TCC EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND (CIK 820083)
Form 10-Q
period 2001-06-30
filed 2001-08-10

TEXTAINER FINANCIAL SERVICES CORPORATION
                        650 California Street, 16th Floor
                             San Francisco, CA 94108


August 10, 2001


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

Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the
Quarter Ended June 30, 2001

Table of Contents
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                                                      Page


Item 1.   Financial Statements

          Balance Sheets - June 30, 2001
          and December 31, 2000 (unaudited)........................................................     3



          Statements of Earnings for the three and six months
          ended June 30, 2001 and 2000 (unaudited).................................................     4



          Statements of Partners' Capital for the six months
          ended June 30, 2001 and 2000 (unaudited).................................................     5



          Statements of Cash Flows for the six months
          ended June 30, 2001 and 2000 (unaudited).................................................     6



          Notes to Financial Statements (unaudited)................................................     8



Item 2.   Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
          and Results of Operations................................................................    13



TCC EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND
(a California Limited Partnership)

Balance Sheets

June 30, 2001 and December 31, 2000
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                              2001              2000
                                                                         -------------      ------------

Assets
Container rental equipment, net of accumulated
   depreciation of  $7,403, (2000:  $7,677) (note 4)                     $      8,112       $     8,897
Cash                                                                              652               713
Net investment in direct finance leases (note 3)                                   34                37
Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful
   accounts of $59, (2000:  $103)                                                 417               518
Due from affiliates, net (note 2)                                                  87               126
Prepaid expenses                                                                    1                 3
                                                                         -------------      ------------

                                                                         $      9,303       $    10,294
                                                                         =============      ============

Liabilities and Partners' Capital
Liabilities:
   Accounts payable                                                      $        139       $       139
   Accrued liabilities                                                             28                57
   Accrued recovery costs                                                          41                38
   Accrued damage protection plan costs                                            48                64
   Warranty claims                                                                  -                 5
                                                                         -------------      ------------

       Total liabilities                                                          256               303
                                                                         -------------      ------------
Partners' capital:
   General partners                                                                 -                 -
   Limited partners                                                             9,047             9,991
                                                                         -------------      ------------

       Total partners' capital                                                  9,047             9,991
                                                                         -------------      ------------


                                                                         $      9,303       $    10,294
                                                                         =============      ============


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

                                                             Three months      Three months          Six months        Six months
                                                                Ended             Ended                Ended              Ended
                                                            June 30, 2001      June 30, 2000       June 30, 2001      June 30, 2000
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------
Rental income                                               $         537     $         738       $       1,144      $        1,510
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------

Costs and expenses:
   Direct container expenses                                          185               118                 361                 250
   Bad debt benefit                                                   (14)              (20)                (16)                (13)
   Depreciation (note 4)                                              234               276                 469                 546
   Professional fees                                                    9                21                  18                  37
   Management fees to affiliates (note 2)                              57                83                  (8)                166
   General and administrative costs to affiliates (note 2)             27                36                  57                  72
   Other general and administrative costs                              11                13                  22                  24
   Loss (gain) on sale of containers (note 4)                           9               (76)                 10                 (64)
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------

                                                                      518               451                 913               1,018
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------

   Income from operations                                              19               287                 231                 492
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------

Interest income                                                         5                11                  12                  20
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------


   Net earnings                                             $          24     $         298       $         243      $          512
                                                            ==============    ==============      ==============     ===============

Allocation of net earnings (note 2):
   General partners                                         $           7     $          10       $          16      $           20
   Limited partners                                                    17               288                 227                 492
                                                            --------------    --------------      --------------     ---------------

                                                            $          24     $         298       $         243      $          512
                                                            ==============    ==============      ==============     ===============
Limited partners' per unit share
   of net earnings                                          $        0.01     $        0.20       $        0.16      $         0.34
                                                            ==============    ==============      ==============     ===============

Limited partners' per unit share
   of distributions                                         $        0.32     $        0.50       $        0.80      $         1.00
                                                            ==============    ==============      ==============     ===============

Weighted average number of limited
   partnership units outstanding                                1,454,813         1,467,029           1,454,813           1,467,029
                                                            ==============    ==============      ==============     ===============



See accompanying notes to financial statements


TCC EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements of Partners' Capital

For the six months ended June 30, 2001 and 2000
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                         Partners' Capital
                                                        ---------------------------------------------------

                                                           General            Limited             Total
                                                        -------------      -------------       ------------

Balances at January 1, 2000                             $          -       $     12,077        $    12,077

Distributions                                                    (20)            (1,467)            (1,487)

Net earnings                                                      20                492                512
                                                        -------------      -------------       ------------

Balances at June 30, 2000                               $          -       $     11,102        $    11,102
                                                        =============      =============       ============

Balances at January 1, 2001                             $          -       $      9,991        $     9,991

Distributions                                                    (16)            (1,164)            (1,180)

Redemptions (note 5)                                               -                 (7)                (7)

Net earnings                                                      16                227                243
                                                        -------------      -------------       ------------

Balances at June 30, 2001                               $          -       $      9,047        $     9,047
                                                        =============      =============       ============




See accompanying notes to financial statements


TCC EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements of Cash Flows

For the six months ended June 30, 2001 and 2000
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                                       2001               2000
                                                                                   ------------      -------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
     Net earnings                                                                  $       243       $        512
     Adjustments to reconcile net earnings to
       net cash provided by operating activities:
        Depreciation (note 4)                                                              469                546
        Decrease in allowance for doubtful accounts                                        (44)               (13)
        Loss (gain) on sale of containers                                                   10                (64)
        (Increase) decrease in assets:
           Net investment in direct finance leases                                           8                 10
           Accounts receivable                                                             145                 92
           Due from affiliates, net                                                         48                 16
           Prepaid expenses                                                                  2                  4
        Increase (decrease) in liabilities:
           Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                        (29)               (11)
           Accrued recovery costs                                                            3                  3
           Damage protection plan costs                                                    (16)                (3)
           Warranty claims                                                                  (5)               (32)
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

                Net cash provided by operating activities                                  834              1,060
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

Cash flows from investing activities:
     Proceeds from sale of containers                                                      293                447
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

                Net cash provided by investing activities                                  293                447
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

Cash flows from financing activities:
     Redemptions of limited partnership units                                               (7)                 -
     Distributions to partners                                                          (1,181)            (1,487)
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

                Net cash used in financing activities                                   (1,188)            (1,487)
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

Net (decrease) increase in cash                                                            (61)                20

Cash at beginning of period                                                                713                862
                                                                                   ------------      -------------

Cash at end of period                                                              $       652       $        882
                                                                                   ============      =============



See accompanying notes to financial statements



TCC EQUIPMENT INCOME FUND
(a California Limited Partnership)

Statements Of Cash Flows--Continued

For the six months ended June 30, 2001 and 2000
(Amounts in thousands)
(unaudited)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Supplemental Disclosures:

Supplemental schedule of non-cash investing and financing activities:

The following  table  summarizes  the amounts of  distributions  to partners and
proceeds from sale of containers  which had not been paid or received as of June
30, 2001 and 2000,  and December 31, 2000 and 1999,  resulting in differences in
amounts  recorded and amounts of cash disbursed or received by the  Partnership,
as shown in the  Statements of Cash Flows for the  six-month  periods ended June
30, 2001 and 2000.

                                                               June 30        Dec. 31        June 30         Dec. 31
                                                                2001           2000           2000            1999
                                                             -----------    -----------    -----------     ----------
Distributions to partners included in:
     Due to affiliates..............................             $ 2            $ 3            $  3           $  3


Proceeds from sale of containers included in:
     Due from affiliates............................              92             84             121            150

The following  table  summarizes  the amounts of  distributions  to partners and
proceeds from sale of  containers  recorded by the  Partnership  and the amounts
paid or  received  as shown in the  Statements  of Cash Flows for the  six-month
periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000.

                                                                                               2001           2000
                                                                                              -----          -----

Distributions to partners declared................................................           $1,180         $1,487
Distributions to partners paid....................................................            1,181          1,487

Proceeds from sale of containers recorded.........................................              301            418
Proceeds from sale of containers received.........................................              293            447

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

      As part of the operation of the Partnership, the Partnership is to pay to the General Partners an acquisition fee, an equipment management fee, an incentive management fee and an equipment liquidation fee. These fees are for various services provided in connection with the administration and management of the Partnership. The Partnership incurred $19 and $35 of incentive management fees during the three and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001, respectively, and $31 and $62 during the comparable periods in 2000. Additionally, during the six-month period ended June 30, 2001, the Partnership recorded an adjustment of $121 to reduce incentive management fees for overpayments made during 1999 and 2000. There were no acquisition fees or equipment liquidation fees incurred during the six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000.

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

      Subject to certain reductions, TEM receives a monthly equipment management fee equal to 7% of gross revenues attributable to operating leases and 2% of gross revenues attributable to full payout net leases. These fees totaled $38 and $78 for the three and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001, respectively, and $52 and $104, respectively, for the comparable periods in 2000. The Partnership's containers are leased by TEM to third party lessees on operating master leases, spot leases, term leases and direct finance leases. The majority of the leases are operating master leases with limited terms and no purchase option.

      Certain  indirect  general  and  administrative  costs  such as  salaries,
      employee benefits, taxes and insurance are incurred in performing administrative services necessary to the operation of the Partnership. These costs are incurred and paid by TEM and TFS. Total general and administrative costs allocated to the Partnership during the three and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000 were as follows:


                                        Three months               Six months
                                       ended June 30,            ended June 30,
                                       ---------------           --------------
                                       2001       2000           2001      2000
                                       ----       ----           ----      ----

      Salaries                          $15        $19            $33       $38
      Other                              12         17             24        34
                                         --         --             --        --
      Total general and
       administrative costs             $27        $36            $57       $72
                                         ==         ==             ==        ==


      TEM allocates these general and administrative costs based on the ratio of the Partnership's interest in the managed containers to the total container fleet managed by TEM during the period. TFS allocates these costs based on the ratio of the Partnership's containers to the total container fleet of all limited partnerships managed by TFS. The General Partners allocated the following general and administrative costs to the Partnership during the three and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000:


                                         Three months              Six months
                                        ended June 30,            ended June 30,
                                       ---------------           ---------------
                                       2001       2000           2001       2000
                                       ----       ----           ----       ----

      TEM                               $24        $31            $50        $62
      TFS                                 3          5              7         10
                                         --         --             --         --
         Total general and
           administrative costs         $27        $36            $57        $72
                                         ==         ==             ==         ==


      At June 30, 2001 and December 31, 2000, due from affiliates, net is comprised of:


                                                             2001           2000
                                                             ----           ----
      Due from affiliates:
        Due from TEM...................................      $112           $156
                                                              ---            ---

      Due to affiliates:
        Due to TCC.....................................         7              4
        Due to TFS.....................................        18             26
                                                              ---            ---
                                                               25             30
                                                              ---            ---

      Due from affiliates, net                               $ 87           $126
                                                              ===            ===


      These amounts receivable from and payable to affiliates were incurred in the ordinary course of business between the Partnership and its affiliates and represent timing differences in the accrual and remittance of expenses, fees and distributions described above and in the accrual and remittance of net rental revenues and sales proceeds from TEM.


Note 3.   Direct Finance Leases

      The Partnership has leased containers under direct finance leases with terms ranging from two to five years. The components of the net investment in direct finance leases at June 30, 2001 and December 31, 2000 are as follows:

                                                             2001          2000
                                                             ----          ----

      Future minimum lease payments receivable............    $39           $43
      Residual value......................................      -             -
      Less:  unearned income..............................     (5)           (6)
                                                              ---           ---

      Net investment in direct finance leases.............    $34           $37
                                                               ==            ==

      The following is a schedule by year of minimum lease payments receivable under direct finance leases as of June 30, 2001:

      Year ending June 30:

      2002...............................................             $20
      2003...............................................              11
      2004...............................................               7
      2005...............................................               1
                                                                       --

      Total minimum lease payments receivable............             $39
                                                                       ==

      Rental income for the three and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 includes $1 and $3 of income from direct finance leases, respectively, and income of $1 and $2 for the comparable periods in 2000, respectively.

Note 4. Container Rental Equipment Write-Down

      New container prices declined from 1995 through 1999. Although container prices increased in 2000, these prices declined again in the first half of 2001. As a result, the cost of new containers purchased in recent years is significantly less than the average cost of containers purchased in prior years. The Partnership evaluated the recoverability of the recorded amount of container rental equipment at June 30, 2001 and 2000 for containers to be held for continued use and determined that a reduction to the carrying value of these containers was not required. The Partnership also evaluated the recoverability of the recorded amount of containers identified for sale in the ordinary course of business and determined that a reduction to the carrying value of these containers was required. The Partnership wrote down the value of these containers to their estimated fair value, which was based on recent sales prices less cost to sell. During the six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000, the Partnership recorded additional depreciation expense of $30 and $42, respectively, on 95 and 101 containers identified as for sale and requiring a reserve. During the three-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000, the Partnership recorded additional depreciation expense of $19 and $28, respectively, on 63 and 61 containers identified as for sale and requiring a reserve. At June 30, 2001 and 2000, the net book value of containers identified as for sale was $175 and $165, respectively.

      The Partnership sold 52 of these previously written down containers for a loss of $2 during the six-month period ended June 30, 2001 and sold 99 previously written down containers for a gain of $1 during the same period in 2000. During the three-month period ended June 30, 2001 the Partnership sold 31 of these previously written down containers for a loss of $1 and sold 47 previously written down containers at book value during the same period in 2000. The Partnership incurred losses on the sale of some containers previously written down as the actual sales prices received on these containers were lower than the estimates used for the writedowns, primarily due to unexpected declines in container sales prices.

      The Partnership also sold containers that had not been written down and recorded a loss of $8 and a gain of $63 during the six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000, respectively. During the three-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000, the Partnership recorded a loss of $8 and a gain of $76, respectively, on the sale of containers that had not been written down.

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

Note 5.   Redemptions

      The  following  redemption  offering  was  consummated  by the Partnership
      during the six-month period ended June 30, 2001:


                                                           Units               Average               Amount
                                                          Redeemed         Redemption Price           Paid
                                                          --------         ----------------          -------

          Total Partnership redemptions as of
            December 31, 2000....................          18,575             $   7.56                  $140

          Quarter ended:

                March 31, 2001...................           1,166             $   6.03                     7
                                                           ------                                        ---
          Total Partnership redemptions as
           of June  30, 2001.....................          19,741             $   7.45                  $147
                                                           ======                                        ===

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

During the six-month  period ended June 30, 2001, the Partnership  declared cash
distributions to limited  partners  pertaining to the fourth quarter of 2000 and
the first quarter of 2001 in the amount of $1,164.  This amount represents $0.80
per unit, or 4% of the Limited Partner's original  investment.  On a cash basis,
after paying  redemptions,  $811 of  distributions  was from  operations and the
balance was a return of capital. On a GAAP basis, after paying redemptions, $220
of distributions was from net income and the remainder was a return of capital.

Net cash provided by operating  activities for the six-month  periods ended June
30, 2001 and 2000, was $834 and $1,060,  respectively.  The decrease of $226, or
21%, was primarily  attributable  to the decrease in net earnings,  adjusted for
non-cash  transactions,  offset by fluctuations  in accounts  receivable and due
from  affiliates,   net.  Net  earnings,  adjusted  for  non-cash  transactions,
decreased  primarily  due to the  decrease in rental  income and the increase in
direct container expenses.  The decrease was partially offset by the decrease in
management fees to affiliates.  These  fluctuations  are discussed more fully in
"Results of Operations".  The decrease in accounts receivable of $145 during the
six-month period ended June 30, 2001 was primarily due to the decrease in rental
income, the write-off of certain  receivables that had been previously  reserved
for and a decline in the average collection period of accounts  receivable.  The
decrease in accounts  receivable of $92 during the comparable period in 2000 was
primarily  due to the  decrease  in the  average  collection  period of accounts
receivable.  The fluctuations in due from affiliates,  net, resulted from timing
differences  in payment of expenses  and fees and the  remittance  of net rental
revenues and sales proceeds, as well as in fluctuations in these amounts.

For the  six-month  periods  ended June 30, 2001 and 2000,  net cash provided by
investing  activities (the sale of containers) was $293 and $447,  respectively.
The decrease of $154 was primarily due to the Partnership  selling containers at
a lower  average  sales price during the  six-month  period ended June 30, 2001,
compared to the equivalent  period in 2000.  Some of the containers  sold during
the  six-month  periods  ended June 30, 2001 and 2000 were located in low demand
locations,  and  these  sales  were  driven  not only by the  liquidation  plans
discussed above, but also by adverse market  conditions in these locations.  The
sales price for containers  sold in these low demand  locations has continued to
be adversely  affected by market  conditions.  The sale of  containers  in these
locations  and the related  market  conditions  are  discussed  more fully under
"Results of Operations".

Due, in part,  to these  market  conditions  and their effect on demand for used
containers,  the Partnership has been primarily  selling  containers only if the
containers  are at the end of their useful lives or if they are located in these
low  demand  locations.  Therefore,  and as noted  above,  the  Partnership  has
implemented its liquidation phase to date by selling containers  gradually.  The
Partnership will continue to evaluate its options for selling  containers in the
context of both these market conditions and the Partnership's liquidation plans.
The number of containers  sold, both in low demand  locations and elsewhere,  as
well as the amount of sales proceeds,  will affect how much the Partnership will
pay in future distributions to Partners.

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


                                                                 2001       2000
                                                                -----      -----
                 Beginning container fleet                      5,119      5,771
                 Ending container fleet                         4,818      5,453
                 Average container fleet                        4,969      5,612

The average  container fleet decreased 11% from the six-month  period ended June
30,  2000  to the  equivalent  period  in  2001  due to the  continuing  sale of
containers  (i) that had reached the end of their  useful  lives or (ii) that an
analysis had indicated that their sale was otherwise warranted. Included in this
second group were containers  located in low demand  locations.  The Partnership
expects that the size of its container  fleet will further decline as additional
containers  are sold for these  reasons  and as the  Partnership  continues  its
liquidation  plan.  The decline in the  container  fleet has  contributed  to an
overall  decline in rental income from the six-month  period ended June 30, 2000
to the equivalent period in 2001. This decline is expected to continue in future
years, as the size of the Partnership's container fleet continues to decrease.

Rental income and direct container expenses are also affected by the utilization
of the container  fleet,  which was 71% and 79% on average  during the six-month
periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000, respectively.  In addition,  rental income
is affected by daily rental rates.


The  following is a comparative  analysis of the results of  operations  for the
six-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000.

The  Partnership's  income from operations for the six-month periods ending June
30, 2001 and 2000 was $231 and $492,  respectively,  on rental  income of $1,144
and $1,510,  respectively.  The decrease in rental  income of $366, or 24%, from
the six-month  period ended June 30, 2000 to the  comparable  period in 2001 was
attributable  to  decreases  in income from  container  rentals and other rental
income.  Income from container  rentals,  the major  component of total revenue,
decreased  $339,  or 25%,  primarily  due to decreases in the average  container
fleet of 11% and in average on-hire utilization of 10% between the periods.

In the fourth quarter of 2000, utilization began to decline and has continued to
decline  through  the end of the  second  quarter  of  2001.  This  decline  was
primarily due to lower overall demand by shipping  lines for leased  containers,
which is  partially a result of the economic  slowdown in the United  States and
Europe.  Two  other  factors  are  currently  reducing  the  demand  for  leased
containers.  Shipping  lines have added larger  vessels to their  fleets,  which
combined with lower cargo volume  growth,  has made it easier for shipping lines
to use otherwise  empty cargo space to reposition  their own containers  back to
high demand  locations.  Additionally,  in anticipation of the delivery of these
new, larger vessels,  many shipping lines placed large orders for new containers
in  2000  and  early  2001,  thus  temporarily  reducing  their  need  to  lease
containers.

As a result of the lower  demand,  the trade  imbalance  between  Asia and North
America and Asia and Europe has eased slightly.  Combined with the excess vessel
capacity,  these  factors  have made it easier,  although not  necessarily  less
expensive, to reposition containers.  During the six-month period ended June 30,
2001, the  Partnership was able to reposition  newer  containers from low demand
locations in North America to historically higher demand locations in Asia. As a
consequence,  the build-up of containers in North America,  which persisted over
the past several years, has eased.

Nevertheless,  the Partnership  continues to sell (rather than  reposition) some
containers  located in low demand locations.  The decision to sell containers is
based on the current  expectation  that the  economic  benefit of selling  these
containers is greater than the estimated  economic  benefit of continuing to own
these  containers.  The  majority of the  containers  sold during the  six-month
periods  ended  June 30,  2001 and 2000  were  older  containers.  The  expected
economic  benefit of continuing to own these containers was  significantly  less
than that of newer  containers.  This was due to their shorter  remaining marine
life, the cost to reposition them and the shipping lines' preference for leasing
newer containers when demand is low.

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

Despite  the  decline in demand for leased  containers  discussed  above and the
decline in new container sales prices,  the stabilization of rental rates, which
began during 2000, has continued into the first half of 2001.

Until such time as the  economies of the United States and Europe  improve,  and
cargo volumes  increase to the point where this year's 12% increase in worldwide
vessel  capacity  is  absorbed,  there  may be no  significant  improvements  in
utilization.

Therefore,  the General  Partners do not  foresee  material  changes in existing
market  conditions  for the  near  term  and  caution  that  demand  for  leased
containers  could  decline  further  and result in a decline in lease  rates and
further declines in utilization and container sale prices,  adversely  affecting
the Partnership's operating results.

Other rental income consists of other lease-related items, primarily income from
charges to lessees for dropping off containers in surplus locations less credits
granted to lessees for  leasing  containers  from  surplus  locations  (location
income),  income  from  charges to lessees for  handling  related to leasing and
returning  containers (handling income) and income from charges to lessees for a
Damage  Protection  Plan (DPP).  For the  six-month  period ended June 30, 2001,
other  rental  income was $135 a decrease of $27 from the  equivalent  period in
2000.  The decrease in other rental income was primarily due to the decreases in
location,  DPP and  handling  income  of $10,  $9 and  $8,  respectively.  These
declines were  primarily due to the decline in the average fleet size.  Location
income  further  declined  primarily  due to an increase  in credits  granted to
lessees for picking up containers  from surplus  locations.  DPP income  further
decreased due to a decrease in the number of containers  carrying DPP, offset by
an  increase in the average DPP price  charged per  container.  Handling  income
further declined due to a decrease in container movement, partially offset by an
increase  in the  average  handling  price  charged  per  container  during  the
six-month period ended June 30, 2001 compared to the equivalent period in 2000.

Direct  container  expenses  increased  $111, or 44%, from the six-month  period
ending  June 30,  2000 to the  equivalent  period  in  2001.  The  increase  was
primarily due to increases in repositioning, storage and maintenance expenses of
$62,  $38 and  $35,  respectively.  Repositioning  expense  increased  due to an
increase  in the  number  of  containers  repositioned  and the  higher  average
repositioning cost per container.  Storage expense increased due to the decrease
in average  utilization  noted above and an increase in the average storage cost
per container.  Maintenance  expense increased due to the increase in the number
of containers  requiring  maintenance and an increase in the average maintenance
cost per container.

Bad debt benefit was  comparable at $16 and $13 for the six-month  periods ended
June 30, 2001 and 2000, respectively.

Depreciation expense decreased $77, or 14%, from the six-month period ended June
30, 2000 to the comparable period in 2001. The decrease was primarily due to the
decline  in the  average  fleet  size noted  above and a smaller  write-down  of
containers identified as for sale as discussed below.

New container prices declined from 1995 through 1999.  Although container prices
increased in 2000,  these prices  declined again in the first half of 2001. As a
result,  the cost of new containers  purchased in recent years is  significantly
less  than  the  average  cost of  containers  purchased  in  prior  years.  The
Partnership  evaluated the  recoverability  of the recorded  amount of container
rental  equipment  at June  30,  2001 and  2000  for  containers  to be held for
continued  use and  determined  that a reduction to the carrying  value of these
containers was not required.  The Partnership also evaluated the  recoverability
of the recorded amount of containers  identified for sale in the ordinary course
of business  and  determined  that a reduction  to the  carrying  value of these
containers  was  required.  The  Partnership  wrote  down  the  value  of  these
containers to their estimated fair value, which was based on recent sales prices
less cost to sell.  During the  six-month  periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000,
the  Partnership  recorded  additional  depreciation  expense  of $30  and  $42,
respectively  on 95 and 101  containers  identified  as for sale and requiring a
reserve. At June 30, 2001 and 2000, the net book value of containers  identified
as for sale was $175 and $165, respectively.

The Partnership sold 52 of these  previously  written down containers for a loss
of $2 during the  six-month  period  ended June 30, 2001 and sold 99  previously
written  down  containers  for a gain of $1 during the same period in 2000.  The
Partnership  incurred losses on the sale of some containers  previously  written
down as the actual sales prices received on these containers were lower than the
estimates  used for the  writedowns,  primarily  due to  unexpected  declines in
container sales prices.

The Partnership also sold containers that had not been written down and recorded
a loss of $8 and a gain of $63 during the six-month  periods ended June 30, 2001
and 2000, respectively.

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

Management fees to affiliates  decreased $174 or 105% from the six-month  period
ended June 30, 2000 to the same period in 2001 due to decreases in incentive and
equipment  management  fees.  Incentive  management fees, which are based on the
Partnership's  limited and  general  partner  distributions  made from cash from
operations and partners' capital,  decreased $148 primarily due to an adjustment
of $121 to reduce incentive  management fees for  overpayments  made during 1999
and 2000 and a  decrease  in the  amount  of  distributions  made from cash from
operations between the two periods.  Equipment  management fees decreased due to
the decrease in rental income upon which equipment management fees are primarily
based. These fees were approximately 7% of rental income for both periods.

General and administrative  costs to affiliates  decreased $15, or 21%, from the
six-month period ended June 30, 2000 to the comparable  period in 2001 primarily
due to the  decrease  in overhead  costs  allocated  by TEM, as the  Partnership
represented a smaller portion of the total fleet managed by TEM.

Gain/loss  on sale  of  containers  fluctuated  from a gain  of $64  during  the
six-month period ended June 30, 2000 to a loss of $10 for the comparable  period
in 2001.  The  fluctuation  was  primarily due to a decline in the average sales
price of containers,  which resulted in the Partnership  selling containers at a
loss during the six-month period ended June 30, 2001.

Net earnings per limited partnership unit decreased from $0.34 to $0.16 from the
six-month period ended June 30, 2000 to the same period in 2001,  reflecting the
decrease  in net  earnings  allocated  to  limited  partners  from $492 to $227,
respectively.  The  allocation of net earnings for the  six-month  periods ended
June 30,  2001 and 2000  included a special  allocation  of gross  income to the
General  Partners  of  $14  and  $15,  respectively,   in  accordance  with  the
Partnership Agreement.


The  following is a comparative  analysis of the results of  operations  for the
three-month periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000.

The Partnership's income from operations for the three-month periods ending June
30, 2001 and 2000 was $19 and $287,  respectively,  on rental income of $537 and
$738,  respectively.  The decrease in rental  income of $201,  or 27%,  from the
three-month  period  ended June 30,  2000 to the  comparable  period in 2001 was
attributable  to  decreases  in income from  container  rentals and other rental
income.  Income from container rentals decreased $184, or 28%,  primarily due to
decreases in the average container fleet of 11% and average on-hire  utilization
of 15%.

For the three-month  period ended June 30, 2001,  other rental income was $61, a
decrease of $17 from the equivalent period in 2000. The decrease in other rental
income  was  primarily  due to the  decrease  in fleet  size  and an  additional
decrease in location  income.  Location  income declined $12, and the additional
decline  was  primarily  due to an  increase  in credits  granted to lessees for
picking up  containers  from  certain  locations  and a  decrease  in charges to
lessees for dropping off containers in certain locations.

Direct  container  expenses  increased $67, or 57%, from the three-month  period
ending  June 30,  2000 to the  equivalent  period  in  2001.  The  increase  was
primarily due to increases in repositioning, storage and maintenance expenses of
$34,  $29 and  $20,  respectively.  Repositioning  expense  increased  due to an
increase  in the  number  of  containers  repositioned  and the  higher  average
repositioning cost per container.  Storage expense increased due to the decrease
in average  utilization  noted  above and an  increase  in the  average  storage
expense per container.  Maintenance expense increased due to the increase in the
number of  containers  requiring  maintenance  and an  increase  in the  average
maintenance cost per container.

Bad debt benefit decreased from $20 during the three-month period ended June 30,
2000 to $14 for the  comparable  period in 2001.  The decline was due to a lower
required adjustment to bad debt reserve during the three-month period ended June
30, 2001 compared to the same period in 2000.

Depreciation  expense  decreased $42, or 15%, from the three-month  period ended
June 30, 2000 to the  comparable  period in 2001 primarily due to the decline in
average  fleet size and a smaller  write-down  of  containers  identified as for
sale.

During the  three-month  periods ended June 30, 2001 and 2000,  the  Partnership
recorded additional  depreciation expense of $19 and $28, respectively on 63 and
61 containers  identified as for sale and requiring a reserve.  The  Partnership
sold 31 of these previously  written down containers for a loss of $1 during the
three-month  period  ended June 30,  2001 and sold 47  previously  written  down
containers at book value during the same period in 2000.  The  Partnership  also
sold  containers  that had not been written down and recorded a loss of $8 and a
gain of $76  during  the  three-month  periods  ended  June 30,  2001 and  2000,
respectively.

Management fees to affiliates  decreased $26 or 31% from the three-month  period
ended June 30, 2000 to the same period in 2001 due to decreases in equipment and
incentive management fees. Equipment management fees, decreased primarily due to
the  decrease in rental  income and were 7% of rental  income for both  periods.
Incentive  management fees decreased $12 from the three-month  period ended June
30,  2000  to the  same  period  in  2001  due to  decrease  in  the  amount  of
distributions made from cash from operations between the two periods.

General and  administrative  costs to affiliates  decreased $9, or 25%, from the
three-month  period  ended  June  30,  2000  to the  comparable  period  in 2001
primarily  due to the  decrease  in  overhead  costs  allocated  by TEM,  as the
Partnership represented a smaller portion of the total fleet managed by TEM.

Gain/loss  on sale  of  containers  fluctuated  from a gain  of $76  during  the
three-month period ended June 30, 2000 to a loss of $9 for the comparable period
in 2001.  The  fluctuation  was  primarily due to a decline in the average sales
price of containers,  which resulted in the Partnership  selling containers at a
loss during the three-month period ended June 30, 2001.

Net earnings per limited partnership unit decreased from $0.20 to $0.01 from the
three-month  period  ended June 30, 2000 to the same period in 2001,  reflecting
the decrease in net earnings  allocated  to limited  partners  from $288 to $17,
respectively.  The allocation of net earnings  included a special  allocation of
gross income to the General  Partners  made in accordance  with the  Partnership
Agreement.

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


Date:  August 10, 2001

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, this report
has been signed below by the following  persons on behalf of Textainer Financial
Services  Corporation, the  Managing General Partner of the  Registrant, in  the
capacities and on the dates indicated:


Signature                                Title                                          Date


________________________                 Senior Vice President,                         August 10, 2001
Ernest J. Furtado                        (Principal Financial and
                                         Accounting Officer) and
                                         Secretary




________________________                 President (Principal Executive                 August 10, 2001
John A. Maccarone                        Officer)

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



                                   By /s/Ernest J. Furtado
                                      _______________________________
                                      Ernest J. Furtado
                                      Senior Vice President


Date:  August 10, 2001


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, this report
has been signed below by the following persons on behalf of  Textainer Financial
Services  Corporation,  the  Managing General Partner of the  Registrant, in the
capacities and on the dates indicated:


Signature                               Title                                           Date



/s/Ernest J. Furtado
____________________________            Senior Vice President,                          August 10, 2001
Ernest J. Furtado                       (Principal Financial and
                                        Accounting Officer) and
                                        Secretary



/s/John A. Maccarone
____________________________            President (Principal Executive                  August 10, 2001
John A. Maccarone                       Officer)
