EXHIBIT 1.3


      THIS SECURITY IS A BOOK-ENTRY GLOBAL SECURITY WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE INDENTURE HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AND IS REGISTERED IN THE NAME OF A DEPOSITORY OR A NOMINEE OF A DEPOSITORY. THIS SECURITY IS EXCHANGEABLE FOR SECURITIES REGISTERED IN THE NAME OF A PERSON OTHER THAN THE DEPOSITORY OR ITS NOMINEE ONLY IN THE LIMITED CIRCUMSTANCES DESCRIBED BELOW, AND NO TRANSFER OF THIS SECURITY (OTHER THAN A TRANSFER OF THIS SECURITY AS A WHOLE BY THE DEPOSITORY TO A NOMINEE OF THE DEPOSITORY OR BY A NOMINEE OF THE DEPOSITORY TO THE DEPOSITORY OR ANOTHER NOMINEE OF THE DEPOSITORY OR BY THE DEPOSITORY OR ANY SUCH NOMINEE OF THE DEPOSITORY TO A SUCCESSOR DEPOSITORY OR A NOMINEE OF SUCH SUCCESSOR DEPOSITORY) MAY BE REGISTERED EXCEPT IN SUCH LIMITED CIRCUMSTANCES.

      UNLESS THIS CERTIFICATE IS PRESENTED BY AN AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OF THE DEPOSITORY TRUST COMPANY, A NEW YORK CORPORATION ("DTC"), TO THE COMPANY OR ITS AGENT FOR REGISTRATION OF TRANSFER, EXCHANGE, OR PAYMENT, AND ANY CERTIFICATE ISSUED IS REGISTERED IN THE NAME OF CEDE & CO. OR IN SUCH OTHER NAME AS IS REQUESTED BY AN AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OF DTC (AND ANY PAYMENT IS MADE TO CEDE & CO. OR TO SUCH OTHER ENTITY AS IS REQUESTED BY AN AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OF DTC), ANY TRANSFER, PLEDGE, OR OTHER USE HEREOF FOR VALUE OR OTHERWISE BY OR TO ANY PERSON IS WRONGFUL INASMUCH AS THE REGISTERED OWNER HEREOF, CEDE & CO., HAS AN INTEREST HEREIN.


                   ENRON OIL & GAS COMPANY

              6.70% Notes due November 15, 2006

No. BE-1  CUSIP No. 293562AA2

      ENRON OIL & GAS COMPANY, a corporation duly organized and existing under the laws of Delaware (herein called the "Company", which term includes any successor Person under the Indenture hereinafter referred to), for value received, hereby promises to pay to Cede & Co., or registered assigns, the principal sum of ONE HUNDRED FIFTY MILLION DOLLARS ($150,000,000) on November 15, 2006, and to pay interest thereon from November 18, 1996 or from the most recent Interest Payment Date to which interest has been paid or duly provided for, semiannually in arrears on May 15 and
November 15 in each year, commencing May 15, 1997, at the rate of 6.70% per annum, until the principal hereof is paid or made available for payment. The interest so payable, and punctually paid or duly provided for, on any Interest Payment Date will, as provided in such Indenture, be paid to the Person in whose name this Security (or one or more Predecessor Securities) is registered at the close of business on the Regular Record Date for such interest, which shall be the May 1 or November 1 (whether or not a Business
Day), as the case may be, next preceding such Interest Payment Date. Any such interest not so punctually paid or duly provided for will forthwith cease to be payable to the Holder on such Regular Record Date and may either be paid to the Person in whose name this Security (or one or more Predecessor Securities) is registered at the close of business on a Special Record Date for the payment of such Defaulted Interest to be fixed by the Trustee, notice whereof shall be given to Holders of Securities of this series not less than 10 days prior to such Special Record Date, or be paid at any time in any other lawful manner not inconsistent with the requirements of any securities exchange on which the Securities of this series may be listed, and upon such notice as may be required by such exchange, all as more fully provided in said Indenture.

      Payment of the principal of (and premium, if any) and interest on this Security will be made at the office or agency of the Company maintained for that purpose pursuant to the Indenture hereinafter referred to in Dallas, Texas, in such immediately available funds of the United States of America as at the time of payment are legal tender for payment of public and private debts.

      Reference is hereby made to the further provisions  of
this  Security  set  forth below, which  further  provisions
shall  for all purposes have the same effect as if set forth
in this place.

      Unless the certificate of authentication hereon has been executed by the Trustee referred to below by manual signature of an authorized officer, this Security shall not be entitled to any benefit under the Indenture or be valid or obligatory for any purpose.

      IN  WITNESS  WHEREOF,  the  Company  has  caused  this
instrument to be duly executed under its corporate seal.

Dated: November 18, 1996

                                   ENRON OIL & GAS COMPANY


                                   By:
                                        Title:


ATTEST:



     Secretary

           TRUSTEE'S CERTIFICATE OF AUTHENTICATION


      This is one of the Securities of the series designated
therein referred to in the within-mentioned Indenture.

                           TEXAS COMMERCE BANK NATIONAL ASSOCIATION,
                           as Trustee


                           By
                                  Authorized Signatory

      This Security is one of a duly authorized issue of securities of the Company (herein called the "Securities"), issued and to be issued in one or more series under an Indenture, dated as of September 1, 1991 (herein called the "Indenture"), between the Company and Texas Commerce Bank National Association, as Trustee (herein called the "Trustee", which term includes any successor trustee under the Indenture), to which Indenture and all indentures supplemental thereto reference is hereby made for a statement of the respective rights, limitation of rights, duties and immunities thereunder of the Company, the Trustee and the Holders of the Securities and of the terms upon which the Securities are, and are to be, authenticated and delivered. This Security is a Book-Entry Security representing the entire principal amount of the series designated on the face hereof, limited in aggregate principal amount to $150,000,000.

     The Securities of this series shall not be subject to a
sinking fund requirement.

     The Indenture contains provisions for defeasance at any time of the entire indebtedness of the Company on this Security upon compliance by the Company with certain conditions set forth therein, which provisions apply to this Security.

      If an Event of Default with respect to the Securities of this series shall occur and be continuing, the unpaid principal of the Securities of this series may be declared due and payable in the manner and with the effect provided in the Indenture.

      The Indenture permits, with certain exceptions as therein provided, the amendment thereof and the modification of the rights and obligations of the Company and the rights of the Holders of the Securities of each series to be affected under the Indenture at any time by the Company and the Trustee with the consent of the Holders of more than 50% in principal amount of the Securities at the time Outstanding of each series to be affected. The Indenture also contains provisions permitting the Holders of specified percentages in principal amount of the Securities of each series at the time Outstanding, on behalf of the Holders of all the Securities of such series, to waive compliance by the Company with certain provisions of the Indenture and certain past defaults under the Indenture and their consequences. Any such consent or waiver by the Holder of this Security shall be conclusive and binding upon such Holder and upon all future Holders of this Security and of any Security issued upon the registration of transfer hereof or in exchange hereof or in lieu hereof, whether or not notation of such consent or waiver is made upon this Security.

      As set forth in, and subject to, the provisions of the Indenture, no Holder of any Security of this series shall have any right to institute any proceeding with respect to the Indenture or for any remedy thereunder, unless such Holder shall have previously given to the Trustee written notice of a continuing Event of Default with respect to the Securities of this series, the Holders of not less than 25% in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of this series shall have made written request, and offered reasonable indemnity, to the Trustee to institute such
proceeding as trustee, and the Trustee shall not have received from the Holders of a majority in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of this series a direction inconsistent with such request, and the Trustee shall have failed to institute such proceeding within 60 days; provided, however, that such limitations shall not apply to a suit instituted by the Holder hereof for the enforcement of payment of the principal of (or premium, if any) or interest on this Security on or after the respective due dates expressed herein.

      No reference herein to the Indenture and no provision of this Security or of the Indenture shall, without the consent of the Holder, alter or impair the right of the Holders, which is absolute and unconditional, to receive payment of the principal of (and premium, if any) and interest on this Security at the times, place and rate, and in the coin or currency, herein prescribed, except for
Section 113 of the Indenture (which limits interest to the maximum amount permissible by law), the provisions of which are incorporated herein by reference.

      This Security shall be exchangeable for Securities of this series registered in the names of Persons other than the Depository with respect to such series or its nominee only as provided in this paragraph. This Security shall be so exchangeable if (x) such Depository notifies the Company that it is unwilling or unable to continue as Depository for this Security or if at any time such Depository ceases to be a clearing agency registered as such under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, (y) the Company executes and delivers to the Trustee a written order providing that this Security shall be so exchangeable or (z) there shall have occurred and be continuing an Event of Default with respect to the Securities of this series. Securities so issued in exchange for this Security shall be of the same series and of like tenor, in authorized denominations and in the aggregate having the same unpaid principal amount as this Security and registered in such names as such Depository shall direct.

      As provided in the Indenture and subject to certain limitations therein set forth, the transfer of this Security is registrable in the Security Register, upon surrender of this Security for registration of transfer at the office or agency of the Company in any place where the principal of (and premium, if any) and interest on this Security are payable, duly endorsed by, or accompanied by a written instrument of transfer in form satisfactory to the Company and the Security Registrar duly executed by, the Holder hereof or its attorney duly authorized in writing, and thereupon one or more new Securities of this series, and of like tenor, of authorized denominations and for the same aggregate unpaid principal amount, shall be issued to the designated transferee or transferees.

      No  service charge shall be made for any such exchange
or  registration  of transfer, but the Company  may  require
payment  of  a  sum  sufficient to cover any  tax  or  other
governmental charge payable in connection therewith.

       Prior to due presentment of this Security for registration of transfer, the Company, the Trustee and any agent of the Company or the Trustee may treat the Person in whose name this Security is registered as the owner hereof for all purposes, whether or not this Security be overdue, and neither the Company, the Trustee nor any such agent shall be affected by notice to the contrary.

       Pursuant to a recommendation promulgated by the Committee on Uniform Security Identification Procedures, the Company has caused a CUSIP number to be printed on this Security as a convenience to the Holder hereof. No representation is made as to the accuracy of such number and reliance may be placed only on the other identifying information printed hereon.

      All  terms used in this Security which are defined  in
the  Indenture shall have the meanings assigned to  them  in
the Indenture.

                       ASSIGNMENT FORM


I or we assign and transfer this Security to




(Print or type name, address and zip code of assignee or
transferee)



(Insert Social Security or other identifying number of
assignee or transferee)

and irrevocably appoint
as agent to transfer this Security on the books of the
Company.  The agent may substitute another to act for him.


Dated:                       Signed:
                                    (Sign exactly as name appears above or on
                                    the other side of this Security)



Signature Guarantee:
               Participant in a recognized Signature Guarantee
               Medallion Program (or other signature guarantor
               program reasonably acceptable to the Trustee)