Source: Omagine, Inc.
Omagine, Inc. Submits Final Draft of Development Agreement
for Oman Government Approval
Shareholder Update: Draft Development Agreement Completed;
Discussions with Middle East Investors and Banks; Contract
with J&P Amended and Extended
NEW YORK, July 25, 2007 (PRIME NEWSWIRE) -- Omagine, Inc.
(OTCBB:OMAG) ("Omagine" or the "Company") today announced
significant progress toward the imminent attainment of its
primary strategic objective.
Omagine's president, Frank J. Drohan, remarked, "The draft
Development Agreement for the Omagine Project (the "Final
Draft") was completed and presented to the Ministry of
Tourism (MOT) on July 5, 2007 and the MOT has officially
circulated it among other appropriate concerned ministries
for final review and comment. The highly unusual occurrence
in June of a cyclone and holiday closings in July caused
some delays but we now fully expect to sign the Development
Agreement in August."
Drohan continued, "Both we and the government are pleased
with the Final Draft. We are presently forming and
organizing Omagine LLC -- the local project company in Oman
-- which will be jointly owned by our subsidiary and J&P.
During the past sixty (60) days we have held numerous
meetings and discussions with potential investors and
leading banks in the region and there is a very high degree
of interest on their part to participate in the Omagine
Project."
In June the Company's subsidiary Journey of Light, Inc.
("JOL") signed an updated and amended agreement ("Amended
Agreement") with Joannou & Paraskevaides (Overseas) Ltd.
("J&P"). The Amended Agreement extends the original J&P-JOL
agreement and firmly aligns the interests of the Company
and J&P relating to the financial closing, construction,
ownership and operation of the Omagine Project. The
validity date of the Amended Agreement was also extended to
reflect both the execution of the Development Agreement in
the next few weeks and the subsequent financial closing for
the Omagine Project.
Drohan commented, "The Company's relationship with J&P has
been further strengthened as we collectively work to
organize Omagine LLC, update the Project's financial model
and arrange the financial closing for the Omagine Project.
As previously planned, J&P will be a significant investor
and will receive a minority equity stake in Omagine LLC.
About the Company's Omagine Project
The Company's planned Omagine Project is an integration of
cultural, heritage, educational, entertainment and
residential components. As presently planned, Omagine will
be located on 1.2 million square meters of beachfront land
facing the Gulf of Oman just west Muscat -- the capital
city of the Sultanate of Oman and near Oman's International
Airport. Omagine LLC (under formation) -- the local Omani
project company expects to sign the Development Agreement
with the Government in August 2007.
The Omagine project also includes the construction and sale
of approximately 3,900 residential housing units including
luxury villas, townhouses and apartments. The project is
expected to take between 4 to 5 years to complete and
generate in excess of $2.2 billion dollars in revenue. As
contemplated in the Final Draft, the proposed area of
development for the Omagine Project is 1.2 million square
meters including reclaimed land - approximately 296 acres.
For further details on Omagine visit: www.omagine.com.
About Omagine, Inc.
Omagine, Inc. is primarily involved in the real-estate
development, entertainment and hospitality industries in
the Middle East and North Africa.
Investors are encouraged to visit Omagine's Investor
Relations Hub at: http://www.agoracom.com/IR/Omagine or
contact OMAG@agoracom.com where they may join the investor
e-mail list and/or request receipt of all future press
releases and updates in real time.
This press release contains forward-looking statements
within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation
Reform Act of 1995. The risks and uncertainties that may
affect the operations, performance development and results
of Omagine's business include but are not limited to:
failure to sign the development agreement with the
Government of Oman; the availability of financing for the
Omagine Project; fluctuations in financial results,
availability and customer acceptance of the Company's
products and services, the impact of competitive products,
services and pricing, general market trends and conditions,
and other risks detailed in Omagine's SEC reports.
CONTACT: Omagine, Inc.
         Corporate Inquiries
         Frank J. Drohan, President and CEO
         (212) 563-4141

         Investor Relations
         AGORACOM Investor Relations
         http://www.agoracom.com/ir/omagine
         OMAG@Agoracom.com