,109      $  3,872
     Nonutility power generation                                   417            359            928           748
     Financial services                                             24             27             51            56
     Corporate and other                                             5              3              5             5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Consolidated Edison International                       $   2,649       $  2,565        $ 5,093      $  4,681
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Net Income (Loss):
     Electric utility(1)                                     $     161       $    242        $   292      $    341
     Nonutility power generation(2)                                 21           (610)            53          (603)
     Financial services(3)                                          25             11             77            21
     Corporate and other                                            (6)           (17)           (19)          (35)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Consolidated Edison International                       $     201       $   (374)       $   403      $   (276)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     (1) Net income available for common stock.

     (2) Includes earnings from discontinued operations of $21 million and $28 million, respectively, for the three and six months
         ended June 30, 2005 and $26 million and $72 million, respectively, for the three and six months ended June 30, 2004.

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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
Limited, entered into formal administration proceedings of their own in the United Kingdom (similar to bankruptcy proceedings in the
United States).  On March 31, 2005, Lakeland Power Ltd. received(pound)112 million (approximately $210 million) from the TXU
administrators, representing an interim payment of 97% of its accepted claim of(pound)116 million (approximately $217 million).

From the amount received, Lakeland Power Ltd., now controlled by a liquidator in the United Kingdom, has made a payment of
(pound)20 million (approximately $37 million) to EME on April 7, 2005 comprised of(pound)7 million (approximately $13 million) for a secured loan
which EME purchased from Lakeland Power Ltd.'s secured creditors in 2004 and certain unsecured receivables from Lakeland Power Ltd.,
and (pound)13 million (approximately $24 million) as a distribution to the EME subsidiary that owns the equity interest in Lakeland Power
Ltd.  This distribution was recognized in income during the quarter ended June 30, 2005.  Additionally, Lakeland Power Ltd. will pay
to EME's subsidiary that owns the equity interest in Lakeland Power Ltd. the amount remaining after resolution of any remaining
secured and unsecured creditor claims and payment of or provision for tax liabilities and the fees and expenses associated with
Lakeland Power Ltd.'s liquidation.

EME estimates that the remaining net proceeds after tax (including taxes due in the United States) and net income resulting from the
above payments will be approximately $64 million.  These remaining proceeds are expected to be received in late 2005 or in 2006, as
Lakeland Power Ltd.'s liquidation progresses.  Because the amounts required to settle outstanding claims and UK taxes have not been
finalized and cannot be estimated precisely in the context of the liquidation, the actual amount of net proceeds and increase in net
income may vary materially from the above estimate.

For all periods presented, the results of EME's international projects discussed above have been accounted for as discontinued
operations in the consolidated financial statements in accordance with an accounting standard related to the impairment and disposal
of long-lived assets.

For the three months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004, revenue from discontinued operations was zero and $354 million, respectively, and
pre-tax income was $22 million and $53 million, respectively.  For the

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004, revenue from discontinued operations was zero and $748 million, respectively, and pre-tax
income was $22 million and $123 million, respectively.

The carrying value of assets and liabilities recorded as discontinued operations is:

                                                                               June 30,          December 31,
     In millions                                                                2005                 2004
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                              (Unaudited)
     Assets
     Cash and equivalents                                                    $     3               $     2
     Other current assets                                                         --                     2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total current assets                                                          3                     4
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Investments in partnerships and
       unconsolidated subsidiaries                                                --                   107
     Other deferred charges                                                        9                    11
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total assets of discontinued operations                                 $    12               $   122
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Liabilities
     Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                $    --               $     2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total current liabilities                                                    --                     2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Customer advances and other deferred credits                                  5                     4
     Other long-term liabilities                                                  10                     9
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total liabilities of discontinued operations                            $    15               $    15
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

Other Commitments

Midwest Generation, LLC (Midwest Generation) and EME Homer City Generation L.P. (EME Homer City) have entered into additional fuel
purchase commitments with various third-party suppliers during the first six months of 2005.  These additional commitments are
currently estimated to be $25 million for 2005, $61 million for 2006, $108 million for 2007, $34 million for 2008, and $53 million
for 2009.

Midwest Generation has entered into additional coal transportation commitments during the first six months of 2005.  Based on the
committed coal volumes in the fuel supply contracts mentioned above,

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

these additional commitments are currently estimated to be $32 million for 2005, $50 million for 2006, $109 million for 2007,
$37 million for 2008, and $74 million for 2009.

During the first quarter of 2005, SCE entered into additional power call option contracts.  SCE's revised purchased-power capacity
payment commitments under these contracts are currently estimated to be $32 million for 2005, $95 million for 2006, $101 million for
2007 and $84 million for 2008.

Guarantees and Indemnities

Edison International's subsidiaries have various financial and performance guarantees and indemnifications which are issued in the
normal course of business.  As discussed below, these contracts included performance guarantees, guarantees of debt and
indemnifications.

EME's Tax Indemnity Agreements

In connection with the sale-leaseback transactions that EME has entered into related to the Powerton and Joliet Stations in Illinois,
and previously the Collins Station in Illinois, and the Homer City facilities in Pennsylvania, EME and several of its subsidiaries
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
provision (subject to the right of

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

either party to terminate).  Payments are made under this indemnity upon tender by Commonwealth Edison of appropriate proof of
liability for an asbestos-related settlement, judgment, verdict, or expense.  There were between 130 and 170 cases for which Midwest
Generation was potentially liable and that had not been settled and dismissed at June 30, 2005.  Midwest Generation had recorded a
$68 million liability at June 30, 2005 related to this matter.

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
would be triggered under these indemnities by valid claims from the sellers or purchasers, as the case may be.  At June 30, 2005, EME
had recorded an $85 million liability related to these matters.

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
of EME's interest in Brooklyn Navy

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Yard, BNY Power Partners for any payments due under this settlement agreement, which are scheduled through 2006.  At June 30, 2005,
EME had recorded a $7 million liability related to this indemnity.

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
indemnification agreements as of June 30, 2005, if payment were required, would be $140 million.  EME has no reason to believe that
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

Note 8.  Asset Impairment and Loss on Lease Termination

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

Note 9.  Preferred Stock Subject to Mandatory Redemption

SCE redeemed 807,000 shares of 7.23% $100 cumulative preferred stock at par value on April 30, 2005 and 637,500 shares of 6.05% $100
cumulative preferred stock at par value on May 20, 2005.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Note 10.  Preferred and Preference Stock of Utility Not Subject to Mandatory Redemption

SCE's authorized shares are:  $25 cumulative preferred - 24 million and preference - 50 million.  SCE issued 4 million shares of
5.349% Series A $100 stated value non-cumulative preference stock on April 20, 2005.  The preference stock ranks junior to all of the
preferred stock and senior to all common stock.  The preference shares may not be redeemed prior to April 30, 2010.  After that date,
SCE may, at its option, redeem the shares in whole or in part and the dividend rate may be adjusted.  The preference stock is not
convertible into shares of any other class or series of SCE's capital stock or any other security.  Shares of SCE's preferred stock
have liquidation and dividend preferences over shares of SCE's preference stock and common stock.

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
Edison International since December 31, 2004, and as compared to the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2004.  This
discussion presumes that the reader has read or has access to Edison International's MD&A for the calendar year 2004 (the year-ended
2004 MD&A), which was included in Edison International's 2004 annual report to shareholders and incorporated by reference into Edison
International's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2004, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

This MD&A contains "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.
Forward-looking statements reflect Edison International's current expectations and projections about future events based on Edison
International's knowledge of present facts and circumstances and assumptions about future events and include any statement that does
not directly relate to a historical or current fact.  Other information distributed by Edison International that is incorporated in
this report, or that refers to or incorporates this report, may also contain forward-looking statements.  In this report and
elsewhere, the words "expects," "believes," "anticipates," "estimates," "projects," "intends," "plans," "probable," "may," "will,"
"could," "would," "should," and variations of such words and similar expressions, or discussions of strategy or of plans, are intended
to identify forward-looking statements.  Such statements necessarily involve risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results
to differ materially from those anticipated.  Some of the risks, uncertainties and other important factors that could cause results
to differ, or that otherwise could impact Edison International or its subsidiaries, include, but are not limited to:

o    the ability of Edison International to meet its financial obligations and to pay dividends on its common stock if its
     subsidiaries are unable to pay dividends;
o    the ability of Edison International to effectively execute its strategic plan;
o    the ability of Southern California Edison Company (SCE) to recover its costs in a timely manner from its customers through
     regulated rates;
o    decisions and other actions by the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) and other regulatory authorities and delays
     in regulatory actions;
o    market risks affecting SCE's energy procurement activities;
o    access to capital markets and the cost of capital;
o    changes in interest rates and rates of inflation;
o    governmental, statutory, regulatory or administrative changes or initiatives affecting the electricity industry, including
     environmental regulations that could require additional expenditures or otherwise affect the cost and manner of doing business;
o    risks associated with operating nuclear and other power generating facilities, including operating risks, equipment failure,
     availability, heat rate and output;
o    the ability to obtain sufficient insurance;
o    effects of legal proceedings, changes in tax laws, rates or policies, and changes in accounting standards;
o    supply and demand for electric capacity and energy, and the resulting prices and dispatch volumes, in the wholesale markets
     to which Edison Mission Energy's (EME) generating units have access;
o    EME's and its subsidiaries' ability to provide sufficient collateral in support of their forward sales of electricity and
     purchases of fuel;
o    competition from other power plants, including new plants and technologies that may be developed in the future;

o    the cost of and availability of fuel, fuel transportation services, electric transmission services, and required emission credits or
     allowances;
o    weather conditions, natural disasters and other unforeseen events; and
o    changes in the fair value of investments accounted for using fair value accounting.

Additional information about risks and uncertainties, including more detail about the factors described above, is contained
throughout this MD&A.  Readers are urged to read this entire report, including the information incorporated by reference, and
carefully consider the risks, uncertainties and other factors that affect Edison International's business.  The information contained
in this report is subject to change without notice. Forward-looking statements speak only as of the date they are made and Edison
International is not obligated to publicly update or revise forward-looking statements.  Readers should review future reports filed
by Edison International with the Securities and Exchange Commission.  The following discussion provides updated information about
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
consolidated basis, including results of operations and historical cash flow analysis, discontinued operations, new and proposed
accounting principles, commitments, guarantees and indemnities and other developments.  These sections should be read in conjunction
with the continuing operations discussion of each principal business segment's section.

                                                                       Page
                                                                       ----
         Current Developments                                           35
         Southern California Edison Company                             38
         Mission Energy Holding Company                                 48
         Edison Capital                                                 66
         Edison International (Parent)                                  67
         Results of Operations and Historical Cash Flow Analysis        69
         Discontinued Operations                                        78
         New and Proposed Accounting Principles                         79
         Commitments, Guarantees and Indemnities                        81
         Other Developments                                             82

                               CURRENT DEVELOPMENTS

The following section provides a summary of current developments related to Edison International's principal business segments.  This
section is intended to be a summary of those current developments that management believes are of most importance since year-end
December 31, 2004.  This section is not intended to be an all-inclusive list of all current developments related to each principal
business segment.  Further details of each current development discussed below can be found in the specific principal business
segment's section of this MD&A, along with discussions of liquidity, market risk exposures, and other matters as relevant to each
principal business segment.

Passage of Comprehensive Energy Legislation by Congress

A comprehensive energy bill was passed by the House and Senate in the last week of July 2005 and is expected to be signed by the
President on August 8, 2005.  This comprehensive legislation includes provisions for the repeal of the Public Utility Holding Company
Act, for amendments of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978, for the introduction of new regulations regarding
"Transmission Operation Improvements," for Transmission Rate Reform, for incentives for various generation technologies and for the
extension through December 31 2007 of production tax credits for wind and other specified types of generation.  A number of these
provisions will require implementing regulations by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).  Edison International is
currently assessing the potential impact of this legislation and the likely regulations.

SCE:  CURRENT DEVELOPMENTS

2006 General Rate Case Proceeding

In December 2004, SCE filed an application with the CPUC for its 2006 General Rate Case (GRC).  During the course of the GRC
proceeding, SCE agreed to certain revisions to its original request, updated the revenue requirement for the 2005 cost of capital,
and incorporated a second refueling O&M expense forecast for San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station (San Onofre) in 2006, which
reduced SCE's test year request by $29 million.  In a joint comparison exhibit filed by all parties on August 2, 2005, SCE requested
an increase of $341 million in 2006 base rate revenue, followed by a requested increase of $106 million in 2007 and $111 million in
2008.  In this exhibit, the ORA revised its previously requested decrease in 2006 revenue to $47 million, a difference of $388
million from SCE's request.  The revised ORA request, when combined with proposed reductions from several other intervenors, would
result in a reduction of $273 million in revenue, a difference of $614 million from SCE's request.  A decision in this matter is
expected in January 2006.  On August 2, 2005 SCE filed a motion requesting the establishment of a GRC Memo Account which would make
the GRC decision retroactive to January 9, 2006, or the first CPUC meeting in January 2006, whichever is earlier.  See "SCE:
Regulatory Matters--Transmission and Distribution--2006 General Rate Case Proceeding" for further discussion.

In SCE's 2006 Energy Resource Recovery Account (ERRA) forecast proceeding, SCE is proposing to consolidate the rate changes arising
from the 2006 GRC proceeding with other changes in rates beginning on January 1, 2006 (see "SCE:  Regulatory Matters--Generation and
Power Procurement--Generation Procurement Proceedings--Energy Resource Recovery Account Proceedings--2006 ERRA Forecast").

MEHC:  CURRENT DEVELOPMENTS

EME Restructuring Activities

During 2004, EME sold most of its international operations.  EME's international operations, except for the Doga project, are
accounted for as discontinued operations in accordance with an accounting standard for the impairment or disposal of long-lived
assets and, accordingly, all prior periods have been restated to reclassify the results of operations and assets and liabilities as
discontinued operations. In the first quarter of 2005, EME completed the sale of two international projects:

o    EME sold its 50% equity interest in the Caliraya-Botocan-Kalayaan (CBK) project to CBK Projects B.V., the purchasing entity
     designated by its partner, for $104 million.

o    EME sold its 25% equity interest in the Tri Energy project to IPM for approximately $20 million.

While EME will continue to seek to sell its ownership interest in the Doga project, there is no assurance that such efforts will
result in a sale.

In connection with the sale of its international operations in 2004, together with cash on hand, in January 2005, EME:

o    made distributions to MEHC totaling $360 million, which were subsequently used primarily to repay the remaining $285 million
     portion of the term loan; and

o    repaid its junior subordinated debentures and, consequently, repaid the monthly income preferred securities (MIPS) totaling
     $150 million.

In April 2005, EME made an equity contribution of $300 million to Midwest Generation, which used the proceeds to repay indebtedness.
See "MEHC:  Liquidity--Midwest Generation Financing" for a discussion of the Midwest Generation financing.

EME has also completed a review of its domestic organization to better align its resources with its domestic business requirements.
Management and organizational changes have been implemented to streamline EME's reporting relationships and eliminate its regional
management structure.  As part of the restructuring, EME expects to reduce annualized costs by $7 million (pre-tax) although this
decrease is expected to be offset by higher development costs in the future.  As a result of these changes, EME recorded charges of
approximately $3 million and $10 million (pre-tax) in the quarter and six months ended June 30, 2005, respectively, for severance and
related costs.

Expiration of the Exelon Power Purchase Agreements

The five-year power purchase agreements between Midwest Generation and Exelon Generation Company expired on December 31, 2004 and,
accordingly, beginning January 1, 2005, all the output from the Illinois plants is considered merchant generation.  In 2004,
approximately 53% of the energy and capacity sales from the Illinois plants were to Exelon Generation under the power purchase
agreements.

The Exelon Generation power purchase agreement for coal-fired units was structured to provide significant capacity payments and lower
energy payments which were primarily designed to reimburse the cost of production.  The agreement also provided for substantial
capacity payments during the summer months.  The Illinois plants continue to derive revenue from sales of capacity and energy to
domestic utilities and power marketers.  In the current wholesale energy market, energy prices are

substantially higher than the energy prices previously set forth in the agreement, but capacity payments are, and are expected to
remain, substantially lower.  As a result, the composition of EME's revenue is significantly different in the first half of 2005
compared to 2004.  EME's merchant generation is subject to significant volatility as described further in "MEHC:  Market Risk
Exposures--Commodity Price Risk."

Wholesale Energy Prices in Illinois

Wholesale energy prices at the Northern Illinois Hub (related to the Illinois plants) have increased substantially in 2005 from the
comparable market prices in 2004 driven largely by increases in the market price of natural gas and oil.  The average market price
during the six months ended June 30, 2005 at the Northern Illinois Hub (related to the Illinois plants) increased to $39.01 per MWh,
compared to the average market price at "Into ComEd" and the Northern Illinois Hub of $29.84 per MWh during the six months ended
June 30, 2004.

                               SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY

SCE:  LIQUIDITY

SCE's liquidity is primarily affected by under- or over-collections of energy procurement-related costs, collateral requirements
associated with power-purchase contracts, and access to capital markets or external financings.  At June 30, 2005, SCE's credit and
long-term senior secured issuer ratings from Standard & Poor's and Moody's Investors Service were BBB+ and A3, respectively.  At
June 30, 2005, SCE's short-term (commercial paper) credit ratings from Standard & Poor's and Moody's Investors Service were A2 and P2,
respectively.  As of June 30, 2005, SCE had $148 million in commercial paper outstanding.

As of June 30, 2005, SCE had cash and equivalents of $176 million ($88 million of which was held by SCE's consolidated Variable
Interest Entities (VIEs)).  As of June 30, 2005, long-term debt, including current maturities of long-term debt, was $5.4 billion.
As of June 30, 2005, SCE posted approximately $44 million (comprised of $37 million in cash and $7 million in letters of credit) as
collateral to secure its obligations under power-purchase contracts and to enter into transactions for imbalance energy through the
California Independent System Operator (ISO).  SCE's collateral requirements can vary depending upon the level of unsecured credit
extended by counterparties, the ISO's credit requirements, changes in market prices relative to contractual commitments, and other
factors.  In February 2005, SCE replaced its $700 million credit facility with a $1.25 billion senior secured 5-year revolving credit
facility.  The security pledged (first and refunding mortgage bonds) for the new facility can be removed at SCE's discretion.  If SCE
chooses to remove the security, the credit facility's rating and pricing will change to an unsecured basis per the term of the credit
facility agreement.   As of June 30, 2005, SCE's credit facility supported $148 million of commercial paper outstanding and $7
million in letters of credit, leaving $1.1 billion available under the credit facility.

SCE's estimated cash outflows, during the twelve-month period following June 30, 2005, consist of:

o    Debt maturities of approximately $597 million, including approximately $246 million of rate reduction notes that are due at
     various times in 2005 and 2006, but which have a separate cost recovery mechanism approved by state legislation and CPUC
     decisions;

o    Projected capital expenditures primarily to replace and expand distribution and transmission infrastructure and construct
     and replace generation assets, as discussed below;

o    Dividend payments to SCE's parent company.  SCE made a $71 million dividend payment to Edison International on both April
     28, 2005 and July 28, 2005;

o    Fuel and procurement-related costs; and

o    General operating expenses.

SCE expects to meet its continuing obligations, including cash outflows for power-procurement undercollections (as incurred), through
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
2004.  The increase is mainly due to acceleration of spending in 2005-2009 on several transmission projects, as well as additional
expenditures associated with the replacement of the steam generator and pressurizer at San Onofre.  All amounts exceeding the October
2004 forecast are included in either the 2006 GRC or separate regulatory filings for major generation and transmission projects.
Pursuant to the approved capital budget and forecast, SCE expects its capital expenditures to be $1.8 billion, $1.9 billion, and $2.1
billion in 2005, 2006 and 2007, respectively.

On July 18, 2005, SCE gave notice of its election to prepay $29 million of its 6.90% Pollution Control Revenue Bonds (1991 Series),
$30 million of its 6% Pollution Control Revenue Bonds (1992A Series) and $190 million of its 6.4% Pollution Control Revenue Bonds
(1992B Series) on September 8, 2005.  The notice is revocable and SCE may, at its option, choose not to prepay such bonds.

SCE has debt covenants that require certain interest coverage, interest and preferred dividend coverage, and debt to total
capitalization ratios to be met.  At June 30, 2005, SCE was in compliance with these debt covenants.

SCE's liquidity may be affected by, among other things, matters described in "SCE:  Regulatory Matters."

SCE:  MARKET RISK EXPOSURES

SCE's primary market risks include fluctuations in interest rates, commodity prices and volume, and counterparty credit.
Fluctuations in interest rates can affect earnings and cash flows.  However, fluctuations in commodity prices and volumes, and
counterparty credit losses temporarily affect cash flows, but generally should not affect earnings due to recovery through regulatory
mechanisms.  SCE uses derivative financial instruments to manage its market risks, but does not use these instruments for speculative
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
other factors contributed to the large increase in the undercollection amount in February 2005.  SCE's trigger application stated
that if the CPUC retained recently authorized ERRA rate levels rather than increasing rates, the undercollection would be recovered
by mid-September 2005.  On May 26, 2005, the CPUC issued a decision granting SCE's application to maintain its previously authorized
ERRA rate levels.

ERRA Reasonableness Review for the Period January 1, 2004 through December 31, 2004

On April 1, 2005, SCE submitted an ERRA review application requesting that the CPUC find its procurement-related costs for calendar
year 2004 to be reasonable, and that its contract administration and economic dispatch operations during 2004 complied with its
CPUC-adopted procurement plan.  In addition, SCE requested recovery of approximately $13 million associated with Nuclear Unit
Incentive Procedure rewards for efficient operation of the Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station (Palo Verde) and approximately
$7 million in administrative and general costs incurred to carry out the CPUC's directive to begin procuring energy supplies on
January 1, 2003 following the California energy crisis.  The ORA is scheduled to issue its report on SCE's 2004 costs and operations
in mid-August 2005.  Evidentiary hearings are scheduled to begin in September 2005 and a decision is expected in late December 2005
or early January 2006.

2005 ERRA Forecast

On March 17, 2005, the CPUC issued a final decision adopting SCE's requested ERRA revenue requirement of $3.3 billion for the 2005
calendar year, an increase of $1 billion over the 2004 revenue requirement.  The increase was primarily attributable to increasing
procurement costs, in part because SCE must procure additional energy and capacity in 2005 to replace energy and capacity that had
been provided by a major California Department of Water Resources (CDWR) contract that terminated in December 2004.  In addition, the
increase was attributable to additional capacity and associated energy costs resulting from increasing SCE's reserve margin to
fulfill the CPUC's requirement of a 15% to 17% planning reserve and a substantially higher forecasted ERRA undercollected balance as
of December 31, 2004 than the balance included in 2004 rate levels.

2006 ERRA Forecast

SCE submitted an ERRA forecast application on August 1, 2005, in which it forecasts a procurement-related revenue requirement for the
2006 calendar year of $3.8 billion.  The 2006 ERRA proceeding revenue requirement is an increase of $509 million over SCE's adopted
2005 ERRA proceeding revenue requirement.  The increase is mainly attributable to load growth and resource adequacy requirements
(see the discussion under "--Generation Procurement Proceedings--Resource Adequacy Requirements" included in the year-ended 2004 MD&A),
and the unavailability of SCE's Mohave coal-fired generating

station (Mohave) after December 31, 2005, and its replacement with higher-cost natural gas generation (see "--Mohave Generating
Station and Related Proceedings").

In addition, the 2006 ERRA forecast application requests the CPUC to consolidate all CPUC-authorized revenue requirements, including
the revenue requirements from the 2006 ERRA forecast application, the 2006 GRC (see "--Transmission and Distribution--2006 General Rate
Case Proceeding") and CDWR-related proceedings (see "--CDWR-Related Matters--CDWR Power Purchases and Revenue Requirement
Proceeding"), for recovery through rates beginning January 1, 2006.  SCE's current system average rate for bundled service customers
is 12.6(cent)-per-kilowatt-hour (kWh).  SCE expects the 2006 system average rate for bundled service customers to range between
13.9(cent)-per-kWh to 14.4(cent)-per-kWh.

CDWR-Related Matters

CDWR Power Purchases and Revenue Requirement Proceedings

As discussed in the "CDWR Power Purchases and Revenue Requirement Proceedings" disclosure in the year-ended 2004 MD&A, in December
2004, the CPUC issued its decision on how the CDWR's power charge revenue requirement for 2004 through 2013 will be allocated among
the investor-owned utilities.  On June 30, 2005, the CPUC granted, in part, San Diego Gas & Electric's (SDG&E) petition for
modification of the December 2004 decision.  The June 30, 2005 decision adopted a methodology that retains the cost-follows-contract
allocation of the avoidable costs, and allocates the unavoidable costs associated with the contracts:  42.2% to Pacific Gas and
Electric's (PG&E) customers, 47.5% to SCE's customers and 10.3% to SDG&E's customers.  This newly adopted allocation methodology
decreases the total costs allocated to SDG&E's customers and increases the total costs allocated to SCE's and PG&E's customers,
relative to the December 2004 decision.

Amounts billed to SCE's customers for electric power purchased and sold by the CDWR are remitted directly to the CDWR and are not
recognized as revenue by SCE and therefore have no impact on SCE's earnings.  In SCE's 2006 ERRA forecast proceeding, SCE is
proposing to consolidate the impact of the June 30, 2005 decision, as well as other CDWR revenue requirement changes, with other
changes in rates beginning on January 1, 2006 (see "--Energy Resource Recovery Account Proceedings--2006 ERRA Forecast").

Generation Procurement Proceedings

Procurement of Renewable Resources

SCE's 2005 renewable procurement plan was filed on March 7, 2005.  On July 21, 2005, the CPUC issued a decision approving SCE's 2005
renewable procurement plan and deferred a ruling on SCE's renewable procurement plan for 2006 through 2014.  This decision also
approved the methodology advocated by SCE for determining the amount by which reported renewable procurement should be adjusted to
reflect line losses.

In addition, the decision states that SCE cannot count procurement from certain geothermal facilities towards its 1% annual renewable
procurement requirement, unless such procurement is from production certified as "incremental" by the California Energy Commission.
A 2003 CPUC decision had held that SCE could count procurement from these geothermal facilities toward its 1% annual renewable
procurement requirement.

The geothermal facilities have applied to the California Energy Commission for certification of a portion of the facilities'
production as "incremental."  A decision from the California Energy Commission is expected in late August or early September 2005.
It is not clear whether any of the facilities' production

will be certified as "incremental" or how much, if any, of the "incremental" production from the facilities will be allocated to
SCE's procurement under its contract with the facilities if the California Energy Commission certification is granted.

Depending upon the amount, if any, of California Energy Commission certified "incremental" production allocated to SCE's procurement
under its contract and the manner in which the CPUC implements its flexible rules for compliance with renewable procurement
obligations, SCE may not be in compliance with its statutory renewable procurement obligations for 2003 through 2006 and could be
subject to penalties for those years.  The maximum penalty is $25 million per year.  To comply with renewable procurement mandates
and avoid penalties for years beyond 2006, SCE will either need to sign new contracts and/or extend existing renewable qualifying
facility (QF) contracts.

SCE received bids for renewable resource contracts in response to a solicitation it made in August 2003 and conducted negotiations
with bidders regarding potential procurement contracts.  On June 30, 2005, the CPUC issued a resolution approving six renewable
contracts resulting from the solicitation.  The CPUC's July 21, 2005 decision referenced above also approved SCE's proposed new
request for offers for additional renewable contracts, which SCE contemplates initiating in the third quarter of 2005.

Request for Offers for New Generation Resources

According to California state agencies, beginning in 2006, there is a need for new generation capacity in southern California.  SCE
has issued a Request for Offers (RFO) for new generation resources.  SCE has solicited offers for power-purchase agreements lasting
up to 10 years from new generation facilities with delivery under the agreement beginning between June 1, 2006 and August 1, 2008.
SCE has filed an application with the CPUC seeking approval of the RFO and the power-purchase agreements executed under the RFO.  SCE
is seeking recovery of the costs of the contracts, through the FERC-jurisdictional rates, from all affected customers.  In addition,
SCE seeks CPUC assurance of full cost recovery in CPUC-approved rates, if the FERC denies any recovery.  Any power-purchase agreement
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
presence or absence of Mohave as an available resource beyond 2005 will impact SCE's long-term resource plan.  SCE's 2006 ERRA
forecast application assumes Mohave is an unavailable resource for power for 2006 (see "--Energy Resource Recovery Account
Proceedings--2006 ERRA Forecast" for further discussion).  Because SCE expects to recover Mohave shut-down costs in future rates, the
outcome of this matter is not expected to have a material impact on earnings.

San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station

As discussed in the "San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station" disclosure in the year-ended 2004 MD&A, there are several issues related
to the operation and maintenance of San Onofre Units 2 and 3.  The following are new developments with respect to San Onofre.

San Onofre Steam Generators

A decision on the reasonableness of the proposed replacement of the San Onofre Units 2 and 3 steam generators and the establishment
of appropriate ratemaking for recovery in rates of the reasonable cost of the replacement project is expected in the fourth quarter
of 2005.  By the time of the expected decision, SCE anticipates that it will have incurred approximately $80 million in steam
generator fabrication and associated project costs.  SCE will seek recovery of these costs in the event that the CPUC does not
authorize SCE to go forward with steam generator replacement.  If the CPUC authorizes SCE to go forward with steam generator
replacement, SCE will recover costs that are reasonably incurred as part of the steam generator replacement capital costs.

2005 Outage Schedule, O&M and Capital Budget Disputes

On April 20, 2005, the San Onofre Units 2 and 3 Board of Review (BOR) held a special meeting to consider the 5-year outage schedule,
revisions to the 2005 operation and maintenance (O&M) budget, and the 2005 capital budget.  These matters require unanimous approval
of the BOR.  The representatives of SDG&E did not agree with the information presented for approval.  Consequently, a vote was not
taken.  SCE and SDG&E agreed to consolidate the disputes over the 2005 O&M and 2005 capital budgets and to treat the dispute over the
5-year outage schedule as a separate dispute.  The BOR subsequently approved a modified 5-year outage schedule.  The parties are
proceeding with the dispute resolution procedures in the Second Amended San Onofre Operating Agreement for the consolidated 2005 O&M
and capital budget disputes, which provide for binding arbitration if the disputes cannot be resolved through informal methods.

Transmission and Distribution

2006 General Rate Case Proceeding

On December 21, 2004, SCE filed its application for a 2006 GRC, requesting an increase of $370 million in SCE's 2006 base rate
revenue, primarily for capital-related expenditures to accommodate infrastructure replacement, customer and load growth.  This
increase is also necessary to fund substantially higher O&M expenses, particularly in SCE's transmission and distribution business
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
difference of $463 million from SCE's request.  In addition, the ORA recommended that an additional year, 2009, be added to SCE's GRC
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
2005, several intervenors filed testimony proposing reductions to SCE's 2006 GRC request, which, when combined with the ORA's
recommendation, would result in a reduction of $326 million in revenue, a difference of $696 million from SCE's request.

During the course of the GRC proceeding, SCE agreed to certain revisions to its request, updated the revenue requirement for the 2005
cost of capital, and incorporated a second refueling O&M expense forecast for San Onofre in 2006, which reduced SCE's test year
request by $29 million.  In a joint comparison exhibit filed by all parties on August 2, 2005, SCE requested an increase of $341
million in 2006 base rate revenue, followed by a requested increase of $106 million in 2007 and $111 million in 2008.  In this
exhibit, the ORA revised its requested decrease in 2006 revenue to $47 million, a difference of $388 million from SCE's request.  The
revised ORA request, when combined with proposed reductions from several other intervenors, would result in a reduction of $273
million in revenue, a difference of $614 million from SCE's request.  A decision in this matter is expected in January 2006.

On August 2, 2005 SCE filed a motion requesting the establishment of a GRC Memo Account which would make the GRC decision retroactive
to January 9, 2006, or the first CPUC meeting in January 2006, whichever is earlier.

In SCE's 2006 ERRA forecast proceeding, SCE is proposing to consolidate the rate changes arising from the 2006 GRC proceeding with
other changes in rates beginning on January 1, 2006 (see "--Generation and Power Procurement--Generation Procurement Proceedings
--Energy Resource Recovery Account Proceedings--2006 ERRA Forecast").

2006 Cost of Capital

On May 9, 2005, SCE filed an application requesting that the CPUC authorize a return on SCE's common equity and an overall rate of
return for SCE's CPUC-jurisdictional assets for 2006.  In its application, SCE requests that the CPUC maintain its 2005 authorized
rate-making capital structure of 43% long-term debt, 9% preferred equity, and 48% common equity for 2006.  SCE's application also
requests that the CPUC authorize SCE's 2006 cost of long-term debt of 6.53%, cost of preferred equity of 6.43% and a return on common
equity of 11.80%.  A proposed decision is scheduled for November 15, 2005, and a final CPUC decision is anticipated on or before
December 15, 2005.  CPUC adoption of SCE's application request would result in a projected $10 million increase in its annual revenue
requirements.

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
charges to Scheduling Coordinators (SCs) in the affected zone within the ISO transmission grid.  The April 20, 2004 order directed
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
services rates.  On June 8, 2005, the FERC denied the clarification, noting that during the appeal, the FERC's order is stayed,
therefore SCE is not required to pay at this time.  SCE may seek recovery in its reliability service rates of the costs should SCE be
required to pay these costs.

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
implementation of the restructured California electric industry.  SCE has incurred approximately $80 million of these unrecovered
costs since 1998.  In addition, SCE has accrued interest on these unrecovered costs.  The three California utilities appealed the
decisions to the D.C. Circuit Court.  On July 12, 2005, the D.C. Circuit Court vacated the FERC's August and November 2002 orders,
and remanded the case to FERC for further proceedings.  SCE believes that the D.C. Circuit Court's decision increases the likelihood
that it will recover these costs.

Wholesale Electricity and Natural Gas Markets

As discussed in the "Wholesale Electricity and Natural Gas Markets" disclosure in the year-ended 2004 MD&A, SCE is participating in
several related proceedings seeking recovery of refunds from sellers of electricity and natural gas who allegedly manipulated the
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
decision, SCE was required to refund to customers amounts received under the terms of the El Paso settlement (net of legal and
consulting costs) through its ERRA mechanism.  In June 2004, SCE received its first settlement payment of $76 million.  Approximately
$66 million of this amount was credited to purchased-power expense, and was refunded to SCE's ratepayers through the ERRA over the
following twelve months, and the remaining $10 million was used to offset SCE's incurred legal costs.  El Paso has elected to prepay
the additional settlement payments due over a 20-year period and, as a result, SCE received $66 million in May 2005.  Amounts El Paso
refunds to the CDWR will result in reductions in the CDWR's revenue requirement allocated to SCE in proportion to SCE's share of the
CDWR's power charge revenue requirement.

On January 14, 2005, SCE, PG&E, SDG&E and several governmental entities agreed to settlement terms with Mirant Corporation and a
number of its affiliates (collectively Mirant), all of whom are debtors in Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings pending in Texas.  Among
other things, the settlement terms provide for cash and equivalent refunds totaling $320 million, of which SCE's allocated share is
approximately $68 million.  The settlement also provides for an allowed, unsecured claim totaling $175 million in the bankruptcy of
one of the Mirant parties, with SCE being allocated approximately $33 million of the unsecured claim.  The actual value of the
unsecured claim will be determined as part of the resolution of the Mirant parties' bankruptcies.  The Mirant settlement was approved
by the FERC on April 13, 2005 and by the bankruptcy court on April 15, 2005.  In April and May 2005, SCE received its allocated

$68 million in cash settlement proceeds.  SCE continues to hold its $33 million share of the allowed, unsecured bankruptcy claim.
The Mirant settlement will be refunded to ratepayers as described below.

On July 15, 2005, SCE, PG&E, SDG&E and several governmental entities agreed to settlement terms with Enron Corporation and a number
of its affiliates (collectively Enron), most of which are debtors in Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings pending in New York.  Among
other things, the settlement terms provide for cash and equivalent payments from Enron totaling approximately $47 million and an
allowed, unsecured claim in the bankruptcy against one of the Enron entities in the amount of $875 million.  SCE's allocable share of
both the cash and allowed claim portions of the settlement consideration has not yet been finally determined, and the value of an
allocable share of the allowed claim will be determined as part of the resolution of the Enron parties' bankruptcies.  The settlement
remains subject to the approvals of the FERC, the CPUC and the Enron bankruptcy court.  The Enron settlement proceeds will be
refunded to ratepayers as described below.

On November 19, 2004, the CPUC issued a resolution authorizing SCE to establish an Energy Settlement Memorandum Account (ESMA) for
the purpose of recording the foregoing settlement proceeds (excluding the El Paso settlement) from energy providers and allocating
them in accordance with the terms of the October 2001 settlement agreement entered into by SCE and the CPUC which settled SCE's
lawsuit against the CPUC.  This lawsuit sought full recovery of SCE's electricity procurement costs incurred during the energy
crisis.  The resolution provides a mechanism whereby portions of the settlement proceeds recorded in the ESMA will be allocated to
recovery of SCE's litigation costs and expenses in the FERC refund proceedings described above and a 10% shareholder incentive
pursuant to the CPUC litigation settlement agreement.  Remaining amounts for each settlement are to be refunded to ratepayers through
the ERRA mechanism.  In the second quarter of 2005, SCE recorded a $7 million increase to other nonoperating income as a shareholder
incentive related to the Mirant refund received during the second quarter of 2005.

Other Regulatory Matters

Catastrophic Event Memorandum Account

Fire-Related CEMA

In October and November of 2003, wildfires damaged SCE's electrical infrastructure, primarily in the San Bernardino Mountains of
southern California where an estimated 2,085 power poles, 2,059 services, 371 transformers, 557,033 of overhead conductors and 25,822
feet of underground cable were replaced or repaired.  SCE notified the CPUC that it initiated a CEMA on October 21, 2003 to track the
incremental costs to restore and repair damage to its facilities.  SCE filed an application with the CPUC on December 2, 2004 to seek
recovery of its fire-related costs over a one-year period commencing January 1, 2006.  On June 23, 2005, SCE and the ORA filed a
settlement agreement with the CPUC which (i) allows the authorized CEMA Firestorm revenue requirement calculation to be based on
approximately $8 million of incremental operations and maintenance expenses and $20 of incremental capital plant additions and
(ii) allows SCE to continue to record in its Firestorm CEMA the revenue requirement associated with these costs, plus accrued
interest, until the effective date of the final decision in SCE's 2006 GRC.  The revenue requirement recorded in SCE's Firestorm CEMA
through April 2005 is approximately $12 million.  SCE has forecast the recorded revenue requirement in this account to total
approximately $14 million in December 2005.  SCE expects to recover the costs recorded in the Firestorm CEMA account through a
mechanism approved in SCE's 2006 GRC.

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

Demand-Side Management and Energy Efficiency Performance Incentive Mechanisms

Under a variety of incentive mechanisms adopted by the CPUC in the past, SCE was entitled to certain shareholder incentives for its
performance achievements in delivering demand-side management and energy efficiency programs.  On June 10, 2005, SCE and the ORA
executed a settlement agreement for SCE's outstanding issues concerning SCE shareholder incentives and performance achievements
resulting from the demand-side management, energy efficiency, and low-income energy efficiency programs from program years
1994-2004.  In addition, the settlement addresses shareholder incentives and performance achievements for program years 1994-1998,
anticipated but not yet claimed.  The settlement agreement recommends, among other things, that SCE be entitled to immediately
recover 92% of the total of SCE's current claims and future claims related to SCE's pre-1998 energy efficiency programs.  SCE's total
claim for program years 1994-2004 made in 2000 through 2008, including interest, franchise fees and uncollectibles, is approximately
$46 million.  The settling parties agreed that it is reasonable for SCE to recover approximately $42 million of these claims in the
near future as full recovery of all of SCE's outstanding claims as well as future claims related to SCE's pre-1998 energy efficiency
programs.  The settlement agreement requires CPUC approval.  On June 13, 2005, SCE and the ORA filed a joint motion requesting CPUC
adoption of the settlement agreement.  A decision is expected in the fourth quarter of 2005, which if approved, would result in the
recognition of a $42 million increase in earnings.  SCE has collected and deferred most the of the expected claims in rates, and
expects to recover the remaining portion of the claims over a 12-month period beginning on January 1, 2006 through the 2006 ERRA
Forecast application (see "--Generation and Power Procurement--Energy Resource Recovery Account Proceedings--2006 ERRA Forecast").

                             MISSION ENERGY HOLDING COMPANY

MEHC:  LIQUIDITY

Introduction

MEHC's liquidity discussion is organized in the following sections:

o    MEHC (parent)'s Liquidity
o    EME's Liquidity
o    Midwest Generation Financing
o    Capital Expenditures
o    MEHC and EME's Credit Ratings
o    EME's Liquidity as a Holding Company
o    Dividend Restrictions in Major Financings
o    MEHC's Interest Coverage Ratio

MEHC (parent)'s Liquidity

At June 30, 2005, MEHC had cash and cash equivalents of $62 million (excluding amounts held by EME and its subsidiaries). MEHC's
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
remaining $285 million of MEHC's term loan plus interest on January 3, 2005.

EME's Liquidity

At June 30, 2005, EME and its subsidiaries had cash and cash equivalents of $1.6 billion and EME had available the full amount of
borrowing capacity under a $98 million corporate credit facility. EME's consolidated debt at June 30, 2005 was $3.2 billion. In
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
facility. Thus, after completion of the actions outlined herein, Midwest Generation had $343 million outstanding under its term loan
and $500 million of working capital facilities available for working capital requirements, including credit support for hedging
activities. As of June 30, 2005, approximately $5 million was outstanding under these working capital facilities.

Under the terms of Midwest Generation's credit agreement, Midwest Generation is permitted to distribute 75% of excess cash flow (as
defined in the credit agreement). In addition, if equity is contributed to Midwest Generation, Midwest Generation is permitted to
distribute 100% of excess cash flow until the aggregate portion of distributions that Midwest Generation attributes to the equity
contribution equals the amount thereof. Accordingly, Midwest Generation is permitted to distribute 100% of excess cash flow until the
aggregate portion of such distributions attributed to the equity contribution made by EME in Midwest Generation on April 19, 2005
equals $300 million.  However, Midwest Generation is required to make concurrently with each distribution an offer to repay debt in
an amount equal to the excess, if any, of one-third of such distribution over the portion thereof attributed to the equity
contribution. Thus, Midwest Generation will not be required to offer to repay debt concurrently with a distribution so long as the
portion of each distribution attributed to the April 19, 2005 equity contribution is at least one-third of such distribution.

Capital Expenditures

The estimated capital and construction expenditures of EME's subsidiaries are $22 million for the final two quarters of 2005 and
$32 million and $13 million for 2006 and 2007, respectively. Non-environmental expenditures relate to upgrades to dust
collection/mitigation systems and the coal handling system, ash removal improvements and various other projects. These expenditures
are planned to be financed by existing subsidiary credit agreements, cash on hand or cash generated from operations. Included in the
estimated expenditures are environmental expenditures of $7 million for the second half of 2005 and $1 million for 2006. The 2005
environmental expenditures relate to selective catalytic reduction system improvements at the Homer City facilities.

MEHC and EME's Credit Ratings

Overview

Credit ratings for MEHC and its subsidiaries, EME, Midwest Generation, LLC and Edison Mission Marketing & Trading, are as follows:

                                                Moody's Rating     S&P Rating
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MEHC                                                 B2               CCC+
EME                                                  B1               B+
Midwest Generation, LLC:
   First priority senior secured rating              Ba3              BB-
   Second priority senior secured rating             B1               B
Edison Mission Marketing & Trading                 Not Rated          B+
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MEHC cannot provide assurance that its current credit ratings or the credit ratings of its subsidiaries will remain in effect for any
given period of time or that one or more of these ratings will not be lowered. MEHC notes that these credit ratings are not
recommendations to buy, sell or hold its securities and may be revised at any time by a rating agency.

MEHC does not have any "rating triggers" contained in subsidiary financings that would result in it or EME being required to make
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

EME and its subsidiaries have provided credit for the benefit of counterparties in the form of cash and letters of credit
($202 million as of June 30, 2005) for price risk management activities of EME (including Midwest Generation and EME Homer City) and
domestic trading activities primarily related to the fair value of open positions.

EME expects to have higher merchant generation in 2005 than in previous years as a result of the expiration in 2004 of the power
purchase agreements between Midwest Generation and Exelon Generation. The increased merchant generation will increase the potential
for margin and collateral requirements. Changes in forward market prices and the strategies adopted for merchant generation could
further increase the need for credit support for price risk management activities related to EME's projects. Using advanced industry
analytics, EME estimates that total margin and collateral requirements to support price risk management could increase to
approximately $400 million in 2005 if 56% of the remaining 2005 output and 33% of the 2006 output from the Illinois plants and Homer
City facilities is sold forward for one year and power prices subsequently increased. Midwest Generation is expected to have cash on
hand and $500 million of working capital facilities that can be used to provide credit support for forward contracts entered into on
behalf of the Illinois plants. As of June 30, 2005, approximately $5 million was outstanding under these facilities. In addition, EME
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
Facilities."

EME's Liquidity as a Holding Company

Overview

At June 30, 2005, EME had corporate cash and cash equivalents of $1.5 billion to meet liquidity needs. See "--EME's Liquidity." EME
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

At June 30, 2005, EME also had available $86 million under Midwest Generation EME, LLC's $100 million letter of credit facility with
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

The following table is presented as an aid in understanding the cash flow of EME's continuing operations and its various subsidiary
holding companies which depend on distributions from subsidiaries and affiliates to fund general and administrative costs and debt
service costs of recourse debt.

     In millions               Six Months Ended June 30,                        2005              2004
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Distributions from Consolidated Operating Projects:
         Edison Mission Midwest Holdings (Illinois plants)                    $  171           $    --
         EME Homer City Generation L.P. (Homer City facilities)(1)                41                49
     Distributions from Unconsolidated Operating Projects:
         Edison Mission Energy Funding Corp. (Big 4 Projects)(2)                  29                21
         Sunrise Power Company                                                     5                 5
         Holding company for Doga project                                         17                15
         Holding companies for Westside projects                                   6                 7
         Holding companies of other unconsolidated operating projects              4                 1
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total Distributions                                                      $  273           $    98
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     --------------
     (1) On July 1, 2005, EME received a $21 million distribution from Homer City.

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

Set forth below are key ratios of EME's principal subsidiaries for the twelve months ended June 30, 2005:

             Subsidiary                     Financial Ratio              Covenant                 Actual
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     Midwest Generation, LLC            Interest Coverage            Greater than or             2.78 to 1
     (Illinois plants)                  Ratio                        equal to 1.25 to 1

     Midwest Generation, LLC            Secured Leverage             Less than or                3.18 to 1
     (Illinois plants)                  Ratio                        equal to 8.75 to 1

     EME Homer City                     Senior Rent Service          Greater than 1.7 to 1       2.68 to 1
     Generation L.P.                    Coverage Ratio
     (Homer City facilities)

     Edison Mission Energy              Debt Service                 Greater than or             2.97 to 1
     Funding Corp.                      Coverage Ratio               equal to 1.25 to 1
     (Big 4 Projects)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For a more detailed description of the covenants binding EME's principal subsidiaries that may restrict the ability of those entities
to make distributions to EME directly or indirectly through the other holding companies owned by EME, refer to "MEHC:
Liquidity--Dividend Restrictions in Major Financings" in the year-ended 2004 MD&A.

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
MEHC's interest coverage ratio for the twelve months ended June 30, 2005:

                                                                                           June 30,
     In millions                                                                             2005
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Funds Flow from Operations:
          Operating Cash Flow(1) from Consolidated Operating Projects(2):
              Illinois plants                                                          $     313
              Homer City                                                                     113
              First Hydro                                                                     30
          Other consolidated operating projects                                               18
          Price risk management and energy trading                                            39
          Distributions from unconsolidated Big 4 projects                                   116
          Distributions from other unconsolidated operating projects                         107
          Interest income                                                                     28
          Operating expenses                                                                (133)
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              Total EME funds flow from operations                                     $     631
          Operating cash flow from unrestricted subsidiaries                                   1
          Funds flow from operations of projects sold                                        (84)
          MEHC (parent)                                                                       (2)
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              Total funds flow from operations                                         $     546

     Interest Expense:
          EME                                                                          $     262
          EME - affiliate debt                                                                 2
          MEHC (parent) interest expense                                                     134
          Interest savings on projects sold                                                  (65)
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              Total interest expense                                                   $     333
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Interest Coverage Ratio                                                                1.64
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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

The above interest coverage ratio was determined in accordance with the definitions set forth in the indenture governing MEHC's
senior secured notes. The provisions of the indenture prohibits MEHC, EME and its subsidiaries from incurring additional
indebtedness, except as specified in the indenture, unless MEHC's interest coverage ratio exceeds 2.0 to 1 for the immediately
preceding four fiscal quarters.

MEHC:  MARKET RISK EXPOSURES

Introduction

EME's primary market risk exposures are associated with the sale of electricity and capacity from and the procurement of fuel for its
uncontracted generating plants. These market risks arise from fluctuations in electricity, capacity and fuel prices, emission
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
areas where EME's merchant plants are located. Among the factors that influence the price of energy, capacity and ancillary services
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

Energy Price Risk - Introduction

Electric power generated at EME's merchant plants is generally sold under bilateral arrangements with domestic utilities and power
marketers with terms of two years or less or into the PJM Interconnection, LLC (PJM) and/or the New York Independent System Operator
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
to unit.

EME uses a "value at risk" analysis in its daily business to identify, measure, monitor and control its overall market risk exposure
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
transactions.

Primary counterparties for hedging transactions are utilities and power marketing companies.  In addition, the Intercontinental
Exchange and the New York Mercantile Exchange now permit trading in cash settled futures contracts.  This allows hedge transactions
to be executed with financial entities such as hedge funds and investment banks.  The number of such transactions being cleared has
been steadily increasing recently.

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

Pre-2005 Merchant Sales

Energy generated at the Illinois plants was historically sold under three power purchase agreements between Midwest Generation and
Exelon Generation Company, under which Exelon Generation was obligated to make capacity payments for the plants under contract and
energy payments for the energy produced by these plants and taken by Exelon Generation. The power purchase agreements began on
December 15, 1999. The capacity payments provided the units under contract with revenue for fixed charges, and the energy payments
compensated those units for all, or a portion of, variable costs of production. The three power purchase agreements with Exelon
Generation had all been terminated by December 31, 2004.

To the extent that energy and capacity from the Illinois plants was not sold under the power purchase agreements with Exelon
Generation, it was sold on a wholesale basis through a combination of bilateral agreements, forward energy sales and spot market
sales. Approximately 51% of the energy and capacity sales from the Illinois plants in the first six months of 2004 were made on a
wholesale basis outside of the power purchase agreements.

Prior to May 1, 2004, the primary markets available to Midwest Generation for wholesale sales of electricity from the Illinois plants
were direct "wholesale customers" and broker arranged "over-the-counter customers." Since the expansion of PJM and the commencement
of the Midwest Independent Transmission System Operator (MISO) locational marginal pricing markets, EME believes that the most liquid
delivery locations for wholesale trading in the Midwest are the Northern Illinois Hub in PJM, the AEP/Dayton Hub in PJM, and the
Cinergy Hub in MISO. Because of proximity, the Midwest Generation assets are primarily hedged with transactions at the Northern
Illinois Hub, but from time to time may be hedged in limited amounts at the AEP/Dayton Hub and the Cinergy Hub.

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
ComEd" and "Into AEP." See "MEHC:  Other Development--Regulatory Matters" in the year-ended 2004 MD&A for a more detailed discussion
of developments regarding Commonwealth Edison's joining PJM, and "--Basis Risk" below for a discussion of locational marginal pricing.

2005 Merchant Sales

Beginning on January 1, 2005, electric power generated at the Illinois plants is generally sold under bilateral arrangements with
terms of two years or less, or into the PJM market. The PJM pool has a short-term market, which establishes an hourly clearing price.
The Illinois plants are situated in the new expanded western PJM control area and are physically connected to high-voltage
transmission lines serving this market.

The following table depicts the average historical market prices for energy per megawatt-hour during the first six months of 2005 and
2004.

                                                    2005(1)           2004
             -------------------------------------------------------------------
             January                            $    38.36        $   27.88(2)
             February                                34.92            29.98(2)
             March                                   45.75            30.66(2)
             April                                   38.98            27.88(2)
             May                                     33.60            34.05(1)
             June                                    42.45            28.58(1)
             -------------------------------------------------------------------
             Six-Month Average                  $    39.01        $   29.84
             -------------------------------------------------------------------

             --------------
             (1) Represents average historical market prices for energy as quoted for sales into the Northern Illinois
                 Hub.  Energy prices were calculated at the Northern Illinois Hub delivery point using hourly real-time
                 prices as published by PJM.

             (2) Represents average historical market prices for energy for "Into ComEd." Energy prices were determined
                 by obtaining broker quotes and other public price sources for "Into ComEd" delivery points.  See
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
Hub at June 30, 2005:

                                                      24-Hour Northern
                                                        Illinois Hub
     2005                                          Forward Energy Prices*
     -----------------------------------------------------------------------
         July                                         $    46.64
         August                                            48.68
         September                                         37.55
         October                                           33.44
         November                                          35.26
         December                                          41.22
     2006 Calendar "strip"(1)                         $    42.73
     -----------------------------------------------------------------------

     --------------
     (1)  Market price for energy purchases for the entire calendar year, as quoted for sales into the
          Northern Illinois Hub.
     *    Energy prices were determined by obtaining broker quotes and information from other public
          sources relating to the Northern Illinois Hub delivery point.

The following table summarizes Midwest Generation's hedge position (primarily based on prices at the Northern Illinois Hub) at
June 30, 2005:

                                                             2005              2006
                  -------------------------------------------------------------------
                  Megawatt hours                          9,386,086         9,707,014
                  Average price/MWh(1)                  $     38.15       $     41.84
                  -------------------------------------------------------------------

                  --------------
                  (1) The above hedge positions include forward contracts for the sale of power during different periods of
                      the year and the day.  Market prices tend to be higher during on-peak periods during the day and
                      during summer months, although there is significant variability of power prices during different
                      periods of time.  Accordingly, the above hedge position at June 30, 2005 is not directly comparable to
                      the 24-hour Northern Illinois Hub prices set forth above.

Energy Price Risk Affecting Sales from the Homer City Facilities

Electric power generated at the Homer City facilities is generally sold under bilateral arrangements with terms of two years or less,
or into the PJM market. These pools have short-term markets, which establish an hourly clearing price. The Homer City facilities are
situated in the PJM control area and are physically connected to high-voltage transmission lines serving both the PJM and NYISO
markets.

The following table depicts the average historical market prices for energy per megawatt-hour in PJM during the first six months of
2005 and 2004:

                                                       24-Hour PJM
                                                Historical Energy Prices*
                                               -----------------------------
                                                    2005          2004
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
January                                           $  45.82      $  51.12
February                                             39.40         47.19
March                                                47.42         39.54
April                                                44.27         43.01
May                                                  43.67         44.68
June                                                 46.63         36.72
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Six-Month Average                                 $  44.54      $  43.71
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

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
June 30, 2005:

                                       24-Hour PJM West Hub
2005                                  Forward Energy Prices*
------------------------------------------------------------
    July                                    $    56.50
    August                                       58.55
    September                                    46.95
    October                                      43.52
    November                                     44.72
    December                                     51.25
2006 Calendar "strip"(1)                    $    53.66
------------------------------------------------------------

--------------
(1)  Market price for energy purchases for the entire calendar year, as quoted for sales into the PJM
     West Hub.
*    Energy prices were determined by obtaining broker quotes and other information from public
     sources relating to the PJM West Hub delivery point. Forward prices at PJM West Hub are
     generally higher than the prices at the Homer City busbar.

The following table summarizes Homer City's hedge position at June 30, 2005:

                                                         2005             2006
                  ----------------------------------------------------------------
                  Megawatt hours                       4,641,100         5,256,000
                  Average price/MWh(1)               $     44.94       $     51.50
                  ----------------------------------------------------------------

                  --------------
                  (1) The above hedge positions include forward contracts for the sale of power during different periods of
                      the year and the day.  Market prices tend to be higher during on-peak periods during the day and
                      during summer months, although there is significant variability of power prices during different
                      periods of time.  Accordingly, the above hedge position at June 30, 2005 is not directly comparable to
                      the 24-hour PJM West Hub prices set forth above.

The average price/MWh for Homer City's hedge position is based on PJM West Hub. Energy prices at the Homer City busbar have averaged
6% lower than energy prices at the PJM West Hub during the past twelve months with the monthly average difference during this period
ranging from zero to 13%, which occurred in June 2005. See "--Basis Risk" below for a discussion of the difference.

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
     of the plant involved, plus,

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
affected by transmission constraints. During the past 12 months, transmission congestion in PJM has resulted in prices at the Homer
City busbar being lower than those at the PJM West Hub (the primary trading hub in PJM for the Homer City facilities) by an average
of 6%. By contrast, during the past 12 months, transmission congestion in PJM has not resulted in prices at the Northern Illinois Hub
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
activities include using financial transmission rights alone or in combination with forward contracts to manage basis risks.

Coal Price and Transportation Risk

The Illinois plants use approximately 18 million to 20.5 million tons of coal annually, primarily obtained from the Southern Powder
River Basin of Wyoming. In addition, the Homer City facilities use approximately 5 million tons of coal annually, obtained from mines
located near the facilities in Pennsylvania. Coal purchases are made under a variety of supply agreements typically ranging from one
year to six years in length. The following table summarizes the percent of expected coal requirements for the next five years that
are under contract at June 30, 2005.

                                                        Percent of Coal Requirements
                                                              Under Contract
                                                 ---------------------------------------
                                                 2005(1)    2006    2007   2008    2009
        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
        Illinois plants                            110%      98%    96%     29%    29%
        Homer City facilities(2)                   105%      53%    49%     14%    10%
        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

        --------------
        (1)  The percentage in 2005 is calculated based on coal supply and expected generation requirements for a full year.

        (2)  Adjusted for expected deliveries under an agreement in principle to settle outstanding contract disputes.
             See "Commitments, Guarantees and Indemnities--Fuel Supply Contracts" for more information regarding fuel supply
             interruptions and the dispute with two suppliers.

EME is subject to price risk for purchases of coal that are not under contract. Prices of Northern Appalachia coal, which is
purchased for the Homer City facilities, increased considerably since 2004. In January 2004, prices of Northern Appalachia coal (with
13,000 British Thermal units (Btu) content and ‹3.0 SO2 MMBtu content) were below $40 per ton and increased to more than $60 per ton
during 2004. At July 22, 2005, the Energy Information Administration reported the price of Northern Appalachia coal at $52.50 per
ton. The overall increase in the Northern Appalachia coal price has been largely attributed

to greater demand from domestic power producers and increased international shipments of coal to Asia. Prices of Powder River Basin
(PRB) coal (with 8,800 Btu content and 0.8 SO2 MMBtu content), which is purchased for the Illinois plants, have recently increased
due to curtailment of coal shipments for the remainder of 2005 due to increased PRB coal demand from the other regions (east), rail
constraints (discussed below) and higher prices for SO2 allowances. At July 22, 2005, the Energy Information Administration reported
the price of $9.66 per ton, which compares to 2004 prices generally below $7 per ton.

During the first half of 2005, the rail lines that bring coal from the Powder River Basin to the East, including to EME's Illinois
plants, were damaged from derailments caused by heavy rains. The railroads are in the process of making repairs to these rail lines
and have advised their customers, including EME, that shipments will be curtailed by 15% to 20% during the second half of 2005. EME
is working with its transportation provider to minimize any disruption of planned shipments. Based on communication with the
transportation provider, EME expects to continue receiving a sufficient amount of coal to generate power at historical levels while
these repairs are being completed.

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
or are allocated to these plants.

The price of emission allowances, particularly SO2 allowances issued through the US EPA Acid Rain Program increased substantially
during 2004 and the first half of 2005. The average price of purchased SO2 allowances increased to $707 per ton during the six months
ended June 30, 2005 from $281 per ton during the six months ended June 30, 2004. The increase in the price of SO2 allowances has been
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

                                                     June 30,
 In millions                                          2005
 -------------------------------------------------------------
 S&P Credit Rating
   A or higher                                     $     2
   A-                                                   15
   BBB+                                                 82
   BBB                                                  17
   BBB-                                                  1
   Below investment grade                               --
 -------------------------------------------------------------
 Total                                              $   117
 -------------------------------------------------------------

EME's plants owned by unconsolidated affiliates in which EME owns an interest sell power under long-term power purchase agreements.
Generally, each plant sells its output to one counterparty. Accordingly, a default by a counterparty under a long-term power purchase
agreement, including a default as a result of a bankruptcy, would likely have a material adverse effect on the operations of such
power plant.

In addition, coal for the Illinois plants and the Homer City facilities is purchased from suppliers under contracts which may be for
multiple years.  A number of the coal suppliers to the Illinois plants and the Homer City facilities do not currently have an
investment grade credit rating and, accordingly, EME may have limited recourse to collect damages from a supplier in the event of
default.  EME seeks to mitigate this risk through diversification of its coal suppliers and through guarantees and other collateral
arrangements when available. Despite this, there can be no assurance that these efforts will be successful in mitigating credit risk
from coal suppliers.

For the six months ended June 30, 2005, one customer accounted for 11% of EME's consolidated operating revenue. For the six months
ended June 30, 2004, one customer accounted for 15% and a second customer, Exelon Generation, accounted for 33% of EME's consolidated
operating revenue. For more information on Exelon Generation see "--Commodity Price Risk--Energy Price Risk Affecting Sales from the
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
$4.6 billion at June 30, 2005, compared to the carrying value of $4.0 billion. The fair market value of MEHC's parent only total
long-term obligations was $1.0 billion at June 30, 2005, compared to the carrying value of $790 million.

Fair Value of Financial Instruments

Non-Trading Derivative Financial Instruments

The following table summarizes the fair values for outstanding derivative financial instruments used in EME's continuing operations
for purposes other than trading by risk category:

                                           June 30,        December 31,
 In millions                                 2005              2004
 -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Commodity price:
      Electricity                         $  (122)           $   10
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
assets and liabilities as of June 30, 2005:

                                       Total     Maturity       Maturity    Maturity       Maturity
                                        Fair     Less than       1 to 3      4 to 5      Greater than
     In millions                       Value      1 year         years       years         5 years
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Prices actively quoted          $  (122)   $   (115)      $  (7)       $  --           $  --
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Energy Trading Derivative Financial Instruments

EME's risk management and trading operations are conducted by its subsidiary, Edison Mission Marketing & Trading. Edison Mission
Marketing & Trading seeks to generate profit from the volatility of the price of electricity, fuels and transmission by buying and
selling contracts for their sale or provision, as the case may be, which are referred to as energy trading activities. Energy trading
activities are primarily focused on understanding the relative values between different locations in the eastern power grid;
particularly those locations in PJM, MISO, and NYISO. See "--Commodity Price Risk--Basis Risk" above for a discussion of locational
marginal pricing. Edison Mission Marketing & Trading, utilizes over-the-counter products as well as financial transmission rights,
transmission congestion contracts, and virtual incremental and decremental generation bids to capture the difference in prices
between various locations.

The fair value of the commodity financial instruments related to energy trading activities as of June 30, 2005 and December 31, 2004,
are set forth below:

                                     June 30, 2005                   December 31, 2004
                             ------------------------------   -----------------------------
    In millions                  Assets       Liabilities         Assets       Liabilities
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Electricity                 $   114          $  18           $   125         $   36
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The change in the fair value of trading contracts for the six months ended June 30, 2005, was as follows:

    In millions
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Fair value of trading contracts at January 1, 2005         $   89
    Net gains from energy trading activities                       45
    Amount realized from energy trading activities                (38)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Fair value of trading contracts at June 30, 2005           $   96
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

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
valuation method and the related fair value of energy trading assets and liabilities (as of June 30, 2005):

                                                                                                Maturity
                                                Total      Maturity      Maturity   Maturity    Greater
                                                 Fair      Less than     1 to 3     4 to 5        than
      In millions                               Value        1 year       years      years      5 years
      ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Prices actively quoted                  $     6        $  6        $  --      $  --       $  --
      Prices based on models and other
         valuation methods                         90          (2)           9          7          76
      ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Total                                   $    96        $  4        $   9      $   7       $  76
      ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MEHC:  OTHER DEVELOPMENT

Regulatory Matters

There have been no significant developments with respect to regulatory matters specifically affecting EME since the filing of MEHC's
annual report, except as follows:

The MISO's day-ahead and real-time locational marginal pricing markets commenced operation on April 1, 2005. Since that time, the
wholesale electricity trading community has opted to trade a product delivered at the Cinergy Hub as defined by MISO rather than at
the "Into Cinergy" location that was used previously. EME anticipates that the opening of the MISO market will lead to increased
liquidity in the Midwest electricity markets because locational marginal pricing provides a liquid and credible cash index against
which the trading community can settle contracts.  See "MEHC:  Other Development--Regulatory Matters" in the year-ended 2004 MD&A for
further discussion.

                               EDISON CAPITAL

EDISON CAPITAL:  CURRENT DEVELOPMENTS

Edison Capital has investments in three regionally focused global infrastructure funds: Europe, Asia and Latin America.  All three
funds follow fair value accounting, in which changes in the fair value of investments are recorded directly in earnings.  Edison
Capital records its share of the funds' earnings as equity in income from partnerships and unconsolidated affiliates.  Edison
Capital's share of earnings from these funds totaled $13 million and $59 million, after tax, for the three- and six-month periods
ended June 30, 2005, respectively.  These earnings mainly resulted from gains on investments in several telecommunications companies
in Eastern Europe.  Edison Capital also received $38 million and $69 million of cash distributions from its fund investments during
the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, respectively, and ended the current quarter with a $187 million investment
balance in the global infrastructure funds.

EDISON CAPITAL:  LIQUIDITY

Edison Capital's main sources of liquidity are tax-allocation payments from Edison International, lease rents and distributions from
its global infrastructure fund investments.

Edison Capital's cash requirements during the twelve-month period following June 30, 2005, primarily consist of:

o    Funding new investments in renewable energy;
o    Scheduled debt principal and interest payments; and
o    General and administrative expenses.

As of June 30, 2005, Edison Capital had unrestricted cash and cash equivalents of $240 million and long-term debt, including current
maturities, of $312 million.  Additionally, as of June 30, 2005, Edison Capital had unfunded commitments of $25 million.  Edison
Capital's pursuit of new renewable energy investments depends upon economic and regulatory conditions and continuation of government
policies supporting renewable energy.

Edison Capital expects to meet its operating cash needs through cash on hand, tax-allocation payments from Edison International
(parent) and expected cash flow from operating activities.

At June 30, 2005, Edison Capital's long-term debt had credit ratings of Ba1 and BB+ from Moody's Investors Service and Standard &
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
debt in 2004, and as of June 30, 2005, had no debt outstanding.

Edison International (parent)'s 2005 cash requirements primarily consist of:

o    Dividends to common shareholders.  On February 17, 2005 and May 19, 2005, the Board of Directors of Edison International
     declared a $0.25 per share quarterly common stock dividend.  The two separate dividend payments of $81 million each were paid on
     May 3, 2005 and August 1, 2005; and

o    General and administrative expenses.

Edison International (parent) expects to meet its continuing obligations through cash and cash equivalents on hand, short-term
borrowings, when necessary, and dividends from its subsidiaries.  At June 30, 2005, Edison International (parent) had approximately
$46 million of cash and cash equivalents on hand.  In February 2005, Edison International (parent) entered into a $750 million senior
unsecured 5-year revolving credit facility and as of June 30, 2005, the entire $750 million was available under its credit facility.
The ability of subsidiaries to make dividend payments to Edison International is dependent on various factors as described below.

The CPUC regulates SCE's capital structure by requiring that SCE maintain prescribed percentages of common equity, preferred equity
and long-term debt in the utility's capital structure.  SCE may not make any distributions to Edison International that would reduce
the common equity component of SCE's capital structure below the prescribed level on a 13-month weighted average basis.  The CPUC
also requires that SCE establish its dividend policy as though it were a comparable stand-alone utility company and give first
priority to the capital requirements of the utility as necessary to meet its obligation to serve its customers.  Other factors at SCE
that affect the amount and timing of dividend payments by SCE to Edison International include, among other things, SCE's cash
requirements, SCE's access to capital markets, dividends on SCE's preferred and preference stock, and actions by the CPUC.  SCE made
a $71 million dividend payment to Edison International on both April 28, 2005 and July 28, 2005.

MEHC may not pay dividends unless it has an interest coverage ratio of at least 2.0 to 1.  At June 30, 2005, its interest coverage
ratio was 1.64 to 1.  See "MEHC:  Liquidity--MEHC's Interest Coverage Ratio."  In addition, MEHC's certificate of incorporation and
senior secured note indenture contain restrictions on MEHC's ability to declare or pay dividends or distributions (other than
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
satisfied this minimum net worth requirement as of June 30, 2005.  Edison Capital has not declared or made dividend payments to
Edison International in 2005.

EDISON INTERNATIONAL (PARENT):  MARKET RISK EXPOSURES

Although Edison International (parent) had no debt outstanding as of June 30, 2005, the parent company may be exposed to changes in
interest rates which may result from future borrowing and investing activities.  The proceeds of such borrowings and investing
activities may be used for general corporate purposes, including investments in nonutility businesses.  The nature and amount of the
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
new and proposed accounting principles, commitments, guarantees and indemnities and other developments.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS AND HISTORICAL CASH FLOW ANALYSIS

The following subsections of "Results of Operations and Historical Cash Flow Analysis" provide a discussion on the changes in various
line items presented on the Consolidated Statements of Income as well as a discussion of the changes on the Consolidated Statements
of Cash Flows.

Results of Operations

Edison International recorded consolidated earnings of $201 million, or 61(cent)per common share for the three-month period ended June
30, 2005, compared to a loss of $374 million, or $1.15 per common share for the three-month period ended June 30, 2004.  The
increased earnings primarily reflect lower net interest expense, improved results at MEHC (including higher wholesale energy prices),
and higher revenue at SCE.  Included in earnings is a lease termination charge of $586 million or $1.80 per common share at MEHC in
2004, net positive regulatory adjustments of $117 million or 36(cent)per common share at SCE in 2004, as well as earnings from
discontinued operations at MEHC in both 2005 and 2004.

Edison International recorded consolidated earnings of $403 million, or $1.23 per common share for the six-month period ended June
30, 2005, compared to a loss of $276 million, or 85(cent)per common share for the six-month period ended June 30, 2004.  The increased
earnings primarily result from higher wholesale energy prices at MEHC's Illinois plants, higher earnings at SCE associated with the
2003 GRC received in July 2004, lower net interest expense, earnings from Edison Capital's interest in the Emerging Europe
Infrastructure Fund, and increased trading income at MEHC.  The 2005 earnings include a charge at MEHC of $15 million or 5(cent)per
common share related to the early extinguishment of debt.  The 2004 results include a charge of $586 million or $1.80 per common
share related to EME's termination of the Collins Station lease, a net gain of $27 million or 8(cent)per common share at MEHC from the
sale of its interest in Four Star Oil & Gas and the Brooklyn Navy Yard project, and earnings of $117 million or 36(cent)per common share
at SCE from regulatory items related to its 2003 GRC decision.  Both years include earnings from discontinued operations related to
MEHC's international projects.

The tables below presents Edison International's earnings and earnings per common share for the three- and six-month periods ended
June 30, 2005 and 2004, and the relative contributions by its subsidiaries.

In millions, except per common share amounts               Earnings (Loss)           Earnings (Loss) per Common Share
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  Three-Month Period Ended June 30,                     2005           2004                  2005           2004
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Earnings (Loss) from Continuing Operations:
     SCE                                             $   161         $  242               $   0.49        $  0.74
     MEHC                                                 --           (636)                   --           (1.96)
     Edison Capital                                       25             11                   0.08           0.04
     Edison International (parent) and other              (6)           (17)                 (0.02)         (0.05)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edison International Consolidated Earnings (Loss)
   from Continuing Operations                            180           (400)                  0.55          (1.23)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Earnings from Discontinued Operations                     21             26                   0.06           0.08
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edison International Consolidated                    $   201         $ (374)              $   0.61        $ (1.15)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In millions, except per common share amounts               Earnings (Loss)           Earnings (Loss) per Common Share
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  Six-Month Period Ended June 30,                       2005           2004                 2005           2004
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Earnings (Loss) from Continuing Operations:
     SCE                                             $   292         $  341             $   0.89        $  1.05
     MEHC                                                 25           (675)                0.08          (2.07)
     Edison Capital                                       77             22                 0.24           0.07
     Edison International (parent) and other             (19)           (35)               (0.06)         (0.12)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edison International Consolidated Earnings (Loss)
   from Continuing Operations                            375           (347)                1.15          (1.07)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Earnings from Discontinued Operations                     28             72                 0.08           0.22
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cumulative Effect of Accounting Change                    --             (1)                 --             --
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edison International Consolidated                    $   403         $ (276)            $   1.23        $ (0.85)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Earnings from Continuing Operations

SCE's earnings from continuing operations were $161 million and $292 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30,
2005, respectively, compared to $242 million and $341 million for the same periods in 2004. SCE's 2004 earnings from continuing
operations included net positive regulatory items of $117 million or 36(cent)per common share primarily related to the implementation of
SCE's 2003 GRC decision.  The decrease in earnings for the three- and six-month period ended June 30, 2005, compared to the same
periods in 2004, is primarily due to the net positive regulatory items recorded in 2004, partially offset by higher revenue
associated with the timing of the 2003 GRC decision.  SCE received the 2003 GRC decision in July 2004, which resulted in a catch-up
adjustment in the third quarter of 2004 for the amounts related to the first half of 2004, as well as an increase in earnings for the
second half of 2004.  The variances for both periods also reflects higher revenue authorized by the CPUC for 2005, the favorable
resolution of certain tax issues and lower net interest costs (quarter only), which were mostly offset by higher operating expenses.

MEHC's earnings from continuing operations were breakeven and $25 million for the three- and six-months ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, compared to a loss of $636 million and a loss of $675 million for the same periods in 2004, respectively.  MEHC's
second quarter results in 2005 include a $15 million, or 5(cent)per common share, charge related to the early retirement of debt.  MEHC's
results for both the three- and six-month periods in 2004 included a charge of $586 million, or $1.80 per common share, related to
the termination of the Collins Station lease.  The Collins Station was deemed uneconomic and operations ceased effective September
30, 2004.  The increase for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, as compared to the same periods in 2004, is mainly
due to the lease termination charge in 2004, improved earnings of $50 million, or 16(cent)per common share, and $156 million, or 48(cent)per
common share, over the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2004, respectively, primarily due to higher wholesale energy
prices at MEHC's Illinois plants, lower net corporate interest expense, the resolution of a prior-year tax issue and higher income
from Edison Mission Marketing & Trading.  On an annual basis, MEHC's earnings are seasonal with higher earnings expected during the
summer months.  In addition to the items discussed above, the six-month period increase was also partially offset by net gains of $27
million on the sale of MEHC's interests in Four Star Oil & Gas and the Brooklyn Navy Yard project in the six-month period ended June
30, 2004, and a $15 million loss on the early retirement of debt for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005.

Earnings in the second quarter of 2005 for Edison Capital were $25 million and $77 million for the three- and six-month periods ended
June 30, 2005, respectively, compared to $11 million and $22 million for the same periods in 2004, respectively.  The three- and
six-month period increases, as compared to the same periods in 2004, is primarily due to Edison Capital's share of income from its
investments in the Emerging Europe Infrastructure Fund.  During the second quarter of 2005, the Fund recorded a gain resulting from
an announced purchase of a wireless company held by the Fund.  Edison Capital's share of

gain was about $13 million.  The Fund has subsequently exited this investment and the related gain has been realized.

The loss for "Edison International parent company and other" decreased by $11 million and $16 million for the three- and six-month
periods ended June 30, 2005, respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004, primarily due to lower net interest expense.  The
six-month period decrease was partially offset by higher taxes.

Operating Revenue

SCE's retail sales represented approximately 83% of electric utility revenue for both the three- and six month periods ended June 30,
2005, compared to approximately 82% and 85% of electric utility revenue for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2004,
respectively.  Due to warmer weather during the summer months, electric utility revenue during the third quarter of each year is
generally significantly higher than other quarters.

The following table sets forth the major changes in electric utility revenue:

                                                        Three-Month Period        Six-Month Period
                                                          Ended June 30,           Ended June 30,
     In millions                                           2005 vs. 2004            2005 vs. 2004
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Electric utility revenue
         Rate changes (including unbilled)                   $  (93)                  $  (102)
         Sales volume changes (including unbilled)              118                       170
         Sales for resale                                       (14)                       44
         SCE's variable interest entities                         8                       109
         Other (including intercompany transactions)              8                        16
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total                                                   $   27                   $   237
     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total electric utility revenue increased by $27 million and $237 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005,
respectively (as shown in the table above), as compared to the same periods in 2004.  The variance in electric utility revenue from
rate changes reflects the implementation of the 2003 GRC, effective in August 2004.  As a result, generation rates decreased revenue
by approximately $30 million and $150 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, respectively, and
distribution rates increased revenue by approximately $100 million and $255 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June
30, 2005, respectively.  Included in the variance in electric utility revenue from rate changes are higher deferrals of revenue of
approximately $210 million and $275 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, respectively, related to
balancing account overcollections in 2005, as compared to 2004.  The increase in electric utility revenue resulting from sales volume
changes was mainly due to an increase in kWh sold and SCE providing a greater amount of energy to its customers from its own sources
in 2005, compared to 2004, in which the CDWR provided a greater amount of energy to SCE's customers.  Electric utility revenue from
sales for resale represents the sale of excess energy.  As a result of the CDWR contracts allocated to SCE, excess energy from SCE
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
remitted to the CDWR and are not recognized as revenue by SCE.  These amounts were $409 million and $919 million for the three- and

six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, respectively, compared to $546 million and $1.2 billion for the same periods in 2004.

Nonutility power generation revenue increased $58 million and $180 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004.  The three-month period increase was mainly due to higher energy revenue of
approximately $100 million and $10 million at EME's Illinois plants and Homer City facilities, respectively, resulting from increased
average realized energy prices, and an increase of $16 million related to MEHC's trading activities at EME's wholly owned subsidiary,
Edison Mission Marketing & Trading.  The three-month period increase was partially offset by lower capacity revenue of approximately
$60 million at EME's Illinois plants from the expiration of the power-purchase agreements with Exelon Generation.  The six-month
period increase was mainly due to higher energy revenue of approximately $215 million and $55 million at EME's Illinois plants and
Homer City facilities, respectively, resulting from higher average realized energy prices and increased generation, as well as an
increase of $39 million related to trading activities at Edison Mission Marketing & Trading.  During the first quarter of 2004, an
unplanned outage at EME's Homer City facilities contributed to lower generation.  The year-to-date increase was partially offset by
lower capacity revenue of approximately $80 million at EME's Illinois plants, as well as a decrease of $29 million (representing
revenue for the first quarter of 2005) due to the deconsolidation of EME's Doga project at March 31, 2004, in accordance with
accounting standards.

Nonutility power generation revenue is generally higher in the third quarter than revenue related to other quarters of the year. Due
to a higher demand for electricity resulting from warmer weather during the summer months, nonutility power generation revenue
generated from EME's Homer City facilities and the Illinois plants are generally higher during the third quarter of each year.

Operating Expenses

Fuel Expense

Fuel expense for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005 increased $207 million, as compared to the same period in 2004, mainly due
to the consolidation of SCE's variable interest entities in March 31, 2004.  Fuel expense related to SCE's variable interest entities
for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005 was $398 million, compared to $187 million for the comparable period in 2004.

Purchased-Power Expense

Purchased-power expense increased $216 million and $24 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004.  The quarter increase was mainly due to higher unrealized losses of
approximately $205 million related to economic hedging transactions resulting from increased hedging activities in 2005, as compared
to 2004, higher expenses of approximately $100 million (an approximate increase of $175 million for the year-to-date period)
resulting from an increase in the number of bilateral contracts in 2005, as compared to 2004, and higher expenses of approximately $30
million related to QFs purchases.  These increases were partially offset by approximately $130 million of energy settlement refunds
received in 2005 (see "SCE:  Regulatory Matters--Transmission and Distribution--Wholesale Electricity and Natural Gas Markets").  In
addition to the items discussed above, the year-to-date increase also resulted from an increase in exchanged energy of approximately
$50 million due to higher volumes and a true-up of exchanged energy.  The year-to-date variance was partially offset by higher
unrealized gains of approximately $150 million in the first quarter of 2005, as well as a decrease of $186 million reduction in
purchased-power resulting from the consolidation of SCE's variable interest entities on March 31, 2004.

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

Provisions for regulatory adjustment clauses - net increased $8 million and $75 million for the three- and six-month periods ended
June 30, 2005, respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004.  The quarter and year-to-date increases reflect a net effect of
approximately $180 million of regulatory adjustments related to the implementation of SCE's 2003 GRC decision recorded in the second
quarter of 2004 and lower costs incurred and deferred (approximately $50 million and $60 million for the three- and six-month periods
ended June 30, 2005, respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004) associated with the bark beetle infestation.  The 2003
GRC regulatory adjustments primarily related to recognition of revenue from the rate recovery of pension contributions during the
time period that the pension plan was fully funded, the resolution over the allocation of costs between transmission and distribution
for 1998 through 2000, partially offset by the deferral of revenue previously collected during the incremental cost incentive pricing
mechanism for dry cask storage.  These items which resulted in increases in the provision for regulatory adjustment clauses were
partially offset by net unrealized losses of $205 million and $55 million for the three- and six-month period ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, related to economic hedging transactions (mentioned above in purchased-power expense) that, if realized, would be
refunded to ratepayers and net undercollections of purchased-power, fuel, and O&M costs of approximately $70 million and $135 million
for the three- and six-months ended June 30, 2005, respectively, which were deferred in balancing accounts for future recovery.

Other Operation and Maintenance Expense

                                                          Three Months                  Six Months
                                                         Ended June 30,               Ended June 30,
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         In millions                                    2005         2004           2005         2004
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         SCE                                         $   569      $   577        $ 1,167      $ 1,154
         MEHC                                            225          200            414          390
         Other                                            21           19             43           37
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Edison International Consolidated           $   815      $   796        $ 1,624      $ 1,581
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCE's other operation and maintenance expense decreased slightly for the three-month period ended June 30, 2005, and increased
slightly for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005, as compared to the same periods in 2004.  The decrease was due to lower costs
of approximately $50 million incurred in 2005 compared to 2004 related to the removal of trees and vegetation associated with the
bark beetle infestation, almost entirely offset by higher benefit-related costs of approximately $10 million in 2005 compared to
2004, higher worker's compensation accruals of approximately $10 million in 2005 compared to 2004, and an increase of approximately
$10 million in demand side management and energy efficiency costs in 2005 as compared to 2004 (which are recovered through regulatory
mechanisms approved by the CPUC).  In addition to the above mentioned variance explanations, the year-to-date variance was also due
to the recognition of approximately $30 million in O&M expenses as a result of the consolidation of SCE's variable interest entities,
an increase in reliability costs of approximately $45 million due to an increase in must run units to improve the reliability of the
California ISO systems operations (which are recovered through regulatory mechanisms approved by the FERC), and a decrease of
approximately $55 million in generation-related expenses primarily related to lower outage and refueling costs in 2005, as compared
to 2004.  In 2004, there was a scheduled major overhaul at SCE's Four Corners coal facility, as well as a refueling outage at SCE's
San Onofre Unit 2.

MEHC's other operation and maintenance expense increased for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, as compared to the
same periods in 2004, mainly due to higher plant operation costs of approximately $10 million and $25 million for the three and six
months ended June 30, 2005, respectively, at MEHC's Illinois plants due to higher planned maintenance, and higher maintenance costs
of approximately $10 million for the three months ended June 30, 2005 at MEHC's Homer City facilities.  The year-to-date variance
also reflects a decrease of approximately $10 million in plant operating lease costs due to the termination of EME's Collins Station
lease in April 2004.

Asset Impairment and Loss on Lease Termination

Asset impairment and loss on lease termination in 2004 includes a $951 million loss on the termination of EME's Collins Station
lease.  MEHC concluded that the Collins Station was not economically competitive in the marketplace given generation overcapacity and
ceased operations effective September 30, 2004.

Other Income and Deductions

Interest and Dividend Income

                                                          Three Months                  Six Months
                                                         Ended June 30,               Ended June 30,
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         In millions                                    2005         2004           2005         2004
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         SCE                                         $     9      $     3         $   17       $    6
         MEHC                                             14            1             26            3
         Other                                             2            7              4           13
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Edison International Consolidated           $    25      $    11         $   47       $   22
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCE's interest and dividend income increased for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005, as compared to the same period in 2004,
mainly due to higher interest income on balancing account undercollections in 2005 compared to 2004.

MEHC's interest and dividend income increased for both the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, as compared to the same
periods in 2004, primarily due to higher interest income resulting from higher average cash balances during the first six months of
2005, compared to the corresponding period of 2004.

Equity in Income from Partnerships and Unconsolidated Subsidiaries - Net

Equity in income from partnerships and unconsolidated subsidiaries - net increased $14 million and $79 million for the three- and
six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004.  The increases are mainly due to
increased earnings of approximately $20 million and $93 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, from Edison Capital's global infrastructure funds (see "Edison Capital:  Current Developments"), partially offset by
the effects of accounting for variable interest entities consolidated upon adoption of a new accounting pronouncement in second
quarter 2004, resulting in a decrease of approximately $42 million and $66 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June
30, 2005, respectively, compared to $42 million for both the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2004.  As a result, SCE now
consolidates projects previously treated under the equity method by EME.

Third quarter equity in income from partnerships and unconsolidated subsidiaries - net from EME's energy projects is materially
higher than equity in income from partnerships and unconsolidated

subsidiaries - net related to other quarters of the year due to warmer weather during the summer months and because a number of EME's
energy projects located on the west coast have power sales contracts that provide for higher payments during the summer months.

Other Nonoperating Income

                                                          Three Months                  Six Months
                                                         Ended June 30,               Ended June 30,
         ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         In millions                                    2005         2004           2005         2004
         ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         SCE                                         $    18      $     9         $   35       $   40
         MEHC                                              2           --              2           47
         ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Edison International Consolidated           $    20      $     9         $   37       $   87
         ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCE's other nonoperating income for the three-month period ended June 30, 2005 includes a $7 million shareholder incentive related to
the Mirant settlement received in the second quarter of 2005 (see "SCE:  Regulatory Matters--Transmission and Distribution--Wholesale
Electricity and Natural Gas Markets").  The year-to-date 2005 amount also includes a $10 million reward for the efficient operation
of Palo Verde during 2003, which was approved by the CPUC in 2005.  SCE's other nonoperating income for the six-month period ended
June 30, 2004 includes $19 million in rewards for the efficient operation of Palo Verde during 2001 and 2002, which were approved by
the CPUC in 2004.

MEHC's other nonoperating income in 2004 primarily related to a pre-tax gain of $47 million on the sale of EME's interest in Four
Star Oil & Gas on January 7, 2004.

Interest Expense - Net of Amounts Capitalized

                                                          Three Months                  Six Months
                                                         Ended June 30,               Ended June 30,
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         In millions                                     2005         2004           2005          2004
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         SCE                                         $     96     $    101        $   198      $    204
         MEHC                                             101          115            204           214
         Other                                              7           36             15            71
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Edison International Consolidated           $    204     $    252        $   417      $    489
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MEHC's interest expense - net of amounts capitalized decreased for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005, as compared
to the same periods in 2004, mainly due to the repayment of MEHC (parent)'s $385 million term loan ($100 million of the term loan was
repaid in July 2004 and the remaining $285 million of the term loan was repaid in January 2005).  The year-to-date decrease was
partially offset by higher interest expense at EME's Illinois plants, primarily attributable to higher interest rates on fixed rate
debt issued in April 2004.

The decrease in interest expense - net of amounts capitalized related to Other for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30,
2005, as compared to the same periods in 2004, was mainly due to the elimination of Edison International (parent)'s debt.  Edison
International (parent) has had no debt outstanding since the fourth quarter of 2004.

Loss on Early Extinguishment of Debt

The loss on early extinguishment of debt in the six-month period ended June 30, 2005, consisted of a $20 million loss related to the
early repayment of MEHC (parent)'s $385 million term loan and a

$4 million loss related to the early repayment of EME's junior subordinated debentures during the first quarter of 2005.

Income Taxes

                                                          Three Months                  Six Months
                                                         Ended June 30,               Ended June 30,
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         In millions                                    2005          2004           2005          2004
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         SCE                                         $    59      $    155        $   124      $    223
         MEHC                                            (22)         (400)            (6)         (410)
         Other                                            (3)          (19)            20           (34)
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Edison International Consolidated           $    34      $   (264)       $   138      $   (221)
         -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Edison International's income tax expense increased $298 million and $359 million for the three- and six-month periods ended June 30,
2005, respectively, as compared to the same periods in 2004, primarily due to increases in pre-tax income.  The increases were
partially offset by reductions in accrued tax liabilities at SCE and MEHC in 2005 to reflect progress in settlement negotiations
related to prior-year tax liabilities, property-related flow-through items at SCE, and adjustments made to tax balances at SCE and
MEHC.

Edison International's composite federal and state statutory rate was approximately 40% for the three-and six-month periods ended
June 30, 2005.  The lower effective tax rate of 16% and 27% realized in the three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005,
respectively, was primarily due to reductions in tax liabilities at SCE and MEHC, property-related flow-through items at SCE, the
benefits received from low-income housing and production tax credits at Edison Capital, and adjustments to tax balances at SCE and
MEHC.

Minority Interest

Minority interest represents the effects of the adoption of a new accounting pronouncement in second quarter 2004 related to SCE's
variable interest entities.

Income from Discontinued Operations

Edison International's earnings from discontinued operations were $21 million in the second quarter of 2005, compared to $26 million
in the same period last year.  The 2005 earnings result primarily from dividends received from EME's Lakeland Power project.  The
2004 results include earnings from MEHC's international assets that have been sold.  Earnings from discontinued operations were
$28 million for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005, compared to $72 million for the same period last year.  The 2005 earnings
result primarily from dividends from EME's Lakeland Power project and gains on the sale of MEHC's CBK and Tri-Energy international
projects.  The 2004 results include earnings from MEHC's international assets held for sale.

Cumulative Effect of Accounting Change - Net of Tax

Edison International's results for the six-month period ended June 30, 2004, include a charge for the cumulative effect of a change
in accounting principle reflecting the impact of Edison Capital's implementation of an accounting standard that requires the
consolidation of certain variable interest entities.

Historical Cash Flow Analysis

The "Historical Cash Flow Analysis" section of this MD&A discusses consolidated cash flows from operating, financing and investing
activities.

Cash Flows from Operating Activities

Net cash provided (used) by operating activities:

         In millions           Six-Month Period Ended June 30,                    2005           2004
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Continuing operations                                                  $  812         $ (331)
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The 2005 change in cash provided by operating activities from continuing operations was mainly due to a $960 million lease
termination payment in 2004 related to EME's Collins Station lease.  In addition, the change in cash provided by operating activities
results from the timing of cash receipts and disbursements related to working capital items.

Cash Flows from Financing Activities

Net cash provided (used) by financing activities:

         In millions         Six-Month Period Ended June 30,                      2005           2004
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Continuing operations                                                $   (907)       $ 1,573
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cash (used) provided by financing activities from continuing operations mainly consisted of long-term and short-term debt payments at
SCE and EME.

Financing activities in the six-month period ended June 30, 2005, were mainly due to activities at SCE.  SCE's first quarter 2005
financing activity included the issuance of $650 million of first and refunding mortgage bonds.  The issuance included $400 million
of 5% bonds due in 2016 and $250 million of 5.55% bonds due in 2036.  The proceeds were used to redeem the remaining $50,000 of its
8% first and refunding mortgage bonds due February 2007 (Series 2003A) and $650 million of the $966 million 8% first and refunding
mortgage bonds due February 2007 (Series 2003B).  SCE's second quarter financing activity included the issuance of $350 million of
its 5.35% first and refunding mortgage bond due in 2035 (Series 2005E).  A portion of the proceeds was used to redeem $316 million of
its 8% first and refunding mortgage bonds due in 2007 (Series 2003B).  In addition, in April 2005, SCE issued 4,000,000 shares of
Series A preference stock (non-cumulative, $100 liquidation value) and received net proceeds of approximately $394 million.
Approximately $81 million of the proceeds was used to redeem all the outstanding shares of its $100 cumulative preferred stock, 7.23%
Series, and approximately $64 million of the proceeds was used to redeem all the outstanding shares of its $100 cumulative preferred
stock, 6.05% Series.  MEHC's first quarter financing activity included the repayment of the remaining $285 million of the term loan
and the repayment of the junior subordinated debentures of $150 million.  MEHC's second quarter activity included a $302 million
repayment in April 2005 related to Midwest Generation's existing term loan.  Financing activities in 2005 also include dividend
payments of $163 million paid by Edison International to its shareholders.

Financing activities in the six-month period ended June 30, 2004, were mainly due to activities at SCE.  SCE's first quarter 2004
financing activity included the issuance of $300 million of 5% bonds due in 2014, $525 million of 6% bonds due in 2034 and $150
million of floating rate bonds due in 2006.  The proceeds from these issuances were used to redeem $300 million of its 7.25% first
and refunding mortgage bonds due March 2026, $225 million of its 7.125% first and refunding mortgage bonds

due July 2025, $200 million of its 6.9% first and refunding mortgage bonds due October 2018, and $100 million of its junior
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

Cash Flows from Investing Activities

Net cash used by investing activities:

         In millions         Six-Month Period Ended June 30,                      2005           2004
         ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Continuing operations                                                $   (502)       $  (912)
         ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cash flows from investing activities are affected by capital expenditures, EME's sales of assets and SCE's funding of nuclear
decommissioning trusts.

Investing activities for the six-month period ended June 30, 2005, reflect $774 million in capital expenditures at SCE, primarily for
transmission and distribution assets, including approximately $21 million for nuclear fuel acquisitions, and $35 million in capital
expenditures at EME.  In addition, investing activities include $140 million in net sales of auction rate securities at EME and
$124 million in proceeds received in 2005 from the sale of EME's 25% investment in the Tri Energy project and EME's 50% investment in
the CBK project.

Investing activities for the six-month period ended June 30, 2004 reflect, $718 million in capital expenditures at SCE, primarily for
transmission and distribution assets, including approximately $31 million for nuclear fuel acquisitions, and $31 million in capital
expenditures at EME.  In addition, investing activities include $285 million of acquisition costs related to the Mountainview project
as SCE, and $118 million in proceeds received from the sale of 100% of EME's stock of Edison Mission Energy Oil & Gas and the sale of
EME's interest in the Brooklyn Navy Yard project.

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
(pound)20 million (approximately $37 million) to EME on April 7, 2005 comprised of(pound)7 million (approximately $13 million) for a secured loan
which EME purchased from Lakeland Power Ltd.'s secured creditors in 2004 and certain unsecured receivables from Lakeland Power Ltd.,
and (pound)13 million (approximately $24 million) as a distribution to the EME subsidiary that owns the equity interest in Lakeland Power
Ltd.  This distribution was recognized in income during the quarter ended June 30, 2005.  Additionally, Lakeland Power Ltd. will pay
to EME's subsidiary that owns the equity interest in Lakeland Power Ltd. the amount remaining after resolution of any remaining
secured and unsecured creditor claims and payment of or provision for tax liabilities and the fees and expenses associated with
Lakeland Power Ltd.'s liquidation.

EME estimates that the remaining net proceeds after tax (including taxes due in the United States) and net income resulting from the
above payments will be approximately $64 million.  These remaining proceeds are expected to be received in late 2005 or in 2006, as
Lakeland Power Ltd.'s liquidation progresses.  Because the amounts required to settle outstanding claims and UK taxes have not been
finalized and cannot be estimated precisely in the context of the liquidation, the actual amount of net proceeds and increase in net
income may vary materially from the above estimate.

For all periods presented, the results of EME's international projects discussed above have been accounted for as discontinued
operations in the consolidated financial statements in accordance with an accounting standard related to the impairment and disposal
of long-lived assets.

For the three months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004, revenue from discontinued operations was zero and $354 million, respectively, and
pre-tax income was $22 million and $53 million, respectively.  For the six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004, revenue from
discontinued operations was zero and $748 million, respectively, and pre-tax income was $22 million and $123 million, respectively.

NEW AND PROPOSED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES

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
method.  The difference in expense between the two accounting methods is an increase of $2 million and $5 million in expense for the
three- and six-month periods ended June 30, 2005.

The American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 included a tax deduction on qualified production activities income (including income from the
sale of electricity).  In December 2004, the FASB issued guidance that this deduction should be accounted for as a special deduction,
rather than a tax rate reduction.  Accordingly, the special deduction is recorded in the year it is earned.  The tax deduction is not
expected to materially affect Edison International's 2005 financial statements.  Edison International is evaluating the effect that
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
Net income (loss) available for common stock was $200 million and $(374) million for the three months ended June 30, 2005, and 2004,
respectively, and was $400 million and $(276) million for the six months ended June 30, 2005, and 2004, respectively.  In arriving at
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
consolidated entities.

On July 14, 2005, the FASB issued an exposure draft on accounting for uncertain tax positions.  An enterprise would recognize, in its
financial statements, the benefit of a tax position only if that position is probable of being sustained on audit based solely on the
technical merits of the position.  The comment period for the exposure draft ends on September 12, 2005; the earliest the guidance
would be implemented would be December 31, 2005.  Edison International is evaluating the potential impact of the proposal on its
financial statements.

On July 14, 2005, the FASB issued an exposure draft on accounting for a change or projected change in the timing of cash flows
relating to income taxes generated by a leveraged lease transaction.  The proposed accounting guidance would require a lessor to
perform a recalculation of a leveraged lease

when there is a change in the timing of the realization of tax benefits generated by that lease.  It would also require a lessor to
reevaluate the lease's classification as a leveraged lease when a recalculation of the lease is performed.  The comment period for
the exposure draft ends on September 12, 2005; the earliest the guidance would be implemented would be December 31, 2005.  Edison
International is evaluating the potential impact of the proposal on its financial statements.

COMMITMENTS, GUARANTEES AND INDEMNITIES

The following is an update to Edison International's commitments, guarantees and indemnities.  See the "Commitments, Guarantees and
Indemnities" section of the year-ended 2004 MD&A for a detailed discussion.

Fuel Supply Contracts

Midwest Generation and EME Homer City have entered into additional fuel purchase commitments with various third-party suppliers
during the first six months of 2005. These additional commitments are currently estimated to be $25 million for 2005, $61 million for
2006, $108 million for 2007, $34 million for 2008, and $53 million for 2009.

Beginning in 2004, EME Homer City experienced interruptions of supply under two agreements with Unionvale Coal Company and Genesis,
Inc. Unionvale and Genesis claimed that alleged geologic conditions at the Genesis No. 17 Mine in Pennsylvania, which is one source
of coal under these multi-source coal contracts, constituted force majeure and excused contract performance. These two agreements
together provide for the delivery to EME Homer City of approximately 20% of EME Homer City's clean coal requirements in 2005 and
2006, and approximately 10% in 2007.

On December 21, 2004, Unionvale and Genesis gave notice of termination of one of the agreements, which was scheduled to run through
December 2007, under a provision that they claim allows either party to the agreement to terminate if an event of force majeure lasts
30 days or more. Unionvale and Genesis allege that the geologic problems encountered at the Genesis No. 17 Mine have continued beyond
a 30-day period and excuse their obligation to deliver coal under the agreement. The parties' second agreement with a term through
December 2006 does not contain the same termination provision, and the suppliers have sought contract modifications to the term,
quantity, quality and price provisions of this agreement. On April 26, 2005, Unionvale and Genesis informed EME Homer City that the
Genesis No. 17 Mine had been shut down and that no delivery of coal from that mine would be made under either agreement.

EME Homer City disputes the force majeure claim and the suppliers' reliance upon this claim to excuse their performance under the
multi-source coal agreements. EME Homer City has filed suit against Unionvale and Genesis in Pennsylvania state court seeking, among
other things, equitable relief by way of an order requiring the defendants to fulfill their contractual obligations and other
monetary relief. The parties have reached an agreement in principle to settle the dispute and are continuing settlement negotiations.
Contracts have been awarded to alternate suppliers, and inventory strategies adjusted, to reflect and offset the delivery shortfall
for 2005.

During the second quarter of 2005, SCE amended one of its coal fuel contracts which reduced the term of the contract.  As a result of
this modification, the fuel supply contract payments for the thereafter period decreased by $152 million.

Gas and Coal Transportation

Midwest Generation has entered into additional coal transportation commitments during the first six months of 2005.  Based on the
committed coal volumes in the fuel supply contracts mentioned above,

these additional commitments are currently estimated to be $32 million for 2005, $50 million for 2006, $109 million for 2007,
$37 million for 2008, and $74 million for 2009.

Power-Purchase Contracts

During the first quarter of 2005, SCE entered into additional power call option contracts.  SCE's revised purchased-power capacity
payment commitments under these contracts are currently estimated to be $32 million for 2005, $95 million for 2006, $101 million for
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

Edison International's recorded estimated minimum liability to remediate its 28 identified sites at SCE (22 sites) and EME (6 sites
related to Midwest Generation) is $86 million, $84 million of which is related to SCE.  Edison International's other subsidiaries
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
its recorded liability by up to $113 million, all of which is related to SCE.  The upper limit of this range of

costs was estimated using assumptions least favorable to Edison International among a range of reasonably possible outcomes.  In
addition to its identified sites (sites in which the upper end of the range of costs is at least $1 million), SCE also has
33 immaterial sites whose total liability ranges from $4 million (the recorded minimum liability) to $10 million.

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
recover costs incurred at its remaining sites through customer rates.  SCE has recorded a regulatory asset of $57 million for its
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
years.  This settlement, which was signed by Edison International in March 2005 and approved by the United States Congress Joint
Committee on Taxation on July 27, 2005, will result in a third quarter 2005 net earnings benefit for Edison International of
approximately $56 million, most of which relates to SCE.

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

EDISON INTERNATIONAL

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

PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.    Legal Proceedings

There were no significant developments with respect to litigation of Edison International or its subsidiaries that may be material to
Edison International during the quarterly period ended June 30, 2005.  See Note 4, "Contingencies - Navajo Nation Litigation" of
Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements for minor updates on litigation involving SCE and the Navajo Nation which was previously
reported in Part I, Item 3 of Edison International's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2004, and in Part II,
Item 1 of Edison International's Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the period ending March 31, 2005.

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
                              (or Units)          Price Paid per          Plans or         Under the Plans or
          Period             Purchased(1)       Share (or Unit)(1)       Programs              Programs
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
April 1, 2005 to                1,365,212           $35.69                  --                    --
April 30, 2005

May 1 to                        2,487,648           $36.66                  --                    --
May 31, 2005

June 1, 2005 to                 2,028,639           $38.93                  --                    --
June 30, 2005
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total                           5,881,499           $37.22                  --                    --
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------
(1)  The shares were purchased by agents acting on Edison International's behalf for delivery to plan participants to fulfill
     requirements in connection with Edison International's (i) 401(k) Savings Plan, (ii) Dividend Reinvestment and Direct Stock
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

At Edison International's Annual Meeting of Shareholders on May 19, 2005, two matters were put to a vote of the shareholders:  the
election of ten directors, and a shareholder proposal on "Future Golden Parachutes."

Shareholders elected ten nominees to the Board of Directors.  The number of broker non-votes for each nominee was zero.  The numbers
of votes cast for and withheld from each Director-nominee were as follows:

                                                          Numbers of Votes
     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Name                                           For                       Withheld
     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     John E. Bryson                              275,203,301                 9,749,519
     France A. Cordova                           281,025,664                 3,927,156
     Bradford M. Freeman                         273,336,533                11,616,287
     Bruce Karatz                                276,415,431                 8,537,389
     Luis G. Nogales                             279,308,159                 5,644,661
     Ronald L. Olson                             267,758,773                17,194,047
     James M. Rosser                             274,212,351                10,740,469
     Richard T. Schlosberg, III                  274,942,487                10,010,333
     Robert H. Smith                             274,824,271                10,128,549
     Thomas C. Sutton                            268,929,361                16,023,459
     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The shareholder proposal on "Future Golden Parachutes," which received the affirmative vote of a majority of the votes cast, was
adopted.  The proposal received the following numbers of votes:

            For              Against         Abstentions      Broker Non-Votes
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
        139,589,433        99,030,265         4,264,144          42,068,978
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------

Item 6.    Exhibits

           Edison International

           10.1     2005 Performance Goals for the Edison International Executive Incentive Compensation Plan, as adopted May 19,
                    2005 (File No. 1-9936, attached as Exhibit 99.1 to Edison International Form 8-K dated May 25, 2005)*

           10.2     Edison International Director Compensation Schedule, as adopted May 19, 2005 (File No. 1-9936, attached as
                    Exhibit 99.2 to Edison International Form 8-K dated May 25, 2005)*

           10.3     Edison International Director Nonqualified Stock Options 2005 Terms and Conditions (File No. 1-9936, attached as
                    Exhibit 99.3 to Edison International Form 8-K dated May 25, 2005)*

           10.4     First Amendment, dated as of May 20, 2005, to Credit Agreement, dated as of February 1, 2005, among Edison
                    International and JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., as Administrative Agent, Citicorp North America, Inc., as
                    Syndication Agent, and Credit Suisse First Boston, Lehman Commercial Paper Inc., and Union Bank of California,
                    N.A., as Documentation Agents (File No. 1-9936, attached as Exhibit 10.1 to Edison International Form 8-K dated
                    June 8, 2005)*

           10.5     Form of Indemnity Agreement between Edison International and its Directors and any officer, employee or other
                    agent designated by the Board of Directors

           31.1     Certification of the Chief Executive Officer pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act

           31.2     Certification of the Chief Financial Officer pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act

           32       Statement Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350

-----------------
*Incorporated herein by reference pursuant to Rule 12b-32.

                                     SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its
behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

                                        EDISON INTERNATIONAL
                                                 (Registrant)

                                        By       /s/ LINDA G. SULLIVAN
                                                 -----------------------------
                                                 LINDA G. SULLIVAN
                                                 Vice President and Controller
                                                 (Duly Authorized Officer and
                                                 Principal Accounting Officer)

Dated:  August 8, 2005