EXHIBIT 99.1

Amphenol                        News Release

World Headquarters

358 Hall Avenue

P. O. Box 5030

Wallingford, CT 06492-7530

Telephone (203) 265-8900

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For Further Information:
Diana G. Reardon
Senior Vice President and
Chief Financial Officer
203/265-8630
www.amphenol.com

AMPHENOL ANNOUNCES

FIRST QUARTER 2006 DIVIDEND PAYMENT

Wallingford, Connecticut.  January 27, 2006.  Amphenol Corporation (NYSE-APH) announced today its continuing quarterly dividend on its Common Stock in the amount of $.03 per share.  The Company will pay its first quarterly dividend for 2006 on or about April 5, 2006 to shareholders of record as of March 15, 2006.

Amphenol Corporation is one of the world’s leading producers of electronic and fiber optic connectors, cable and interconnect systems.  Amphenol products are engineered and manufactured in the Americas, Europe and Asia and sold by a worldwide sales and marketing organization.  The primary end markets for the Company’s products are communication systems for the converging technologies of voice, video and data communications, industrial/automotive and military/aerospace applications.